FB Twitter

Old Stables

Old Stables

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 20 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
5.0


The Old Stables is a large, spacious 5-Star Gold luxury self-catering holiday cottage that sleeps up to 13 guests in six bedrooms and is ideal for family reunions or friends groups wishing to visit Lancashire. Huge private walled garden with fire pit and seating.

short break for our service users

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Service users and staff had a lovely short break, the accommodation is lovely and has all home comforts, location is excellent for exploring the area. Service users enjoyed seeing the wildlife in the garden and the home cooked sponge on arrival was delicious!

























Great family stay in this luxury cottage in a lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our extended family of 10 ranged from 7 years old to 75 and everyone loved it. The cottage has everything you would expect and more. The Aga was a lovely new experience for us and kept the kitchen area toasty warm (it was a chilly August week). The attention to detail on all the kitchen utensils and crockery/glassware was exceptional. There was plenty of space for us all with the bedrooms and bathrooms, and we loved spending time in the conservatory when it was too rainy to be in the private garden. The children loved the freedom of the tennis court, play area and field, all safely within the huge gated grounds - we didn't see much of them as they made new friends! They fed the resident pony and sheep which caused much excitement. Nothing was too much trouble for Terry and his family, including when we had an issue with a broken key which was immediately resolved by Terry's daughter. The cake on arrival was a lovely and welcome touch. We had Tesco deliveries to make things more convenient and that was easy to arrange although the driver needed some directions! The surrounding countryside was beautiful - perfect for walks with the kids, fishing in streams and also an early morning run (keeping a lookout for tractors and horses!). We had day trips to Kendal, Lake Windermere, Lancaster, Blackpool and Lytham St Annes so plenty nearby. There is also a great independent garden centre and farm shop nearby which we liked. We will be back!



Beautiful cottage in lovely grounds and excellent customer service

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped kitchen with new bathrooms and great seating areas - tennis court was a bonus- perfect for families



80th birthday

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to socialise together for a large group gathering and for the family to get together. Well equipped



Retirement weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning accommodation, brilliant weekend had by all. Back for my third visit in November 2020. See you all then.



Splendid Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I had a fabulous time staying in The Old Stables for my 30th birthday. The owners were super helpful, thoughtful and courteous. They'd even baked a massive Victoria Sponge for our arrival! They suggested a lovely walking route for us, which led right from the front door. Highly recommended place to stay.



Family reunion

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jan 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly and helpful owners. Made us all welcome. As a family we all thought it was an excellent venue.



Family Celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in the Old Stables mid December 2019 for a family birthday celebration. It was perfect for young and old alike. There were 12 of us in this house and we had everything we needed at hand. We would certainly consider a return visit at some stage.



Brilliant for a family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location , very well kept and comfortable accommodation and more than enough kitchen equipment for a large gathering.
Brilliant for a large family get together as the lounge/kitchen area is very large.




Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Went for our extended family week - excellent accommodation and very friendly owners and good value.



A Fabulous family weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Stables is a great place for Families to spend time together. The photographs don't do it justice it definitely has the wow factor. All rooms very comfortable and spacious. We had an amazing visit and will definitely return. Thank you.



2019 cottage holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have to say the Cottage was exactly what we wanted, spacious, comfortable, clean and all the appliances you would want. There was plenty of parking and lovely garden for the children to play. Ours was a party of 12 and everyone has said they want to come back. There was nothing to find fault with definitely a 5 star place to stay



Beautiful

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second family holiday at the Old Stables at Barnacre Cottages and it was every bit as good as the first time we stayed. We received a warm welcome from Terry and a delicious home baked cake from Sue on arrival.

During our stay we had a couple of issues that we needed help with - the television wasn’t working properly which Terry and Kendall came and sorted immediately on being notified. Then the gas cylinder supply to the cooker ran out which was immediately fixed.

This is a family run business and the whole family works hard to provide a first class service to visitors, but without being intrusive. They are warm and welcoming and honest people who make you feel at home. The property and gardens are stunning and you feel like you are somewhere really special. On both occasions the property has been cleaned to a very high standard.

We would gladly return in the future.




A very enjoyable 70th birthday weekend with my loving family

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very outstanding house lovely grounds kitchen out of this world everything about the place very good There was only one thing wrong there was not enough toilet rolls .we had to go and buy some



Great Place to Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place for a large family gathering. We had The Old Stables, Mole End and Partridge cottage which provided plenty of space as well as privacy. The well appointed kitchen with the aga made it feel very cosy and homely.
The children loved the outside space and freedom and the tennis court was a great bonus.
The owners went out of there way to be helpful to provide what we needed and also information and suggestions for activities in the area which was very attractive - good for walks, picnics and messing around beside rivers.




Large Family get together.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Barnacre The Old Stables with all the family 11 of us in total.
The downstairs living areas were very large and had plenty of room for us all.
The garden was large and the children particularly enjoyed playing tennis on the tennis court in front of the cottage and the swing set. I would highly recommend this cottage for any large family looking for a country get away together.




Mums 70th Birthday

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottages had everything needed for a lovely family get together. Sue and Terry are very helpful. Thank you.



Wonderful family weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just stayed at Old stables and The Woodpecker cottages for a fabulous family weekend! They are both beautiful cottages and we loved everything about them! It was a real treat for us cooking on the Aga too! We had everything we needed and the home made cake on arrival was a big hit too! Would definitely recommend these cottages!



Family weekend for 80th celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for all our needs. The kitchen was simply beautiful and the layout of downstairs was fantastic for a large family especially with little children as well. There was a beautiful cake on arrival and plenty of games for adult and children to keep you entertained.

The rooms were all a great size and accommodated a large family. The setting was very pretty. We found lots of activities nearby for us all including crazy golf!




Great house that sleeps 13. Well equipped and super comfortable.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Old Stables for a family birthday celebration. Everything was excellent. A lovely comfortable house equipped with everything you need. Lovely garden with a fire pit and tennis court. We had a great time and the hosts were great and very quick to help out with any minor problem. Sue also made a delicious cake for the Birthday couple too!