FB Twitter

Beech Chalet

Beech Chalet

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Beech Chalet is a mountain chalet as you would imagine them to be.

Set in the grounds to the rear of Clachaig Inn, these timber clad chalets are the perfect mountain retreat, with excellent accommodation and unrivalled mountain views.

See more about Beech Chalet

Our stay at the Clachaig chalets

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in the clachaig inn chalets over the last 5 years with family members and at one time staying in 3 chalets. We would recomend this type of holiday whatever you are looking to do. The area of GlenCoe is awesome and there are so many places to explore near and far. This year things were a bit different because of the virus but the Clachaig had everything covered very well. Looking forward to next year hopefully and hope to see the boots bar back to its rocking best.



One week stay in August

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well appointed cabin in a stunning location. Plenty of outdoor activities in the surrounding area. The Inn itself serves great food and drink if you don't want to cater for yourselves. We would definitely book again if we were looking for another holiday in the area.



Heaven On Earth

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to stay at The Clachaig for many years and it is like coming home. This is due to the kindness of the staff who are absolutely wonderful- all of them, and our hearts are with them during this Pandemic because providing holidays for people under such difficult circumstances is so challenging. They do so with positivity and kindness and it is a privilege to stay each and every time.
The view from the chalet is absolutely incredible and it is like an alpine meadow. The accommodation is beautiful and has a cosy feel throughout. The kitchen is very well stocked, although we didn't use it much preferring to eat in the bar which is our favourite place in the world!
We have a small dog called Pebbles who adores the Clachaig as much as we do and knows her way to the bar and all around the grounds on her lead! She is made so welcome and it is so lovely to be able to eat with her in the bar.
Living in Essex it is a long drive to The Clachaig for us, but we miss the place as soon as we leave and have to plot the next visit as soon as work allows!
I would recommend this chalet and The Clachaig to anyone. It is like coming home and it holds a very very special place in our lives for which we are so grateful.
I would say to anyone book this and don't be afraid of the autumn and winter seasons. The colours are incredible and the trees turn golden in the Autumn and the cottage has views that will take your breath away. The way the cottage faces means there is nothing obstructing your view to the mountains, and the skies at night are amazing. The winters have snow and then you really are in an alpine chalet!




Late July stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location, good communication in advance.

Chalet comfy, good living space, well supplied with glasses/ dishes etc.

I felt the cleanliness of crockery and high chair were not of good standard, having to clean much of it before use - unexpected generally, but specifically in pandemic.... Similarly windowsills/ lamps etc all covered in dust - I accept only reopened recently, but, would have expected more attention to detail. Our heating had a problem, quickly resolved when we contacted reception.

Given the location, and the expectation of lots of people being outdoors, the chalet would have benefitted from mesh on windows to reduce midges in the house, and, drying facilities for boots - the fireplace worked really well for this!! Meant we had to have the fire on which would otherwise have been unnecessary at this time of year!

In the Inn (which we went to for drinks and meals) - good atmosphere, very friendly staff. Sometimes felt like still finding their feet around staffing levels for table only service, so long periods of waiting experienced at some points, but, service with a smile, apologies for delay, and good quality food made it worthwhile. Well done to the staff on the floor for this!

These small suggestions are made to be constructive - we had a great week and would highly recommend!




Always a pleasure

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been staying here for years and will always return. It’s a great place in a great location - surrounded by wonderful mountains. You can’t beat it.



Excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic stay at beech chalet. The clachaig is a very friendly and well kept pub. But it’s the location and staff that make it perfect.



Mr Hunter

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at the property and were very happy with the location and especially the view from the chalet, apart from the weather we really enjoyed our stay. On our first night we discovered that the oven did not work and were straight away offered a free meal in Clachaigs restaurant. The oven was repaired the next day and must conclude that the service the whole week was first class. We will certainly return, hopefully next year.



A piece of paradise

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well we're do I start fabulous location amazing real ale selection lovely and friendly were ever we went in Glencoe fantastic walks did the pap ,Glen etive , we've stayed her many times and every year this beautiful place just pulls us back again my husband even ticked a dip in the river off bucket list local coffee shops and food shops so friendly feel so at home can.t wait for next visit x



Great location, fantastic pub

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Beech Chalet last week of August - location was great, access to the pub was key. It's the pub that makes this rental great, you can get back late and walk down for food and a beer. The chalet itself is good, comfortable layout but needs a little work. It's a little dirty with spider webs on the outside porch, which has floor boards that are rotting away, and some of the kitchen supplies should be replaced. But it's a nicer layout inside than the pictures show. Also, like many spots in Europe there are no screens on the windows, which only open an inch or two, which is too bad it would have been great to be able to air out the chalet, as it was so nice outside at night but stuffy during the day (it was actually warm when we were there). Because of those issues it may be a little over-priced for the space, but the pub makes up for it.



Another lovely Holiday at Clachaig

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good break all round. Love Clachaig and Glencoe. Beech was also a lovely clean, comfortable and well equipped chalet. The only eyebrow raiser was the £10/night charge, £70, for our little Yorkshire terrier the size of a brush head. Would have preferred to have paid a £70 bond returnable on keys hardback. Other than this, brilliant.



Beautiful view

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely chalet , really well equipped , amazing view . Lovely food at Inn , really friendly staff , will definitely return



Location, location, location!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is amazing, the views are great and access to walks fantastic.
The chalet itself is comfy and warm and has all the things you need. Although the bathrooms need updating they are clean and the showers are hot.
It is right next to the pub which serves excellent food and has live music at weekends.
A great place to stay!




Two great weeks in Glencoe

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Classic place, classic location, great pub, great scenery- what more could you want? A beautiful chalet in one of Scotland's most scenic and historic glens plus Agag's Groove. Case closed.




A fine place for a great family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable chalet, great view, very quiet. We took advantage of the convenient access to super pub food and well curated drinks. Lots to do in the surrounding area. Our kids really enjoyed the largely phone-free holiday, we played games and spent time together from ice climbing to walks to simple pleasure of stone skimming.



William Stewart replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Peter, Thank you for your great review. We are glad you and your family enjoyed their time in Beech Chalet. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.

Unbelievable location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Clachaig Inn and chalets were almost perfect. Location, bars, food, chalet facilities were superb. Chalet itself a little dated.



A few things needing repair

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were a few things that needed repair in the chalet- handle on top cupboard kept coming off and tap in kitchen not working but otherwise very comfy homely place in an excellent position



Home from home.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our initial booking was for a room in the Lodge, but due to refurbishment, we were moved to the Beech Chalet, which was excellent - a superb place to relax after a hard day on the mountains.



great place

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
simple.....cant wait to go back..................perfect.......................................................................................................................



A wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beech Chalet is positioned in a beautiful part of Glencoe looking out on the glen through woodland and streams.

The chalet itself is very clean,warm and comfortable with everything one needs for the perfect self catering experience. The staff at the hotel are delightful and the Boots Bar great fun to visit with excellent ales and whiskies and plenty of opportunity to taste before you buy. We have been coming here for many years now and have never had anything other than a most pleasant stay.

We feel so happy and refreshed after a week at this beautiful place and look forward very much to our next visit. Thank you to all the wonderful team.





Holiday in Glencoe

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Out 3rd visit to beech chalet and it gets better every time. The Clachaig just seems to get better.
Many thanks to Joanne and Ann Marie for the chats regarding my late wife.
See you next year - already booked.




Brilliant helped by the weather

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent all necessary equipment and more. View beyond belief and lodge extremely comfortable. Fortunately few midges



Magical Stay in Glencoe

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - already looking to book again next year. Views from balcony changed every day with the beautiful Glencoe mountains. Had everything we needed and our dog was also very comfortable and relaxed in the chalet as plenty of room in living spaces. Food and drinks in Clachaig pub excellent- although gets very busy.



Brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an amazing stay here , we used it as our base for traveling around the west of Scotland, chalets were perfect and scenery was overwhelming!



Fantastic hub for a week of highland touring

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked for a week at Clachaig in the Beech chalet with my other half and her parents.

It acted as a great hub to our various trips around the highlands providing facilities for us to comfortably cook ourselves if we fancied it, or defer to the excellent bar and kitchen at Clachaig's pub (which we did a few times!).

The Boots bar hosted a Celtic band on our first night, which was a great way to start to trip and get into the swing of things.

The staff were helpful, the food & drink excellent and the Chalet was spacious (for 4 adults) and well equipped.

Can't wait to come back!




William Stewart replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our bars.

Great accomodation in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation for a great week’s walking. Superb setting with great views. The pub is welcoming with good food and wide choice of beers.



Walking Scotland Munros

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic time, we completed 15 Munros, Ring of Steall x 4 + 2, Ben Lawers x 5, Buachaille Mor x 2 , Aonach More and Aonach Beag x 2



Excellentl holiday in Glencoe with glorious weather

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm welcome at the start although surprised by the emphasis on dog rules. Can only suppose there have been poor dog owners to stay in the past.

Chalet with everything we needed. Fantastic picture window views and clear hot weather made the area even more beautiful.

We have never seen Glencoe look so benign! There is usually a haunted feel to the area, but this week the sun shone all the time. We enjoyed wonderful walks and the dog enjoyed keeping clean in the unpolluted mountain streams.




Perfect base for exploring Glencoe

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalet is perfectly located for a walking holiday in Glencoe with all the mountains close by. Spacious and comfortable and conveniently close enough to the Clachaig Inn for food and refreshments! Friendly and helpful staff made our stay a joy.



John from West Yorkshire

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always a pleasure to return to the Clachaig.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the scenery is spectacular




Spectacular venue at any time of year!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
During 50 years of married life with many self-catering holidays, Beech Chalet must rank as the most memorable. Whilst this is obviously an ideal location for walkers and climbers, as senior citizens, we still enjoyed a regular local wander, very contented to look at the magnificent scenery all around us. We much enjoyed our early morning encounter with the deer at our verandah. As a real ale enthusiast, the on-site access of a wide range of beers together with good food - without requiring the car - was an added bonus!

We are certainly hoping to return.




Reception Team replied more than 1 year ago
Wow! Quite a review. Glad you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Couldn't ask for more

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is our second time staying here and with the lodge, Inn and scenery we're already contemplating our third visit



Overall experience

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalet was lovely and we had an amazing time the location was amazing and views. Food and staff also excellent we
will be booking again early to ensure we stay in the chalets again as we enjoy being so close to the pub as well. I would like to give a special mention to housekeeping the chalet was a joy to walk in to after a long journey beautiful, clean and warm.




Ed Daynes replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you had a great stay. Thanks for the mention for housekeeping. They work very hard and their efforts are easily overlooked. See you next time.

Clachaig Beech Chalet

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent holiday, great place and superb surroundings. Plenty to do with breath taking scenery. Clachaig Inn is a great place to relax with friendly staff, especially the "Boots Bar" which had a good range of beers and real ales on tap along with the arranged activities during "February Fest". Look forward to returning for another enjoyable holiday.



Lovely chalet, location spot on, great pub at the end of a hard day

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used this chalet as "base camp" for our winter climbing expedition. It was perfect for the 2 of us with enough space to be private, including 2 separate bathrooms, and a good deal of space and heated areas to hang our wet clothes!

Location spot on (for access to the Ben and obviously Glen Coe) and ideally situated at the end of the Aonach Eagach ridge.

Will definitely be back!




Outstanding location!

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly beautiful place to stay! The chalet was warm, cozy and comfortable with fabulous views. Magical in the snow!! Beware though, if you're going at Christmas you need to be well-stocked with the hotel and bar being on closedown.



Ed Daynes replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The snow this year certainly added a little something extra!