FB Twitter

Elgar

Elgar

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 47 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Elgar cottage is perfect for couples or solo guests looking for a peaceful, tranquil break. Spacious, comfortable and bright with parkland views from every room. The enormous bedroom has a contemporary four-poster bed and ensuite. Guests are welcome to relax in the walled garden, furnished glasshouse and mature parkland.

Wharton Lodge is an ideal base for touring the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean including the stunning Symonds Yat and Yat Rock. The cottage is surrounded by open countryside and with such great views there is no need to go out, so comfortable you may never want to leave.

Ideal away-from-home

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It doesn’t matter how many times you visit Wharton Lodge; it is always perfect.
A guaranteed green space and oasis of calm and a beautiful gateway to the stunning Wye Valley and it many attractions for young and old(er) alike.
Nicky and her team don’t know anything about resting on any laurels; there are changes or additions each visit to both cottage and grounds And customer service and comfort are always superb.
The views from Elgar are a particular delight - especially waking up to the green vista of parkland and watching the antics of the sheep!




Nicky replied 5 days ago
Dear S, I can't tell you how much your kind feedback means to us. Thanks for taking the time to complete the review and we are delighted that WL and in particular Elgar, met expectations. We hope to welcome you back again one day. BW N

COTTAGES OF EXCELLENCE

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in many cottages over the past 15 years some that were good and some that didn't quite make it. This all came to an end in 2012 when we discovered Wharton Lodge Cottages. Since that year we have returned annually in different seasons and found that they have never lost their attraction.

These 3 exquisite cottages are a harmonious haven nestled in beautiful grounds ideally situated for exploration and sight seeing. They are meticulously maintained and updated to provide the 5* luxury that they warrant.

This is due to Nicky and George and their dedicated team, Joyce and Colleagues (Housekeeping) , Mark (Gardener) and Ken (Maintenance). In our experience nothing is ever too much trouble and anything additional you require is provided.

Thank you Nicky, George and 'The Girls' (Woof') for wonderful times over the last 8 visits.




Nicky replied 28 days ago
Dear D & C What a fabulous review. You have made our day with the very kind feedback which will be shared with the team. It means the world that you enjoyed your holiday at WL. Thanks for being such great guests, we hope to welcome you both again one day... BW N

Perfection

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elgar cottage is a single-bedroom unit in a row of three charming, superclean, well-equipped, and quiet cottages in the courtyard of Wharton Lodge, set in the heart of the beautiful Wye Valley. Nicky and George Cross were wonderful hosts who couldn't do enough to make us welcome. The lovely old town of Ross on Wye is only four miles away and provides all the basic amenities including grocery stores, banks, and restaurants. There is a bus service into Ross right at the end of the driveway. The county is full of good restaurants and pubs, walks, and sightseeing attractions. We thoroughly recommend Wharton Lodge for a relaxing and interesting visit.



Nicky replied 48 days ago
Dear M & R Wow, what a great review. Thank you so much for your very kind feedback which will be shared with the team. We really appreciate you taking time to feedback following your stay, it means a great deal to us that you were comfortable and enjoyed the surroundings. Do keep in touch and when you get home-sick please do keep WL in mind. Big thanks, N

The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautifully furnished and decorated, the gardens a real pleasure to sit out in. The area was lovely, with many interesting place to visit. Nicky and George were perfect hosts. And we were truly blessed with lovely weather..



Nicky replied 83 days ago
Dear T & D Wow, thank you so much for making our day with such glowing praise. We really appreciate the amazing feedback and it means the world to the team that the cottage and surroundings were so well received. Do keep in touch and we hope to welcome you to WL again one day... BW N

Wharton Lodge, Elgar Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was delightful and set in the most beautiful gardens - very relaxing. Perfect location near the Forest of Dean and Wye Valley. Nicky and the team were very welcoming - nothing too much trouble ! Would recommend a stay here to anyone.



Nicky replied 83 days ago
Dear M & J Thank you very much for the glowing review and for taking time to feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Elgar and do hope that we may have an opportunity to welcome you to WL again one day. Big thanks from the whole team at WL...

Elgar Cottage is beautiful.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elgar cottage was beautiful and well appointed. Our host Nicky was amazing. Every aspect of the cottages at Wharton Lodge have been carefully considered. I would recommend staying at Wharton to everyone who wants a high quality retreat.



Nicky replied 85 days ago
Dear V & A, Really appreciate the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We know you are very busy at home and it was extremely kind to take time to complete a review. We hope to see you again in the not too distant future. Big thanks, N

Our third stay

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have used self catering accommodation all over the UK and Europe and I can say that by a large measure Wharton Lodge Cottages are the best we have ever encountered. NIcky, thanks once again for a delightful short break.





Nicky replied 179 days ago
Dear S & C, Wow, thank you so much for the most perfect review. Really appreciate the amazing feedback which I will share with the WL team. We hope to welcome you both again one day. Big thanks N

Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent 4 days at Wharton Lodge, staying in Elgar cottage. Our welcome could not have been warmer, greeted by Nicky and her Housekeeper Joyce with 2 very welcome glasses of locally produced apple juice. The cottage itself was warm, cosy, spotlessly clean and very well equipped - the four poster bed being exceptionally comfortable! Nicky had been particularly thoughtful in providing a birthday card and complimentary bottle of Prosecco to celebrate my wife's birthday which happened to be on the day of arrival.
The grounds of Wharton Lodge are very beautiful and open to guests, which in more summer-like weather conditions would be a real bonus (we had snow!!).
Thank you so much to Nicky and George (and all the team) for sharing their home so generously and providing us with a real treat. We hope to return!




Nicky replied 194 days ago
Dear B & S Thank you so much for the great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in Elgar. We really appreciate you taking the time to give feedback, such a positive review means a great deal to the team and me. We loved welcoming you and hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to WL again one day, may be in the warmer weather when you will have a chance to enjoy the walled garden!... BW N

A really super cottage location, so restful and in the centre of some beautiful countryside.

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elgar has been a wonderful bolt hole for us a number of times. It takes us away from a rather busy semi urban lifestyle. Nicky & George and their staff make you so welcome and Elgar Cottage is just the place in which to wind down. We'll be back again to carry on exploring the glorious countryside, savouring the local hostelries and just to chill out!

Nicky, George and the WL Team thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Do please keep in touch... We hope to welcome you to WL again one day.
Thank you and we hope to be back again soon.





Nicky replied 202 days ago
Dear H & D Thanks for the great feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your latest stay in Elgar and there will always be a warm Herefordshire welcome for you at WL... BW Nicky

Return visit to Elgar

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in Elgar around 18 months ago and were impressed enough to want to return. If the weather's not good, the cottage is a lovely place to relax. Plenty of space for parking. Situated around 100 yards back from the main road (A40), so no traffic noise. Lovely view across parkland from Elgar and very well maintained gardens to enjoy a stroll.




Nicky replied 215 days ago
Dear K & M Thank you very much for the kind feedback. It means the world to us that you enjoyed your return visit to WL and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon :-) BW N

Wonderful Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay here felt like home from home! Peaceful location set in beautiful countryside, with access to walking and good eateries. First class service from Nicky and team. A perfect post Christmas break. Thank you! Highly recommend a Wharton Lodge stay.



Nicky replied 260 days ago
Dear J & D Thanks for the great feedback, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay. We know how busy life is and we are delighted that WL offers a calm, relaxing environment. We loved welcoming you back and hope to welcome you again one day. Big hug from Joyce, BW N

Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant stay peaceful and resting
Thanks to all who made our stay

Especially the birthday card and good wishes

Nicky, George and the WL Team thank you for taking the time to give feedback. Do please keep in touch... We hope to welcome you to WL again one day.
Yed





Nicky replied 293 days ago
Dear R & M Thank you so much for the great feedback following your December holiday with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your first stay with us and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you to WL again in the near future. Wishing you both a Happy and Healthy NY, N

Short break at Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Five star accomodation in every way!
We first stayed here several years ago. We were impressed with the way the cottage looked as good now as it did then.
Wonderful welcome. Little touches that make the difference.
Fresh flowers and a very thoughtful welcome pack.
It is certainly top of our list for a short break - maybe longer next time.





Nicky replied 322 days ago
Dear H & F, Thank you for the great feedback, we are delighted that Elgar lived up to expectations this visit. We are delighted that 80% of our bookings are from previous guests so thanks for remembering WL, we hope to welcome you back yet again one day.... BW N

Simply Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Even having arrived far later than expected, the Elgar welcome was as warm as ever. I arrived to find Nicky had been into the cottage to put on the lights as the daylight was fading.
The now familiar, well appointed and super comfortable cottage enjoyed some seasonal touches and little changes here and there which evidence that there is no resting on laurels here. The customary high standards we have come to expect of Elgar, combined with a stunning setting and parkland views ensure a perfect break. Thank you, once again, Team Wharton.




Nicky replied 341 days ago
Dear S, We are really blown away by the great feedback. I can't tell you how much it means to the team to receive such a positive review and to know that our little extra touches are appreciated. You are welcome back to WL whenever you next need some R&R. BW N

28 Sep - 1 Oct

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Elgar Cottage for my Wife's birthday weekend. Communication leading up to the stay was great. The cottage was perfect, Nicky has thought of everything and was very welcoming. The welcome hamper was excellent. The surroundings are really nice with access to a well kept walled garden. Location for us was really good, less than 1 hour drive from home and close to Wye Valley tourist spots.
Thanks Nicky for a really stress free stay.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear D & W Thank you so much for the great feedback following your recent visit, we are really pleased you enjoyed your first stay with us. It also means the world to know that in addition to enjoying the accommodation, you also found the booking process along with your time with us stress-free. Our aim is to offer an oasis of calm for guests and it sounds as if we met the mark.... We really appreciate you taking the time to complete a review and we hope to welcome you to WL again one day. BW N & G

Wonderful in every Way!

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second stay in Elgar, and it won’t be my last one!
I moved across the courtyard after a week with a friend in Harewood (equally wonderful) and was immediately struck - again - by the light-filled space and beautiful views.
The upstairs comfort is unrivalled - with crisp, yet calm colours, a super-comfortable 4-poster and the joy of waking up to a green vista across the parkland, then enjoyed downstairs with a good cup of coffee in hand.
Nicky, George and the entire Team Wharton know how to make their guests feel welcome and have a knack for personalising the Wharton experience in many ways, including suggesting local places and spaces to match interests and needs.
The list of places to visit & things to do in the oasis that is the Wye Valley is expanding, not reducing.
Definitley on the “Recommend, Revisit & Relax” list.

Thank you for another perfect stay.





Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S, At coffee break this morning I shared your feedback with the team and it has made our day. Thank you so much for your very generous praise of the team and WL, it really is appreciated by everyone. We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.... BW N

A few days in Herefordshie

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely light cottage, with super garden and large grounds. We enjoyed the local walks and countryside Very welcoming hosts and a very pleasing cottage.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear D & J Thank you so much for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your first visit to WL and exploring the local countryside. Elgar is a special cottage having so many windows making it light and bright with great views at any time of the year. We hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back again one day.... BW N & G

As always, superb.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here previously and decided that it was a terrific place. Always worried when visiting somewhere that had been great on a previous occasion as sometimes it never quite seems the same but Elgar was just as good. The attention to detail that makes staying here so comfortable and relaxed, spot on in every way.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P & P Thank you so much for the amazing feedback following your recent stay, we really do appreciate you taking the time to complete a review,,,, we know how busy you are. You are always welcome at WL, do keep in touch. BW N

Countryside idyll

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would highly recommend Wharton Lodge for anyone looking for a place to unwind in beautiful surroundings. It is a place to breathe and simply be restored.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J&D Thank you so much for the great feedback, it has made our day to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Don't work too hard and remember, there is always a warm welcome for you at WL.... BW N

Spring time in Herefordshire is unmissable

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For a second consecutive springtime we spent a week in this very comfortable apartment in beautiful surroundings in a lovely location. Nicky and her staff's attention to detail is exceptional. Of course, good weather promoted the feel good factor and with a lovely garden to relax in at the end of a day out, who could ask for anything more?



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear R Thank you so much for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent holiday with us. We hope to welcome you to WL again one day.... BW N

Such a wonderful place we stayed longer!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a break from our lives which seemed to have become quite manic. Such a find, such a gem. It was just what we needed and the calm of the area seeped back into our lives.
Can't rate it highly enough. Wonderful cottage. Wonderful places nearby. Will be back asap.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P & P, You have really made our day, thank you so much for the great feedback. We really appreciate your kind words, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in the Herefordshire countryside, we hope to welcome you again one day. KR N

Fab value for fab place.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely 1st class. We’d struggle to think of anyway in which the owners could improve the cottage. It was super clean & warm and welcoming with a great hamper to start off our stay. The family gardens, shared with guests are beautiful, parking is easy & local area quite stunning. The cottage holds lots of info on places of interest to visit. Definite big tick from us.
Suzanne & Andy




Truely excellent in all respects. This is why we have returned every year for over 10yrs.

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The warm welcome you receive on arrival from Nicky, George and the staff is a sign of things to come. We regularly stay in Premier Cottages throughout the country, and these are our favourites. The cottages are equipped to satisfy all needs and everything is of the highest standard. The cottages are sited in an elevated position with panoramic views over the rolling countryside and are in easy reach of the towns of Ross on Wye, Monmouth, Hereford and Abergavenny. Dogs can be accommodated and are most welcome. Looking forward to our next visit !



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear E & L, You have just made our day receiving such great feedback on your recent stay. Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a review, not to mention such a glowing one. Here's to the next time. KR N & G

New Year break - first time for us!

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a warm welcome from Nicky, on our arrival and a quick tour of the property to settle us in as quickly as possible. Wonderfully cosy and warm cottage, complete with Christmas tree, added to the atmosphere.Exceeded our expectations and would highly recommend Wharton Lodge Cottages as a great place to relax and unwind.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P & T, Thank you so much for the great feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your NY break with us. Please don't work too hard and when you next need to recharge your batteries there will always be a warm welcome for you at WL.... KR N

True R & R

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a delightful green break in Harewood in the summer, I seized the opportunity for a weekend break in autumn-wrapped Elgar. Perfection!

Once again a tasteful colour palette in this immaculate cottage. Beautiful furnishings and everything thought through. A triumph of design ensures the best use of both space and location, Elgar is as effortlessly comfortable as comfortable can be.

Stunning is indeed the right word for the views from this light-filled cottage. Combine this with the doorstep availability of parkland - - to satisfy that perennial desire to kick through those autumn leaves, and a gargantuan effort was required to venture offsite and enjoy the wider area, rather than remain "at home" lost in a book.

The now familiar warm & friendly welcome from Nicky and her team is a large part of what makes Wharton Lodge such a special place - be it as a base for an active holiday or as a space to simply stop, unwind and let the busy world rush by.
Thank you once again, Team Wharton.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S Thank you so much for the really great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in Elgar and that you managed some well-deserved R&R. I have shared your feedback with the team and it has made their day, it means the world to us that guests enjoy staying at Wharton Lodge. Do keep in touch and when you next have the chance for some R&R, we would be delighted to welcome you again.... Warm regards, N

A special place

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge is a very special place. It seems to exude an aura of peace and calm. As soon as you arrive you are made to feel welcome and at home. Nicky and George are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble. Nicky manages to strike the perfect balance between being helpful and available and respecting her guests’ privacy at the same time.

I stayed in Harewood with a friend earlier in the year and returned in October with my husband to stay in Elgar. Elgar is beautifully furnished, full of light with views over parkland to the rear and is equipped with everything you could possible need for a comfortable stay. It was spotlessly clean and is undoubtedly the best self- catering accommodation we have stayed in. We are planning to return next year to stay in Grosvenor.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M & K Thank you so much for such a positive review, we really do appreciate you taking the time and indeed the very positive praise. Our aim is to offer a peaceful home from home and it seems we have met the mark, we are delighted you both enjoyed staying in Elgar. Do keep in touch and the team and I would be delighted to welcome you both to Grosvenor next year (although dates are being snapped up!). Warmest thanks, N

The Very Best

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay at Wharton Lodge was perfect. We spent a week touring around the Wye valley and the cottages were central to all the attractions. On arrival, everything we needed was there waiting, so there was no need to find things we had forgotten to take. Everyone was so friendly and ready to help if need be. As a keen photographer the garden and surrounding countryside were a pleasure to photograph. If we are in the area again Wharton Lodge will be our first choice.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear S & J Thank you so much for the great review, we are over the moon you enjoyed your stay with us. It means the world to know that you found the cottage comfortable and well equipped and my goodness what great photos you have taken in the grounds and surrounding area, you have captured the countryside and local attractions perfectly. Do keep in touch and if you are heading this way again, you and your camera are more than welcome at WL.... KR N

Short UK Break Away - An absolute luxurious and beautiful place!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at Wharton Lodge for a few days over the Summer. We had never been on a cottage holiday before but the reviews for the sounded fantastic so we thought we would try it. We just fancied a few days away from London where we could relax and unwind.

We absolutely loved our stay and the reviews were spot on! This place is fantastic. We stayed in Elgar which is beautifully decorated and spotless. Nicky is an awesome hostess and her attention to detail is great. My husband really appreciated the high quality TV and DVD player. Everything in the cottage was of a very high quality and it really felt like luxury. Nicky even provided a box full of board games and a basket of DVDs which came in useful when it rained and we didn't feel like venturing out.

On arrival we were welcomed with a basket full of goodies (freshly baked bread, milk, butter, marmalade, biscuits and wine). We thought this was a really nice touch. The grounds of the property are immaculate and it was really nice to sit in the conservatory and read a book. We really did feel like we chose a great place to escape from the city life.

There are even washing facilities on site which I think is very handy. We ourselves didn't use the washing machine but if we were to stay longer then this would be very useful.

Nicky gave us great advice about the surrounding areas and what good restaurants there are nearby. She is always available to answer any questions that you or if you need any help.

We will definitely come back again.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear N, Thank you so, so much for the amazing review. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your first experience of a cottage holiday and that you found your stay at Wharton Lodge relaxing. It's our aim to exceed expectations and your positive comments are really appreciated and will be shared with the team. Please do keep in touch. Don't work too hard (with all those calculations) and when you next fancy some R&R, we would be delighted to welcome you again.... board games at the ready! Warm regards, N

Wonderful cottage and hosts

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a perfect location to relax or visiting. Nicky and George have been wonderful hosts, we really appreciate their suggestions and kind availability for our requests. We recommend the cottage for cleanliness and we hope to return in the future.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear A & G Thank you so much for the great feedback, it was a pleasure to welcome you both to Elgar. We hope that the heatwave at home has subsided and that you still feel rested and refreshed after your stay. Do keep in touch and we would be delighted to welcome you both to WL again one day.... Warm regards N & G

Happy 28th wedding anniversary

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge was the perfect location to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. Our cottage was tastefully furnished and immaculately clean. We couldn't have asked for more with beautiful parklands, manicured gardens and a fantastic location to explore the Wye Valley. Our sincere thanks to Nicki and George who were wonderful hosts. Great attention to detail - in addition to our welcome pack, there was wine, an anniversary card and fresh flowers on our arrival. Nothing was too much trouble.
We very much look forward to returning next year.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L & M We are delighted you enjoyed celebrating your Anniversary with us, we loved welcoming you. Not only did we appreciated all the delicious food you were kind enough to share but will now enjoy sampling Friands, thanks to you. Do keep in touch, we hope to welcome you to WL again one day..... N

We had a wonderful week at Egar, Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottage and gardens were a delight and Nicky and George were the most generous and hospitable hosts.
The scenery and walking was excellent.


Roberta, Rutland




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear R & S, Thanks for the great feedback. We really enjoyed meeting you both and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Elgar along with the local walks. Do keep in touch, N

Wonderful country break.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing weekend break in a lovely location. It was peaceful and quiet. Nicky and George were great hosts.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear N & L We really appreciate your kind feedback, it was a pleasure to welcome you to Elgar cottage. Please don't work too hard and when you need to recharge your batteries you will always be welcome at Wharton Lodge (maybe not when there is a heatwave next time)..... N

A perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottages are just off the main A40 road between Ross-on-Wye and Gloucester, so there is easy road access to all the major tourist destinations in the area. The cottages are ideally located to explore the Forest of Dean and the Wye Valley in particular.

The Cottages are beautifully appointed and luxurious with all the mod cons - and the welcome basket of foodstuffs is a particularly nice touch.

It is very peaceful and quiet, with lovely gardens to explore, and stunning views out across the countryside.

The owner, Nicky, is very helpful and friendly, both before the stay with any visitor queries, and during the stay; she is also extremely knowledgeable about the local area, and has lots of excellent advice on places to visit, or where to eat (and even offered to drive me to the local pub so I could have a couple of drinks!).

All in all, a perfect place to stay, and one I would thoroughly recommend.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M, Thanks for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us whilst you explored the Wye Valley. Do keep in touch and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again one day... Many thanks, N

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I enjoyed a short break at Wharton lodge. Elgar cottage is beautiful, it is well equipped and tastefully decorated. The owners really know how to make you feel welcome with a personal greeting,a botitle of wine and essential foods. The surrounding area is excellent, wonderful scenery and lots to do. We'll definitely be going back.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear W&D Thanks for the great review, we are really delighted you enjoyed Elgar cottage. It's also great to hear that you would like to stay again one day. Returning guests become 'Friends of WL' and you would be included in our loyalty scheme.... Thank you once again, N

A Spring-time delight!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A week in this lovely apartment filled with light was a springtime delight. Surrounded by fresh green parkland occupied by ewes and maturing lambs, constant bird action and access to a well-maintained walled garden, it is a most wonderful place. It provides everything necessary for a comfortable stay and is in a useful location for accessing many rural and urban places of interest. There are a number of good eating places which were drawn to our attention by the very helpful owner if one decides to give self-catering a break; however, the frozen meals that can be ordered ready for your arrival even makes this aspect easy. Highly recommended.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear R & P Thank you so much for your kind feedback we are delighted you enjoyed Elgar and the surroundings here at Wharton Lodge. Springtime is a great time to visit and we are delighted you appreciated the entertainment provided by the ewes and lambs. We hope to welcome you both again one day... Best wishes, N

Overview

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay and the walled garden is a bonus.

However the bed was not the most comfortable that we have ever had.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear M & J Thanks for taking the time to give feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. We also appreciated the very positive and kind message you left in Elgar's visitor book about the Easter greetings and decorations. Best wishes, N

Our much anticipated annual Christmas week at Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were greeted as usual with great warmth by Nicki, George and the dogs and were delighted to be back in the superbly comfortable cottage with all the facilities one could wish for. The cottages are situated within delightful gardens and extensive parkland and in easy reach of the country towns of Ros-on-wye, Monmouth and Hereford. We have stayed at these cottages regularly for the last ten years and rate them with the best available.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear E & L, What a great review. Thank you so much for such glowing feedback which will be shared with the team. It really is a pleasure to welcome you and your kindness has made my day. Thanks again and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Wharton Lodge before too long... Best regards Nicky

Another wonderful stay at Elgar.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay.
Nicky and staff attentive as always. It's a wonderful place to chill out and relax.
All the fixtures and fittings are of the highest quality. The bed is so comfortable.
We had a wonderful stay.
Thank you.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J&J Many thanks for the great review, we are delighted to receive such wonderful feedback. We really think it's important for guests to enjoy some quality R&R during their stay at Wharton Lodge. Please do keep in touch and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you both again one day... or maybe we will see you at Goodwood in the meantime! Thanks again N&G

Tranquil & Charming.

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nicky & George and, not forgetting their dogs, keep a beautiful property and guests feel privileged to share it. Based in the Forest of Dean, fine walks of all lengths are there for the taking and the beauty of Symonds Yat, the Wye Valley and surrounding areas are all a stones throw away. The cottage we had was well equipped and a real home from home. The use of the gardens was a welcome surprise and a wonderful setting for an evening glass or two of wine.
Altogether, a relaxing experience and the perfect base for exploring the area.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear G & S Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Wharton Lodge, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Elgar. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable please don't hesitate to let us know. Warm regards, N

Holiday in Herefordshire

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elgar was fantastic and had everything you could wish for in a holiday cottage.
The bed was really comfortable and all the equipment and crockery excellent.
Nicky and George made you feel very welcome.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear T & L Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here at Wharton Lodge. Good luck helping with 'the projects' and don't forget to take some photos. Do keep in touch and thank you once again.... N & G

September holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a retired couple who have used Premier Cottages for approximately 8 years and we always find them an excellent choice. We like home comforts and 4/5 star accommodation and don't mind paying extra for it. Wharton Lodge cottages were most definitely 5 star in every respect. Set in beautiful surroundings with plenty to see and do close by. Local people were extremely friendly and the food especially good wherever we ate. A very enjoyable holiday.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear N & J Thank you so much for the great feedback, a real 5* review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are delighted you enjoyed Elgar and the local area. We hope you are keeping well and we hope to welcome you again one day. Kind regards, N

Our Second Visit

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been very happy with the comfort and cleanliness of the accommodation and look forward to visiting Wharton Cottages again in the future. The specific location is excellent and the general location very attractive.



Impossible to be topped!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
How lucky we were to choose ELGAR when booking our summer holidays! All our expectations were fulfilled. Not only did we find an extremely welcoming, tastefully furnished cottage decorated and equipped with whatever was needed to get along and to feel at home (highly impressive: the quality of all the soft furnishings - an example of excellent and costly craftsmanship!). We also met wonderful hosts: Nicky and George, who are warm-hearted and open-minded people with a natural feeling for what it takes to make their guests happy.
Highly recommendable!!!




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L&P You have made our weekend with what can only be described as a fantastic review! Thank you so much for the very kind, glowing feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed Elgar, WL and the surroundings. It really is important to us that guests are comfortable, feel welcome and relaxed... and when the interiors/soft furnishings are appreciated it makes the icing on the cake. Will pass on your comments to our team and our upholsterer, the guy who helped with the soft furnishings in Elgar's bedroom/four poster. Thanks so much for making us very proud and please do keep in touch, Nicky

Felt at home

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really nice relaxing stay and were extremely impressed with the accommodation. It was furnished to a high standard but still felt very homely. In addition to this we felt very welcomed by our host who was always there if we needed anything, but at the same time respected our privacy. Despite being next to a few other people in the neighbouring cottages, it never felt anything other than peaceful.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & N Thanks so much for the great review and for the lovely comments in Elgar's visitor book. We really appreciate you taking the time to give feedback and very much appreciate your kind words. Don't work too hard and remember you will always be welcome at WL if you need to re-charge your batteries..... N

Elgar Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice Cottage, My Wife and I were made very welcome on our first visit by Nicky and George, and the Dogs. We hope to
return again sometime in the future for another relaxing holiday.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & S Thank you so much for your kind feedback both this review and the notes in Elgar's visitor book. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Wharton Lodge and we hope we may see you again sometime in the future. With thanks, Nicky and the WL Team

Exceptional standards that exceed five stars

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are very experienced travelers and have been involved in the travel and accommodation industry for over fifty years.
From the moment we stepped into "Elgar" at Wharton lodge we knew that we had found what was to be and exceptional experience.
We were never disappointed during our seven day stay.
Thank you Nicky, George and your team for your hospitality and dedication in providing a lifetime experience.
Paul & Karen Sullivan.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P & K Really, really appreciate your kind and generous feedback which I will share with the team. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to welcome you both to WL and glorious Herefordshire. Have a safe return journey to Oz and please do keep in touch.... Nicky

Don't miss it

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had.a wonderful time at Elgar.It was the best cottage we have stayed in.Everything was such luxury.So well kept and the owner was so helpful.We will definitely return.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P & Y Thank you so very much for the great feedback which I will share with the WL team. It is so rewarding to get such a positive review, it really is appreciated. So thank you again for finding us and you are more than welcome to visit us any time from across the border..... Kindest regards Nicky