FB Twitter

The Other House @ Sound of Harris

The Other House @ Sound of Harris

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 69 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Sound of Harris is situated in the township of Borrisdale at the southernmost tip of Harris, overlooking the Sound, which separates the Minches from the open Atlantic. The location provides a stunning panorama - from Skye, across the mountainous spine of the Uists, the myriad islets of the Sound, to Killegray, Ensay and Pabbay beyond. Expect to see the resident otters in the kelp at low tide, plus porpoise, grey seals, common dolphin, gannets and the local breeding pair of golden eagles on occasion. The accommodation comprises two separate adjoined lodges. The Big House, at 120 m2, is based around a spacious loft-style living, kitchen and dining area - with full glazing to the south and west elevations to make the most of the views. The Other House (65 m2) maintains a cozy feel, with views south across Langay, Gilsay and Groay from the vaulted living space. Both units feature interiors based around bespoke Tweeds by Donald John Mackay, which complement vintage mid-century furnishings. Facilities include Japanese style soaking tubs and rain showers in the en-suite bathrooms, well appointed kitchens, smart TVs, DVD players, quality hi-fis, fast fibre broadband and extensive libraries of books and DVDs.

Stylish property in a stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for the most amazing stay in the stylish Other House - it has been perfect in every way.
We will miss this stunning view and sitting watching it change constantly as the light changes. We leave with full and happy hearts.
The Other House is the perfect retreat after a day of walking.
Thank you Carol and Rob for creating such a perfect house to match it's incredible setting.




Outstanding House, with incredible Views!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's hard to put into words just how fabulous our stay at The Other House @ Sound of Harris was!
Harris is unlike anywhere I have previously visited; it's completely breathtaking scenery, has an abundance of wildlife, and offers incredible food.
From the second we arrived, we fell in love with Harris, and our accommodation at The Other House, which in itself, is sympathetically in keeping with the surroundings, is just beautiful. Comprising of a good sized living/kitchen area, overlooking The Sound of Harris, you will find impeccable design, stylish decor with handmade soft furnishings, from Borrisdale & Harris Tweed.
The views are so mesmerising, with the ever changing weather, bringing varying colours across the Sound of Harris, which totally engulfs your soul.
The bedroom is very comfortable; and offers a good sized en-suite bathroom; continuing with the gorgeous styled decor throughout.
There is a second bathroom with a toilette & sink.
All appliances are to a very high standard, and Rob and Carol have thought of everything to make your stay as comfortable, and as relaxing as possible.
This house really is to the highest level of standards & quality, and we certainly didn't want to leave!





a wonderful place, views to live to see, wildlife abundant, accommodation marvelous.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
if you want to place that is beautiful, quiet, stunning and incredibly different this is it for you. away from the maddening crowds, the view is delightful, the people who run this place are so lovely. They care that you love this place. we do .
you can walk you can swim, you can see wild open spaces, you can. If you want lots of people and lots of shops cafes and restaurants dont go . this place is pristine, we loved it. I would go back if I could .
the standard of the building is definately of very high standard. everything you need is there. just go and be glad,




5 nights in the Other House

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend The Other House nor it's owners Rob and Carol who were always quick to respond to any questions, highly enough! This property is an absolute treat to stay at, it is not your average rental. The location is breathtaking and makes you feel like you're on the edge of the world with all the incredible wildlife to keep you company! A highlight was watching porpoises and a seal playing in the sea from the living room window!
The house is decorated in incredible mid-20th century style, and every little detail had been thought of. The log burner is particularly impressive with the flue reaching up to the double height roof, and making an incredibly cosy den to hold up in when the wind and rain is lashing down dramatically outside!
There is a well stocked local shop and a few brilliant foodie options nearby such as The Anchorage restaurant at Leverburgh Pier.
This is easily one of the nicest places to stay on the whole of Harris and we have recommended Rob and Carol's place to all of our friends and family for a trip now! We feel incredibly lucky to have stayed here!




My ideal holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If I were to design my ideal holiday accommodation, it would be "The Sound of Harris".

From the moment we arrived until the time we left, I adored everything that was here. The views are sublime, the house manages to be stylish, comfortable, peaceful, cosy and practical. Everything you might want has been thought of. A perfect place for a couple to retreat into the magic of Harris. We spent time walking, swimming and exploring around. Though what I loved best was sipping a drink at the end of the day and watching the ever changing view. It is exactly as the video, but better, much much better.

Rob and Carol are wonderful hosts and shortly after emailing with a request, extra firelighters were on our doorstep. Nothing is too much trouble.




Every detail attended to in a house sited in a restful, beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the Other House speaks thoughtfulness and quality. Furnishings are natural and everything as friendly to the environment as it can be.
The setting is supremely restful, apart but not isolated and the house aspect affords the most magnificent views of the islands, sea and skies. The beaches nearby are beautifully clean and quiet.
We were unsure what to expect from the weather in August but in the end we’ve enjoyed a piece of every season, possibly in every day! The welcome has been warm and our hosts present but not intrusive. Thanks!




Fantastic and beautiful but not disabled friendly

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The other house is fantastic. We used it as our base as we got married on the island. The location, layout and décor is all high class, fashionable and beautiful. You can tell alot of time effort and money has gone into setting up the house. The owners are very friendly and went out there way to help us.
The only minor criticism of the other house is that it's not mobility impaired friendly, the only step in the property that can't be worked arround is the one into the shower (about 15cm) and the shower itself is a high edge half bath (about 50cm). This made showering for my now wife difficult and impossible without help from myself.




Fantastic accommodation and sensational views

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation overlooking the Sound of Harris and a great location to explore South Harris. Hypnotising views from the lounge and kitchen watching dolphins pass by. A very high standard of accommodation, spotlessly clean and very helpful tips and advice from the owners Rob and Carol, who met us on arrival. I’d highly recommend Sound of Harris for holiday accommodation on the Isle of Harris.




Peace perfect...

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We looked at many other properties across Harris and before 'choosing' the Other House at Sound of Harris but all were unavailable for our dates. However having now stayed there and seen some of these properties in the flesh we're glad they weren't available. The Other House was perfect for us. It's in a fantastic, remote position with no passing traffic yet still close enough to some great amenities. The house itself has everything you need and the owners had provided some basic provisions that kept us going over the first few days. Even on inclement days the views out over the sea always provided pleasure. We certainly aim to be back some day.



Absolutely delightful

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was excellent and the views from the window of the Sound of Harris were spectacular!! I hope we will return.
This will be our number one choice.




Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Rob and Carol, we’ve had a fantastic week staying in the Other House.

We will recommend the Sound of Harris to family and friends, and the best endorsement I can give is that we would both definitely stay with you again.

The house has fantastic views from the living room and kitchen, looking south towards the Uists. The house is very spacious, is well appointed, and is tastefully decorated. The house has all the home comforts you need, and was an absolute pleasure to stay in.




Heaven on Harris

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We feel very lucky to have discovered the Sound of Harris houses. Perfect peace in beautiful surroundings with lots of lovely walks, wonderful wildlife and constantly changing colours and light. The house is beautifully furnished and equipped with everything you could possibly want or need, superbly maintained by friendly, helpful and warmly welcoming hosts.




A great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous house for exploring Harris. We loved our stay there - our favourite of our holiday. The sunsets were phenomenal.



Incredible place to stay, perfect combination of modern and homely

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rob and Carol could not have been more helpful and accommodating, both before (especially given we had to delay due to COVID) and during our stay. The house is exceptional, finished to a very high standard but has that homely feel that is sometimes missing. The Harris Tweed pillows and cushions add to this feel. It had everything we needed, including quality towels and robes to use. The view was incredible and we spent our last evening watching the dolphins in the sunset. It is located to the very south of the island which makes it nice and secluded but within 20/30 mins drive of all the beaches in Harris. We explored the whole island from the house so didn’t feel like the Southern location was an issue. We cannot fault the service, the property or anything related to our stay. The weather even played ball so that we could enjoy the beaches. Thanks to Rob and Carol for a man amazing stay, we will be back.



Heavenly Harris

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Not much time to write a fuller review. Apologies.

The stay was lovely. The accommodation was spacious and clean. Triple glazing was very nice to block out the incessant wind. Excellent units (washing machine, kettle, cooker, tv, etc etc). Very good wifi. Our stay was during the covid-19 period, so that limited interaction with the owners and resulted a very early check out.

The location is truly spectacular. Two very happy visitors!




great stay despite the weather

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cracking location and outlook. Weather was awful but didn't detract from a peaceful and scenic break. 'The Other House' was immaculate, comfortable and cosy with all mod cons. Ideal for a couple. Thank you to Rob and Carol. If we're lucky enough to revisit Harris then there's nowhere else we'd consider staying.



Stylish retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was very cosy and comfortable with lovely attention to detail. We loved the view from the property and had our morning coffee looking out onto the sea. We had the most peaceful and quiet retreat at this lovely house.





Great stay at the other house.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and excellent stay for 3 nights , hosts couldn’t be more helpful and friendly . Would definitely visit again !



As always, just lovely

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd trip and this was our first in The Other House, which was just as lovely as The Big House, but as you would expect, smaller. It is in such a great spot - plenty of lovely walks nearby if you dont fancy driving, but equally very handy for getting anywhere on the island by car. Rob has some great recommendations for walks. The view out to the sea from the living area is just beautiful, and very relaxing. We took a drive to Hushinish this time and were not disappointed, the most beautiful beach! There is also a 2km walk to an eagle watch place - we saw three. Can also recommend the Butty Bus, at the Leverburgh ferry port which does a great fish and chips and given the current climate and no restaurants being open, it was very much a treat. Cant write without mentioning Rob and Carole's shop, its a must-visit if you are looking for Harris Tweed! We will have to return because we forgot to purchase the door stop!! See you again soon both, thank you for a lovely break.



A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for five nights and wished we had stayed longer. It is the best spot to stay with lots of local people and lovely walks. The houses are nonetheless very private and completely quiet, with a warm welcome, well equipped and everything worked. We can’t wait to come back.



Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely wonderful place to stay. Attention to detail and so comfortable. We had wonderful stay and would love to return one day....
Thank you to Rob and Carol




Beautiful location and house

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was wonderful, perfectly clean, airy.
The view is outstanding - best ever for me.
I have always wanted to stay in a house with a view of the sea and the waves crashing down on the shore - and I got it.
KItchen was superb.
Living room was great.
Half hour walk to Sam's seafood shack was worth doing.
Mind the sheep in the road ;)




It went too quickly!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful property, it must be seen to be fully appreciated. The design ethic and attention to detail is in a league of its own. It was nice also to have a kitchen that is fully equipped for serious cooks, a rarity for a holiday rental. Sadly we only had three nights. We would have been happy spending a fortnight just enjoying the magic of the place. Rob was most helpful and forthcoming with information.



Wonderful Return!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second trip to the Sound of Harris in less than a year, which shows how much we love staying here. Everything about The Other House makes you feel right at home, and the views are spectacular! The kitchen is excellently equipped and Rob and Carol are superb hosts. We can't wait to return again, hopefully very soon!



Superb views & very comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very stylish and clean/comfortable accommodation, with phenomenal views over the Sound of Harris (it's even better than you imagine!) that are particularly spectacular at sunset. The house has everything you need from a self-catering perspective, and very friendly and attentive hosts in Rob & Carol who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home (including fresh fish caught by Rob a couple of days ago!). I would unreservedly recommend staying here!



Perfect!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Other House for three nights and it was the most wonderful stay. Rob and his wife have gone above and beyond in putting together the house and thought of everything and more you could need during your break. We would highly recommend a stay at the Sound of Harris and look forward to another trip in the future!




Absolute dream!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All I can say is we can’t wait to return here!

The setting of the house is idyllic and the view is spectacular, fortunately we got good days to sample it!
The house is fully equipped with everything you could possibly need and more! Rob and Carol have gone above and beyond to ensure that any time spent in their houses is special. The decor in the house is extremely tasteful and really makes it feel like a welcoming, cosy home.




Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sound of Harris is a place where you feel immediately relaxed. The views from the house are ever changing, and fascinating. (boats and wildlife) Can’t recommend Sound of Harris highly enough! (excellent really doesn’t do it justice!)



Peaceful is an understatement

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful location and brilliant place to unwind from day to day life. The house is equipped with everything one may require. Rob and Carol were excellent with any queries we had. Thank you.



Utter peace and luxury

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From booking to leaving (albeit reluctantly) we had the most amazing time.
The property is in a stunning spot on the shoreline with breathtaking views over to the Uists and beyond, ever shifting with light and colour, almost impossible to tear ourselves away to explore the island. High quality, luxurious, and beautifully styled with every detail thought of, the house itself is a dream. Rob and Carol are fabulous hosts and we very much look forward to coming back for more exploring. Thank you for our few days of ultimate relaxation in a place we would happily have stayed for a very long time!




Simply amazing.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Other House at the Sound of Harris is an absolutely beautiful place. Modern, comfortable with everything you could possibly need for your stay with the most amazing views of the islands coast. Carol and Rob are extremely accommodating hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. My partner and myself came to Harris to get married and the Other House was the perfect place to stay, an experience we will remember always. I could not recommend this place highly enough and we'll look forward to celebrating many anniversarys here. Thanks again Carol and Rob!



Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can’t speak highly enough about this lovely house in a perfect setting. Have been to Harris many times and this is by far the best. Unbelievable scenery from the house making the most of Harris in bad weather. Definitely scores top marks in all aspects.



Mod luxury in splendid remoteness

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to while away the hours watching the weather change in the Sound of Harris in this beautifully designed and appointed space. Wonderful hosts welcomed us with many treats and thoughtful touches.



Great accommodation, location, care

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Other House is great. The attention to detail in design (fab layout, wonderful views, great mid-century vibe), equipping (espresso machine, audio), and supplying (espresso coffee, lovely sparkler) are just great.

As hosts, Rob and Carol could not have been better - attentive and available without being in your face, offering to do things.

Just a great stay, will certainly look to return




The place to be

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place , all you need is inside and even more i am warmly recommand to stay at Sounds of Harris for a stay on the Island
Rob and his wife are perfect an give information
at any Time
We surely stay there again if we came back
Hélène & Michel




Such a wonderful place

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time at the Sound of Harris. Carol and Rob could not have made us feel more welcome. The house looked great, and it has had such effort and thought put into its build, design and interior. Carol and Rob were super at helping us feel settled and with giving recommendations, and are very interesting people to talk with. (Their tweed pop up shop is fab, and they even showed us their loom and first tweed!) The house was perfect and the location was great. A wonderful corner of the island. Very beautiful to explore on foot, easy to get to, and very nice just to sit and watch the water. After our first few days, we knew this is somewhere we wanted to come back to!



Stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Sound of Harris during a week of wonderful weather at the end of July. The house provided glorious views across the Sound to the Uists, Berneray and beyond. The house was well equipped although we didn't make much use of the kitchen choosing to explore local restaurants instead. We did however use the smart tv, binoculars, and local guides to wildlife and walks etc. The owners were on hand and willing to provide local information if required but were unobtrusive. We enjoyed walking around the local cliffs and beaches, and sitting gazing out to sea watching birdlife, porpoises and passing boats. Our trip to St Kilda was unforgettable- misty weather provided an ethereal quality to the whole day making the island and sea stacks even more magical.



Great property with wonderful location

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peace and quiet, fantastic views, in a very well equipped seaside home. Rooms accessorised with Harris tweed cushions, throws etc - a nice touch.Owners on site and helpful but not obtrusive. Plenty of guide books, maps, even novels, about the area. Brilliant TV, sound system for entertainment on those Hebridean damp days. Atmospheric walks from the property over the hill to Rodel church past abandoned crofts and beyond on the Golden Road. Great wildlife seen from the outside seating area - Golden Eagles, Buzzards, diving gannets and arctic terns. Dolphins also inhabit the bay. Plenty to do in the area with fantastic beaches at Scarista Seilebost, Horgabost and Luskentyre only a few miles drive away. Community shop in Leverburgh( 5 min drive) which stocks most things. Brilliant restaurant at ferry terminal - seafood speciality. Would we visit again - absolutely. The only minor critical points to make would be - 1. No wall units in kitchen and limited food storage. 2. No dining table - just breakfast bar but table available for outside in good weather.



A wonderful refreshing and relaxing place!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No hesitation in recommending this to anyone. As usual the hospitality as extended by Carol and Rob goes above and beyond with superb attention to detail in every respect.



A very special place

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A friend had recommended we stay here and we were delighted with our stay - The Other House definitely exceeded our already high expectations. The location is wonderful: Harris is beautiful and not too busy, and this house is secluded and has wonderful views across to the Uists and other islands. The house is really well designed and equipped, and Rob and Carol were very welcoming and helpful.We will definitely recommend it to others.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property was booked via a personal recommendation from a friend who has made repeated visits - after staying at the Sound of Harris last week I can now understand his enthusiasm.

The property is modern and in immaculate condition, with stunning panoramic views across the Sound of Harris towards North Uist and Berneray.
It is not cheap but, given the unpredictable weather on Harris, it was great to stay in such luxurious accommodation on the few occasions we were deterred by the rain to venturing outside.

Having never previously visited the Outer Hebrides, but quite widely travelled otherwise, we were taken aback by the beauty of Harris. The highlight of our holiday was the Calmac trip from nearby Leverburgh to Berneray - tons of bird life on the machair and an incredible beach on the west coast.

We’ll be back.




House with style

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice and stylish place to relax. The house gives one the feeling to be in a beautiful and artistic home.



A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed in The Other House for three nights at the end of May. Rob and Carol have taken exceptional care in providing a very high-end self-catering property. Their attention to detail is superb.
Harris is divine and we cannot recommend it highly enough. You simply have to experience it for yourself and let it cast its spell and there is no better way than basing yourself at the Sound of Harris.




Simply the perfect place.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Other House and loved every minute of it. We have never been in such a stylish yet comfortable and accommodation.
We cannot recommend this place highly enough. It is perfect for everyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Whether you are an active hiker (plenty of walking opportunities with breathtaking vistas), a wildlife enthusiast (plenty of opportunities to watch birds and sealife), design aficionado (the house’s interior is simply astounding) or a foodie (freshest seafood you’re ever gonna get) - this place is THE BEST. Throw in the mix the owners who are absolute stars and such nice people, this is as good a holiday as it can be. The weather really only plays a marginal role ;-). We cannot wait to return! Thank you Carol and Rob!




Sound of Harris

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was absolutely lovely! The view was unbelievable, right on the top of the cliff looking over the water, very relaxing and a perfect place to just "chill" for a few days away.We had all the amenities that we needed, cooking wise as well - it was like they had thought of everything!

There are some lovely beaches and walks nearby too, no need to even drive anywhere, you can literally just walk out of the house and be on your way!

The house was also full of books and information telling us all we need to know and the owners were super helpful in any other information we needed.

Would definitely stay there again!!




Hebridean Treat

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent place to relax and unwind.
Stunning views of an ever changing seascape.
Stylishly furnished, very comfortable, and spotlessly clean.
Can’t wait to go back!




Outmost happiness

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dear Rob and Carol,
Thank you very much, we had the most wonderful time at the Other House!
We felt comfortable at all times and enjoyed the carefully selected interiors as well as the thoughtfully equipped kitchen. The colours of the Sound of Harris, the eagles and the gannets, the walks from the door step – it all together contributed to our outmost happiness.
We appreciated your hospitality and the essentials upon arrival (and thank you for staying up late to welcome us in that stormy night). We very much hope to be back soon and look forward to seeing the Tweed shop developing!

All the very best,
Sonja and Michael

PS. The oven in the kitchen seems to reach much higher temperatures that the chosen setting. I happened to have an oven thermometer with me for bread baking: it showed 50–70 degrees more than the set temperature and backing times were signifcantly shorter... I thought you might want to double check for safety reasons.




Relaxing retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely four days at the Other House, which is impeccably decorated and kitted out. Carol and Rob were very welcoming. Both houses have beautiful scenery to look out on whilst staying toasty warm indoors with the fire and beautiful textiles. Great walks around the house and further afield in Harris with plenty of wildlife spotting. We appreciated the green/sustainable focus without compromising on any comfort. There was an excellent TV set up internet/Netflix for the inevitable downpours. Didn't hear a peep from the Big House although I believe it was occupied while we were there - it was truly a relaxing break and we hope to return soon. Thank you both!



Wonderful accomodation in South Harris

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three nights in The Other House at the Sound of Harris were the highlight of our recent trip to the Outer Hebrides. Although the drive from Tarbert to the very southern tip of South Harris may seem a little long the first time, it is worth every minute of the journey. The "cottage" is immaculate, lovingly furnished, well equipped and bright with large floor to ceiling windows overlooking the water. There is much to explore in the area and in bad weather it is simply a nice place to sit and watch the water and sky. Your hosts, Rob and Carol, are welcoming and can provide valuable information about the area and in particular about the making of Harris tweed. The only thing wrong with our visit? It was only three days long. Unreservedly recommended!.



Looking forward to the next visit!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Other House is a wonderful place to stay and is ideally located to explore the island. It is very comfortable, exceptionally well-equipped and supremely stylish. The ever-changing sea views from the living room and kitchen are truly mesmerising whatever the weather. A warm and friendly welcome awaits from the owners and I hope to enjoy their hospitality again soon.



superb as every time

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
once again a fantastic staying in a beautifully located house with very friendly hosts. nothing to complain about at all. Sitting in the front room with a wee dram of single malt and enjoying the twilight hours of autumn with views across the Sound of Harris is simply amazing.



Beautiful accommodation in stunning surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Other House provided luxurious comfort and stunning views in a fantastic location for our first visit to the beautiful island of Harris. A warm welcome from Carol and Rob made us feel right at home straight away. The house is immaculate with all the facilities you could possibly require and more, TV high spec and rooms beautifully furnished with gorgeous Harris Tweed and plenty of helpful guides/books to help you plan out your stay.
Thank you very much for a perfect experience!




A very special place on Harris

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a wee bit smitten with Harris and our stunning home on the Sound of Harris.
The accommodation is beautiful - so much love and thought has gone into the design and attention to detail.
Stunning local tweeds have been sourced ,eclectic vintage pieces collected and a there is a better equipped kitchen than I have at home !!
It's a beautiful space to spend time-relax and be comfortable in .
Mornings were spent drinking tea and eating shortbread just gazing out of the magnificent windows-wild life spotting.
Then we would take a walk over the croft just enjoying the cliffs tops and wild flowers and all the colours of Harris.
Rob and Carol are the loveliest hosts ever-they made us so welcome and they really are a part of the community here.
Communication was so easy and everything is done to make your stay wonderful and easy.
Rob supplied us with Pollock caught by himself-and indeed lent us his fishing rods !
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and meeting you both .
Many thanks again for an unforgettable visit to the wonderful Isle of Harris.






Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 3 nights at this fabulous accommodation on the edge of Harris. Well thought out, lots of lovely touches and great WiFi....beautifully decorated and high end appliances/ gadgets. Everything worked and was pristine.
The weather wasn’t great but didn’t detract from this beautiful setting. Rob and Carol very welcoming but unobtrusive.
Saturday evening meal at the nearby Anchorage with fabulous seafood. Didn’t stay for the live music but lots of locals looked like they were set for a great night.
Would highly recommend for a relaxing, get away from it all few days.




Mid century modern luxury

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real gem in a peaceful location, with some of the best sea views on this wild island. The owners’ interest in design and background in textiles was obvious from the chic decor and luxurious materials. Well equipped with every mod con and comfort you could possibly need. We loved chilling in the living area with a beer after a day’s exploring, looking out of the floor to ceiling windows at the stunning seascape. Even saw a pair of dolphins playing in the sea!



Idyllic means idyllic

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was originally planning a trip to Lewis but when I came across the Sound of Harris house, it looked so idyllic that I switched to Harris hoping I would not regret. I am happy to say that in this case idyllic means idyllic. The place is unbelievable - you could spend days just watching the sea (and its inhabitants) and taking a gentle stroll across the moor to the beautiful St Clement's church at Rodel. If you are up for more challenging walks, then there are many stunning options, each with a different combination of sea, rock, mountain, bay and moor. I don't think I need to mention the beaches...
The house was perfect and had everything that you could possibly need including, thoughtfully,walking sticks, binoculars and camp chairs you can use for a beach trip. Sitting on the terrace looking out over the sea early in the morning or as the sun sets is unforgettable.
Rob and Carol were great - so uplifting to hear about their project. Returning to 'real life' has been hard!




90/100

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well equipped accommodation with a great view. Plenty of information and local advice as to what to do. Good ‘welcome’ pack. Good Wi-fi . Excellent audio visual set up with Netflix - important for inevitable day or so of bad weather.



Hebridean escape

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have always been very satisfied with our stays at Sound of Harris. On each occasion we have stayed in the Other House and been very happy with it from all points of view: beautifully clean with every possible need being thought of and with obvious great care. The owners have clearly spent a great of deal and effort in this respect.

For us, the location is perfect. It provides a real feeling of getting away from it all and consequently, it is really relaxing which is just what we require from a holiday destination.





Another outstanding visit to Borrisdale

Review submitted on Sun, 06 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a second stay in this terrific accommodation. The location is superb with fabulous views over the Sound of Harris and Uists. The hosts Rob and Carol are extremely welcoming and I cannot speak highly enough of the accommodation. When the weather forces you inside there is a lovely fire to warm the place and when it is fine there are some superb walks from the front door.. Had another terrific holiday and really would recommend this place



Superb on every level

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We can't recommend this property highly enough, the location speaks for itself but the amenities and comfort of the property were high end quality and this made for a special stay.

Very warm, with an abundance of hot water and if you are a tech lover you won't be disappointed with TV and audio equipment to blow you away!

Rob and Carol couldn't have been more helpful and are a lovely down to earth couple. They are always there if you need them, but they leave you alone to enjoy everything this special property has to offer. It is also worth pointing out that you hear no noise whatsoever from the adjoining property, which was occupied for the majority of our stay, and you have your own private space outside too.

Truly stands out in an area already brimming with exclusive luxury self catering offerings.

Sincere thanks




Wunderbarer Aufenthalt

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wunderbarer Aufenthalt in tollem Haus in schönster Umgebung. Mit zusätzlich sehr netten Gastgebern.



Fabulous stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Other House with our 6 month old baby and had a great trip!

The house is compact but was perfect for the three of us. Loved the log burner and loved the beautiful view from the the living room! The property is beautifully styled and has everything you need including a very well equipped kitchen.

It is in quite a secluded location but that is part of its charm. There is a well stocked shop a few mins drive away for groceries and a pub (which we didn't try) as well as a couple of seasonal cafes.

The property is well located Harris's beautiful beaches- Luskentyre is stunning on a sunny or stormy day!

The owners are super friendly and helpful.. and have a beautiful little shop on site selling their Harris tweed cushions- we bought a few!

We highly recommend the Machair Kitchen for lunch/dinner/coffee and cake (near the beaches) and also the tour of the Harris whisky/gin distillery in tarbert! The gin is fabulous!

Thanks for a great holiday!




Recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rob and Carol were wonderful. Such accommodating and thoughtful hosts. We had a magical week.
Jenny & Hamish.




Perfect balance right on the edge

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome from Rob and Carol on arrival set the tone for a delightful holiday. The generous accommodation, artfully designed and subtly finished, offers a perfect complement to the breathtaking and ever-changing views offered by such a stunning location. Near enough to civilisation for convenience, but far enough away to offer a chance to relax and take full advantage of these beautiful islands.



Absolutely fantastic "timeout" with amazing views from the living area

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for your very warm welcoming, I very loved "the Other House" with its amazing views, well stuffed kitchen, the exemplary housekeeping and the privacy. Won't be my last trip to the outstanding Hebrides.



Stunning sunsets

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location with views over the Sound of Harris and the islands. Incredibly peaceful with lovely sunsets in the evening. The house is beautiful and very well appointed with comfortable stylish furnishings and Rob and Carol could not have been more helpful. We love your Harris tweed soft furnishings and they will always remind us of a wonderful week on the island.



Wonderful cottage, wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed here on honeymoon in Summer 2017. Rob was incredibly helpful over email and was always on hand when we were there to provide advice and tell us about the weaving business. The cottage was everything we could have hoped for and more - well-equipped with nice finishing touches. Rob and Carol also provided a welcome pack with some essentials (milk, bread, eggs, butter and sparkling wine...) and basic condiments are also provided (oil, vinegar, salt & pepper). The views across the sound of Harris are spectacular. The cottage is near Leverburgh, which has a small supermarket and a great restaurant/local pub (the Anchorage). I can't recommend it highly enough - we'll definitely be back!



Wonderful stay in Harris

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time in Harris staying in the Other House. Rob and Carole are excellent hosts, they promptly answered our queries before arrival, gave us recommendations for places to eat and even managed to arrange scallops and fish on arrival.
The property is beautifully furnished with midcentury pieces and Harris tweed, with pretty views. Thank you very much for the bubbly and the fab stay.




Perfect Honeymoon Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to spend our honeymoon on Lewis and Harris and the other house was absolutely perfect. The house was lovely, well equipped and the views were great. The owners were friendly and helpful but also incredibly careful not to intrude. Overall it was brilliant.



Rob English replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Mike and Pippa, Thank you so much for taking the time to write our first review for The Other House. We're always incredibly honoured when we're selected as honeymoon accommodation and we're so glad the house and location met your expectations. Wishing you all the best for the future and hope to see you again. Rob and Carol