FB Twitter

Woodpecker

Woodpecker

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


The largest of our self-catering holiday cottages, Woodpecker Cottage is detached, luxurious, stone-built, and has seven bedrooms, six of which are en-suite, making it especially suitable for groups of six couples and large families. Standing on the brow of the hill at the top of the seven-acre field, Woodpecker Cottage enjoys panoramic views towards the coast and the Lake District.

A great venue for getting family together from all over the world

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Woodpecker cottage for 3 families from Canada, USA and Manchester who were all attending my sons wedding. It worked really well for all ages from 6 to 70 and we had a great time at the wedding and afterwards. We loved having a bar BQ the day after the wedding and there was so much space outside for the children to run around and play. The views over to Morecambe Bay and the sunsets were amazing. We would definitely recommend this property to others.



A family gathering in wonderland accommodation with a stunning view and sunset.

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We received a warm welcome and the accommodation is fabulous- it could not be better. We were blessed with good sunny weather so the children enjoyed the play area, and the adults the tennis court. The layout of the accommodation was perfect for our large group. Space for everyone indoors and out. The fire was lit in the fire pit twice and the wine and conversation flowed.
Our three generation extended family had travellled from five countries to be together and the occasion was wonderful.
Thank you.




A family get together to mark my 70th birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location chosen as approximately half way between central Scotland and WILTSHIRE
We were 10 adults and 4 children(8,8,3.5 and 9m) ..facilities excellent for self catering this size of party. We also made use of the bar b q and the fire pit
As the weather was poor a few of the party managed to complete the rather complex jigsaw puzzleu
The one dry day we had was superb for sitting outside, playing boules and rounders and the children loved the swings etc and the tennis court. Holly Farm was an amazing excellent place to take the small children and some of the adults visited Preston and Blackpool.
The one downside was finding the property initially!




A family celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a property that could accommodate 10 people including a 5 year old grandchild. This fitted the need perfectly.
The rooms were comfortable and airy. The living area gave room for different groups to do different things There was an adequate supply of crockery, cutlery, glasses and cups. The Aga cooker did make the area around it very warm but we quickly learned how to use it. There are some lovely restaurants near so we didn't have the hassle of having to cook - we did bring basics with us for breakfast and did a little trip into Garstang to buy some other needs. All in all a good few days and we would certainly go there again (but not the big cottage as there wouldn't be that many with us!




Fabulous house

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just come back from a fantastic stay in Woodpecker Cottage - 14 of us plus dogs. We all had such a wonderful time. The house is lovely - all those bedrooms and better still, all those en suite bathrooms! The sitting room and sun room were huge, with plenty of space for everyone. And it's all so beautiful - stone floors, sumptuous leather sofas, lovely views. Comfortable beds (and those beautiful bathrooms with powerful showers, and enormous baths.). A tennis court and swings, and lovely walks nearby. And a delicious - and enormous - Victoria sponge was a really nice welcome.
There's lots to do nearby - the coast (St Anne's was just lovely, with sandunes, and a pier), lots of really lovely cafes and restaurants, and riverside walks.). We would definitely come here again if we get the chance. We loved it!




Would recommend

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the ideal place if you’re looking to get away with the family or a larger group. This was perfect for us, as we were quite happy to be left to our own devices and enjoy our time. The cottage is stunning and the owners are more than happy to help with anything. Our group was celebrating a hen do and so we celebrated through the night with no issues. The cottage is located in an ideal location to go for walks and to enjoy the views. Great addition with the fire pit too!
The rooms were impeccable and faultless and the kitchen provides everything you could need!




Gorgeous cottage with great facilities

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in March- 8 adults and 7 kids. The cottage has plenty of rooms and the facilities are great. Woodpecker has a huge kitchen living space, and a lovely garden out front with swings and a tennis court. The cottage was clean and nicely decorated. We had a wonderful time!



A beautiful big cottage perfect for our family celebration.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Woodpecker Cottage is a beautifully presented large cottage finished to the highest of standards. The open plan kitchen, dining area, living area and conservatory was perfect for our large family party to socialise altogether. The bedrooms and en-suites were spacious, clean and very comfortable and although we didn't need them, two of the bedrooms had disabled facilities. Our hosts Sue and Kendal were so helpful and welcoming, showing us all we needed to know and leaving us a huge delicious cake! Our party made good use of the tennis court and fire pit while we were there and we took off on a walk one day to the lovely Apple Store Cafe at Wyresdale Park which was recommended to us. There is plenty of information in the cottage and on the website on the area with ideas of what to do and where to go which was very handy.
I would not hesitate to recommend this property and also any of the other properties at Barnacre (we also had The Piggeries Cottage which was stunning) and will definitely be heading back again in the future. Thank you so much Sue, Terry and Kendal.




Extremely spacious

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
13 of us stayed here for a 30th birthday weekend and we will most definitely be returning! The conservatory and living area are all open plan and far more spacious than the pictures suggest. We had 13 people in the conservatory with the fire roaring and everybody comfortable. Can not recommend enough!



Outstanding accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an unforgettable weekend in Woodpecker Cottage. Our accommodation was very comfortable and the cottage was
Extremely well furnished and there was a plentiful supply of quality glasses, dishes and cooking utensils. The dining facilities enabled us to entertain all our guests , numbering 24 in total. Although it was a cold weekend, the cottage itself was warm and
Inviting. Terry and Sue made us very welcome and we were particularly delighted with the delicious sponge cake supplied by Sue.. I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough. Wonderful.




Special Christmas Times

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful few days with my family. Our christmas day was perfect. Plenty of room to relax and the children had room to play. The views are lovely and we went on a few local walks as a family and smaller walks with the children. Would love to do it again.



Wonderful family weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a fabulous stay at Barnacre cottages for my sister's 50th birthday party! Real home from home and the Woodpecker cottage is a definite party house! Would recommend these cottages without hesitation!



Simply stunning

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bsrnacre Cottages are really special and we return year on year. Woodpecker is very big, well equipped, immaculate condition with beautiful views. Big comfortable beds, lovely towels and elemis products highlight the quality of the accommodation. The owners work hard and make you feel so welcome. We were greeted with the biggest home made cake you could imagine and baked to perfection! See you in 2019.



Wonderful relaxing place

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In between Garstang & Scorton - both good places with plenty of walks, this is an excellent location. Wonderful views to the coast and on a clear day -The Isle of Man.

The house was well equipped and very warm. We were a big family group - all adults - and had everything we needed. We made use of the Tramper all terrain electric scooter and went to Scorton - this was great day out for us. It brought us all huge pleasure and made some wonderful memories.

Terry & Sue are wonderful hosts - everything you could want is there and I would recommend it to someone who wants a relaxing time.




Autumn break

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent stay for disabled and Carer’s of all ages with all kinds of disability.
Very easy to book and reasonably priced




Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic find ,so pleased we found this property .
We were getting together for a large family weekend.
This property was just perfect.
The bedrooms were great,big family rooms. very private and safe . Great location. The owners couldn’t have done enough. Very good communication.