FB Twitter

Carna Cottage (CCI)

Carna Cottage (CCI)

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


Carna is super! Unpretentious, beautiful, and comfortable

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Five of us (four adults and one 8 year old from New Zealand) had a wonderful time on Carna. It is peaceful, beautiful, and precious. The cottage is very comfy. We loved the fire and the windows in the kitchen that give lots of light and great views whatever the weather. We spotted otter, deer, and seals from the kitchen - how cool is that? The walk to the top of the island is well worth it (and not difficult); the views are super. We had fun exploring the shoreline, picking lots of blackberries to eat, swinging on the rope swing and making friends with the furry cows. After a through briefing from Andy we also took ourselves around the island in the boat and enjoyed seeing it from all angles.

Carna is a precious place and we enjoyed talking with Andy, sharing his knowledge and love for the island. We were made very welcome and have warm memories of our stay.


Sheila from Wellington stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 4 nights in October 2019


Perfect escape

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I wanted complete time out , peace and tranquillity and Carna does not disappoint, a beautiful wonderful place with views you never get tired of . The cottage has everything you need for a comfortable stay . The boat you have for your stay is great , so you can explore the island on water , even though we had never driven a boat before . A bucket list holiday !

Wendy from Sutton Veny stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 5 nights in September 2019


Peace & tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay on Carna was a truly memorable one.We completely shut ourselves away from the rat race.We got to see Beavers,Golden eagles,seals and when out in our boat the dolphins came to play!!Our cottage had everything you needed to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.Even in the rain,The Isle of Carna is a magical place to stay.

Richard from Sheerness stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in August 2019


2019 family break on Carna

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Second visit here. Once again a beautiful place to stay. Recent improvements with heating, the bathroom and changing round the bedrooms were welcome and really enhance the cottage.
Having WiFi is useful but to an extent erodes the feeling that you are having a tech free break.
One of the main reasons we love the island is being able to bring the dog and not have to worry about letting him wander in and out when he feels like it. This was a little curtailed this time by having the cows roaming free frequently around the cottage.
All in all though the stay on the island was again superb and we will be back.


David from Southampton stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in June 2019


A wonderful magical place with everything that's good to make a great holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my fifth visit to Carna island and it just gets better. The island is wonderfully wild and stacked with wildlife, the trips out in the boat are interesting and reveal more of the surrounding habitats and a sense of peacefulness just desends as soon as you walk along the pier from the launch. Bird song follows you wherever you go and you just never know what you are going to spot. The cottage facilities are comfy and adequate and it is a perfect place to bring folk of any age from my 7 year old granddaughter to my 90 year old mother, everyone can't help but enjoy the island in their own way. I am now planning my sixth visit!

Jill from Penicuik stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in July 2019


Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A week away from life, no tv no radio no internet just nature and peace . We have already booked for two weeks next year

Joe from Sheerness stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in June 2019


Brilliant

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2nd time on Carna. Brilliant holiday we booked both houses for 5 adults and 6 kids houses have everything you need clean and tidy
Weather could have been a bit better but still had a great time out on the boats fishing,catching crabs at the pier
Booked again for next year


June from East Dumbartonshire stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in June 2019


Stunning location with fabulous views.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Carna Cottage has an amazing panoramic view particularly from the conservatory. We had a fabulous time exploring the island and wildlife watching from the boat. A unique place to relax, chill out and enjoy the world around us.


Maggie from Edinburgh stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 3 nights in June 2019


Family of 5 on Carna

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful island escape, stress melts away the minute you get to the shore at Laga bay. The beds are so comfortable, views spectacular, and relaxing around the fire in the evening listening to the oystercatchers flying over the loch outside is delightful. Kids blissfully content rowing, catching crabs, dens in the woods, swinging, spotting seals and the occasional otter and eagle. Would happily recommend. Had to slowly re-enter the real world and delayed turning on my phone for a few hours when we left

Sarah from Nottingham stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in May 2019


An antidote to modern life and technology.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay on Carna, so we obviously like it. Having been previously, we knew just what to expect and made our preparations for the week much easier, knowing what facilities to expect in the cottage.
Our main reason for staying on Carna is the wildlife. Our first visit was late summer, our second was early summer. The difference was remarkable.
There are no true footpaths on the island, so tracks are made either by cattle or deer. The lower bracken growth made trips inland much easier and gave us better light for photographing the wild flowers, which become hidden later in the year.
The cottage had been overhauled during the winter and the minor issues from last year had all been fixed. Lounge windows shut properly and the kitchen flooring had been upgraded. The marine band radio now lives in the kitchen rather than the cow shed.
The temperature drops significantly over night. The original stone cottage is basically four rooms in a row - lounge, bedroom, bathroom, bedroom. This end bedroom can get chilly, so we lit the stove in the lounge in the evenings. This heats water for the under floor heating and warms the bedrooms and bathroom very nicely. The supplied logs light easily, but make sure Andy has left you some firelighters!
The bathroom is excelent and the LPG heated water system highly efficient.
The cooker is also LPG and works well enough to keep four of us fed. The oven struggled a bit to reach higher temperatures, probably due to the poorly fitting door. The barbeque boasts the best view you could wish for and tempts you to spend leisurely evenings outside. (Take your own charcoal)
So after two visits, would we go again? Most definitely yes!



Mike from Formby stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in May 2019


Fabulous stay on Carna

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a great week. Andy and alison were really helpful and knowledgable!
Loved it so much we have booked for next year!


Tamsin from Poole stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in April 2019


Unique experience.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unique experience having the island to ourselves . Small team based at Laga were friendly , helpful and knowledgeable. Cottage was perfect for us with excellent views out to the loch . Having the boat was great fun and we enjoyed using it to go out and spot wildlife as well as travelling back over to the mainland to explore the peninsula.
The night sky was so fantastic !
The week flew by so quickly .


Patricia from Rotherham stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in April 2019


4 blokes, no tech.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were 4 mates staying in Carna Cottage for a weekend in October. We planned on fishing in the loch Saturday & Sunday, and just generally chilling "off grid".
Andy transported us and our provisions onto the island on the Friday evening and he gave us a quick tour of the cottage, then left. We expected to see him next on Monday morning when we were due to leave.
The cottage was spotlessly clean and had a modern bathroom with underfloor heating. The heating was provided by a log burner in the living room. Cooking was on LPG (propane), or the outdoor barbecue and electricity generated by solar power to a battery. Apart from the emergency radio, we were effectively cut off from "civilisation".
The weather was good on Saturday but appalling on Sunday, preventing us from going on the loch (in fact, Andy came and took the boat). Both days were very different but we had a great time and I would definitely recommend staying there.


Stuart from Huddersfield stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 3 nights in October 2018


September 2018 in Varna Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Peace and quiet, Hen Harrier hunting outside window every day, lots of White tailed eagles and otters everywhere. Loved it that much we booked again the day we arrived home.

Bruce from Grindale stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in September 2018


Absolutely amazing stay with our 4 young children

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay with 4 young children,hosts brilliant nothing to much trouble, great location and facilities, amazing wildlife ,will return and highly recommend this to anyone wanting a different holiday and remind selves of what is important

Anthony from Easton Maudit stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in July 2018


Relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real break from the norm, truely excellent, would thoroughly recommend.
No phones, no WiFi, just space to explore and see wildlife galore


Richard from Stockport stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in July 2018


Beautiful place

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great island cottage was brilliant beautiful weather, boat was fantastic will be going back again can't wait

June from Glasgow stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 7 nights in June 2018


carna

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Generally a good experience, disappointed that the old bath bathroom fittings had not been removed when obviously new bathroom put in, but left in heap with other disgarded rubbish.
Although we understand the reason for the cattle the necessity for fences which, in order to cross, one had to scale gates or find crossing points did distract a little from the pleasure of walks, also the wieght of the cattle had turned the few paths into quagmires.
I had 3 deer ticks in 5 days which as I am used to them and understand the way to remove safely was not a problem, however the implications for Lymes disease should be highlighted to other guests.
I raised a couple of things on leaving to be told that they were probably just in the other house eg no casserole dishes, no bird books, I feel this should have been checked prior to our arrival,


Guest from Peterborough stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 5 nights in May 2018


A magical fortnight

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I rented both Carna Cottage and Carna House for a family holiday. We were above the recommended number of people being 13 adults, 6 children and 4 dogs at the busiest time, hence comfort 'good' and not ''excellent'. The weather was perfect and midge free. We made full use of the boats and my children and their partners were out on their paddleboards (which they brought with them) nearly every day.
I first came to the island 52 years ago, and the comfort of the houses has improved vastly, but the remoteness and feeling of isolation remains the same. No phone signal, unless you climb to the top of the island, no internet, no radio or television. A newspaper is a mile on the boat then a 6 mile drive on single track roads away. You have little option other than to relax and watch out for the seals, otters and golden and sea eagles.
Andy, Alison, Barnaby and Harry at Laga Bay were brilliant. Always there to help or advise when asked, but never intruding. Andy and Alison cooked us a great meal using local produce on my wife's birthday.
A great holiday which will be long remembered. Maybe even by some of my childrens' children.



Michael from Llangollen stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 14 nights in March 2018


Unique and special place

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The island of Carna is absolutely unique. Here you can hire your own private island and escape to peace and serenity or have a fabulous adventure.
The cottage is warm, comfortable and well equipped sitting in a sheltered bay on the eastern side of the island. Using the island boat is great to explore Loch Teacuis.
Will be back!


Ardcharters from stayed at Carna Cottage (CCI) for 13 nights in February 2018