FB Twitter

Hooting Lodge

Hooting Lodge

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 116 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Jayne would love to welcome to Hooting Lodge. Our two woodland log cabins provide a perfect Highland retreat, combining rustic charm with home comforts. There are some great walks from the doorstep and amazing beaches and castles nearby. Enjoy really close encounters with pine martens, red squirrels and a host of other wildlife. A perfect base to explore the stunning scenery and wildlife of Ardnamurchan and Lochaber in The West Highlands of Scotland. A real treat for the wildlife and outdoor enthusiast.

Perfect stay as always, the lodge is perfect for a relaxing stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommended Mingarry, the Lodges are perfect & Jayne & Andrew are always welcoming.
Perfect!!


Allison from Newton Abbot stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2021


A lovely place to stay for peace and quiet and wildlife.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After our holiday was delayed a year because of the pandemic, it was so pleasing to finally arrive in Mingarry. We were warmly welcomed by Jayne, one of the owners, and then left alone to settle in, which has to be one of the most well equipped self-catering places that we have ever stayed in. It was also spotlessly clean and extra care had been taken because of the pandemic, hence check-in moved to 18.00 when we stayed. The two bedroomed lodge sleeps 4 easily and is very well proportioned, with everything that you could possibly need. A bonus is seeing the wildlife right on the doorstep - pine marten, red squirrels, deer and birds. The lodge is in a very peaceful location and particularly ideal if you like walking. The welcome pack is extremely informative, with possibly every walk in the area mentioned! Thank you Jayne and Andrew.

Liz from Melksham stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2021


Wonderful accommodation, very welcoming hosts

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place, such a wildlife haven. Jayne was very welcoming and a great help in identifying the various wild orchids in her garden. Camera feeds to the TV were an added bonus to the viewing of the wildlife. The cabin was very comfortable and well equipped and is in an ideal location for exploring the area. Would highly recommend it.

Robert from Inverness stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2021


Holiday heaven.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jayne greeted us on arrival and was welcoming, warm and friendly. The cabin was spotlessly clean and very comfortable the furniture being of good quality and kitchen appliances first rate, I don't think there was anything a renter required the Jayne hadn't catered for, it was extremely well equipped. The beds were very clean and comfortable ensuring we had a good nights sleep, linen and towels were also good quality. It wasn't just people Jayne catered for as there were many bird feeders around for everyone to enjoy from the proximity of the sofa. All in all I don't think there is anything I could find fault with even the weather was kind to us which all made for a wonderful weeks holiday.

Verna from Chester-le-street stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2021


Return to mingarry

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Central location, superb wildlife. We felt very safe with the thorough cleaning regime instigated by the owners.

Shirley from Hunstanton stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2021


Hooting Lodge a week in Spring

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Hooting Lodge, we had previously visited in Autumn, but wanted to see the area in Spring.
We initially booked for last May but due to Covid the visit was delayed for a year.
Hooting Lodge is the best equipped self catering facility we have ever visited, there is just everything that you need. We were also very impressed by the thoroughness of the precautions taken due to Covid. The risk was truly minimal. We felt most welcome.
Moydart is a fantastic area in Spring, with great scenery, a long and interesting history, superb wildlife, but relatively unspoilt.
We are enthusiastic walkers and enjoyed a wide range of walking, all well described in the lodge information.
One feature we greatly enjoyed was the cameras around the lodge that were displayed on the television, and provided playback. We discovered so much from them that we did not watch any conventional television.
Our abiding memories are the fresh greens of the trees and hillside covered in primroses, and the view from Ben Hiant!


John from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2021


Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here on previous occasions. Jayne and Andrew could not be more accommodating. The cleanliness and covid cleaning were perfect. As before an extremely well equipped cabin with unbelievable attention to every detail..
We will be back. Jayne and Andrew just feel like friends.


Graham from Flitwick stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2021


Outstanding in every way

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times and the lodges are always homely comforting places to stay. The effort the owners Jayne and Andrew put into making your holiday so special is outstanding. You could not want for anything in the lodge - everything imaginable is there for you. The attention to superb cleanliness has always been outstanding but in these times of the pandemic so much extra is done which involves so much effort and time. Thank you for all of this. We had a great holiday as always.

Janet from Newark stayed at Hooting Lodge for 5 nights in April 2021


Little sanctuary in this crazy world

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous peaceful, relaxing stay at Mingarry lodges! Especially needed in this crazy year. Jayne and Andrew put so much into making you feel at home, everything you could think of provided and all a very high standard. Felt extremely safe, the extra work and time involved to ensure lodges comply with covid restrictions is outstanding. Our 5th visit and will definitely be back, location, high standards, walks, wildlife, scenery have now spoilt us for anywhere else!! Always sad to leave but always know we'll be back! ❤️

Christina from Newcastle stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2020


A fabulous autumn week

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Mingarry and we thought we'd try a different season to last time. The weather was mixed but given the time of year we went prepared. The local area and wildlife were spectacular and didn't disappoint. Although Covid19 nearly prevented our holiday we felt safe and comfortable in our stay. Jayne always thinks of the fine details and makes sure her lodges are to a high standard. We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked the next one.

Theresa from Rhayader stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2020


Wildlife paradise and comfort.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Mingarry Lodges last year and I must say it has made it difficult to go elsewhere in Scotland. Often one might go somewhere and it doesn’t quite match the first time, but once again Jayne and Andrew have exceeded our expectations in what are extremely difficult circumstances. They are Covid trained to ensure the safety of all their guests but still provided all the facilities as before. Meticulous cleaning throughout. Wildlife is truly exceptional and there is no need to travel or experience discomfort to enjoy it, it is literally right on your doorstep. Last year I was blown away by the variety of wildlife which was exceeded this year, probably because Jayne and Andrew cater for them as well as the guests. We will definitely be visiting again but it would appear that we need to book earlier because the popularity of this very personal wildlife haven is growing fast.

Lee from Hayling Island stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2020


a great place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay in a lovely location. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, and had put a lot of effort into making our holiday as safe as possible.

Guest from Sheffield stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2020


Superb stay at Hooting Lodge....the wildlife outside the window!!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Mingarry Lodges was awesome. Jayne and Andrew have created a wonderful place to watch the local wildlife, so many birds it was amazing. The lodges are cosy, perfectly kitted out with everything (and more) you could possibly need, and a bumper information pack to help you decide how to spend your time in the area. The furniture and fittings are all in excellent condition, and scrupulously clean.

We had some lovely chats with Jayne, a truly lovely lady, and I’m finally glad to have met someone who spends more on wild bird food than I do!! Money very well spent :-)

It was wonderful watching the wildlife on the camera system they have set up, better than any TV show.

We had only been in the lodge two hours when we booked another stay next year, we are already looking forward to returning.

Thank you Jayne and Andrew, see you soon.


Karen from Basingstoke stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2020


Fabulous in every way

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to stay. Jayne and Andrew are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The wildlife is fabulous both from the lodge and in the local area.
We love walking and found several wonderful walks ( lots of info in the lodge folders). Our favourites were to The Singing Sands and Blain Burn.
The scenery on the Ardnamurchan Peninsula is breathtaking.
We have already booked for next year.




Robert from Thirsk stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2020


Great week in Hooting Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location of the lodges is excellent with easy access to the Ardnamurchan peninsula and many other surrounding locations with beautiful loch and mountain views in all directions. The facilities for viewing and experiencing wildlife from the lodges is amazing with visits from a great variety of birds and mammals. The furnishings were very good quality and the kitchen equipment provided for every need. There was also a very generous welcome pack which exceeded basics. The books about birds mammals and many other natural history subjects as well as a selection of OS maps were brilliant as was the information folders containing many local walks with maps and details. The local facilities in Atharacle, post office/store and the Tioram cafe are very good. We would recommend the boat trip on Loch Shiel and the Glenborrowdale visitors center too. Further afield is Glenfinnan with the visitors centre, monument and views of the famous viaduct and the Jacobite steam train.


Ken from Stockport stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2020


Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the third time we have returned to Mingarry Lodges. Hooting lodge is an extremely pleasant place to stay. The lodge was clean, comfortable and very well equipped and the "goodies" that Jayne and Andrew provided in the kitchen were most appreciated. There are lots of wildlife to be seen around the lodge and pleasant walks near by. Further afield the scenery is stunning and again wildlife can present at any point in your journey. We saw a family of four white tailed eagles on our way to Sanna Bay so don't forget your binoculars! It was always pleasant to return to Hooting Lodge at the end of a day's exploring and watch the many birds on the feeders. Andrew and Jayne are very helpful hosts and aimed to make our stay as enjoyable and as relaxing as possible. We have booked again for next year.

Kathryn from West Kilbride stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2020


Brilliant holiday!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hooting Lodge is tucked in woodland and surrounded by wildlife - it was brilliant! The lodge was meticulously clean, with every care taken to protect us around Coronavirus. There was so much attention to detail and extra treats. My sons were very happy with the Wi Fi and watching night time wildlife on the tv via infra red cameras positioned around the lodge. Two lovely bedrooms and the lodge was very spacious and well laid out. Excellent value for money and we were able to go whale watching, see local historical sites and get to see the steam train over the Glenfinnan viaduct. We will definitely be returning.

Sarah from Farnborough stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2020


Ardnamurchan Escape 2020

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay at Mingarry Lodges having stayed at numerous other holiday homes in the area over the years. Hooting Lodge was absolutely spotless and a welcome pack was available on our arrival along with all the information anyone might possibly need to get the most from this amazing area. The lodge itself is not far from Acharacle, so is pretty central for the peninsula. Unfortunately our visit was at the latter stages of lockdown so we were not able to take advantage of all the local eating places which we have done previously.
We were amazed at the abundance of wildlife around the lodge and would definitely consider Mingarry Lodges when we return to Ardnamurchan.


David from Strathaven stayed at Hooting Lodge for 4 nights in July 2020


Home from home at Christmas & New Year

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need is here. This is the best lodge we've ever stayed at and that is why we keep going back, especially at Christmas. It is decorated beautifully.
Surrounding countryside is breathtaking and great walks on your doorstep. Can't compliment it enough.


Julie from Tillicoultry stayed at Hooting Lodge for 12 nights in December 2019


Simply perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location, everything provided, most thoughtful and friendly hosts, high quality, high standard, 4th visit and will definitely be back! Just go, you will not be disappointed!!

Christina from Newcastle stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in November 2019


Must be the best place in Ardnamurchan.

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in many cottages/lodges in Scotland and must say this is probably our favourite. Jayne and Andrew have thought of everything. You don’t even have to get out of the armchair to watch the plethora of wildlife at the lodge, you can watch it all on the telly through the well placed cctv. However, it is better to watch them through the windows and the fantastic variety of birds that visit the garden to take advantage of the many feeders that Jayne keeps well supplied with treats. If you have forgotten to take something with you the chances are that Jayne and Andrew have provided it. Excellent welcome pack and exceptionally clean and comfortable accommodation throughout. We will never forget our stay at Mingarry lodges and hope to return again soon.

Lee from Hayling Island stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2019


Hooting Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual our stay in Mingarry Lodges did not disappoint , we have stayed in these lodges quite a few times now & know we can expect nothing but exception starting with the warm welcome received from Jayne & Andrew,, the cleanliness & well fitted out lodges to the smallest of detail, it’s location is excellent for wildlife spotting or just taking the time to wind down & relax,,, truly a wonderful haven!

Janet from Nottingham stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2019


The best holiday home in Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful week at Mingarry Lodges (our fifth visit in four years).
The usual great welcome from Jayne and Andrew and lots of wildlife to see in the area and in the grounds of the lodge.
The lodge, as always, was warm and welcoming and spotlessly clean, amazingly well equipped with every need catered for.
We had a lovely week in spite of the dreadful weather.
Nowhere else can compare. Hope to be back soon.


Joan from Waterhouses stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2019


Our third stay in Hooting Lodge .... amazing as always!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Hooting Lodge for a week from Saturday 28th September 2019.

I had the good fortune to first meet Jayne and Andrew at the Garbh Eilean wildlife hide near Strontian during my June 2015 visit around the Scottish Highlands. Following a subsequent Google search for Mingarry Lodges which Jayne had mentioned to me, we stayed at Hooting Lodge in September 2015 and September 2016.

This was our third stay at Hooting Lodge and the fact that we booked this (long overdue) third stay is a recommendation in itself for this wonderful accommodation. So, with a real risk of repeating my high praise, I am submitting a further review.

Everything about Mingarry Lodges is highly recommended:

• The very informative website
• The ease of searching for availability
• The ease of booking and payment
• The “getting here” information provided after booking confirmation
• The ideal location with easy access to the landscapes and wildlife of the Ardnamurchan peninsula and further beyond to Mull and Skye
• The exceptionally high quality, warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean accommodation with everything provided that you could possibly need
• The wealth of information provided about the lodge itself, the surrounding area, what to see, where to go, etc.
• The on-site wildlife watching experience, both live right outside the windows or via the TV camera feeds .... amazing!
• .... and last, but by no means least, the friendly welcome, hospitality and knowledge of Jayne and Andrew

As I said a previous review: “We have stayed in many self-catering cottages and cabins in the Scottish Highlands over many years but I can say without any hesitation at all that Mingarry Lodges is by far the best in terms of quality, value for money, friendly hosts and on site wildlife watching” .... that opinion has not changed at all.

Well done Jayne and Andrew for all the ongoing hard work that you continue to put in to make Mingarry Lodges so attractive for guests and the resident and visiting wildlife. You deserve great credit and this is reflected in the 5 star reviews that you continue to receive.

Many thanks again for making our third stay so enjoyable.

Mingarry Lodges is exceptional. For anyone reading the reviews, don’t just think about booking, do it! We will definitely be returning.


Richard from Basildon stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2019


Superb accommodation in beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Hooting Lodge was faultless, right from booking through to our sad departure at end of a fortnight's stay. From start to finish Jayne and Andrew couldn't have been more helpful and welcoming. The lodge is excellently furnished and equipped to an exceptional standard, with every last comfort thought of. The location is ideal for exploring the peninsula, and also has plenty on its doorstep, from wildlife watching, walking, fishing and the local restaurant, cafe and hotel/pub in Acharacle village. We had a truly wonderful holiday and hope very much to return.

Adele from Burton Upon Trent stayed at Hooting Lodge for 14 nights in September 2019


Another Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Mingarry Lodges and it met every expectation and memory of our previous visits. The Lodge is a real home form home - it has everything we could want in the way of comfort and accessories. Location is good for travelling around Ardnamurchan and further afield. We love it there and hope to return again.
Thanks to Jayne and Andrew for all their help in making this another good holiday.


Nicola from Penrith stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2019


Not to be missed if you are visiting Ardnamurchan

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay and wished we had booked for 2 weeks. Everything looked brand new and the kitchen was better equipped than mime! Welcome pack was really nice and the owners great. Lodge was warm and cosy on the evenings we stayed in and within a few minutes walk of an excellent restaurant.
There were loads of games available but despite some rain we did not stay in as there was ample space to dry our clothes for the next day - we also had magnificent sunshine.
Jayne and Andrew had provided a huge folder of walks and other things to do in the area - something for everyone


Guest from Prestbury stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2019


Five Star Luxury Wildlife Experience!

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Imagine positioning a wildlife hide in an ecologically rich part of the West Highlands, full of all your favourite creatures. Now imagine this wildlife hide has cosy heating, Wi-Fi, leather sofas and comfortable beds. Outside of every window are feeders buzzing with a wide variety of birds and Squirrels. Further afield the grounds are alive with butterflies, slow worms - after dark bats and other nocturnal creatures come out to play. Oh and just in case you might miss something, the TV is linked to external cameras fixed on wildlife 'hotspots' around the gardens - you really are staying on the set of Springwatch! 'Now who's nose is that poking into the mammal tunnel?!'

The week we stayed in this bit of paradise, we didn't watch any TV, disconnected ourselves from (the rather depressing) news and immersed ourselves in the wilderness of this little nature reserve. Jayne and Andrew have worked wonders in creating a luxury experience for their guests, both human and animal! We were rewarded with memorable encounters and experiences none of us will forget.

The lodges themselves are beautiful, with your hosts having thought of absolutely everything, so you don't have to. From the moment you turn up, Jayne made sure we felt welcome and at home. During our stay they were always on hand to in case we needed anything or wanted some advice, we couldn't have been made more welcome.

You could quite easily spend an entire week in the lodges themselves, however, that would mean you would miss out on the fabulous area that is the Ardnamurchan peninsular. We were treated to sightings of White Tailed Eagle, Seals, Porpoise - as well as glorious scenery and the weather was good too. The Loch Shiel cruise on a Wednesday was excellent value, and a trip to the lighthouse and Sanna Bay is also a 'must do'.

We will be back, a week was not long enough and I feel we have made some new friends in this wonderful part of the world.


Alan from Rhayader stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2019


An enjoyable week in Hooting Lodge, Mingarry.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a very enjoyable weeks hill and coastal walking with friend Andrew staying in the two bedroom Hooting Lodge in Mingarry. We were lucky with the weather and the lodge was well located for visiting the coast, hills and attractions in the area. It was very comfortable with good wi-fi, TV and storage space and had all the modern furniture and kitchen facilities one would expect from high quality accommodation. There was the ability to be self sufficient for the week with a well provisioned store nearby in Acharacle as well as being in close proximity to cafes and restaurants for meals out. Our hosts Jayne and Andrew were very friendly, provided maps and lots of information on the area, a starter pack in the kitchen and generally went the extra "nine yards" to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. Already considering a return visit for a family holiday.

Tom from Newbiggin-By-The-Sea stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2019


Excellent lodge with great hosts - our 5th visit and won't be our last!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in the Mingarry Lodges 5 times over the past 7 years and we have enjoyed every visit. The lodges are furnished to an excellent standard and the hosts are very welcoming and informative. We couldn't ask for more from a holiday.

Jill from Glasgow stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2019


Mingarry lodges

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a wonderful holiday exploring Ardnamurchan and staying at Hooting Lodge in Mingarry. We were warmly welcomed by the owner Jayne who provided us with comprehensive, and hugely helpful information about the local area and it's wildlife.
The lodge itself is extremely well equipped, it had every thing you could possibly wish for. Exremely well maintained to a very high standard and comfortable with great views. Lots of wildlife to watch out the lodge is a nature lovers paradise.
I would highly recommend Mingarry lodges, Jayne and Andrew are your perfect hosts.


Allison from Newton Abbot stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2019


Another superb stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Hooting Lodge and will not be our last. Still one the best self-catering places we've stayed at. With the great position, wildlife and hosts you couldn't ask for a better cottage in a beautiful part of the world.

David from Eastleigh stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2019


A wildlife haven

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you could possibly need to know about the area (and more) can be found in maps, books and reference folders kept in the lodge compiled by Jayne and Andrew. Look through the windows to see birds and mammals almost within touching distance. Clean, and comfortable, this is an excellent base to explore the surrounding countryside.

John from Worcester stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Return Visit

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Hooting Lodge was just as magical and exciting as the first,
If you enjoy wildlife on your doorstep, several species of orchids in your garden, peace and quiet of the countryside, beautiful surroundings, enthusiastic hosts, then Hooting or Tooting lodges must be top of your next holiday bucket list.


Carl from Castletown stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Wonderful cabin

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hooting Lodge was a pleasure, watching the birds and squirrels and other wildlife from the window each day was wonderful. A couple of miles from the nearest village where the amenities were brilliant and the locals very welcoming and friendly. Anything you could imagine needing provided in the cabin. You need to explore all the coastal routes, we found some beautiful places. Jayne and Andrew are lovely friendly couple. Jayne is passionate about the local wildlife and very knowledgeable, a truly lovely place to stay.

Wendy from Sleaford stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


What a wonderful place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all very much enjoyed our stay in Hooting Lodge. There is so much wildlife to see around the lodge a much to explore further a field. The lodge is equipped to a very high standard and full of information about the area. Jayne and Andrew are wonderful hosts.

Kath from West Kilbride stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2019


Perfect stay at Mingarry Lodges.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location. Perfect Lodge and perfect hosts. A wonderful stay full of comfort, luxury and fantastic wildlife. We cant think of anything that would improve our experience. Already booked for next year. Jayne and Andrew are passionate and enthusiastic about their environment and all that it holds. The amount of information they provide is quite overwhelming.
Always on hand if you need anything but otherwise completely unobtrusive - you cannot ask for anything better.


Graham from Flitwick stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2019


A little piece of paradise

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit and we have already booked for next year. Everything is spotless and our every need was catered for.

Shirley from Hunstanton stayed at Hooting Lodge for 14 nights in May 2019


Perfect once again

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd visit to Mingarry and once again everything was just so perfect. The cleanliness & quality of the lodges is one of the best we have stayed in. All the wildlife in the local area is amazing. Last but certainly not least are the owner Jayne & Andrew who are 2 great people. Their passion about the local area is infectious and their personal high standards show in every detail. We have already booked our 3rd visit for later this year so nothing more needs to be said!

Jo from Swadlincote stayed at Hooting Lodge for 14 nights in April 2019


Perfect place relaxation and bird watching

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a perfect week here. So much had been done by the owners to ensure a comfortable, interesting stay. The information packs were carefully put together and there is a plentiful collection of maps and guides. We were warm and comfortable and the welcome pack of essentials and goodies was the best ever!

Guest from Berwick-upon-tweed stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2019


Hooting in April 19

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just the perfect place to stay and enjoy the wildlife around you and plenty of walking to be done. Already planning our visit in 2020!

Julie from Kettering stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in March 2019


Perfection

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a great holiday, we loved every minute and we will certainly be going back. The lodges are warm, clean and comfortable. Very well equipped. Jayne and Andrew have gone above and beyond the usual standard for holiday accommodation. Definitely 5*.

Janis from Isle Of Mull stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in March 2019


Can't wait to return!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd visit and never fails to impress us! Everything you could possibly want is at hand, perfect hosts who have put so much time and effort into every little detail. From the information files, the luxury toiletries, the wonderful welcome pack, so many to list just book and you'll understand why so many visitors are return year after year! The local area so scenic, there is so many beautiful places to visit and walk. Always feel sad to leave but know we will return again!

Christina from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in November 2018


Absolutely everything we could have wished for was provided and we definitely want to return.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay in a beautiful area, especially if you enjoy wildlife. All the information you might need was provided to ensure a great holiday. Thank you.

John from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2018


Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Mingarry Lodges and was every bit as good as our previous stay.
The accommodation is home from home - everything we wanted was supplied.
Lovely area but we would have been perfectly happy not setting foot outside the door. Wildlife to be viewed from the windows any time of day and night.


Nicola from Penrith stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


The perfect week

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cabin in a great location. Lots of wildlife, very peaceful. Lovely owners and extremely good value for money. We loved it and have had one of our best holidays here.
Thank you
Kay & Angus


Angus from Chathill stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


A superbly comfortable lodge in beautiful surroundings.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a wonderful holiday exploring Ardnamurchan and staying at Hooting Lodge in Mingarry. We were warmly welcomed by the owners Jayne and Andrew, and provided with comprehensive, and hugely helpful, information about the local area. The lodge itself is extremely well equipped, maintaintained to a very high standard and comfortable. Lots of wildlife to watch out for but luckily for us no midges.

Kate from Linlithgow stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2018


Wonderful Lodge in a beautiful location, surrounded by nature.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Situated in a beautiful location, you couldn't ask for anything else, the lodge was really well equipped for anything (cooking, hiking, wildlife spotting, outdoor activities). Jayne and Andrew were the perfect hosts, and introduced us to the best of the local area for walks and wildlife, and made us very welcome. Would definitely recommend.



Magnificent Mingarry

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just love it here! It's so peaceful, quiet and tranquil with wonderful, knowledgeable hosts, beautiful scenery, every item you could need in the lodges and incredible wildlife sightings. We certainly plan to return again and would come more often if we could. Thank you Jayne and Andrew.

David from York stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Excellent in every respect.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent standard, excellent location, excellent value. Lovely people in charge. This is a unique and special location especially if you are interested in wildlife.

Mark from Hyde stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2018


Best place in Western Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been here 4 times now and just can't get enough. The people are wonderful, so considerate and eager to help without being intrusive. The area is fantastic whatever your interests. We really would prefer to keep it to ourselves.

Doug from Durham stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Mingarry Lodges - superb in every way.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful holiday at the "Hooting Lodge". Location, comfort, wildlife, landscapes cannot be surpassed. The hosts were great and really dedicated to nature and wildlife which were there in abundance. Highly recommended.

Howard from Keighley stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


A piece of paradise

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at hooting Lodge with a very warm welcome from our hosts. The lodge was immaculately clean and very well equipped.
Everything had been thought of for our comfort . Jayne and Andrew were very knowledgeable and willing to share their knowledge with us..
We had fantastic views of pine martiins, slow worms, deer, red squirrels, chequered skipper butterflies as well of the many
birds that inhabit their garden.
It was like living in your own nature reserve and we've already booked for next year.


Shirley from Hunstanton stayed at Hooting Lodge for 14 nights in May 2018


Red Squirrel at their best

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cup of tea and this brilliant squirrels in the garden. I spend one hour and more every morning to watch them playing or "hunting" for peanuts.

Holger from Castrop-rauxel stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2018


A little piece of highland heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved Mingarry Lodges! Superbly equipped with everything you could possibly need. Welcome goodies in the kitchen, lots of maps and books and lovely big bath towels!! Location beautiful - wildlife abounds around the lodges and watching it was a constant source of enjoyment throughout our stay. Friendly and informative hosts who went the extra mile to ensure everything was perfect for their guests. Cannot recommend too highly - if you like wonderful scenery and nature, this is the place to be.

Guest from Preston stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2018


A wonderful stay at Hooting Mingarry Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really brilliant stay at Hooting Lodge - April is a good time to stay - so much to see in the area too - the location is great for visiting Moidart, Ardnamurchan, Knoydart and all places around. Hooting was a lovely place to stay - very clean and comfortable - Jayne and Andrew are so friendly and helpful with loads of good suggestions of what to see locally. The Lodge is just perfect - everything you need for a great stay - we will definitely be back again.

Lynne from Telford stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2018


A return visit to Mingarry Lodges.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit in the last seven months and it was just as good as the first visit.
Jayne and Andrew were very helpful and were able to provide us with all the local knowledge.
The lodge was brilliant and every thing which you needed was supplied.
The wildlife was again outstanding and the views were marvellous.
We hope to return again as soon as possible.


Malcolm from Norwich stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2018


Best self catering accommodation we have stayed in

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was by far the best self-catering accommodation we have ever stayed in in over 30 years of self-catering holidays. The lodge was spotlessly clean and had every facility we could possibly want. All the small details made the difference with thoughtful touches such as cake and biscuits on arrival (and topped up halfway through the fortnight). Jayne & Andrew were very welcoming hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Their local knowledge helped us plan trips and the surrounding wildlife made this a very special holiday. We had some very good weather despite a few wet days and even experienced Scotland's biggest earthquake in 30 years (not something we would like to repeat!). The lodge was perfectly placed for exploring this part of the Western Highlands and Islands. We will certainly be back some time in the future and would recommend this lodge to anyone with a love of spectacular scenery, wildlife and peace and quiet.

David from Eastleigh stayed at Hooting Lodge for 14 nights in July 2017


Stay at Hooting Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Mingarry Lodges. It was very clean and had everything we needed, including lots of maps of walks to go on, which were really helpful. The location is beautiful and I would recommend a stay to anyone who likes nature.

Guest from Dumfries stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Simply the best!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding!! Perfect location for scenery wildlife and walks! Owners have put so much thought into the lodges and provided everything you could possibly need. All high standard and luxury. The manuals regarding the area, the walks, the equipment are extremely helpful. loved the welcome pack and gorgeous toiletries. Our second visit and wil definately be back!

Christina from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2017


Autumnal Brilliance

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We timed our stay at Hooting Lodge to coincide with the stunning autumnal colours in the area. The accommodation had everything we could possibly need and is well positioned to explore Ardnamurchan.

Rob from Nottingham stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2017


A wonderful holiday at Mingarry Lodges.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was very good and the lodge was full of every piece of equipment that you would ever need to use.
The lodge was extremely clean and tidy and Jayne explained all the necessary details of how all the white goods worked.
Jayne and Andrew had provided a lovely welcome pack along with maps of walks all around the area.
They also gave us lots of other local information.
One of the main reasons for our holiday at Mingarry was to see all the wildlife, and we were not disappointed.
We had very mixed weather during our stay but this did not stop us doing everything that we had planned.
To see Scotland in the autumn was very good and we hope to be back again to see it in Springtime.



Malcolm from Norwich stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2017


Wonderful Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic retreat in the Scottish highlands. Terrific views from our very comfortable and well equipped lodge. Great wildlife viewing opportunities and some truly beautiful scenery to explore, just a short drive from the property. Jayne and Andrew were the most welcoming of hosts and we look forward to a return visit. Such a peaceful setting.

Bronwyn from Hereford stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Perfect in Every Way

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Hooting Lodge was perfect in every way. The Lodge had every comfort one could ever want - we could happily have stayed in the Lodge all week and not ventured out at all. Wildlife at Mingarry Lodges was abundant and enjoyable. Every effort was made by Jayne and Andrew to ensure we saw the resident wildlife up close. We would happily stay there again and will look forward to doing so. Thank you for allowing us to stay in your wonderful accommodation!

Nicola from Penrith stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Glorious getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of this lodge was perfect and the views from the front windows (and back) were glorious in rain and shine. The lodge was immaculate and equipped with literally everything you could ever need. The owner, Jayne, was helpful and friendly and ready with advice on places to go and see and where was best to spot wildlife. I can't recommend this holiday rental highly enough!

Julie from Hornchurch stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Great place to stay in a beautiful part of Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you're after somewhere in the West Highlands that is away from the main tourist areas and still unspoiled then this is the place to go. Very friendly owners with plenty of tips on how to find local wildlife, walking routes and where to eat.

This is my second stay at Mingarry Lodges and I have already booked my 3rd. Would definitely recommend to anyone who wants to escape the crowds.


Tristan from Kingsteignton stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Mingarry paradise

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had one of the best holidays ever at Mingarry Lodges, Scotland,
everything from the reception, accommodation, surroundings, and wildlife, was superb, the weather was pretty good, and the local midges were very friendly.!!
Jayne & Andrew were excellent hosts, knowledgeable and informative, with nothing being to much trouble,
Carl & Sheila Hadfield


Carl from Castletown stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Wonderful relaxing holiday lodge near splendid scenery and the wildlife of Ardnamurchan

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mingarry lodge is one of the best holiday houses I have ever stayed. The accommodation is excellent every detail has been considered thoroughly for the comfort of visitors. You are well placed to explore the countryside as well as see the local wildlife. Jayne and Andrew provide you with a great list of things you might do and were on hand if you needed to ask anything but did not encroach. This is one holiday house you do not need to take anything with you. Everything you could want is there; kitchen equipment, well appointed and equipped bathrooms, comfortable bedrooms, maps and reference material along with a good selection of reading material and dvds. There is a good welcome pack too on your arrival.

The Lodge is near the village of Acharacle where there is a bakery, cafes and a small supermarket. However, suggest as we had done do a big shop before you arrive as it's a way to Fort William but you would certainly manage for meals out if you didn't want to cook locally.

Recommend this as a lovely relaxing spot to see the wildlife and some of Ardnamurchan.


Louise from Solihull stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Ardnamurchan at his best

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I´m visiting scotland since 10 years and have stayed in more than 20 self catering accomodations...but this one was outstanding.
A peaceful place with a lot of stunning wildlife in front of your lodge and a perfectly equipped accomodation.
There is nothing left to be desired.


Holger from Castrop-rauxel stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2017


Natures home.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 2 weeks in Hooting Lodge and couldn't wish for anything better.Lodge was perfect,wildlife perfect and Andrew and Jane gave us so much information on everything.We will definitely be going back.

Angela from Spalding stayed at Hooting Lodge for 14 nights in May 2017


We have booked to go back for a fourth time - does that answer your question?

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully kept and thoughtfully resourced lodges - Jayne and Andrew have thought of everything! Their attention to detail is almost beyond belief. The lodges are situated perfectly for peace and quiet with opportunities to spot wildlife and with further exploration of the area there is even more to see.

Doug from Waterhouses stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2017


Ideal base for anyone interested in the wildlife of the Loch Sunart/Ardnamurchan area.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculate well equipped accommodation. If you are interested in the wildlife in this area then I think that you will struggle to find anything better.

Gordon from Wemyss Bay stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2016


Mingarry magic!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Mingarry Lodges! The lodge was spotlessly clean and brilliantly appointed with everything you could need for an enjoyable holiday in a quiet, rural setting with magnificent scenery. Jayne and Andrew go to great lengths to ensure the comfort and satisfaction of their guests and seem to provide everything you could possibly need, including detailed guides to local walks, maps and information on all the local attractions. They also do their utmost to attract bird and animal life for their guests to view wherever they look outside the lodge windows and are keen to educate them on the wonders of nature. We have been to Mingarry Lodges before and enjoyed ourselves so much that we just had to return!

David from York stayed at Hooting Lodge for 6 nights in December 2016


The Best Again

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of the very best holidays we have ever had. We will definitely return again and again. This part of the country has much to offer that we enjoy.

Doug from Durham stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2016


Our second stay at the exceptional Mingarry Lodges

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Hooting Lodge for a week commencing 19th September 2015 when I provided a detailed review on this website on returning home.

The fact that we booked a second stay for a week commencing 17th September 2016 is a recommendation in itself for this wonderful accommodation. So, with a real risk of repeating my high praise, this is my second review.

Everything about Mingarry Lodges is highly recommended:

• The very informative website
• Ease of searching for availability
• Ease of booking and payment
• The “getting here” information provided after booking confirmation
• The ideal location with easy access to the Ardnamurchan peninsula and further beyond to Mull and Skye
• The exceptionally high quality, warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean accommodation with everything provided that you could possibly need
• The wealth of information provided about the lodge itself, the surrounding area, what to see, where to go, etc.
• The on-site wildlife watching experience .... amazing!
• .... and last, but by no means least, the friendly welcome, hospitality and knowledge of Jayne and Andrew

As I said in my previous review: “We have stayed in many self-catering cottages and cabins in the Scottish Highlands over the years but I can say without any hesitation at all that Mingarry Lodges is by far the best in terms of quality, value for money, friendly hosts and on site wildlife watching” .... that opinion has not just changed at all.

Well done Jayne and Andrew on all the ongoing hard work that you continue to put in to make Mingarry Lodges so attractive for guests and resident wildlife and many thanks again for making our second stay so enjoyable.

Mingarry Lodges is most definitely on our “must visit again soon” list!


Richard from Basildon stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2016


relaxing getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always come here when we need a relaxing getaway. The beautiful surroundings, with everything thought of. Loved my cosy dressing gown, luxurious bedding. Fantastic kitchen and all the many extras provided by our caring hosts. Ideal base for touring moidart and ardnamurchan.

Graham from Weymouth stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2016


Just so perfect - the best place I've ever stayed.

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you could want for a fascinating and relaxing stay is provided here. Exceptionally comfortable beds, amazingly well equipped kitchen, including washing machine, tumble dryer and fridge freezer. There are OS maps, leaflets for local activities, and guide books for the area and wildlife. The TV is linked to CCTV cameras directed at feeding stations and nest boxes in the grounds 24/7. There's a huge covered decking area with chairs and tables - also useful as a drying area for wet clothing. If you stay in, there's a comprehensive collection of CD's, DVD's, board games and general reading material to keep you amused . A month would still not be long enough to enjoy all this accommodation and location has to offer. Can't recommend enough

Liz from Desborough stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2016


Haven in the wilderness

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 2 brilliant weeks at Hooting Lodge, wildlife is fantastic in and around the area as are the views and scenery. We would highly recommend a week or two away from it all here. The silence is lovely with the only sound being that of the locals ( animals mainly ) and the odd tourist driving past. Both Jayne and Andrew were fantastic and could not be more welcoming.
If you are into nature and the great outdoors then this is the place you need to visit. 10 minutes from the coast and a world away from anywhere else.
We have nothing negative to say about our stay what so ever, lovely people, beautiful area and a stunning location.


Steve and Heidi. Greetland. West Yorkshire


Stephen from Halifax stayed at Hooting Lodge for 14 nights in August 2016


A great week

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our experience of Mingarry Lodges was excellent in every way. The lodges contain everything you could wish for and are extremely well looked after by the owners who were so hospitable. We were lucky with the weather and thoroughly enjoyed our week. We hope to return in the future.

Lucy from Macclesfield stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


Springwatch on your doorstep

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant lodge Jayne and Andrew awesome hosts with great local knowledge, and as the title suggests the wildlife both from the lodge and in the area was stunning ( except the wee timorous beasties) aka the Scottish midge.
Would thoroughly recommend to anyone who loves wildlife and its also a great area for walking and cycling.


Chris from Hemel Hempstead stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


Lovely holiday, beautiful scenery great welcome at Tooting lodge.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a lovely week at Tooting Lodge. Had amazing weather (no rain all week). Lovely hosts, providing everything plus more you may need. Cosy lodge, great wildlife and peaceful. Lovely area of Scotland, very picturesque. All 4 of us really enjoyed our stay.

Robert from Ipswich stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2016


A perfect Scottish getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous location with amazing wildlife. A beautiful lodge with all the comforts of home. Perfectly situated for exploring the stunning area. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and went to great lengths to ensure we had a great holiday.

Hilary from Westbury stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2016


Excellent holiday in Ardnamurchan

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hooting Lodge is a perfect location for visiting the Ardnamurchan area. Plenty of local wildlife and excellent facilities in the Lodge, including helpful information about the area.

Guest from Peterborough stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2016


Best holiday by far.. a dream location, especially for wildlife lovers.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say.. from the moment we arrived it was like heaven. A cacophony of birdsong greeted us as we opened the car door, and I've never seen so many siskins! The lodge was by far the best and most luxurious place we've ever stayed at, and was so warm and cosy. Jayne and Andrew have thought of absolutely everything you could require for a week away and the welcome tray was such a lovely touch. We had the most glorious weather and saw so much wildlife including sea eagles and pine martens.. but if it had rained all week we'd have been more than happy watching all the wildlife from the lodge! A dream to sit having a cup of tea in the morning watching red squirrels only feet away on the feeders.. I was up at 6am each morning watching them and all the different birds from each window. We hardly watched any regular TV all week.. preferring to watch the live webcams from the nest boxes and 'rodent cam' which was usually visited by 'Roger' the red deer stag! Jayne even let us borrow a bat detector which was great fun at dusk. She was so friendly and informative on the local area. We've fallen in love with the whole area and Mingarry lodges are the perfect place to stay.. Can't wait for our next visit.

Tracy from Mansfield stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2016


Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lovely lodge was so cosy and comfortable and felt like home as soon as we arrived. The location is fantastic and a treat for nature lovers. For anyone who loves the outdoors and the stunning beauty of Scotland this is the place to stay.

Penny from Littlehampton stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in March 2016


My stay at Mingarry Lodges for two weeks, with two family members joining me for the last three days

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My stay at Mingarry Lodges was a wonderful experience in every way. The accommodation could not have been better, the level of equipment being beyond all reasonable expectations.
Jayne and Andrew spared no effort to enhance our stay, making us comfortable, giving us information about the local area, the wildlife, and places to go, even to the extent of providing a weather forecast and tide information for the week ahead! Our frequent chats about what we had seen and where we had visited were a delight, and I very quickly felt as if I had known them a considerable time.
I heard about Mingarry Lodges form a former guest, and like that family, would highly recommend staying there to anybody who likes comfort, wildlife, has an interest in geology, and amazing scenery.


John from Nottingham stayed at Hooting Lodge for 14 nights in April 2016


Thoroughly enjoyable stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jayne & Andrew were perfect hosts, friendly, informative & welcoming. The log cabin was very well equipped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Bedding & towels supplied were of good quality with lovely big towels. Heating system was very efficient. We enjoyed watching a wide variety of wildlife around the cabin and many species of birds. We would definitely recommend the log cabins to anyone wanting to explore the Ardnamurchan peninsula, we visited Sanna Bay & the lighthouse at the end of the peninsula, went across the ferry from Kilchoan to Tobermory on Mull for the day, Castle Tioram is quite near to the cabins as is the beach at Ardtoe, another good day trip is to Arisaig and the singing sands at Morar, then on to Mallaig.

I would say that Mingarry lodges made the perfect base. We will hopefully visit again and have already recommend to our family & friends.


Janet from Leeds stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2015


Hooting Lodge, Mingarry

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good holiday, accommodation very good and weather helped. Jayne full of information to help plan you're days out. Pinemartin on veranda table every night was a special treat, even looked in window on first night

Mike from Taunton stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


Wonderful accommodation and amazing wildlife experience!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had the good fortune to meet Jayne and Andrew at the Garbh Eilean wildlife hide during my June 2015 visit to the Scottish Highlands. Following a subsequent Google search for Mingarry Lodges which Jayne had mentioned, I eventually booked a week in Hooting Lodge commencing 19th September 2015.

Searching for availability and booking via PayPal was very straightforward and I received both an auto-generated receipt for payment and a personal confirmation e-mail from Jayne. Information provided by Jayne in respect of finding Mingarry Lodges was very good albeit we did not need this as we are familiar with the area from numerous previous visits.

The Mingarry Lodges website is very informative in terms of what is offered but even then this does not prepare you fully for the excellent standard of accommodation in all respects.

We stayed in Hooting Lodge which was warm, comfortable, spotlessly clean and fully equipped. We tried to identify something that was not provided but we failed completely. Absolutely everything you will need is provided!

Jayne and Andrew provided a genuinely warm welcome and their knowledge of the local area and what to see and do is exceptional. This is supplemented by a huge amount of information in files and folders in the lodge itself. This will be extremely helpful to any guests who are not familiar with the area.

Apart from the lodges, Jayne and Andrew deserve great credit for attracting a variety of wildlife to the grounds surrounding Mingarry Lodges. Every morning we saw Red Squirrels visiting the nut feeders at the rear of the lodges (at least 4 individuals seen at once) plus we had evening/nightly visits to the verandah table from 1 or 2 Pine Martens (at least 3 different individuals seen). Amazing!

Mingarry Lodges is located very centrally to visit all of the Ardnamurchan peninsula plus Mull and Skye can easily be reached by CalMac ferries. Stunning mountain and loch scenery and exciting wildlife, including White-tailed Eagles, Golden Eagles, Otters, Common and Grey Seals, Red Deer and much more, is on offer everywhere.

We have stayed in many self-catering cottages and cabins in the Scottish Highlands over the years but I can say without any hesitation at all that Mingarry Lodges is by far the best in terms of quality, value for money, friendly hosts and on site wildlife watching.

Well done Jayne and Andrew on all the hard work that you have evidently put in to make Mingarry Lodges so attractive and many thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

Mingarry Lodges is highly recommended. For anyone reading the reviews, don’t just think about booking, do it!


Richard from Basildon stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


faultless accomadation everything provided and more....

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
excellent lodge with quality furnishings and everything provided, our best moments were the red squirrels and pine martins they were fantastic...every day and every night loads different bird species on the feeders. it was great that Jayne and Andrew had the same passion for wildlife as we did it was an absolute pleasure staying at " hooting lodge " its a must to return...

Nick from Southampton stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Idyllic base for exploring this beautiful part of Scotland

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is absolutely perfect: very clean with every need met in every single room. The cabins are surrounded by forest full of an array of birds and wildlife, with a spectacular view at the front towards the loch and the hills.
The owners are extremely knowledgeable, friendly and helpful.
Would love to go again one day and definitely highly recommend!


Guest from Sale stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Highly Recomended

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was very comfortable and extremely well equipped. Andrew and Jayne are knowledgeable about the area and enthusiastic about the local wildlife. The Lodge is well situated and of course, as this is the highlands, the views and scenery are superb. Ideal for a quiet relaxing break, or for a photographic or walking holiday.

Guest from Biggleswade stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Wildlife paradise

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jayne was so welcoming. Nothing was too much trouble, she gave us information about the animals and lots of guides and information was there for us in the lodge. Toiletries were provided and the welcome pack was very high quality. I would recommend a visit to Hooting or Tooting for anyone who wants to explore the beautiful Ardnamurchan peninsula. Thank you Jayne and Andrew.

Guest from Prestonpans stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2015


Hooting marvellous

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Top quality, 1st class, very clean and comfortable self-catering lodge, set in the lovely grounds of Jayne and Andrew's home.
Booking the lodge was straight forward, on arrival we were made very welcome by Jayne and Andrew, who are extremely friendly and supplied us with helpful information. Their love of nature gives your holiday an extra dimension, feeding birds, red squirrels and pine martens. This accommodation is one of the best we have stayed in.


Guest from Gainsborough stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2015


Exceeded our high expectations!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Mingarry Lodges' web site sets a high bar in terms of what's on offer, especially for seeing wildlife locally. The reality fully lived up to the marketing!

Comfortable, clean and well-equipped accommodation with a great supply of maps and other useful information available in the Lodge on all aspects of the local area, including invaluable guides for hillwalking.

We received a warm welcome from the owners and found them extremely knowledgeable on all aspects of the area, including notably the diverse bird life. This is not only a wonderful place to stay but one that provides really good value for money.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2015


Wonderful in every way.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing wildlife surrounding the lodges and local area.Scenery around lodge and surrounding area magnificent. Lodge immaculate and very comfortable.Jayne and Andrew were very friendly and helpful. Looking forward to our next visit.

Guest from Wolverhampton stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2015


Hooting Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 25 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in a quiet location. The lodge is very well equipped and spotlessly clean. Plenty of wildlife nearby including red squirrels and lots of bird life. Ardnamurchan is a beautiful area, home to white-tailed and golden eagles. we have stayed twice at Mingarry lodges and certainly hope to return again.

Guest from Cambridge stayed at Hooting Lodge for 3 nights in May 2015


Perfectly situated

Review submitted on Mon, 25 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfectly situated for our visit to Ardnamurchan & close enough to F.William & Mull. Tonnes of wildlife. Great accomodation. Everything is catered for. Thanks

Rob from Nottingham stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Awesome

Review submitted on Fri, 22 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful lodge!! It has everything you need, nothing has been for ton about. Bed was very comfortable and it was a delight to cook in the fab kitchen

Benjamin from Gainsborough stayed at Hooting Lodge for 4 nights in May 2015


Absolutely Perfect!!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful 3 night stay here recently. Jayne and Andrew have thought of everything to make Mingarry Lodges the perfect getaway. We felt so at home here that we really didn't want to leave. We stayed in Hooting Lodge and both agreed it is the best lodge we have ever stayed in, by a long shot! Luxury, comfort and quality make for a relaxing and peaceful break.
The pine martins visited us every night and there is an abundance of bird activity in the garden. Red squirrels can also be spotted regularly.
The location of the lodges is stunning; the views are incredible and a short distance away you can find woodland walks, stunning beaches and lochs and the most beautiful scenery surrounds you.
We felt that the lodges were superb value for money - possibly underpriced if anything but lets not tell Jayne and Andrew that ;)
Jayne and Andrew are incredibly friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and clearly take the utmost pride in the lodges.
We will DEFINITELY be back (as soon as we possibly can).
Thank you for a wonderful experience.
Mhairi & Richard


Guest from Port Ellen stayed at Hooting Lodge for 3 nights in May 2015


Fantastic!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week in Hooting Lodge was just perfect! Made to feel very welcome on arrival and within hours had our first encounter with the Pine Martens! Plenty to see and do in the local area and if you're a wildlife enthusiast this place is a must for you! Otters at the hide, red squirrels, deer, pine martens, and even a sea eagle!
We would recommend without doubt and hope to return ourselves one day!


Guest from Tiverton stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2015


Everything you need for a great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wildlife, resident red squirrels and pine martens and Roger the stag calls most days. The Lodge has everything we wanted and more. Great views, great weather, access to all the places we wanted to go and set in stunning scenery. Jayne has thought of everything, and I mean everything including some little surprises which wouldn't be surprises if I told you what they are.
All in all a fabulous place.


Guest from Selby stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2015


The best holiday cottage in ten years of touring the UK!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at over 30 cottages and this one really ticked all the boxes ! Beautifully clean and comfortable, with super beds and easily controlled heating and hot water. The kitchen was better equipped than my own and everything was spotless and in perfect condition (no scratched non-stick frying pans here!). The WFi/TV/Sound equipment/DVD etc. were all up to date and the drying/utility room upstairs was really useful. Parking was easy and the welcome and helpfulness of Jayne and Andrew was amazing - their local knowledge and advice is so useful. The surrounding grounds were full of wildlife, with feeders and various boxes all around. We watched the pine martens every evening (three one night) and spent many hours photographing them and the red squirrels which visited the feeding boxes. The position of the cottage is ideal for touring, with a beautiful view and local amenities just around the corner in Acharacle (where you can also catch the boat to cruise Loch Sheil). We were lucky with the weather but would have been very happy spending more time at the lodge.
Thanks to Jayne and Andrew

Polly and Malcolm from Chepstow


Guest from Chepstow stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2015


So homely

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd time spent at this wonderful lodge. Everything in the lodge is 1st class and so many thoughtful extras. The hosts are outstanding as is the wildlife. We will return next year. Thank you.

Guest from Newark stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2015


most wonderful relaxing location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was 5* cosy and comfortable very well stocked and superbly welcoming, the location is ideal for walkers and ramblers like our-selves further afield the scenery and history is incredible we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and indicated to the hosts we shall return. Highly recommended for the outdoor nature lovers remember to fill up your fueltank.

Guest from Perth stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2014


Wonderful in every way!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot speak too highly of the wonderful accomodation, hosts and location of Hooting Lodge. Even in a week of heavy rain, we had a marvellous time.

Guest from NEWARK stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in October 2014


fantastic wildlife .

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
FANTASTIC WILDLIFE. saw red deer, red squirrels, pine martins and numerous birds including jay and buzzard without moving from the chalet. You cant get better than that.

Guest from Stoke On Trent stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in September 2014


Best accommodation in stunning surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd and will not be our last visit to the lodge. .on arrival we were met by the owners Jayne and Andrew who are two lovely people who make you feel so welcome .The lodges are kept in an immaculate condition and have everything in them you need for your stay .Locally there is grocery shop , hotel bar , post office and a couple of good friendly cafes.. The area around Mingarry is totally outstanding with some gorgeous beaches and woodland walks , there is plenty of wildlife and colourfull flora to be seen too around and about .The lodge grounds are abundant with small birds feeding on the feeders provided , there are red squirrals , numerous types of butterflies and moths and our favourite the pine martins who come and pay you a nightly visit. There are some stunning locations and attractions a short drive from Mingarry to satisfy the whole family . So if your after a warm welcome with comfortable , clean accommodation with stunning views at very reasonable rates we would definitely recommend Mingarry lodges , well worth a visit . Glyn Bradburn , Colwyn Bay .

Guest from Colwyn Bay stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


A fabulous stay at Mingarry Lodges

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mingarry Lodges are in a beautiful location, spotlessly clean and the owners have thought of everything to make sure your stay is as excellent as it possibly can be. They have included a lovely welcome pack, loads of information on local walks and activities too. There is so much wildlife around the lodges and food is provided to put out each night for the family of pine martins, breakfast eaten each morning whilst watching red squirrels in the feeding boxes. There is an abundance of bird life too which are encouraged by the plentiful feeders put out by the owners. There is a small village shop in Acharacle about 2 miles away that provides a variety of staples, there is also a very nice bakery and a tea room too.

Would definitely recommend Mingarry Lodges


Guest from Crawley stayed at Hooting Lodge for 14 nights in August 2014


Scottish highlands holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodges are wonderful for watching wildlife. The accommodation is completely modernised and stocked with everything you will need for self catering inc wifi. The owners have thoughtfully provided comprehensive guides of places to visit and explore and there are the local maps and books readily available plus food to feed the local wildlife which includes regular visits by rare pine martens. The cabins are very comfortable and ideally suited for excursions and walks into the Scottish Highlands. If you are interested in watching wildlife this is the ideal place to stay.

Guest from Woking stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2014


Wild comforts at Mingarry Lodges

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mingarry Lodges provide all mod cons with comfort at the core amidst a beautiful setting that offers easy access to the awe of the Ardnamurchan Peninsula and beyond as well as the onsite wonders of Pine Martens, Red Squirrels and numerous bird species. The lodges are nestled into a wooded hillside and look out to Loch Shiel. Jayne and Andrew's attention to detail mean that you won't want for much (if anything) during your stay. I highly recommend booking an escape to Mingarry Lodges.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in July 2014


a holiday for experiencing Scottish nature and wildlife

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lived up to its website which is very full and gives extensive details, not only of the accommodation but also the grounds which have amazing wildlife. We saw pine martins and red squirrels every day and lots of birds on the feeders. The lodge is set in a beautiful garden in front and woodland behind. The area is good for walking, for bird watching etc. Ardnamurchan is a great peninsula to explore.

Vaiti from Suffolk


Guest from Ipswich stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in June 2014


Fantastic lodges and location

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best self catering we have ever stayed in ,the wildlife and walking in the surrounding area is unbeatable.If you are looking for peace and quiet in a stunning location, this is the place for you.

Guest from Halifax stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2014


A great place to stay and explore the area

Review submitted on Mon, 26 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With over 30 years of renting holiday accommodation we consider Mingarry Lodges to be something of a little gem. The lodge was spotlessly clean, nicely furnished and had a real comfy feel to it. The kitchen was well equipped and all the small consumable items that we would normally expect to supply ourselves were thoughtfully provided as well. Jayne and Andrew could not have been more welcoming and helpful too.

The lodge is also excellent for wildlife. We had great sightings of both the rare red squirrel and pine marten, as well as a myriad of birds from the windows.

Its out first visit to Mingarry Lodges but its unlikely to be our last.


Guest from Fakenham stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in May 2014


An excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 19 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent second stay at hooting lodge. The standard of the lodge was excellent just as we remembered. The service Jayne and Andrew provided was also excellent, they couldn't be more helpful. All of the information provided in the lodge also helped us to make the most of our holiday. The lodge has everything that you could require to make it a home away from home. We are sure we will be back for a third stay.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in March 2014


Best location we have visited!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the minute we arrived at Mingarry, we felt completely at home and fell in love with the location. An ideal place for seeing wildlife and exploring Ardnamurchan with all the home comforts we required, I would recommend the lodges to anyone wishing to visit the Scottish west coast.

Guest from Nantwich stayed at Hooting Lodge for 7 nights in April 2014