FB Twitter

Barn Cottage

Barn Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Three bedrooms (1 double and 2 twins with "zip and link" beds), family bathroom and en-suite shower room, open plan kitchen dining area and separate "snug". Outside: private garden with terrace and barbeque.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week. Lovely facilities and cottage was well equipped. Pool was wonderful and the kids loved being on a real farm.



Bright and airy but full of character

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely cottage. we were welcomed with a fresh home baked cake and enough basics for a cup of tea whilst we waited for the online shopping to arrive. The estate feels really out in the country but is no more than five minutes from the main road with access to the beaches and other attractions. Everything is beautifully presented and all the staff clearly take pride in what they do. We had a problem with the cooker on the third night of our stay and we were offered the use of another in an entertaining barn which we didn't actually take up and the electrician arrived first thing and sorted the problem. Full marks!
We will definitely be back. Thanks Mornacott!




Wonderful summer holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Barn Cottage for a week's holiday during the summer. It was the perfect location for a week in the countryside and my two boys loved having the space to roam and explore while also having all the home comforts that they would in our family home. We could not have asked for a better stay, the swimming pool and games room gave us plenty to keep the boys occupied and the cattle, sheep, pigs and rabbits will be remembered fondly. The night-time Safari was exciting for the boys who don’t usually get to see deer that close, and in such numbers. Charles was very knowledgeable and a charming host for the evening.



How can a week be so short

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I start? The cottage is brilliantly done and it has a very homely feel. We were greeted on arrival and were instantly made to feel at home in the the friendly environment. The heated pool, sauna and the additional games room were a huge family highlight. It is lovely to have this as it really adds to the scenery and activities. We enjoyed fishing on the lake and additionally the Night Time Safari conducted by the ever friendly Charles who made it a memorable experience for the whole family.

To supplement all of the onsite facilities and activities there are also lots of activities and places to visit around Mornacott, These are very clearly set out in a very helpful booklet listing anything we needed to know. This was incredibly helpful when looking to eat out in the evenings.

As a family we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be visiting again next year.




short stay in April

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Barn Cottage for our friends whilst having our family in Orchard Cottage. Their experience was the same as us and they loved it. Excellent all round.





A quiet and peaceful break in lovely surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week's break in this well furnished, warm and comfortable cottage. The pool and sauna were a real bonus and we enjoyed some lovely country walks.



Delighful week in deepest Devon

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a truly excellent week. Everything was so clean and perfect, and the children just loved the swimming pool, feeding the pigs, rabbits and chickens and found the safari amazing. It is such a pity that there isn't a five bedroom property so that I could bring the whole family but maybe we'll book one of the other two cottages as well next time.
All of the staff were really friendly and helpful and despite the plans we'd made before the holiday to visit loads of places we had everything that you could wish for at Mornacott and rarely left other than for the occasional trip to the beach (although the sea was still rather cold!).




Fabulous location, amazing swimming pool!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Barn Cottage a few years ago and were not disappointed on our return, especially since the addition of the fantastic swimming pool. The pool really made our holiday and is spacious, clean and really well equipped.

The cottage itself is lovely too; clean, comfortable and well equipped. Surroundings beautiful and peaceful and we received a very warm welcome, including scones with clotted cream and jam!

There were only two things we thought could have improved our stay:

1. The TV in the cottage is really tiny! We like watching films in the evenings and the screen was just too small to be able to enjoy this, especially for my 80 year old mother in laws who could barely see the screen from her seat.
2. The outside steps leading down to the pool area were very difficult for mother in law to negotiate and the addition of a hand rail would have made the pool much more accessible.

All in all we had a fabulous stay, thanks!





Andrew replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted that you had another good visit to Mornacott. I'm sorry that you found the television screen too small. It's a 24" screen which we've always felt was suitable for the size of the room but I understand that your mother-in-law had difficulty viewing this. For any future visits if you need easier access to the swimming pool for anyone with limited mobility we're always happy to open the gate alongside the pool area which allows access without using the steps.

Lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Mornacott to meet up with family locally. It was a wonderful place to stay for a family holiday. The cottage was exceptionally clean with a homely feel. We were made to feel very welcome. We loved the wood burner. The swimming pool was also wonderful. It is a great location to explore.



Monarch of the Glen

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not the TV series or even a deer (although we saw plenty at Mornacott) ....... it's what we felt like during our week in Barn Cottage!

The cottage is superb and very homely sitting half-way up a hill with tremendous views of the surrounding countryside.

Lots to do at Mornacott - we tried some fishing on the lake, an evening safari and did some clay pigeon shotting with the boys who had a wonderful time. The pool was great too and we often had to ourselves (there are only 2 other cottages). The boys enjoyed being able to kick a football around in the evening on the games field.

Particularly good was being able to order "ready meals" made with the farm's own produce for when we arrived and several times during the week when we were feeling lazy.




Excellent holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Barn cottage at the Mornacott Estate is a beautiful converted cottage. It provided everything needed when taking a holiday in England. Even the weather was good! The beds were so comfortable. Fresh eggs were supplied from the chickens whenever needed and our Grandson (aged 5) loved feeding the pigs and fell in love with the resident dog Patch. An added bonus was the indoor swimming pool and games room, which we used every day. I cannot recommend the cottages on Mornacott enough.



Truly exceptional

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a late summer break at Barn Cottage, this being our second visit to Mornacott, and we simply can't fault it. All of the staff are really friendly but in an unobtrusive way - there if you need anything and always happy to help and chat.
The facilities are really excellent, the pool and sauna topping the bill which we had to ourselves most days as there are only three cottages.
We'd ordered a lasagne as we were due to arrive late and this was ready for us in the cottage fridge. It was delicious as was the barbecue pack that we had later in the week - both are made from beef from the farm (talk about "food miles" this was "food yards"!).
We have two big birthdays and a special wedding anniversary coming up next year and are planning to take all three cottages and use their entertaining barn for a big family meal.