FB Twitter

The Piggeries

The Piggeries

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The Piggeries, as its name suggests, was created from the original piggeries! Now it is a 5 Star Gold, luxury, self-catering holiday cottage , With huge entertaining spaces and en-suite accommodation for four couples, it is ideal for group breaks or special occasions with extended family.

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our weekend at the piggeries - great place to hang out as a group with loads of space inside and out



Great location, friendly hosts, lovely weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I were after a remote location for a short weekend away to hang out and catch up. The Piggeries was the perfect location for us; all the amenities that we could have asked for, and more than enough space for us all to be comfortable.

The hosts were kind enough to check on us and make sure we were alright. Everything was super clean and accessible.

No complaints.




August Family stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weeks holiday at the Piggeries and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to other family or friends groups.

Location:- About 10/15 mins drive from the main A6, situated in the heart of the countryside - a quiet and relaxing 'way from it all' location. There are other self catering cottages on the same site but you'd never know as the buildings are quite spread out. Its worth saying that you can hear the hum of the M6 in the distance but that didn't concern us at all. we thought it was an Ideal location for visiting lots of different places in the area - Blackpool area about 40 mins - Morecambe area - similar time, We drove to Bowness in an hour, the forest of Bowland is on the doorstep, Lancaster about 30 mins away. Places to eat are not really within walking distance but a short 'ish' drive away. We opted to eat out during the day and return to the Piggeries in the evening to eat.

The accommodation :-
Massive communal areas - we loved the lounge on the ground level. very spacious & comfortable, modern TV system with a range of books & games on hand. Two large dining tables - one on each floor plus tables/chairs to eat outside or in the kitchen too. The weather wasn't nice enough to enjoy the outdoor areas that much but thats the trouble with our british summers!
All four bedrooms are ensuite - the two biggest bedrooms overlook the rear garden and enjoy fabulous views across the countryside. One of these has a larger bathroom with a bathtub. The two bedrooms in the kitchen end of the property are smaller. We felt a little too small really - we would have happily sacrificed some of the communal living space so these bedrooms and their ensuites could have a bit more room. Appreciate that is easier said than done though, but its our honest view of the sleeping accommodation.
The kitchen is very well equipped indeed, every bit of equipment you might need plus basic bits and pieces such as J clothes, dish washer tablets, salt and pepper etc were left for us to use, and very thoughtfully, some of the baking dishes and trays were pre-lined with tin foil to help with the washing up. Matches were left to light the gas rings - a proper lighter gadget would probably be safer though. A sponge cake was also left for us which was delicious - thank you for taking the time to do that.
We made use of the tennis court which can be used by groups renting one of the cottages on the site. The court is kept in good condition and equipment is provided for guests to use.

Check in is contactless so we didn't get to meet or speak to the owners on arrival. In many ways this is a shame, its but fully understandable and sensible in these current times. But, they are contactable by phone in the event of any problems and this was proved by their responsive approach to a small problem we experienced one evening.




Highly recommend

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although off the beaten track Barnacre Cottages are a really good find. Cottage was bigger than we thought it was going to be. The kitchen was enormous and well equipped. A couple of the bedrooms & bathrooms were a little cosy but comfortable.
Sue & Terry Staples & family we’re very welcoming including leaving us a fabulous freshly made Victoria Sponge Cake. Loads of different things to do within 45 minutes of cottages. Highly recommend.




Best weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a special birthday and couldn’t have asked for more. The houses are incredible, set in a beautiful secluded location. Everything you could ever need is provided and I even received a birthday cake made by the lovely owners.
It was a blissful weekend and we spent lots of time using the outdoor bbq and fire pits.

We never wanted to leave and can’t wait to set some time aside to revisit!!! 10/10




Delightful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a month and loved this property. The kitchen is fabulous and the walks straight from the front door are superb.



Excellent accommodation for a relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really relaxing holiday in first class accommodation in a beautiful location. We have stayed in all but one of the cottages and at various times during the years and have never been disappointed. Highly recommended.



Perfect family break - from Hampshire and Edinburgh

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Piggeries was perfect for a family get together - the location, acommodation and friendly hosts could not have been better.



Stunning barn set in a breathtaking position looking across the Lancashire countryside.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay everything was first class,.Sue was so helpful during the booking process.My husband loved the home baked cake on arrival.There really is nowhere quite like it for getting away from the stresses of everyday life.Some great walks on your doorstep for your four legged friends too.



A space to relax unwind and find family values again

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful space, we walked, talked, laughed and enjoyed our week’s escape. Excellent base for so many fun things,. Not to be missed inn at Whitewell, Barton Grange, Lake District,Forest of Bowland, Golf, QuadBiking and amazing walks to name but a few. However without this lovely base to comeback to The holiday would not have been as special. Family fun and not a mobile in sight.



A lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a wonderful weeks get together at the Piggeries with four couples enjoying their stay. The ensuite rooms were comfortable (although a little challenging with the water if we all used our respective showers at the same time!). The house was well laid out with the kitchen fully equipped with the lounge area being exceptionally large. We were able to make full use of the garden and BBQ for a couple of days when the weather was kind to us. The location was ideal for exploring the Forest of Bowland and the Lancashire coast and canalside walks. The owners were very helpful and hospitable and we all enjoyed the delicious cake left for us on our arrival. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.



Girlie weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an amazing weekend. A bit of a walk to the town but we were so lucky with the weather. Would highly recommend this house



family & close friends yearly holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at the Piggeries, it catered for your every need. It is very remote but once you get your bearings it's not so bad & very private, you get a feeling of safety, which is strange considering the location. The cottage was very clean & tidy and the owners were very accommodating allowing us early entry & no rush when we we leaving which we really appreciated. We only had a few minor issues, a bathroom light being out etc. Due to the location the internet was very poor, maybe that's a good thing as it stopped us all being on our iPads etc. We would recommend the Piggeries for a lovely relaxing holiday.



Comfortable Holiday Home

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From walking into this very welcoming holiday cottage the whole family felt at home ! Fabulous views from the lounge, two of the bedrooms and kitchen. Lovely garden and patio which due to the weather we were not able to use all the time (too much rain for our liking) still managed a few G&T's out there though. Fully equipped kitchen for stress free cooking & a super meeting point for the family 7 adults 3 children ! Only negatives ... sharp knives were as blunt as butter knives which Terry said would be sharpened for the next visitors ! The double bedroom next to the kitchen ... the window looks out onto a brick wall & when we had the window open during the night we could hear the noise & smell the fumes from the Aga (left the curtains closed & opened the bathroom window instead ) Hosts were very accommodating ... from booking through to us leaving later than planned . Thank you !



The Piggeries

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage/house, well equipped for a large family.
Lots of space for the children who enjoyed the chickens and pony.
Very comfortable beds with plenty of bedding.
Very enjoyable stay.




Family stay at The Piggeries

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed at The Piggeries for my Mum’s special birthday. The house is stunning and just what we were looking for. We had 3 children with us, aged 1, 10 and 13 and 6 adults and there was plenty room for us all. The bedrooms are all en-suite and beautifully decorated, comfortable and met all our needs. There is ample parking and it’s in a great location.

We met Terry within an hour or so of our arrival and he was really helpful and friendly. We also had a delicious cake waiting for us from Sue, which was a lovely gesture.

I would 100% recommend The Piggeries and we are already looking to rebook for next year.




A week with extended family

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was large with a fantastic lounge to watch the sunsets during a lovely week weatherwise. There were walks from the door and the children loved the tennis court. Views from the two bedrooms in the new part of the building were lovely. Shame it was too warm for the logburner partly due to the underfloor heating but the weather was fantastic!

Kitchen: The aga wasn't working but this wasn't a problem for us - the owner had said it has just broken down and there was another oven and hob anyway. The kitchen was great with a good range of utensils as expected but could have done with some storage facilities/ containers for cake etc. Thank you for the lovely homemade cake!

Bedrooms: The beds were great if you like firm beds. Whilst all the bedrooms had ensuite showers the cubicles were a little on the small size ( one has a bath too) and we didn't find the controls easy to alter. I think most of the adults would have been happier to have use of a larger shower cubicle even if it wasn't in an ensuite.

Enclosed garden: Perhaps the main issue was with the hens being able to access the garden ( nothing against hens themselves!) but they leave calling cards which makes the use of the garden and patio tricky - especially if it is fine weather perhaps in the summer and you have smaller children who may want to wander in and out the house to the garden - our children are of an age when they can independently go to the tennis court but a few years ago this could have been an issue). The patio did need some maintenance in terms of cutting back vegetation but the owners probably hadn't anticipated such fine weather in April in Lancashire and easy to solve!

These issues are pretty minor really since we did enjoy our stay. We visited friends in Haworth and Pendle and had leisure drives around the often overlooked Forest of Bowland. We also visited the coast at Arnside and Cleveleys.





Gorgeous

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a lovely location. The welcome was great - especially the home baked cake. The cottage has several comfortable spaces, perfect for entertaining as well as finding a quiet hideaway. Lots of lovely walks in the area and places to visit. My enduring memory will be the bluebell woods - stunning. I would certainly recommend this to friends, thanks Sue and Terry.



50th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend staying with all the family at the cottages. The Piggeries was so well equipped and comfortable and had everything you could ever need. What a treat! Thank you.



family weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we had a lovely weekend celebrating my mums birthday we hired three cottages and all of them were lovely very modern and well equipped many thanks we hope to be back soon