FB Twitter

The Bothy

The Bothy

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Set within the picturesque grounds of Ty Mawr the 2 bedroom Bothy sleeps 4 with 1 x super king bed and 2 full size single beds. Perfect for dog owners as is it right next to the 12 acres of private parkland.

Perfect cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Came and stayed in the bothy for a week, from the initial booking the communication was superb. We arrived and received a warm welcome. The cottage is stunning, kitted out very nicely (don’t bother bringing utensils, wine glasses etc as it’s better than most of us have at home). The cottage was spotless when we arrived especially important with Covid around. It has underfloor heating which is delightful. It is very quiet here and peaceful. If you aren’t lucky enough to live in the countryside then step outside after dark as the stars are something else. If you have a dog then you’re in for a treat as there’s a huge park area outside which is perfect for exercising and you’ll often bump into other guests with their dogs. If you get a chance book a massage in the spa, it was lovely. The location is superb as there’s lots of great walks from the village you can go for miles. The only downside was having to leave, we could’ve stayed for a few weeks happily. We are currently sat at home trying to work out when we can stay again. We’ve stayed in lots of nice places but this one tops them all. Thank you to peter and Alexandra for being such nice hosts it was an absolute delight staying there for a week.



A cosy week

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for a wet week in Wales, although that didn't matter too much as The Bothy was warm and welcoming with a fire set ready to go in the log burner. The cottage was immaculately clean and we loved the vase of fresh flowers that were also waiting for us. This was one of several thoughtful touches that included games and books, videos and nic naks that made the lace feel homely. The kitchen was very well equipped with just about everything one could think of and the beds were extremely comfortable - we slept very well.. Tall guests should watch out in the main bedroom as the ceiling is quite low - we bumped our head a few times.



A super cottage in a fabulous location for walking

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was well equipped, clean & warm (underfloor heating) in a perfect location for anybody keen on walking in the Brecon Beacons National Park. Faultless.



Lovely place to stay in Wales

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at the Bothy. Excellent accommodation that is beautifully comfortable and very well equipped. The location was great for access to the Brecons and places such as Hay-on-Wye and Crickhowell with some very good walks on the door step to. Very welcoming and helpful hosts who provide an excellent information pack for what to do, see and eat. This included vet contacts which was a very thoughtful touch for people bringing their 4 legged family members (like us). Definitely stay here again if it wasn't already booked out for the rest of the year!



A happy return

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to the cottages and as always a fantastic peaceful relaxing and quality experience.
We will be back next year.




Summer holiday saved!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to The Bothy, booked to replace a cancelled foreign holiday. Peter and Alexandra were so welcoming, friendly and kind with our children. The Bothy is very well equipped and is extremely cosy and comfortable, so we were able to relax and felt really at home there. The outside courtyard to the rear provides a lovely sun trap and the field and stream in front of the cottage was great for letting the children roam freely in. We spent lots of time sitting outside enjoying the peaceful setting and watching buzzards fly by. For colder nights there is a lovely wood burner but we didn’t need it this stay. It is in a great location for exploring the Brecon Beacons and there are plenty of walks to do either from the cottage along the canal, or within a half or or so you can be in Hay on Wye, climbing Sugar Loaf in Abergavenny or visiting waterfalls in Ystradfellte. We spent a wonderful week at The Bothy and left with our batteries definitely recharged. We would highly recommend.



The Bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would absolutely recommend the Bothy, with its lovely patio, and already looking forward to a return visit.



A perfect stay in The Bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really first rate stay in The Bothy, our third at the Ty Mawr Collection of cottages. The cottage is very well appointed and in very good condition. The hosts were most helpful. The cottage was beautifully quiet at night; the birds were the only noise, and it was lovely to hear the natural world. We were able to have dinner on the terrace outside the cottage on three occasions; never before have we eaten outside so much in the evening in the UK!



Cosy, luxurious, tranquil, perfect stay in the Brecon Beacons

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had the most idilic stay in the Bothy. The accommodation is first class, all you could possibly need for a home from home self catering break. The setting of the Bothy is quite spectacular, walking distance from the mountains, towns and pubs and in such a tranquil, quiet area. Our dog loved being able to run round the private field right outside our front door, and we loved how safe he was away from any busy roads.

Peter was a great host and talked us through all the amenities and local points of interest when we arrived.

I really hope we can come back to stay in the near future as we have just had such a fantastic week.

I don’t think 5 stars does the accommodation justice as we have stayed in other supposed 5 star self catering properties that couldn’t touch the Bothy, for location, quality or comfort. They have really thought of everything here to make for a wonderful holiday.

Thank You!





One place you will always want to return to

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bothy is a unique and classy place to spend your holiday, it has everything you need and more set in beautiful grounds of ty Mawr also set in good reach for all activities and walks
We can’t wait to return thank you so much




Excellent in every aspect

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in The Bothy for 6 nights and it was fabulous. Great location and excellent facilities.
Great attention to detail and quality items in the house. Nothing was too much trouble either for the owners.
Will definitely be back




The only place we return time and again

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th visit to Ty Mawr - we’ve stayed 3 times in the Bothy and twice in The Laundry. Fabulous every time. We never want to leave. Couldn’t recommend highly enough. And needless to say, we will definitely be back.



Fabulous stay in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 6th year we have stayed here. It is always beautifully presented and offers everything you can possibly need for a weekend away. Our little bolt hole.
The bothy is always clean and tidy with a fully equipped kitchen. There’s always fresh flowers. We love the location and are able to leave the car here and walk up into the hills. The bothy has become a regular break for us and I’m sure we’ll be back again next year.




The Bothy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Lovely cottage in a great location. Clean and cosy cottage. Great area for dog walking. Good communication from owners.



A beautiful cottage in a peaceful location

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in a peaceful location. A walkers paradise as footpaths lead to hills and canal path from front door. Lots of thoughtful touches such as dish washer tablets, cling film, maps, books, magazines are provided, items that can inadvertently be forgotten. Unlimited supply of logs for cosy burner. My dogs love the park to run in and play in the little stream. Llanfrynach is a lovely little village, perfectly positioned within the national park, it’s a real shame the pub closed down recently, though there are plenty of other options a short drive away.



Perfect cottage with lovely warm welcome

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bothy proved to be the perfect Cottage for a short break for my family and two dogs. Very comfortable with practical flagstones and underfloor heating downstairs, and extremely comfortable bedrooms - warm and snug. well fitted kitchen and gorgeous bathroom. Great local environment, but with plenty of walking routes literally from the doorstep, and a privately owned, nicely cultivated field for short morning / evening strolls. Thank you to Peter for such a warm welcome.



Luxury vottage

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful well equipped cottage with so much attention to detail
Lovely extra touches like flowers and welcome pack and gowns
Really enjoyed relaxed week




Week walking in Brecon Beacons staying at the bothy

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn’t be better. Fantastic location, very comfortable and clean cottage. Lovely to have the wood burner. Helpful owners, useful info in the cottage.



a wonderful stay,couldnt be better

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is five star accommodation in a cottage in a beautiful country setting The personal touches made it just like home with such wonderful heating too, so comforting on a cold day



summer 19

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our stay here during the summer.Fabulous cottage,and had everything we needed.We loved the location so many things to do in the area.The canel and rivers were a hit with our kids.Great place to stay




Lovely location, beautiful scenery, superb accomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the Bothy quite enchanting, and everything perfect. The scenery helped to enhance everything. We went there after a Very stressful couple of months, it was the perfect antidote....we shall stay there again.



Lovely dog friendly 5* cottage, close to Brecon & a drive to many other attractions.

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very quaint cottage - everything you would need is here including Netflix to catch up on TV in the evenings including films!
The kitchen is great with everything you would need.
A lovely lounge with a wood fire (in colder months) with an excellent TV in case the weather is unkind - with small dining table which is perfect! .Upstairs - lovely bathroom with walk in shower, twin bedroom and finally a master bedroom - the only downside is that if you are tall the ceiling could be a problem, as it has a sloping roof, I had to keep bending down getting to my side of the bed.
The owner was very helpful and only a phonecall away if you had any queries.
Would we recommend the place - yes, although we would try one of the other cottages next time! as there are 4 others on site.
Unfortunately the local pub/restaurant has closed down - Black Swan, shame as it was only 2 minutes walk away.




Ty Mawr

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay in comfort in lovely surroundings. This is the fourth cottage we have stayed in at Ty Mawr and they are all exceptional especially considering you can bring your dog with you.



Best Cottage we have stayed in

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a beautifully furnished and equipped Cottage and unlike other places we have stayed, the kitchen had everything we needed to self-cater. This and the fact that it was in such a lovely area and the dogs had a fenced field on the doorstep made it worth the highish cost. Would certainly return and definitely recommend. We went there on recommendation and it did not disappoint!



Fantastic Stay!!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This venue was recommended by a friend and what a recommendation!We stayed in The Bothy. It is a great location, was very clean on arrival with the added touch of fresh flowers and an easter egg and most of all it was very dog friendly. I only met the owners briefly but they were very welcoming and always on hand if we needed them! The Bothy itself was comfortable and finished at a very high Spec! It location is quiet and idyllic. The only thing I would say is there was a very late check in of 4pm having said that we got there early and were helpfully directed onto a walk toThe nearest pub!



Exceeds all expectations

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, quality furnishing. We will recommend it to our friends and family, and hope to return soon ourselves.



Wonderful cottage in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love staying at The Bothy. Excellent accommodation with everything you need for a relaxing stay. Everything has been thought of to make our stay enjoyable. Love the location. We walked from the cottage up to Fan y big in wonderful weather. Love that we can leave the car and walk either into the mountains or along the canal. We have stayed here 5 years in a row and plan on returning next year.



Exceptional as always

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit to Ty mwar and as lovely as ever! This time made extra special with Natasha who offers on site treatments and they were exceptional! We will be back again no doubt!



Cosy and comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in The Bothy for 4 nights. Peter was very helpful and welcoming and everything was provided that we could possibly need. The Bothy was very comfortable and cosy with a wonderful supply of logs for the woodburner. The walks from The Bothy were fabulous. All in all a perfect stay and we hope to return in the future.



The bothy

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely superb cosy cottage in a wonderful location. Everything that you could ask for is provided.



Couldn't fault a thing!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic holiday property in a beautiful location, can't wait to go back. Lots of small touches like bath robes and slippers made it even more special.



Midweek Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, cosy stay in the Brecon Beacons. Well equipped property in a great location. Will be back, for longer next time.



New Years break with friends!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and our wonderful friends had a lovely stay in the Bothy at Ty Mawr for New Years. The cottage was beautiful, couldn't have been better located and Peter was very helpful. This was our second stay at Ty Mawr cottages and won't be our last. Excellent value for money. Our taxi driver summed it up perfectly one night by saying we were staying in the best venue in the Brecons. Everything you could hope for in a cottage break and more. Thoroughly recommend to all! Happy New Year!



A wonderful cosy stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in the wonderful Bothy. We had a wedding to attend in a nearby village and wanted somewhere peaceful and close to the location of the wedding to stay and The Bothy ticked all the boxes.

This cosy little haven is decorated to an extremely high standard and you feel relaxed as soon as you walk through the door. My partner and I had the master bedroom with the huge bed, in the apex of the building and it was gorgeous, The bathroom was stunning and felt more like a 5 star hotel with its decoration.

With all the little extras including freshly cut flowers and Welsh cakes, which were lovely after a long drive, we felt very welcome

It is situated in a tucked away location with lovely grounds and being an amateur photographer I took some beautiful pictures in the grounds.

Lastly, a very special thank you to the owners who responded to a particularly difficult situation with kindness and understanding.

We will definitely be going back, so do not hesitate to book this wonderful place, you will not be disappointed.




Restful week in cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable base for visits to Brecon, Abergavenny, Hay on Wye & the beautiful Beacons countryside. So many good restaurants to visit too.



Relaxing Luxury

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit to these amazing cottages. Location perfect for everything the Brecon Beacons has to offer. Cottages are furnished to a very high standard with beautiful little touches, fresh flowers, Luxury toiletries, starter pack, the list goes on. The hosts are friendly and helpful, always on hand if you need them but leave you alone to enjoy your break. Dog friendly and with a large field across the path set up specifically for dog walks. Highly recommend a stay at any of the cottages but have to say The Bothy is our favourite so far.



A holiday with the pooches

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage a nice peaceful surrounding the weather was kind and the two cockapoo’s and chocolate Labrador had a great time