FB Twitter

The Chestnuts

The Chestnuts

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


The Chestnuts has all you need for a perfect stay. Its old world charm; with beams, inglenook fireplace and stone floors is enhanced with a palette of whites and neutrals for a truly relaxing space. The Cottage is full of luxuries from eco friendly toiletries, to crisp linen sheets, goose down duvets and an espresso coffee machine. Outside the garden has places to dine, sit or lounge and the view over to the village ford is magical.

Highly recommend the Chestnuts.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a last minute booking but from start to finish everything went smoothly. The cottage is nestled in a beautiful little village with a handy, quiet pub across the road. The cottage itself is just stunning. Beautifully decorated and thoughtfully developed it was an absolute treat to stay here. Beautiful flowers and champagne greeted us and a warm, eco friendly, sumptuous cottage instantly became home. Generously filled with so much equipment and utensils in the kitchen, and books, games and information that you cannot fail to have a great time. Fluffy towels and great facilities all in a fantastically developed and modernised old English cottage. Just fabulous.



Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love coming back to The Chestnuts - it delivers everything we want of a holiday cottage and so so much more. We even had the weather on our side this stay with some really hot October days. As a consequence we managed the Shilton to Burford walk and some delicious Lardy cake from Huffkins tea rooms as our reward. Thank you Chris and the team for making us so welcome - see you again soon.



Family stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week with both family and friends. The cottage accommodated everyone really well and had everything you would need. Lovely touches with bath products and fluffy bath robes. The playroom had excellent toys and books for our granddaughter who loved them.
The village was very pretty and the pub across the road made us all very welcome and served great food.
As mentioned in a previous review the property does have a low beam in the lounge, which did have an argument with my head!!
To sum up, a lovely cottage in a lovely location.




Beautiful location and superb property

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location,superb property with well considered internal touches. This cottage is the standard against which all holiday lets should be benchmarked. The cottage was the perfect location to spend a relaxing weekend together as a family before our son and his girlfriend emigrated to Australia.



Glorious stay in tranquil Cotswold cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for an amazing stay in a truly wonderful cottage. The Chestnuts is a really wow place, so light and spacious and perfect for our family. We loved all the attention to detail, beds were super comfy and the kitchen was better equipped than our own. It’s clear the garden is as well maintained as the house and Shilton village with its picturesque Ford is idyllic. We would love to come back to this special place.



One of the best

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a house with a high level of design and content. After a large number of rentals under our belt, we can say this is the best appointed house we have ever rented. We stayed 2 weeks and the weekly service was excellent for us. The beds, linen and bathroom are high end. in appointment and function.
I must say we were expecting a bigger back yard however that was the only real issue.
How many places has anybody rented where there are Flowers weekly, so much high end kitchen equipment with quality and volume of content that you will never run out.
Plus multiple TVs and entertainment accessories and all in excellent condition.
Sure its not cheap, however when you get everything you pay for, well its a winner.




Home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chestnuts is a marvelous holiday cottage.

Set in a beautiful village, it is a restful location for a family break. We loved the village pub, the beautifully set out garden and the space within the tardis-like cottage. Beds were first class; the kitchen wants for nothing. Watching DVDs on the big TV was a relaxing treat.

Would we book again? Yes we will!!!





Great place

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderfull time at the Chestnuts. Some parts of the house has low ceilings, so tall people should watch out! Everything is thought through, which is really nice!



AMAZING COTTAGE

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have a truly fantastic weekend at The Chestnuts in March 2018. The location is fabulous and the cottage is simply gorgeous. Attention to detail from the copious amounts of cutlery and crockery and equipment to fresh flowers and magazines - we wanted to stay longer.. Absolutely stunning.



Wow the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed at

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This truly is a five star property in an amazing Cotswold village setting. As a group of mixed ages from our young children to my parents it couldn't have suited us all better. Plenty of room for us all, toys for the children, books and magazines for the adults and garden wildlife for my parents. The inglenook fireplace with wood burner is gorgeous but with underfloor heating as well, we enjoyed the luxury of bare feet on flagstone floors- a delicious pleasure. Chris and her team were fantastic to deal with, we will be back. Regards Edward



Fantastic cottage, much recommended!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Chestnuts at the beginning of December and were delighted to arrive and immediately felt comfortable - especially with the carefully selected Christmas decorations! The extra thought and efforts did not go amiss and the cottage was decorated with a modern yet cosy / cottage feel.

Each of the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped with all that we required.

We thank the hosts for their hospitality and look forward to visiting again soon!




7th visit still amazing

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 7th stay at chestnuts and we love it more and more each year!!!

We are a group of ladies ranging from 20's to 50's that live all over the UK that get together yearly in chestnuts for an early Christmas celebration, even cooking full dinner in the well appointed kitchen.

Really recommend the rose and crown opposite, Martin makes you feel so welcome and remembers us year on year, booking is advisable. The locals are really welcoming as well, we feel that we are coming home

Burford Garden Centre is a must, especially in this time of year with their extended Christmas shop and festive goodies as is Burford as a picturesque English town. This is easily reached on a beautiful walk that takes 30 mins max from the cottage

I genuinely cannot recommend chestnuts enough you can guarantee absolute luxury and a amazing location




You should go!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Take cottGe is lovely beyond words. Every mod con has been seen to, the location is confident for relaxation, touring, shopping, dining, you name it. Our weather was perfect for September which helped, and I can't wait to return...thanks for everything
Susan




Wonderful house in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is extremely well equipped and it's great to have such good garden furniture for eating outside. The village itself is extremely attractive. There's nothing negative to say at all. All good.



Top Spot

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit and it's as good as ever. Great autumn weather allowed us to breakfast outside. Don't miss out on Hufkins' Lardy Cake from Burford. Rose & Crown's beer on top form. Some lovely walks around the village and in Bibury. Selection of books in the library seems even larger than last visit...weather too nice to justify a proper reading day...shame!



A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at The Chestnuts after a busy two weeks in Spain and Bordeaux visiting restaurants and wineries as part of a group of 11. We were absolutely blown away by the whole experience of this lovely cottage and it's surrounds and wished we could stay for much longer. It is the perfect place to get away and relax, but also close to all sorts of wonderous excursions. We hope we can return and stay longer!



Outstanding holiday home!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best holiday home I have ever stayed in. The facilities are exactly like a 5 star hotel but with the added luxury of being in a private holiday home. The house was spotlessly clean & decor fresh & attractive. Beds were extremely comfortable. Plenty of hot water for showers/baths. Plenty of space for group of 10. Attention to detail out of this world.



Fantastic cottage in the heart of the Cotswolds!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great cottage! All has been done tastefully, making you feel at home - can't think of a better place to use as base to explore and enjoy the Cotswolds. The pub across the road, close to places to visits and country walks, perfect any time of the year!



A Cotswold gem

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 star luxury. Such a beautiful place. One of the cleanest and best equipped cottages we have stayed in. The beds were comfortable and everything felt luxurious.



Beautiful house

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house. High spec. Very comfortable beds and sofas. All cooking equipment etc provided. Perfect space for our group of 8 adults.
Also thank you to Sandy the manager for helping us after our check out time when we locked our car key in the car.




Comfort,quality and an eye for detail

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in an attractive village The Chestnuts offers luxurious comfort and every provision needed when away from home. Compared with other rental properties the high quality of beds, bedding and toiletries is superb. The well equipped kitchen makes self-catering a joy - if not sampling the wide choice of local eateries like The Feathered Nest just past Burford. A real delight is the small but professional coffee maker.
Visiting in winter the garden was merely admired through the back windows but I bet it's a great suntrap in the summer. And if the weather is wet the huge library of DVDs should keep all families well entertained.




Beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend celebrating two birthdays and a retirement! Perfect space for entertaining and great proximity to a lovely local pub!



Wonderful, relaxing break in a stunning Cotswold village.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to spend a few days!
Beautifully clean and tidy. Very well equipped.
Thoroughly recommend your try it!




A beautiful and tastefully extended old Cotswolds stone cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful and tastefully extended old Cotswolds stone cottage fitted out with all mod cons and every item one could possibly wish for in a self-catering let. Our arrival was met by welcoming fresh flowers and champagne. We found that the pub across the road did excellent meals so our cooking was not much needed. Views from the back are stunning with the river in the background across a meadow and a sight of the village ford. The original spiral stone staircase is not for the infirm but two bedrooms are reached by a modern flight. My only niggle is that the wooden frame of our bed protruded well past the mattress (apparently by design) and in the dark I caught my shin on it.



Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed the cottage and Shilton village. Sorry you caught your shin on the bed in the night. I hope we can welcome you back another time. Kindest regards Chris

Accommodation for my wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family used the cottage as a base for my wedding just outside Burford. The booking process was very simple and the owers allow us to have an early check in and late check out.
The location was ideal for this as it is 5mins from Burford and 10mins from the wedding venue, The Stone Barn. The village is very nice and te pub over the road excellent.
The cottage was extremely well equipped with everything you could need.
The rooms were all very comfortable and they also setup a sofa bed for us.
A very good location to relax.
We enjoyed our stay greatly.