FB Twitter

The Piggeries

The Piggeries

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


The Piggeries, as its name suggests, was created from the original piggeries! Now it is a 5 Star Gold, luxury, self-catering holiday cottage , With huge entertaining spaces and en-suite accommodation for four couples, it is ideal for group breaks or special occasions with extended family. The views across to the Cumbrian coast and Lake District are spectacular by day and magical at night. On New Year’s Eve, fireworks can be seen for miles around from the comfort of an armchair by the wood-burning stove.

A space to relax unwind and find family values again

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful space, we walked, talked, laughed and enjoyed our week’s escape. Excellent base for so many fun things,. Not to be missed inn at Whitewell, Barton Grange, Lake District,Forest of Bowland, Golf, QuadBiking and amazing walks to name but a few. However without this lovely base to comeback to The holiday would not have been as special. Family fun and not a mobile in sight.



A lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a wonderful weeks get together at the Piggeries with four couples enjoying their stay. The ensuite rooms were comfortable (although a little challenging with the water if we all used our respective showers at the same time!). The house was well laid out with the kitchen fully equipped with the lounge area being exceptionally large. We were able to make full use of the garden and BBQ for a couple of days when the weather was kind to us. The location was ideal for exploring the Forest of Bowland and the Lancashire coast and canalside walks. The owners were very helpful and hospitable and we all enjoyed the delicious cake left for us on our arrival. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.



Girlie weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such an amazing weekend. A bit of a walk to the town but we were so lucky with the weather. Would highly recommend this house



family & close friends yearly holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at the Piggeries, it catered for your every need. It is very remote but once you get your bearings it's not so bad & very private, you get a feeling of safety, which is strange considering the location. The cottage was very clean & tidy and the owners were very accommodating allowing us early entry & no rush when we we leaving which we really appreciated. We only had a few minor issues, a bathroom light being out etc. Due to the location the internet was very poor, maybe that's a good thing as it stopped us all being on our iPads etc. We would recommend the Piggeries for a lovely relaxing holiday.



Comfortable Holiday Home

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From walking into this very welcoming holiday cottage the whole family felt at home ! Fabulous views from the lounge, two of the bedrooms and kitchen. Lovely garden and patio which due to the weather we were not able to use all the time (too much rain for our liking) still managed a few G&T's out there though. Fully equipped kitchen for stress free cooking & a super meeting point for the family 7 adults 3 children ! Only negatives ... sharp knives were as blunt as butter knives which Terry said would be sharpened for the next visitors ! The double bedroom next to the kitchen ... the window looks out onto a brick wall & when we had the window open during the night we could hear the noise & smell the fumes from the Aga (left the curtains closed & opened the bathroom window instead ) Hosts were very accommodating ... from booking through to us leaving later than planned . Thank you !



The Piggeries

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage/house, well equipped for a large family.
Lots of space for the children who enjoyed the chickens and pony.
Very comfortable beds with plenty of bedding.
Very enjoyable stay.




Family stay at The Piggeries

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I stayed at The Piggeries for my Mum’s special birthday. The house is stunning and just what we were looking for. We had 3 children with us, aged 1, 10 and 13 and 6 adults and there was plenty room for us all. The bedrooms are all en-suite and beautifully decorated, comfortable and met all our needs. There is ample parking and it’s in a great location.

We met Terry within an hour or so of our arrival and he was really helpful and friendly. We also had a delicious cake waiting for us from Sue, which was a lovely gesture.

I would 100% recommend The Piggeries and we are already looking to rebook for next year.




A week with extended family

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was large with a fantastic lounge to watch the sunsets during a lovely week weatherwise. There were walks from the door and the children loved the tennis court. Views from the two bedrooms in the new part of the building were lovely. Shame it was too warm for the logburner partly due to the underfloor heating but the weather was fantastic!

Kitchen: The aga wasn't working but this wasn't a problem for us - the owner had said it has just broken down and there was another oven and hob anyway. The kitchen was great with a good range of utensils as expected but could have done with some storage facilities/ containers for cake etc. Thank you for the lovely homemade cake!

Bedrooms: The beds were great if you like firm beds. Whilst all the bedrooms had ensuite showers the cubicles were a little on the small size ( one has a bath too) and we didn't find the controls easy to alter. I think most of the adults would have been happier to have use of a larger shower cubicle even if it wasn't in an ensuite.

Enclosed garden: Perhaps the main issue was with the hens being able to access the garden ( nothing against hens themselves!) but they leave calling cards which makes the use of the garden and patio tricky - especially if it is fine weather perhaps in the summer and you have smaller children who may want to wander in and out the house to the garden - our children are of an age when they can independently go to the tennis court but a few years ago this could have been an issue). The patio did need some maintenance in terms of cutting back vegetation but the owners probably hadn't anticipated such fine weather in April in Lancashire and easy to solve!

These issues are pretty minor really since we did enjoy our stay. We visited friends in Haworth and Pendle and had leisure drives around the often overlooked Forest of Bowland. We also visited the coast at Arnside and Cleveleys.





Gorgeous

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a lovely location. The welcome was great - especially the home baked cake. The cottage has several comfortable spaces, perfect for entertaining as well as finding a quiet hideaway. Lots of lovely walks in the area and places to visit. My enduring memory will be the bluebell woods - stunning. I would certainly recommend this to friends, thanks Sue and Terry.



50th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend staying with all the family at the cottages. The Piggeries was so well equipped and comfortable and had everything you could ever need. What a treat! Thank you.



family weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we had a lovely weekend celebrating my mums birthday we hired three cottages and all of them were lovely very modern and well equipped many thanks we hope to be back soon