FB Twitter

Cowslip Retreat

Cowslip Retreat

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 76 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Cowslip Retreat is a gorgeous little cottage, surprisingly spacious, offers 5*gold luxury and comfort, with an amazing view. Watch the NY moors steam trains puff along in the valley below. Visit the local pub, 5 minutes walk away, for home cooked food and local cask ales or relax in comfort with all the gadgets you need, including Smart TVs, ipad, fibre fast broadband.

Unique retreats

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our holiday at unique retreats was made exceptionally comfortable with the condition of the apartment and the treats that was left for us. Everything was done and well thought out and could not have asked for more.

Rosalie from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in November 2020


Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully appointed and immaculate holiday retreat with amazing views. We, and our two dogs, enjoyed the dog friendly cottage and garden with lovely walks directly from the cottage.

Richard from Sheffield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 20 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time xxx

A wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage for 2

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a lovely week in a beautiful part of the world. Everything you could wish for was provided, thank you

Sharon from Preston stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 20 days ago
Thank you for your very supportive review we love that you had a super time and hope you return soon ! xxx

A perfect stay in Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had another great holiday in Cowslip Retreat. Everything was perfect. As always Joe, Geoff and team made sure everything was done to ensure that we had a relaxing (and safe) stay.
We are counting down the days till our next visit - which is already booked!


Allan from Leyland stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 40 days ago
Thank you so much for you wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you here again x

Amazing property in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip Retreat is luxurious and comfortable - spotlessly clean and well equipped - in a stunning location. We are regular visitors and always enjoy the comfort and relaxation. The welcome provided for humans and four legged visitors is second to none. This is a really special place to stay and I can highly recommend it.

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in September 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 57 days ago
Thank you Sue. We treasure such great feedback from our guests and we try and keep our standards high xxx

Indeed a Unique Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location. Excellent quality furnishings and decor. How can you not unwind and relax in such surroundings!

Debbie from Norwich stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in September 2020


Access to Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our only concern regarding a possible return visit relates to the steps from the car park to the entrance. We are 2 octogenarians with an aged dog and negotiating the steps which are quite steep was not easy. Maybe Cowslip Cottage next time!

Keith from Nottingham stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 78 days ago
Although there is a handrail there is a few steps down to Cowslip Retreat from the car park area. Ewelands Retreat although also has steps they are wide and straight down and there is also a handrail, but Ewelands House, Cowslip Cottage and The Piggery all have M! accessibility access. There are many types of people who have different degrees of physical accessibility restrictions - elderly people, families with young children, guests that might just be a little ‘wobbly’ eg after a hip or knee replacement. Hence, accessibility is being able to provide the ability for all these people to access and use the cottages.... and so we would love to welcome you back to one of our other cottages .... after all they all they all have the same amazing view xxx

Beautiful cottage with a fantastic view

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely dog friendly cottage. We had a very comfortable and relaxing holiday overlooking the Esk Valley and in the perfect place for visiting all around Whitby.



Julie from Clipstone, Mansfield, stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in August 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 95 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review .... we are really blessed with great guests who come time and time again to stay with us... as you do ..many thanks xxx

Luxury retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Luxury retreat, every need catered for, ideal for two people, stunning views of the Esk valley, amazing surroundings, have stayed several times, would definitely recommend.

Sandra from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in August 2020


Immaculate property in amazing location

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a pleasure to be back at Cowslip Retreat - a warm welcome and everything reassuringly spotless. It was great to know that the owners took safety really seriously and in typical Unique Retreats style ensured guests were both safe and comfortable. The thoughtful details such as the homemade bread and welcome goodies are still provided - and the view is just as stunning as ever. Our favourite holiday location - can’t wait to return.

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 113 days ago
Thank you so much Sue for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

Wrigley's weekend away post lockdown

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself, husband, son and our Beagle had a lovely long weekend in Cowslip and Ewelands Retreat.
It really is home from home, with some extra comforts, such as freshly baked bread and a bottle of wine.
The standard of accommodation is definitely 5 star, which is reflected in the price.
The patio and garden are a treat for the senses with fabulous views and sounds.
Great base for Whitby, Sandsend and Robin Hoods Bay. Great local pub and fish and chips very close by.
We will be back again!
Kim , Paul, Nathan and Billy.


Kim from Oldham stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 121 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review... post lockdown and in the strange times we now find ourselves in. We look forward to welcoming again soon xxx

Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first break after the opening of holiday homes because of the Covid virus so we expected changes every where but to be honest everything was was still as lovely as our previous stays in the retreats.
Absolutely spotlessly clean . Decor amazing, the view from the patio is stunning looking over the valley very private
Welcome hamper , fresh bread cooked on our arrival .
We went out for food, walks and drinks in the local and had a really enjoyable time .
Fantastic will definitely return .
Janet and paul


Paul and Janet from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 2 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 142 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review ..... our first review after 'lockdown' !! xxx

Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely short stay at Cowslip Retreat in March 2020. The accommodation was immaculate and the owner, Geoff, very helpful. Everything was provided including a grand hamper. upon arrival. The village centre is only a few minutes walk away with a nice pub, a general store, a fantastic butchers and a good bakery. Whitby is only ten minutes away by car or, better still, a lovely 2 hour walk.
We will be returning.


Anthony from Ruislip stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in March 2020


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely little retreat. After exploring the wonderful North Yorks area it was a real treat to be able to return to such a lovely property. The owners have thought of everything and provided a high level of fixtures, fittings decor etc coupled with the beautiful views and great parking it all added up to a very enjoyable and relaxing stay. The location is very handy not only for a local pub, the plough, with great food and friendly welcome but also for bakers, butchers and great access to the likes of whitby, Sandsend, and a little further afield Saltburn and many more. A great base overall.

Abigail from Bebington stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in March 2020


Very good and comfortable.

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location we thoroughly enjoy staying here have been a few times and look forward to going again.

George and Sue from Derby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in February 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 278 days ago
Thank you again for a lovely review - returning guests mean we are doing something right, so many many thanks xxx

A really wonderful place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This little flat was absolutely marvellous. Everything was provided. The welcome pack was particularly nice and the availability of wellingtons, although not required, was a nice touch. Very clean and comfortable and a nice stay all round.

Katherine from Southwell, Nottinghamshire stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in February 2020


Superb

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had another fantastic week at Cowslip Retreat. Everything was superb again thanks to Joe and Jeff. We have already booked to come back.

Allan from Leyland stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in January 2020


A cottage with a fantastic view.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pet friendly cottage, beautiful interior with a breath taking view. A welcoming hamper awaits ENJOY!

Julie from Clipstone, Mansfield, stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in January 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 306 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future xxx

An absolute gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in numerous properties at this time of the year, my absolute requirement is for toasty warmth throughout. Cowslip Retreat was perfect not only in this respect, but all others too - a genuine home from home with every convenience you could either imagine or need. Combined with the peaceful, beautiful setting this is going to be a very hard act to follow. In fact, we won’t bother searching and have already booked our return visit. Thank you so much, Joe and Geoff.

Richard from Reading stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in November 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 351 days ago
Sorry for the delay in replying..... but thank you so much for your great review..... we know how much you loved your stay as the icing on the cake is to book again ...... thank you xxx

Luxury dog friendly cosy retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view is amazing when you arrive at Cowslip Retreat, and then you are welcomed by the smell of freshly baked bread! A really lovely luxury bolt hole awaits with everything you need. Our 2 pugs loved it, with very easy access to Whitby and Eskdale for beach, cliff and riverside walks. Sleights is blessed with a traditional bakers and butchers, as well as a fish and chip restaurant which served so most delicious fish! Highly recommended!!

Isabel from Stoke On Trent stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in November 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We try our very best for our guests, and their four legged friends to have an amazing time with us.... so we are really pleased you had a great stay... xxx

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect place to relax and watch the world go by.The view is perfect.A real picture of Yorkshire at its best.

Adrian from Flamborough stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in October 2019


Exceedingly dog friendly!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful retreat in tip top condition. Fabulously decorated and equipped. The views are stunning with steam trains at the bottom of the valley, we loved watching them go past.

The welcome pack was gorgeous as was the welcome basket for our pooch!

We have stayed in many cottages in the UK and this was by far the best dog friendly cottage we have stayed in - our dog was made to feel just as welcome as us. We wouldn't hesitate to go back, and would love to go back in the summer to make the most of the lovely garden.


Jayne from Leeds stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in October 2019


Beautiful accommodation with fabulous views

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip Retreat is just great. Beautiful accommodation with fabulous views. We really enjoyed our stay, so much so that the first thing we did when we got home was to it book again!

Allan from Leyland stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much ..... we know we've got it right when our guests book to come back and stay at Unique Retreats again and again ...... A big thanks to our fab guests.... xxxx

A few days away

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, friendly welcome, luxury welcome pack, very comfortable, everything you would need and more

Guest from Houston stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in August 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments..... we do try our very hardest to make sure all our guests have a great experience as well as a fab stay with us.. xxx

Absolutely beautiful place will definitely be going back amazing place loved it x

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place amazing welcome with warm bread and hamper. Attention to detail and comfort was second to none just a superb place with the most breathtaking view would recommend it to everyone thank you loved everything about it x

Christopher from Bridlington stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in July 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We do work really hard at making Unique Retreats a lovely place for our guests to stay ..... and your comments make it all worth it xxx

perfection !

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic location close to all amenities the view from our cottage was amazing the cottage itself was immaculate and you have everything you could possibly need , a fabulous welcome basket and one for our dog too . we have been on a lot of cottage holidays and this was by far the best !!!! a big thankyou to geoff and joe and yes we will be back soon.

Jayne and Andy from Thornton Cleveleys stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in June 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your fabulous review - we look forward to welcoming you again soon, and of course, Mitzy to our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire.

Back again

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After many stays at Cowslip Retreat, we are running out of superlatives. We don't want to be too flattering as it may make it harder for us to book the dates we want! A lovely cottage, painstakingly maintained in one of the most beautiful locations in Yorkshire - and therefore the World.

Rod from Northampton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in June 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We do agree - one of the best locations in Yorkshire - and therefore the World. Thank you for you lovely comments. We do try our best to deliver a 5 star gold service. See you both soon xxx

Perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The retreat is extremely well equipped with lovely crockery/glassware/bedding etc and the owners have thought of everything you could ever need. The standard of cleanliness was outstanding and the beds and sofas were very comfortable. Overall, this is the best cottage we have rented and would have no hesitation of recommending this.

David from Newcastle stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means the world to us to know our guests love our little corner of North Yorkshire.

Cowslip Retreat - totally recommend it!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where can I start? The views are incredible, the accommodation is better than first class. Local hostleries are top notch and Whitby is just a few miles away.

This was the fourth time we have stayed at Cowslip Retreat and each time we have thoroughly enjoyed it.

Everything from the welcome basket to the freshly prepared bread waiting for us on arrival made us feel as though we were truly welcome guests.

Can guarantee that we'll return again and again.


Jon from Southampton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We try our best to give guests the best experience they can have, so it's much appreciated to know you love our cottages and retreats as much as we do. See you soon xxx

Spring Break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely relaxing few days staying at The Cowslip Retreat , convenient for exploring the nearby coastline with beautiful views from the property

Cathy from Knutsford stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in April 2019


Real good place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for Whitby and surrounding countryside. Everything has been thought of (and more) when designing this holiday let. Owners around to help with any problems.

Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in April 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review - it means such a lot to Geoff and myself xx

Here we are again!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now enjoyed the Cowslip Retreat on about 6/7 occasions and have two further bookings this year - so 'nuff said. The location and views are superb and the attention to detail in the cottage is outstanding. One small suggestion would be better positioning of the TV so it can be seen from other parts of the cottage layout.

Rod from Northampton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in March 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review - it really means an awful lot to Geoff and myself xx

A beautiful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay here, was as amazing as our first. The smell of freshly baked bread as you walk in, the welcome hamper was a lovely thought, we even had one for our little dog Nell. They think of all your needs. Accommodation is beautiful and the views are amazing, we had all the new born lambs to look out onto. Geoff and jo always happy to help with anything you may need. We will be back...

Ann from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in March 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your great review - it really is special to Geoff and myself xx

Back again!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back to one of unique retreats cottages - as usual excellent standards of comfort and cleanliness. The garden is a huge bonus for the dog.

Back again in June for more!!


Linda from Wakefield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in March 2019


A lovely weekend away with our dogs

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was truly beautiful with every attention to detail. We stayed here with our two dogs and not only did we receive a lovely welcome hamper, there was treats for the dogs, along with blankets, leads dishes etc in case you had forgotten anything.
The quality of the contents of the cottage were exceptional, from the kitchen utensils to the welcome loaf of warm bread on arrival.
The apple iPad had a very varied selection of music, which played through a speaker, even a Netflix account which came in useful when the weather was bad.
The view from the property was stunning and all amenities in the village were within walking distance. I would recommend this property to anyone and would certainly visit again.


Sheila from Driffield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in March 2019


Cowslip Retreat - get yer sen there!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to cowslip retreat - fabulous location - the accommodation is first class; with a lovely hamper of Yorkshire goodies and the smell of freshly baked bread on arrival is a real treat - tastes good too. A big thank you to Joe & Geoff for making our visit a special treat x

Lynne from Ripon stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in October 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really does mean the world to us xxx

Excellent accommodation with stunning views

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation really is excellent. Joe and Geoff have thought of everything. Great use is made of all the available space inside and the quality of the furniture and fittings is exceptional. We have stayed in a variety of self-catering accommodation in the UK over the years, and this is by far the best. The views are stunning. Sleights is handily situated for visiting both the North Yorkshire Moors and the coast. There is a handy bus service from the village into Whitby which saves the hassle of finding somewhere to park.

Jennifer from Grimsby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in November 2018


Weekend at Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in an amazing location with wonderful views. Ideal base for visiting surrounding beaches/attractions/restaurants. Excellent!

Julie from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in September 2018


our best of premiers cottages so far

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
these cottages will take some beating.
we arrived to be told there was a problem with the retreat. this was soon resolved by putting us in the ewlands cottage instead.
what luxury,we only used a fraction of the facilities.
the view was fantastic across the valley with the fields full of sheep and the north yorks railway chugging across the valley bottom.
we will certainly be back. would recommend it to anybody.

terry storr (wetherby)


Terry from Wetherby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in September 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is much appreciated xx

Good value for money

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and myself and Oscar (the Cockapoo) had a wonderful week in Cowslip Retreat.
Everything good


Max from Knaresborough stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is much appreciated xx

Our week at cowslip retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect. The flat has everything you want or need and some things you didn't even know you wanted. It was so lovely to stay somewhere were you could easily go out with loads to see and do , but then it was so lovely there why would you want to. That view from you patio is amazing. You are a long way from home but we will be back . Thank you .

Cindy from Lechlade stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in August 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for your lovely review - it really means a lot to us.

Totally relaxing!

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and it was just as good as our first. Luxury with comfort - immaculately clean and tons of thoughtful details to make this an outstanding place to stay. It was lovely to meet Joe and Geoff who are excellent hosts and so helpful. The hamper of goodies (including toys and treats for the cats!) was really welcome. Came home feeling relaxed and pampered. Thank you so much.

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in August 2018


Here we are again

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit with the fifth booked - so that says it all.
Just one small suggestion - if the TV was wall mounted, it could be seen more easily from the dining area and also from the bedroom area.


Rod from Northampton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in July 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments once again. A good idea for the TV. Sometimes the most obvious little change you don't notice. I will certainly check it out ! - so thanks again. See you soon.

Stunning in every way!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous retreat for two. The accommodation has been well designed and every comfort has been provided, it is beautifully decorated more a well loved home than a holiday home. The views from the stunning little patio over the valley are beautiful and walks abound from the door. Surprisingly a cottage of this quality is dog friendly and not only do the humans receive a delicious hamper the dog does too!!
Joe and Geoff are welcoming hosts and Joe's information folder is comprehensive. Could not recommend this more highly.


Lyn from Didcot stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in July 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments - they are very much appreciated. I do hope we can welcome you back in the future.

holiday with a stunning view

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
fantastic cottage everything you need for the perfect stay stunning views what more do you need oh and a great local.




Alan from Barnsley stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in July 2018


Stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay at Cowslip Retreat, loved being there so much that we we reluctant to venture far. Although we did. It was so relaxing, we couldn't stop taking in the view. We will return. Great pub in walkable distance too.

Helen from Lincoln stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in July 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It means such a lot to us that our guests love Unique Retreats as much as we do xxx

Perfect - wouldn’t change a thing

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The retreat is perfect in every way - we loved it and are looking forward to returning soon. Everything is so thoughtfully done - the attention to detail is brilliant. The accommodation is spotless, luxurious, really comfortable and in a great location. The view is stunning.
We loved our welcome hampers - delicious goodies for me and truly pet friendly with toys and treats for the two cats.
Thanks Joe and Geoff for all your help and kindness.


Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in June 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We're so glad you and your girls had a great time. Look forward to seeing you soon.

Fab holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't get any better!! Brilliant accommodation best we have ever stayed in with our dog. Can't praise enough.

Joanne from Wakefield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in April 2018


Sooooo peaceful!

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accommodation had been recommended to us by friends who had been before and who were visiting again in another property belonging to Joe & Geoff. What a little gem! Luxury & local products awaited us, a firm bed & a deep bath. Our home was newly renovated & maintained to an exceptionally high standard. So many extras were an absolute pleasure to find & we wished we’d had longer to enjoy all the retreat had to offer but we were out & about exploring as time was limited. I will definitely be recommending this property to others but booking way ahead is paramount!

Sue from Hitchin stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in April 2018


Beautiful place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip Retreat is absolutely stunning. From the ‘Welcome Hamper’ (one for the pooch too) to the fabulous view it will not disappoint. Everything has been thought of so you feel very looked after. Lovely village too!

Cath from Ryton stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in March 2018


Cowslip retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good short stay as always
Only quibble is the layout of the retreat - the log burning fire is opposite the bed, not near the tv and sofas?


Linda from Wakefield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in March 2018


Christmas Pressie

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We paid for a weekend away for my parents as a Christmas pressie & they came back with lots of photos, couldn’t stop talking about how lovely the ‘retreat’ was, what a warm welcome they received from the owners & how relaxed they felt. Sounded fab! We were so envious & are now thinking about booking for ourselves & the kids. I spoke to the owner to add a bottle of champers as an extra treat & she gave us a discount because she was already on site. We have also received a discount code for future bookings. Even more incentive to treat ourselves! Thank you for looking after my parents so well.

Mandy from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in February 2018


Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely fantastic stay in the most beautiful, spotlessly clean and most well equipped retreat we have ever stayed in. The views are amazing. Joe and Geoff are the two most genuinely kind thoughtful helpful and caring owners of unique retreats and we can’t wait to return again and without any hesitation I would and do highly recommend them and all the accommodations at unique retreats and now all dog friendly Arthur thinks that is amazing xx Hopefully see you again soon x

Guy & Lisa & Arthur from Louth stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in January 2018


Cowslip Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent high quality accommodation with lovely views. The welcome basket for our dog was a thoughtful touch and much appreciated.

Guest from Danbury stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in January 2018


Perfect tonic at this oasis of calm

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here once or twice every year and Joe and Geoff have created a beautiful experience where everything has been thought of (even tags for the dog's collar). The Cowslip Retreat was just what we needed, thank-you.

Gary from Thetford stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in November 2017


Winter break

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely wonderful ..cowslip retreat had everything we needed for our stay plus many extra's. The smell of Fresh bread baking as we entered the retreat plus a welcome basket of food and wine even barney our westie had his own welcome basket.
Spotlessly clean' great decor, amazing views, definitely 5* plus . We cannot wait to return next year .


Paul and Janet from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in November 2017


Best Honeymoon ever

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my new husband recently spent the best week at the cowslip retreat.The cottage was absolutely stunning and had every comfort we wanted or needed and the view was breathtaking and was so close to Whitby (10minute drive ) it was perfect . And we are hoping to visit again . Thanks to Joe and Geoff

Sarah from Grimsby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely reply. We're so glad you enjoyed your very special time with us at Unique-retreats.

Sleights village has every amenity needed for a holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A comfortable cottage for two with amazing views.
A convenient village with easy access to Whitby.
Hope to return.


Kevin from Selby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2017


Everything and More!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot praise this cottage and owner enough. Having stayed in a number of ' dog friendly ' accommodations this is by far the best.
The accommodation is fantastic,luxurious ,great location and a pleasure to stay in.
The owners go to a great deal of time and effort to ensure your stay is pleasurable and memorable. The attention to detail is second to none I can honestly say they think of everything you could possibly need. From a bottle of champagne from the honesty bar to spare dog poo bags.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.


Helen from Sale stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in September 2017


Joe and Geoff, Unique-retreats replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It makes all our hard work worthwhile.

Excellent stay at cowslip retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at cowslip retreat for our honeymoon and arrived on the 14/08/2017 when we got to the retreat before we even entered the veiws blow us away over looking the valley it was mesmerising! Then we entered the cottage it was stunningly beautiful and even better than the online pictures, geoff the owner was there to greet us and show us round there was the smell of fresh bread baking from the bread machine and a welcome hamper with a bottle of fizz! Geoff had added lots of extra special touches as it was our honeymoon like mr &mrs buntin over the bed ect it was just perfect our own little paradise for the week we will never forget! We had an amazing time and will definately return to the amazing cottage.

Hayley from Wakefield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in August 2017


Excellent, well equipped appartment

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful retreat, with fantastic views. We were greeted with the smell of freshly baked bread and a wonderful hamper, the best I have ever received, there was every thing you needed to help start of your holiday. Our dog had its own little treats as well.! All in the retreat was of a very high standard. It was nice to have a garden to sit out in and for our dog to wonder around.
The only downsides are the village, iit is not quite as described, it has a very busy high street and quite a few housing estates,saying that it is well equipped, it has a fantastic deli, butchers and bakers fish and chip shop, pub ok. The views from our cottage make up for it. Goathland is not far away which is pretty and what I was expecting by the description of Sleights. It is also better for walking the dog.


Sarah from Suffolk stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in June 2017


Highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A thoughtfully designed retreat that provides home from home luxurious comfort. This has plenty of space for two and the covered terrace meant we were still able to have a glass of wine outside enjoying the amazing views despite the rain! You won't be disappointed!

Jo from Leeds stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in June 2017


An enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This studio accommodation is well located for touring the popular coastal towns and villages. Very cosy and comfortable as shown on the website. Geoff made us very welcome. However the title 'Retreat' is rather questionable as the other Retreat is adjacent and Cowslip Cottage is directly above. All the other guests we met were friendly and considerate, we had no problems at all.


Alan from Huddersfield stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2017


A cottage with a fantastic view.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We look forward to our holiday each year as we know we have found the perfect cottage.
Our stay is so comfortable and relaxing, away from work with stunning views in a quaint little village.
Geoff and Jo have thought of every fine detail which shows, as soon as you arrive you have a warm welcome.
We could not wish for more, we love it.


Julie from Notts stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in May 2017


Home from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Cowslip Retreat for 5 days (it wasn't enough)! Everything was excellent, it is one of the best holiday cottages we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in a lot. Also, it is so nice to be able to stay in a 5 star cottage that accepts dogs. Our little Cairn terrier was at home straight away, especially with his own little doggy treats provided by the owners. We have a lovely view at home so it was an absolute bonus to have such an outstanding view from the cottage as well. The area we know very well and once again did not disappoint. It's a beautiful well equipped comfortable and homely cottage with fantastic furnishings and is very high tech equipment as well. A welcome basket on arrival with fresh bread baking as we arrived, an honesty bar is also provided if required, it was like staying at The Ritz but I am sure much more comfortable. Many thanks to Geoff and Jo.

Zena from Codnor Park, Ironville stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in May 2017


This cottage deserves more than 5*s

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to Joe & Geoff for sharing their amazing properties. I spent a long time researching dog friendly cottages looking for one that was a 'home from home' standard as opposed to one that looked like a dog friendly cottage! Cowslip Retreat exceeded our expectations. The standard of accommodation is at least 5 star with everything you could possibly need whilst you are away. TV and iPad was hardly used as we couldn't take our eyes from the stunning views across Eskdale valley. The pooch loved her complimentary treats and the small enclosed garden was a real bonus.
With or without a dog I defy anyone to find anything to grumble about in these cottages. They truly are unique.


Beverley from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in April 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Generally excellent particularly the view.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property with stunning views. Pleasing to be able to stay there with a dog and more importantly made to feel welcome with a dog.
Only have 2 negative points. We fortunately were not disturbed at all by the upstairs neighbours however I can see that it could be a problem as indicated in visitors' book. Secondly I felt that things like dishwasher tablets, tea bags, milk,.loo rolls etc were very strictly rationed which has not been my experience in the other premier cottages that we have stayed in.


Sandra from Kendal stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in March 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased you had no issues with noise. We have had very occasional issues with guests hearing neighbours above which has been now rectified by further soundproofing and a change in balcony garden furniture. We love to welcome dogs to Unique-retreats, so thank you for your comments. As your stay was a midweek short break we supply what we thought was sufficient for the few days, but we will now look at changing this. Milk and tea bags are supplied as part of our welcome basket, and from April we are adding to our welcome hampers. However we hope you enjoyed your warm freshly baked bread which we made for your arrival and locally sourced jam.

Perfect Anniversary Break

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first anniversary together and we were searching high and low to go somewhere we could take the dog but we did not expect to find something as stunning as Cowslip retreat was. It's so spacious and beautifully finished. Geoff & Joe have really put thought into everything, including the rafts of information about the local area and the extras they provide at the retreat in case you've forgotten anything. There was more than enough provided to be able to stay there for a week without feeling too cramped. The views are stunning out the retreat and our dog Rodney loved the little garden area and his little doggy basket when he arrived. 100% would come back and already hoping to plan next years trip.

Rachel from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 3 nights in February 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased both of you, and of course, Rodney had a great time. Look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Superb, cosy cottage with stunning views.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were welcomed with home made bread cooking, a selection of local produce & swathes of local information on places to visit & local walks. This open plan cottage is perfect. A well proportioned space with superb attention to detail. The owners have thought of everything. With beautiful views overlooking hills, excellently placed to explore the Yorkshire Moors.

Michele from Diss stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in February 2017


Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend this little cottage more strongly. Perfect for two middle aged amatuer walkers, extensive walking guides provided, who also liked a bit of lying on the sofa looking at the view or watching TV. The WiFi was better than at home and the use of the ipad was much appreciated to look up information about local attractions etc.
Spotless, cosy and extremely well equiped. Loo paper, dish washer tablets, washing capsules for the washing machine, often not provided in places we have stayed before. There was a very generous welcome tray with cake, crisps , wine, tea, coffe, milk and butter.
A perfect base to explore the North York Moors and the coast.


Lucy from Chelmsford stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in February 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it is very much appreciated by Geoff and myself.

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place! Wecwere greeted by the friendly owner who showed us to our cottage. There was a hamper of goodies waiting for us and there were even some goodies for our dog.
The cottage was very clean and there was everything we needed...and more.
Highly recommended.


Rebecca from Nottingham stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in December 2016


A beautiful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Wonderful relaxing beautiful retreat. Perfect for the dogs, lots of freedom. We will return may be in the summer next year some time. :0)

Sharada from Rugby stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in November 2016


A Great Escape!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great place to escape to; fabulous views, really cosy and comfortable, lots of thought has been given to making this a perfect, well equipped retreat. If the surrounding area wasn't so amazing, it would be easy to curl up in comfort with the wood burner lit, relax, take in the beautiful views and enjoy some local food and drink. I will definitely return.

Guest from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in October 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much.

Outstanding Cottage In an Outstanding Location

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love, Love, Love this unique cottage.

The cottage has a wonderful cosy feel,it is beautifully designed, clean and fresh, the owners have put a lot of thought and detail into the customer experience, ensuing all your needs are meet, they were very helpful, offering information about places to visit and things to do.

The Retreat has outstanding views, with some lovely walks close by, along with some good pubs and restaurants within easy reach, although we were quite happy to stay in and enjoy the Retreat itself.

We had a wonderful romantic and relaxing stay and I cannot recommend this property enough, I will definitely be returning again and have already booked a return visit.







Ann from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in October 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much - it's much appreciated.

Good but could be better

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location was excellent. Sound proofing needs improvement and the steep steps to the entrance could have been a problem and was not pointed out. Priced somewhat high for a studio apartment.

Ronald from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 7 nights in September 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
We are very disappointed that you did not feel the retreat was value for money. We pride ourselves on, and receive many favourable comments with regard to the extremely high specification of our properties and their cleanliness. Cowslip Retreat is approached from the car park by a gently sloping path with 2 sets of 3 or 4 steps with handrail as is detailed on our Web Site in the garden section and also in our access statement. The soundproofing is excess of that that is required by the Building Regulations, and includes 2 acoustic sealed doors. It is not possible to completely eliminate all noise in any conjoined building.

Fantastic Accomodation and views.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here twice last year in both Cowslip and Ewelands Retreat and found it to be an absolutely fabulous place.
So much so that we have booked again for next year for my wife's 60th birthday.
I would have no hesitation in recommending to anybody.


Chris from stayed at Cowslip Retreat for 4 nights in August 2016