FB Twitter

Orchard Cottage

Orchard Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Four bedrooms (2 doubles and 2 twins with "zip and link" beds) all with en-suite bathrooms, large open plan living and dining area with wood burner and two main seating areas and an integrated kitchen area. Outside: large private terrace with barbeque and access to the orchard.

Lovely cottage with everything you need

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Orchard Cottage and would consider returning. Rooms are spacious and the cottage is well equipped. Dawn the owner was welcoming without being intrusive. Somewhere to go to get away from it all.



Just what the Doctor ordered

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a very long and frustrating year the stay at Mornacott was just what we all needed. We had a truly wonderful and relaxing stay in this beautiful cottage. So much attention to detail and everyone could not have been more friendly and helpful.



Excellent Staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Orchard Cottage. The children loved collecting the eggs and meeting the (very!) friendly chickens and getting to know Apple and Crumble the rabbits. We all loved the indoor pool and the children's confidence soared being able to use it every day. The cottage was immaculate and the staff friendly and approachable. Great Holiday!!



Great place for a getway

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We much enjoyed our brief stay. The cottage was perfect and the staff very friendly. we took two cottages for a big birthday celebration with friends and had a great time. The Cottages were toasty warm and the facilities were brilliant, especially the pool and sauna. Thanks to all at Mornacott



A brilliant place to stay for our family Christmas. Lots of space (we also rented Barn Cottage)

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this cottage and the nearby Barn cottage for our extended family. There were 10 adults and 5 children aged from 1 to 5. The owners and managers were very helpful in making this a great Christmas venue. They added an extra table and provided plenty of china and cutlery so we could all sit round the table. There was lots of room for the children to play and for the adults. Getting a Christmas tree to decorate was lovely. The children loved seeing the animals, the chickens, rabbits and the cows. The swimming pool was a great bonus as the weather was awful on some of the days. Having plenty of bathrooms was also fantastic. Our son's in laws stayed in nearby Barn cottage which was nice as they had a little space to themselves but were near enough to use a baby monitor. We ordered some ready meals which were delicious and good value(fed more than the number suggested). All in all we had wonderful Christmas and felt this was a great taste of England for our American relatives.



Andrew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we're always delighted when our guests enjoy their stay with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Perfect stay for the whole family

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very luxurious with plenty of space for all three generations of the family. There’s so much to do onsite (Grandpa and our two oldest boys loved the fishing and we tried our hand a clay pigeon shooting) that we rarely left although one or two local pubs were really good and reasonably priced.
This was our second visit and we weren’t disappointed.
Highly recommended.




Andrew replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for submitting a review. We're always delighted when our guests enjoy their stay and we look forward to seeing you back for your next break for which we've now received the booking.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, very clean and well equipped. Hosts always available. Excellent pool, sauna and games room. Would definitely recommend- in fact already have!



Highly recommended for a relaxing weeks holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at Orchard Cottage and made full use of the facilities, walks, night drive and included a daily swim. The location is remote, so you do have to drive if you want to eat out, but we were happy with our day time excursions and staying in the accommodation at night. We did use a local reliable taxi company one evening to enjoy an amazing meal out at the Mason's Arms. The information provided by Mornicott was extensive and allowed us to plan our holiday well before our arrival, including selecting pubs to visit for lunch and pre-ordering a BBQ pack for use on the day that we arrived. We were also able to arrange a Sainsbury's grocery delivery for when we arrived saving us transporting food from our home which we topped up during the week via visits to South Molton's Sainsbury's and the Pannier market (Thursday). We particularly enjoyed the home cooked scones which were waiting for us on our arrival and that there was sufficient provisions to allow us to have a cup of tea with the scones whilst waiting for the groceries.



Superb!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time staying at Mornacott and we would definitely come for another stay. As we arrived in the picturesque location we experienced a warm and heart warming greeting which include a cake, milk and eggs! We were immediately impressed and it all got better from there.

The cottage was a fantastic building with more than enough room for the family. We visited the lovely pool facilities for a cooldown after a long journey from Surrey, the heated swimming pool supplemented by the games room went down fantastically well with the children. During our week stay which seemed to fly by, we utilised the walks through the countryside which were helpfully set up, so even we couldn’t get lost. The surrounding area was also lovely to visit during the week. As our brilliant stay came unfortunately to an end we were presented with a book detailing the history of Mornacott, it was great to see how this lovely place has developed.

We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Mornacott to anyone looking for a holiday.




Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I took my husband and children to Orchard Cottage for a week long break. We had a wonderful time, truly relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable. We spent most of our time exploring and the cottage made for the perfect home base to come back to. It felt warm and welcoming and we will definitely be coming back again. The pool was excellent and the sauna was a welcome change from other holiday cottages we’ve stayed at. Orchard cottage stood head and shoulders above the competition in terms of cleanliness and homely feel. We had all the commodities which we have at home and the cottage was very comfortable. Rest assured we’ll be coming back next year, or maybe sooner.



short stay in April

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect accomodation to share time with friends and family. Open living space with great log burner brings all together with spectacular views over the valley. Very relaxing and the seperate pool complex is first class as well. We were made very welcome throughout and lovely to be on a working farm. Excellent all round.



Superb….what more can I say

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in the cottage a made full use of all of the activities on offer. Charles, the estate manager, took all of us clay pigeon shooting and quickly got us all on target.

The cottage itself was lovely and light and airy with beautiful oak beams. It was very well equipped.

The swimming pool was quite superb and spotlessly clean and we bought meat from the shop for barbeques and some wonderful sausages, bacon and eggs for our breakfast. What a treat!

We usually try somewhere new every year but unanimously decided to book Mornacott again next before we left.




Fantastic cottage .... wonderful location

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve stayed at Mornacott twice before but this time we booked two of the lovely cottages over a very cold January week for a big family birthday party. The cottages were beautifully warm (heated by the large biomass boiler that heats the whole place) and the lovely log burner in the cottage was probably only a luxurious decoration and certainly not needed but fun to relax in front of in the evening.

It’s often difficult with these sorts of reunion to please everyone with the different ages involved but the children (from 5-16) loved the heated swimming pool and the games room and most of the adults enjoyed the lovely mapped out walks (even dragging some of the initially reluctant children on one or two of them).

For the “big event” we used the magnificent entertaining barn. Joanna the chef cooked two sittings, one for the younger children who were then whisked away to a babysitter after their supper and another for the older children and adults. The meal, the crisp linen table cloths, fine china and cut crystal were all very spoiling and the dinner (nearly all of the ingredients coming from the estate farm) was superb.

We cannot recommend Mornacott more highly. The facilities are excellent and the whole team really helpful. All of the arrangements (and we had loads of requests for the dinner!) were dealt with in a very efficient and friendly manner and the champagne (together with their normal “welcome pack”) was a thoughtful and much appreciated touch.





Wonderful cottage, great location and great people

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Orchard Cottage for what seemed like a really short week.

The cottage is superbly equipped, very comfortable and with views to die for. The weather was glorious and having breakfast in the sun on the terrace every morning was truly relaxing. Our "grumpy" teenagers were a delight all week as they loved the pool and other facilities and the staff at Mornacott were so friendly and helpful. We did an evening safari which is highly recommended and we all learned so much about the wildlife that we saw from our very knowledgeable guide.

We barbecued most evenings with steak and sausages from the farm and we were even able to buy some meat to take home with us which will remind us of our glorious holiday every time we eat it!




Idyllic Countryside Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Modern and well furnished countryside cottage located within peaceful surroundings with a good size indoor heated swimming pool as an extra bonus.
Well equipped games room for the kids.




A Lovely Stay in Orchard Cottage - highly recommended, we want to go back soon

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved our time at Orchard Cottage. The property was lovely and in a fantastic, peaceful and very beautiful setting.
Louise was very welcoming and friendly throughout our stay. She is a great asset. The swimming pool and games room were very popular as was Patch, the farm Jack Russell. The cottage itself was immaculate, very well appointed and had everything needed for a very comfortable stay. It's the sort of place you would be very happy to live in all the time and the view was superb!
There are some great walks around the farm and Mornacott is well situated as a base for touring the area.
When we were leaving Louise kindly presented us with a hardback book detailing the history of Mornacott and how the property and farm have been carefully restored - it was a really nice touch and very much appreciated as a memento of our stay.

All in all we would very highly recommend Mornacott and Orchard Cottage in particular - we will most definitely return to this lovely spot.




An excellent holiday cattoage

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect week at orchard cottage. Louise is very helpful and provides a lovely friendly welcome. The cottage is very comfortable in a stunning location. It has every thing you need if you are going to eat. The pool is excellent.



Fantastic Festive Family Break

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Orchard Cottage exceeded our expectations. It was perfect for 4 adults and 3 children wanting to spend Christmas together. Louise was extremely welcoming and friendly and was always on hand if needed. The swimming pool, games room and hens were a huge hit for all of us. We also enjoyed one of the recommended walks. A thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing break away!



An excellent property in stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is very well equipped and furnished to a high standard. The location and views are excellent, as is the pool / sauna and games room. Highly recommended.