FB Twitter

Walmgate Cottage

Walmgate Cottage

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 4 reviews
50% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.3
Condition
3.8
Location
4.5
Value
3.5
Customer
Service
3.5


Tucked away in a Grade II listed development, Walmgate Cottage has been recently renovated and finished to a very high standard. Combining quirky original features with modern conveniences and a secluded city centre location, Walmgate Cottage is perfect for exploring York.

Lovely comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in the cottage for three months and I was very sad to leave. It's very comfortable, private and secure. The team at stays york were really nice to communicate with. Always quick to reply to emails and answer questions.
Would definitely recommend this cottage and this company if looking for a short term rental property. It's right In the centre of York with everything needed on the doorstep


Kay Louise from Barnsley stayed at Walmgate Cottage for 97 nights in December 2020


Stays York replied 116 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to send us the lovely review - its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you are able to visit us again in the not too distant future!

Beautiful cottage - shame about the smashed window!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
This is a beautiful cottage in a great location but unfortunately the beginning of our stay was spoiled by arriving to a smashed window.

After paying over £200 per night for our stay, we certainly weren't expecting this.

This issue was made worse by the fact that we weren't told the truth by the agent when I called to report the problem. I was firstly told thank you for reporting the problem, then told it was too late in the day to fix it. When I queried why the cleaner hadn't reported it earlier, I was then told they had only been aware of the problem for 2 days!! In no way is it acceptable to have guests arriving into a property with a window smashed through which has been known about for 2 days!! The excuse used was that the glass needed measured which I imagine would have taken 5 minutes?

This issue was eventually partially solved after I asked to speak to a manager and mentioned complaints and refunds. However we then ended up in a property with a boarded up window for the duration of our stay.

It is a real shame we encountered this issue as the property was otherwise lovely, but this extremely stressful start to our holiday means I won't be booking through York Stays again.



Emma from stayed at Walmgate Cottage for 4 nights in August 2020


Stays York replied 341 days ago
Following on from your review we would like to take this opportunity to reply to the issue that you have raised. We are really very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with the service that you have received whilst staying at the property. As you have said the window panel was broken in the bottom right hand corner, it is a small panel, part of a number making up the window. The office had been informed within the last 48 hours of the issue, however given the current level of bookings being experienced across York we were struggling to get someone out to the property. You had called our office on the afternoon of your arrival and we managed to arrange for someone to visit the property who placed a board over the panel area, this was done on the same day. The board only covered the panel that was damaged and not the entire window. Due to the age of the property and the fact that it is a small panel, the glass has to be made and we are currently still awaiting delivery. It is unfortunate that due to the current situation things are taking more time than they normally would and we are trying our very best in what are still proving to be very difficult times. It is very unfortunate that this experience tainted your overall impression of Stays York and we are very sorry to hear that you will not be using us again as we would value the opportunity of demonstrating the strong customer service levels that pride ourselves on.

Very good property would fully recommend it.

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful property, fantastic position,close to everything. Quiet and peaceful in the centre of the city. Loved the geese swimming by in the river Foss below the window.

Mike from stayed at Walmgate Cottage for 3 nights in November 2019


Needs some improvement

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good location. Extremely clean. Really good interior design. Car parking not easy at least a 5 minute walk to the parking zone difficult to find in the dark.
Bedroom windows won’t open so rooms stuffy. Most of the window blinds broken.
Chair in the bedroom broke when I sat on it I went flying! Washing machine didn’t work, shower only worked ( just) after I reported it!
No access to fuse box or internet modem I had a power cut when I was there.


Jane from stayed at Walmgate Cottage for 7 nights in October 2019


StaysYork replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are really sorry to hear that you weren't 100% happy with your accommodation. Walmgate is a lovely home, part of a listed building right in the centre of York. Unfortunately the position does mean that parking straight outside the property isn't possible, but it is a very short distance away to park your car. During your stay as soon as we were informed about the problems the owner came out to the property to check the matters raised. We always strive to achieve the very best standards for our guests and try to rectify any problems as soon as they arise. Feedback is important to us and we have taken note of the areas that you have highlighted.