FB Twitter

Tudor View

Tudor View

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.2
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Tudor View is a peaceful & comfortable 4-room bungalow that has its own secure rear garden, and lovely views across the Sussex farmlands and woods.

Beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of seven. Five adults and two children. Although Tudor View is advertised for 7 there were only five chairs both inside and out. To go to the bathroom in the night it was necessary to go outside and back in in order not to walk through two bedrooms. The layout of Tudor View could be improved so much by adding an en suite bathroom to the main bedroom. In fairness of course the layout plan clearly shows this on the website so we knew this would be the case. However I would say Tudor View is ideal for 4 not 7 people. The swimming pool has a very shallow end and a deep end and had detritus in it. The surrounding building needs maintenance. When the pool was not cleaned I contacted Tessa who dealt with the situation quickly and efficiently.
Now for the positives.. the place is wonderful with fabulous views and walks. The buildings are delightful but need some love and care. The walled garden was beautiful if overgrown. There is plenty of outdoor space.
Despite these comments we all agreed that we would come again to Pekes.


Shalley from Canterbury stayed at Tudor View for 3 nights in July 2021


Fantastic get away for the family

Review submitted on Sat, 01 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Tudor View which was beautiful. The whole estate was extremely clean and well kept. We loved the old time feel of everything. Some may say Pekes Manor is outdated but we loved the charm and it made all the difference that house and facilities were so clean.
Thank you for a wonderful stay. Will be coming again as this was my second time staying there.


Katie from Hove stayed at Tudor View for 2 nights in April 2021


Lovely stay with gorgeous grounds and pool

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Apr 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sweet functional cottage with everything needed. Amazing heated pool and grounds for all the family to enjoy. Would definitely recommend

Amanda from Godalming stayed at Tudor View for 2 nights in April 2021


Such a lovely time

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had such a lovely time, the pool, the grounds, the surrounding area. We will be back again for sure. The whole ground has a lovely energy to it- its an old place with the faded elegance of a old English country estate ... oh and the views are spectacular.

Patrick from Dorking stayed at Tudor View for 7 nights in December 2020


A great find, in a beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would definitely stay again, the cottage had everything you needed inside and around the grounds.
We were able to go for lovely walks, there was a swimming pool, jacuzzi and trampoline literally a few minutes away from the cottage (other children’s play equipment also available).
It was quiet, and the views from the master bed room were spectacular.
The staff were welcoming and friendly.
Thank you for a relaxing weekend.


Kay from Telscombe Cliffs stayed at Tudor View for 3 nights in September 2020


Very comfortable in lovely grounds

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tudor Lodge was spacious and comfortable, set in lovely grounds. It was perfect for our stay and very relaxed for our visit with our dog.

Jenny from Great Haseley stayed at Tudor View for 3 nights in September 2020


Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at Tudor View booked for my brothers. Totally clean and we all had a relaxed time, walking, swimming and just enjoying ourselves.

Sally from Ruislip stayed at Tudor View for 3 nights in August 2020


In love with Tudor view!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Pekes and yet again it did not disappoint. Having stayed in the main house for my mums 60th, followed by a stay at the gate house we decided to give Tudor view a go-this is our favourite house so far (as a family with 3 little ones under 5). The house was perfect for the little ones to move through without having to panic what they were up to. The house was immaculately clean and well stocked with kitchen items, toilet roll, bedding etc. covid has affected the pool use- but we prefer this method of booking a slot as it can get crowded/awkward pre covid. The jacuzzi was also a hit, especially if the pool was already in use. The new bandstand to the right of Tudor view is beautiful and would be such a lovely setting for a wedding, the views are stunning (including the view from the main bedroom in Tudor view). Local attractions like knockhatch and the castle were entertaining for the little ones. The pier end of Eastbourne also looked good but we didn’t have time to explore. Thank you again for having us and we’ll see you again soon-hopefully next year!

Emma-Clare from Ottershaw stayed at Tudor View for 4 nights in August 2020


Lovely getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Pekes. The staff were great and everywhere was so clean it felt very safe. We used the pool every day and loved the fact it was a salt pool!
The area itself is lovely, lots of walks but also great just to sit and enjoy the magnificent views. Can’t wait to go back


Susan from Brighton stayed at Tudor View for 4 nights in August 2020


Another Wonderful Stay at Pekes

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a delightful week at Pekes. Its rare for us to visit in the summer as we prefer staying in winter and have done so many times before. However it was a treat we see the full glory of the gardens in August. The cleaning team are worthy of extra note this year, the cottage was totally spotless and everything felt safe and well considered for the Covid-19 situation we all ourselves in. Pekes as stepped up and done a fine job with their systems and sensible policies.

It's so nice to see the place move from strength to strength with all the positive changes that have come about in recent years. The work to accommodate weddings is particularly delightful and I think Pekes makes a very special location for such a joyous occasion.

The local pubs are as brilliant as ever and coping extremely well with all the required changes to how they offer a service.

Well done to the Pekes team and thank you for providing such a beautiful backdrop to a summer we shall never forgot.


Danny from Basingstoke stayed at Tudor View for 7 nights in August 2020


Holiday at Tudor View

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family had a great stay at Pekes, a place with wonderful views of the countryside. All the staff were friendly and helped us when needed. We used Tudor View, The Wing and Gate Cottage and all were lovely cottages with character. Pekes has so much space and it was perfect for children and adults. We hope to come back.



Daniel from Eastbourne stayed at Tudor View for 4 nights in August 2020


Great weekend at Tudor View

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an excellent stay with a group of friends in this cosy, warm cottage on a blustery, cold February weekend! Tudor View is comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. Kildare provided excellent service, thank you, responding to emails very promptly if we had a question. We didn't get out and about so I can't comment on the location - but it was perfect for us for a house party in the manor house and easy to get to from the M25.

Guest from Linton stayed at Tudor View for 2 nights in February 2020


Highly recommended!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can recommend Tudor View as the perfect base for a family of 4. The view from the main bedroom and terrace is to die for and the arrangement of the houses in the grounds means that every house has its privacy. The tennis court and pool were great for our teenaged aged boys.
Also fantastic customer service from the moment of booking!


Alexandra from Grootschermer stayed at Tudor View for 9 nights in August 2019


A lovely oasis of peace and relaxation

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th stay. In previous visits we made many daily excursions to surrounding tourist attractions, of which there are many. This time though, we spent most of the time at the house with its many activities for the whole family.

Being set in an idyllic estate with wonderful views, sometimes you need little more.

Extremely nice staff great facilities make this a place we will certainly return to.


Tim from Woluwe-saint-lambert stayed at Tudor View for 14 nights in July 2019


Lovely Place to Relax

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Tudor View. We will return. Everything was perfect for a relaxing stay.

Christopher from Wolverhampton stayed at Tudor View for 2 nights in June 2019


Location, location, location

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spacious and well located. Needs some attention to the interior.
Ideal for a family of four adults, two kids and a toddler.


Carl from Glenstantia stayed at Tudor View for 4 nights in April 2019


Tudor View forever in our hearts

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tudor View is a lovely small building that overlooks the rolling hills on one side and the manor house on the other. Very close to the hot tub and sauna and also a very short walk away from the pool area. It is the 6th year of returning back to Tudor View and this year was made extra special as my friend asked my bestest friends to get engaged. She of course said yes. Pekes has a special part in mine and my friends heart. We can't wait to return back soon and we can't recommend to anyone more highly.

Emma from Bristol stayed at Tudor View for 3 nights in March 2019


Tudor View - short stay

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Just what we needed to visit our daughter who lives in that area
chosen because dogs are accepted
slightly disappointed in the handling of the "potential damage" deposit - quick to take, slow to return


Allen from Great Bircham, stayed at Tudor View for 2 nights in March 2019


Kildare replied more than 1 year ago
Very good point from Allen here. This was a HomeAway Booking, and of course they retain the damage deposit and property managers have no influence over it at all I have had several Guests who have complained about the slow deposit return, but am powerless to do anything about it - alas.

Tudor View Revisted

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pekes is s special place in magical surroundings - the old world charm is everywhere and the dedicated team are among the most helpful and friendly you will find.
A genuine warm welcome is a lovely start to any break....this was our experience at Pekes.
We visited during the February half term in 2019 with our two daughters (9&10)...we had Spring like weather everyday and Pekes seemed even more beautiful.
Since we last visited 4 years ago, many very noticeable changes have occurred....lots of investment in time, money and love is obvious.

Our chosen rental property (Tudor View) is a warm and cosy dwelling that flanks the Tudor Manor House....there isn’t a bad view from any window!....the main bedroom has one of most impressive views available anywhere...seeing is believing!

Daily swimming in the recently refurbished pool is a delight (very warm water these days) - the large jacuzzi is always hot and ready to use, there is a sauna for those who do.

For us the gardens and surrounds are what make Pekes what it is. Historically preserved with lifetimes of work on display to all that care to wander.....and wander we did!

The feeling of safely for children to play is priceless, we enjoyed many games of hide and seek (based on a TV show called ‘Hunted’) - GPS tracking the kids around the estate is great fun and a golden memory.

The estate is also very enjoyable for couples and groups seeking a break away from the busy outside world. I have been visiting Pekes since the 1980’s and have always enjoyed the easy living - the 2 pubs are a joy and very different. You will be delighted with the food on offer and the olde worlde surroundings.

So in summary I would easily recommend Pekes as a lovely break to spend a break away from the hustle and bustle of the busy world. Just go and relax........


Daniel from Basingstoke stayed at Tudor View for 5 nights in February 2019


Beautiful setting- ideal country break

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a 2 night stay over new year and made so welcome. Tudor View was warm and comfortable with amazing views. The linen and towels were spotlessly clean and fresh and the whole place is so very well cared for.
We loved the rural setting with amazing views, brilliant stars at night, the open log fire and the warm swimming pool available even late at night.
Thank you for a wonderful stay!


Raphael from London stayed at Tudor View for 2 nights in December 2018


Great week

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of three properties booked for a week at Pekes for my 60th birthday.
Whole experience was excellent, with all properties warm and beautifully presented, and giving us exactly what we wanted.


Adam from Hemel Hempstead, stayed at Tudor View for 7 nights in November 2018


Christmas at Peke’s Manor

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a unique location and house. It was perfect for our Christmas with our extended family with its beamed dining room and magnificent fireplace. The bedrooms were comfortable even if getting in to our four poster was a bit of an effort. We were well looked after by the team. It’s quirky but its magnificent grounds, swimming pool, jacuzzi, trampoline, table tennis and table football meant there was something for everyone in our group that ranged from 4-70.

Joy from Lewes stayed at Tudor View for 5 nights in December 2018


lovely again

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another lovely stay at Peakes. This place may not be that far from London, but unlike a lot of the rest of the Home Counties, where you still feel like you're in the commuter belt a bit, this feels right out in remote countryside. Highly recommended.

Colin from London stayed at Tudor View for 3 nights in October 2018


Unique experience

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pekes Manor is a very unique place, feeling miles away from anywhere. The children loved the freedom to go from the property to the play area. We felt very safe. The communication at all times was amazing. We had a very special time.

Sarah from Hounslow stayed at Tudor View for 2 nights in September 2018


Perfect for a celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well equipped, wonderfully quirky and a great variety of options available for a celebration. We were lucky enough to have wonderful weather too. Definitely recommend.

Guest from Brighton stayed at Tudor View for 2 nights in September 2018


We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tudor View and would happily return in the future.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tudor View was very comfortable and practical for a stay with a young child having no stairs and an enclosed garden. The play area and swimming pool were also excellent.

On a personal note I loved the grounds and setting, it was wonderfully tranquil with no road noise.

There was plenty to do nearby making it a good base for sightseeing.


Guest from Tunbridge Wells, stayed at Tudor View for 2 nights in June 2018


Review of Tudor View

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An unusual layout. Spacious, comfortable, an en-suite would be good as loos are a long way from bedroom.

Linda from Bedford stayed at Tudor View for 4 nights in May 2018


60 th Birthday celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely calm cottage, fantastic views, had everything we needed. Only issue was lack of water pressure in shower, however this didn't affect our enjoyment of our stay. Use of pool, sauna and hot tub whenever we wanted, fantastic!

Guest from Uckfield stayed at Tudor View for 3 nights in April 2018


Sussex at its best

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view alone would be worth twice the money. The accommodation is madly retro and quite charming. The cleanliness was superb. Everyone was very friendly and it was a very pleasant experience, one which I hope to repeat soon.

Veronica from Childswickham stayed at Tudor View for 2 nights in October 2017


5 People in Tudor View

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were part of a larger group staying in the main house and the wing. The Tudor View was very comfortable and offered some nice privacy and amenities, separate from the main house. We slept 5 people in two bedrooms. You must pass through one bedroom to reach the second one, so the 'outer' bedroom has a bit less privacy. The large bedroom has a beautiful window with a great view. A very charming place to stay! Kitchen and living room were roomy and pleasant. There is a nice 'back deck' behind the house, also with a lovely view of rolling hills. The beds are soft but somehow very comfortable! And the bedding is also quite nice.

Sara from Potsdam stayed at Tudor View for 4 nights in September 2017


peaceful and relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
peace and quiet in a glorious location with plenty of places to visit for adults and children with a fantastic adventure park just down the road and at a reasonable price

Roy from Ramsgate stayed at Tudor View for 3 nights in August 2017


Room with a view

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This needs to be read alongside a review of a stay at the main house on the same weekend.
We booked the Tudor cottage in addition to the Main house as it meant that we could be sure we could have a good night's sleep and still enjoy the company of our 6 children, their partners and our 6 grandchildren. Whilst the main house has its own eccentric charm, the cottage offers one of the most spectacular views of the south Downs. It is possible to lie in bed with a cup of tea and observe rabbits gambolling in the garden, look at the lovely vista, hear shrieks of joy from children playing (not too) nearby... absolute bliss. What better way to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary?


Philly from London stayed at Tudor View for 3 nights in April 2017