FB Twitter

Elgar

Elgar

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


True R & R

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a delightful green break in Harewood in the summer, I seized the opportunity for a weekend break in autumn-wrapped Elgar. Perfection!

Once again a tasteful colour palette in this immaculate cottage. Beautiful furnishings and everything thought through. A triumph of design ensures the best use of both space and location, Elgar is as effortlessly comfortable as comfortable can be.

Stunning is indeed the right word for the views from this light-filled cottage. Combine this with the doorstep availability of parkland - - to satisfy that perennial desire to kick through those autumn leaves, and a gargantuan effort was required to venture offsite and enjoy the wider area, rather than remain "at home" lost in a book.

The now familiar warm & friendly welcome from Nicky and her team is a large part of what makes Wharton Lodge such a special place - be it as a base for an active holiday or as a space to simply stop, unwind and let the busy world rush by.
Thank you once again, Team Wharton.




Nicky replied 40 days ago
Dear S Thank you so much for the really great review, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in Elgar and that you managed some well-deserved R&R. I have shared your feedback with the team and it has made their day, it means the world to us that guests enjoy staying at Wharton Lodge. Do keep in touch and when you next have the chance for some R&R, we would be delighted to welcome you again.... Warm regards, N

A special place

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge is a very special place. It seems to exude an aura of peace and calm. As soon as you arrive you are made to feel welcome and at home. Nicky and George are the perfect hosts - nothing is too much trouble. Nicky manages to strike the perfect balance between being helpful and available and respecting her guests’ privacy at the same time.

I stayed in Harewood with a friend earlier in the year and returned in October with my husband to stay in Elgar. Elgar is beautifully furnished, full of light with views over parkland to the rear and is equipped with everything you could possible need for a comfortable stay. It was spotlessly clean and is undoubtedly the best self- catering accommodation we have stayed in. We are planning to return next year to stay in Grosvenor.




Nicky replied 44 days ago
Dear M & K Thank you so much for such a positive review, we really do appreciate you taking the time and indeed the very positive praise. Our aim is to offer a peaceful home from home and it seems we have met the mark, we are delighted you both enjoyed staying in Elgar. Do keep in touch and the team and I would be delighted to welcome you both to Grosvenor next year (although dates are being snapped up!). Warmest thanks, N

The Very Best

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay at Wharton Lodge was perfect. We spent a week touring around the Wye valley and the cottages were central to all the attractions. On arrival, everything we needed was there waiting, so there was no need to find things we had forgotten to take. Everyone was so friendly and ready to help if need be. As a keen photographer the garden and surrounding countryside were a pleasure to photograph. If we are in the area again Wharton Lodge will be our first choice.



Nicky replied 77 days ago
Dear S & J Thank you so much for the great review, we are over the moon you enjoyed your stay with us. It means the world to know that you found the cottage comfortable and well equipped and my goodness what great photos you have taken in the grounds and surrounding area, you have captured the countryside and local attractions perfectly. Do keep in touch and if you are heading this way again, you and your camera are more than welcome at WL.... KR N

Short UK Break Away - An absolute luxurious and beautiful place!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at Wharton Lodge for a few days over the Summer. We had never been on a cottage holiday before but the reviews for the sounded fantastic so we thought we would try it. We just fancied a few days away from London where we could relax and unwind.

We absolutely loved our stay and the reviews were spot on! This place is fantastic. We stayed in Elgar which is beautifully decorated and spotless. Nicky is an awesome hostess and her attention to detail is great. My husband really appreciated the high quality TV and DVD player. Everything in the cottage was of a very high quality and it really felt like luxury. Nicky even provided a box full of board games and a basket of DVDs which came in useful when it rained and we didn't feel like venturing out.

On arrival we were welcomed with a basket full of goodies (freshly baked bread, milk, butter, marmalade, biscuits and wine). We thought this was a really nice touch. The grounds of the property are immaculate and it was really nice to sit in the conservatory and read a book. We really did feel like we chose a great place to escape from the city life.

There are even washing facilities on site which I think is very handy. We ourselves didn't use the washing machine but if we were to stay longer then this would be very useful.

Nicky gave us great advice about the surrounding areas and what good restaurants there are nearby. She is always available to answer any questions that you or if you need any help.

We will definitely come back again.




Nicky replied 82 days ago
Dear N, Thank you so, so much for the amazing review. We are over the moon that you enjoyed your first experience of a cottage holiday and that you found your stay at Wharton Lodge relaxing. It's our aim to exceed expectations and your positive comments are really appreciated and will be shared with the team. Please do keep in touch. Don't work too hard (with all those calculations) and when you next fancy some R&R, we would be delighted to welcome you again.... board games at the ready! Warm regards, N

Wonderful cottage and hosts

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a perfect location to relax or visiting. Nicky and George have been wonderful hosts, we really appreciate their suggestions and kind availability for our requests. We recommend the cottage for cleanliness and we hope to return in the future.



Nicky replied 107 days ago
Dear A & G Thank you so much for the great feedback, it was a pleasure to welcome you both to Elgar. We hope that the heatwave at home has subsided and that you still feel rested and refreshed after your stay. Do keep in touch and we would be delighted to welcome you both to WL again one day.... Warm regards N & G

Happy 28th wedding anniversary

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wharton Lodge was the perfect location to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary. Our cottage was tastefully furnished and immaculately clean. We couldn't have asked for more with beautiful parklands, manicured gardens and a fantastic location to explore the Wye Valley. Our sincere thanks to Nicki and George who were wonderful hosts. Great attention to detail - in addition to our welcome pack, there was wine, an anniversary card and fresh flowers on our arrival. Nothing was too much trouble.
We very much look forward to returning next year.




Nicky replied 119 days ago
Dear L & M We are delighted you enjoyed celebrating your Anniversary with us, we loved welcoming you. Not only did we appreciated all the delicious food you were kind enough to share but will now enjoy sampling Friands, thanks to you. Do keep in touch, we hope to welcome you to WL again one day..... N

We had a wonderful week at Egar, Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottage and gardens were a delight and Nicky and George were the most generous and hospitable hosts.
The scenery and walking was excellent.


Roberta, Rutland




Nicky replied 148 days ago
Dear R & S, Thanks for the great feedback. We really enjoyed meeting you both and are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Elgar along with the local walks. Do keep in touch, N

Wonderful country break.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing weekend break in a lovely location. It was peaceful and quiet. Nicky and George were great hosts.



Nicky replied 173 days ago
Dear N & L We really appreciate your kind feedback, it was a pleasure to welcome you to Elgar cottage. Please don't work too hard and when you need to recharge your batteries you will always be welcome at Wharton Lodge (maybe not when there is a heatwave next time)..... N

A perfect place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cottages are just off the main A40 road between Ross-on-Wye and Gloucester, so there is easy road access to all the major tourist destinations in the area. The cottages are ideally located to explore the Forest of Dean and the Wye Valley in particular.

The Cottages are beautifully appointed and luxurious with all the mod cons - and the welcome basket of foodstuffs is a particularly nice touch.

It is very peaceful and quiet, with lovely gardens to explore, and stunning views out across the countryside.

The owner, Nicky, is very helpful and friendly, both before the stay with any visitor queries, and during the stay; she is also extremely knowledgeable about the local area, and has lots of excellent advice on places to visit, or where to eat (and even offered to drive me to the local pub so I could have a couple of drinks!).

All in all, a perfect place to stay, and one I would thoroughly recommend.




Nicky replied 188 days ago
Dear M, Thanks for the great feedback. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us whilst you explored the Wye Valley. Do keep in touch and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you again one day... Many thanks, N

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I enjoyed a short break at Wharton lodge. Elgar cottage is beautiful, it is well equipped and tastefully decorated. The owners really know how to make you feel welcome with a personal greeting,a botitle of wine and essential foods. The surrounding area is excellent, wonderful scenery and lots to do. We'll definitely be going back.



Nicky replied 203 days ago
Dear W&D Thanks for the great review, we are really delighted you enjoyed Elgar cottage. It's also great to hear that you would like to stay again one day. Returning guests become 'Friends of WL' and you would be included in our loyalty scheme.... Thank you once again, N

A Spring-time delight!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A week in this lovely apartment filled with light was a springtime delight. Surrounded by fresh green parkland occupied by ewes and maturing lambs, constant bird action and access to a well-maintained walled garden, it is a most wonderful place. It provides everything necessary for a comfortable stay and is in a useful location for accessing many rural and urban places of interest. There are a number of good eating places which were drawn to our attention by the very helpful owner if one decides to give self-catering a break; however, the frozen meals that can be ordered ready for your arrival even makes this aspect easy. Highly recommended.



Nicky replied 217 days ago
Dear R & P Thank you so much for your kind feedback we are delighted you enjoyed Elgar and the surroundings here at Wharton Lodge. Springtime is a great time to visit and we are delighted you appreciated the entertainment provided by the ewes and lambs. We hope to welcome you both again one day... Best wishes, N

Overview

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very pleasant stay and the walled garden is a bonus.

However the bed was not the most comfortable that we have ever had.




Nicky replied 235 days ago
Dear M & J Thanks for taking the time to give feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. We also appreciated the very positive and kind message you left in Elgar's visitor book about the Easter greetings and decorations. Best wishes, N

Our much anticipated annual Christmas week at Wharton Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were greeted as usual with great warmth by Nicki, George and the dogs and were delighted to be back in the superbly comfortable cottage with all the facilities one could wish for. The cottages are situated within delightful gardens and extensive parkland and in easy reach of the country towns of Ros-on-wye, Monmouth and Hereford. We have stayed at these cottages regularly for the last ten years and rate them with the best available.



Nicky replied 333 days ago
Dear E & L, What a great review. Thank you so much for such glowing feedback which will be shared with the team. It really is a pleasure to welcome you and your kindness has made my day. Thanks again and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Wharton Lodge before too long... Best regards Nicky

Another wonderful stay at Elgar.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay.
Nicky and staff attentive as always. It's a wonderful place to chill out and relax.
All the fixtures and fittings are of the highest quality. The bed is so comfortable.
We had a wonderful stay.
Thank you.




Nicky replied 339 days ago
Dear J&J Many thanks for the great review, we are delighted to receive such wonderful feedback. We really think it's important for guests to enjoy some quality R&R during their stay at Wharton Lodge. Please do keep in touch and we hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you both again one day... or maybe we will see you at Goodwood in the meantime! Thanks again N&G

Tranquil & Charming.

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nicky & George and, not forgetting their dogs, keep a beautiful property and guests feel privileged to share it. Based in the Forest of Dean, fine walks of all lengths are there for the taking and the beauty of Symonds Yat, the Wye Valley and surrounding areas are all a stones throw away. The cottage we had was well equipped and a real home from home. The use of the gardens was a welcome surprise and a wonderful setting for an evening glass or two of wine.
Altogether, a relaxing experience and the perfect base for exploring the area.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear G & S Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Wharton Lodge, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Elgar. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable please don't hesitate to let us know. Warm regards, N

Holiday in Herefordshire

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Elgar was fantastic and had everything you could wish for in a holiday cottage.
The bed was really comfortable and all the equipment and crockery excellent.
Nicky and George made you feel very welcome.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear T & L Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here at Wharton Lodge. Good luck helping with 'the projects' and don't forget to take some photos. Do keep in touch and thank you once again.... N & G

September holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a retired couple who have used Premier Cottages for approximately 8 years and we always find them an excellent choice. We like home comforts and 4/5 star accommodation and don't mind paying extra for it. Wharton Lodge cottages were most definitely 5 star in every respect. Set in beautiful surroundings with plenty to see and do close by. Local people were extremely friendly and the food especially good wherever we ate. A very enjoyable holiday.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear N & J Thank you so much for the great feedback, a real 5* review. It was our pleasure to welcome you and we are delighted you enjoyed Elgar and the local area. We hope you are keeping well and we hope to welcome you again one day. Kind regards, N

Our Second Visit

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been very happy with the comfort and cleanliness of the accommodation and look forward to visiting Wharton Cottages again in the future. The specific location is excellent and the general location very attractive.



Impossible to be topped!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
How lucky we were to choose ELGAR when booking our summer holidays! All our expectations were fulfilled. Not only did we find an extremely welcoming, tastefully furnished cottage decorated and equipped with whatever was needed to get along and to feel at home (highly impressive: the quality of all the soft furnishings - an example of excellent and costly craftsmanship!). We also met wonderful hosts: Nicky and George, who are warm-hearted and open-minded people with a natural feeling for what it takes to make their guests happy.
Highly recommendable!!!




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear L&P You have made our weekend with what can only be described as a fantastic review! Thank you so much for the very kind, glowing feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed Elgar, WL and the surroundings. It really is important to us that guests are comfortable, feel welcome and relaxed... and when the interiors/soft furnishings are appreciated it makes the icing on the cake. Will pass on your comments to our team and our upholsterer, the guy who helped with the soft furnishings in Elgar's bedroom/four poster. Thanks so much for making us very proud and please do keep in touch, Nicky

Felt at home

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really nice relaxing stay and were extremely impressed with the accommodation. It was furnished to a high standard but still felt very homely. In addition to this we felt very welcomed by our host who was always there if we needed anything, but at the same time respected our privacy. Despite being next to a few other people in the neighbouring cottages, it never felt anything other than peaceful.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & N Thanks so much for the great review and for the lovely comments in Elgar's visitor book. We really appreciate you taking the time to give feedback and very much appreciate your kind words. Don't work too hard and remember you will always be welcome at WL if you need to re-charge your batteries..... N

Elgar Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice Cottage, My Wife and I were made very welcome on our first visit by Nicky and George, and the Dogs. We hope to
return again sometime in the future for another relaxing holiday.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear J & S Thank you so much for your kind feedback both this review and the notes in Elgar's visitor book. It was our pleasure to welcome you to Wharton Lodge and we hope we may see you again sometime in the future. With thanks, Nicky and the WL Team

Exceptional standards that exceed five stars

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are very experienced travelers and have been involved in the travel and accommodation industry for over fifty years.
From the moment we stepped into "Elgar" at Wharton lodge we knew that we had found what was to be and exceptional experience.
We were never disappointed during our seven day stay.
Thank you Nicky, George and your team for your hospitality and dedication in providing a lifetime experience.
Paul & Karen Sullivan.




Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P & K Really, really appreciate your kind and generous feedback which I will share with the team. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to welcome you both to WL and glorious Herefordshire. Have a safe return journey to Oz and please do keep in touch.... Nicky

Don't miss it

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had.a wonderful time at Elgar.It was the best cottage we have stayed in.Everything was such luxury.So well kept and the owner was so helpful.We will definitely return.



Nicky replied more than 1 year ago
Dear P & Y Thank you so very much for the great feedback which I will share with the WL team. It is so rewarding to get such a positive review, it really is appreciated. So thank you again for finding us and you are more than welcome to visit us any time from across the border..... Kindest regards Nicky