FB Twitter

Lubbers

Lubbers

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Lubbers is a very popular East Wittering holiday home which has been let for a few years but is new to the Wellies & Windbreaks portfolio in July 2022. A stylish and contemporary holiday home which sleeps 8+2 in 5 bedrooms and is just 100 metres to the beach.

A lovely holiday home in a lovely location

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Apr 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited as a family group of eight with a dog and the house was perfect for our stay. The bedrooms were spacious and very comfortable and the open plan area was perfect for meals, card games and scrabble. The beach was only a very short walk away and a beautiful place to walk our dog while the utility room was very useful for keeping all our outdoor and pet gear. We were lucky to have some sunny weather and enjoyed the patio and very well kept garden and there was plenty of garden furniture for us to use. We would definitely come again.



Angela replied 5 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review Samantha. We are delighted Lubbers worked so well for you all, and hope to host you again in the future. Best wishes, Wellies & Windbreaks team

Fantastic weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend Lubbers more. A group of 7 of us stayed for the weekend and we all absolutely loved the property and the time we spent there. It’s in a brilliant location, walking distance to the beach and to the village. The amenities in the house were great and we had everything we needed. It was perfectly clean when we arrived and the customer service and communication in the lead up to our weekend was faultless. I’d come back and would highly recommend staying at Lubbers!



Angela replied 50 days ago
Dear Maya Thank you for such a lovely review of Lubbers. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and would be delighted to host you and your guests in the future. Best wishes, Wellies & Windbreaks team

Our stay at Lubbers

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2024
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay. Very well equipped house with great private enclosed garden. Just around the corner from the sea plus shops & restaurants. Easy check in although did find putting in a code in for all entry ways a bit frustrating at times! Would be better if it was just for the gate but understand keys get lost! I also think for the cost of stay you shouldnt have to take off sheets at the end of stay. Just small comments but thoroughly enjoyed it!



Angela replied 59 days ago
Dear Sarah Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a lovely review of Lubbers. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the house worked well for you. Regarding your note on the access code, guests tend to find this works better than sharing keys when going in and out a different times. We hope to host you again in the future. Best wishes, Wellies & Windbreaks team.

Superb winter break

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Lubbers. It is the second time we have visited but our first in Winter. We live in Spain so weather in the UK is always a worry and keeping the family happy despite the cold, rain and wind was potentially a problem. It turned out to be fine. If you are considering a winter break, this is a wonderful option.

The house has a very efficient central heating system, is well insulated and has a lovely log burner for cozy evenings in. The design of the house is also first-rate making a winter break very comfortable. The beds are extremely comfortable, warm and clean. There is a utility room for drying off and storing boots and jackets. Ambient lighting, a fabulous and well-stocked, modern kitchen and a nice living area made evenings a pleasure. The Christmas tree was also a nice touch. There were also loads of great board and card games and a big TV for family entertainment with plenty of streaming options.

We managed to get out to the beach every day for wonderful walks. The town centre is about 5 minutes walk so easy access on a lazy day. The kids loved the shops - especially the bric-a-brac and sweet shops. The pubs in the area are also very good. We loved the Crown and Anchor in Dell Quay, which does great food, local wines and beers. There is a very nice walk (about 15 minutes) to a medieval church along the estuary which is a favourite of ours to help with digestion!

We visited Chichester, London, Surrey and Kent during our week which are all doable. There is so much to see in the area.

Anyway, thanks to our host for a wonderful pre-Christmas stay. We thoroughly recommend this place and will be back again.




Angela replied 59 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review Alastair. We are so pleased Lubbers worked well for you and your family. Your local recommendations are appreciated for future guests. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Best wishes, Wellies & Windbreak team.

Most Wonderful House

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lubbers was by far the best holiday let we have stayed in. It felt like a home but with all the luxuries you would want. The bedding and towels were of very good quality as are the toiletries. Beds were comfy and their was an abundance of hot water. The kitchen was well equipped, we cooked a christmas dinner for 7 and had everything we needed. The house is very social and ideal for friends looking for a nice catch up. Parking was easy and the car park opposite is super cheap. I think we paid £2.80 for the whole weekend. We could not fault Lubbers and will be telling friends about it.
Thank you




Angela replied 59 days ago
Dear Stella Thank you for your lovely review of Lubbers. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you all again in the future. Best wishes, Wellies & Windbreaks team

A nicely located, well equipped, very comfortable and attractively decorated house

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous long weekend in the property and hope to re-book very soon. Having rented other properties in the area, this one is hard to beat!



Angela replied 144 days ago
Dear Stephanie Thank you for such a lovely review of Lubbers. We are so pleased the house and location worked so well for you and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Wellies and Windbreaks team.

Family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2023
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We all felt it was a shame that things had been cheaply done. The house was nice but with cheap furniture which meant it wasn’t as comfortable as it could have been. The floor was also filthy when we arrived. We suddenly looked at the baby after being there for 10 minutes and his babygro was black. I then had to start my holiday with hoovering and mopping and found the hoover was broken and a cheap mop which explained things.

The glasses also needed washing and some of the kitchen things which wasn’t pleasant. There were two broken bottle openers and so we bought a new one which we have left.

There is no patio area for the table and chairs and so it was on the grass which was extremely muddy, we half put it outside the kitchen door so we could use it.

A good location so just a shame that it has been done to a higher standard.




Amanda Pugh replied 152 days ago
Dear Victoria Although it is disappointing to hear that you had some concerns at Lubbers, we really do value your feedback. It is so important to us to receive guests' comments so that we can ensure all our houses are presented to the highest standard. Firstly with regards to the cleanliness issues. I am sorry you felt the floor in particular was not up to standard and some of the kitchen items were not clean enough. We do have a policy of sending the cleaners back in should guests raise any concerns within the first 24 hours and would definitely have done this for you. I'd like to reassure you that I have raised your concerns with the cleaners and they apologise if standards fell short. The owner has also replaced the mop and hoover (although the cleaners did bring their own equipment). The owner was sorry to hear you felt some of the house had been done cheaply. Lubbers has been a very popular property since we started letting it in July 2022 and we have not previously had a comment to this effect. I have messaged you privately to ask for specific feedback as the owner will happily replace anything which may not be up to standard. She really does care a great deal about guests being comfortable and able to enjoy her home. We do accept that the lack of sizable patio right outside the kitchen patio doors isn't ideal in the winter months. Just so future guests understand, there is a path in the garden leading from the back gate and rear garden patio area to the kitchen door but the sliding doors in the kitchen only have a path width patio in front of them. This can be seen in the listing photos should anyone have any concerns. Thank you again for your feedback Victoria we are sorry that you had some concerns during your stay. We will rectify them for future guests. Best wishes, Amanda

Half Term Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A well laid out and equipped house for multi generational family .
The annex would benefit from a television. The radiator in the upstairs bathroom would not come on despite following the instructions. Hence we had cold damp towels for the duration of our stay .




Amanda Pugh replied 169 days ago
Thank you Donald and Donna for your review. As communicated in our direct correspondence about your feedback we are always so grateful for guest comments so that we can make improvements. I understand from your feedback that in fact the radiator was working, it was just you were struggling to operate it. As I said, if you had contacted us during your stay we would have offered to help. I also acknowledge that you feel you were too harsh in your rating of the location, which you only gave because of the vacant plot opposite the house. I am grateful to you for confirming that the location is in fact very convenient for beach access and the good range of shops in the village. Thank you for booking with Wellies & Windbreaks and we do hope we can host you again. Amanda

Weekend Getaway with Family

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend getaway at Lubbers. The house is gorgeous and well kept. We even utilised the fabulous garden room, which was extra space for the family. We had a small issue with no hot water our first morning but Amanda had this sorted out in no time at all. Customer Service is 10/10. We would definitely stay at Lubbers again and highly recommend this fabulous home. Thanks again Amanda (and Dave) for your kind assistance.



Beautiful home for a family gathering in a perfect location!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic house and a brilliant spot! Booked as a family ages 5 – 75 for the week.

Location was spot on; weather was hit and miss so we could go back and forth to the beach within moments. Also, the village shops were a stone throw away with everything you could need and more.

House was very well equipped with lots of items top of the range from The White Company towels to Dualit Toasters and Kettles, wine fridge was an added bonus, as was the room the garden.

There is a shower outside which has hot water, which was a great idea for when the dogs come back from low tide to shower off as well as the humans. As was the Utility/Boot room, made it organised when the house was full!

Decoration spot on, cleanliness, check in check out all on point.

Lots of games to play both indoors and out, we brought our own and spent a lot of time in the garden playing, we also used the BBQ a couple of times, great size for the amount of people staying.

Also, great supply of basics to get you going!

I am looking to book again next year, so that says it all.

Thank you for a great week!




Perfect place

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for a family get together. Enjoyed the witterings village and beautiful beaches.will be back.



Angela replied 233 days ago
Dear Katy Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Lubbers and would be delighted to welcome you in the future. Best wishes, Wellies & Windbreaks team.

Very good but could be excellent!

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2023
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
While we really enjoyed our 4 day stay at Lubbers (the house and situation were exactly what we were looking for), there were a few things which could be improved to make it a perfect place.

Despite the confirmed early check-in, the previous occupants did not leave until early afternoon, so we were unable to get in until well after 4pm. This also meant that the cleaners did not have sufficient time to do their job and we spent another hour cleaning. We had requested the one of the twin bedrooms be made up as a double but this had not been done and supplies were missing i.e. loo rolls, bin bags and hand wash. The agency did respond the following day but it wasn't a great start - better communucation to advise us about the check in and follow up once we were in would have avoided the above.

The house is generally well-equipped with decent facilities and nice bed linen, towels etc (plus a comfy sofa bed in the annexe). A bigger cafetiere (or more than one!) would be brilliant and some of the kitchen items would benefit from a deep clean i.e. mugs stained with tea etc. The fridge is small for a group of 8 (there is a wine fridge but only the top half actually goes down to fridge temp), the garden needs a bit of TLC and the refuse/recyling bins are too small (both full when we arrived) for a rental of that size.

Realise these are minor quibbles but all easily resolved! After all, it is meant to be a "high-quality" rental!




Amanda Pugh, Managing Director of Wellies & Windbreaks replied 297 days ago
Dear Harriet Thank you for your review and the feedback. We really value guest comments so that we can maintain a high standard of service and property presentation. The previous guests checking out later than permitted did cause some real issues for the clean team on the day of your arrival. Whilst I fully accept this should not have impacted your holiday or permitted early arrival, I just want to take this opportunity to clarify the situation so that future guests understand the basis of your 3.7 rating. We do try to accommodate guests requests for late check outs and early arrivals wherever possible but it can be logistically tricky as the clean teams do often need to clean multiple houses on the same day. On the day of your check in the cleaners had to leave to go and do another job when the previous guest had not checked out and whilst they did return to clean Lubbers, your early arrival time meant that they were still working when you checked in. We should have been in touch at the time to explain the situation but I hadn't been made fully aware of the situation until I received your email. The bed not being pushed together to make a double was an unfortunate consequence of this logistics issue and I am sorry it wasn't presented as you had requested. With regards to the issue of limited supplies, I am glad we were able to get everything to you the morning after your arrival but am again sorry these were not in situ when you checked in. We always respond to guests concerns and requests in a timely manner but accept it would have been better if the house had been 100% ready for you upon arrival. With regards to the fridge, there is another fridge in the annexe and I shall make sure we are clearer with guests about this going forward. There is a coffee machine but I accept some guests like a cafetiere too. We shall speak to the owners about purchasing a larger one and also will ensure all crockery is checked over and replaced where necessary. Finally, with regards to the waste collection, the council only collect the bins on alternate weeks which can be a problem. In July and August we arrange a private collection to mitigate this and throughout the rest of the year we will always have bins emptied if required. We had had them emptied during the week prior to your stay so the previous guests must have had a lot of waste. The council collection is a Wednesday so one of the bins will have been emptied during your stay. We would have had the other emptied if there was no room for your waste had we been made aware so I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you. On balance I am really glad you did enjoy your stay at Lubbers and it is indeed a really lovely house. The owners and Wellies & Windbreaks do work hard to maintain it as a premium property so you feedback is really valued. Should any future guests have any concerns prior to booking I would ask that they contact Wellies & Windbreaks directly and we can answer any questions you may have about the house. Best wishes and thank you for booking with us. Amanda Pugh

Ideal property for a family get together and only 200m from the beach

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic house for a family get together, providing excellent accommodation and being 200m from the beach



Angela replied 298 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review Tim. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Wellies & Windbreaks team.

Wonderful stay in West Wittering

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for such a lovely stay at Lubbers. We had a great time catching up and celebrating a friend’s birthday.
The house was very well tended to - beautiful interior design, with great facilities and extremely comfortable beds.
Good location in town, next to the beach and local amenities.
We will definitely be back!




Perfect family beach get away.

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Apr 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect Perfect Perfect!!
Beautiful house - Spacious, cosy, great garden space and has everything you need.
Hot outside shower is a GREAT touch, after a cold swim at the beach! We also enjoyed cosy nights around the fire, as well as playing games in the kitchen/dining area - which is so well designed. Beds are super cosy & bathrooms/en-suites were great.
Great location - seconds away from the beach and a few minutes from town. Butchers, bakers and cafes are on point.
100% We’ll be visiting again and recommending to friends and family.
Wish I was still there!!




Angela replied 360 days ago
Dear Laura, Thank you so much for your lovely review of Lubbers. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the house catered for all your needs. We would love to host you again in the future. Best wishes, Wellies & Windbreaks team.

What a fabulous place!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with a group of girlfriends and we couldn’t have asked for a more relaxing stay.
The house worked well for us, plenty of room to sit and eat meals together in a very well equipped kitchen overlooking the enclosed garden.
The bedrooms are simply but beautifully decorated with the master suite upstairs being really spacious and light.
After a dip in the sea it was great to be back at the house in moments for hot showers. The boot room is great for wellies and coats.
Evenings spent in front of the wood fire were perfect!
We all loved Lubbers and we’ll definitely be back.
Thank you to the owners.




Angela replied 360 days ago
Dear Helen, Thank you for such a lovely review of Lubbers. We are so pleased you had a relaxing stay and the house worked so well for you and your friends. The location is ideal for a dip in the sea, or a short stroll to the restaurants and shops. We look forward to hosting you all again in the future. Best wishes, Wellies & Windbreaks team.

Very comfortable house in a fantastic location for a family break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Feb 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect house for a family get-together - us, three daughters, their partners and three little ones, not forgetting the two dogs. Very comfortable and well thought out with everything we could possibly need - shame we couldn't take advantage of the BBQ in February! The location is wonderful, practically on the beach, and shops and restaurants are literally within a few minutes walk. Lots to do in the area but the beach was irresistible for long walks and ball games. Will definitely be back!



Amanda Pugh, Wellies & Windbreaks replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your wonderful review Hannah. I am glad that you enjoyed your weekend break and hope we can welcome you back again when we have some better BBQ weather. Best wishes and thank you for booking with Wellies & Windbreaks. Amanda & team

Long weekend at Lubbers

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely property in a great location close to East Wittering shops, cafes etc. The layout worked really well for our group and the house is well equipped (although some flute glasses would have been nice for fizz!). We managed to get the heating going after a call to W&W, however we did not manage to get the underfloor heating to work for the duration of the stay so needed to make use of the log burner.



House near the sea

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good house for our family get together.
Very clean and furnishing very good
Loved the kitchen diner with windows onto the garden
Living area was a bit small for all the family to sit
Garden was excellent for the dogs to roam around
5min walk to beach and close to shops




Lubbers Delight!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wellies and Windbreaks properties never disappoint, so Lubbers was great for some many reason. Firstly the location is wonderful, close to the beach and local amenities and our fav eating locations….
The house is lovely, in great condition and has everything you need.
Twin beds mattresses could have been more comfortable.




Our Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely location, we had a great time.

Nicely organised house which worked perfectly for our group.

Thank you to the owner/W&W for your support with the wifi and thank you for the lovely selection of pastries - much appreciated.