FB Twitter

The Laundry

The Laundry

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Set in the picturesque grounds of Ty Mawr The Laundry is a luxury 1 x bedroom cottage which benefits from a large glass fronted wall which opens onto a private enclosed garden. Perfect for couples and dog owners.

Beautiful cottage, perfect location for exploring Brecon country side.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Laundry for 4 nights in November. When we arrived at the cottage, we were greeted by the owner, who was welcoming and explained everything we needed to know for our stay guiding us through the useful guide book they have prepared for guests.
The cottage is very well equipped, we had everything we needed including firefighters, matches, kindling and wood for the wood burner. The weather was very true to type for the this time of year in Wales, wet and a little cold.
The cottage itself has beautiful period features whilst still feeling clean and modern. We had our 3 year old cockapoo with us who loved the field on the land, plenty of room for her to run round and explore. There is also a small private garden, due to the weather, the dog had more use of this than us but was very handy to have as it allowed us just to let her out into the garden which she frequently asked for in the evening.
The location is perfect, a 5 minute drive into Brecon, the national park and plenty of other nice places are all within a short drive.
We had a lovely stay, we are likely to book again and would very much recommend this as a great base to explore Brecon.




The Laundry

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed and furnished property in a peaceful location with walks across open farmland on the doorstep.Useful enclosed garden with patio if you have a dog and a sun trap in the afternoon. Faultless.




Relaxing Short Break

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a nice relaxing second stay at the Laundry. Lovely comfortable cottage with a nice garden for our dog and also a large paddock in the grounds. Plenty of great walks along the Brecon Canal and waterfalls at Talybont-on-Usk. We would definitely return.



A beautiful place and holiday to remember......

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a superb week despite the weather (the rain was refreshing!). Our Cottage (The Laundry) was simply excellent in every respect. We couldn't have wished for more. Our dog (and us) loved the place with more walks than usual. The peace and quiet was very welcome. The condition and facilities were top-notch, everything catered for, and our visit to the three horses pub and the lovely food was spot-on (thanks to Boris for the discount which we gave to our waitress!!). After all the lock-ins, lock-downs and lock-ups due to COVID-19 it was great to get away, relax in beautiful surroundings and enjoy the scenery. We enjoyed the canel walks both ways and Brecon is a place we would love to visit again. We didn't want to leave, so to help our exit we booked again for next year. Thank You Peter and Your Team!!



Another great stay at Ty Mawr

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay again, ideal base for discovering the Brecon Beacons, the Monmouthshire and Brecon canal Path with the added beauty of having you private paddock to walk the dog.
Very stylishly decorated with everything you could possibly need thought of.




Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Ty Mawr cottages are an impressive collection of 5 cottages developed from an old farm estate. They are all beautifully done with individual characters and are an absolute pleasure to stay at.

The Laundry is one of their dog-friendly cottages and we took our dog which we don't always do. Too often cottages that are dog friendly are in fact rather soiled from their four legged visitors - but The Laundry is not. They charge an extra £20 for a dog but the extra cleanliness is appreciated and they also sensibly provide a water bowl in the garden and also poo bins. The garden is completely dog proof and there is a large paddock area that is also dog friendly and our boy loved galloping through the grasses out there.

But we humans loved the stay too. The garden was just so peaceful, you could sit out in the comfortable garden chairs and enjoy hearing the birds sing and relax. As others have said, the kitchen was very well equipped so for us just out of lockdown but with pubs still limited to outside seating, it was easy to cook whatever we wanted.

We will be back - but may sample one of the other cottages just for a change.




A Perfect Weekend Away

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in 'The Laundry' with my wife for 3 nights. It was lovely. Very Spacious for 2, with a huge bedroom and lovely bathroom. Well equipped kitchen (they even had a steamer!). Nice big garden, and totally secure for our small dog. Clean and cosy throughout. First Class in our book, and we stay in quite a lot of this type of lodge/cottage.



We have stayed ina 3 properties at Ty Mawr over the years and all have been excellent.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent property. However a couple of comments. The position of the TV to the sofa is not good. you have to turn your head to 90 degrees to watch the TV and perhaps some thought should be given to improving the situation. Freeview is provided which has a poor selection of programmes and consideration should be given to providing Sky.



Great break

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fifth time here and as always a fantastic place. Brilliant for doggies and lovely surrounding area. Would highly recommend coming here.
Many thanks to Peter and Alexandra.




Luxury stay with dog in the Brecons

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Laundry is a delightful country retreat, ideal for a couple with a dog. It is very private, well equipped and beautifully presented. As we visited in Autumn we especially enjoyed the log burner which made the cottage very cosy at night. The large picture window enabled you to look out at the trees and small enclosed garden which was perfectly safe for our dog. We liked the open plan kitchen and lounge which we thought was ideal for a couple. The kitchen was well kitted out. Upstairs the bedroom was a delight with a very comfy super king bed and an attractive en-suite bathroom. The lighting was well thought out and everything was very clean. Although all the other cottages were occupied we didn’t hear the other visitors at all making it very private, relaxing and quiet. There are larger grounds to exercise your dog and plenty of country walks in the area which is beautiful. The owner is discreet and very helpful. We really enjoyed our long weekend here and could easily have stayed for longer! Would have preferred an earlier check in and slightly later check out; 4pm and 10am is a little late and early. Otherwise everything was perfect.



Perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very warm and comfortable. Kitchen and bathroom equipped with everything you could possibly need. Can't praise it enough.



90/100

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the sofa a little uncomfortable for watching TV and the dining chairs could have been more in keeping with the
rest of the furnishings. Otherwise everything was really very very good. Should we return we would choose the property
the downstairs toilet.




Boutique dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, fantastic grounds, safe and secure for the dogs, friendly and helpful on-site owner - all contributed to a very relaxing holiday and we’ll definitely be back.



Ty Mawr cottages in Llanfrynach, Nr. Brecon is in an outstanding location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in the “Laundry”, the location is outstanding, very close to Brecon, 4 miles to Llangorse lake, fab walks along the tow paths on Brecon Monmouth canal, the Beacons, great pub The 3 horseshoes, Groesffordd for food, close by,booking a must. The Swan in Llanfrynach is currently closed, which is a pity as only a few steps from Ty Mawr. It’s planned to re-open
We loved the very well equipped kitchen, the large bedroom with super king bed, the luxury bathroom, the private garden, the onsite park where you can exercise the dog without having to travel in the car to find walks. The only slight downside is we found the settee uncomfortable,bit like sitting on jelly and it’s not configured very well to watch Tele. Frustratingly there is a lovely comfortable chair with footstool in the the large bedroom!
Peter was a great host, there if you need anything, but not in your face
Great place to visit with dogs, and active coupes who want to explore the beautiful area
Wouldn’t hesitate to book again




Lovely Relaxing Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot recommend this property enough. The attention to detail is outstanding. We have two dogs and found the secure garden, and nearby open field perfect for them. Visit nearby Crickhowell and Hay on Wye to compete your stay.



Perfect for dogs and humans alike!

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely to go a quality dog friendly property, often 1 beds are small but this was a great size with enough room for 2 adults and our 2 staffies. The Laundry had every conceivable kitchen acrutement, lovely large sofa in living room, and huge door leading out to private enclosed garden. Super king size bed and a gorgeous bathroom. To top it all the complex had a very large enclosed field where the dogs could run to their hearts content in safety. In a beautiful area with stunning views. Needless to say we will be back!



Celebrated my wife’s 50th birthday & also felt like a second honeymoon

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect for a romantic get away for 2!! The location was beautiful, peace and quiet with our own cozy courtyard. The accommodation was designed to a high standard, with a fully fitted kitchen. Very clean & tidy.



Absolutely fabulous.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely fabulous cottage in idyllic surroundings. very well equipped kitchen and all the home comforts you could wish for. Nothing is too much trouble for Peter and Alex; very welcoming hosts. A haven for dogs. Have recommended and will continue to recommend



The laundry

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had another gorgeous week in Ty Mawr cottages and we would love to come back again because the setting is perfect for relaxation and is in a good position to access the beauty that Brecon boasts. The last time we stayed at The Cottage, and the advantage over that one is definitely the beautiful private garden, especially as we had dogs with us- they loved the freedom and we loved the peace of mind. Meeting Griffin and Tudor was an extra bonus. The smell of roses and the sound of birds, greeted us every time we went out there, it was a beautiful experience.
We loved staying at the Laundry - the best bed and shower ever! - and thoroughly enjoyed my Indian Head massage by Natasha in the annex next door.

There were just a couple of VERY SMALL things I would recommend to make it perfect:
1) I enjoyed two delicious baths (most wonderful comfortable bath), but there are no cleaning products to clean it afterwards.
2) there were supposed to be fresh flowers on arrival but I requested no lilies (allergic to perfume) so I ended up with none at all, - it’s little touches like this that make it special.
3)I wanted to wash some clothes and there was no washing powder (in classic cottages (cheaper than these),in Devon, all these little things are always provided, along with bird seed so you can sit and watch them feed and a bottle of wine on arrival).
4)Something needs to be done to improve on the disposal of waste, you say you recycle but how are we supposed to recycle if there are no bins provided- walking everything across to the car park is a pain, and difficult to do without dropping things(managed to smash a bottle on my way over)- this was distressing as I was conscious of all the dogs around (don’t worry I cleaned it thoroughly)
As I said these are small but irritating things that I have come to expect in ‘luxury’ cottages - which these are on the whole.

Thank you for a lovely holiday !




5 star stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit. Beautifully presented property. They have everything you need to enjoy your stay. We enjoy cooking with local produce whilst we are there and I find the kitchen amazing, excellent pans, utensils etc. The log burner is amazing. We love the grounds and the garden is perfect to relax with the dogs. It's so peaceful and even when people are nearby in neighbouring cottages, you feel totally secluded. The village is very tranquil, perfect for walks and peace. We had a peek in the other cottages while we were there, and they are all beautiful! We will return again.



Awesome

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We keep coming back, we really love it here! We feel so welcome and after our fifth visit here what's not to love! Beautiful.



Winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely place/area to stay. Very welcoming from start to finish and the grounds the cottages are situated in are lovely. Lovely views and a great place to stay if you have dogs for walks. Would definitely recommend for a holiday.





Wonderful break

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and the estate are simply the best!
Our dog was safe and happy in the grounds. Just a beautiful cottage with all the mod cons.
It is a difficult short walk to the canal and to other walks if not wanting to use the car. Pubs also have to be driven to as the local one was closed.
We will go back.




Hard to beat !

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in several holiday cottages over the years and none have bettered the Laundry ! Everything has been well thought out and designed. The furniture and fittings are comfortable, cosy and of top quality. In addition the facilities for our dog, Nelson, (his own secure, private garden, lovely grounds to wander in and the profusion of poo bins) get a big paws up !

All in all we have had a wonderful time and will be happy to return again in the future. The only small frustration was that the White Swan was closed for renovation. If we had been able to walk there each evening for a pint and a chat it would have completed the perfect break.