FB Twitter

Granary

Granary

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


The Granary is a sweet cottage overlooking the fields and meadows to the south and the River Wye which borders the farm. A private hot tub in the garden is great for relaxation and a good body massage. You can watch the farm activities from the garden deck and pet the friendly animals. Birdlife surrounds the cottage and woodland beyond. Great for outdoor activities, walking and cycling.

Wonderfull place to be and relax

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely. Good quality. Relaxing hosts. Care for environment and perfect place to stay and be happy what is there. No need to go out For children an adventure



Easter week with kids

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful week in a beautiful location. My children adored walking the farm, stroking the friendly goats and seeing the lambs. There are lovely walks around the farm with the river in the background and friendly animals. The owners are welcoming and helpful throughout.



A Winter Break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Nannerth but the first in the Winter. The weather was not particularly kind but the wood burning stove more than compensated for that! We enjoyed our stay but obviously could not do as many of the walks as we would have liked.



Alison replied 59 days ago
Hi Susan and David, thanks for leaving your 5 star review. Sorry the walking was a little curtailed but very pleased you found the cottage cosy. Hope to see you again. Best wishes Alison

Great family stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at Nannerth and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. Alison and Andre with very welcoming and generous with their time. The farm and surrounding landscape is stunning and we particularly liked being able to walk along the river (and in the river!).
Our two children also had a great time and loved seeing all the animals and being able to let the ducks out in the morning. We also really appreciated the opportunity to see badgers from the treehouse hide.




Alison and Andre replied 201 days ago
Dear Ed and Audrey. Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are very pleased you enjoyed the farm and the animals as well as the countryside. We would love to see you again some time in the future. Best wishes Alison and Andre.

Our visit to the Granary

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit and once again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We even saw a badger! We enjoyed the walks from the house, although the drive up the farm track was sometimes challenging.



Alison replied 201 days ago
Dear David and Susan. Thank you for leaving a lovely review after your stay in the Granary this summer. We are glad you enjoyed walking on the farm. The road is a little narrow so we understand it can be unsettling even though there are a number of passing places. We hope to see you again some time. Best wishes Alison

A wonderful relaxed week in splendid Welsh countryside with warm and friendly hosts

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first discovered Nannerth many years ago when our children were of primary school age. They are now in their mid twenties and we still return year after year as a family, which says it all. Comfortable, clean and well equipped accommodation in a traditional cottage which has the benefits of modern additions like the hot tub. There are gorgeous countryside walks on the door step or you can enjoy shorter walks around the farm and along the river bank. Well located for Elan Valley as well as trips to the coast for beaches. Lots of choices in Rhayader town for eating out or shopping for self catering. Hosts are lovely, warm and welcoming and always available if needed.



Alison replied 340 days ago
Dear Julia, Thanks for the lovely review. It's great that you still enjoy a holiday here after so many years...I do hope we continue to see you and the lovely girls as well as the extended family! With best wishes Alison

Excellent in all respects.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent stay in an excellent location with wonderful views. Accommodation very clean and comfortable. Proprietors very welcoming and nothing too much trouble. Very highly recommended, will definitely re-visit.



Great family cottage holiday with hot tub

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week at Nannerth. The cottage was simple but lovely and cosy, and great value for money considering the hot tub, playground and play barn. We loved exploring the gorgeous farm in its Autumn glory. The facilities e.g. play barn were perhaps a little tired in places, and there were some Covid-related precautions still in place such as early checkout (9am) which was challenging for us with little kids. But overall we had a great time at Nannerth and hope to return.



A wonderful break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful, comfortable, clean cottage with a stunning view. Loved the walks around the farm and up into the hills. Allison and Andre were great hosts. We loved all the animals - they were entertaining and friendly. We will definitely be going back.



Alison replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Julie and Colin, thanks for writing a great review and we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday here. Would love to see you again. Gardening tips always welcome - best wishes Alison

Idyllic setting and the friendliest of hosts

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time staying in the Granary at Nannerth and will definitely be back. The accommodation was wonderfully clean and had such character, as you'd expect for a converted granary. It also had the best view for a morning! The hot tub was the perfect setting for some evening relaxation and stargazing...I even saw the Milky Way for the first time ever - just stunning! Andre and Alison couldn't have been better hosts. The welcome was friendly and the invite for an early evening drink part way through our stay with them and the guests in other properties was a really nice touch. They even got toys out so my daughter could play before we left for her bedtime. The walks from the farm were lovely and the river was just beautiful. We will definitely return once my daughter is a little older so we can make use of the badger hide! My daughter absolutely loved helping Andre let the ducks and geese out in the morning and still talks about Carrie & Dilys the very friendly dogs. The farm is also home to the friendliest goats we have ever met; they love a good cuddle and back rub. All in all, a lovely stay and in easy access to some really great sites to visit within Mid Wales (the dams in the Elan Valley are a must!); the drive along the mountain road is a treat in itself...be careful of the sheep who like to doze on the road :) Thank you Andre and Alison for a wonderful break. We'll see you again in the future x



Alison replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Lucy, Many thanks for the amazing review. We are so pleased you had a good holiday and managed to avoid the dozy Elan Valley sheep. Great that you made good use of the hot tub and actually saw the Milky Way. We should have new kids ie baby goats next year all going well. They are delightful and can usually be held and handled by guests. With best wishes Alison and Andre

A very welcoming and beautiful place to stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really enjoyable stay in wonderful surroundings. This is a particularly special place for children because of the ability to experience both the farm animals and adjacent countryside. Andre and Alison are very welcoming hosts. I strongly recommend this as place to relax, unwind and enjoy the beautiful views - even when you are soaking in the hot tub!



An amazing place

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our seventh visit to Nannerth Farm, its an amazing place situated in the elan valley. There is so much to do - the kids can help feed the farm animals, swim in the stream or play table tennis.
Lots of local walks in a very picturesque valley by the farm or at the elan valley visitor centre with its great bike trails and nature hikes.
The Granary property is very clean and well equipped with great views, the hosts are always happy to help and talk about the farm we really cannot fault Nannerth.




Alison replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Lesley, Ross and family, thanks so much for a lovely review. We are really pleased you still enjoy coming here after so many years! Still trying to make improvements every year. With best wishes Alison and Andre.

Perfect spot to watch wildlife and unwind

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we've been to the Granary, and yet again we absolutely loved it. You can do amazing walks from the house, there is so much wildlife to see (the badgers are a must), and the view from the hot tub is incredible. This time we also appreciated the dark skies, the stars from the farm were amazing. The kids loved the games room, and Andre and Alison are super friendly hosts too.



Perfect holiday spot

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a returning guest and having been several times, I may be slightly biased. Nannerth is charming and perfectly situated in gorgeous Welsh countryside. The Granary is quaint and just the right size for a family of three or four, with everything you need to make your stay comfortable. The hot tub is a the icing on the cake!



Glorious setting

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve visited Nannerth and stayed in the Granary several times now and always have a wonderful time. It’s a peaceful setting with amazing views, particularly from the veranda out back and the hot tub.
The accommodation is well equipped and has everything you need.
My kids love helping Andre with feeding and looking after the animals - it’s always the highlight of their stay.




A restful getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a week's stay in the Granary at Nannerth, and will certainly be staying again. The hosts are accommodating and friendly, and the overall situation and layout is lovely.

There's good walking from the door, including a nice drop down to the Wye, and any resulting aches can be eased out in the hot tub, nicely situated for a good view across the valley.

There's a very good hide at the bottom of the field for watching badgers in evening, and there's plenty of wildlife around the grounds.




Wonderful views in the heart of Wales

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really impressed with Nannerth in so many ways. We stayed in The Granary which had fantastic views of the valley and the farm livestock from its own decking area. Our twin boys really enjoyed being able to interact with the goats and help bottle feed the lambs. There are also a great variety of walks around the farm which we also enjoyed and the opportunity to view badgers too. We only stayed a week but wished it had been much longer! Alison and Andre are the perfect hosts and we would fully recommend Nannerth to anyone.



Alison replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Michelle, Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review. We are pleased you all enjoyed your holiday here. Best wishes Alison and Andre

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it, the place, the people, even the weather was on our side! Lovely people, absolutely beautiful views and spot on cottage to stay in. Absolutely glorious. Our son thought it was amazing seeing the tractors and the animals and mountain has quickly become his new favourite word! Hes never brushed his teeth quicker than when we said the farmer was waiting to show him the tractors! Haha. We will be back next year and will be bringing the extended family. Thanks so much for having us.



Alison replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Kristi, Thanks for writing such a lovely review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed yourselves staying here and that Walter loved seeing the tractors. Hoping to see you again sometime. With best wishes Alison and Andre.

Beautiful, child-friendly accomodation in stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at the Granary with our toddler, I can't rate it highly enough. The accomodation was smart and comfortable, but the highlight was all the extras around the farm and the stunning views from our balcony over the valley and hills. Our toddler absolutely loved seeing all the farm animals and exploring the play area/fort which surrounded our cottage. Alison and Andre were extremely welcoming and helpful! Can't wait to go back.



Alison replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Rosie, Thank you for sending such a lovely review. It is great to know what guests particularly enjoyed and that the farm and animals were so popular with your son. Best wishes, Alison

Lovely farm retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely place to stay, fantastic view from the lounge and deck. Enjoyed using the hot tub - I was pleased to find that the water is changed between each stay, as I have a low immune system.
I gave only 4 for location - it is lovely once you are there, but there is a single track road from just outside Rhayader, which made me anxious about meeting an oncoming car. Luckily, this happened only once, on our last day.
I also gave only 4 for condition - overall very good, but the controls on the oven are worn off and settling the correct temperature is guesswork. Even a printed diagram stuck to the kitchen wall would be helpful.
Walks around the farm property are great, with access down to the River Wye. Try to include an evening in the treehouse hide to watch the badgers feeding - this was a wonderful experience.




Alison replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Brenda, thanks for your review of the Granary. We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday and loved the environment and hot tub. You will be pleased to know we replaced the oven soon after your stay with a brand new one, so hopefully no difficulty in operating it now. With best wishes, Alison.

Amazing wildlife, walks, and views

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like walks and wildlife then this is the perfect spot. Highlights of the stay were of course the incredible badger hide, and watching red kites, ravens, and buzzards from the hot tub. The local meadows were wonderful for butterflies - clouds of common blues, also small coppers, walls etc. Lots of lovely local walks - eg it’s just a short hop across the fields to beautiful Gilfach nature reserve. And not far to drive to the Elan Valley. Kids enjoyed the friendly goats on the farm too. Midges not super bad but we were glad we brought a citronella candle and some insect repellent so we could eat dinner outdoors looking at the wonderful view. Already looking forward to returning next year :)



Alison replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Carrie, thank you so much for the review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday here. While it's quiet we are in the process of planting more trees and improving other habitat. I have only just explored the reply options, so apolgies for the slow response. With best wishes for 2022, Nannerth Country Holidays

Perfect escape

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week in The Granary. The house had everything we needed and Nannerth is the perfect place to stay with Primary aged kids. They adored the goats and other farm animals, the playground, games room and especially the hot tub! The view and surrounding farmland and countryside is beautiful and we hardly needed to leave the area as the kids were happy exploring the woodland and skimming stones in the river. To top it off Alison and Andre were the perfect welcoming hosts. It was a wonderful holiday, thank you!!



What a location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful remote and scenic location with superb views from the cottage (and from the hot tub!). We loved the stunning and lonely hill walks, the walks through ancient woods along river Wye and cycling on the tiny road right from the cottage. The children loved the resident goats, dogs and pigs, the badger watching from the tree house and the games room. Very friendly and welcoming owners.



Family Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, plenty of activities in area. Owners very helpful. Hot tub a luxury. Would definitely visit again.



Quaint cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a week in june after our holiday abroad was cancelled.There are 4 properties on the farm , each relitively private. The owners stay in one so are on hand if you have any issues. We stayed in the Granary . This was once an old barn that has been renovated to a good standard. It still has some of the old features and some of the walls and floors arent even. But this just adds to the charm. We had glorious weather so spent most of the time sitting out the back looking over the fields. I enjoyed watching all the animals .There wasnt the typical farm smell either which i was suprised about. There were alot of midges ( so mind pack some repellent). The hot tub was a bonus , so relaxing. The cottage is well equipt , the only thing it didnt have was a mop and bucket.It is self catering so you have to mind to bring every grocery item youll need ( ie - sugar , milk , salt , oil ) we had for got the sugar but the owner gave us some until we got to the shop which is in town . The cottage is up a nearly 3mile single track road , which the farm sits at the end off . You do hear some traffic noice from the road thats way across from the farm but its easy to ignore ..This is a little hidden gem and its a pity thats its so far away from us or we would return regulary.



Fabulous stay in beautiful mid Wales

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a fabulous week at Nannerth. What a beautiful spot. We spent ages sat on our balcony admiring the view, animals and birds not to mention the fields full of wild flowers. Hosts very friendly and welcoming and let us help with the animal feeding one evening including two bottle fed baby goats. The walks around the property are beautiful with the river at the bottom on the fields. We visited the badger hide, but sadly didnt see the badger. I dont think I will ever find a hot tub with a better view and was a great way to unwind after our activities. We did a half day canoe trip on the river wye with Black Mountain Activities which was great fun and very well organised. We also hired e-bikes from Clive Powell Bikes in Rhayader and cycled up the Elan valley which was brilliant fun. Other great places to visit is the Small Breeds farm and Devils Bridge Falls. The route to the falls is via the mountain pass which is amazing, well worth a drive for the spectacular views and thrilling road.

We dont often re-visit a place but I can see us going back to Nannerth as there is so many more places to explore and just loved the whole week there.




The Granary

Review submitted on Thu, 27 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming here for over 25 years and the experience never fails to please. The cottage is perfectly situated on the hillside with a deck for amazing bird watching. The walks are varied and can all be completed from start to finish from the cottage - so no driving involved. Really handy to be able to walk to The Gilfach Nature Reserve. Andre and Alison are the perfect hosts and make you so welcome and are so knowledgeable about the area. The accommodation is superb and you want for nothing. The hot tub is brilliant after a long walk to soothe aching muscles. The livestock on the farm is always wonderful to observe especially in Spring when there are lots of youngsters about. A year in our lives would not be the same if we didn't have a stay at Nannerth.



A Great Week in The Granary

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great cottage in a wonderful location. Very well equipped and comfortable. Welsh cakes and shortbread on arrival were delicious and lovely surprise. Walks from the door through the beautiful countryside, badger watching from the tree house and a hot tub with a view! Hosts were lovely. I would definitely recommend staying here and can’t wait to go back again!



A Covid Country Break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to this superbly positioned working farm in spring, welcoming, comfortable and a real sun trap. Covid restrictions and a cold wind limited our choice of activities but well worth the effort for a relaxing break.



The Granary

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Apr 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a truly wonderful family week staying at the granary. Idyllic surroundings especially enjoyed the baby lambs and goat kids. Just what we needed after a very strange year. Thank you very much for your hospitality