FB Twitter

Carna House (CCI)

Carna House (CCI)

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd visit to Carna
It never fails to do what it should.
Just get away from it all relax and enjoy.
Red Deer, Eagle, Otter, Seal and so much more wildlife.
If you need a chilled break this is for you.


Norman from Middlesbrough stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 4 nights in October 2022


A wonderful stay on an island paradise

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having visited Carna many times it is always a pleasure to return for a digital detox.

The weather was fantastic and the island was looking wonderful. We explored all around and really enjoyed relaxing!

Cant wait to return


Edward from london stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 14 nights in May 2022


Amazing - HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the most tranquil, relaxing places I've ever been. Fantastic to have your own boat to adventure freely with, wonderful nature both in the water, on land and air. Accommodation fantastic, super comfortable, peaceful atmosphere.

Limited signal but WiFi available if desired.

Definitely be going back.


Rachael from Knaresborough stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in May 2022


A beautiful escape & chance to slow down surrounded by wildlife

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gift of a week. The house was comfortable and peaceful to spend time in, Andy and Allison were so welcoming, and the scenery was outstanding. The perfect recipe for a real rest. Surrounded by beauty

Sarah from Nottingham stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in April 2022


Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay on Isle of Carna was everything we had hoped for and more. Such beautiful tranquil place. The views are simply breathtaking!! A perfect place to unwind. We will definitely be visiting again.

Kirk from Barnsley stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in April 2022


A break in the wilderness

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fifth visit to the island - hardly need to say more. Superb location for observing and photographing wildlife and wild scenery, even from the kitchen window. Dark night skys are also superb for observing the heavens and aurora if you are lucky. Bring stout boots, waterproofs, fishing gear, the dogs, kids and your imagination. If you love sandy beaches, lively nightlife, restaurants and entertainment, try Majorca.

David from Warwick stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 8 nights in October 2021


Wilderness can still be found

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have you ever experienced absolute quite and stillness? Carna must be one of the few locations where this can still be found. Watch Sea Eagles in the morning through your bedroom window, seals by day and cattle as neighbours! What’s not to love.
If fishing is your thing your boat allows access to all of Loch Sunnart and the best mackerel for your bbq.


Kevin & Sue from stratford upon avon stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in September 2021


Sunart swim

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of us booked the house on Carna Island as we had planned to swim Loch Sunart starting at Strontian and finishing at Tobermory. We completed the swim (13.51) at the beginning of the week with Andy, and his crew Steve, supporting us all the way onboard the pilot boat. Andy was fantastic with the preparation he put in beforehand to make sure we left on the right tide and at the right time to give us the best chance to complete the swim. Both Andy and Steves wife, Alison and Ruth, made homemade curry, stew, bread and biscuits for the trip. That was so nice of them and very much appreciated.
Throughout the week nothing was too much trouble for Andy and Alison they made us feel so welcome. The accommodation and island was fantastic. We were blessed with loads of wildlife in and out of the water. We couldn’t have had a better week. A few of us dove off the island and I have never seen so much wildlife when diving in the UK. If you like remoteness, beauty and getting back to nature, this is the place for you.


Tracy from Marston Moretaine stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in September 2021


Isle of Carna holiday September 2021

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Isle of Carna is a hidden gem. Breath taking a stunning island with a variety of wild life. We loved watching the dolphins play. We saw a sea eagle chasing his prey (seagull). My husband saw an otter. Loads of seals and a variety of birds, with great fishing. You really do re charge your batteries on such a relaxed quiet holiday. We will return to this delightful island.

tracy from colchester essex stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in September 2021


Away from it All

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect place to truly get away from it all. Stunning scenery, close encounters with wildlife, fishing for supper. The beds are really comfortable, there's plenty of hot water, the kitchen is well equipped for cooking and the gas lights and lanterns are beautiful.
Complete bliss!


Guest from Cambridge stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in August 2021


Paradise

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carna was everything that we had hoped for. We’d stayed on the mainland last year and seen the island from there and booked this week as a result. The house copied easily with six adults and a dog, the weather was perfect and we spent all week walking, fishing or watching the porpoises from the jetty and the seals and dolphins from the boat. We all absolutely loved it and will definitely return at some point.

Duncan from Cirencester stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in August 2021


Another wonderful family holiday on Carna.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First visit since Covid pandemic began and I can see the changes made due to Covid guidelines and cleanliness, which was very reassuring, although we missed the piles of books and games to dig into.
The views, the walks, the wildlife and the beauty of the island was undiminished and it felt like an escape from the chaos of life.


Ella from London stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in July 2021


July break in carna

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carna house is a fabulous place to stay. We have stayed here many times and it just gets better and better. The house is perfect spacious and has everything you need. The island itself is ideal if you want a break to enjoy peace and solitude. The scenery and wildlife is amazing.... and the boat is perfect for going out and exploring the surrounding area. On your arrival you are greeted by allison and andy . They are on hand if you need advice or help or just loads info about the area. All in all it is a perfect holiday destination and I hope I ll get to visit again.


Shelagh from Liverpool stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in July 2021


Lovely views

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The little fence round the house was great for the dogs so we could let them have a run around. The boats were great and we got to use them every day due to good weather. Was nice to switch off and relax

Rebecca from Skelton In Cleveland stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in July 2021


Two weeks on The Isle of Carna

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time, the weather was good and we saw an abundance of wildlife including my first sighting of an otter eating a fish. There were masses of seals and their pups and oyster catchers and Artic terns and no midges !!
A great holiday, I have been going to Carna for 65 years on and off and still love everything about it. It is a very special place indeed. Andy and Alison and their team were fantastic and could not have been more helpful in every way


Vanessa from YORK stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in May 2021


a wonderful escape from an uncertain world

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most lovely stay in Carna House, it was so nice to escape London and be at one with nature, highly recommended.

Edward from london stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in May 2021


Our stay on Carna

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Having the island to ourselves was fantastic peace, quiet and the use of a boat to explore around the island. The house was basic but comfortable. The house is in need of a little updating. For two people it was great. I would definitely visit again

Colin from Southampton stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in May 2021


Family holiday on beautiful Scottish Island

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sea eagles and seals! Fires in the evening, home cooked bread, children happily damming rivers and exploring the shore come rain or shine, such welcome from Andy and Allison. I love this place, it restores my soul

Sarah from Nottingham stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 7 nights in October 2020


Family Break

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay on Carna and i can honestly say it was better than the first.
It's simply stunning.
Stags bellowing was just amazing, we even managed to see them.
We'll be booking for 2021.
Andy and Alison are such a lovely couple and will do everything they need to make your stay enjoyable.

We shall return

Norman


Norman from Middlesbrough stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 4 nights in October 2020


A blissful week away from the stresses of the world

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful week away from the stresses of the cv19 landscape on the most beautiful island on the west coast.

Allison and Andy the caretakers looked after us so well (when needed) but otherwise we enjoyed a wonderful week getting away from it all in stunning scenery and a charming historic cottage.


Guest from London stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 6 nights in August 2020


Fab stay at Carna.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived, we knew this would be perfect. All the staff were great, friendly & helpful. The island is beautiful.

Carl from Sedgefield stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 6 nights in August 2020


Amazing place away from the busy life

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing little house on a lovely island that is blissfully disconnected from the world by not having and mobile phone reception, broadband, television and wonderful quaint gas lighting. A brilliant break away from the madness of life.

Adrian from broadstone stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 6 nights in August 2020


Superb Family get away

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to this magical place. Wildlife including the sea eagle on the doorstep, superb scenery, fishing walking, photography and glorious isolation. Forget the rest of the world for a week or two and make your own fun. Andy, Gillian and the team did a superb job getting the house in order for Covid compliance. Can’t wait to get back.

David from Warwick stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 13 nights in July 2020


A magical week

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week on Carna had so many highlights. Watching the otters swimming in the mirror like loch. The seals basking in the warm sunshine and the autumn colours and much more. The cottage was very comfortable esp when it was raining. We always had the caretaker to contact if we had a problem. I thought the week was such good value especially as we had a boat included in the price.

Guest from leicester stayed at Carna House (CCI) for 5 nights in September 2019