FB Twitter

34 St Olave's

34 St Olave's

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.1
Location
4.7
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.6


A spacious 3 bedroom house on a quiet residential street, yet easy walking distance to York city centre.

A lovely house close to the town centre

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great house and so close to the town centre. The house had a real homely feel, the 2 living rooms were great and the kitchen was well equipped. We even managed to cook a full Sunday roast!
The bedrooms were of a good size and the beds were comfy, if a little soft in the master bedroom. The bathrooms were great especially the slipper bath. Unfortunately we couldn't get the water hot enough to run a really warm bath, but the shower pressure was good.




An ideal location for visiting York

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 4 nights here and enjoyed our stay. It's a tastefully decorated house in a quiet neighbourhood, just a 10 minute walk to St.Peter's Gate. The key collection was easy and we had a parking permit and could park right outside the front door. The house is spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Some soap and shampoo would have been an added bonus!
Would highly recommend this property.




Lovely Family Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My family and I had a fantastic stay at St Olaves at the end of June. The house is beautifully furnished and decorated throughout although showing some signs of age - saying that, this didn't detract from our stay at all, it was incredibly clean. The kitchen was well equipped and there were some lovely thoughts with tea/coffee bits and pieces available on our arrival. The use of the key safe meant that there were no problems getting in or out (or indeed the requirement for a single person being responsible for looking after them!).St Olaves was certainly a home away from home and would recommend it to anybody who wanted to explore the city by foot. My sister had brought her baby and found no issues getting about or storing the pushchair either which made things so easy! The street was quiet even given its location.

Only note is that there is a single car parking permit and given that we had three couples travelling from different parts of the country we had to organise our own separate parking for two cars, to be expected given the proximity to the city but good to know ahead of time!




Great place to stay in York!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family group of 7 people ranging in age from 1 year to 82 years and we all had a super stay in St Olaves!
We had plenty of space with 2 living rooms and the bedrooms were comfortable. It was a short 10 minute walk into the centre of York and 15minutes to the station pushing a push chair and therefore ideally situated for our stay. Definitely recommended for anyone wanting to visit this beautiful historic city!




A fantastic property

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in various rental houses around this area and St Olaves was one of the best.

Very spacious with plenty of sofa space and everything that you would need provided. High quality fixtures and fittings throughout and even Virgin media on the Tv with BT sports and Netflixs.

Ideally located just a short walk from the city centre and riverside with a sainsburys local just around the corner.





St olaves

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location, showers need cleaning more thoroughly and water damage to lounge ceiling. Would recommend moving boiler as not very practical to have rightnnect to third bed (or make clear in advert). Thank you



Quick family break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The position is perfect for shopping. The road is quiet and smart. The property is perfect for six, we had five. The courtyard is pleasant, with just enough room for our three dogs, we brought two large dogs and one little one. We took the dogs to the racecourse to exercise them as the dales are about an hour away in the car. Would recommend this property for exploring York city.



wedding stay

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Property was very good two points that let it down . The cleaners were still working in the property after 3 pm so we could not get in . The dustbin was overflowing with 3 black bin bags full of rubbish next to it. There was no recycling bins either .



Accommodating, comfortable place close to downtown.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay at St. Olave's! It was more spacious and accommodating than we expected, with two sitting areas and an expansive kitchen / eating area as well as multiple bathrooms. It was also away from all of the commotion of the downtown but an easy walk to all the museums and sites. We also loved the working fireplaces that added warmth and comfort. We LOVED York and would happily stay here again!



Lovely week

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived with husband and arrived later son wife two granddaughters. Two small dogs. House was lovely and very spacious so we where not crowding each other. Two showers and three bathrooms so no fighting for toilets. Would like to of seen locks on toilet doors. A welcome pack of tea coffee chocolate was nice touch. Some dishes had chips in them but in all kitchen utensils where of plenty. Would of liked more of one washing cloth and cleaner. As had to buy some to clean toilets which I like cleaned every day. Rooms where lovely and comfortable from sitting rooms to bedrooms. Some of the paint work eg living room ceiling could do with touch up. Had problem with tumble dryer but Annabelle was very efficient and sorted this out. This property is so close to York city centre so ideal for sightseeing and eating out. Very quiet street and neighbours. In all had great comfortable relaxing stay and would use again.Beautiful property.



A summer week at St Olaves

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
St Olaves is a beautifully presented terraced home only a 10 min walk from the city wall. On street parking available and a resident's parking permit is supplied. We visited with our three girls and the second lounge was a big plus. The luxury Kitchen is very well appointed and there was a very good range of crockery, utensils etc. Bedrooms were very comfortable and addition of pull out bed in triple room meant all the girls could share. Never a shortage of hot water. Rear courtyard garden although quite small had a table and chairs and was a lovely quiet spot to enjoy a drink in the evening. Only complaint, although not a fault of the house, really, was the bedrooms were uncomfortably warm due to the hot weather.



Celebratory Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely weekend stay at St Olave's. The accommodation suited our needs having three separate bedrooms. It was clean and comfortable. The eating area is nice and light with doors out to a small patio. We appreciated the welcome goodies eg local coffee and chocolate. It was just about a 15 minute walk to the centre of York. The street itself is nice and quiet with parking available. There is a small supermarket fairly close at hand for any essentials. York itself is a lovely city with plenty to do and places to eat. We also went out to Castle Howard, about 15 miles from York which was well worth the visit.
Some minor niggles were some of the crockery was a bit chipped, some lights were not working and in the three bathrooms there was no locks on the doors. ok if you are a family but for mixed groups might be a little awkward.




An excellent house is a perfect location. Clean, smart and with a great court yard.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is clean, smart and well maintained, in a quiet residential street. It is walking distance from York, itself a gem of a small city, interesting, close to the Dales and a great variety of eateries.

The house has everything you need for a perfect stay, two bathrooms and a downstairs toilet, spacious kitchen, two lounges and French windows leading onto a completely enclosed court yard, perfect for four legged friends, who are made very welcome.
We have been before and we will be back again.




Wonderful long weekend in York.

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our party of six was visiting the Uk from Canada. After spending time with family in Cornwall and Wales we headed off on our own to explore the walled city of York. Upon arriving at St. Olave's we found a spacious, welcoming home. The house has been updated throughout while keeping the charm of an older home. The bathrooms were very stylish and the modern kitchen was well appointed. A supply of coffee, tea and chocolate bars greeted us at arrival. There was plenty of room to relax after long days of exploring the many attractions of York. The house was about a fifteen minute walk from the city walls, the main tourist area, restaurants and stores. We all enjoyed York and and our stay at St. Olave's.



Well recommended,will definitely return

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I have stayed in many hotels in the york area.This lovely welcoming,well equipped home,only 1000yds to the city walls is in a fab location.
We went as a family,2 adults a young teenager and two younger children. The two separate living rooms were great for keeping the peace! The kitchen and eating areas were clean and well equipped,although we did have to purchase egg cups and a slotted spoon for our eggs.
The children all loved their beds and slept soundly.there is a further pull out bed if needed.
Our bed had too softer mattress and pillows for our liking,but this is only a personal preference.
The main bathroom had a HUGE bath that I could virtually lie flat in,
The mirrors in the house have been fitted by a tall male as I am 5’5” and could just about see my full head in them......they could do with lowering to suit all heights.
A few stains in the ceiling in the front lounge and other areas of paint work needs touching up,but nothing that would put you off staying.
A thoroughly enjoyable break and we will definitely return.Highly recommended