FB Twitter

Sherkin

Sherkin

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
83% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.0
Location
4.8
Value
3.5
Customer
Service
4.5


https://www.welliesandwindbreaks.co.uk/sherkin/

Sherkin is a much loved family holiday rental, ideally positioned in the heart of East Wittering village, with the beach only 100m away. Ideal for two families to share it has two double bedrooms, one twin room with zip and link beds and one single room. There are two additional futon beds for young children.

Excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed here for my husbands 40th and it was perfectly located and really big. Really close to shops and amenities and beach. Perfect for families. Just on the chic side of shabby chic. Brilliant and memorable weekend.



Special times at Sherkin

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely week at Sherkin. We were two families; five children and four adults. We could not have chosen a better week to enjoy East Wittering, the weather was fabulous and the house is very well located. We did not need to get into our car for the whole week, as all the local amenities and independent restaurants were all a very short walk away.
Parking two family cars out in the front driveway is a bit of an issue; however there is parking available in the streets nearby.

Sherkin soon became our home away from home over the week, with its airy and open living area with easy access to the surprisingly large garden, where the children enjoyed running around, playing football and we enjoyed our nightly BBQ's.
The bedrooms are of a good size and were lovely and cool in the evenings after a long sun filled day at the beach. The house was clean and tastefully decorated, however the décor on the photos from the website was slightly different to what there was when we arrived at Sherkin, as I understand it had new owners.

All in all our stay at Sherkin was wonderful and we have such special memories of our time in East Wittering, we will definitely book again!




A little disappointing not as expected

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The new owners need to give the property an overall. Furniture not great throughout, drafty 2nd floor making it unusable. Oven need replacing - dryer needs to be installed, not as expected.



Wellies & Windbreaks (Amanda Pugh) replied more than 1 year ago
I am very grateful for the feedback and I am sorry that Sherkin did not meet the guest's expectations. The property had changed owners in between the booking date and actual holiday and in fact, the owners only completed three weeks before the guest's holiday. I had advised the guest at the time of booking that the property would look a little different to the wesbite photos and that some of the fixtures and fittings would be changing. I was not in a position to know what these changes would be until the new owners had finished fitting it out. This was just a fortnight before the guest's holiday and it is worth noting that at that time, this guest had wanted to cancel her booking. I was trying to re let the dates for her. I question the comment about the 2nd floor being drafty as I have managed Sherkin for 3 years, throughout all seasons and have never had this concern raised before. The owners have put locks on the loft hatch doors in case this was the cause of the problem but I would like to reassure future guests reading this review that room is definitely usable and enjoys a beautiful twin bed / zip and link. It is a lovely bedroom. The owners are looking into the comment about the oven and had an engineer around to service it. Other guests have not had an issue but the owners do want to ensure that the oven is operating perfectly for future guests. With regard to a dryer, the owners may consider putting a tumble dryer at the property but for the time being, it is their wish to just have a washing machine. There is a clothes airer for guest use. Wellies & Windbreaks is always grateful for guest feedback and does always act upon it when required. I should like reassure future guests that Sherkin is a lovely and very comfortable family holiday home which has been much enjoyed by holiday makers for over 3 years now with Wellies & Windbreaks.

Great week at Sherkin

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nine of us had a great week staying at Sherkin - 2 families plus a grandparent and dog. The house was spacious and well-equipped and the children loved exploring it. They also couldn't play enough football in the large enclosed rear garden which is very well-kept. Parking 2 cars on the driveway is something of a challenge unless they're small, but there's plenty of parking in streets nearby. The location is pretty perfect in the village - seconds to walk to the shops and a couple of minutes to walk down the road to East Wittering beach. The beach appears pebbly at first but has sand at low tide, so it's possible to build sandcastles whilst avoiding the hefty parking charges at West Wittering!
Amanda was very helpful and easy to contact during the week and resolved a couple of issues that we had. Her newsletter is well worth a read as it gave us ideas for activities that we wouldn't otherwise have known about.
Just wish I'd remembered to take some piano music with me...




Superb Holiday!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of 11 - 6 adults, 4 children 1 baby - had an amazing stay at Sherkin. Amanda was absolutely fantastic with providing information and service upon booking and afterwards with deposit return.
We will definitely book again.




Amanda Pugh, Wellies & Windbreaks replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind words Sunny. It was lovely to meet you and I look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Amanda

Summer break with 3 kids

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location 200 yds from East Wittering beach and 2 minutes walk from all shops and amenities. House is in great condition and stylishly furnished. The good sized sunny garden is a bonus. 2 of the 5 bedrooms are very small but accommodate a cot (provided) and kids bunk beds respectively. We were 1 family with 3 kids but the house could take 2 families with up to 6 kids. Couldn't fault it and are likely to return in the future.



Amanda Pugh (Wellies & Windbreaks) replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your favourable review Matt. We would love to welcome you all back again. Best wishes, Amanda