FB Twitter

Hawthorn Cottage

Hawthorn Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Hawthorn Cottage is located at Riverbank Holiday Cottages, at the fringes of Glencoe village, and is a bright and spacious property, sleeping up to eight guests in three bedrooms

This cottage has been newly refurbished to a high standard in March 2018, so new layout and details can be found on our website.

Perfect location for a family holiday

Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant holiday at Hawthorn Cottage. Accommodation is very spacious, well maintained and clean. Staff at the Clachaig are very friendly and helpful. Cottage is in a brilliant location, convenient for Glencoe village, Ballachulish and Fort William. The property is nestled on the banks of the river Coe with very easy access. There are spectacular views of the surrounding mountains and hills. Had the privilege of staying at the other properties on the site (Holly Tree and Cherry) in previous years.Those occasions were just as enjoyable as this trip for the same reasons.



Excellent accommodation with a few niggles

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Large, well equipped, pleasant accommodation in a lovely setting by the river, 5minutes from village centre. Good furniture, well laid out, and very comfortable beds.
Lots of good quality storage in kitchen (for food etc) and bedrooms (better than anywhere we've stayed).
Helpful staff up at the Inn (very busy, but came quickly when part of food order was missing and tumble drier stopped working). Initial food order was nice to have & saved a trip to the shop.
Nice patio area at back overlooking river (when midges allow!)

Just a few small niggles to prevent it being a real rave review.

Double bedroom window was damaged and didn't open properly - so didn't use the room as we'd planned (Only 3 of us) - didn't want to have no ventilation)
Shower in 3rd bedroom was a bit dribbly so we used the one in the double room which was excellent.
Couple of white goods instruction leaflets missing, which gave us some working out how to use them. Ditto, the TV and sat box set up had no instructions, and wasn't set up - worked it out but might baffle some.
Filter in tumble drier hadn't been cleaned for ages - (really a renters job) - fortunately my wife loves defurring them!

All in all a very good place, where we'd happily stay again, with just a few minor niggles, without which it could have been even better.








A week of total tranquility

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything pre- arranged and the property was easy to find. Located in a quiet cul de sac. Facilities excellent. Shower to die for and a huge kitchen lounge and dinning room.
We will have to fill it up next time !!




Had a great holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location along the river Coe. Perfect base for doing things in the area. Good contact with the front desk. Clean, spacious, fully equipped - including perfect WiFi ;-) - and also very suitable for children (9 and 11)!
Had a great holiday!




Fab break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in the cottage. It was large, clean and comfy. Location was brilliant and we enjoyed cycling and walking from the cottage every day. Weather was glorious so we also went in the river at the back of house- very peaceful! There were only 4 of us as some family members weren’t able to come, but enjoyed the use of everyone having own bathroom. If there were a large amount of people, there wouldn’t be enough bowls. Was a real bonus having dishwasher, washing machine AND dryer. A real home from home. The 3 mile walk down to the Clachaig was beautiful down the old Road, but be warned- don’t follow the river Coe path all the way to end where marked on OSMaps as it is now fenced off at this point so we had a quick scramble over a barbed wire fence up the road from hostels to get out onto the road Would definitely recommend all the routes round the Lochsn and a trip up the Nevis range Gondolas is breathtaking! One of my all time favourite holidays- we will definitely return to the cottage and recommend to all our family and friends. The pool table was the icing on the cake



A great holiday home for the family

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Feb 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ample space for the family with fantastic views from every direction. Location is good for walking and not far by car to local amenities. The pool table is a nice touch and it kept the kids entertained all week. The property also provided many of the basics that you need such as dishwasher and washing machine tablets, toilet roll and cooking oil. The property itself is a bit tired and we couldn't work out a few things like getting one of the ovens to work and hot water to the kitchen sink and bath but we worked round it and never got round to asking for help. Overall a lovely base for visiting the beautiful sights of the highlands.



Lovely place in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Hawthorn and Cherry Tree for 12 people. Great location.
Good cottages with good facilities. The layout of Hawthorn is a bit quirky, you need to check the bedroom configuration as two bedrooms are family rooms.
Really good service from the Claichaig, in terms of ease of booking and any queries.




House with a view

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house, great location with a view to the glen and the pap. Very quiet and peaceful in lovely surroundings.



Hawthorn Cottage 27th Sept 2021

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week in Hawthorn Cottage despite the weather.
It is very well equipped & very cosy & warm.
We have stayed before & hope to stay again.
We love the Glencoe area especially loved our nights in The Clachaig !




Review

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, roomy spot in immaculate condition. Location not as good as the place we had last year, which looked straight down the loch to the sunset, but still a pleasant riverside setting, much appreciated by the kids.
Only quibble - no tips on the pool cues. Never expected to write that about a holiday cottage.




I miss it!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage. Great customer service and the location of it was absolutely perfect. There is lots to do in the local area and it’s not far from Fort William where there are even more activities to keep you busy.

We spent a lot of time at the lake which was in our back yard! We had to cross it of course. Everywhere you look around the views we spectacular. The decking at the back looked pretty old so maybe give it a nice pressure wash and the chairs and table out of the deck need to be upgraded.

The rooms of the cottage are nice a spacious enough. The cottage was very well stocked too. Plenty of parking space at the front. The bathrooms were nice a clean as well. Maybe the the pressure on the showers can be increased some more. It was only trickling down at points when all three showers were being used.

Overall verdict is I would like to come back here every year. I would like to recommend it to others but I also don’t want it to be unavailable when I try to book it




Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic location and brilliant for families as it is very spacious and the slightly odd layout works really well. Bits of the cottage are little bit tired, but this is not detrimental as it was spotlessly clean.



Family get together in the glen

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very spacious and peaceful location a good array of tea coffee biscuits for the initial day. The local shop is very handy. The children loved the pool table everyone enjoyed the riverside location and views !



Perfect Location

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lots of space and very well equipped. The beds are very comfortable. Having the pool table was a nice extra to keep the kids happy. It is a lovely peaceful spot to unwind after a busy day hiking. Food at the Clachaig Inn was amazing as always and lots of great wee shops and cafes etc within walking distance. Our second time at these cottages and I'm sure we will be back again!



Lovely house in a stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hawthorn Cottage is a fantastic, spacious house in an absolutely stunning location. With a quirky layout and sleeping up to 10 people, our family of 5 enjoyed an amazing holiday in Glencoe. Hawthorn Cottage has everything you would need for your stay, with lots of space, indoors and outdoors. Looking out onto the River Coe and mountains beyond, I could have stayed on the back deck for the entire week! The house is in a really peaceful spot, but within a short walk of the village and its shop and cafe or the Clachaig Inn (wonderful food!) There are also many hillwalking and mountain climbing opportunities nearby. We'll definitely be back!



What a great place to stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great cottage for a large group - we had 3 families with 6 adults and 2 children. It is very spacious, with plenty of storage and a well provided kitchen. The location in beautiful surroundings beside the river can't be beaten. We'll be back!



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location - perfect for all ages, great property with everything that you need and very helpful staff



Great week

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent one week at the Hawthorn Cottage an absolutely loved it, the shallow river running by the back garden is stunning and great for a wee recovery dip in cold running water.
Very peaceful and the views from dining are and bedrooms are amazing.
The house has everything you need and would most deo stay there again :-)

btw, the location and value for money are 5plus




Next time again

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely spacious house on a nice quiet spot.
The only downside was the minimal water jet when showering.




Week stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb place. Care taker came in straight away if anything needed doing. Everything we needed for our requirements.
Awesome place. Thanks




Great family house for a Highland stay

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property is tucked away in beautiful Glencoe (which made it a bit tricky to find!) making it a perfect family house for those wanting a bit of peace and quiet. The village is only a 5 min walk away along the private road which has cafes, pub & a little supermarket. The house has lovely grounds and we enjoyed sitting out the back/ paddling in the stream in the September sunshine. It was spotlessly clean when we arrived and we were grateful for the tea/ coffee supplies. The rooms are big, airy and very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and served us well as we ate in a lot. There is lots to do locally (forest walks, paddle boarding on the Loch (would definitely recommend that!), the Visitors Centre) and it’s well placed for trips further afield. The phone & WiFi signal were quite good considering so it’s easy enough to do a bit of online research. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hawthorn Lodge and would definitely recommend it.



Lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice cottage still needs a bit work in kitchen and bathrooms but good value and lovely location



We will be back

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had the best week at Hawthorn Cottage. It was so chilled out and the views were incredible, our sons also loved messing about in the river.



Hawthorn cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location parfaite pour 6 personnes au calme dans un magnifique paysage avec une situation géographique idéale.



Our family holiday at Hawthorn cottage was a great success

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a wonderful location.. There was plenty of space for everyone. It provided an ideal base for walking in Glencoe and trips to Fort William and Ardnamurchan. It was within walking distance of the Clachaig where we enjoyed the October beer festival and the atmosphere.



Glencoe delight

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wow. Amazing place and a delightful location facilities great and all rooms ensuite. Only real criticism is that the shower heads need modernising.




Family Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would reccomment this cottage to anyone wanting to visit Glenco. It is such a beautiful place and the views from the cottage are amazing. Its not far from various walks around the area to see the studding views the area has. The cottage was well equipped and very comfortable, a good size for the larger family. Will be back again in the future.



Riverside Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 3rd year in a row that we have booked accommodation in Riverside Cottages.

The location is fantastic, the cottages are lovely; well finished, comfortable, clean and well equipped.

The staff of Clahaig Holidays have also been friendly and welcoming (in particular Anne Marie, Jessie and Jason).

I hope to be back at Riverside next year.
Well worth the money.!




Highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent friendly service from staff and perfect accommodation resulting in a calm, relaxing and perfect holiday.



Great family holiday in Glencoe

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hawthorn cottage is a fantastic place to stay for larger family groups. The facilities and space are great. We have used the riverside cottages several times before and they are in a perfect location and ideally suited for an active holiday.
Only criticism is that the housekeeping had missed some things such as Dusting and the tumble diet which was so packed with fluff that the whole thing needed sorting out including the filter.
Also not sure but think there used to be soap available. A few knobs falling off kitchen cupboards too.
But overall it’s a fantastic place with homely touches, lovely pictures on wall and I would not hesitate to use again.
Thanks Clachaig for a great holiday base.




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage, nicely furnished with a well equipped kitchen. There were 9 of us in our party and there was plenty of room for us all. Beautiful setting, very quiet. We hope to return to Glencoe soon and will look to stay here again.



Perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we needed for our stay, the cottage is in a perfect location with great views and a river setting.

We will return in the future.




A very fine stay in Glencoe

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is very comfortable. There are little things, which doesnt work. Please look for the toaster and the showers.



Perfect for a group holiday in a great location.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this on a recommendation from a family member, and it did not disappoint. The cottage was warm and well equipped, and there was plenty of space for my party of 6 adults to eat and relax.Also good spaces to store our walking gear.
The only downside is the need for a warning about the decking outside which can become very slippery when wet (one of our party sustained knee damage in a fall).
Otherwise, a fantastic holiday in a beautiful setting.




Good base for exploring local area and mountains

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well equipped and comfortable cottage within walking distance to Glencoe village and mountain walks. Spacious accommodation with excellent views of the surrounding landscape. Other amenities within easy reach by car.



Beautiful and perfect holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect house in a perfect location, what's more to say, except the staff are attentive, polite and everything is hassle free. I would highly recommend the property.



near perfection but

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely, spacious cottage, however ,there are snags.
There are no instructions for operating the tv or dishwasher .There are excellent instructions for the cooker.
We were disappointed as to the number of chipped or broken items found in the kitchen and polo mints and other items found in the main bedroom.
The promotion photo shows a ramp to the cottage, however ,firstly this had not been opened before our arrival despite our prior notification it was needed. The thick gravel in the car park makes access to the ramp well nigh impossible for anyone who is mobility impaired.
Despite the spaciousness of the cottage, none of the bathrooms could accommodate a wheelchair or rolater, so overall, the cottage is not as access friendly as initial appearances suggest.
Enquiries were dealt with very promptly indeed.




Front Desk Team replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you like the cottage. A huge amount of effort went into refurbishing it this spring. Housekeeping oversight noted and will also be looking carefully at the crockery etc as happy to replace anything which has been damaged. As regards the access, Hawthorn does not offer any increased mobility access and for that reason we don't promote it. Yes, there is an access ramp and the barrier at the top simply lifts out should it be needed. However, there is no increased mobility access inside due to the older nature of the building. Sorry.

Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic cottage in a wonderful location - we had a lovelly holiday
this is our third visit to this cottage.




Ed Daynes replied more than 1 year ago
Look forward to welcoming you back for another visit. Hawthorn Cottage will be getting a full makeover as of next week, so you'll find a few changes next time you come.