FB Twitter

The Old Stables

The Old Stables

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


The Old Stables is our newest cottage at Newhill Farm. It has a Double Bedroom with a King Sized 4 poster bed, a Twin Bedroom and 2 Bathrooms. All of the living accommodation is on ground floor level and there is a lovely open plan kitchen/dining/sitting area with a cosy log burner. The cottage is very light and airy, with high ceilings and lovely views to the surrounding countryside.

Family break away

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2nd dune staying here and booked for 2020. So much to do, mo matter the weather. Looking forward to coming back



Kate Greig replied 9 days ago
It's so lovely to know your family weekend was so well enjoyed again. See you next year. Kate & Ian

Summer break.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been coming for few years now. Excellent place to get a break away from the busy cities.First time in this cottage but ideal for our friend who just had knee replacement. All on flat. Will be back.



Kate Greig replied 23 days ago
It was lovely to see you again and we're very pleased that you a lovely relaxing stay in The Old Stables. Having all the accommodation at ground floor level in this cottage is certainly a great help for some of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kate & Ian

The old stables

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The facilities here were excellent for our family. Having the swimming pool there and games room were brilliant kept the children and adults entertained.



Kate Greig replied 136 days ago
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed your holiday. We hope you decide to stay with us again another time. Kate & Ian

A truly relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here with our two boys aged 7 and 3 and I can honestly say it was all of our favourite holiday we've been on so far. From the accommodation to the leisure facilities everything was just perfect for us all. The boys never tired from the excitement of the swimming pool all to themselves and loved the games room. The surroundings were tranquil and I could have spent hours exploring the forest on our doorstep had the boys not wanted to be in the pool all day long. We most defienetly will be back in the future. Thank you Kate!



Kate Greig replied 166 days ago
We're delighted that you had a lovely relaxing family holiday here and it's great that you found plenty to keep your 2 small boys occupied. We look forward to seeing you next time. Kate & Ian

Definitely a favourite

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent holiday at Newhill Farm and Katie and Ian have certainly done a wonderful job. They seem actually good as concerned that everything is as good as they can make it. People are returning time and again. The dog had a great holiday and took to the place well. There was a garden to play in but he spent loads of time being taken to the forest just opposite and to the lovely beaches. The facilities in the cottage are excellent and so clean and well maintained. The lovely orchard of the owners at the rear is wonderful for watching from the windows. So much wildlife and the red squirrel comes daily. Swimming pool is luxury and clean changing areas. Also very private. Games room well looked after.....even bats and balls for table tennis.....not the usual thing at all in our experience.
Wish we were nearer !




Kate Greig replied 173 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at The Old Stables and we're especially pleased that you saw the lovely red squirrels too! We hope to welcome you back soon. Kate & Ian

Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable short stay at a homely and quiet cottage. Area has green walks, castles. Lovely hosts.



Kate Greig replied 186 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. It's lovely to know your return visit was thoroughly enjoyed again. We will hopefully see you again soon. Kate & Ian

Another great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay at Newhill Farm.Cottages this is our 'Happy Place' . This was our first stay in the Stables .normally in Horse Mill Cottage . The Stables like Horsemill Cottage. was beautifully clean and kitted out to the highest standard.. We are fortunate enough to go on a lot of short breaks throughout the year and the best sleep is always at Newhill.. super comfy beds. My only concern with the Stables.. is the seating,.. we went as a family of 3 which was fine, there was a settee (3 seater) and a bucket chair.. but I think if there had been 4 of us ( especially adults] we would have struggled for seats. Gorgeous quirky cottage for a family holiday.. Can't enough of this place



Kate Greig replied 249 days ago
It was lovely to welcome you back and we're delighted that this is such a happy place for you. Thank you for your positive feedback about the beds, we get lots of great comments about the mattresses, so it is always nice to know. The Old Stables is a 4 person cottage with open plan sitting for 4 in the lounge area (the large 3 seater sofa and the separate armchair for 1). Horse Mill Cottage is certainly more spacious, being a 6 person cottage, so I would imagine that you would have noticed the space and seating differences a bit. Our other 4 person cottage, The Old Cart House, has a different layout again - it has a separate sitting room which you might like and may be worth considering too. I would be very happy to show you round it any time. Kate & Ian

Weeks break from babysitting

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a nice relaxing week at the Old Stables. It was ideal for us for touring the area, visits to Cupar and St.Andrews were good plus the weather was kind to us as well.
Anyone with kids will find this place ideal with the indoor swimming pool and the games room.
In the morning there are deer and pheasants in the field, and red squirrels runnIng around in the orchard out in the back garden. The owners had left us some welcome gifts, fresh apples from the orchard and fresh eggs from the hens, and a bottle of wine.
We will visit again.
Margaret and John Alexander




Kate Greig replied 360 days ago
We're delighted that you had a lovely relaxing holiday. Thank you for your kind review. We would be very pleased to be able to welcome you back another time. Kate & Ian

Good getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay at the old stables will
definitely be back next year for another relaxing quiet time






Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see you again and we're happy that you enjoyed your quiet break at The Old Stables. We'd love to see you again next year; hopefully the weather will be a little kinder for you. Kate & Ian

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Old Stables Cottage. The accommodation was spotless and perfect for our requirements. Although quite rural, we loved the location; being so close to woodland walks and having views over to the Red Deer Farm.
The facilities are fantastic. Everyday we had the pool to ourselves and the tennis court is of such a good standard. The children really enjoyed the games room.
We found the location to be great for easy travelling to Dundee and Glasgow.
We have already booked again for next year.




Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for letting us know about your holiday and how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Kate & Ian

country stay in comfort

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well appointed cottage with a wide variety of activities on site. Pool and games room were very well stocked. Owner couldn’t have been more helpful. Warm and welcoming accommodation. Already booked next visit!



Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
It was a pleasure to meet you and we are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay so much. We look forward to seeing you again next year when you will be here to celebrate a special family birthday. Kate & Ian

New Year stay at the Old Stables

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jan 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were very pleased with our accommodation and the facilities. The swimming pool and hot tubs were excellent. There was a hiccup with our TV. This happened on the Sunday and when we left on the Friday, it still had not been resolved. This was a pity because at New Year , the TV can be a serious form of entertainment. the location of the accommodation meant that it was not really possible to go out in the evenings (unless some-one was prepared not to drink) and the dark evenings were a bit long without any TV. Although the owners were apologetic, no other gesture was made. Fortunately, we could use the BBC iplayer.
The weather was not great, which meant that we were indoors more than we had planned. However, despite this, we had a relaxing time , although we did think about coming home early.




Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage and leisure facilities to be excellent. Apologies again for the TV not working - unfortunately this occurred on New Year's eve, probably due to the snow and high winds during your stay, and with the bank holidays as well, the engineer couldn't be contacted as quickly as we would have liked. Fortunately the phone lines weren't affected by the weather, so internet connection was uninterrupted and Ian was on hand to assist you. We are pleased your stay was relaxing and hopefully we can welcome you back during slightly better weather next time. Kate & Ian

Xmas 2017

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great stay with lots to do on site very well thought out and plenty of dishes cooking facilities are good also good to have private parking with plenty of space for visitors too overall a great experience



Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you and we're very pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas holidays so much. Kate & Ian

Family break

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a lovely time, the cottage is very clean and the facilities are fantastic... Kate was very accommodating and very welcoming. Great place if you want some peace and tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of every day life...Superb walks, Hot tubs and swimming pool are amazing.. Cannot say enough good things, would go back in a heartbeat..




Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your holiday at The Old Stables. We would be delighted to welcome you back another time. Kate & Ian

Would have liked to stay longer

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have rented a number of self-catering properties in the past and this was up at the top of the pile. With excellent facilities for all and a cottage with everything you could ever need I can only praise the owners for what they provide. The location is ideal and the surrounding countryside a joy to be in.



Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kate & Ian

Superb property in lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a party of 3 plus small dog we stayed in the Old Stables for 1 week fro8 6th October 2017.
The accommodation is superb with beautiful views all round, extremely clean and comfortable and such a pleasure to stay in.
A huge amount of thought has gone in to equipping the cottage and garden, also the games room ( we did not use but looked at and though the cupboards of toys for children was a very thoughtful touch) pristine swimming pool and hot tub.

As an added bonus the weather was good, chilly but sunny.


Thank you so much for the lovely bottle of wine an milk on arrival.

Joan & Charlie Charlton




Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. It is such a pleasure for us to know that our guests have had such a wonderful holiday. Kate & Ian

Return Visit

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellant place to stay. Good facilities. Lovely area. Helpful, pleasant hosts.
Nice pub in the village, and of other places to eat and visit close by.




Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
It was a pleasure to welcome you back and we're happy to know that your holiday at The Old Stables was so well enjoyed. Hopefully we will see you again next year. Kate & Ian

Relaxing..

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great holiday especially for my mother who is disabled and the usual brilliant service thanks again to Kate and Ian




Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your return visit to The Old Stables and found it such a relaxing break. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back another time. Kate & Ian

Fantastic break at The Old Stables

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can't speak highly enough of our stay at Newhill Farm Cottages. Our cottage, The Old Stables was ideal for a family with two young children. The cottage was comfortable, immaculate and very well-equipped. We loved the view of the apple trees! The enclosed garden was fantastic.
The other amenities on offer at Newhill Farm really made for a memorable stay. The pool, games room and tennis court were all a hit with the kids and we hope one day to get back and have a chance to relax in one of the hot tubs! The standard of the facilities was unlike any other self-catering we have tried.
Oh, and we certainly appreciated the milk and wine upon arrival - thank you!
Kate and Ian were very welcoming and helpful.
We will definitely return and have been raving about it to anyone that will listen!




Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We're delighted that you loved your holiday here and we're pleased that you would love to return. We shall look forward to welcoming you back. Kate & Ian

Family Holiday in Fife

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is situated fairly centrally in Fife and boasts excellent facilities, swimming pool, tennis court, games room and hot tubs. It is clean, very well equipped and extremely well presented throughout, the owners have thought of everything, even providing a telephone paid for by honesty box due to the poor mobile phone reception in the area. Outside there is a small garden area with garden furniture and a barbecue, to the side of this is ample parking for two cars. The only criticism I could possibly offer is that the living area could be a bit bigger, but this is far outweighed by the many plusses it offers. So much so that we intend to return within the next few years.



Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you and we're happy to know that your holiday here was a great success. We look forward to seeing you again another time. Kate & Ian

Enjoy yourself

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We felt welcome. Our children were happy. We were able to do so many different things. We enjoyed it very much.



Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
We were very pleased to welcome you and your family here from Germany for your holiday in Scotland. It was lovely to meet you and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Old Stables so much. I'm happy that I was able to help you with all the extra tourist information you had enquired about. If you decide to return to Scotland, we would love to be able to welcome you back. Kate & Ian

Old Stables Review

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely weeks stay at the Old Stables. The children loved the Pool, games room and Tennis court. Was very peaceful and the amenities made for a very relaxing break while the children had plenty to keep themselves entertained. The Old Stables was very clean and comfy and very spacious. Only complaint would be that there was no tumble dryer available. With a pool and Spa/ Hot tub a tumble dryer would have made things a little easier especially with children in and out of the pool, sometimes twice in the day. Will definitely love to go back.



Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted that your holiday at The Old Stables was so well enjoyed by all the family. The children sound like they were certainly kept very entertained. Thank you kindly for your feedback, we do appreciate any comments received. If space in the kitchen were possible for a tumble dryer, we would certainly consider this at a future point. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to see you again soon. Kate & Ian

Short break at Newhills

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at the old stables and have enjoyed it just as much again,can find no fault at all and it was a great pleasure to stay here again



Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to welcome you back to The Old Stables this year and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay just as much as the first time. We hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks. Kate & Ian

Family weekend.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This weekend away consisted of three generations of our Family and each and every one had a great time. We made good use of the tennis court and the swimming pool. The weather was good which was a bonus. would go back again.



Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We're very happy that your weekend stay here was such a success. We hope to see you again soon. Kate & Ian

Really enjoyed our quiet, relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at new hills farm cottages. Loved the quiet rural location next to the woods. The facilities were great for all of us; including our 4 year old who loved the swimming pool.
We were made to feel welcome by the friendly owners who live nearby, but were left to enjoy our break.
Good location for other family friendly attractions too :-)




Kate Greig replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased that your holiday was such a success. We hope to see you again soon. Kate & Ian