FB Twitter

Woodpecker Cottage

Woodpecker Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 48 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The largest of our self-catering holiday cottages, Woodpecker Cottage is detached, luxurious, stone-built, and has seven bedrooms, six of which are en-suite, making it especially suitable for groups of six couples and large families. Standing on the brow of the hill at the top of the seven-acre field, Woodpecker Cottage enjoys panoramic views towards the coast and the Lake District.

A return visit - it didn't disappoint

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a group of 6 couples, this is the third time we have stayed in this property. The facilities meet the needs of the group perfectly. The communication with the owners is excellent, as is the location, the cleanliness, condition and location. Using the AGA in the kitchen takes some getting used to, but it's not a problem. The property isn't cheap to rent, but I guess you get what you pay for.
I would certainly recommend this property. We will be back!




Ideal location for friends reunion.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent Accommodation for a birthday gathering of friends. Everyone appreciated that their bedrooms were all en-suite, affording them privacy and ease of use. It was great to be able to gather in the conservatory around the wood burner on the autumnal evenings. Kitchen and dining facilities excellent. We were all delighted with the venue. Thanks to Beth and team for getting it ready for our arrival. The app that is available for the property was extremely easy to use providing comprehensive and useful information.
Thank you ,




Family celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked 4 of the 5 Barnacre cottages and Woodpecker was the hub of all our celebrations. The large open plan kitchen/ living area/ conservatory was perfect to accommodate all 32 of my family. 4 generations gathered comfortably and the downstairs bedroom with disabled en-suite was perfect for my elderly Dad.
In addition the outside fire pit enabled us to celebrate bonfire night with a roaring fire and schmorz. The location is a little remote, but the plus side was that we didn’t disturb anybody with our noisy crew and the large field to the front of the cottage is perfect for family games.
It is a little expensive, but if you want quality and luxury then you get what you pay for.




Amazing cottage for large family

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Woodpecker cottage over October half term with our family, children and dogs. The house was fabulous with 6 out of 7 bedrooms having en suite bathrooms plus a downstairs toilet in the utility room, so there was never any queuing for the loo. The living space was big enough for 12 of us to spread out comfortably and the open plan kitchen was very well equipped. It took us a while to get the hang of the Aga, but were amazed that it seemed to keep the whole house warm..( we didn’t even need to light the wonderful log burner in the conservatory). We really enjoyed the outside space where we had a BBQ, homemade woodfired pizzas and a fire pit….all the logs were provided. On one clear night we even lay down on the picnic benches to stargaze and another night we could see a firework display as far away as Bleckpool. The owners were very helpful and provided everything we needed. I can highly recommend this beautiful place in a beautiful part of the country.



Fabulous Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived until we left everything was fabulous. We were a group of 11 women and couldn't fault the cottage. Cottage really isn't a proper description because the property is huge and there was plenty of room for us all.
It was spotlessly clean and bright and airy. Beth and Terry were so helpful. Terry even towed out one of our vehicles which got stuck on a grass bank.
The only recommendations I would suggest to the owners would be a) to supply toiletries and b) an electronic insect killer. The latter because the Cottage was very warm we had to keep all the windows open and we were bombarded by flies.
These are only minor because everything else was wonderful.




We love this cottage. The great memories with the family here will last forever.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything is just right.We have been coming to Barnacre Cottages for years and it is a well kept cottage. Somewhere that we can chill. Lovely walks, lovely scenery. We could not ask for more.



Wonderful cottage for a family gathering

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you need a large cottage for a family gathering in this part of Lancashire, look no further. My multi generational family group of 15 plus an infant (who had travelled from the south of England and USA) had a wonderful week here.

Being originally from Preston, but having long since moved south, the ninetieth birthday of my mother was the spur to gather my children and grandchildren in Lancashire for a week to celebrate that event and enjoy time together exploring some of the places I remember so fondly from my childhood days.

Woodpecker Cottage was the perfect venue for us. With en-suite facilities the bedrooms were great. We loved the open plan space in the kitchen and lounge areas. And we made great use of the outside kitchen with its bbq and wood fired pizza oven. Sitting round the outside fire pit making s’mores and playing guitars as the sun set over the Irish Sea and Morecambe Bay was pure magic.

Away from the cottage we enjoyed the local joys of places like Beacon Fell and Bock Bottoms where countless children must have enjoyed paddling and making dams in the river Brock over the years. On our one rainy day we enjoyed the delights of the Flower Bowl, trying our hand at Curling.

I’m not sure when or if I will be able to gather my family together again in the North West, but if we do Woodpecker Cottage will be our first choice of venue.

Thank you for a wonderful cottage to make special family memories.








Excellent property and location for 4 generation family celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Customer service from the property owners was outstanding with rapid response to questions and requests. The electronic guide book is brilliant. Property was perfect for 4 generations to get together, with enough space for everyone. Outside facilities are great too and the location is fab.



Spacious property for large group

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loads of space, every room en suite which was brilliant. Owners couldn’t be more helpful. Bathrooms very modern but could do with some update in other areas, for example the outside area. Bar stools rusted, tables in need of repair, general weeding and tidy up.



Lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay for our family, wheelchair accessible, although not so easy to access conservatory. The swings, chickens and pigs were enjoyed by the children The fire pit, pizza oven and BBQ we're enjoyed by all, especially those who like fires! The aga in the kitchen took a bit of getting used to, very hot all the time, so had to try and block it off from crawling babies. Managed a swim in the sea at Blackpool and Fleetwood, the sea was too far out at Morecambe! Williamson Park, Lancaster, worth a visit.



Reunion

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay at Woodpecker just as enjoyable as first. We really appreciate the disabled facilities which are excellent. The accommodation is spacious, comfortable and well appointed. I highly recommend a visit.



Family Get Together

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent the Platinum Jubilee with extended family. Location was perfect for travellers across the country to gather. Lovely walks and wildlife. Tennis was fun. Blackpool close by. The property was perfect for a large group with two dogs. Facilities were fantastic. A great time had by all.



My wedding at the Barnacre cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired 4 cottages for our wedding, absolutely amazing venue, amazing cottages, clean, beautiful everything you want within the cottages Beth was lovely and helpful, definitely will be booking again
Just wished I lived there




Another wonderful week!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Woodpecker several times and would recommend to anyone. There are 14 family members - 3 generations who all enjoy it. Our granddaughter is severely disabled but because of the ease of access for wheelchairs she too is able to benefit from this wonderful property. The hosts are so friendly and helpful and the facilities both inside and outdoors are excellent. We will be returning again next year!



Lovey Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful spot for our family get together. Having so many bathrooms was excellent and the views were stunning
We did a great circular walk which was perfect for all... aged 18 months to 84.

Kitchen was well equipped although the Aga took some getting to grips with! The cake was a wonderful touch too.

We did struggle with the recycling and refuse arrangements.. there didn't seem to be enough outside bins to put everything in.




Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic retreat for large family gatherings. Perfect setting for relaxing. Wonderful catering for all ages. The 7 spacious bedrooms all with en-suite was a true luxury.
Will be returning soon.




Wonderful group stay, very relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay for 4 families, fabulous outdoor facilities with amazing views. Covered bbq area and pizza oven were fab. Owners very friendly and helpful and provided huge cake on arrival! Last minute requests were accommodated, very flexible. Wonderful terrace for relaxing, listening to birds. Perfect house for catching up with friends and plenty of space. Nice walks from doorstep.



Fantastic weekend cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Woodpecker for a family celebration of my wife’s 60th birthday. The house had everything we needed and pizzas in the outdoor pizza oven on Friday night we’re amazing.
All 10 of us had a great time in such a welcoming atmosphere. The cream cake was a lovely gift, which we all enjoyed immensely.




Beautiful cottage with stunning views

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage with stunning views
Had a lovely time with family and friends for my partners birthday
Definitely would recommend




Fabulous Family Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in woodpecker cottage which all 13 of out family under one roof. The location was fantastic with beautiful walks directly from the cottage. Our dogs had a great time and enjoyed the big field on site. The cottage was very spacious and really well equipped. The hosts were extremely helpful and approachable, provided all the wood for the fireplace and pizza open. Make sure to try some curling at the Flower Bowl Entertainment Centre near by.



Excellent in every way

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed with a group of friends at this property. Our group has specific needs and the property meets all our requirements, from the excellent facilities offered, right through to the amazing space, all in a great location. We had to reschedule our stay twice due to Covid restrictions and each time the communication with the owners was excellent. When we arrived the property was spotlessly clean, everything we needed was there, and we had a wonderful time. We are already planning our next visit.



Our favourite holiday place

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay as we always do. I am a tall guy so the beds are a tad small. Would be nice to have a smart tv in the cottage. Internet wasn’t great upstairs. We thought the new chairs were far to low and we prefer the original cream leather one. We didn’t like the jersey cow cushions in light of covid though I know they would have been clean.

We love Terry and Sue and the family. They have really made us feel welcome.

Sam




A perfect break

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week in this attractive cottage. Our large party consisted of grandparents down to toddlers.
With plenty of room for us all we enjoyed the pizza oven and barbecue for outdoor meals and the warm cosy kitchen for indoor eating.
Both the tennis court and play area were used by us all. But it was the walks and cycle trips around the area in conjunction with visits to the seaside which made this a memorable holiday.
Many thanks to Tony for his unobtrusive and friendly hosting.




Spacious and luxurious house in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 9, two families with children aged 4, 5 and 7, plus grandparents (booked pre-covid as a party of 13 for 2020 - had to rearrange and one family could not make the rearranged dates), thus we had plenty of room. Our stay covered a major birthday for my daughter and we had another family join us for that day.

Location is quite remote in that there are no facilities, shoos or transport, within 2 or 3 miles down dark and winding country single lane roads. More than once we were stopped or slowed by sheep or tractors.

The house itself is very well equipped, plenty of crockery, bowls, cutlery, pans, glasses and implements etc. Two separate seating areas, one with large freeview TV and one with panoramic views. The dining area is plenty big enough, although we found the pew style benches a bit awkward. The AGA was unexpected although we got used to it. The only downside was the heat it emanates was stifling when the outside temperatures were already mid-20s centigrade. The house generally was very hot, though we shouldn’t complain! I am sure it would be a bonus for 3/4 of the year.

There were enough bedroom configurations to suit everybody with a mix of mattress soft/firm-ness. Bathrooms were clean and toilet roll and a spare in each.

Outside is a private back garden with 3 picnic tables and a grass area that we never used as there is an amazing field out the front, with views to Morecambe Bay and Blackpool. More picnic benches. A swing and play area. We spent a very happy hour or two playing 4+ a side tennis on the court. A short walk round to the ‘other side’ of the property found some ponies, sheep and pigs for the children to admire.

The fire pit at the front of the house (logs and bbq coal provided) was fun to toast marshmallows over. The real Woodpecker bonus though is the covered BBQ and pizza oven area.

Although there were other guests in the other 2(3?) properties using the same drive in as us, we hardly ever saw anyone else apart from to greet. It was more like having exclusive use.

It was a good base for a large area. Once on the A6, about 10-12 minutes, many attractions were accessible in around 30 minutes. We spent 2 days on the beach - one at Morecambe, the other at Blackpool. We spent a day in Lytham, at Park View park, then Fairhaven marina area next to the beach. Another day was spent at the Wild Boar Farm Park £8 per person (2021), which the boys loved. They could feed the animals and hold day-old ducklings in the barn. A well-thought out attraction with various themed walks. More local places visited (on the A6 nearby) included Guys ThatchedVillage next to a canal and Billy Bob’s american sort of adventure park (£3 a child for booked hour slot , free for adults), indoors and outdoors play areas. Excellent value. Tr




Reunion

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay at Woodpecker. The facilities are excellent, we couldn't have found anywhere better and our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The cottage is really well equipped, comfortable and spacious. We shall definitely be returning



Weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the woodpecker cottage. The cottage itself is amazing and very spacious with beautiful views. The owners were so helpful and brought us a cake on arrival!! It did not last long! Thank for such a wonderful stay. We would definitely stay here in the future.



Family get together

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fabulous time at woodpecker cottage
We organised it for my sister's birthday and my son home from New Zealand.
The cottage has everything that you need and the layout makes it a wonderful social hub, it is so much better compared to other large rentals that have separate downstairs rooms.
There were 15 of us but it still felt very spacious
We all had a lovely relaxing time and it made it more special after 3 month's of lockdown
We took our own food for the weekend because we weren't sure about booking a restaurant with there being so many of us and it worked out really well
I didn't want to leave the cottage I wanted to make the most of the 3 days there just pottering about.
We had a lovely time on the Saturday for my sister's birthday we all congregated in the conservatory and had a sing song with my sister playing the guitar ( I hope Terry didn't think we were too loud)
Not sure how long he was knocking on the door to get an answer!!
We all played tennis and the 2 kid's enjoyed the play area.
We also loved the fact that it had a view which is amazing on a clear day
The only downside we found was that the road leading to it can be a bit scary which was a problem for a couple of our anxious family members
But overall we would return again and thought that Sue's sponge cake was a lovely personal touch
So glad we found this cause we had been looking at others for quite a few weeks
Thank you




A lovely getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful large house with lots of thoughtful touches. We had 5 teenagers and 7 adults in our group & there was enough space to escape the larger group if we wanted. Wi-Fi was unpredictable; especially with so many devices vying to connect on SM, but that was the only negative



We all enjoyed are weekend at Barnacre Cottages.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and comfortable and had every thing we needed. Customer Service was excellent.



30th Birthday stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed the Barnacre cottages for my 30th a group of 15 girls. We had a lovely weekend.
Thankyou for a great stay




Dennison Family do

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at 3 of your beautiful cottages, and had a fantastic time! The cottages are well equipped and decorated to a high standard. Great communication through booking and during our stay! We had a fabulous time! Thankyou!



Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful house, the pictures do not do it justice and the location is stunning. Prior to our visit, the owners were easily contacable to answer any questions and we also had welcome surprise waiting for us on our arrival. The house is big, but still warm and cosy, great kitchen, ample bathrooms and the beds were very comfortable. Can not recommend this house enough if you are planning a break. We will be returning next year.



A great venue for getting family together from all over the world

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Woodpecker cottage for 3 families from Canada, USA and Manchester who were all attending my sons wedding. It worked really well for all ages from 6 to 70 and we had a great time at the wedding and afterwards. We loved having a bar BQ the day after the wedding and there was so much space outside for the children to run around and play. The views over to Morecambe Bay and the sunsets were amazing. We would definitely recommend this property to others.



A family gathering in wonderland accommodation with a stunning view and sunset.

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We received a warm welcome and the accommodation is fabulous- it could not be better. We were blessed with good sunny weather so the children enjoyed the play area, and the adults the tennis court. The layout of the accommodation was perfect for our large group. Space for everyone indoors and out. The fire was lit in the fire pit twice and the wine and conversation flowed.
Our three generation extended family had travellled from five countries to be together and the occasion was wonderful.
Thank you.




A family get together to mark my 70th birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location chosen as approximately half way between central Scotland and WILTSHIRE
We were 10 adults and 4 children(8,8,3.5 and 9m) ..facilities excellent for self catering this size of party. We also made use of the bar b q and the fire pit
As the weather was poor a few of the party managed to complete the rather complex jigsaw puzzleu
The one dry day we had was superb for sitting outside, playing boules and rounders and the children loved the swings etc and the tennis court. Holly Farm was an amazing excellent place to take the small children and some of the adults visited Preston and Blackpool.
The one downside was finding the property initially!




A family celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a property that could accommodate 10 people including a 5 year old grandchild. This fitted the need perfectly.
The rooms were comfortable and airy. The living area gave room for different groups to do different things There was an adequate supply of crockery, cutlery, glasses and cups. The Aga cooker did make the area around it very warm but we quickly learned how to use it. There are some lovely restaurants near so we didn't have the hassle of having to cook - we did bring basics with us for breakfast and did a little trip into Garstang to buy some other needs. All in all a good few days and we would certainly go there again (but not the big cottage as there wouldn't be that many with us!




Fabulous house

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just come back from a fantastic stay in Woodpecker Cottage - 14 of us plus dogs. We all had such a wonderful time. The house is lovely - all those bedrooms and better still, all those en suite bathrooms! The sitting room and sun room were huge, with plenty of space for everyone. And it's all so beautiful - stone floors, sumptuous leather sofas, lovely views. Comfortable beds (and those beautiful bathrooms with powerful showers, and enormous baths.). A tennis court and swings, and lovely walks nearby. And a delicious - and enormous - Victoria sponge was a really nice welcome.
There's lots to do nearby - the coast (St Anne's was just lovely, with sandunes, and a pier), lots of really lovely cafes and restaurants, and riverside walks.). We would definitely come here again if we get the chance. We loved it!




Would recommend

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the ideal place if you’re looking to get away with the family or a larger group. This was perfect for us, as we were quite happy to be left to our own devices and enjoy our time. The cottage is stunning and the owners are more than happy to help with anything. Our group was celebrating a hen do and so we celebrated through the night with no issues. The cottage is located in an ideal location to go for walks and to enjoy the views. Great addition with the fire pit too!
The rooms were impeccable and faultless and the kitchen provides everything you could need!




Gorgeous cottage with great facilities

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in March- 8 adults and 7 kids. The cottage has plenty of rooms and the facilities are great. Woodpecker has a huge kitchen living space, and a lovely garden out front with swings and a tennis court. The cottage was clean and nicely decorated. We had a wonderful time!



A beautiful big cottage perfect for our family celebration.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Woodpecker Cottage is a beautifully presented large cottage finished to the highest of standards. The open plan kitchen, dining area, living area and conservatory was perfect for our large family party to socialise altogether. The bedrooms and en-suites were spacious, clean and very comfortable and although we didn't need them, two of the bedrooms had disabled facilities. Our hosts Sue and Kendal were so helpful and welcoming, showing us all we needed to know and leaving us a huge delicious cake! Our party made good use of the tennis court and fire pit while we were there and we took off on a walk one day to the lovely Apple Store Cafe at Wyresdale Park which was recommended to us. There is plenty of information in the cottage and on the website on the area with ideas of what to do and where to go which was very handy.
I would not hesitate to recommend this property and also any of the other properties at Barnacre (we also had The Piggeries Cottage which was stunning) and will definitely be heading back again in the future. Thank you so much Sue, Terry and Kendal.




Extremely spacious

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
13 of us stayed here for a 30th birthday weekend and we will most definitely be returning! The conservatory and living area are all open plan and far more spacious than the pictures suggest. We had 13 people in the conservatory with the fire roaring and everybody comfortable. Can not recommend enough!



Outstanding accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an unforgettable weekend in Woodpecker Cottage. Our accommodation was very comfortable and the cottage was
Extremely well furnished and there was a plentiful supply of quality glasses, dishes and cooking utensils. The dining facilities enabled us to entertain all our guests , numbering 24 in total. Although it was a cold weekend, the cottage itself was warm and
Inviting. Terry and Sue made us very welcome and we were particularly delighted with the delicious sponge cake supplied by Sue.. I cannot recommend this cottage highly enough. Wonderful.




Special Christmas Times

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful few days with my family. Our christmas day was perfect. Plenty of room to relax and the children had room to play. The views are lovely and we went on a few local walks as a family and smaller walks with the children. Would love to do it again.



Wonderful family weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a fabulous stay at Barnacre cottages for my sister's 50th birthday party! Real home from home and the Woodpecker cottage is a definite party house! Would recommend these cottages without hesitation!



Simply stunning

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bsrnacre Cottages are really special and we return year on year. Woodpecker is very big, well equipped, immaculate condition with beautiful views. Big comfortable beds, lovely towels and elemis products highlight the quality of the accommodation. The owners work hard and make you feel so welcome. We were greeted with the biggest home made cake you could imagine and baked to perfection! See you in 2019.



Wonderful relaxing place

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In between Garstang & Scorton - both good places with plenty of walks, this is an excellent location. Wonderful views to the coast and on a clear day -The Isle of Man.

The house was well equipped and very warm. We were a big family group - all adults - and had everything we needed. We made use of the Tramper all terrain electric scooter and went to Scorton - this was great day out for us. It brought us all huge pleasure and made some wonderful memories.

Terry & Sue are wonderful hosts - everything you could want is there and I would recommend it to someone who wants a relaxing time.




Autumn break

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent stay for disabled and Carer’s of all ages with all kinds of disability.
Very easy to book and reasonably priced




Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic find ,so pleased we found this property .
We were getting together for a large family weekend.
This property was just perfect.
The bedrooms were great,big family rooms. very private and safe . Great location. The owners couldn’t have done enough. Very good communication.