FB Twitter

Castle Gatehouse at Sudeley Castle

Castle Gatehouse at Sudeley Castle

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.3


A truly unique cottage heralding the entrance to historic Sudeley Castle and its magnificent gardens, the Castle Gatehouse is a dog-friendly property that comfortably sleeps 4 guests in two en-suite bedrooms. The Gatehouse is split into two wings, accessed by separate doors. On one side you have a four-poster bed master bedroom with en-suite shower room. On the other side you enter the kitchen/diner, going upstairs to the living area and then up into the second king size bedroom with en-suite shower room. The unique layout of this property makes it ideal for two couples wanting the privacy of their own space whilst sharing kitchen/diner and living areas.

Guests staying at the Castle Gatehouse enjoy complimentary (other than separately ticketed events) day-time entrance to Sudeley Castle & Gardens during the open season.

Lovely quiet retreat with all the luxuries of home

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay in the gatehouse home from home and access to the castle, pubs and shops of Winchcombe. Cottage is very clean, a little worn in parts but adds to it’s charm. Has all mod cons and a few extras, must be prepared to go up three flights of small stairs to go to top bedroom, no problem for most people but wouldn’t suit someone who finds steps difficult.

Would recommend it.




BoltholeRetreats replied 3 days ago
Hi Jackie, Thank you for your review and feedback - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, BoltholeRetreats

A regal stay

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was very special staying in the gate house, we all felt like royalty, accommodation was very nice and suited to the historic nature of the surroundings.
Location was excellent for the town and visiting the castle, and an excellent base for touring the cotswolds.
We would highly recommend this property.




BoltholeRetreats replied 9 days ago
Hi Mark, Thank you for your great review - we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Kind regards, BoltholeRetreats

An idyllic location and a beautiful building to stay in.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The gatehouse is very comfortable and perfect for two couples. There are some nice little touches like a Nespresso coffee machine and a bbq for an evening grill. If it’s not nice enough weather to gather at the outdoor table, there is a cosy sitting room, and in the kitchen there’s a good sized dining table. Very close to the village and the castle, with woods and fields surrounding. Highly recommended!

(Please do invest in some decent kitchen knives, however. Those on offer are extremely blunt and have loose handles!)




BoltholeRetreats replied 9 days ago
Hi Lawrence, Thank you so much for your review and feedback - we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on the feedback to the owner about the kitchen knives. Kind regards, BoltholeRetreats

A very enjoyable trip.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable trip with a smooth and problem free stay. A unique cottage with bags of character.



Perfect Country Break

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Gatehouse is perfectly located for exploring the area while close enough to Cheltenham for easy access to great range of shops and restaurants. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious while the sitting room and kitchen are cosy but all well equipped with everything we needed. The outdoor space was perfect for socially distanced meeting with family and the drive up to Sudeley Castle provided the perfect dog walk just outside the door. Would also recommend the Rosies Thai Takeaway and the Lion Inn in Winchcombe - we booked an outdoor heated dining hut at the latter where we had a tasty dinner. Our second stay at the Gatehouse and it wont be our last.



Amazing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 13 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay for my fiancés birthday, I had booked last year but due to the pandemic had to reschedule. The property is so impressive, the facilities ae amazing and the surrounding area is so beautiful! The customer service was always great, nothing was too much trouble - many thanks to Lee as he helped me our so quickly with my random questions!

If you plan to book don't second guess it, you won't regret it!




A unique stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Apr 2021
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A really nice air bnb and something a little different. It could’ve been a little cleaner but it wasn’t dirty, we found the master bedroom on ground floor quite dusty.

Grounds are totally stunning!!! Dog owners note that you can’t bring dogs into the castle grounds so difficult to use free entry.





A weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Apr 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A fantastic and very unique building & place to relax and enjoy on a nice sunny weekend. It is also linked to the beautiful Sudeley Castle and Winchcombe. Would highly recommend to anyone.



Perfect Country Break

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Dec 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect base for country dog- walks on the doorstep while also being only a short drive from Cheltenham town centre for some christmas shopping. The Gatehouse is quirky and delightful. Everything was spotless on arrival - the welcome pack of coffee pods, milk and preserves a nice touch. After a short walk into Winchcombe we discovered Fantastic Foods - a treasure trove of interesting tasty treats where we found everything else we needed. The property is very well equipped throughout and furnished to a good standard. A great place to visit at any time of year but we were lucky enough to be there for the Christmas light show at Sudeley Castle which was charming. A little pricier than other properties we have stayed in around Cheltenham but definitely worth the extra for the location alone. We will be returning.



A Fabulous stay at a very special place

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a rainy week at Sudelely Gate House, but the rain didn't dampen the spirits whilst staying in this amazing place. On arrival we had been left drink facilities, milk and biscuits and the gatehouse was very welcoming. The welcome pack was very comprehensive and had all of the information we could possibly need. The property was incredibly well equipped and we wanted for nothing. It has a fabulous kitchen with everything you could possibly need. Beds were very comfy, always hot water available and the showers were great. Can not fault the place, and would definitely recommend.



Loved the place and will certainly rebook,

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really loved the Castle gatehouse and will come again for much longer stays.
We have already and will continue to recommend it to our friends etc. We are a little confused though about the £ 90 cleaning fee! we assumed that it may have been charged in case we left the place in a mess and needed a lot of time spending on it. As it was left in very good order and only the standard 'towels in the bath to be washed etc' we assumed that it would be repaid afterwards, we do travel around a lot and stay in many places and this is the first time we have been charged for cleaning, and I might add not a small fee, I would appreciate some clarification about this if you be so kind, many thanks.
Mr Shane Cooper

07584649441




Bolthole Retreats replied 226 days ago
Hello Shane, we are happy to read you enjoyed your stay so much. As we confirmed over the phone, all our self-catering cottages have a cleaning fee (to cover costs charged by the housekeepers) which varies according to the size of the property. Currently, the cleaning fee is increased across all our properties to cover the extra time required by the housekeepers to safely prepare each property according to Covid-19 rules. We look forward to you returning. Keep safe. Best wishes, Bolthole Retreats

Good

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Impossible to shut door to main part of the property from the outside. A real problem given the need to move between the 2 parts of the property and to keep the dog from straying.
Poor provision of cooking equipment e.g. no frying pan, mixing bowls, salad bowl.
Incorrect information regarding the code for wi-fi.




Fabulous accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Went with elderly parents so the downstairs bedroom was excellent . We also had a little dog so the accommodation couldn’t have been better, really dog friendly . Lovely surroundings and it was like staying in our own little castle. Loved the whole experience of visiting the castle and church with Catherine Parr’s tomb. Fabulous holiday had by all.



Great property in superb location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a week’s holiday in the gatehouse. The location is superb - in the lovely Winchcombe. The gatehouse is delightfully quirky. The kitchen is well equipped and included a good welcome pack of basics. The beds were very comfortable. The views over the fields were lovely. The cottage was very cosy and made a great base for a Cotwolds break. There a several pubs and restaurants within walking distance of the cottage serving a good and varied selection of food. The bakery on North Street was great for fresh bread. Most other things are available from the other shops on North street.
There are many walks in the area right from the property.
We have stayed in Winchcombe before and the gatehouse enabled us to have another holiday there, which was a relaxing and very enjoyable break , particularly in the midst of the current pandemic.




Perfect location

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a little gem! My husband is castle mad so we have stayed in a number of castles already and I am pleased to say Sudeley Castle gatehouse stands out as one of the best. Being self contained but in the grounds certainly made him feel king of the castle on his birthday!



Idyllic cottage and setting

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliantly placed for many long walks from the doorstep and a short walk into unspoilt Winchcombe for lovely pubs and restaurants. However, it's so cosy in the gate house you may not want to venture out. A fully equipped kitchen and cozy living room is perfect for an evening in. The two bedrooms are lovely with ensuite - really comfortable beds. Sitting outside on the patio with a beautiful view is so relaxing. A fabulous place to stay, surrounded with history.



-

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0

. . , . , . ........................................................................................................................




Great break away for family and dogs

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a very relaxing week at the Gatehouse, our first time out of the house since lockdown, so very much needed.

The beautiful gatehouse was perfect with its private gardens and parking, close to town but far enough away to feel secluded and private at night. Note - the gatehouse has two enclosed gardens and a back fence, to enable dogs to roam freely, but be aware if your dog is very small as the gaps in the dances are quite wide.

The gatehouse is adjacent to the main driveway/footpath to Sudeley Castle meaning a continuous stream of cars, walkers and dogs, great for sociability, and lots of passers by stop to photograph the gatehouse so be prepared to wave! Our dog likes to bark hello to all other passing dogs, but the locals walking by were very understanding and friendly which helped with the relaxed atmosphere of the week.

The living rooms in the gatehouse are relatively small, understandably, but the bedrooms and en-suites are amazing, and a modern addition that fits well within the ancient building.

Highly recommended venue for a short break away, either to simply sit and relax, visit local villages or places if interest, or especially to go for long walks in the costwolds. As a bonus, guests at the gatehouse enjoy free access to the castle and gardens whoever you want.

Thank you to the owners for allowing us to spend a fantastic week at this lovely location.




Excellent place to stay, amazing location.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is very unusual and in an excellent and very quiet location. We had a couple of hitches on arrival but even though we arrived on Saturday afternoon I received a response to my email within minutes.

Lovely to walk in the Castle grounds and enjoyed our visit to the Castle with entry included in our stay.

Lots of information available in the property, lovely country walks from the door. Nice enclosed grass areas perfect for our dogs.

Very nice village with a selection of dog friendly pubs and interesting shops. All the locals we came across were very friendly.

Had a supermarket delivery from local store which worked well.



The only improvements I can think of are maybe handrails on the stairs and the sofa in the lounge was quite lumpy and uncomfortable.





Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a wonderful time in the gatehouse, it is very well-equipped & was a good size for a family of four. The separated bedrooms weren’t an issue at all (with older teenage children), the beds were very comfortable & the bathrooms modern, clean & with excellent showers. The location is stunning - beautiful views to the rear & just a short walk to the castle or into Winchcombe which had loads on offer. The only negative was that the garden parasol & table pictured in the photos need replacing - we took the parasol down as it was totally ripped & mouldy, don’t attempt to move the table as it falls apart! But that wouldn’t deter us from visiting again. Highly recommend.



Peaceful stay 10 mins from the centre

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Mar 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent property with charm and character. 10mins walk from the town and 15 mins through the grounds to the castle. No Neighbours except for the sheep.



Castle Gatehouse

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful few nights at the Castle Gatehouse. Excellent location and beautiful surroundings. Close to Winchcombe village. Great as a base site for visiting north and central Cotswolds. Rooms are beautifully clean yet cosy. Quite a few steps in between rooms but this wasn't an issue for us. Issues with WiFi were resolved instantly. Could do with a few more coffee pods - but other than that - great.



Outdate linens/pillows...very limited hot water

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We all enjoyed the design of the Gatehouse and its ambience, but the linens/pillows need replacing. Heater in the bathroom gave off gassy smell and hot water was hard to come by. I'd still recommend it for the location and architecture but not for the comfort.



Wonderful spot with great service

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family really enjoyed our stay at the castle gatehouse! It was in a fantastic spot for exploring the Cotswolds, and the access to the castle and the town of Winchcombe was an easy walk. It was fantastic to be in and around such ancient history and enjoy modern luxury and conveniences at the same time.



Beautiful property in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of five, two adults, two children and our dog. We all loved staying at the Castle Gatehouse! Its a beautiful property that is modern but also has a lot of character. It was extremely clean and immaculately presented upon arrival and we were quite surprised that dogs were allowed to stay there!
The location is excellent and we were able to walk to Sudeley Castle several times. We also walked into Winchcombe to visit the local pubs and shops. I only wish we could have stayed longer!




Amazing place with a few problems!

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked a week stay at this amazing property.
Had we had our grandchildren with us then they would have been enthralled but for us the charm of the property was overshadowed by the difficulties of access.
It certainly is a very special location & as we love Sudeley Castle so much we thought we could cope. Unfortunately the different levels caused us quite a bit of difficulty especially the two lots of wooden stairs without rails. For a weekend it would be an adventure but for a week it was difficult.
We had thought we could sleep in the separate bedroom without stairs but this bed is a 4' 6" & quite old so we ended up in the upstairs room . The bed was reasonable but the sheets were a poor fit & the plastic mattress protector caused me to overheat each night. We gradually adapted by limiting how many times we went up & down. Of course this meant no early morning cuppa etc.
It was great having the washer & dryer which was vital for us as we had been travelling for a while. One note on this would be that the washer door be left open as the mouldy smell was prevalent .
Otherwise the cottage is reasonably well equipped although there were no pods for the coffee machine & a few kitchen items like salt would have been great. Also the showers were good but there is no shelf to put body wash etc so one has to put it on the floor of the shower cubicle - a small thing but easily fixed. Also one night we had a cold shower probably as we had used hot water in the afternoon - a note about this possibility would have been helpful. The only service on the weekend seemed to be the castle maintenance man. We did try to phone the company the next day but there was no answer. We have found that privately owned cottages are better if you are not familiar with certain aspects especially if you are not a local.
We had a great day walking up to the Castle which was only a short distance.
We did actually leave a couple of days early as we were not coping with the "ups & downs". The cost was also much more than we had paid for cottages in the past so we were disappointed. I do feel that the steep stairs especially the ones down to the bathroom should have a rail for safety especially tricky going down in the middle of the night!




Great Location but TLC needed

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
When we arrived member of cleaning team was just dropping off some tea towels- which was fortunate as we had been given wrong key code.Property could do with some upgrading - damp patches lounge. Shower in downstairs bathroom leaks. Lighting throughout would benefit from dimmer switches and maybe lamps in lounge. Would have been useful to have known when gardener was coming so that dog could be kept indoors. Kitchen very well equipped and welcome items appreciated.



Amazing place to stay in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The castle gatehouse is an amazing place to stay. So close to winchcombe which is a very pretty town. Everything you need is in the house. Clean spacious warm and comfortable. Unfortunately our arrival was stressful as we were given the wrong code and no one was available to help. No communication from anyone after phone call and email . Poor customer service.



Cotswolds Delight

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay near Sudeley Castle in one of their cottages. Wonderful atmosphere and delightful scenery. Proximity to the lovely Winchcombe High Street an added bonus. Our one bugbear is the mattresses are very unforgiving, in both cottages where we stayed, and due to my arthritic hips I needed to bring my own memory foam topper. Otherwise the accommodation was top class.



Interesting stay in a unique building!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed for 2 nights as a family of 4. Three adults and one child. The location of the property could not be more central. Within minutes, we were in the middle of Winchcombe, where there were plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants. It was also a 5-10 minute walk to Sudeley Castle, and it was lovely to find that the entry fee was included in our cottage rental price. The Gatehouse was cosy and comfortable. We slept very well in our beds as it was so peaceful and quiet in the evenings, and even in the day too. With such beautiful surroundings, we decided to eat in on both nights, buying our meals and ingredients from the Co-op and Budgens which are just a short walk away. There is a fully equipped kitchen with a microwave, oven, hobs, kettle, toaster. It was also very nice to have milk pre-bought for us. We enjoyed having our breakfast each morning outside on the patio. Some areas for improvement: a coat stand would be helpful, along with some strategically placed clocks, an oven which tells the right time, lined bins in all rooms and the headboard of the 4-poster bed is stained and needs to be cleaned. Although the property was clean when we arrived, it could benefit from a deep clean every now and then to ensure areas such as windows, corners of the bed, nooks and crannies are tackled, problems with water ingress in the living room ceiling sorted out. Having said that, the property is truly beautiful, comfortable, unique, and provided us with a very memorable and special experience. It's not everyday you get to stay in a Castle Gatekeeper's house. We would recommend you to try it out!



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous location & everything you need. Probably wouldn't suggest staying at Gatehouse if you have mobility issues, as steps are very steep. Would have helped to have instructions for dryer, as only after being on a very short time, container light started to flash, didn't know what that meant...there is a quite large airer which we used instead. Also a rubber mat for showers, as surface was quite slippery.



Expensive for what you get

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Overall an OK experience, but expensive for what you get. Also, a 10am checkout time the morning after our wedding seems a bit stingy!



Magical stay at the Castle Gatehouse

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner, my son & his wife and myself were absolutely thrilled with our stay at the Castle Gatehouse! Such a beautiful location in a lovely town and countryside. Everything was just as described and we were very happy with our stay. We enjoyed our visits to the Castle and nearby Winchcombe.
Would definitely recommend staying here for anyone who wants a unique experience.
The one and only negative is that the washing machine had an overpowering odour of mould to the point that we could not bring ourselves to use it...it needs a really good disinfecting.




Perfect Holiday!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Castle Gatehouse was perfect! We loved the decorating, modern appliances, outdoor table and chairs, close proximity to Wynchcombe, castle grounds, and watching the parade of dogs and their owners on the Public Footpath.



A truly beautiful place to stay in a gorgeous setting.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful place to stay. Characterful and everything provided to a very high standard. I would highly recommend the Castle Gatehouse for a true Cotswold experience. Lots of steps so maybe not the best for toddlers.
We loved every minute of our stay and hope to return.




Our stay at The Gatehouse - May 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time and we were delighted with the amenities and the impeccable attention to detail at The Gatehouse. Winchcombe was a pleasure and it was a perfect location for our Cotswolds stop. Sudeley Castle was great!!



Quaint character accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Castle Gatehouse was larger inside than expected and very well equipped with everything you could need incl sandwich making facilities and plenty of toiletries.
The location was great fir visiting Sudeney Castle which is gorgeous and has a fab children's adventure playground.
Only negatives are the four poster bedroom is a bit dated a d there were several creepy crawlies - which freaked out my teenagers. They also tell me they heard mice in bathroom. With the location being quite remote they weren't comfortable being across the courtyard from us abc effectively locked out at night.
Overall the stay was great.




Slight oversight ?

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
if i was scoring marks out of 5 i would give 4.5. Reason being that the fresh milk left in the fridge ( either by the people who look after the property or last guest ) was 3 days past its sell by date. Should have been moved.



As its says, a Bolthole retreat to be used again

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The gatehouse is as impressive inside as out and well positioned for a break away. Our two night stay wasn't enough to dino justice to th area and we would hav welcomed having more time to explore.



Comfortable and Unique

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great private location with easy walk into town and the castle grounds. Comfortable and well stocked. A perfect combination of historic building with modern fixtures. Very comfortable for our dog.



Beautiful, peaceful retreat in the countryside

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0

The Sudeley Castle gatehouse is a great place to stay because of it's history, quiet surroundings and beautiful scenery. The Gatehouse is very well-preserved both on the outside and the inside. It has a historic and antique feeling while still having the modern conveniences. The kitchen is well-equipped and great for 4 guests, no more. The castle itself is magnificent and we were able to visit free of charge because of our stay in the Gatehouse. The Castle has an amazing playground for children of all ages and the grounds provide ample space for running around (both with children and dogs).

Two small details: we visited in early April and the weather was quite chilly - we would have loved more blankets in the larger portion of the unit, where it was very cold. We tried to turn up the heater, but it didn't really work and it was around 16C in the morning inside. That's quite chilly. Perhaps the basic heating temperature could be set to something higher while the weather is still not warm outside...

Kindly
Reka Pigniczky




What a week!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our first trip to the Cotswolds we were so lucky to find the perfect place to stay. The location, Gate House to Sudeley Castle, minutes walk from the village of Winchcombe, cannot be beat. Walking back to the gatehouse after a nice evening in a local pub, we were always so happy to realize that those lit medieval windows were ours for the week. And, when our friends, another couple, came to stay with us for the weekend, the space was perfect for visiting and planning walks in the area. We cannot wait to visit again.



A LOVLEY SHORT BREAK

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
WE ONLY SPENT 2 NIGHTS AT THE GATEHOUSE BUT WE WERE VERY SURPRISED HOW MODERN AND COSY IT WAS WITH ALL THE FACILTIES WE NEEDED, VIEWS FROM THE LOUNGE AND BEDROOM TO THE GROUNDS WERE LOVELY AND LOOKING AT THE PIGS IN THE NEXT FIELD WAS AMUSING. A LOVLEY SEATING AREA OUTSIDE FOR THE SUMMER IS PERFECT, A SMALL CRITICISM A MORE COMFORTABLE SETTEE IN THE LOUNGE IS NEEDED AND THE HEATING WAS VERY HOT AND WE COULD NOT SEEM TO CONTROL THE TEMP IN THE ROOMS ALTHOUGH THIS DID NOT SPOIL OUR STAY. WE WOULD CERTAINLY RETURN.



Lovely autumn stay at Sudeley Castle Gatehouse

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cozy and modern inside with enormous character and charm on the outside; nicely appointed - appreciated the wifi, complete set of kitchen appliances and made good use of the laundry. We assumed everything closed early on Sun & Mon based on walking down Gloucester Rd so we drove all the way back to Cheltenham those nights only to later find CoOP & restaurants on North St; couldn't open the lock box to the second bedroom so lucky that we didn't need the room; free admission to Sudeley Castle was a plus - one of the better castle experiences as far as what is on view to visitors; overall would definitely recommend to anyone who is looking for a comfortable stay in a place with architectural distinction



Lovely stay in gorgeous location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the gatehouse. The location was gorgeous and peaceful. We loved sitting outside and enjoying the scenery and walking to the castle. The gatehouse itself was nicely put together and a bit quirky. We found it comfortable and adequately equipped. A few improvements and this place would be amazing - for example, addressing the large moldy looking water stain in the bedroom ceiling. And even though this is a dog friendly establishment, it shouldn’t smell like it, which it does in the second (lower) bedroom. Also, I know ladybirds are bad this year, but there was some kind of ladybird infestation (several dozen) by one of the bathroom windows. So, overall, great stay, but a couple improvements and this place would be amazing.



A lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the Castle Gatehouse and everything in it! The views across the surrounding countryside were beautiful and it was so handy to have direct access to walks from the property itself. As the weather gets colder it might be handy to have a bit more information about the pre-set heating system, but that is the only small caveat. It would be hard to think of a more attractive place to spend a Cotswold break and we very much hope to return.



Fabulous Period Gatehouse.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous period property in a beautiful, tranquil location on the edge of the Sudeley Castle estate.
Convenient walkable location to Winchcombe.




Fantastic Holiday Accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Castle Gatehouse at Sudley castle, didn't disappointed at all it was absolutely amazing a truly wonderful relaxing place to stay
very clean and with everything provided including washing machine and tumble drier (very handy as we got soaked in heavy rain while out walking)
Set in beautiful surroundings at the entrance to Sudley Castle, with beautiful well maintained grounds ...
just a short walk from Winchcombe which has some excellent Pubs that serve wonderful food ..
we couldn't fault our stay at the Castle Gatehouse our dogs loved it too and my wife wants to buy the Gatehouse thats how good it is .....
Highly Recommended in fact we will be booking again thats how much we loved it ..




Wedding Accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Castle Gatehouse as our Daughter was getting married at Sudeley Castle. Although the Almsbury Farmhouse and the other Sudeley Vastle Cottages have bigger rooms and more space they cannot compete for the amazing location and character of the Gatehouse. The Bolthole staff were extremely helpful and friendly with any enquiries or requests for example my daughter needed a full length mirror for dressing for her wedding day and this was delivered for our arrival. I would not hesitate to book any if the properties in Winchcombe again !



Lovely Location and Experience

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in a real gatehouse was a real treat. The castle down the road has a lot of history, so if you stay here make sure you allocate time to see the castle. You can drive to Bath in just over an hour as well and there are lots of quaint villages nearby. The Gatehouse has modern bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen. Nature at your doorstep with friendly pigs at the rear which was a treat for city dwellers. A must experience.



Family stay at Sudely

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a mid week break here with my son and his wife who are over from Australia. They loved it!! They'd spent a month touring Europe but still thought the Gatehouse was the highlight of their entire trip. Free entry in Sudely was the icing on the cake, what a hidden gem of British history.

We will certainly return should the opportunity (and availability) coincide in the future.




Rebecca McWilliam replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jeff, thank you so much for your review and you are welcome to return anytime!

Great location, very nice property.

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
My wife and I stayed at the gatehouse for an extended period. We really enjoyed sitting on the patio watching the beautiful scenery, the animals (sheep, horses, pigs, etc.), the wildlife (pheasants, rabbits, birds. etc.), and the locals and tourists walking in and out along the private road to the castle. The accommodation was very comfortable, once we adjusted to the numerous sets of stairs, and more than met our needs. The support staff - housekeeping and maintenance - were very responsive and helpful. The proximity to Winchcombe was a boon in terms of accessing wonderful meals and supplies.
We were sad to leave.




Beautiful location and good accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely time at Sudeley Castle Gatehouse with our 2 dogs. Beautifully decorated and excellent bathroom facilities.
You do describe both bedrooms as being super king but must point out that the 2 beds are only king size beds at 5 ft each (a super king sized bed is 6 ft and neither are this). The bottom sheet on our bed also did not fit a 5 ft bed - it was too small and was crumpled at the bottom uncomfortably and both top ends of the mattress were sticking up in the air because of the mis-fitting.
Apart from this would recommend this place.




Idyllic

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our own little castle, for the weekend! Simply beautiful, well appointed with all you need and set in its own private grounds on the boundary of the actual castle - we took a walk there for a coffee. It’s also a nice ten minute stroll to the local pub for dinner and drinks... take your torch though.

Our only complaint is that we didn’t get to stay long enough... easily resolved: we’re going to definitely be going back!

We highly recommend this lovely little gem... just please don’t take-up every weekend before we can re-book :)




Loved it!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very happy with just about everything but the quality of the settee in the sitting room definitely needs replacing, extremely uncomfortable, this room also needs a decent size coffee table

Location, parking, car cleaning facilities, terrific.

Bedrooms, bedding great, bathrooms both five star.

Electrical appliances plentiful, easy to use, and efficient.

Stairs are plentiful, but this was obviously going to be the case when looking on site prior to booking,did not worry us but a challenge for one of our less fit visitors. Would highly recommend this property to anyone who could happily handle the stairs.




Fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Smooth from beginning to end, we loved our stay at Castle Gatehouse, we had friends visiting from the US and wanted a 'British' experience and they were truly blown away when we drove up the driveway. The castle itself is fantastic and certainly worth a visit during your stay... allow at least 2 hours.



Lovely family break

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely gatehouse, lovely location, walking routes and castle to enjoy! Highly recommended we have rebooked



Unique historic property

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jan 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Gatehouse has been recently renovated with great care to preserve its character. Consequently the layout is a little quirky. And somehow it seems to be smaller on the inside than it looks from the outside - a reverse Tardis! We stayed in the winter and there seemed to be a few teething problems and it needs a few finishing touches but it's in a great location and has good dog walking right on the doorstep. And Winchcombe is a lovely small Cotswold town.



What a find!!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed with friends and were not disappointed. An extensively well equipped and spotlessly clean kitchen. The entire space was clean and very well appointed. Our bed was so comfortable it was easy to get a good night’s sleep. Shower pressure was great even when both were running at the same time.
This was such a peaceful haven we’d definitely return and recommend to friends.




The weather didn't help!

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Dec 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very clean and comfortable. The only issue as far as we are concerned is the number of stairs, having osteoporosis and being fairly elderly it was quite difficult to manage stairs, some with no handrails, when going from one room to another. We appreciate this is part of the charm of the house!
Also we knew from the details that there were showers not baths, but perhaps the rooms should be called shower rooms not bathrooms as you would expect a bathroom to contain a bath.
Because of the weather we couldn't walk much as it was icy and slippery, and we did have to call the estate manager out as the house was cold when we arrived. He admitted that there had been a power cut earlier in the day and the timer had not been reset, and he adjusted the boiler for us.