FB Twitter

The Shepherds Hut

The Shepherds Hut

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Luxury shepherds hut sleeping two guests, full central heating and wood burning stove. Lovely kitchen with breakfast bar and shower room, king size bed and sofa. Stable door leads onto decking area with out door seating and fabulous unspoilt country views.

Lovely countryside view

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This hut is set on a lovely farm with beautiful views. It is peaceful and quiet. The hut is comfortable and well appointed. The owner is friendly and not invasive. The ginger biscuits were fantastic and the small bottle of fizz was a lovely touch.

The nearest village is within walking distance. In the village there is one pub, which is friendly. There is nothing else in terms of shops. There are footpaths. You will need a car if you want to do anything other than go walking.




Kate Hodgson replied 7 days ago
Many thanks, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kate

Gorgeous hideaway with stunning view

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend in this gorgeous hideaway. The hut is beautiful and the view is simply stunning. It reminded us of the Dordogne. Fantastic for lazy breakfasts on the decking, and watching the sunset over a glass of wine. Hosts were so accommodating.
Can't wait to return in the winter!




Kate Hodgson replied 12 days ago
Thank you, look forward to seeing you again in November for your winter break. The fire is so cosy, thanks Kate.

Overlooking the wheat fields this Shepherds hut is an ideal location for the perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shepherds hut is in a lovely location for the perfect getaway. Overlooking the wheat fields it has complete privacy and peace & quiet. I booked it as a surprise for my husbands 60th Birthday and we had a lovely relaxing break. It’s very well decorated and equipped and we hope to return at some point in the future. We will definitely recommend it to our friends & family.



Kate Hodgson replied 16 days ago
The wheat field does look glorious at the moment as does the sun flower field. So pleased you enjoyed your break away. Always book direct with the owner for the best price and service. Hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

Gorgeous location!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shepherd's Hut is a lovely, cosy place to stay, perfectly located for the visits we were making. Gorgeous location and scenery!



A great little escape

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A fantastic find with great access to Raby Hunt as well as being a lovely place to stay. Thank you!



Kate Hodgson replied 185 days ago
Pleased you enjoyed our little hut! Hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

Returning customer very happy

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit and as good as ever. Beautifully finished, comfortable and well thought out. We wanted for nothing and felt so rested and content after our stay. Love it!



Kate Hodgson replied 238 days ago
Your 3rd visit, thank you very much and I,m so pleased you both enjoyed another stay. Thanks, Kate

Perfect relaxing weekend getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a couple of days away from the hustle and bustle and the Shepherds Hut was the perfect place to do it. Lots of inland places to visit but near enough to the coast to see the sea. Every eventuality catered for!



Kate Hodgson replied 266 days ago
Great that you enjoyed Co Durham and our cosy Shepherds Hut! Hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

A piece of tranquillity in the countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic hut in a wonderful location.
Beautifully presented,clean and tidy with everything you need for a short stay.
Not to far to travel for food lots of nice pubs and cafe's in the area.





Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely relaxing weekend away with my partner. Cosy, clean and comfortable, excellent location, accommodation and hospitality would definitely recommend



another great stay at the Shepherds hut

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had another great stay at the Shepherds Hut, weather was fantastic an it's ideally located between Bishop Aukland and Barnard Castle, with easy access to local attractions and main A road routes, so exploring the local areas of Teesdale or Weardale is easily achieved. We visited the local rail museum at Shildon, which was about 10min drive, this is a great little venue, ideal to while away a few hours and is free entry, with some attractions paid for (steam loco rides). We also visited the local farm shop and café at Broom Mill farm on the way to the museum and were very pleased with our meals, but watch out the portions are huge. the shop is well stocked with meat and veg, plus has quite an extensive Deli range.




Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Shepherds Hut again along with The Mill Byre to celebrate a 60th birthday, the family members who were staying in The Hut were more than happy with the accommodation and high standard of finish and facilities, a delightful place to stay!!!



Kate Hodgson replied 355 days ago
Very impressed your son was well over 6 feet high and said he loved our king size bed in the Hut. So pleased the birthday week went so well. Thanks Kate

Family stay in Darlington area

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idealy located for a family stay in Darlington.
All together with Mill Grannary cottage let us a possibilty for 11 people.




Kate Hodgson replied 362 days ago
Glad the family get together and wedding went so well. Hope to see you another time.

Short break

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, charming, little bolt-hole. My husband and I booked two nights here and it was wonderful! We used it as a base to visit High Force and Raby Castle.



Mill Granary- Shepherds Hut

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an excellent stay in the Shepherds hut. Was extremely clean and very well furnished. Location was excellent, had great views, and felt private and secluded. Would highly recommend.



Great little place!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely place, has everything you need for a cosy little romantic getaway. Also very well located for nice countryside walks and seeing local sites. Black Horse is a great local pub/restaurant to go to from here too, just a 15minute walk!



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you both had fun and also enjoyed our local pub. Always book direct for the best price on our web site. Hope to see you again.

Beautiful Relaxing Accommodation and Location

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely weekend away in this gorgeous little hut. Everything was perfect and it was so cosy and warm. We miss it already and will hopefully be back in the near future.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great hope to see you both again soon! Kate.

LAST MINUTE EASTER GETAWAY

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the first time I have ventured to the Durham area, and it didn't disappoint.
Through Premier Cottages I came across the Shepherds Hut, and it was available for the Easter break.
The booking direct with the owners was easy and confirmations emailed promptly.
This holiday accommodation is outstanding, the attention to detail goes way beyond the normal self catering standards. Every comfort has been planned into this Hut, from luxury toiletries and towels, Egyptian cotton bedding, a selection of books to pass the time and even home baked biscuits and fresh milk ready for your first cup of tea.
The weather was amazing for this time of the year, and the whole time was spent on the decking reading and taking in the gorgeous views. As my weekend was coming to a close, I really didn't want to leave, so managed to book an extra day to extend my country getaway.
I would highly recommend this retreat, the owners are only a field away and the other cottages are all also spaced out, giving the impression that you are truly away from the rat race.
I will definitely be re-booking for another visit and there is so much to see in the area, it would be lovely when its cooler and it will let me make use of the log burner.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great to meet you, what amazing weather we had for your stay while exploring County Durham, Hope to see you another time. Thanks Kate.

Perfect relaxing weekend!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely place to stay and relax next to the fire and comfy bed. Had a perfect two nights - Kate added the fine touches with cakes and milk. A gorgeous shepards hut!



Wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't have wished for better! Beautifully put together with thoughtful details and good quality finishes. We spent a very happy, cosy and comfortable weekend - wished it had been longer.



Lovely little luxury hut for a short break

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s amazing how much you can fit into such a little space!
Lovely location.
Excellent bathroom and very comfortable bed.
We will be back and will recommend to others.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you another time, thanks Kate

Amazing Short Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Shepherds Hut along with Mill Byre to accommodate 8 family members. What an amazing little Hut, it is cosy, comfortable and has everything you could possible need and the views are just stunning. The family members who stayed in the Hut were more than happy with the accommodation which they said was well equipped, spacious and very comfortable with a lovely feel, the shower was especially spacious. Thanks Kate, it was lovely to see you again, we will definitely be back for another visit soon.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for booking up again already, see you next June. Many thanks Kate.

Chilled break for two

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay and even though the weather wasn't great we had a fantastic chilled weekend. The hut is the best equipped we've stayed in and offers more space and comfort than you would expect. It's a great place to just unwind and let the world go by.



Agreat week at the Shepherds Hut

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a great week at the Shepherds Hut. The Shepherds Hut is in a lovely secluded spot and is very quiet but the local shop and pub are only a very short drive away. The cottage was clean and well equipped and had a lovely feel to it. We managed to get out to the seaside, the Yorkshire Dales and had a day kayaking on the river Ure. All in all a wonderful experience.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
The kayaking sounds great fun, I will have to try it sometime. Hope to see you again, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks Kate.

What a Lovely Place to Stay!!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The shepherds hut was a lot more spacious than the pictures make out, in a lovely setting where it’s just you and the countryside, everything you need was at the Hut, just what we needed, a peaceful and relaxing break, would definitely recommend to others who are in need of a bit of me time :)



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Relaxation is the name of the game, glad you both enjoyed it. Thanks Kate

Perfect peace

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to find, really stunning with everything you could need. Close to great places to mooch, thank you.



Lovely and peaceful

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent hut with everything you need - we could live there! Owner popped in to greet us and then left us for the most peaceful break. Comfortable bed, good kitchen and surprisingly spacious bathroom - decent shower. Walked to the Raby Hunt one night, and one afternoon to Headlam Hall for a drink on the terrace. Highly recommended.



Kate Hodgson. replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you both enjoyed the hut. Thanks Kate

Amazing!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We 100% recommend staying in The Shepard’s Hut, not only is it so well equipt, cosy and comfortable but the view and location is incredible! The bed was so comfortable and the shower was better than the one at home! We had a fantastic relaxing weekend and can not wait to come back.
Thank you for a fabulous time!




Brilliant relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed a few days here to get away from it all and had a wonderful time. Everything was as you see in the photos. Just perfect. Thanks to the hosts for a wonderful stay.



fabulaus stay

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful place, a little piece of heaven on earth .
highly recommended for any one wanting to get away from it all




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay and what great weather you had! Thanks Kate

Short Break

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place to stay and to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. plenty of places to visit and local food is great.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you had fun at the Hut! Hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

A Cosy Home Away From Home

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our short stay at the Shepherd’s Hut. It had everything that we needed and it was super cosy! The perfect place to relax and unwind which is exactly what we needed. We’d book this again in a heartbeat.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks, glad you enjoyed the Hut!

We love The Shepherd's Hut - it is absolutely fabulous.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous, quirky, small - but perfectly formed, gem of a property. We love it. A real skill to create such a cosy, original, practical, holiday property in this small space. George Clarke would be proud :-) ....And yet the shower is still bigger than you would get in most hotels!

We booked The Shepherd's Hut, along with Mill Byre, to accommodate nine family members in total. Although just a very short stroll from Mill Byre the landscaping provides excellent privacy for both properties. The outside area is lovely - 3 different choices of seating to relax and gaze over the open landscape.

It even has a log burner - and although we didn't have need to use it (warmed via electric heating) - I imagine it is a delight to curl up on the comfy sofa, on a cold winter's night, with the log fire burning. It's beautiful - thank you.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for such a lovely review. We are so proud of the Shepherds Hut, hope to see you again. Thanks Kate

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time at The Shepherds Hut. Great location. Great owners. Lovely views. Excellent accommodation. Used it as a jumping off point for day trips around Durham and we were always happy to get back to our cosy little retreat at the end of the day. Definitely planning to book again.



Unexpected luxury

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to spend a few days. The hut is finished and furnished to the highest standard; it is cosy, comfortable and warm, with everything you need to hand. You open the stable door to unspoilt countryside and amazing peace and quiet, with only the occasional bird tweet to listen to. It is remote, so you need a car to get to shops, pubs and restaurants if you need them. The area is beautiful with plenty of interesting places to visit.



Fantstic

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic shepherd's hut in a beautiful location. Had everything we needed and would go again. Thank you



A fabulous couples retreat!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were extremely lucky to stumble across the Shepherd's Hut and were the first guests to stay there.
Couldn't fault it in any possible way. The attention to detail and perfect private location made it the ideal place to get away from it all.
Everything you need is there, just perfect.
The lack of Wi-Fi didn't cause any issues as the 4g signal was fine. When getting away from it all Wi-Fi is something we were happy to be without anyway!

Lovely hosts, lovely place, will definitely book again!




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you liked our hut, we are so pleased with it. Also thanks for recommending the Fat Badger we had a great night! Hope to see you both again in County Durham.

The Hut

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weekend break for our baby moon. Beautiful fittings and finish. Fantastic location. Wonderful hosts



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Good luck with the baby! Hope to see you another time, so pleased you enjoyed your break away.