FB Twitter

Old Stables

Old Stables

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


The Old Stables is a large 5-Star luxury self-catering holiday cottage that sleeps up to 13 guests plus a cot, in six bedrooms and is ideal for family reunions or friends groups wishing to visit Lancashire. As its name suggests, the Old Stables was where the horses were kept many years ago, except that the wooden partitions and hayracks have now been replaced by a beautiful Mark Wilkinson American Oak kitchen. Where once the horses drank from cast iron troughs, an American fridge freezer dispenses chilled spring water and crushed ice!

Brilliant for a family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location , very well kept and comfortable accommodation and more than enough kitchen equipment for a large gathering.
Brilliant for a large family get together as the lounge/kitchen area is very large.




Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Went for our extended family week - excellent accommodation and very friendly owners and good value.



A Fabulous family weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Stables is a great place for Families to spend time together. The photographs don't do it justice it definitely has the wow factor. All rooms very comfortable and spacious. We had an amazing visit and will definitely return. Thank you.



2019 cottage holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have to say the Cottage was exactly what we wanted, spacious, comfortable, clean and all the appliances you would want. There was plenty of parking and lovely garden for the children to play. Ours was a party of 12 and everyone has said they want to come back. There was nothing to find fault with definitely a 5 star place to stay



Beautiful

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second family holiday at the Old Stables at Barnacre Cottages and it was every bit as good as the first time we stayed. We received a warm welcome from Terry and a delicious home baked cake from Sue on arrival.

During our stay we had a couple of issues that we needed help with - the television wasn’t working properly which Terry and Kendall came and sorted immediately on being notified. Then the gas cylinder supply to the cooker ran out which was immediately fixed.

This is a family run business and the whole family works hard to provide a first class service to visitors, but without being intrusive. They are warm and welcoming and honest people who make you feel at home. The property and gardens are stunning and you feel like you are somewhere really special. On both occasions the property has been cleaned to a very high standard.

We would gladly return in the future.




A very enjoyable 70th birthday weekend with my loving family

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very outstanding house lovely grounds kitchen out of this world everything about the place very good There was only one thing wrong there was not enough toilet rolls .we had to go and buy some



Great Place to Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place for a large family gathering. We had The Old Stables, Mole End and Partridge cottage which provided plenty of space as well as privacy. The well appointed kitchen with the aga made it feel very cosy and homely.
The children loved the outside space and freedom and the tennis court was a great bonus.
The owners went out of there way to be helpful to provide what we needed and also information and suggestions for activities in the area which was very attractive - good for walks, picnics and messing around beside rivers.




Large Family get together.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Barnacre The Old Stables with all the family 11 of us in total.
The downstairs living areas were very large and had plenty of room for us all.
The garden was large and the children particularly enjoyed playing tennis on the tennis court in front of the cottage and the swing set. I would highly recommend this cottage for any large family looking for a country get away together.




Mums 70th Birthday

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottages had everything needed for a lovely family get together. Sue and Terry are very helpful. Thank you.



Wonderful family weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just stayed at Old stables and The Woodpecker cottages for a fabulous family weekend! They are both beautiful cottages and we loved everything about them! It was a real treat for us cooking on the Aga too! We had everything we needed and the home made cake on arrival was a big hit too! Would definitely recommend these cottages!



Family weekend for 80th celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for all our needs. The kitchen was simply beautiful and the layout of downstairs was fantastic for a large family especially with little children as well. There was a beautiful cake on arrival and plenty of games for adult and children to keep you entertained.

The rooms were all a great size and accommodated a large family. The setting was very pretty. We found lots of activities nearby for us all including crazy golf!




Great house that sleeps 13. Well equipped and super comfortable.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Old Stables for a family birthday celebration. Everything was excellent. A lovely comfortable house equipped with everything you need. Lovely garden with a fire pit and tennis court. We had a great time and the hosts were great and very quick to help out with any minor problem. Sue also made a delicious cake for the Birthday couple too!