FB Twitter

Tigh-Na-Alt

Tigh-Na-Alt

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.2
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.7


Upper Ashwood South is a charming cottage apartment located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Kames. Sleeps up to 4 guests, or perfect for two on a romantic hide-away escape.

Filled with nautical treasures your cosy retreat features a warm and welcoming living room with large picture windows offering stunning views over the West Kyles of Bute. Cosy up on winter nights by the open log fire and a bottle of wine.

Stunning views!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice flat, with beautiful views across to Bute. It is spacious and provided all we needed. I was particularly impressed with the quality of the bedding and towels. The bed was really comfortable.
We arrived on a cold October evening, and the property was cold, but we were soon cosy and warm with the very efficient convector heaters. There is also a log burner which was lovely. The toilet at the back had the most impressive view, but had no form of heating, which would have improved it. It is placed very conveniently to all the local services, shops, cafes and pubs. There are also lovely walks from the flat. Overall we had an excellent and comfortable stay. I will definitely return. Thank you.




Very comfy and brilliant location

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days - together with outstanding weather - in this quirky but very comfy flat. The view across to Bute from the living room is outstanding and binoculars were available for otter and porpoise spotting (no luck!). The flat is very well equipped and brilliantly located with a nice outdoor area below.



Tighnabruich apartment

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Feb 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely unexpected weekend here in February. Lovely view, nice location. Generally a nice apartment although could benefit from a freshen up and a bit of tlc.



Great base on Argyll's Secret Coast

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With wonderful sea views and close by shops and eateries this comfortable flat is a great base for a holiday in Tighnabruaich.



Excellent View

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable flat in a great location. Very clean. The shower room door could be improved and a curtain on the toilet window would improve the flat. That said the view from the toilet was impressive and it was a talking point. A brilliant stay.



Another enjoyable stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed in this lovely flat many times and our next stay is booked already. Location and views suit us perfectly. Sitting at the big window in the sitting room watching yachts and the tide come and go along with herons, seals and gannets passing is soooo relaxing!
Our only continuing issue has been that the fridge/freezer is not the one in the photo. Be aware that the fridge is much smaller and the freezer is a small top box plus it's not as deep as a normal fridge either so fitting foodstuffs and holiday wine supplies has always been a problem for us and especially during this hot spell. A 50/50 normal sized fridge freezer as pictured would really be a huge improvement.





Beautiful location fantastic property. 5 Stars!

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect! stunning location overlooking the sea. Everything within walking distance, shops,hotels restaurants, pier. Flat spacious, living room great, with double ended windows and really spectacular views, comfy sofa and chairs, tv. Separate kitchen is well appointed and fully equipped. Bedrooms lovely. Double with comfortable bed, fluffy duvet and nice pillows. Twin small but perfectly adequate. All spotless. Fresh crisp linen. Good ventilation throughout the house, easy to open windows. Shower room good with adequate power shower. Separate toilet and washbasin. Outside patio area overlooking the coast. Highly recommended! Tighnabruaich is a truly stunning place with so many wonderful things to see and do close by. Great Boat trips, Nice wee golf course with breathtaking views. Tighnabruaich is 15 minutes from Portovadie aka Marbella!! With excellent ferry service to Tarbet, where you can buy brilliant seafood and also visit their spectacular coast. You won’t be disappointed! A secret hidden gem!



Self catering delight

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at this apartment before everything you could wish for including a few personal touches. Located in the heart of the village felt terribly spoilt having everything so nearby.
The apartment is spotless and incredibly quirky you can’t help but fall in love with it which is why we keep booking it. Looking forward to our next stay which we have already booked




Value for money

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only fault was the door of the shower room didn’t open or close properly...apart from that the views were spectacular especially from the lounge and the




Repeat visit...

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3rd visit and as before we all enjoyed our stay in this lovely flat.
Over our weekend we had lunch and dinner out at the Kames Hotel welcomed by new owners Jimmy and Lily - food did not disappoint and we're happy they're continuing the legacy of the retired owners.
We had a great Sunday walk through Ardmarnock Estate down to a tiny beach, the autumn colours are beautiful at the moment - highly recommended but beware if you have a very low chassis car the estate road is not do-able, it's very pot-holed.
A great place to be whatever the weather - as people say in Scotland there is no such thing as bad weather just inappropriate clothing!!!





Happy old men

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The two crotchety old men I booked this for could find no fault, so all good thanks - not an easy 1!



Fantastic weekend break

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed before at Tigh-na-Alt and again have had a really enjoyable break by the sea! The flat is in a great location and so relaxing. Booked again already!!!



5 day break in Tiny

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Conveniently located with excellent view of Bute from the living room window. Comfortable well presented spacious accommodation. Good shower room.



Perfect seaside property

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Being in the village and right beside the sea this is a fantastic property for all, whether old or young. The flat itself is very comfortable and instantly welcoming and homely. It's a great base for a holiday on Argyll's Secret Coast and we can't recommend highly enough. The view out to sea from the sitting room is unimpeded through a huge picture window and in fact the high tide laps the garden wall below. A whole day can pass listening to waves lap the shore where herons and oystercatchers hunt and watch passing yachts - remember your binoculars! The gravelled garden area at the back of the property is a relaxing place to finish a holiday read or sunbathe and a safe place to park the family's bikes. The housekeeper Irene is your helpful, local contact if you've any problems - we didn't need to bother her but it was good to know someone was nearby. We had mixed weather over our week but rain or shine this is a lovely property for a family holiday or short break. We've just booked a return trip!



Weekend retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a long weekend here and the apartment had everything we needed and would highly recommend it.

Only thing missing was maybe a directory with some local knowledge. Where nearby hotels/places to eat were. Recycling, what can go in which bin?





Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was beautifull the views were second to none ! The bedding was lovely and much appreciated! The whole experience was great and excellent value for money thank you very much for a wonderful stay



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely accommodation for a relaxing holiday. The flat was spotlessly clean, good quality bedding and furnishings and everything in working order. Fabulous view out across the water and a small private garden area as well. Simple booking process and very good value for money.



Easter Break

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in this apartment for 4 nights over the Easter weekend. On the whole it was a great apartment. The sitting room was lovely with great views and was comfortable and well furnished. The log burner was a bonus on what turned out to be a very wet and cold Easter Sunday. The beds were also very comfortable. The bedding smelled lovely!!
Minor negatives were;
The condition of the crockery- several items were chipped and would have been disposed off in our house.
There were no instructions for anything- a must in a rented house.
The steps to the apartment were quite steep and we had to park quite a way off. This meant we struggled with taking items in.