FB Twitter

Mill Byre

Mill Byre

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 95 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Mill Byre

Spacious stone built single storey barn, lovingly converted into a stylish home, set in open rolling countryside and beautiful rural views. Its light filled interior is open beamed throughout, the 55 square meter combined kitchen and lounge is open plan, with a modern contemporary feel. It features a cream shaker-style kitchen with granite work tops, American fridge, range cooker and a black slate floor. Sleeps 7 guests.

Holiday post lockdown

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite the changeable weather during the week and Covid-19 restrictions we had the most comfortable stay at Mill Byre. Kate had provided very clear instructions prior to our arrival and visited in person shortly after we arrived to ensure that we had everything we needed and provided some very useful information regarding the local area. The cottage was extremely clean and very well equipped for a self-catering stay. The property is very private, has the most incredible views over open countryside and is just a short 20 minute walk from the nearest village where we enjoyed a couple of lovely meals at the pub. Lots to do in the area for all ages. All in all we had a fabulous relaxing week, just what we needed after lockdown, and very much look forward to returning to further explore the area as more facilities re-open and restrictions are lifted. Highly recommended, thanks Kate for making us so welcome and safe.



Kate Hodgson replied 6 days ago
Thank you, I'm so pleased you felt so safe and relaxed and enjoyed your holiday with us, post lock down. County Durham is beautiful, I do hope to see you again, thanks, Kate.

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I’ve lost count now of the number of visits we have had at Mill Byre, we just love coming to stay and are looking forward to our return visit in September. The views are stunning and the accommodation is top quality, it’s the perfect place for relaxing and spending time with family members, highly recommended, see you in September Kate.



Kate Hodgson replied 14 days ago
Its 13 visits and another 2 booked in! Thank you so much for staying with us and so pleased it feels like home for you. See you again in September and hopefully the sunflowers will still be out. Many thanks, Kate.

Great Family Accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Byre had everything we needed for our 2020 staycation, great accomodation with all the home comforts. We had a brilliant week and will definitely be back.



Kate Hodgson replied 21 days ago
Glad you all had fun on your staycation with us. Hope to see you another time. Thanks, Kate

my stay at Mill Byre

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Mill Byre is a pleasure to stay in providing comfort and escape from the hustle and bustle of life, looking out at the views with the fire during and a glass of wine is perfect.

kindest regards
Gary Ritchie-Bland




Kate Hodgson replied 124 days ago
We have a fantastic view for enjoying those glasses of wine and the fire is so cosy. Glad your relaxed away from it all. Many thanks, Kate.

Relaxing and comfy stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from very relaxing week at Mill Byre. Really top quality accommodation - very spacious and comfortable all round. Huge living area and each bedroom has its own style with super comfy beds. Kids loved TVs in every room and breakfast bar. Weather pretty awful with storms for much of the week but with such a nice place to stay it didn't matter. Plenty to do in local area - newly re-opened Auckland Project worth a visit as is Durham Cathedral with both fine anytime of year. Kate helpful and welcoming as always (we have stayed at Kate's other properties previously but this is our new favourite).



Kate Hodgson replied 167 days ago
Such kind words Emma, I so pleased the Mill Byre is now your favourite and you all survived Storm Dennis! You will have to try the Mill Granary next.... Hope to see you all again, many thanks Kate

Fabulous family weekend!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spend a lovely weekend at Mill Byre. Kate was so helpful from start to finish. Mill Byre was a warm, cosy, comfortable place, with plenty of space for 6 adults, a toddler, two babies and a dog! Would recommend it. Thanks again, Kate.



Kate Hodgson replied 238 days ago
That's great, I'm so pleased you all had fun. Hope to see you another time.

Weekend away

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous place for a whole family get together.
Beautiful, warm and comfortable.
Travel signage or directions for when arriving in the dark would be really helpful.




Can’t wait to return

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed in one of the cottages as part of the ‘mill granary’ cottage group and they never disappoint. Everything to the last detail is thought about and it really is a luxurious cottage with such a bright space. The set up is fantastic, the decoration is fantastic and what the cottage offers is fantastic. I really can’t wait to come and stay again. It was a wonderful family trip. The best cottage I have EVER stayed in.



Kate Hodgson replied 311 days ago
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your stay at the Byre and you all loved it. Hope to see you another time.

Fantastic Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the beginning of our inquiry to the booking, Kate was so helpful and quick with her responses to our questions. We had booked both the Byre and the Mill.
It was a beautiful place to stay and the freshly baked scones for adults and dog treats for our two dogs on arrival was a bonus. The weather was mixed but we did get in the garden and our granddaughter loved the swings, but the sandpit was unusable due the the rain and spiders.
Kate has been very thoughtful with her extra touches of a coffee machine and pops, dish washer and washing machine tabs, toiletries in every bathroom and bedroom and fresh flowers.
There were plenty of games, books and videos to keep people entertained on bad days.
Although in the Byre we were comfortable with the temperature the family members in the Mill found it a little to warm and were unable to reduce the temperature, but we didn’t ask for assistance from Kate, which we should have.
The location was ideal for a quiet family get together, we didn’t have to worry about disturbing other people, and the two buildings were only a few minute walk from each other.
The grounds are well kept and there was a nice selection of outside furniture on which to relax and enjoy the views. There were toys and outside play equipment for children at both buildings.
The only negative was some of the mattresses were a little soft, but that’s more a personal preference.
I would highly recommend the owner and this property.




Kate Hodgson replied 314 days ago
Family gatherings are always such fun, glad you all enjoyed it. Thanks, Kate

Amazing place to stay all the family love it.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time to stay we love the barn conversion and the area.

Very spacious with stunning views.

All the comforts of home and more a very special place, you instantly feel on holiday.




A birthday celebration week

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit this year for a 60th birthday celebration, even the weather couldn’t dampen our spirits, such a beautiful place to stay and Kate always makes us feel welcome, we were fortunate enough on our last evening to see the combine harvester in action during a window of fine but windy weather. We had our usual trip to the Beamish Museum together with a shopping trip in Durham. The family and our 2 labradors Barney and Rolo thoroughly enjoyed the week. A great place to stay, stunning location, very stylish and comfortable with everything you could possibly need, we have already booked to return next year, see you soon Kate.....



Kate Hodgson replied 355 days ago
Thank you so much for booking up again for your 9th visit. Sounds like the 60th birthday celebrations went well. You will be able to see the green wheat growing in the fields for your next visit. See you all next year, many thanks, Kate.

Very glad to come back to Mill Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we first visited Mill Byre in Autumn half term, we really loved it. So we thought how great it would be to return in the summer when we could get in the garden a bit more with the grandchildren. So on this second trip, in the brief intervals between the torrential rain during our holiday (!!!) we did get in the garden and the two grandchildren loved the sandpit and swings. We spent a fair bit of time inside too, sheltering from the wet, but it's no hardship. We've stayed in a number of Premier Cottages, but this is probably the most comfortable and well-designed for family living, especially the kitchen and living area. We visited Raby Castle this time (well worth a trip and just a few minutes away from the holiday cottage), and made a lot of use of all the maps and walkers guides provided at Mill Byre. A walk from Egglestone Abbey to Barnard Castle was good fun. We also visited Richmond and had a tour round the tiny Georgian theatre there. We mostly really enjoyed the local walks and the visits from our grandchildren who live close by. And we made short work of the delicious homemade lemon cake from Kate. We definitely hope to come back again.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What summer weather we are having! sounds like to made the most of your trip back to Co Durham. Hope to see you next year, may be third time lucky for the weather next time! Many thanks, Kate.

Beautiful, peaceful, happy place

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Mill Byre previously we were looking forward to our stay, and it didn’t disappoint.
Beautiful house, that is continually being upgraded...we loved the new sofas and the beds are so comfy.
Love, love, love the location, so peaceful with gorgeous views....my happy place....sitting outside with a book....nothing but the birds and rustling leaves of the trees...bliss!




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Oh I love your review. I,m so pleased to hear you had such a relaxing holiday with us. Many thanks, Kate.

Keeps on getting better

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has been updated since our last visit with a lovely refurbished kitchen,it is in a peaceful location but close to many interesting places to visit.It is ideal for a relaxing holiday.



A great few days

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great time was had by all even though the weather was not the best for this visit. I’ve lost count of how many times we have stayed at Mill Byre but we love it and are already looking forward to our next visit in August. I would highly recommend a stay at Mill Byre, a fantastic cottage in a great location, very stylish and comfortable with luxury furnishings and the most stunning views. We look forward to seeing you again in August Kate when the whole family will be joining us to celebrate a 60th birthday, we couldn’t think of a nicer place to all be together.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Roll on August for the birthday celebrations. See you all again soon, thanks Kate.

Bliss

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love this place but a week is just not long enough! I’ve forgotten how many times we have been here must be easily six or more we will be back again next year for another peaceful rest.
Thank you Kate once again for providing this wonderful retreat.
Spence and Nikki




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Its eight and thank you so much for already booking your ninth stay with us. See you all again next year, many thanks, Kate.

Amazing

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We ( 6 of us) had a fabulous relaxing break in the mill Byre cottage from Friday to Monday . March 2019
There is everything you need in this amazing comfortable home from home cottage. Attention to detail is second to none. The views over fields as far as you can see is fab and the blackness of the starry sky is so special at night.
You really don’t need to take anything but yourself. We had a lovely welcome from cake with home cooked scones.
Added bonus is that you can take dogs too .
The only thing that can spoil things is the weather
Truly amazing





Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you al enjoyed your stay at the Mill Byre, hope to see you another time. Thanks Kate.

Wonderful stay at Mill Byre

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful stay at Mill Byre! Two of us and our dog stayed at the Mill Byre for 5 days in March and what an excellent stay it was.
From the initial booking, Kate was so helpful and quick with her responses to my (many) questions. I was greeted on arrival by Kate and it was a lovely touch to have fresh scones and milk to arrive. There is also an adorable little doggy welcome pack for your fur babies including treats and blankets.
After arrival you are given complete privacy, yet the comfort to know they will be on hand for any questions or advice you might need about the local area.
The location is absolutely beautiful and tranquil, perfect for taking our little pooch out for walks on the fields and a joy to wake up to your own little slice of paradise every morning. You would have no idea anyone else was staying on the property!
The property itself is gorgeous and exceeded all expectations. Kate has thought of every possible touch to make your stay as easy and convenient as possible, from coffee pods for the nespresso machine, to washing machine tablets, dish washer tablets, a fully stocked bathroom, a huge range of DVD’s, good WiFi connection, books, and everything else you could possibly imagine for a comfortable stay. One huge bonus for me was the extremely responsive heating in the house, it was always lovely and warm to come back to. The standard of the decor is impeccable and the only problem for us was choosing which lovely bedroom to stay in! The photos on the website simply don’t do the property justice and it is far more spacious in person.
We had a car with us and commuting to and from various surrounding areas such as Durham, Newcastle, Tynemouth etc was extremely easy.
There is not a single thing we would change about our stay and we hope to be back some time in the warmer months!
Thank you for an amazing stay.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review! So pleased you loved your stay at the Mill Byre, hope to see you another time. Many thanks, Kate.

Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a perfect location and perfect accommodation for a family get together. We hope to be back next year to celebrate one of the mums 90th birthday.



Our stay at Mill Byre

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this cottage as we had several family members joining us and I had wanted three bathrooms and four bedrooms. We have also stayed in another of the owners property which was extremely comfortable and we knew the standards to expect. We were not disappointed, the barn has been beautifully furnished, very tasteful and warm. The kitchen was well equipped, with everything you need to hand and the large American style refrigerator kept all the fresh food chilled and covered. There was also good cupboard space.
You can’t not have a good nights sleep in the sprung mattress beds and the Egyptian cotton sheets were crisp, clean and well pressed. Towels are also large, soft and cosy.
You need a car to get out and about but you can walk to the centre of the village in about 15 minutes where there is a pub that serves food.
There are games to play, books to read and a television in every bedroom if you want to watch TV before you get up or go to sleep.
Mill Byre is spacious, tasteful, warm and a lovely place to stay.




Thoughtfully-designed country retreat for a family

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Mill Byre for an October half-term holiday. We had snow on the first morning but we enjoyed watching it from the cosy inside of the cottage (with its very responsive central heating). Although a converted farm outbuilding, this is all modern convenience and no hardship. A really well-designed dining kitchen with all you might need (range oven, American fridge freezer, Nespresso pod machine and milk frother); elegant decor in all the bedrooms; a really careful selection of toys, books and games that suited our whole family from the baby, the toddler, the teen and the grandparents. Everything was very comfortable, with fresh paint and smart furnishings. We've stayed in many Premier Cottages and this was one of the best. Very close to Darlington and Castle Barnard, with a number of National Trust, English Heritage, and private stately homes nearby to visit. Plus a warm and personal welcome from Kate and a homemade apple cake. We had a completely lovely time!



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What a great review, I,m so pleased everyone had fun! Hope to see you all again, thanks Kate.

We love it there it’s the perfect place to chill out

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time we love it. We had fab weather too. Big skies and beautiful sunsets. The location is stunning.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you chilled and had fun and enjoyed the crisp autumn weather. See you again next year, thank you for rebooking already. Kate.

A great week, thoroughly enjoyed by all

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say, only that this is our 6th visit to The Mill Byre, we love it here and will be back again soon. The accommodation has everything you could possible need, is very stylish and comfortable with luxury furnishings and fabrics, and stunning views of the surrounding countryside. We brought along the rest of the family for this stay and everyone had a lovely break away from it all, plenty of room for everyone including our two dogs with plenty of places to visit on the doorstep. It was lovely to see you again Kate, the new kitchen and seating area is great and done to perfection. I would highly recommend at visit.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
And the 7th visit booked up again all ready! Look forward to seeing you all next year, many thanks for choosing us yet again! Thanks Kate.

A fantastic stay at the Mill Byre cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a great week at the Mill Byre Cottage. The cottage is in a lovely secluded spot and is very quiet but the local shop and pub are only a very short drive away. The cottage was clean and well equipped and had a lovely feel to it. We managed to get out to the seaside, the Yorkshire Dales and had a day kayaking on the river Ure. All in all a wonderful experience.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great you all had fun at the Byre and enjoyed County Durham. Many thanks Kate.

Great time had by all!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent time at the converted Byre. It was a real home from home with every comfort and lots of rooms to relax in. We enjoyed days out and lovely meals in the local area. The information book provided by Kate gives lots of good tips on things to do and places to eat. The home baking was a lovely touch and very welcoming on our arrival.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you all had fun, hope to see you again. Thanks Kate

A hidden gem

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Byre is a beautiful place to stay in an area of the country which is a hidden gem. The level of comfort was exceptional - a television in each of the bedrooms which even meant we could watch the Tour de France, the World Cup and Wimbledon all at the same time!

Not that we watched much TV as the verandah was ideal for chilling at gin o'clock in the evening sunshine. We ended up cooking outside rather than going out because the weather was so good.

Highly recommeded.




Durham Graduation

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a find. Peaceful, great views, easy travel to some beautiful walking and wide choice of pubs, cafes. We were up for Durham graduation and decided to avoid the crowds and overpriced city accommodation. It only takes 35 mins to drive in so for us this location was perfect. We loved the Organic farm shop in Piercebridge and the Fox Hole for great food. Look forward to returning to explore more of this area.



Mill Byre Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfort classified as 'OK' because seating area needs updating - preferable non-leather seating. Otherwise everything, as usual, was excellent. Kate in particular was a brilliant host providing a first class service.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great to see you again for another stay. Sorry you didnt like our brand new soft leather mole skin sofas. Hope you liked the new kitchen. Many thanks Kate.

A long Weekend Away

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a long weekend at The Mill Byre and it was perfect for our family. We needed the accomodation to be good as 3 of us (along with our yorkie), would spend the majority of our time at the cottage! It also needed to be close enough for the other half to travel to Sunderland in the days. The cottage itself was lovely. It was really comfortable and beautifully done. Our oldest revising for GCSE's would lounge with her books on the wonderful patio area, with open fields all around, while the dog would potter in the garden. It was super and so relaxing. The open plan living/dining/kitchen was fabulous (and practical). The Mill Byre is beautifully done out and a great base with plenty to see and do in a short distance. We felt it was a little expensive for a weekend, however, by chance the property hadn't been booked the day after we were leaving, so the owner kindly allowed us to stay as long as we needed to on the Sunday, which was a real help for us and made up for this. We would definitely go back!



Truly stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing week the location was breathtaking. All my family loved it. The barn conversion was very spacious and comfortable and beautifully decorated. We want to go back this year too.



A superb few days.....

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Mill Byre is a lovely barn conversion nestled in the peace and tranquility of the County Durham countryside. There are beautiful views from each window in the barn which has excellent facilities, is tastefully decorated and has some really interesting pictures and artistic features. Kate, the owner was very helpful with a couple of issues we had. I would have no hesitation in returning to this idyllic spot!



Comfortable barn conversion

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very pleasant week long stay in early April. The property is a very well done single storey barn conversion. Very comfortable and well looked after.One small niggle was that although there is WiFi it is very slow.Even looking at web sites for tourist attractions took an age so don’t we thinking that you can stream films or play online games! However the property is quite isolated as is the village and it might simply be that broadband is poor in that locality. Otherwise we would certainly recommend it to anyone else.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Byre, I have now checked the broadband and there was a fault on the line which is now fixed and the speed it good again. Hope to see you another time when its a drier week! Thanks Kate.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Byre is a super holiday home with everything you need..owners are always available and welcome you warmly.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope to see you another time, thanks Kate

Short break

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in a perfect location. Great to be able to take our dogs . Will certainly book again if looking to visit area in future .



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you enjoyed County Durham and exploring the area. Hope to see you again, many thanks, Kate

Superb!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Byre surpassed our expectations. The location, views, standard of accommodation and equipment were first class. Lovely place for relaxation and a great base for touring the area. Beds comfy, showers great, luxury furnishings and fabrics and loads of space. Would definitely visit again.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Susan you such a lovely review, hope to see you both again. Kind regards, Kate

Long weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The byre is beautiful. Was perfect for us. A group of ladies getting together to celebrate a 60th birthday. It really has the wow factor. Every bit of furniture bedding etc was top quality. The views from every window are lovely. I would love to revisit in the summer to enjoy the outside patio with its fab views.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Girls weekends are always fun, hope to see you all again. Thanks Kate

Xmas 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Mill Byre was just perfect for our family Christmas!
It is a lovely cottage in a great location, comfortable with good facilities.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
You really must have had a good Christmas, and thank you for booking the Byre again for next Christmas! Have a great 2018, many thanks Kate.

Excellent break

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a short break in a beautiful well equipped cottage which was presented to a high standard. We will return



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great, hope to see you all soon. Many thanks, Kate

Another fantastic stay at Mill Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Byre is a stunning property with a fantastic lounge kitchen dinner in a beautiful setting. The bedrooms are also of a very high standard.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks, so pleased you enjoyed your latest stay with us at the Byre. Thanks Kate

Absolutely perfect for our family gathering - thank you

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Byre is a beautiful, lovingly restored, barn conversion set amidst farmland - with views across the fields that go on for miles. Extremely private, quiet and perfect for star gazing on a clear night. However, still convenient for main roads - and only 15 minutes to the wonderful town of Barnard Castle. Car parking is excellent.
The Byre has a large open plan living, dining, kitchen space - and even though there were nine of us - we didn't feel under each others feet. Natural daylight pours through the huge glass doors and windows, leading out to a lovely seating area.
It's like the tardis - bigger on the inside..... :-)
We booked Mill Byre along with the fabulous Shepherds Hut - to accommodate nine members of my family. The Shepherds Hut is a very short stroll away (about 100 steps) but the landscaping is cleverly designed to create two very distinctive, private, properties.
Quality furnishings, comfy beds and sofas and quirky little extras make this a wonderful getaway. Very well equipped kitchen.
Kate's excellent customer care even extended to our dog - doggy towel; blanket; food bowl; drink bowl and a jar of doggy treats awaited us on arrival - Arthur thanks you :-) We will definitely stay here again - we had a great time. Thank you.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Wow what a great review, I,m so pleased you all enjoyed your stay! Glad you all had fun, many thanks and hope to see you again, Kate.

Recommend highly

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The situation of the Mill Byre is perfect, wonderful views and peaceful. The excellence of the let couldn't be improved, Everything you need to a very high standard.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the lovely bottle of Champagne you left for Richard and I ! I,m so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again next year. Kind regards, Kate.

Lovely place to stay with stunning views

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we have all had a really enjoyable stay at Mill Byre. This is our 5th visit and so speaks for itself. The location is great for exploring the North East coast, there are so many places to visit all within easy reach. We highly recommend a visit, Mill Byre is stylish, very comfortable with everything you could possibly need and set in stunning countryside. We will be back to see you again Kate next year, many thanks.



Summer 17

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been using Mill Granary Cottages now for our summer break for five years now so that speaks for itself! So much to do around the north east a week is not long enough. Thanks Kate for another lovely stay, we didn't want to leave! Spence & Nicky



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for choosing us for the last five years, I,m so pleased you all enjoy the North East so much! Regards, Kate.

Mill Byre Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very agreeable week spent at Mill Byre in July. The children enjoyed having their own rooms, appreciated the large exclusive garden, and made good use of the patio and barbecue. The cottage fully lived up to the high expectations raised by the photography and description on the Mill Granary Cottages website. Warmly recommended.







Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you all enjoyed your stay at the Byre, the children have so much space to play in, hope to see you another time. Kind regards, Kate

Brilliant holidayb

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house in a lovely location with stunning views of the rolling countryside. House had everything you would need and was great for children.



Mill Byre Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spectacular cottage beautifully presented in a wonderful situ. Owner made contact early which was appreciated. We will return!!



A lovely property with fantastic views

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages in the UK over the last decade and this is definitely one of the best. Mill Byre is tastefully decorated, comfortably furnished and enjoys lovely views over the surrounding countryside.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
The views and colours are fabulous at the moment, so pleased you all enjoyed your stay, many thanks Kate

2nd year here and hopefully we'll come back next year

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here last March and loved it so much came back this March. So peaceful and nice to get away from it all. Just the relaxing break we needed, and being able to take the dogs made it perfect. Thank you again, hopefully see you next year!



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope to see you again next year for the third visit! Thanks Kate

Perfect retreat and accommodation with stunning views

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to Mill Byre this time just the two of us and Barney our Labrador and once again we had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The Mill Byre is a great place to stay with wonderful views and excellent accommodation with everything you could possible need, highly recommended to others. We look forward to our next visit in September with the rest of the family and hopefully a guided tour of the new Shepherds Hut. Thank you Kate and Richard.



Peaceful luxury

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a thoroughly relaxing week at mill byre. The converted barn was spotless and had everything you could require for a great home from home. Amazing scenery and a real away from it all feel.



Perfect retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Mill Granary Cottages the previous year so we booked in confidence regarding the location and the 5 star accommodation. As before, the property was easy to book, and the owner very ready to reply to any queries, regarding a shopping delivery etc.. This was our first time away from home for Christmas so I was a little anxious. but it was the most peaceful, relaxing Christmas I think I've ever had, completely stress free. The Mill Byre was decorated for Christmas, we just needed to arrive with our gifts. The owner had made the most amazing cakes for our arrival, a lovely personal touch.
Each room is beautifully decorated with comfortable furniture and plenty of storage. There are two en-suite double rooms and a large family bathroom, a twin and a further single room which easily serviced 7 adults. The accommodation was immaculate, which for me personally is one of the most important things, in particular as the Mill Byre allows a dog. The Mill Byre has a lovely wood burner and plenty of wood and kindling is supplied by the owners in the wood store. Everything you might need for your weeks stay, hoovers, sweeping brushes and mops which are sometimes not available in holiday homes, I cant think of anything which could have made the stay better, except maybe snow! Its a truly delightful accommodation in a beautiful place, the views are breath taking. The dark skies are amazing! We can't wait to return.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Happy New Year to you all, what a lovely review! So pleased you all enjoyed your Christmas at the Mill Byre. Many thanks, Kate

Lovely place to stay - wonderful views, and very comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay - wonderful views, and very comfortable accommodation. The owner was very friendly and helpful.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks, pleased you all enjoyed your stay. Regards, Kate.

Fabulous views

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The setting for this great barn conversion provides wonderful views and privacy. The cottage is well equipped with modern appliances and is very spacious. Our grandson loved the toys and outdoor play area. I can definitely recommend Mill Byre and hope to return.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and I do hope to see you all again, kind regards Kate

Summer Break

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really love this place, we have been here lots of times over the years. It is however starting to look a bit tired in places, sofas and kitchen mostley. But saying that It would not stop us returning in the future.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you still enjoy staying at the Byre. We are having new sofas later this year as we do always try to keep on trend. Many thanks Kate.

Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this holiday home so much that we didn't want to leave! It has been beautifully renovated and the attention to detail was amazing. I think the owners have thought of everything to make your stay a memorable one. It is in a lovely area very convenient for visiting tourist attractions or walking.
Would highly recommend it and look forward to a return visit.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you and I do hope we see you all again for another stay, thanks Kate

Mill Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at Mill Byre, great place to bring all the family together and once again we have all had a fantastic time, views are stunning, a great place to relax and enjoy the peace and quiet in a truly luxurious property situated in a great location, we would highly recommend a stay at Mill Byre and hope to see you again next year Kate.



Great Property

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for the week for my daughter's graduation, great idyllic location. If wanting to travel to durham or further afield a car is a must. Excellent facilities and really enjoyed the view from the living area.



Review of Mill bYRE

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most enjoyable holiday at Mill Byre. The location was lovely with beautiful views across open countryside. The property was excellent - beautifully presented, clean and well-equipped. The owner was very helpful on our arrival.



Fabulous family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all [mum, dad, 2 teenage sons and our dog] absolutely loved our week's stay at Mill Byre. It was as we expected and more. Very clean, spacious, relaxing, and luxurious. Stunning location especially in the sunshine which we were lucky enough to have had [4 out of the 7 days]. On arrival Kate made us feel very welcome, presenting us with wine, fresh flowers and homemade blueberry scones. A very kind and thoughtful gesture. She also gave us top tips about the area. Her information book was very detailed and useful.The Byre is well stocked in terms of relaxation and entertainment for every age. It was truly a most relaxing holiday which we all needed and worth every penny!



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a lovely review! I,m so pleased you all had a relaxing holiday. All five of the wagtails have hatched and the nest is now fit to burst, mother very busy. I have emailed you a photo of them. Hope to see you again, thanks Kate.

A family get together to attend a wedding.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Mill. Bryre a superb property with everything you need supplied. We all had a fantastic week and got to visit some of the many places around, including High Force, The Bowes museum and Barnard Castle. We were all of the same opinion that we would certainly like to visit again.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you all enjoyed the Byre, hope to see you another time. Many thanks Kate

Simply stunning in every way

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the experience was simple,from the booking to departure. Refreshing to stay in a place where everything has been really well thought out so you can relax from the moment you arrive. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the beds are really comfortable,the showers efficient and everything works as it should. The location and views are stunning, a great place to relax and near enough to local attractions to make it ideal for a family break,



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great review thank you! So pleased you enjoyed your stay back in Co Durham after leaving 40 years ago, hope to see you all again. Thanks Kate.

Beautiful accommodation in a stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved everything about our recent stay in Mill Byre; there was plenty of space for all the family, everything was in beautiful condition, the beds were extremely comfortable and the area around Ingleton has so much to offer. Am amazing find, and one we hope to come back to!



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your great review! Hope to see you another time, thanks Kate

A great stay in Mill Byre

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at Mill Byre and once again we all had a fantastic mini break away in a fantastic property with beautiful views and a very peaceful location. There are lots of places nearby to visit, the Beamish Museum being a must for anyone who hasn't been. We are looking forward to our next visit in July. Thank you Kate.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Looking forward to seeing you all again in July and hope we have fantastic summer sunshine! Thanks Kate.

I would quite happily live here

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a perfect cottage and location for myself and the family, including the dogs. The rooms were spacious and clean, the garden backs out onto open fields which was perfect for the dogs, and the rural setting and nice March weather made it one of the best and most relaxing holidays I have had. I will definitely return.

Kate came to see us on our day of arrival to make sure everything was ok, and informed us of useful (dog friendly) places to visit.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
I,m so please you are dogs had fun at the Byre and hope to see you again, thanks, Kate

An all together excellent cottage in a great location.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used Mill Byre for a week to have a family get together for family members coming from diverse locations and found the location and setting and facilities to be exact what we wanted.All our family members,plus the family dog,thought Mill Byre was excellent in all aspects.Well done Richard and Kate.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you all enjoyed the Byre and the dog had fun too. Thanks Kate and Richard.

A beautiful Cottage with fantastic views including an amazing sun set.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 couples stayed in this Cottage for a long weekend. A beautiful Barn converted detached Cottage with lots of windows where we saw fantastic views from all sides including an amazing sun set. The Cottage felt very warm and cosy and quiet. Perfect for a peaceful and relaxing getaway surrounded by fields. The rooms, bathrooms, open dining, kitchen and lounge were tastefully decorated to high specifications. The kitchen had all the amenities, crockery and utensils we needed including the basics(sugar, salt and pepper). The bed felt so cosy with crisp sheets. Each room had TV and lots of drawers and wardrobe for storage space. A pub restaurant called Blackhorse was only a 15 min walk from the Cottage perfect for a meal and drink one evening when nobody wanted to cook and just wanted to relax. A few choices for places to see and explore nearby like Beamish and Durham. We had everything that we could possibly need in this cottage ( except food) that made our weekend stay relaxing and memorable. We would highly recommend this place to all our friends and if we had to come back into this region again, we would definitely come back here to stay. Thank you.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Hope to see you again sometime for another couples treat weekend away! Thanks Kate

Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property situated in the old part of Barnard Castle. Extremely comfortable and well equipped.

Lower Teesdale is a beautiful area to explore. So much so, we are hoping to be able to visit again.




Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property situated in the old part of Barnard Castle. Extremely comfortable and well equipped.

Lower Teesdale is a beautiful area to explore. So much so, we are hoping to be able to visit again.




Cheeseborough House

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful property situated in the old part of Barnard Castle. Extremely comfortable and well equipped.

Lower Teesdale is a beautiful area to explore. So much so, we are hoping to be able to visit again.




Fantastic facillities and nice location, would highly recommend

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our stay in Mill Byre, great place to bring all the family together! It was a real home from home with everything we needed and more to make a comfortable/luxurious stay.

Good location and beautiful setting, with access to interesting places, we went to High Force & Bowes Museum, in amongst visiting family.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What good comments, thank you pleased you loved your stay at the Byre.

A lovely week at Mill Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a lovely week at Mill Byre and would not hesitate in recommending it to others. The setting and views are just perfect for a relaxing break. Barney our labrador especially liked the open garden and fields to have a run wild in. The cottage has plenty of space, is very comfortable, well equipped and is finished to a high standard with everything thought of by the owners. There is lots to do and see all within easy reach. We hope to book a return visit very soon.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you and so pleased you have already booked again for next year.

One of the best

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We often stay in cottages and converted barns in England and Mill Byre is one of, if not the best, that we have rented. The place is beautifully decorated and furnished, the beds are really comfortable and the views from every aspect are stunning. The owners have done a wonderful job converting this old shed into a high class holiday let.



A Great Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place to stay. Extremely comfortable and well equipped and to a high standard.

Kate gave us a warm welcome and gave us information of the surrounding area.

Very private and peaceful we would love to go back!




Kick back and relax

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property a real home from home in a great spot. Lots of places to visit to keep the kids happy. love the log burner and comfy beds, and wifi which is a must for the kids.



Stay at Mill Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place to stay with our friends from Scotland. Lovely views all round.Peaceful setting and cottage is very well equipped.Barnard Castle not far away for shops,museum and pubs.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad all you enjoyed your stay in County Durham, thanks Kate

Mill Byre

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second family visit.The quality of provision and facilities were excellent and outstanding. The setting and scenery are perfect for a picturesque and restful break but within easy reach of local facilities, farm shops, local butcher and good quality 'pub grub'.
The owners have thought through very carefully everything that one needs for a perfect holiday.
Alan and Sheila from Shaftesbury, Dorset(former Durham exiles)




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such kind comments, hope you come back again up north!

Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely holiday. The cottage is wonderful and the location magnificent. The weather was amazing and we were able to relax in the lovely surroundings.
Our only little gripe was there was a little bit of damage to one of the painted walls in the small bedroom and a stain on the carpet. These small issues can be resolved quite easily an inexpensively.
We will certainly return to Mill Byre.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
What a hot week you had, so pleased you all relaxed. Sorry about the mark on the carpet I washed that last week but it must not have worked I will call my carpet cleaning man out with his machine. Hope to see you again next year. Thanks Kate

Fabulous...Perfect place to relax....

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi,
me, my wife along with my in laws and our golder retriever had perfect bank holiday weekend .... the cottage is just beautiful....Our retriever just loved the open field to run wild ..... All the services and comfort are just like feel home.....

All the process from booking to arrival and exist was just smooth like a butter.... no hassles no trouble no much paperwork....and complete privacy ..... just felt awesome

on the first day we tried the recommended in takeaway the lamb was the best lamb we would had ever had.....

Thank you Very Much for awesome family weekend....




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Sounds like you all had fun! Hope to see you another time, thanks Kate

Excellent setting for a reunion of old university friends

Review submitted on Thu, 21 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been having annual reunions for over 10 years and this was the best accommodation we have had. Like the previous reviewer, we particularly liked the social space of the kitchen/lounge/diner. We didn't see a barn owl but we did enjoy watching tree sparrows popping in and out of a hole in the ash tree feeding their young, against the wonderful back-drop of the open farmland view. The welcome was warm and the accommodation very comfortable and practical. We found the location to be strategic for countryside walks filled with birdsong and flowers in farmland, river valleys and moors, as well as visits to historic towns and castles. The area deserves to be better known. We highly recommend Mill Byre.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Amazing you saw 69 varieties of birds, so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and hope to see you another time. Thanks, Kate

Easter Break 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding facilities and level of comfort for a 'getaway' family break. A family friendly setting where everything provided had been well thought through to cater for all age groups from grandad to grandchildren! The log fire was a brilliant feature.
One could feel the warmth, care and thought put into the accommodation by the owners to make our stay a very special amd memorable event.. We are all returning in the summer.

Ala, Sheila, Mark, Kally, Grace(age 8), Henri(age 4), Murphy, the chocolate labrador.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks, so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in July!

Excellent for a chill out!!

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Dec 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's was an exceptionally cold week, and the log Fire was awesome for that. Only concern end main bedroom was cold a lot of the time.

The location, facilities and condition of the rental was definitely outstanding!! Would rebook.....




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you all had a great Christmas at the Byre. The heating is all on the same system so the main bedroom should be the same as the rest of the house, I'm sorry the radiator value must have been turned down by mistake. Have a happy 2015 and a fun skiing trip. Hope to see you all again. Thanks Kate.

A family half term get away!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations all enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing half term break. With such an amazing living space with fantastic views we couldn't help but enjoy our well earned holiday.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Great to see you again and how much the kids have grown. Hopefully see you again next year, Thanks Kate

This is a MUST !

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in early October 2014. The accommodation is spacious, even luxurious, modern quiet and yet extremely comfortable and welcoming. The owners were thoughtful and very helpful and have considered your every need. Marvellous views all around. The property stands in its own ground, well away from other dwellings. The spectacular Northern Pennines
are well worth a visit and only 20 minutes away - gorgeous waterfalls and moors - as well as close to Shildon steam railway museum, Barnard Castle, Bishops Palace and other lovely attractions.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks and I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your stay in beautiful County Durham. Shildon steam railway museum is so good and I hope to meet you again. Thanks, Kate

Third Happy Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay in Mill Granary Cottages and our second in Mill Byre and it will hopefully not be our last.
Kate could not be more helpful and the cottage is beautiful. Mill Byre is tastefully restored and extremely well equipped.
Everything provided, from the bedding to the children's toys is of a high quality and contributed to the very happy and successful time we spent with our family in Co Durham. Thank you Kate.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and great you have just booked another visit. See you next month. Many thanks, Kate

Mill Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property with good situation. Very clean and well presented with lovely showers and decent water pressure! Wifi was an added bonus.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you all enjoyed your stay in County Durham with us and hope to meet you again. Thanks, Kate

Simply excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay, lots of room and really well presented. All the facilities we required were available. Highly recommended and good value for money. Brilliant location - not bothered by neighbours but close enough to all facilities.



Mill Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Mill Byre, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others. The accomodation is converted to a high standard, and in beautiful surroundings. As we have four small children, we were looking for somewhere that our children would have space to run and play....Mill Byre did not disappoint. The owner has thoughtfully included plenty of indoor and outdoor play equipment that our children enjoyed. There is so much space for children to run around, and no concerns over cars or escapees! We enjoyed the views that streched for miles, and the peacefulness of the area. The house itself had plenty of space, super comfortable beds, and great showers (always important!). The owner was friendly, and available when needed, but was not intrusive and left us to enjoy our holiday. Quite possibly the most relaxing holiday we have had....we hope to be back.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
It's great when the kids and grown ups all have a relaxing break away. So pleased you all enjoyed the Byre and hope to see you all again, thanks Kate

Great break

Review submitted on Thu, 29 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot fault the accommodation which is deceptively large and all on one level. Kate and Richard most helpful with information on surrounding area but not intrusive.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay in County Durham.

A five star stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired Mill Granary and Mill Byre at the same time for a special family occasion. We were not disappointed. Mill Byre was by no means secondary to Mill Granary. Equally of the same high standard with stunning view. Both cottages were ideally close enough to rent out together or far enough away for separate guests. Excellent accommodation with en-suite bathrooms.
An excellent, five star cottage.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your kind comments and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay. The weather was fabulous so you could all enjoy the gardens. Thanks, Kate

Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed staying at Mill Byre and Kate( the owner) was very kind and helpful. The accommodation was very comfortable and I can't think of anything to criticise.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again. Kate

A lovely break in the country

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our time in Mill Byre very much - it is in a wonderfully peaceful setting and is beautifully equipped and provisioned. It was ideal for our very small children, with a safe and secluded garden with play-area, but also for ourselves, with its spacious open-plan living area, homely wood-burning stove, and comfortable bedrooms. We would recommend it warmly to anyone.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
A big family get together is always nice, so glad you all enjoyed your stay at the Byre. Hope to see you again thanks, Kate

My secret

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful place. In fact I do not want to share it with others, I want to keep it a secret so that we are able to go whenever we like.
A wonderful cottage in a wonderful location, with wonderful, friendly kind hosts. I will be back.




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your great comments and I'm so glad you all enjoyed your break away with your mum, hope to see you all again. Kate

Lovely base for break with children

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage with open fields for view and seclusion to enjoy. Great base from which to visit a multitude of local activities suitable for good and bad weather. Well equipped and comfortably furnished.



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you all enjoyed your half term break with us. Check our web site for the two bedrooms I have totally changed since your stay. Thanks, Kate.

Excellent accomodation

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage in a good location, we were made to feel very welcome and everything about the cottage had a feeling of quality about it. Would certainly recommend it to others and would use again ourselves with no hesitation



Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see all again at the Mill Granary Cottages. Kate X

Perfect weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect place for rest and relaxation. We enjoyed a family get-together in a gorgeous property in lovely surroundings. Hope to fit in another visit.

Ideal for all - disabled and children




Kate Hodgson replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you all enjoyed your stay and had a good rest at The Byre, hope to see you again. Thanks, Kate.