FB Twitter

The Barn

The Barn

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 5 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.4
Location
4.2
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


The Barn

Bank holiday break

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing break with friends. The Barn is a clean and pleasant accommodation which could take 7 - two doubles (one end suite), one twin and a single on a open landing above the living area with one shared bathroom, shower over bath. We soon learnt that only one person could shower at a time as using both the showers at the same time resulted in extreme temperature fluctuations.

The bottle of Apple juice left for us on arrival was very welcome and the hand wash and shampoos etc. I'm the bathroom were a welcome addition.

Do remember to take your own towels for use at the hot tub which is in a fenced off private patio area. There's a BBQ as well so come prepared with charcoal if you would like to use it.

Wi-Fi worked very well but phone signals variable all over the area depending on your network.

Small problem with flies but fly paper and spray were provided.

We enjoyed visits to Haynes motor museum, Wookey Holr, Seaton tramway and Clarke's Village. Information was provided for walking routes but in summer beware some paths a bit overgrown with steep concealed ledges. We are at the Farmer's Arms and The Bird in the Hand, lovely meals at both but do book for Sunday lunch.

Overall very clean and comfortable accomodation, ideal for a short break.


Selina from stayed at The Barn for 5 nights in August 2021


Amazing escape to the country

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn is located on a cattle farm which also grows strawberries and makes cider. What’s not to like?!! There are 3 bedrooms and an extra bed on the mezzanine. Our teenage son immediately claimed that as his lair. The main bedroom has an en-suite and there is a further large bathroom to service the other rooms. The kitchen has everything you need in terms of equipment and accessories. We were pleasantly surprised as usually there is something you need and it isn’t there. If you were to discover something , the owners would be more than happy to help. The Barn was spotless, the bedding of good quality and the biggest, most amazing towels. We stayed for 2 weeks and were given fresh laundry at the end of the first week. The hot tub is serviced everyday and it is a delight to come home to after a long day or to sit in and watch the stars. There are chickens and geese who have a daily promenade past the front door and will look in if it is open. A delightful sheep dog called Tess may pop by for a chat. The farm is located just outside Taunton and is perfectly located for exploring; Glastonbury, Clark’s Village, Exmoor, Weston-Super-mare, Wells and lots more are all a short drive. Kilve Beach is amazing for fossil hunting. There is a walking map in the Barn which is worth a study, the countryside is breathtaking. There are a host of pubs and independent restaurants nearby - we went to the Farmer’s Arms twice it is so good. Taunton has a cinema and bowling alley should you have a rainy day or fancy some evening entertainment. Taunton is also home to Somerset County Cricket ground so check for matches - our son went to watch and had a hugely enjoyable day. If you want peace and quiet, Big sky and bright stars, plenty of choices for day trips and stunning scenery, this is your place. We loved staying here and would go back in a heartbeat.

Colin from stayed at The Barn for 14 nights in July 2021


Short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jul 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (family of 5) went on a last minute break. Can’t fault the accommodation except for the amount of flies. Could really do with a fly strip or trap of some sort. Unfortunately with Covid a lot of places were still closed which meant we were restricted with what we could do especially as teenagers weren’t interested in scenic walks! Beaches are about 45 minutes away and Taunton is the main town which is about 15 mins away. Would recommend the boat centre for kayaking which was nearby.

Karen from stayed at The Barn for 4 nights in July 2021


The Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
6 of us stayed at the Barn for a long awaited weekend away. It was clean and well equipped. The surroundings were gorgeous and lovely to be able to stroll around the working farm. We laughed from the moment we arrived (hope we weren't too noisy!!) Also there was the added bonus of home made cider

Allison from stayed at The Barn for 3 nights in July 2021


A fantastic get away

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely people to deal with, beautiful accommodation in a real working farm. Beautiful , warm and very comfortable

Andrew from stayed at The Barn for 2 nights in May 2021