FB Twitter

The Smithy

The Smithy

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.7


An extremely spacious one bedroom cottage within easy reach of the city centre. Equipped to the highest standard with outdoor patio space and plenty of parking, this property makes for a great break in the city.

Great holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great experience staying at the Smithy for a couple of weeks. It's surprisingly quiet for being just off of the main road, and there are several pubs and restaurants nearby for meals. The nearest grocery stores are a 10-15 min walk away, which is a bit inconvenient if you're planning on cooking, but it's easy enough to pop by on your way home as they're on the way from the city centre. For sightseeing, there is an easy bus route into York, or a lovely walk along the river if the weather's nice. The cottage itself was charming - extremely well renovated and modern, with lots of light, clean and cosy. It's the perfect size for a couple, and we thought it was great value.

Stays York provide excellent customer service, responding to questions quickly and professionally, and giving us clear directions that made the check-in/out process very smooth. We will definitely book with them again!


Anna from York stayed at The Smithy for 11 nights in March 2020


A Wonderful break

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Smithy is the perfect property for a weekend stay in York.
Contemporary high end appliances in kitchen. Modern lounge . Simply gorgeous.
Upstairs a bright contemporary bedroom with double bed. Plenty of hangers and drawer space for clothes.
Contemporary bathroom with walk in shower again beautifully clean and bright .
Situated in a far corner of a court yard off a busy main rd. However you would never know the road was there.
Small paved patio to the rear of property with table and chairs which was a lovely bonus to have some outside space with the fab weather. Came with parking for one car . Buses are frequent so leave the car and get the bus . Lovely pubs and Fish & Chips shop all very close by.
When next visiting York will book again
Thanks to Bea at stay York answered all my questions promptly


Mandi from stayed at The Smithy for 3 nights in September 2019


Very good accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The accommodation was excellent. Couple of issues need to be addressed. Better description of how to adjust the heating system. Better description as how to lock the front door. We needed to ask the neighbours for instructions

Guest from stayed at The Smithy for 5 nights in April 2019


The Smithy

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location. 35 minute walk to the City Centre either along the main road or down by the river. If it is not flooded! Delightful.
3 pubs 2 of which serve food and an excellent fish and chip shop and a hotel that we can go to eat and drink in. All within a few hundred yards.
Designer outlet shopping 20 minute walk or 5 mins by car or bus. You will need transport to return with some bargains.
York possibly one of my favourite cities. Beautiful just to walk around with all its history. But also interesting shops. And museums enough for every interest. And pubs.
The accommodation was terrific. A secluded private area to eat out in. Which may be best in summer. The Smithy is private off the main road in a mews. The facilities its decor cleanliness warmth comfort were all that we could have wanted or asked for. The neighbours were friendly We were invited to their party as they did not want us to be inconvenienced by it. We weren’t and we enjoyed ourselves.
In short a great stay. Thanks.


Richard from stayed at The Smithy for 4 nights in December 2018


High quality contemporary accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife & I were delighted with this little town house. Light and spacious. High quality fittings & furnishings. Spotlessly clean. Complimentary toiletries & tea/coffee. The car space allowed us to leave the car parked at the house and use the frequent bus service to visit York. The managing agents were friendly and efficient in resolving some small issues which we countered while we were there. When our holiday came to an end, we didn't want to leave !

David from stayed at The Smithy for 6 nights in September 2018


Perfect Place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Smithy is a nice place to have holiday in York/ Yorkshire. It is a conviniently place but nevertheless quiet and relaxing. The house has all the environment, that you need. Our two weeks of holiday were perfekt.

Guest from stayed at The Smithy for 14 nights in July 2018


Mostly Good

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
On the whole we would recommend The Smithy but on arrival the cooker wasn't very clean at all nor were the baking trays. There was a Microvave included in the spec. but there wasn't one in the property. When we contacted Stays York they contacted the owner and a microwave was delivered to outside the front door, even though we were in the property at the time. When we found it we realised why no one had rung the bell - the microwave had a foot missing and was filthy inside and out. Otherwise the property was lovely and we enjoyed our stay.

Kevin from stayed at The Smithy for 7 nights in July 2018


Stays York replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the review. The lack of microwave in the property was an oversight on our part but was put right the same day. The microwave that was dropped to the apartment should certainly not have been in need of a clean though and we would certainly apologise for that. We're pleased to hear that otherwise you had an enjoyable stay and were very happy with the property. Just to confirm, the issue with microwave has been resolved for future guests.