FB Twitter

Bengali

Bengali

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 53 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Bengali Holiday Cottage is ideally located in South West Scotland. Close to popular tourist destinations of Kirkcudbright and Castle Douglas. Set within the village of Ringford, the cottage was built only in 2012 and offers modern luxury and spacious common rooms. It will easily accommodate up to 8 persons. Our fully equipped self catering accommodation also offers unrestricted access for wheelchair users. There are walk-in showers throughout.

Castle Douglas, Kirkcudbright and Gatehouse of Fleet are all within 10 minutes drive of Bengali. The rest of Dumfries and Galloway and the Ayrshire coast are easily accessible from the A75. Popular family destinations such as the Chocolate Factory and the Cream of Galloway are close by. There are a host of local beaches, golf courses walking routes and mountain bike trails at the 7Stanes.

The house features 4 bedrooms (2 ensuite), large living room with log burning stove, large modern family kitchen with breakfast bar opening out onto a decked area and secure storage if you need somewhere for your bikes, fishing or golfing equipment.

Located around 1 hour from the English Border and around 2 hours from Glasgow and Edinburgh, Bengali Holiday Home is ideal for those looking to explore both near and far.

See www.bengaliholidays.co.uk for more details and bookings.

Gorgeous property, well equipped and excellent location

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great 5 day holiday. Only drawback was the heating system. We followed the instructions but were not able to alter any of the individual room thermostats, so were extremely warm day and night!!

Ros from Sheffield stayed at Bengali for 4 nights in October 2019


Fantastic house!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my family loved the house. Such a great space and lovely surroundings. Donald was very helpful with information about the house and helping book taxis for my friends wedding.

Jessica from Edinburgh stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in September 2019


Sept weekend 4 day stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay at Bengali with our families including three children with wonderful accommodation, spotless and in ideal location. All in one level with great enclosed garden for children and spacious lounge and wonderful family kitchen with all facilities you can imagine. Four bedrooms with all comforts and en suite facilities. Many thanks and we will certainly return.

Ninian from Glasgow stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in September 2019


Birthday weekend treat

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage with everything you could possibly need, would definitely stay here again. Would have been the icing on the cake if there had been a local shop and a pub but that’s being very picky. There is a cafe/restaurant type establishment about 10 minutes walk away which was good for coffee and a cream scone. Great party house or family get together we We’re sorry to leave.

Guest from Blackpool stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in September 2019


Fantastic base to explore the surrounding area

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage with everything you could possibly need lots of space the most amazing master bedroom and fantastic kitchen from the moment we arrived it felt homely with a touch of luxury and ideal place to stay if you want to explore the beautiful countryside around it very peaceful

Jessica from Stockport stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in May 2019


Fourth visit

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great property Really convenient for us for a family get together We love it and will certainly go again.

David from Mirfield stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in April 2019


Fantastic comfortable house.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a few days with my family at Bengali last week and what a beautiful house it is.
Very spacious, warm and comfortable and would highly recommend it.


Beverley from stayed at Bengali for 5 nights in December 2018


Bengali was simply fantastic. A beautiful, clean, modern and spacious cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 3 nights at Bengali just before Christmas. Despite the freezing temperature outside, the under floor heating kept us all wonderfully warm all weekend. We all loved the modern kitchen and lounge. The spacious rooms meant that even with 8 of us, it never felt crowded. The master bedroom with ensuite was like a 5 star hotel room. The two twin rooms were on the smallish side but that's the only criticism I have for Bengali.

Sanjay from Glasgow stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in December 2018


Fantastic stay in a lovely modern house

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 7. The house was stunning very big and spacious. Everything you need from a home from home. Big rooms lovely setting. A great relaxing chill out space. A great party house to spend time with family and friends. I would recommend this house and woukd stay here again. Fantastic we will be back.

Carol from Dunoon stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in November 2018


Donald Dunlop replied 347 days ago
We look forward to having you back! The open plan kitchen diner works really well for party!

Second Visit for Us

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well, I think the tile says it all really, you don’t go back to a property if it doesn’t tick all the boxes, Bengali is great in all respects, we love the space it gives us. The location is fantastic, central for all days out in South West Scotland, it is brilliantly equipped and a real home from home. Do I recommend it, damn right I do!

Andrew from Stoke on Trent stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in October 2018


Donald Dunlop replied 347 days ago
Delighted to hear this, Andy. We look forward to welcoming you back again. So much on offer round here, Bengali allows easy access to it all!

Plenty to do for families

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A modern well-presented property - had everything we needed and plenty to do with the kids nearby. Had a lovely week.

Phillipa from Ilkley stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in October 2018


Donald Dunlop replied 347 days ago
Thanks Pippa, we do find the location of the property ideal for accessing all the south west of Scotland has to offer.

Fantastic holiday cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a group of two families and had a fantastic stay at Bengali. It is a beautiful property, ideally located just off the A75 with very quick and easy access to many tourist attractions in the area.

The property itself is large and spacious with everything you could need. The underfloor heating keeps the property warm, which we needed with some cold and wet/windy weather for the first couple of days we were there. The kitchen is very well equipped and had everything we needed for our stay. Bedrooms were comfortable and the living room was bright and spacious.

Sky TV was a welcome bonus, as well as the PS2 to keep the kids entertained. The adults also enjoyed a game of 1980s Blockbuster and also some scrabble!

Communication was quick and easy with Donald, who quickly answered any queries that we had.


Denny from Glasgow stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in October 2018


Donald Dunlop replied 347 days ago
Delighted to hear Bengali suited the needs of both families. You can't beat a game of scrabble on holiday!

September Weekend Family Break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family have a tradition of going away to cottages over the September weekend and this weekend's stay at Bengali was fantastic. The cottage was very modern and had everything we needed. We loved the design all in the one level with excellent space to sit in comfort at various places inside. Central heating under the floors was ideal for us as having a warm environment was a must, we didn't need the wood burner in the living room. Our children loved the weekend having plenty of space to play. Finding out the cottage had been a family home added to our experience as everything was laid out very well. The kitchen was especially good as we love to eat all together. We rated the cottage at Bengali the best so far which is high praise indeed. There is a lovely place to have dinner within 5 minutes walking distance and a 10 minute drive to the town of Kirkcudbright. The location is also ideal for a day out to Stranraer and Port Patrick.

Scott from Coatbridge stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in September 2018


Just amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bengali certainly has the "wow" factor. We loved our stay! The master bedroom was enormous, the spacious modern kitchen was well equipped and a joy to use. The woodburner stove was definitely a highlight. We felt sad to leave such a beautiful property. Highly recommended.

Adri from Isle of Lewis stayed at Bengali for 4 nights in September 2018


Family Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovelyy house.. Did not have face-to-face contact with the caretaker, so cannot assess service properly. We never really conquered the living-room television, but that's not your fault! Our only real problem was with the layout of the living-room, which seemed to us lacking in intimacy and not geared up for relaxation. What about moving the sofas nearer to the coffee table, so that one could reach one's coffee cup from a sitting position, play cards etc. in comfort ? Also, what about using the far corners of this very large room more effectively? A small table with the two blue chairs, or a comfy chair with books and magazines near-bye. This would mean that families can be together and communicate, but 'do their own thing'. It would certainly make the room more homely. It occurs to me that you even have room foor a folding table-tennis table for wet days but maybe that's a step too far!! Everything else was great!!

Margaret from Edinburgh stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in September 2018


The straw that broke the camel's back.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our initial thoughts about the cottage were positive, except for finding it very difficult to unlock and lock the doors. Our attitudes changed during our first night, when we were unable to sleep because of the most uncomfortable bed we have ever experienced. We were up at 3 am because our backs were aching so much. After spending the rest of the night on the sofas, we tried to run a hot bath in the hope that would ease the pain, except that we found the water never reaches a hot enough temperature for a bath and is only suitable for showering. We spent the next two nights in a different bedroom on a smaller bed, which was slightly better, but eventually we gave it up as a bad job and decided to go home a day earlier than expected. On top of everything else, one of our car tyres picked up a large screw on the gravel drive and it destroyed the tyre. On the positive side, we enjoyed touring the area, but this experience has made us decide to go back to using hotels for our frequent short breaks in future.

Arthur from Consett stayed at Bengali for 4 nights in September 2018


Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
We are very sorry to hear of your experience at Bengali. We shall certainly check out the beds, this is not something anyone has ever mentioned to us before but we appreciate comfort is important and a very personal matter. With regards to the hot water, I'm not sure what happened. If I were contacted at the time, I would have hopefully sorted the issue out there and then. Our apologies for your inconvenience.

The perfect tonic

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for our family weekend. Myself, hubby, Dad and brother all found Bengali lovely.

So spacious and homely. Ideal for Loch Ken. Ringford is a lovely little village close by to the A75 giving easy access to all amenities.

There's plenty of parking.




Michaela from Newton in Cartmel stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in September 2018


Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
It is a perfect central location for exploring the area. Delighted to hear it met the needs of the whole family. Thank you for your review.

Excellent location with very comfortable ground floor facilities

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Bengali is very conveniently located in the village of Ringford just off the A75 between Kircudbright and Castle Douglas. This makes it an excellent location for exploring the beautiful countryside of Dumfries and Galloway. I chose this house mainly because of its ground floor facilities, a necessary requirement for my elderly mother. We used three of the four bedrooms off a long corridor from the entrance door. The first one was a small double with en-suite. The shower was a bit small and sadly had no grab rail inside so my Mum was unable to use it during our 4-night stay. The master bedroom at the end of the hall was fantastic, although did not have a TV as advertised. The two twin rooms were a good size with an adjacent bathroom and large shower.
The kitchen was immense and fully kitted out with an island breakfast bar with a large gas hob as well as a dining area with a wall-mounted TV. Patio doors led out to a decking area which was a great sun trap particularly in the mornings. The garden is lovely and still a work in progress with improvements being made during our stay.
The living room was large and very comfortable with a lovely view of the countryside. The Sky TV was good although with limited channel choices.
Overall the house was very good and a pleasure to stay in.


Douglas from Glasgow stayed at Bengali for 4 nights in September 2018


Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. I note your recommendation for a grab rail, that is something I will en-devour to get fitted soon. Glad to hear the house was enjoyed by all, the garden is shaping up nicely!

1 wwek break June 2018

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well appointed, spacious holiday home.
Excellent location for visiting local attractions and beauty spots and accessing road network.
Because of very warm weather ( not complaining ) required having windows open, there fore suffered a bit from traffic noise.


Hugh from Cumnock stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in June 2018


Second visit

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay Lovely and warm Great space for family get together.This was our second visit We love it

David from Mirfield stayed at Bengali for 4 nights in April 2018


Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous accommodation, lovely area, lots of little extras added for your comtorf, would have no hesitation in returning

T from Stirling stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in January 2018


Home from home

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage had everything we needed. It was warm and clean. We had a small problem but the caretaker was there to help us even over Christmas. Can’t find any fault. We had a really nice holiday.

Barbara from Wolverhampton stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in December 2017


Top Nana’s

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house in a great location, centrally located for all areas of South West Scotland. The house is very spacious and brilliantly equipped, the log burner is a great feature and one that I made use of most nights, purely being indulgent as I love the natural heat that it generates. Underfloor heating is lovely and maintains a very comfortable temperature with the added bonus of keeping your feet warm as you walk about the house! I’m always reluctant to recommend great properties when I find them as it invariably makes it more difficult to book them for next time but put quite simply, book it, you won’t regret it (just try not to book the week that I want it again! ;-)

Andrew from Stoke on Trent stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in October 2017


Back for a second year in a row

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is ideally located for visiting this area and our party which included 3 generations of the same family was adequately catered for in this modern spacious property that has everything that is needed. Close to both Kirkcudbright and Castle Douglas for essential shopping it is also a short drive from Kippford (a walk across to Rough Island), Gatehouse of Fleet (the Waters of Fleet viaduct) and the Raiders Road with Otter Pools.

Ken from Horsham stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in August 2017


Excellent long weekend break at the Bengali Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage. Amazing views, great location for local towns and villages. Cottage very spacious, modern and very clean.
Would highly recommend this cottage. The photographs do not give it justice. Would definitely book to stay here again.


Diane from Leeds stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in March 2017


Fabulous getaway, couldn't have asked for better

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found Bengali Cottage by chance and boy I am so glad I did. I was looking for a cottage big enough for 2 families as we wanted to spend time all together (there was 4 adults & 3 kids). We already knew the area so the cottage was easy to find. Its curb appeal was fantastic we just couldn't wait to get inside. We were welcomed with such a spacious, warm and very modern cottage but extremely cosy and homely. We got settled in pretty quickly and the kids just loved all the space they had. It was a wonderful property to be able to have great quality fun times. Our weekend was full of adventure with visits to Cocoa Bean Factory, Laggan Outdoor Centre and Cream of Galloway all within very easy reach of the property and all well worth a visit. The staff particularly at the Laggan Outdoor Centre were extremely helpful and gave us advice with the log fire (which was just excellent to get going and to relax in front of after our daytime activities) and they also recommended a great place for Sunday dinner (Masonic Arms in Gatehouse of Fleet). Overall would we book again - definitely, would we recommend - definitely. We honestly didnt want to leave we wished we were there for longer, we made wonderful memories :-)

Claire from Elderslie stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in February 2017


Fantastic half term break

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here to visit relatives working 10 minutes away in Kirkcudbright. We all thought the property was perfect - really nice and modern, well appointed, very spacious and comfortable. It's the sort of property you wish you could take back home with you!
We brought our two young children and were really impressed with the amount of kid-friendly activities nearby. The Cocoabean chocolate factory and Cream of Galloway were massive hits, as was the Friday night burger at Galloway Lodge in Gatehouse of Fleet. All in all a fantastic week!


David from Purley stayed at Bengali for 5 nights in February 2017


New year stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friends and I stayed here with our children over new year and had an amazing time !!!

The house is utterly perfect and everything wee hoped for and more !!!

Donald was very helpful and friendly !!!

Would highly recommend and defo stay again !!!


Stephanie from Bishopton stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in December 2016


Family Reunion

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were three generations of our family meeting local family members. This property was in the ideal location with spacious accommodation for everybody. On one level, the youngest at 18 months was able to freely toddle about without too many worries.

Warm and comfortable we shall certainly give consideration to using the property again for the next reunion.


Ken from Horsham stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in October 2016


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Bengali for 4 nights and had a great time. The house is beautiful with plenty room for everyone. The kitchen area is great, a large sociable area. The house was always nice and warm and there is a log burner if needed. The house is in a good area with lots of nice places to visit not very far away. Would highly recommend staying at 'Bengali'

Tracey from Hawick stayed at Bengali for 4 nights in October 2016


Lovley stay at the Bengali

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a Mon-Fri break with friends at the Bengali.
The cottage was perfect for 7 of us with plenty of room. It was immaculately clean. The location was lovely and local towns of Kirkcudbright and Castle Douglas are within easy reach.

There were a couple of issues on the first day but they were resolved swiftly by Donald.
There is noise from the main road if bedroom windows are open but all are double glazed so no noise when shut.

We would not hesitate to recommend to others as we had a great week with everything we needed.



Susan from Warrington stayed at Bengali for 4 nights in August 2016


Mathew replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your stay - and that Donald got your issues sorted so quickly. We really welcome feedback - and of course positive responses which we are so glad to get so often! Hopefully we will have you back in the future.

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a lovely setting. Ideal for families of all ages as all rooms are on one level. The location is excellent if you like peace and quiet. You do need a car as there is not a shop or pub/restaurant for 4 miles.

Guest from stayed at Bengali for 4 nights in July 2016


Wonderful place,beautiful cottage,great location,easy to get to.

Review submitted on Sat, 28 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were absolutely thrilled with our experience here at Bengali,the cottage is gorgeous,it is very bright and cheery.functionally it had everything you could ask for.the caretaker was very helpful,we hope to have the opportunity to stay again.

William from Sunderland stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in May 2016


Mathew replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your very positive feedback on our house. We are very lucky to have such a good caretaking and management staff to look after it so well for us. We hope to have you stay again in the future.

Four friends share a lovely week at Bengali

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect. The only downside was the amount of traffic noise from the A75 which is close by. Although this was noticeable it was easy to block out.

Guest from Kirkcaldy stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in May 2016


Lovely well equipped mordern cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious cottage with plenty of room for 8. Underfloor heating kept the place so cosy didn't need the wood burner. Managed to get a couple of hours of sunshine to sit on the little deck - perfect.

Guest from stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in April 2016


Fantastic winter family stay at Bengali

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were truly delighted with our stay at Bengali. There is a real wow factor as you walk through the door. The rooms are generous in size,and although there were only four of us in our party, it would comfortably accommodate eight. Loved the stylish interior and attention to detail. You can really tell that this is someone's home, not just a holiday rental. The entire house was immaculate! Great location,great weather, wouldn't hesitate in recommending to friends and family.

Thank you for sharing your home!


from Sunderland stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in February 2016


The cottage was amazing and so homely. Cant wait to go back

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed in this cottage with 6 other friends. We really enjoyed the cottage and it felt very luxury compared to other cottages we have stayed in. The rooms were very tidy and the place was very spacious. The heated flooring was lovely and the cottage had everything you needed to make the stay as fun as possible. Will definitely come back!

Shane from stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in December 2015


Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. Bengali lends itself to easy living and we are very central to all the fabulous places that are worthy of a visit in Dumfries and Galloway. We look forward to seeing you again.

Our holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent cottage for a family holiday, good standard of comfort and well equipped. Only minor gripe was two doors which need sanding down as they would not open fully which was a nuisance when entering/leaving. Super area with much to enjoy.

Josie from Near Keighley stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in October 2015


enjoyed our stay !

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this home is situated in a great place for visiting the surrounding towns & villages, ie castle douglas, kirkcudbright, gate house of fleet & activities. lovely bungalow, catered well for 4 generations , aged from 87 years to 4years !!
would use the property again.


Judith from Bishop Auckland stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in September 2015


Beautiful Bengali

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a destination the area is one of our favourite holiday spots. We've been visiting the area for fifthteen years & still manage to find places we haven't been to before. The cottage is a great location to explore, it suits the needs of our family i.e. plenty of space for both teenagers & children, easy access for grandad! The cottage is very well equipped & had everything we could ask for & more.

David from Appley Bridge stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in August 2015


Fantastic accommodation!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this holiday as we needed a relaxing break from a hectic year. Our three children aged between 12 and 21 were thrilled with the size and facilities of this modern bungalow (even bigger than it seemed in the photos). It was extremely well equipped and beautifully decorated. All the rooms were very clean. Didn't need to bring much except clothing and there is a Tesco in town, but we did buy some delicious free range eggs for breakfast from the house opposite. On our arrival the manager and owner popped in to say hello. Both very friendly and helpful, made us feel really welcome. I recommend a visit to Laggan Outdoor, fantastic staff and a great day out. Food at the cafe is a must! Mossyard beach is nearby, small but lovely. Spent a day in Glasgow and Edinburgh but was always nice to come back to the comfortable bungalow.

Guest from Batley stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in July 2015


Amazing!

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited for a birthday weekend and had the most amazing time. It's a beautiful house and the photos don't do it justice.

Although there are no local shops, Castle Douglas is a short drive away.

Great for a retreat.


Heather from Ayr stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in June 2015


Mathew Lamont replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for such positive feedback. Glad you loved the house!

Bengali - Reviewed Kay from Stonehaven

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property, lots of space and lovely free flowing house. Warm, spacious and accomodated our every need.
Comfort at its best. We stayed for 3 nights and wish we'd booked longer. Hope to return again.
Kirkcudbright and Castle Douglas lovely places to visit and people so welcoming and friendly.


Guest from Stonehaven stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in May 2015


Mathew and Nicola replied more than 1 year ago
Kay, thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the house and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Its funny how people score certain aspects of their stay and at times it is at no fault of ours, but it helps if we can get specific feedback to ensure future guests and hopefully yourself, are offered an improved experience the next time around. If you could email us directly with any comments as to why you scored some aspects of the review at 4/5 we would be very grateful. Thanks again for staying with us. Mathew and Nicola (owner)

excellent cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bengali is a modern well equipped cottage in a quiet location.All of the rooms are comfortable and spacious with everything you need to have a relaxing stay. I would definitely use Bengali again.

Guest from Port Glasgow stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in May 2015


Mathew Lamont replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review - although there is very little we can do in terms of location! Its great to get positive feedback from our guests - it is a testament to how well it is being looked after by Donald and the others. Thank you.

Would recommend!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spend a lovely long weekend at Bengali visiting friends locally. The house is spacious, comfortable and well maintained. Donald was very helpful, he came to see if we were settled in OK and if there was anything we needed. We did call him at one point as we couldn't work the Sky box and he was very kind and sorted us out.

Our children (age 2 and 4) had a wonderful time and didn't want to come home to our own house! There was plenty of room for them to play inside, but sadly it was raining so heavily that we didn't really venture into the garden.

I would recommend this property to friends, and would definitely consider staying there again when we next visit the area.


Guest from Inverness stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in February 2015


Donald Dunlop replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Bengali is a great base for exploring the area and we will hopefully meet you all again.

An excellent holiday home

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Bengali in Ringford purely to meet our daughter, her husband and our 3 and a half year old granddaughter, who live on Shetland, it is roughly halfway from us in Hampshire.

The location suited us, as we live in deep countryside and travelling to shops, to us is normal, although the lack of pubs in the area meant we ate in more than we usually do on holiday.The bungalow is very modern, only 3 years old, there is a very nice large kitchen / dining room, fully equipped and all in very good condition. There was always lashings of hot water and a good heating system, 2 en suite shower bedrooms and a large family bathroom, with a bath and shower, although rather oddly, for a modern house, there are NO shaver sockets in any of the bathrooms, and a mirror above the hand basin, would be a nice touch, but these small things which we have at home and certainly don't detract from the overall high standard of Bengali, just take a 13 amp adaptor to charge your toothbrush lol. The lounge is a very nice size and is fully equipped with Satellite TV (Sky basic channels) and plenty of comfy seating.

Sleeping with the windows open was annoying to us not used to traffic noise, the busy adjacent road and the A75 a short distance away on the other side of the bungalow, but for people used to traffic noise, it wont be such a problem. To get back to our own bed was lovely, as the beds were rather too firm for our liking, but a matter of choice.

Great customer service from the manager Donald and the owner, (via Skype from abroad) was a very nice touch, as the heating was way too hot and wasting fuel, but that was quickly sorted out and we could close the windows at night hahaha.

All in all its a great place, on the edge of Ringford, in a very rural location, with lovely farmland views.


Guest from stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in February 2015


Mathew Lamont replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. Apart from the heating problems that we managed to sort out via skype and the other comments made it is great that you still scored us 5/5 for condition and comfort!! Your comments will be looked into and addressed wherever we can. Hopefully you will be back sometime in the future!

Stay at Bengali (the Rae / cassbornes)

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage, very high spec. Kitchen is gorgeous. There were a few minor repairs required that I communicated to the caretaker on arrival that needed fixing. Overall we had an excellent stay and would recommend to friends and family alike.

Kevin from Shotts stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in December 2014


Fantastic stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend the Bengali Cottage for anyone who is looking for a real top quality accommodation in this area. Really couldn't fault it at all.

P from stayed at Bengali for 4 nights in December 2014


Bengali - A modern cottage retreat.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I really enjoyed our time at Bengali cottage. It's a lovely modern cottage with everything you need in a quiet location with good access (with a car of course) to nearby towns and the beautiful Galloway Forest. We felt very comfortable and at home whilst staying in this cottage and would highly recommend it to others. The house keeper was very friendly and popped over on the first night to check that everything was ok and whether we had any questions or not. Some great memories made in Galloway and surrounding areas thanks to Bengali.

Guest from Northampton stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in November 2014


Mathew Lamont replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We look forward to your return visit!

Excellent Property

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property is as described and exceeded our expectations. We found the area to have plenty of interesting places to visit and plenty of good eateries within a reasonable distance.

The house and area is well worth considering for a holiday.


Guest from Skelmorlie stayed at Bengali for 7 nights in November 2014


Beautiful Home

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at Bengali for a long weekend, with my 3 sisters, and it was bliss. As we are all getting on a bit in years, (ages 58 to 74) we try to go away once a year, just us women for a chill out.This house was gorgeous, and so well equipped, everything you needed was there,The photos online don't do justice, its even lovelier.There are no shops or pubs in the village, so take all the essentials with you, but there are shops nearby, in castle douglas.We hope to go back within six months. Really recommend this house.

Guest from Bathgate stayed at Bengali for 3 nights in October 2014


Our Special stay at Bengali

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Firstly, I would like to thank the Lamont family for sharing their home with us. We had the best time. Everything was just as it says on the tin. This was a special family celebration and the choice we made for the venue was absolutely fabulous. There was loads of room for all of us and the cottage was very tasteful. The setting was so tranquil and ideal for relaxing. A wonderful place to escape to from the buzz of everyday life. We heard owls and saw herons and buzzards. Bengali was certainly a big hit with us, we wanted to stay for longer. I will be recommending Bengali to everyone I know and we will certainly be booking to stay again, of that there is absolutely no doubt. I cannot praise Bengali highly enough, there is nothing that I would change, everything was there that we needed. All we had to bring with us was food. Donald was great and so helpful. I did love the paintings and the artwork by a child displayed in the kitchen was very appealing and I knew straight away that this is a family house and is child friendly. Thanks again. We will be back. Bengali is simply the best.

Guest from Newton Stewart stayed at Bengali for 2 nights in September 2014


Mathew Lamont replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bengali and look forward to having you back any time.

SUMMER HOLIDAY 2014

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bengali was a great property for our 2 families to share. 4 adults and 4 kids (age6-11) and the property had plenty space for all of us. We loved the big kitchen-a fantastic sociable area. Loved all the cooking utensils etc that were provided, and the 2 fridges meant plenty of room to store all our food.
Everything in the property was modern, clean and in great condition.
Kids enjoyed playing in the garden (we were lucky the Scottish weather was very kind to us!)
Only things we'd improve would be the garden furniture and would have been nice to have shaver points in bathrooms so we could charge our toothbrushes! But these are minor issues and did not spoil our enjoyment of this beautiful bungalow.
Ringford was a good base to explore the local area-we visited Castle Douglas, Kirkcudbright, we went to Dalscone Farm in Dumfries-a great day out, the Cocoa Bean Company which is just a short drive from Bengali and the kids did the chocolate making workshop, Threave Estate and Threave Castle.
We definitely hope to be back one day!


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Bengali for 5 nights in July 2014


Mathew Lamont replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your kind review. We will take on board your comments and hopefully see you again in the future - hopefully with some new garden furniture in place! The shaver sockets are a bit more difficult to deal with but we will try and do something.