FB Twitter

The Shepherds Hut

The Shepherds Hut

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 81 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Luxury shepherds hut sleeping two guests, full central heating and wood burning stove. Lovely kitchen with breakfast bar and shower room, king size bed and sofa. Stable door leads onto decking area with out door seating and fabulous unspoilt country views. One dog welcome.

Pleasantly Surprised

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this property as part of the booking of Mill Granary due to the number of guests attending the hen party, my daughter and her friend stayed while while the rest of us were in the main house, like my review of the main house, it was beautiful decorated and had everything the girls needs when they wanted to escape the us oldies.
I have no complaints for either properties we rented and would recommend both




A magical stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful Shepherds Hut tucked away in stunning countryside. Everything was excellent quality from the bed linen, to the towels, to the kitchen utensils. Excellent hosts, who helped us with directions and ensured the lights were on when we arrived, but didn't interfere at all. It rained one of the afternoons we were there, but it didn't matter at all - if anything it added to the cosiness! Lovely attention to detail - from the deckchairs overlooking the fields where I ate my breakfast, to the simple fencing ensuring absolute privacy, to the amazing outside bath. It was truly magical to lay in the hot bath, under the stars. Highly recommend if you want a little piece of magic.



A Real Treat

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful break awaits in this lovely Shepherd’s hut. For our few days away in beautiful Teesdale get yourselves to this well equipped little treasure.



Restful & Peaceful

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely stay over a very wet weekend visiting family.

Great quiet location to wind down and relax away from everyday life.

Husband isn’t the biggest fan of camping but may you converted him to glamping.




Quick honeymoon getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at the Shepherd's Hut for 2 nights after our wedding. Secluded, romantic, clean, and comfortable. We'd highly recommend.



Excellent and good fun - highly recommended.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 3 night stay in the Shepherds Hut. We wanted something 'a bit different', never having stayed in a shepherds hut before. We thought it was very well equipped, clean and more spacious than we imagined. Very cosy, especially thanks to the log burner. Very informative guest information booklet. Unfortunately, we weren't able to sample the outside bath owing to the weather conditions, but pleased we survived storm Babet (!!) - we hope to return in the summer months.
Quiet location, tucked away from traffic noise. Well positioned for touring Teesdale, with plenty of local interest (e.g., Barnard Castle, Raby Castle, Bowes Museum, High Force). Good choice of nearby pubs if you want to eat out.
Kate was very friendly and helpful in giving advice about the local area.




Great Location and Clean

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shepard's Hut was exactly what we expected from the online description and pictures. Perfect, peaceful location overlooking fantastic views. Inside was spotless and has everything you need to enjoy your time. The extra touches like an arrival treat make it even better!



Shepherd's Hutastic!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely place to stay. The view is amazing and I liked the various seating options to sit outside and enjoy it. The outside bath is magical! I was really surprised at how spacious the hut felt inside. One of the reasons I picked the hut was because of the sofa - most huts don't contain one and you end up just sitting on the bed. Large shower room too which is a bonus. Loved the hob/oven and the well equipped kitchen. Absolutely perfect and unbelievable value for money.



Kate Hodgson replied 272 days ago
Great to hear you loved our Shepherds Hut, hope to see you again. Thanks Kate

Cutest Hut

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Realky enhoyee our 2 night stay at the Shepherds Hut. We were welcomed with a bottle of proseco and rocky road chocolate. The Hut was just the cutest the log fire was gorgous as was the outside bath tub and the view was beautiful.
The Hut had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.




Kate Hodgson replied 272 days ago
Thank you for such kind words, hope to see you another time, Kate

Part of a big family booking

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really cute and comfortable place to stay. We booked the hut with the other two properties so we didn't spend much time here, but I'd happily come back to stay again.



Fantastic three day break

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The thought and detail that has gone into the Hut is superb.
The location is great, the accommodation is very comfortable, and the roll to bath is brilliant.
An added bonus is the food at the nearby Black Horse pub, where the landlord was very welcoming.
Thanks, Kate we would definitely come again.




Shepherds hut ingleton

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic shepherds hut ,everything you need ,beautiful view to take in especially as the sun rises ,even had a barn owl silently fly by . Warm and cosy , comfortable bed ..



Beyond expectations

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thought we had drawn the short straw when we realised that we were staying in the Shepherd's Hut. We even took a hot water bottle but as soon as we opened the door we were aware of warmth and comfort. The heat provided by the radiator is so good we didn't need to use the woodburning stove. The bed is very comfortable,the shower is large and the creative design of the Shepherd's Hut provides maximum storage. The furnishings are beautiful.



What an absolute find!!

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to book and communicate with the Owner. The Shepherds Hut literally blew us away and I genuinely mean that! It was so cosy and the location and outlook were amazing, it was so peaceful and relaxing. We wished we had booked for more than 2nts but will return again for sure. The bed was very comfy, pillows and linen were top quality, the towels were lovely and thick and it was all spotless. The shower was the best shower we have ever come across!! A little corner of heaven!



A short, wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a short two nights in the Shepherds Hut at Mill Granary and we did not want to leave, our highlights were having a bath outside under the oak tree and cosying up around the log burner. We spent a lovely day hiking over at Ullswater which we would highly recommend if it's a nice day. Couldn't recommend it highly enough!





Great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked The Shepherds Hut for my brother for a few days and he loved it, especially the wood stove. Its in a lovely peaceful spot, nice and warm with a great shower. Only slight issue for him was that the wi-fi seemed to drop out on occasions, other than that was great.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
The Shepherds hut is so cosy. The hut is advertised as having No Internet for guests at all. Its for a relaxing break. If he managed to have some that was a bonus for him. Hope they come again. Many thanks Kate [Emoji Removed]

Much needed break!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shepherd's Hut was a lovely place to stay for a much needed break. It was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Just about everything needed was provided from toilet rolls to pots and pans, tea and coffee! We did feel that a mirror in the living area would be a good addition, plus a couple of coat hooks, but that's it, it's very well equipped.
The Hut is in a very private spot and the peace and quiet was wonderful and the far reaching views over the farmland were fantastic.
We had a lovely welcome visit from Kate and the treats left for our arrival were very much appreciated!
There are lots of great places to visit that are not too far away and everyone we met was friendly and helpful.
A lovely part of the world, and the Shepherd's Hut is a gem.




A countryside hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to stay with everything you need for a wonderfully relaxing break. Countryside views and a variety of wildlife give The Shepherds Hut that little extra something. A really special place to stay and unwind.



Another wonderful viewing

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here a number of times and it never fails to impress and recharge out batteries - it's a wonderful place to come and relax and refocus - we love it ... and will be back. Kate is an amazing host.



Great stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, fantastic location, great views.
The Shepherds hut had everything we needed, happy to recommend.




Amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing stay, friendly owners and lots of privacy. Could not fault the accommodation in any way and had a very relaxing trip.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for such a lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards, Kate.

long weekend stay - little walking and somewhere to come back and rest when we needed to

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Shepards hut was lovely we really enjoyed our stay. Beautiful surroundings and beautifully presented, in the perfect area for us.

We didn't see the hosts but knew they were there if we needed them.




Wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay at this little shepherds hut. It was the perfect escape for a few days of relaxation.
The hut itself is perfect with a large bed, double shower, fully equipped kitchen and log burner. It's situated on the edge of a large field so it has complete privacy and a gorgeous view. It even has a quirky bathtub which we used on a cold night with a clear starry sky.
It's close to lots of lovely little villages, the high force waterfall is worth a visit and york is only 1 hour away.
I would 100% recommend a stay here




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week getting away from it all in the beautiful hut.

The hut itself is very well equipped and we had plenty of place to store things even for a week away!

The bed area is a little piece of heaven and the cabin is wonderfully cozy in bad weather.

The outdoor bath made the holiday for us. An evening bath at dusk with the geese flying over is a must even in the wind and rain!

The information provided in the pack in the hut was amazing and helped us to decide where to go for our day trips!

The hut os wonderfully rural so if you want to get away from it all this is the place to go!

Kate was incredibly accommodating when we needed to change the dates of our stay which was amazing!

Highly recommend for a break away!




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much in the hut, always happy to help. Thanks Kate

Cute, cosy and comfortable

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful and well equipped shepherds hut. Everything you could need for a self catering stay. Spacious and really warm. Would definitely return and recommend to friends.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you both had fun, thanks, Kate

Fantastic Break

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic use of space and quality of materials inside the Shepherd's Hut, and a wonderful place to relax, and what a view!!! The shower is probably one of the best we have used anywhere in the world. The only disappointment was that the quality of the outside furniture was not befitting of the quality of the materials and furniture used inside the hut.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
I also wish I had a shower as good as that in my own home! Sorry to hear our garden furniture is not to your taste, pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thanks, Kate.

The shepherds hut

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place to stay, would highly recommend staying here, lovely and cosy, great views, peaceful and tranquil. If only something could be done about the British weather !!!
A lovely getaway to relax and unwind.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hopefully next time the sun will shine, pleased you still had fun, thanks, Kate

11-13th July 2021

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Shepard’s hut as our holiday to Greece was cancelled but we still wanted to get away. This was the perfect escape from reality and the pandemic! The hut was immaculate and had everything we needed and more. It was the perfect balance of peace and tranquility with a 10 minute walk to the pub if needed… The views were spectacular and sitting on the decking eating breakfast on a morning was certainly my favourite part. Thank you so much for creating such an amazing space away from the business of the world! Also the homemade treats on arrival were AMAZING! Jess & Ian xx



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you both had fun at the hut, thanks, Kate

What an awesome place

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is so lovely. Walk out of the door and you just look across fields. Sit in the deckchairs (provided) and listen to the breeze blowing through the crops, the birds singing or the bees buzzing. The interior is well thought out and the cake waiting for us on arrival was delicious. Soaking in the outside bath, filled with the plentiful hot water was just great. The pub is only a 10-15 minute walk away, and it serves really nice food. There’s plenty to do in the surrounding area to. All in all a perfect weekend.



Relaxing haven

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My first stay in a shepherd's hut and it was perfect. Peaceful, private, comfortably and thoughtfully appointed. I was blessed with decent weather which meant the outside tub was a very quirky alternative to the indoor shower. No faff and as enjoyable as any hot tub. Thanks Kate for a lovely few days in your beautiful hut in beautiful Teesdale. Oh and thanks for the welcome goodies and flowers, another nice touch.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Shepherds Hut. Many thanks, Kate

Our second time

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time at the Shepherds Hut - we just love the peace and quiet - it's a wonderful place to unwind and relax - we'll be back



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for returning our tea spoon in the post. So pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us and hope to see you again. Many thanks, Kate.

Stayed at the shepherd's hut for four nights from 21st June

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely quirky accomodation in a perfect place, with great views over the countryside, only thing missing was no ice box in the fridge .



Perfect hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you’re looking for peace & relaxation away from it all in perfect surroundings the Shepherds Hut has it all.
You can shut yourself away from the world or explore the plentiful walks, bike rides, cafes & market towns all within a few miles.
The Hut was immaculate, with everything you need for a short getaway.
The unexpected bonus for us was the wildlife spotting from the doorstep!




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for sending the excellent footage for the stoats playing in the garden. So pleased you had such a good time!

Shepherds Hut

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is the quietest most peaceful place I’ve ever been to. I didn’t even hear one car go past. I will definitely be staying again in the future



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Look forward to seeing you both again, many thanks, Kate

Hidden gem

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the hut was magical, peaceful and beautiful. We were welcomed with the essentials to make a cup of tea, a slice of cake and a bottle of bubbles, what a perfect way to begin our mini break. The hut is located perfectly, away from busy roads leaving the evenings looking under the stars, in the unique outside bath tub, spectacular. Day trips to the local area included, castles, scenic walks, rivers, waterfalls and lots more. The variety of the local area allows for busy days. Which is perfect when you can then come back to the hut and switch off from the world. The hut makes camping fun, fully equipped with an en suite bathroom and kitchen made being in the outdoors comfortable and practical. Lastly, the fire pit and bbq make those evenings in the hot tub that little bit more spectacular. Couldn’t recommend this place anymore if I tried! Thank you for a wonderful stay.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Hope to see you another time. Thanks Kate.

Romantic quirky getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for something different this is the place. Excellent location close to pub and walks on the doorstep. Bath tub was the cherry on the cake



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you both had fun at the Hut... thanks Kate

Great stay in the lovely Shepherds Hut

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great four night stay in the fabulous Shepherds Hut. Quirky, cosy, well kitted out and lovely location. Will definitely be back !!



5 star accommodation at its best

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful location and a very impressive and unique self catering unit. Enjoyed our 12 night stay and can't wait to return. Exceeded our expectations - nothing but praise from us.







The Best Shepherds Hut Around

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed here during September for 3 nights with my partner. The Shepherds Hut is in a perfect location, during our stay we visited Roseberry Topping, Barnard Castle, High Force and the Bowes Museum so the area isn’t short of things to do! It is also a stones throw from the small village of Ingleton, the views from the Shepherds hut are idyllic and you do truly feel like you’re in the middle of no where. We couldn’t fault the quality and cleanliness of the place, everywhere was spotless and all the furnishings were modern and couldn’t be faulted. Things that I don’t think are mentioned in the description but might be helpful to know are that you are provided logs fire starters and matches for the indoor log burner/BBQ, there is also a private outdoor bath that wasn’t featured on the pictures when we booked but was a pleasant surprise when we got there. The oven also doubles up as a microwave, you just have to find it in the settings. Also once you’ve fired up the log burner it really doesn’t take long at all for the hut to get very warm so you’ll probably find yourself having to open a window or two! Overall we really couldn’t fault the place and would recommend it to anyway wanting to go on a short glamping getaway, we’ve stayed in other places similar to this one and this one is by far the best in the area.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
The outdoor bath is new, so its a bonus for the guests who booked before we had even thought about having one! Glad you both had fun, thanks Kate

A short break away

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Went here for our anniversary having previously stayed close by. Great time had. Everything you could want in a small space. We both thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely return.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your anniversary stay with us. Many thanks, Kate

Sunny short break

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After months of lockdown we decided to get away but wanted somewhere very clean and secluded. The Shepherds Hut ticks both boxes and a lot of thought has gone into its positioning with great views from the hut whilst maintaining privacy to take full advantage of the outside bath, the setting sun through the tree in the evening and we were delighted by the visits from the woodpecker. We had fabulous weather so didn’t need the central heating or log burner but can imagine the hut being toasty warm in cold weather. Internal layout was really good with an excellent shower, the decking outside aided outside living, nice to have main meal outside as the sun sets and the deck chairs were a thoughtful touch. All in all a really pleasant stay, 10/10 Kate



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Love getting a 10/10 :) , hope to see you both again. Thanks Kate.

Great break away

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would 100% recommend to stay in the Shepard’s Hut. It was so cosy and relaxing exactly what we needed. We were greeted by a lovely host Kate, she made sure we were were settled and everything we needed.

It was a great view, we sat out till late and would definitely come back! Thank you x




Wonferful

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location the outside bath was very quirky with a wonderful view.
Walks from the door and other walks within an hours drive.




A romantic hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An exquisite shepherds hut. Internal showeroom was brilliant and the outside bath was great fun with a cup of tea looking at the amazing views. The attention to detail was second to none and comfort was clearly thought of. A truelly magical and romantic experience.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Shepherds hut and christened our new outdoor bath! Hope to see you another time, thanks Kate

Lovely countryside view

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This hut is set on a lovely farm with beautiful views. It is peaceful and quiet. The hut is comfortable and well appointed. The owner is friendly and not invasive. The ginger biscuits were fantastic and the small bottle of fizz was a lovely touch.

The nearest village is within walking distance. In the village there is one pub, which is friendly. There is nothing else in terms of shops. There are footpaths. You will need a car if you want to do anything other than go walking.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kate

Gorgeous hideaway with stunning view

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a wonderful long weekend in this gorgeous hideaway. The hut is beautiful and the view is simply stunning. It reminded us of the Dordogne. Fantastic for lazy breakfasts on the decking, and watching the sunset over a glass of wine. Hosts were so accommodating.
Can't wait to return in the winter!




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, look forward to seeing you again in November for your winter break. The fire is so cosy, thanks Kate.

Overlooking the wheat fields this Shepherds hut is an ideal location for the perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shepherds hut is in a lovely location for the perfect getaway. Overlooking the wheat fields it has complete privacy and peace & quiet. I booked it as a surprise for my husbands 60th Birthday and we had a lovely relaxing break. It’s very well decorated and equipped and we hope to return at some point in the future. We will definitely recommend it to our friends & family.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
The wheat field does look glorious at the moment as does the sun flower field. So pleased you enjoyed your break away. Always book direct with the owner for the best price and service. Hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

Gorgeous location!

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Shepherd's Hut is a lovely, cosy place to stay, perfectly located for the visits we were making. Gorgeous location and scenery!



A great little escape

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A fantastic find with great access to Raby Hunt as well as being a lovely place to stay. Thank you!



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you enjoyed our little hut! Hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

Returning customer very happy

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit and as good as ever. Beautifully finished, comfortable and well thought out. We wanted for nothing and felt so rested and content after our stay. Love it!



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Your 3rd visit, thank you very much and I,m so pleased you both enjoyed another stay. Thanks, Kate

Perfect relaxing weekend getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a couple of days away from the hustle and bustle and the Shepherds Hut was the perfect place to do it. Lots of inland places to visit but near enough to the coast to see the sea. Every eventuality catered for!



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great that you enjoyed Co Durham and our cosy Shepherds Hut! Hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

A piece of tranquillity in the countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic hut in a wonderful location.
Beautifully presented,clean and tidy with everything you need for a short stay.
Not to far to travel for food lots of nice pubs and cafe's in the area.





Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely relaxing weekend away with my partner. Cosy, clean and comfortable, excellent location, accommodation and hospitality would definitely recommend



another great stay at the Shepherds hut

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had another great stay at the Shepherds Hut, weather was fantastic an it's ideally located between Bishop Aukland and Barnard Castle, with easy access to local attractions and main A road routes, so exploring the local areas of Teesdale or Weardale is easily achieved. We visited the local rail museum at Shildon, which was about 10min drive, this is a great little venue, ideal to while away a few hours and is free entry, with some attractions paid for (steam loco rides). We also visited the local farm shop and café at Broom Mill farm on the way to the museum and were very pleased with our meals, but watch out the portions are huge. the shop is well stocked with meat and veg, plus has quite an extensive Deli range.




Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Shepherds Hut again along with The Mill Byre to celebrate a 60th birthday, the family members who were staying in The Hut were more than happy with the accommodation and high standard of finish and facilities, a delightful place to stay!!!



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Very impressed your son was well over 6 feet high and said he loved our king size bed in the Hut. So pleased the birthday week went so well. Thanks Kate

Family stay in Darlington area

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idealy located for a family stay in Darlington.
All together with Mill Grannary cottage let us a possibilty for 11 people.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad the family get together and wedding went so well. Hope to see you another time.

Short break

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, charming, little bolt-hole. My husband and I booked two nights here and it was wonderful! We used it as a base to visit High Force and Raby Castle.



Mill Granary- Shepherds Hut

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an excellent stay in the Shepherds hut. Was extremely clean and very well furnished. Location was excellent, had great views, and felt private and secluded. Would highly recommend.



Great little place!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely place, has everything you need for a cosy little romantic getaway. Also very well located for nice countryside walks and seeing local sites. Black Horse is a great local pub/restaurant to go to from here too, just a 15minute walk!



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you both had fun and also enjoyed our local pub. Always book direct for the best price on our web site. Hope to see you again.

Beautiful Relaxing Accommodation and Location

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely weekend away in this gorgeous little hut. Everything was perfect and it was so cosy and warm. We miss it already and will hopefully be back in the near future.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great hope to see you both again soon! Kate.

LAST MINUTE EASTER GETAWAY

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the first time I have ventured to the Durham area, and it didn't disappoint.
Through Premier Cottages I came across the Shepherds Hut, and it was available for the Easter break.
The booking direct with the owners was easy and confirmations emailed promptly.
This holiday accommodation is outstanding, the attention to detail goes way beyond the normal self catering standards. Every comfort has been planned into this Hut, from luxury toiletries and towels, Egyptian cotton bedding, a selection of books to pass the time and even home baked biscuits and fresh milk ready for your first cup of tea.
The weather was amazing for this time of the year, and the whole time was spent on the decking reading and taking in the gorgeous views. As my weekend was coming to a close, I really didn't want to leave, so managed to book an extra day to extend my country getaway.
I would highly recommend this retreat, the owners are only a field away and the other cottages are all also spaced out, giving the impression that you are truly away from the rat race.
I will definitely be re-booking for another visit and there is so much to see in the area, it would be lovely when its cooler and it will let me make use of the log burner.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great to meet you, what amazing weather we had for your stay while exploring County Durham, Hope to see you another time. Thanks Kate.

Perfect relaxing weekend!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely place to stay and relax next to the fire and comfy bed. Had a perfect two nights - Kate added the fine touches with cakes and milk. A gorgeous shepards hut!



Wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't have wished for better! Beautifully put together with thoughtful details and good quality finishes. We spent a very happy, cosy and comfortable weekend - wished it had been longer.



Lovely little luxury hut for a short break

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s amazing how much you can fit into such a little space!
Lovely location.
Excellent bathroom and very comfortable bed.
We will be back and will recommend to others.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you another time, thanks Kate

Amazing Short Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Shepherds Hut along with Mill Byre to accommodate 8 family members. What an amazing little Hut, it is cosy, comfortable and has everything you could possible need and the views are just stunning. The family members who stayed in the Hut were more than happy with the accommodation which they said was well equipped, spacious and very comfortable with a lovely feel, the shower was especially spacious. Thanks Kate, it was lovely to see you again, we will definitely be back for another visit soon.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for booking up again already, see you next June. Many thanks Kate.

Chilled break for two

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay and even though the weather wasn't great we had a fantastic chilled weekend. The hut is the best equipped we've stayed in and offers more space and comfort than you would expect. It's a great place to just unwind and let the world go by.



Agreat week at the Shepherds Hut

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a great week at the Shepherds Hut. The Shepherds Hut is in a lovely secluded spot and is very quiet but the local shop and pub are only a very short drive away. The cottage was clean and well equipped and had a lovely feel to it. We managed to get out to the seaside, the Yorkshire Dales and had a day kayaking on the river Ure. All in all a wonderful experience.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
The kayaking sounds great fun, I will have to try it sometime. Hope to see you again, so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks Kate.

What a Lovely Place to Stay!!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The shepherds hut was a lot more spacious than the pictures make out, in a lovely setting where it’s just you and the countryside, everything you need was at the Hut, just what we needed, a peaceful and relaxing break, would definitely recommend to others who are in need of a bit of me time :)



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Relaxation is the name of the game, glad you both enjoyed it. Thanks Kate

Perfect peace

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to find, really stunning with everything you could need. Close to great places to mooch, thank you.



Lovely and peaceful

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent hut with everything you need - we could live there! Owner popped in to greet us and then left us for the most peaceful break. Comfortable bed, good kitchen and surprisingly spacious bathroom - decent shower. Walked to the Raby Hunt one night, and one afternoon to Headlam Hall for a drink on the terrace. Highly recommended.



Kate Hodgson. replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you both enjoyed the hut. Thanks Kate

Amazing!

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We 100% recommend staying in The Shepard’s Hut, not only is it so well equipt, cosy and comfortable but the view and location is incredible! The bed was so comfortable and the shower was better than the one at home! We had a fantastic relaxing weekend and can not wait to come back.
Thank you for a fabulous time!




Brilliant relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed a few days here to get away from it all and had a wonderful time. Everything was as you see in the photos. Just perfect. Thanks to the hosts for a wonderful stay.



fabulaus stay

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful place, a little piece of heaven on earth .
highly recommended for any one wanting to get away from it all




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay and what great weather you had! Thanks Kate

Short Break

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place to stay and to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. plenty of places to visit and local food is great.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you had fun at the Hut! Hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

A Cosy Home Away From Home

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our short stay at the Shepherd’s Hut. It had everything that we needed and it was super cosy! The perfect place to relax and unwind which is exactly what we needed. We’d book this again in a heartbeat.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks, glad you enjoyed the Hut!

We love The Shepherd's Hut - it is absolutely fabulous.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous, quirky, small - but perfectly formed, gem of a property. We love it. A real skill to create such a cosy, original, practical, holiday property in this small space. George Clarke would be proud :-) ....And yet the shower is still bigger than you would get in most hotels!

We booked The Shepherd's Hut, along with Mill Byre, to accommodate nine family members in total. Although just a very short stroll from Mill Byre the landscaping provides excellent privacy for both properties. The outside area is lovely - 3 different choices of seating to relax and gaze over the open landscape.

It even has a log burner - and although we didn't have need to use it (warmed via electric heating) - I imagine it is a delight to curl up on the comfy sofa, on a cold winter's night, with the log fire burning. It's beautiful - thank you.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, so pleased you enjoyed your stay and many thanks for such a lovely review. We are so proud of the Shepherds Hut, hope to see you again. Thanks Kate

Fantastic!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time at The Shepherds Hut. Great location. Great owners. Lovely views. Excellent accommodation. Used it as a jumping off point for day trips around Durham and we were always happy to get back to our cosy little retreat at the end of the day. Definitely planning to book again.



Unexpected luxury

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to spend a few days. The hut is finished and furnished to the highest standard; it is cosy, comfortable and warm, with everything you need to hand. You open the stable door to unspoilt countryside and amazing peace and quiet, with only the occasional bird tweet to listen to. It is remote, so you need a car to get to shops, pubs and restaurants if you need them. The area is beautiful with plenty of interesting places to visit.



Fantstic

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic shepherd's hut in a beautiful location. Had everything we needed and would go again. Thank you



A fabulous couples retreat!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were extremely lucky to stumble across the Shepherd's Hut and were the first guests to stay there.
Couldn't fault it in any possible way. The attention to detail and perfect private location made it the ideal place to get away from it all.
Everything you need is there, just perfect.
The lack of Wi-Fi didn't cause any issues as the 4g signal was fine. When getting away from it all Wi-Fi is something we were happy to be without anyway!

Lovely hosts, lovely place, will definitely book again!




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you liked our hut, we are so pleased with it. Also thanks for recommending the Fat Badger we had a great night! Hope to see you both again in County Durham.

The Hut

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weekend break for our baby moon. Beautiful fittings and finish. Fantastic location. Wonderful hosts



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Good luck with the baby! Hope to see you another time, so pleased you enjoyed your break away.