FB Twitter

Ewelands House

Ewelands House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 46 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Ewelands House offers 5*gold luxury and comfort, with an amazing view. Watch the NY moors steam trains puff along in the valley below. Visit the local pub, 5 minutes walk away, for home cooked food and local cask ales or relax in comfort with all the gadgets you need, including Smart TVs, ipad, fibre fast broadband.

Beautiful, well equipped accommodation overlooking the stunning Esk Valley.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed at Ewelands House for our daughter’s 21st Birthday. We loved the cottage - high standard of decor, furnishings, appliances and kitchen equipment. Beautiful view from the balcony. Dog friendly pub just five minutes walk away and excellent fish and chips in the village too!

Maria from Shirland Alfreton stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 20 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time xx

Ewelands house review

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a wonderful 4 night break at Ewelands house in October. The house is beautiful with lots of home comforts, despite the COVID situation. The location is fabulous with great views to the back. The cleanliness was excellent which is very reassuring given the times. We will definitely be returning.

Rebecca from Hale stayed at Ewelands House for 4 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 20 days ago
Thank you for your very supportive review we love that you had a super time and hope you return soon ! xxx

ewelands house

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House is in a wonderful location. Lots of info was provided about local services and walks. Beds and furniture were comfortable and the house felt warm and cozy. Equipment provided was good and everything worked. If pressed to find a fault, a few more cooking dishes such as casserole with lid, pyrex measuring jug etc would have been useful but overall a very nice property and experience.

J from Barnsley stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in September 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 57 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We do normally have lots more cooking utensils, but because of cleaning restrictions due to COVID19 - we have to wash everything in all the cupboards when guests leave we really can't have all the kitchen equipment we normally have in our cottages as we would never be able to complete the cleaning in time, but I will put back a casserole dish, and a measuring jug xx

Lovely break

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in a lovely village perfect distance away from Whitby. Fresh baked bread on arrival was a nice touch

Phillip from Horse And Gate Street Fen Drayton stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in August 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 78 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments... We look forward to welcoming you here again x

Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Ewelands Cottage, everything was as always perfect on our arrival and the baking bread smelling beautiful (even better with lashings of butter!) in these difficult times every precaution had been taken and we felt totally safe on our holiday, Thankyou Joe and Geoff for all your hard work we will be back!

Jennifer from Portsmouth, Portsmouth, England stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in August 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 95 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Perfect getaway spot

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay. The property is lovely and comfy enough for all the family including the dog. There were great walks around the property and beautiful views from the balcony. We stayed at the property for New Year a couple of years ago and decided to return during the nice weather. It was a great decision to come back as it was just as amazing as we remember and our dog loved all of the countryside walks. Welcome pack was very thoughtful especially during current times. We appreciated the thoughtfulness of the precautions that were taken. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone. Thanks for a great stay.

Caitlin from Stannington stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in August 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 95 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Beautifully presented holiday cottage set on edge of pretty valley with wonderful views

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted to find somewhere quiet and special and Ewelands House fitted the bill perfectly. Very well presented holiday cottage with friendly and efficient service from the owners.

Andrew from Guildford stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 113 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review... it means the world to us.

Wonderful stay for the full family

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week with my parents and brought our dog along too. The house is set up for comfort and felt like a home from home. The views were incredible and you can do so many lovely walks from the property and is in perfect location for all the nearby attractions.
We’ve already recommended to everyone we know. We’ll definitely be back, great customer service and the best quality accommodation!


Helen from Tankersley stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 113 days ago
Thank you so much for your fab review.... the best recommendations we can get are when guests return and recommend to friends and family.... so thanks once again xxx

Perfect scenic base for exploring Whitby and the surrounding area

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning views, comfortable beds, quiet location, A very well equipped and thought out property with everything you need for a comfortable stay. Joe and Geoff really have thought of everything and the information they provide on local things to see and do and dog welcoming restaurants and cafes was fantastic.
Couldn't recommend this place highly enough.


Robert from Kenilworth stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in February 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 113 days ago
Thank you so much for your great review ... it means the world to us as we want our guests to have the 'best' time with friends and family xxx

another fab stay

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
excellent cottage with absolutely the best furnishings and everything you could possibly need ! thanks geoff

Jayne and Andy from Thornton Cleveleys stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in December 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 330 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review.... we look forward to welcoming you back to Unique-retreats and our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire xxx

Our lovely stay in Ewelands House

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed many times at Unique retreats and will no doubt stay again. The accommodation is just gorgeous in every way with Geoff and Jo on hand to help in any way they can. Ewelands House was so nicely decorated for Christmas, really festive and cosy with the log fire burning too.
If you are wanting to stay in this area then I cannot think where you would find anywhere better with the icing on the cake being the magnificent view from the windows. All in all, a wonderful place to stay.


Jayne from Brough stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in December 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 334 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Ewelands House and Unique Retreats. It means everything to Geoff and myself that our guests have a great time.... Hope we can welcome you again in 2020 xxx

Amazing & beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish our experience with Ewelands Cottage was perfect. The cottage has so many thoughtful touches and was absolutely spotless. The hampers (for the humans and dogs) were lovely. Very comfy beds and all towels/bedding great quality. Also one of the best equipped kitchens! So many lovely finishing touches.
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!


Louise from Elloughton stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in November 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review. It really means the world to Geoff and myself that our guests have a fabulous time..... I do hope we can welcome you back at some future date to our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire... xxx

A wonderful relaxing place with amazing views

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ewelands House had everything you could want and so much more. Wonderful furnishings, a warm welcome and a fantastic hamper. It was fantastic to sit on the balcony and watch the sun setting and the steam train going by. It’s is peaceful and relaxing with amazing views. The butchers in the village was really good and it was great to just sit in and eat some lovely meals. The property is one of the most comfortable I have ever stayed in. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Sonia from Golborne stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in September 2019


Excellent unbeatable holiday home

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely home! Our very first holiday in Yorkshire and we could not have picked a better place. Ewelands House is a real home from home, with all the luxuries and comforts you could think of. Fantastic views of the North Yorkshire National Park with great views of the steam trains on the North Yorks Steam Railway. We sat on the balcony at different times of the day to watch the trains go by whilst enjoying a drink. Great location for exploring the local area and beyond, with many lovely walks. Very easy to get to Whitby, Scarborough and York from Ewelands House and plenty of cycling routes to be discovered too. Many thanks to Joe and Geoff for an absolutely first class accommodation, what an absolute pleasure staying there. We shall be back and will more than likely make Ewelands House and the other Unique Retreats cottages our number one holiday destination.

Phil from Maidstone stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in August 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It is very much appreciated by Geoff and myself. The very best thing for us is knowing our guests want to return again and again - it makes all our hard work really worth it - thanks again - see you soon xxx

Celebration At Ewelands

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just perfect setting to entertain our family as we celebrated our Golden Wedding anniversary at Ewelands House and Retreat .



David from Chipping Norton stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in August 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review.... we are so pleased you picked Unique Retreats to celebrate your special anniversary and we do hope we can welcome you back at some future date to our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire xxx

Another Amazing Stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful holiday at Ewelands House everything as perfect as before right down to the gorgeous warm loaf of bread waiting for us when we arrived. Can’t rate this property highly enough and I’m sure We’ll be back. Thankyou Joe and Geoff for having us x

Jennifer from Portsmouth stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in July 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments Jennifer. The very best thing for us is knowing our guests want to return again and again - it makes all our hard work really worth it - thanks again - see you soon xxx

A wonderful week in Whitby

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many self catering properties over the years - many through Premier cottages but this has to be one of the most comfortable, well equipped. So many thoughtful little touches from our arrival to a welcome loaf of bread waiting for us and all through the week. The views from the property are stunning and so much beautiful countryside and coastline on the doorstep. We enjoy walking so really appreciated all the details of local walks etc. provided - think we did most of them during our stay plus all the detailed recommendations on places to eat plus local shopping - the butchers and bakers are fantastic. All in all a perfect week - made even better by beautiful weather - our only complaint is there is just too much to do and see - and eat! We will definitely be back.

Guest from Tonbridge stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in July 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We try really hard to give our guests not just a 'stay' with us but an experience also, and so your comments are greatly appreciated by Geoff and myself.

What’s not to like?

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For the first time ever we could not find a single thing that was not catered for. The view from the balcony is spectacular and we were blessed with fabulous weather. An excellent base for visiting all the local attractions and for dog walking.
We highly recommend this properly.


Steve from Whitechapel stayed at Ewelands House for 4 nights in July 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. They are very much appreciated by Geoff and myself.

A beautiful cottage!

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Ewelands house and would love to re-visit. The cottage is dog and child friendly so suited our needs, our dog even got a little welcome hamper. The cottage is beautiful decorated to a high standard and has everything you need. I couldn’t recommend this place enough and can’t wait to revisit in the future.

Rachel from Knaresborough stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in June 2019


Eweland house

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another fabulous stay at unique retreats. This holiday we used the balcony so much - with stunning views it makes the holiday special. Love the new water repellent chairs and larger table on the balcony.

Well equipped as are all the cottages and retreats - a joy to stay in


Linda from Wakefield stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in June 2019


Lovely cottage with fantastic view of the spring lambs and the countryside. Very helpful owner

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage had everything required to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. The location is great with plenty to do

Guest from Haslemere stayed at Ewelands House for 4 nights in April 2019


Short break away

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been before so we decided to bring my parents with us this time, just as before very happy and parents loved it, home made bread was lovely.

We would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting to stay, can’t wait to come back soon

Thank you

The Ridley family


Rachel from Birtley stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in March 2019


Luxurious house that welcomed dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely space that was beautifully decorated and comfortable. A gorgeous goodie hamper and fresh baked bread awaited our arrival and even our cocker spaniel had treats waiting for him! Nice friendly owner checked in with us to make sure everything was okay on arrival. Nice ten minute drive to Sandsend where dogs are welcome in the winter, make sure you try the cafe on the beach that is also dog friendly and do take away hot drinks and snacks.

Would definitely return!


Tracy from Pudsey stayed at Ewelands House for 2 nights in December 2018


A perfect stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I could not fault the welcome or the accommodation. The cottage was dressed for Christmas which made our stay even more special. Thank you for the welcome hamper - we thoroughly enjoyed the treats.
The dog hamper also went down well with our ever hungry Labrador.
It's these thoughtful touches that set this accommodation apart.
We hope to return very soon


Janet from Darlington stayed at Ewelands House for 4 nights in November 2018


Wonderful place for a family reunion

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a long weekend away at Ewelands house and we were delighted with the accommodation. Geoff and Joe have literally thought of everything to make your stay comfortable and then gone to another level to give a sense of luxury. From the beautiful fabrics and colours to the high quality bedding and bathrooms and tasteful dining facilities. Not to mention the awesome view! A luxury hamper is included with freshly baked bread for your arrival. This has to be one of the best places we’ve stayed in and have no hesitation in giving it top marks.

Deborah from Poynton stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in November 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really does mean the world to us xxx

Wanted for nothing

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very impressed by the decor, comfort and attention to detail of Ewelands House. The house has been beautifully decorated and luxuriously appointed.There are lots of lovely touches like wellington boots supplied for guests' use and even an ipad. It is ideally located to explore the North York Moors and the coast, as well as not being far from Whitby and Scarborough. The views from the balcony are stunning. We would love to go back sometime in the future.

Wilma from Llwyngwril stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in November 2018


Fabulous Luxury House

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a luxurious comfortable house. Loved the fresh bread and hamper on arrival such a great treat. . Beautiful setting and loved the log fire made the cold outside evenings very warm. Wonderfully located shame it was too cold with hail storms to do any of the walks from the informative guide book. The butchers and bakery situated in the village are outstanding too for shopping for lunch and dinner. Will book again. Thank you for your great hospitality

Karen from Rugby stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in October 2018


My stay in Whitby

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My stay was for a Hen Do and the cottages were perfect, Joe and Geoff were very welcoming and showed me round all cottages book. It’s in a beautiful location and the cottage are just stunning.

Rachel from Barnsley stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in September 2018


Ewelands house

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Do not hesitate to book here- what a place! This is our second time visiting and will book next August too, It’s home from home with a beautiful view overlooking the moors. With 3 children everything was perfect. We had a fantastic holiday lots to do around the area including horse riding through the Yorkshire moors!

Luke from Peterborough stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in August 2018


Superb holiday house!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ewelands House is a fantastic property with beautiful views over the Esk valley. Inside the property is stunning, every home comfort provided and so clean. The location is great, close to Whitby while quiet, and the village pub, deli and bakery are all excellent. Parking is provided altho the spaces are quite snug, with 6 cars sharing the area. The only thing to note is that all the properties are in one block, so neighbours are to the side and beneath Ewelands House, so a peaceful stay relies on all guests minimising noise inside and outside the properties.

Sue from Burford stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in July 2018


Eweland's House

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On entering Eweland's House it was like a show house with everything that you could require for a holiday. I lot of thought has gone into the detail of requirements. The smell of home made bread was inviting. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but felt that a little more worktop space would be an advantage. Unfortunately the mattresses on the beds were too soft for us. The only suggestion we would make is to renew the baking trays in the oven as we always used the foil provided to cover the trays before popping things in the oven. The owners have to be commended on their attention to detail.

Fiona from Aviemore stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in June 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We do try to think of everything our guests would love from their stay with us. Most of our guests love our beds and mattresses. They are of super quality, at least 2000 or more pocket sprung with sumptuous mattress toppers on them, which probably didn't help you if you like firmer beds. We can only apologise for the baking trays in the oven - we keep spares of everything and they will certainly be replaced immediately.

Yorkshire at it's best

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ewelands House is situated in a very special position overlooking the glorious Esk Valley at Sleights near Whiby.

it is very up market self catering accommodation with everything provided including a bread making machine.

The attention to detail is second to none and I would recommend this accommodation to those who love the countryside


David from Chipping Norton stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in June 2018


Amazing family break

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second time at Ewelands and once again it didn’t disappoint. The house has everything you could wish for and Joe made sure our little one was catered for too. We’ll be back soon!!!

Natalie from Doncaster stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in November 2017


Lovely cottage in a great location.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was absolutely lovely. The extra touches from the welcome hamper, dog hampers and helpful suggestions for places to visit or go to for food were wonderful and much appreciated.

Catherine from Choppington stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in December 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is much appreciated by Geoff and myself.

Fabulous - again!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed everything about Ewelands House - especially all the home comforts which are so welcome at this time of year when you want to stay in by the fire with a bottle of wine! Another thoroughly enjoyable stay. Thank you.

Paula from stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in November 2017


Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was perfect. You have thought of everything, we were so relaxed and the views were amazing. Thankyou

Louise from Solihull stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in November 2017


Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable weekend, Ewelands House is every bit as lovely as Ewelands Retreat and we were not disappointed by our decision to return to this beautiful setting. Our only negative comment would be that we find the beds too soft and whilst we recognise that mattress toppers are used to add to comfort we feel that the actual mattresses are not supportive enough. Clearly this is a matter of personal preference and is the only reason for marking the level of comfort as good rather than excellent.

Guest from Alderley Edge stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in November 2017


Another wonderful stay with unique retreats

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed in all the properties now.,all comfortably furnished and wonderfully decorated to a high standard. The welcome hamper filled with local treats and wine came in handy on our late arrival as did the bread still warm in the bread maker, can't wait to return in January
Thank you Joe and Geoff


Helen from stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in September 2017


Too perfect to be true.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what we needed for a family break with our daughter / son in law and our 29 month old grandson on our first stay in Ewelands House. Hubby and I have previously stayed in Ewelands Retreat a couple of times before, and found both to be Excellent.
The house has everything one could need for the perfect holiday, even the "Wellies" for this lovely summer we are having, and the aroma of fresh baked bread when entering the house is something out of this world.
The view is stunning while sitting on the balcony with a glass of wine in hand just waiting for the occasional steam train to pass by in the valley. Thank you "Jo' & "Geoff" for making our holiday just perfect, we will return again soon.


Janet from Newcastle Under Lyme stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in August 2017


Joe and Geoff, Unique-retreats replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much. We are so pleased you loved your stay with us.

A lovely family holiday in a great setting

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ewelands House was a great place for our family to get together from across the UK and beyond. We enjoyed the views, particularly whilst having an early evening drink and dining al fresco.

Lesley from Leyland stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in July 2017


Family break in a stunning cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lovely cottage was everything we were expecting and more. Great location with a beautiful balcony overlooking fabulous countryside. The cottage had everything you could possibly need and was very beautifully furnished and decorated. We will and have recommend this cottage to friends. Thank you for a lovely stay despite the awful weather.

Amanda from Riber, Matlock stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in July 2017


Pure Luxury!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at this cottage and can honestly say that this was the best we have ever been in - from the welcoming home- made bread and delicious local goodies to the luxurious decor and finish. And all set in a stunning location with glorious views - perfection!

Tracey from stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in July 2017


Beautiful house and stunning location.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ewelands House exceeded our expectations, great location, clean & beautifully decorated.Will return.

Mary from Ullesthorpe stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in May 2017


Wow what a Gem.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing views, beautiful deco, attention to detail is everything. Beautiful welcome hamper. Just Amazing.

Caley from Sheffield stayed at Ewelands House for 7 nights in February 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Thank you

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property, Jo and Geoff have put a lot of themselves into making the perfect holiday retreat. Thank you Jo & Geoff for raising the bar of 5 star accommodation

Edwin from stayed at Ewelands House for 11 nights in September 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Ed, your comments are very much appreciated.

Whitby special break

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not believe our luck when we opened the door to Ewelands house , it was every thing we hoped it would be , we have been very dissapointed in the past with other properties ! Everything was perfect - it is so wonderful when you are suprised , the decor is fab , furniture sooo comfy , the beds , well what can i say - pure luxury !! All the small touches - candles , books , throws , the welcome pack , i could go on . Please do yourself a favour if you are thinking of booking , do so , you will not regret it . Then there are the views !!! Spectacular , the pub nearby - cosy and friendly , even got a fab butchers in the village . Roll on next year when we will be booking Cowslip cottage for a few days treat .

Jane from stayed at Ewelands House for 3 nights in October 2016