FB Twitter

Cowslip Cottage

Cowslip Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 50 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Close to Whitby, yet in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park, Cowslip Cottage offers 5*gold luxury and comfort, with an amazing view. Watch the NY moors steam trains puff along in the valley below. Visit the local pub, 5 minutes walk away, for home cooked food and local cask ales or relax in comfort with all the gadgets you need, including Smart TVs, ipad, fibre fast broadband.

Family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip cottage WOW 5* plus an absolutely beautiful place to stay and dog friendly . The lovely smell of home baked bread and a welcome hamper is added to this great cottage .
Lovely decor , spotlessly clean and amazing views overlooking the valley .
We had a fantastic time and will definitely return next year .



Paul and Janet from stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 20 days ago
Thank you Janet and Paul for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated xx see you in 2021 xxx

Superb cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Cowslip Cottage - so warm and comfortable - spotlessly clean and we were really impressed with all the Covid safe aspects of the cottage which in no way impinged on our enjoyment. The welcome goodies and warm, fresh baked bread were much appreciated. The stylish and thoughtfully equipped cottage was a fabulous base for our walking holiday. Such a pleasure to return each day to warm luxurious accommodation with lashings of hot water. The cottage is well located for walking parts of the Cleveland Way and for exploring the beautiful North Yorkshire coast. Joe and Geoff are excellent hosts and certainly go the extra mile (or 10) to ensure the comfort of their guests. We'll definitely be back as soon as we can.

Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in October 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 40 days ago
Thank you so much Sue for you wonderful comments and look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future x

Great Cottage, great location and lovely host.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Cowslip Cottage was very relaxing, everything was clean and tidy. A very peaceful village .We would certainly stay there again.

Cyril from Loughborough stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in September 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 57 days ago
Thank you for your very supportive review we love that you had a super time and hope you return soon ! xxx

Lovely stay in Yorkshire

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a super stay at Cowslip Cottage. The cottage is beautiful and furnished to a very luxurious standard and all the little touches that Joe and Geoff have added really set them apart from usual cottage rentals. The kitchen is incredibly well equipped - there really is nothing that they haven't thought of. The underfloor heating is fabulous and despite a night of rather wet and very windy weather during our stay - the cottage was so lovely and cosy. The view from the balcony is spectacular and wonderful to watch the steam train roll past daily. I was initially concerned how we would manage with a dog and no garden but it was no problem at all as there were lovely walks direct from the cottage door. Joe and Geoff provided so much detail about local walks, restaurants etc which made everything so much easier. All in all a super cottage in a lovey part of the country!

Philippa from Allesley, Coventry stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 78 days ago
Thank you so very very much for your lovely review...... . this is why we made Unique Retreats because Geoff and myself always wanted to holiday in the UK with our beloved doggies and it's so important there are fabulous walks from your very own doorstep .... xxxx

Just perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place, gorgeous interior, comfortable beds and stunning views.
Great location for trips to Whitby, Sansend and lovely local walks.
This is a must stay cottage we can’t wait to return.


Helen from Manchester stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in August 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 78 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated xxx

Beautiful cottage - fabulous views!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cowslip Cottage. A stunning, welcoming property with every thought given to comfort and helpfulness. We were reassured by the precautions taken for our safety re Covid but this in no way changed the ambience of the cottage nor our enjoyment of our stay. The property was spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and decorated - and that view!!!
We appreciated the goodies for the people and the goodies for the dogs - how thoughtful. We had some great walks along the Cleveland Way - and had some tasty fish and chips from the shop in the village. We'd forgotten a few provisions so the Spar in the village was really useful - very well stocked. Just a mention of Clevedale Vets in Whitby - we'd forgotten some medication for one of the dogs and they kindly liaised with our vets to issue some to tide us over. Thank you so much Joe and Geoff for another marvellous stay - we'll definitely be back!!


Sue from Harrogate stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in August 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 95 days ago
Thank you Sue and Guests - and thank you for all of you coming to stay - we couldn’t maintain this standard without wonderful guests like enjoying our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire and spreading the word ! so very much appreciated by both of us xx

Wonderful High Spec Cottages Third Visit

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Ewelands House and Cowslip Cottage now three times. Just Booking a 4th visit these cottages are a hidden gems in Sleights just outside Whitby. The views are the the best from sitting on the large balcony. BBQ provided also with a luxury table and chairs sitting 6 people.The cottages are so high spec and so homely with fresh baked bread on arrival waiting in the bread machine and a fabulous gift hamper. Owners Joe & Geoff are so friendly and helpful we now would go no where else in Yorkshire. Good local pub. Butchers and bakery 5 minutes walk away with so many fishing villages to visit along with the famous Magpies restaurant in Whitby. We would highly recommend staying in any of the cottages as all to same high standard you could not ask for more.

Karen from Rugby stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 95 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review .... we are really blessed with great guests who come time and time again to stay with us... as you do ..many thanks xxx

Home from home. Attention to detail, perfect.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another beautiful stay here. Unique retreats have got it spot on, comfortable, beautiful surroundings, immaculate. The attention to detail is second to none. We will return, time and time again.

Michelle from Belper stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in July 2020


Joe and Geoff replied 121 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us, especially at this time. We look forward to welcoming you again ... and again xxx

The owners have thought of everything!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage! Stylishly decorated & furnished, Cowslip Cottage is probably the best equipped one we’ve ever stayed in, the owners have literally thought of everything you might need to make your stay perfect. The addition of freshly baked bread, a welcome hamper with goodies & a bottle of champagne for NY was a very special touch. There was also a welcome hamper for the dog! The cottage was very well located for the local friendly pub & other amenities. Only downside for us was our cottage had no garden area to toilet our dog, so we’d have to take her out across the road to the grass area (in pj’s). An enclosed garden is one of our main criteria for a cottage, so I’m not sure how I missed that when we found this one. Also one of the guests in one of the other cottages allowed their dog to mess on the gravel in front of our door a couple of times, without picking it up. So they were either not surpervising their dog properly, or were just ignoring the mess, but the every time the 6 of us left/arrived we had to be careful there were no new offerings that could be treaded into the cottage. However this was absolutely not a reflection on Jo & Geoff or the cottage in any way, it was just our experience during the week. We had a wonderful relaxing week over New Year & wouldn’t hesitate to return or recommend.

Kim from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in December 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 330 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm sorry about the doggy poop - If there ever is a problem, please let us know - that's what we are there for - to make sure that all our guests .... and doggies, have a totally fabulous time.... xxx

A delightful Christmas break

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you again Joe & Geoff for everything. This is without doubt the best cottage we have stayed in

Paul from Bowburn stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in December 2019


Joe and Geoff replied 334 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review .... it really means the world to Geoff and myself that you have had a fab Christmas time...... Happy New Year to you all. xxx

Annual Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are repeat stayers, what more can we say, it is aways a pleasured and we would recoupment the cowslip cottage to any one

Trevor from Rotherham stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in November 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you - as always..... hope to see you see soon xxx

Beautiful dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip cottage is beautifully decorated and furnished. Definitely a luxury cottage but with the added bonus of being dog friendly. The cottage has everything you need, and more. Including wifi , ipad, speakers, smart TVs in all rooms with access to Netflix's etc, even a vinyl record player and bread maker!
The welcome hamper is lovely and even the dogs get one.
The balcony is a great asset, you can sit and look across the valley and watch the steam train go by.
Also in a good location for visiting nearby the coastal spots of whitby, robin hoods bay, runswick bay and sandsend.

We met hosts Geoff and joe who were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't recommend this place enough!


Fay from Sheffield stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your amazing comments..... we do try our very hardest to make sure all our guests have a great experience as well as a fab stay with us.. xxx

Brenda Harris

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This gorgeous cottage has a perfect situation with fantastic views from the lounge and balcony,
Beautifully decorated with every thing you need for a very relaxing holiday.


Brenda from Boston stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


Absolute Perfection

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What more can I say? We've enjoyed many self catering holidays over the past 30 years but Cowslip Cottage (and I assume the other properties that make up Unique Retreats) was by far and away the best. The attention to detail and the steps taken by the owners to offer a first class, luxury property is very apparent.

For far too long, dog owners wanting a self catering holiday have had only two options - leave the dog at home or book themselves (and the dog) into what has inevitably been a 'make do' standard of property. Luxury surroundings have been denied us.

No longer, thanks to Joe and Geoff. We hope to return and will be recommending Unique Retreats to all our friends.


Wendy from Dronfield stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in September 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very very much for your lovely review...... what more can we say but thanks again.... this is why we made Unique Retreats because Geoff and myself were of the same mind and of course always wanted to holiday in the UK with our beloved doggie.... xxxx

Family Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All our family enjoyed their stay in Cowslip Cottage , we found it handy for Whitby and all the other places we wanted to visit.
It goes without saying you could not get better views across the Esk Valley and it was very relaxing sitting on the balcony in the evenings. Cowslip Cottage was very well equipped with every thing we needed. If ever we wanted to return to that area again
we would always return to this Unique Retreat


Mavis from Winsford stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments...... they really mean a lot to Geoff and myself. It makes all our hard work worth it xxx

Cowslip cottage July 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous cottage with wonderful views and an excellent location. The owners have gone that extra mile to make sure your holiday is extra special. Would highly recommend this property for a great holiday.

Valerie from Lincoln stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in July 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments...... they really mean a lot to Geoff and myself. It makes all our hard work worth it xxx

Fantastic accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here in at the beginning of July and had a wonderful holiday. The owners have thought of everything and it’s some of the little extras and luxuries which make the place truly unique and deserving of its 5 star rating. A fantastic place to stay when visiting Yorkshire and cannot recommend it highly enough.

Gary from Kilmacolm stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Gary for your lovely review. It really means a lot to us that our guests have a fabulous time. We try to think of everything you need for a luxury break away from home. Your comments are very much appreciated.

Stunning views

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning views and the attention to detail in the cottage was second to none. Enjoyed our stay very much.

Melanie from Huddersfield stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review - it is very much appreciated. We try really hard to make our guest's stay a five star experience.

Great short stay in a lovely smart house with great views

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great short stay in a lovely smart house with great views. The house is in easy driving distance to Whitby, and the local village has everything you need for a short stay. Our dog loved the balcony views and the house had everything we needed and more.

Paul from Sychdyn stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in March 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We do hope we can welcome you again to our gorgeous little corner of North Yorkshire.

Wonderful cowslip cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing two night stay at cowslip cottage. Extremely dog friendly, wonderful views and luxurious bath in the bedroom- pure relaxation! Couldn’t find anything to fault.

Sally from Gargrave stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 2 nights in April 2019


WE RETURN AGAIN

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't really add any more to my previous reviews been here several time now and it's just MARVELLOUS, MARVELLOUS,
MARVELLOUS. Thanks Jo and Geoff you are the best.


Christine from Toton stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in January 2019


January in Cowslip Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place to stay!! Our first visit to Whitby was made all the better as we were staying at Unique Retreats. From the minute we arrived and were met by Geoff and Joe and the smell of freshly made bread for our arrival, everything was 1st class. They have thought of literally everything possible to make your stay comfortable, from the welcome hamper, to Elemis toiletries, ipad and wireless speaker, a full log basket (with firelighters), the quality of the bedding/towels etc etc etc to treats and toys for our dog. The cottage was also kept utterly spotless. I could go on and on!! It's not the cheapest accommodation you'll find, but if you want a 5 star hotel experience from a holiday cottage then I think this would be very hard to beat. It's about a 5 minute drive into Whitby and makes a perfect base to explore this beautiful part of the country. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend these cottages.

Toby from Grindleton stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 2 nights in January 2019


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. It really does mean a lot to us and is much appreciated. Thanks again.

Fabulous accommodation in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived in the cottage we were 'wowed' - the interior decor is amazing: tastefully done with just the right touches of luxury. A friendly welcome from Geoff helped to make us feel at home, and he provided us with all the information we needed to operate the lights, heating etc. The underfloor heating is very cosy, we didn't really need a fire but still had one for the lovely effect with the Christmas decorations around the fireplace. The amount of useful information provided was amazing, from walking trails to tips on where to eat. The views are to die for from all the rear-facing rooms, and we all found the beds comfortable. No details were overlooked, the welcome pack was generous and it was nice to have tablets for the washing machine and dishwasher provided. Sleights is a great place to base yourself for walking, and also has shops that cater to any last minute needs. We will highly recommend Cowslip Cottage and hope to return one day, thank you Geoff and Joe for your care and attention.

Maggie from Telford stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in November 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really means a lot to us.

60th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were warmly welcomed on arrival by Geoff the very pleasant owner. There was s lovely hamper filled with all the essentials coffee, tea, WINE etc and a loaf was baking for us in the bread oven. The cottage is besutiful, with a balcony overlooking the Esk valley. We complemented Geoff on his wife's taste in home furnishings. the bedrooms are beautiful. the owners Geoff and Joe have thought of everything to ensure everyone has the perfect holiday
(despite the miserable English weather)


Gillian from Penshaw stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 2 nights in November 2018


Country comfort

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Country living at it's best, that is what this cottage offers you. We live in a city with all the hustle and bustle, so as soon as we walked through the door to the most magnificent views of the countryside, we knew this place was perfect. To be honest, this is not the first time that we have stayed in one of Jo and Geoff's properties, last year we stayed at Ewelands Retreat,which is just next door, and which is equally luxurious, so we just couldn't wait to return this year, the only problem is that it is never long enough. This couple know the meaning of the word "quality", the cottage if full of it, together with a booklet that gives you so much information of the surrounding areas, they have left nothing out. They are such lovely people and nothing is too much trouble, on the first night, we had a small problem with the kettle, we just sent a text to Geoff, and the next day a new kettle arrived, nothing is too much trouble for this couple to make sure you have a wonderful holiday. Thank you so much. We can't wait to return next year (hopefullly for longer).

Christine from stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in November 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really means a lot to us xxx

A relaxing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
from the moment we arrived we felt at home. From the welcoming lights in the window, the warmth of the heating, the smell of freshly cooked bread and the food hamper cheered us all on a very cold and wet arrival.
The accommodation was top quality with everything you could ever need. The bedrooms were beautiful with very comfortable beds.
We all had a very relaxed and enjoyable weekend.
This was our fourth visit and it certainly won’t be our last


Sue from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much. All we want is for our guests to have a special time with us.

Hen weekend whitby

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was just beautiful, the location was perfect and the owners were very welcoming! I will definitely be visiting again

Rachel from Barnsley stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018


A luxury cottage with breathtaking views

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful cottage with breathtaking views, set in a beautiful part of North Yorkshire. The cottage had everything you would need and more, a real home from home. The welcome basket was a lovely touch.

Jane from Hessle stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in August 2018


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay, so comfy and very well equipped, cooking is a pleasure in the excellent kitchen. Brilliant location, local bakers and butchers are a few minutes walk and are both fantastic. Local pub is great too. Thanks again for such a lovely holiday, we came away with memories to treasure.

Lollie from Altrincham, stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in July 2018


Family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I had a lovely holiday in this beautiful cottage . There is everything you need to make your stay comfortable. The detail of the decor is amazing. The smell of fresh bread baking and a welcome pack of food and wine . The view from the patio is just breathtaking . A superb break had by all .

Paul and Janet from stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in July 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review .... it really means a lot to us xxx

Excellent cottage with fantastic countryside views

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cowslip Cottage is highly recommended.
Very well located for walks country and coast. The view from the patio area across the Esk valley is stunning.
Very comfortable and well appointed. We really enjoyed our stay and Geoff, the owner, kindly showed us the other cottages which were all to the same standard. Better in real life perhaps than the Web site actually shows.
We highly recommend this cottage or any of the others of Unique Retreats and would gladly stay again in any one of them.


Robert from Neston stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Perfect relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 night stay in this beautiful cottage. Cant fault it. Luxurious, clean, beautifully decorated, warm fresh bread and a hamper full of goodies on our arrival. Lots of extra touches to keep us happy Amazing view to admire. Great location from which to explore whitby. This was our 2nd visit and we will be back again. Thank you

Jennifer from Leeds stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in April 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It really does make all our hard work worthwhile .... and is very much appreciated.

Excellent base in fine location.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable, well equipped cottage, ideal for 4 adults looking to walk or bike in the beautiful surrounding area.

Alan from Warrington stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in April 2018


Wonderful stay in North Yorkshire

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Welcomed into the property by Geoff to a tastefullyfurnished and homely property. Everything you would need was provided for. The highlight for us was watching the steam train pass in the distance from a very comfortable living area. Would highly recommend and hope to return. Thankyou

Gail from Wakefield stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in April 2018


Excellent mini break.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were recommended cowslip cottage by my brother and sister in law. Myself and 3 friends stayed 3 nights. From start to finish it was a lovely experience. We were welcomed by freshly baked bread and a lovely hamper. The rooms were cosy and extremely comfortable. I will definitely be returning and will definitely recommend to my friends

Fiona from Leeds stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in February 2018


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely reviews make all our hard work worthwhile - thank you so much.

What more can I say other than Cowslip Cottage is an excellent place to enjoy North Yorkshire

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sleights is a beautiful part of the country and our stay in the Cowslip Cottage more than enhanced our holiday. This has been our second stay in Cowslip Cottage and hope to spend many more times there in the future.

Trevor from Rotherham stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in November 2017


Excellent place!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place in perfect location. Lots of home comforts provided. Amazing time had by all. Thank you.

Guest from Sheffield stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, much appreciated by Geoff and Myself.

A wonderful holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the most marvellous find. No expense spared in the furnishings and fittings. It was warm and extremely comfortable. Very generous and useful welcome hamper. Other useful touches such as binoculars, wellies, torches etc. I didn't cook much as we were on holiday but the kitchen and dining room was very well equipped. Plenty of space, free wifi and an iPad for guests to use.

Sally from Houghton, Huntingdon stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in October 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Sally for your lovely review. It means such a lot to us and makes all our hard work worthwhile. Thank you again.

Stunning!

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As we entered the cottage we were overwhelmed with the wonderful views, the stylish furnishings and the amazing array of all mod cons in the kitchen. Everything had been thought of and the location of Cowslip Cottage was a perfect base for us to take a trip along the Yorkshire coast and countryside for lots of reminiscing! A very successful trip! Thank you Joe and a Geoff.

Tim from Ilkley stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in October 2017


Lovely Comfortable Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at Cowslip Cottage, were made to feel very welcome, cottage was clean and comfortable and had everything you needed provided. Location was great, within easy reach of coast and local amenities whilst still being quiet and peaceful. Would highly recommend.

Laura from Sheffield stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in September 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review.

Fabulous

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a much loved property
Joe and Geoff have gone to so much trouble to provide everything to a very high standard
Far too many pluses to list here and an excellent base to explore the countryside and coast


Pam from Guildford stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 3 nights in September 2017


Half term at Cowslip Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Cowslip Cottage during the May half term. Even though we arrived late in the evening the cottage was all set up ready for our holiday to start with some lovely goodies waiting in the kitchen. The view is amazing from the balcony and, had we not had our children with us, I would have been quite happy to sit there all day relaxing with a book. The cottage is positioned really well to explore the Yorkshire Moors and if you have children with you, Whitby, Dalby Forest and the North Yorkshire Moors Railway are easy to get to and lovely days out. I will definitely recommend Cowslip cottage to my friends and family, and hopefully be able to return sometime soon.

Sonja from Luton stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments - it really means a lot to Geoff and myself xx

Best cottage we've stayed in

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages over the years but none with such high standards and attention to detail as Cowslip Cottage. We arrived with a friendly welcome from Geoff who briefly gave us an intro to the cottage. The smell of ingredients in the bread maker was very welcoming and the well stocked hamper made it all the nicer. Not to mention the welcome basket for our dog Phoebe with everything you might need even down to poop bags and spare lead. She was very taken with her new toy also. The cottage itself had such style and class and it was like staying in someone's home with all the lovely decor and nik naks. The bedrooms are stunning and immaculate. The views were breathtaking also. I could go on and on but can't recommend this place highly enough. Thanks again to Geoff and Joe.

Deborah from Liverpool stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


A delightful cottage with a stunning view

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a delightful few days in this stunning cottage, based in Sleights. Every possible need was catered for with freshly baked bread & essential goodies awaiting us when we arrived. The views out over the Eskdake Valley were simply stunning, and the owners had taken the time & trouble to provide a list of dog friendly pubs, suggested local walks & a whole mass of information on the surrounding area. We ate at two of the recommended dog friendly pubs, The Plough & The Postgate Inn which were very friendly & welcoming to us & our 2 year old Schnoodle Willow. I highly recommend Cowslip Cottage, a cottage which has been infused with love & care by it's owners & was a pleasure to stay in.

Keren from Leeds stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in March 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I do hope we can welcome you again at some future date.

lovely views from the cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at cowslip cottage for a family holiday. The views are breath taking and the cottage is furnished to a very high standard with all the mod cons. It has everything you require to enjoy your stay. The dog welcome pack was a lovely touch. I know budd enjoyed his treats and the flashing dog fob was a brilliant idea for evening walks. We had some enjoyable walks locally and further a field recommended by the cottage owners. The locals are all very friendly & welcoming especially in the plough pub. The only thing I would say is the floor boards upstairs in the cottage Creek quite a lot. But all in all we had a lovely stay and would love to come back again :) thankyou.

Wendy from Rainworth stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in February 2017


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you had an enjoyable stay. Sorry about the floorboards, we do try to rectify any problems guests have so it is something we will try to address, and we would love to welcome you all back at some future date to Unique-retreats.

Birthday celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyable..................................................................................................................

Gordon from Edinburgh stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in February 2017


A Stunning Break by the Coast

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fifth time staying in a Unique Retreats property, and we absolutely love it here.

The location is stunning, the properties are furnished to the very highest specs, and within minutes you instantly feel at home.

Every year my partner and myself spend a week here, and have made the decision that, one day, we'll look to purchase a place in the area of our own. As a writer, I was even able to get some work done during our stay, and actually enjoyed it in the process.

The entire property is thoroughly cleaned before each changeover, the WIFI and phone signals were very strong, and we especially liked the iPad, the freshly baked bread in the bread maker (which was still warm and smelled fantastic when we arrived) and the Smart TVs (We didn't really miss SKY at all).

Located just four miles away from Whitby, and in close proximity to other coastal areas, there is more than enough to keep you busy here, and truthfully, when we book for next year, we'll be looking for 10 days, as 7 just seems to fly by.

We ate out or ordered in every night, so didn't really do much cooking, other than breakfast, but the cooking facilities here are ideal and there are more than enough cooking tools and utensils to easily prepare a meal for the entire family.

The properties themselves are homely and luxurious, and once you clasp eyes on the stunning Esk Valley from the rear of the property, you'll find it hard not to instantly fall in love with the place.

In short, the properties offer very good value for money, they look stunning, they are located in a stunning area, they are incredibly well maintained and looked after, and are well, well, well worth visiting. Whenever we stay anywhere else, we now constantly compare the properties to Joe and Geoff's to see how they stack up, and so far, nothing has quite been able to match the quality, decor, homeliness, and cleanliness of Unique Retreats, Sleights.


Alex from Worksop stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Geoff and Joe replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it really does mean so much to Geoff and myself that you loved your stay with us. You know how hard we work at making everything just as perfect as we can for our guests on their arrival, so it's lovely to see your review and your great comments.... thank you, thank you, thank you... hope we see you again soon... xx

Cowslip cottage Sleights

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was not a holiday home, it was a home!! The decor was beautiful, loads of lovely ornaments, the owners have put a lot of work in getting this right. It was warm and cosy, always loads of hot water. The view from the back of the house was just gorgeous, we spent many hours just watching the livestock.
Will definitely return and would highly recommend it.


Yvonne from Doncaster stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in October 2016


Joe and Geoff replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments - it is very much appreciated.

An excellent stay at Cowslip Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location, facilities, cleanliness and style are right up there with the best cottages we have ever stayed in.

Ian from Leicester stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 4 nights in October 2016


Geoff and Joe replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you - it makes all our hand work worth it !

A lovely Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely time with our toddler and 4 month old, the toddler loved the steam train that can be seen from the terrace. The cottage is well equipped with the latest technology and good wifi. The views from the terrace are beautiful and the cottage decor is lovely.

Stephen from Great Barford stayed at Cowslip Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016