FB Twitter

Culdee Cottage

Culdee Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Luxury 4 star self-catering Cottage in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. Sleeps 4. Spacious sitting room/dining room/kitchen with views onto the extensive garden.

Superb holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and every bit as excellent as the first time. The hosts are delightful and the accommodation succeeds in offering a top-class, relaxing environment with everthing you could possibly need to recharge the batteries and then explore the attractive local area.

Susan from Kirriemuir stayed at Culdee Cottage for 2 nights in November 2017


Jane Jackson replied 165 days ago
We were delighted to welcome you again. Thank you for your enthusiastic review.

Lovely Culdee Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jane & Colin were wonderful and nothing was to much trouble.
They made us most welcome.
Thanks again for everything.


Malcolm from Northampton stayed at Culdee Cottage for 7 nights in October 2017


Jane Jackson replied 175 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday here and hope we may welcome you again some time.

Culdee Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in Culdee Cottage September 2017. The cottage was very clean and really well equipped with everything you would want on a holiday. The garden was beautiful with seats dotted about.
The seating in the lounge wasn't very good for me, but I am a large person with a chronic back problem. The chairs are the Stress less type, my wife was ok with them.
The cottage is quite remote but in beautiful countryside.
Overall a great place to stay.


David from Huddersfield stayed at Culdee Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Jane jackson replied 210 days ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday here. I'm sorry to hear about your back problem - we'll think about what we can do to help back sufferers with regard to the chairs.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is of the highest standard everything provided that you could possibly need set in a beautiful garden with local walks from the house and access to a wide area of interest. The owners are so friendly and helpful. It has WiFi but no mobile phone cover. The area is quiet and restful yet there are opportunities for active pursuits in the area

Isobel from Dunoon stayed at Culdee Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


A beautiful place

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At Culdee Cottage we had a marvelous time. The Cottage is superb. It is well equipped, offers a lot of space and the sourroundings are simply beautiful. Jane is the perfect host. She welcomes you with milk, jam and butter in the fridge and her handmade scones and gives you all the information you need.

Michael from stayed at Culdee Cottage for 2 nights in August 2017


Jane jackson replied 243 days ago
Thank you for your kind review of our cottage. Sorry the red squirrels didn't show up for you but may be if you visit us again they will oblige!

Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome made for a great start to our peaceful break. Everything you could want is provided including comprehensive info for the surrounding area. The garden is huge and set out for you to sit anywhere you fancy - plenty of wildlife watching to be done. Slept really well in the absolute quiet - and the huge super comfortable bed! Lots of lovely touches everywhere.
The only minor gripe we had was the seating in the living room. In agreement with another comment regarding this but respect the owners response re the flow. A sofa would have been our preference as we found it hard to get comfy in the chairs.
Certainly won't stop us from returning though!


Bruce from Aberdeen stayed at Culdee Cottage for 2 nights in August 2017


Jane Jackson replied 254 days ago
Thank you for your kind review of our Cottage. I'm sorry to hear you didn't find the chairs comfortable. We will bear in mind your comments and see what we can do. We look forward to seeing you again.

Excellent well equipped property

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our comment about so many self catering properties we have rented would be 'if only the owners had stayed here they would realise what is lacking.' Not so with Culdee cottage the owners have stayed there and consequently every reqiurement has been catered for.

A top rated property


John from Bradford stayed at Culdee Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


Comfortable and cosy

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely modern cottage which was well equipped. Cosy and comfortable with games and books supplied for rainy days. Spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. The owners were very welcoming and friendly. Visited in October and scenery was beautiful, such a lovely place to stay. Would recommend even if for a short stay. Very good value.

Laura from Livingston stayed at Culdee Cottage for 2 nights in October 2016


Lovely cottage and part of the world

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were after peace - and Culdee delivered. Lovely welcome. Cosy cottage with every piece of equipment you could want. Very nice couple and great location - fantastic Glens resplendent in the autumn colours. Only slight issue was the softish beds not quite suiting us. This is a very personal thing and a cottage cannot cater for every taste on this front. In all - excellent place for a weekend or a week break.

Ian from Edinburgh stayed at Culdee Cottage for 3 nights in October 2016


Beautiful cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful cottage in a stunning, quiet location. It was clean and the owner was present on arrival. She was extremely helpful and on hand with useful advice if needed. There are gorgeous walks either straight from the door or a short drive away. I loved watching the red squirrels play in the garden. The pictures of the cottage don't do it justice, it is much bigger than I expected. My only gripe was the lack of a settee and the bed wasn't overly comfortable (but I am fussy with beds as I have a bad back). I would definitely return and recommend to friends.

Anne from Bolton stayed at Culdee Cottage for 4 nights in September 2016


Jane Jackson replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed our Cottage and your holiday here, and delighted to hear that you would like to come back. Thank you for your comments. We have tried to keep a light and open feel to the sitting/dining room, and thought that a sofa would impede this, but we will bear in mind what you have said.

A Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a wonderful place to stay! The owner, Jane, is a lovely person and a wealth of information. The cottage is not really close to much but everything in Scotland isn't that far away anyway. When I make it back to Scotland, I will definitely book with Jane for more than one night.

Laura from Westphalia stayed at Culdee Cottage for 1 nights in September 2016


Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very relaxing week in this cosy, comfortable cottage. The owners, Jane and Colin ,were very welcoming and helpful. Wonderful views of the resident wildlife (we saw everything promised in the brochure) from the comfort of our armchairs..

Anne from Westhill stayed at Culdee Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Excellent stay in a lovely home

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fully equiped, well organized, all conforts and lovely owners, the cottage is perfect for a relaxing and having an interesting holidays. Near to tourist sites to visit, lovely landscapes and walks, peace for reading, fireplace and family games for the evenings.
Hope to have to possibility to come back!


Bruna from Vigarano Mainarda stayed at Culdee Cottage for 1 nights in July 2016


Back home.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lived there for many years when it was a tied cottage for farm. Culdee is possibly the nicest self catering holiday home I have used (within the price range) and environs are superb.
So, so, so many good memories and seeing red squirrels at the feeders was a joy. Lots of good walks and close by towns to visit. Wonderful.


Guest from Dumfries stayed at Culdee Cottage for 2 nights in July 2016


Kilry at its best

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a lovely place. Very well equipped and immaculate. Owners on site and a really lovely helpful couple. Only negative for us was lack of a sofa in lounge.

Alan from Cramlington stayed at Culdee Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


A Lovely Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely warm welcome from Jane & Colin to thier gorgeous cottage. It had every thing we needed for our stay, was spotlessly clean and even had comfy beds......not often found when away. The gardens were just beautiful and were all ours to explore. At night you could hear the sound of the river running by.....a lovely way to drift off to sleep. My Dad is disabled (walks aided with a wheeled frame and requires help with bathing etc.) The cottage is well equipped for people with disabilities, even greater than my Fathers. The wet room is a great asset. We visited, Scone Palace, Glamis Castle, Dalwhinnie Distillery, Pitlochry. There are some lovely walks right on the doorstep of the cottage too. We would love to stay again if we visit the area and thoroughly recommend you stay here too.

Hilary from Liverpool, Uk stayed at Culdee Cottage for 4 nights in May 2016


Very nice stay

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stay was great. Owners very helpful and friendly; great value for money. No complaints at all; would happily stay again. Handy for anyone walking the Cateran Trail.

Gordon from Glasgow stayed at Culdee Cottage for 1 nights in May 2016


Jane Jackson replied more than 1 year ago
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and was even more delighted to discover that when I contacted you to ask how we might improve in the areas where you had not given us 5, it turned out that your figures were a mistake and you had intended giving us full marks for everything.

Delightful Short Break

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was in a very good location, quiet and peaceful with lots of wildlife in and around the beautiful garden grounds.
Owners whose property adjoins the cottage were more than helpful and very welcoming, providing home-made scones etc for our arrival.
Cottage was very well appointed, although another 'adult' chair in the sitting area would make it just perfect.
Would not hesitate to recommend to others and would certainly return if looking for accommodation in same area again.


Guest from West Kilbride stayed at Culdee Cottage for 2 nights in April 2016


March getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at this cottage. It is set in the most beautiful area especially if you like wildlife. The cottage was extremely comfortable and was well equipped. Our hosts were lovely

Guest from St Boswells stayed at Culdee Cottage for 5 nights in March 2016


Short break at Culdee Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely roomy cottage complete with a wood burning stove. We enjoyed watching the red squirrels playing and feeding in the garden. This is a very scenic part of Scotland with some lovely glens to walk along and the Cateran trail passes close by.

David from Haltwhistle stayed at Culdee Cottage for 4 nights in December 2015


Happy Hogmanay.....

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Culdee Cottage is a fantastic place. We only stayed for one night but instantly felt at home after a warm welcome from Jane. We couldn't have picked a better place for our overnight stay. There is so much to do in the local area that we're looking forward to a lengthier stay in the future. If you happen to be reading this and wondering if you should go ahead and book I'd say do it now! The facilities really are first class. Great value for money, very comfy and cosy. Perfect!

Derek from Perth stayed at Culdee Cottage for 1 nights in December 2015


Wonderful stay in a cosy rural cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I really enjoyed our stay in Culdee Cottage. We were given good instructions on how to arrive at the cottage and there were signboards directing us there. It was immaculate when we arrived and had everything we needed for our stay. Would love to return for a longer trip next time!

Ann Shien from Inverness stayed at Culdee Cottage for 1 nights in December 2015


One of the best short stays we've had

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the best short stays we've ever had (and indeed it's wonderful that such spacious, high-quality self-catering accommodation is available for short breaks). The accommodation was superb - attractive, very well equipped and warm - and the hosts really were exceptionally welcoming and kind. We were fortunate enough to stay during a spell of beautiful weather in autumn, when the colours of the garden and surrounding landscape were spectacular, so being outdoors locally was especially lovely, but we'd have enjoyed ourselves even if we'd been confined to the house by bad weather, so comfortable was the accommodation.

Although the area doesn't have the immediately spectacular scenery that might be experienced in other parts of the Highlands, it's still very beautiful, with a juxtaposition of well tended farmland, heather moorland and the first foothills of the Grampians. Glen Isla, the Reekie Linn waterfall and the Backwater Reservoir are all within walking distance, making Cludee Cottage ideal for outdoor-orientated non-drivers like ourselves.


Manuel from Kirriemuir stayed at Culdee Cottage for 2 nights in October 2015


short break

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
had a lovely short break with super hosts. Nothing was a problem. felt a settee in lounge would be more comfortable.
Great log fire and plenty of wood. Enjoyed it.


James from Dunoon stayed at Culdee Cottage for 2 nights in October 2015


Sheer perfection

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is absolute perfection. Everything about this cottage is outstanding, from its secluded location to the rare red squirrels. Total perfection.

Chris from Ashgrove stayed at Culdee Cottage for 1 nights in September 2015


Perfect relaxing location

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Most fantastic setting with such friendly and helpful owners this cottage is maintained to a very high standard & is most certainly worth a visit. Would highly recommend.

Peter from Hull stayed at Culdee Cottage for 4 nights in September 2015


A lovely escape

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage with everything you could need. Beautiful morning awakening to squirrels and birds. Very bright and airy cottage and good place for a wee morning run.

Marion from Banchory stayed at Culdee Cottage for 1 nights in September 2015


Pilgrim Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location, a super cottage, with lovely hosts and plenty of opportunity to observe the local wildlife. We used the cottage as a base for the weekend it would have been nice to spend more time there.

Suzanne from Peterhead stayed at Culdee Cottage for 2 nights in September 2015


Brilliant cottage, fantastic location.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed three nights in Culdee cottage and it wasn't long enough; Jane and Colin were very helpful and friendly. The cottage was brilliant, very clean and to a high spec. Great location, can't wait to stay again!

David from Doncaster stayed at Culdee Cottage for 3 nights in August 2015


Excellent cottage with stunning garden

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely short break in a vey comfortable cottage which had everything you could need. The garden was stunning and we enjoyed having our breakfast outside in the sun.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Culdee Cottage for 1 nights in August 2015


Great hosts, lovely country haven

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently visited as a party of 3 to Culdee Cottage. The location is lovely and the cottage is extremely well appointed and good value for money, although we only had time for an overnight stop. I cannot say enough good things about the helpfulness of the hosts. The cottage is a little difficult to find but our late arrival as night fell did not help but I would definitely use SatNav or plan from the map very carefully. There is everything provided with lovely beds, clean bathrooms and towels. Views are super. I personally think a nice comfy sofa in the lounge would be a really good addition. It would provide an area for a family to sit and would separate the lounge and dining/kitchen areas. Just my opinion.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Culdee Cottage for 1 nights in August 2015


Castle Central

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful apartment remotely located for day trips to Balmoral and Glamis Castles. Vehicle must have GPS if you want to navigate this area successfully.

Guest from University Place stayed at Culdee Cottage for 3 nights in July 2015