FB Twitter

The Chestnuts

The Chestnuts

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 43 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Chestnuts is a charming Cotswolds stone cottage for eight in the sleepy village of Shilton, located just a short walk from the good food serving, local pub. Dating back to the 1800s, this rural retreat has been lovingly renovated to create a contemporary and child-friendly take on the traditional country cottage. Traditional stone floors, oak beams, and inglenook fireplaces exude old-world charm, while the stylish interiors, modern, well-equipped kitchens and luxury bathrooms make it the perfect place for style-conscious parents in search of a country escape.

But what really sets this cottage apart is the owner’s attention to detail. From bigger touches such as the thoughtful supply of baby gear, optional massage treatments, and private chef hire to the small things like the freshly cut flower and luxury toiletries that await every new guest. It is no wonder the cottage has been awarded 5* gold by VisitEngland.

Whether visiting in the summer, soaking up the sun from the garden or curled up beside the fire after a brisk winters day spent exploring, the cottage offers a real, rural idyll which will feel a world away from home. Did we mention it’s under two hours from London! Perfect for a weekend getaway with kids in tow.

Accommodation Overview

Chestnut Cottage sleeps eight plus infants in four bedrooms. The bedrooms are split into two sections of the house. Each section offers both a master bedroom with a king-size bed, a smaller double room, and a family bathroom. The first two bedrooms are accessed via the traditional spiral stone staircase off the main lounge with the second two accessed from the main staircase off the hallway.

The living space is bright and spacious. Guests enter into a small, open hallway that leads off into the other rooms. There are two lounges, both sitting at the back of the house. The main lounge offers comfortable seating, an impressive inglenook fireplace with wood burner, Sony 4K TV, soundbar, DVD play, and BOSE speaker. The second lounge is nicknamed the ‘Movie Room’ and again has a 4k TV with soundbar and DVD player alongside a library of books, magazines, and board games. This room has a sofa bed and can be made up of a double for two additional guests on request. It also has access to the garden.

The dining room has seating for up to 10 guests and again has access out into the garden and cottage terrace. The kitchen is just off the dining room. It is modern in design and well equipped. It has two fridges, a freezer, electric oven, induction hob, microwave, washing machine, espresso coffee machine, digital radio, and a range of pans, crockery, cutlery, and glassware. Guests who fancy a break from the cooking could make use of the optional chef service which can be pre-arranged. They can even provide afternoon tea.

There is a small shower room off the kitchen which is handy when travelling in multi-family groups.

Upstairs the two master double rooms are bright and spacious. Beds are completed with luxurious, high-quality linens and bathrooms come with toiletries and fluffy towels and robes. In total there are three bathrooms which include two showers, two baths, and three toilets.

The house comes with underfloor heating and complimentary WiFi.

Outside there is a private garden which overlooks the village ford (once featured on Downton Abbey). It is a lovely place to sit out and enjoy an alfresco meal with dining furniture and a charcoal BBQ. There are also loungers for those looking to make the most of the sun.

The cottage comes with one off-road parking (small car) and has access to plenty of roadside parking with no restrictions.

Weekend Escape

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Six of us recently stayed at The Chestnuts for the weekend. The house is beautiful, the standard of everything is excellent, it surpassed all my expectations. We had a fantastic stay, couldn't fault it. We will highly recommend it to friends and hope to be back soon.

Thank you :-)


Michelle from London stayed at The Chestnuts for 1 nights in September 2020


Great village location, fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect. Soothing. The Chestnuts has it all a great house equipped to the max. Great location in this picture-book village. So much to do locally. We need to come back to experience it again. Thank you.


Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in July 2020


Amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what an amazing place and so perfect after lockdown. Peaceful, beautiful and a real antidote to all that’s going on in the world. Thank you.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in July 2020


95

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chesnuts is a lovely cottage in a sleepy village with a great pub directly opposite.
The property is very comfortable and has a very well equipped kitchen which opens onto the garden which catches the sun quite late into the evening - ideal for the BBQ. There are several seating areas inside and out. We slept in the bedroom above the kitchen with a very comfy bed, overlooking the garden and never heard a thing. One of our daughters slept on the roadside and could not believe how quiet it was!
Would just mention that there are several low beams (my husband has no spatial awareness and took a chunk out of his head) and the spiral stone stairs to our bedroom plus a double room would be a struggle for the elderly. There is a good set of stairs to the other two bedrooms.
For us it was perfect and would definitely look to stay again.


Sheila from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in July 2020


Cheltenham week

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed in one of eco chic cottages and both times it has proven to be an excellent choice
This property goes that bit further than most holiday rentals, with all the basics provided. Such as dishwasher tables, and refuse bags and excellent toiletries for us in all baths . Also the pub across they way was most convenient.

The standard for bed linen and bath towels was very good quality and the bath towels were the right size



Signe from Warfiled stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in March 2020


A place which just love to come back to

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a number of visits to The Chestnuts now and it never disappoints. In a really lovely part of The Cotswolds, we always enjoy a trip to Burford, our favourite pubs (love The Five Alls - Filkins and Swan Southrop, as well as the village Rose and Crown) and walks round the village on a crisp winters day are idyllic. The house clearly has so much care and attention paid to it. Love that the kitchen is so well equipped, the beds comfy and the underfloor heating in winter make the bathrooms super luxurious. We know we will be back, your cottage revives our spirits.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 8 nights in January 2020


Outstanding for Families

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in quaint village of Shilton. Beautifully appointed features throughout the home and wood burning fireplace made it quite cozy. Plenty of space and games/DVDs made it a perfect family weekend.

Jeffrey from Chiswick stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in January 2020


Elizabeth Trinder Revisited

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we drove down the street to the Cheśtnuts we knew this was going to be a fantastic visit. We as a family brought our mum back to her ancestral home to enjoy her 80h Birthday.
What Chris has done to the house is amazing,all the improvements have been done sympatheticly to the original house.
Everything in the cottage is quality, even down to the fully stocked kitchen which even had a cake stand for mums cake. We actually couldn't believe how well equipped it was. We as a family all enjoy cooking this was done by ourselves in the cottage and had plenty of equipment to even cater for quests.
The garden is beautiful and has several areas to sit out and enjoy the scenery, had the weather not been so cold we could have even had a barbecue as all the equipment was available for our use.
We had a family gathering at the Rose and Crown to celebrate mums birthday, the food was lovely, even by our standards, my sister even wanted to go back over just to have another pudding.(we do love our food)
I don't believe whatever comments we put on this review would ever do the Chestnuts justice. We shall be visiting again we had an amazing time and hope to do it again as a family.

Thank you Chris for allowing us to share your Home.........


Nancy from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in November 2019


Just an amazing place

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage with absolutely every detail thought about. Thank you Chris for making us so welcome. Loved the cottage, loved the village, loved The Cotswolds.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 1 nights in December 2019


Chestnuts relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place in fabulous location. Excellent facilities and very helpful information provided in the house. We will be back!

Chris from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in November 2019


Beautiful home in a beautiful part of England

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family loved our stay at The Chestnuts. Shilton has become one of our favourite little villages in England and this home was perfect for our weeks stay. It had everything we could need and then some. The beds were very comfy and the bathrooms were clean. The backyard was great and we enjoyed sitting outside and reading. We loved this house and hope to be back next summer.

All the best,

Jill


Jill from Montego Bay stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in August 2019


Fantastic week in The Chestnuts

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the house, perfect for 6-8 people, everything you need is there AND there is a great pub 10 metres away!!

Jeremy from Singapore stayed at The Chestnuts for 6 nights in August 2019


Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chestnuts is a lovely cottage which had everything we needed (and much more!) for our family get together. All equipment needed for our grand children, aged 1,4,5 and 12, was provided. The adults enjoyed the luxurious bathrooms and sumptuous sitting rooms. We enjoyed a BBQ in the secluded garden and were pleasantly surprised to find charcoal ready and waiting. The cottage is in an idyllic, peaceful village and close to nearby attractions. It is not easy to find accommodation all under one roof for six adults and four children and certainly not to such a high standard.

Anne from Gravesend stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in July 2019


Top cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family weekend at The Chestnuts was all we hoped it was going to be, we even had great weather and sat outside on many occasions. The cottage is beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The chef in our party loved the kitchen, with so much China, glassware and cooking implements. Even cookery books. We ate at the Rose and Crown just a few paces from the cottage, as well as The village pub Barnsley and The Bell at Langford - all great meals. Burford is so close to pop into and the Burford Garden centre is a must visit.

We can’t wait to come back.




Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in July 2019


Super stay in Shilton

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky with the weather but even luckier that we found The Chestnuts in Shilton! What a wonderful place to stay - all needs catered for in supreme comfort, with first class finishes. Pretty much perfect, as is Shilton - and Burford too! Great house in a super location.

Elspeth from Cardiff stayed at The Chestnuts for 8 nights in May 2019


Beautiful house, Perfect location

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely delightful house in a gorgeous little village. Extremely well equipped with good quality items. Plenty of everything - glasses, china etc. Coffee machine, dishwasher, barbecue with charcoal & lighters. Bedding & towels very good quality. Everything you could need is provided along with some very thoughtful touches like pods for the coffee machine, fresh flowers, a welcoming bottle of champagne.....

It was a most pleasant stay - just mind your head off the beam in the lounge and your shins off the bed frames!


Ray from Chipping Norton stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in May 2019


Superb Cotswolds holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All of our group loved The Chestnuts. Amazing bedrooms and spaces. Kitchen lacks for nothing. NOTHING. The stylish garden is a haven for wildlife; I loved the pair of ducks who treat the garden as their own. Gentle walks from the house, Burford a lovely town, history-rich with something for all of us. Relaxing and soothing. Hope we can return for another reunion.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 5 nights in April 2019


Heaven!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely love the chestnuts. This was our second visit and we have already booked our 3rd! The whole family had a fab time. So much to do, it’s in the perfect location. It’s certainly our happy place!

Emma from Purely On Thames stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in February 2019


Highly recommend the Chestnuts.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a last minute booking but from start to finish everything went smoothly. The cottage is nestled in a beautiful little village with a handy, quiet pub across the road. The cottage itself is just stunning. Beautifully decorated and thoughtfully developed it was an absolute treat to stay here. Beautiful flowers and champagne greeted us and a warm, eco friendly, sumptuous cottage instantly became home. Generously filled with so much equipment and utensils in the kitchen, and books, games and information that you cannot fail to have a great time. Fluffy towels and great facilities all in a fantastically developed and modernised old English cottage. Just fabulous.

Gill from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in October 2018


Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love coming back to The Chestnuts - it delivers everything we want of a holiday cottage and so so much more. We even had the weather on our side this stay with some really hot October days. As a consequence we managed the Shilton to Burford walk and some delicious Lardy cake from Huffkins tea rooms as our reward. Thank you Chris and the team for making us so welcome - see you again soon.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in October 2018


Family stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week with both family and friends. The cottage accommodated everyone really well and had everything you would need. Lovely touches with bath products and fluffy bath robes. The playroom had excellent toys and books for our granddaughter who loved them.
The village was very pretty and the pub across the road made us all very welcome and served great food.
As mentioned in a previous review the property does have a low beam in the lounge, which did have an argument with my head!!
To sum up, a lovely cottage in a lovely location.


Peter from Horsham stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in September 2018


Beautiful location and superb property

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location,superb property with well considered internal touches. This cottage is the standard against which all holiday lets should be benchmarked. The cottage was the perfect location to spend a relaxing weekend together as a family before our son and his girlfriend emigrated to Australia.

Lynn from Southampton stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in August 2018


Glorious stay in tranquil Cotswold cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for an amazing stay in a truly wonderful cottage. The Chestnuts is a really wow place, so light and spacious and perfect for our family. We loved all the attention to detail, beds were super comfy and the kitchen was better equipped than our own. It’s clear the garden is as well maintained as the house and Shilton village with its picturesque Ford is idyllic. We would love to come back to this special place.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 1 nights in August 2018


One of the best

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a house with a high level of design and content. After a large number of rentals under our belt, we can say this is the best appointed house we have ever rented. We stayed 2 weeks and the weekly service was excellent for us. The beds, linen and bathroom are high end. in appointment and function.
I must say we were expecting a bigger back yard however that was the only real issue.
How many places has anybody rented where there are Flowers weekly, so much high end kitchen equipment with quality and volume of content that you will never run out.
Plus multiple TVs and entertainment accessories and all in excellent condition.
Sure its not cheap, however when you get everything you pay for, well its a winner.


Robert from stayed at The Chestnuts for 13 nights in May 2018


Home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chestnuts is a marvelous holiday cottage.

Set in a beautiful village, it is a restful location for a family break. We loved the village pub, the beautifully set out garden and the space within the tardis-like cottage. Beds were first class; the kitchen wants for nothing. Watching DVDs on the big TV was a relaxing treat.

Would we book again? Yes we will!!!



Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in May 2018


Great place

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderfull time at the Chestnuts. Some parts of the house has low ceilings, so tall people should watch out! Everything is thought through, which is really nice!

Loes from stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in April 2018


AMAZING COTTAGE

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have a truly fantastic weekend at The Chestnuts in March 2018. The location is fabulous and the cottage is simply gorgeous. Attention to detail from the copious amounts of cutlery and crockery and equipment to fresh flowers and magazines - we wanted to stay longer.. Absolutely stunning.

Gail from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in March 2018


Wow the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed at

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This truly is a five star property in an amazing Cotswold village setting. As a group of mixed ages from our young children to my parents it couldn't have suited us all better. Plenty of room for us all, toys for the children, books and magazines for the adults and garden wildlife for my parents. The inglenook fireplace with wood burner is gorgeous but with underfloor heating as well, we enjoyed the luxury of bare feet on flagstone floors- a delicious pleasure. Chris and her team were fantastic to deal with, we will be back. Regards Edward

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 10 nights in January 2018


Fantastic cottage, much recommended!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Chestnuts at the beginning of December and were delighted to arrive and immediately felt comfortable - especially with the carefully selected Christmas decorations! The extra thought and efforts did not go amiss and the cottage was decorated with a modern yet cosy / cottage feel.

Each of the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped with all that we required.

We thank the hosts for their hospitality and look forward to visiting again soon!


Pooja from Barnet stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in December 2017


7th visit still amazing

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 7th stay at chestnuts and we love it more and more each year!!!

We are a group of ladies ranging from 20's to 50's that live all over the UK that get together yearly in chestnuts for an early Christmas celebration, even cooking full dinner in the well appointed kitchen.

Really recommend the rose and crown opposite, Martin makes you feel so welcome and remembers us year on year, booking is advisable. The locals are really welcoming as well, we feel that we are coming home

Burford Garden Centre is a must, especially in this time of year with their extended Christmas shop and festive goodies as is Burford as a picturesque English town. This is easily reached on a beautiful walk that takes 30 mins max from the cottage

I genuinely cannot recommend chestnuts enough you can guarantee absolute luxury and a amazing location


Melanie from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in November 2017


You should go!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Take cottGe is lovely beyond words. Every mod con has been seen to, the location is confident for relaxation, touring, shopping, dining, you name it. Our weather was perfect for September which helped, and I can't wait to return...thanks for everything
Susan


Susan from Potomac stayed at The Chestnuts for 5 nights in September 2017


Wonderful house in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is extremely well equipped and it's great to have such good garden furniture for eating outside. The village itself is extremely attractive. There's nothing negative to say at all. All good.

Peter from London stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in September 2017


Top Spot

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit and it's as good as ever. Great autumn weather allowed us to breakfast outside. Don't miss out on Hufkins' Lardy Cake from Burford. Rose & Crown's beer on top form. Some lovely walks around the village and in Bibury. Selection of books in the library seems even larger than last visit...weather too nice to justify a proper reading day...shame!

Phil from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in September 2017


A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at The Chestnuts after a busy two weeks in Spain and Bordeaux visiting restaurants and wineries as part of a group of 11. We were absolutely blown away by the whole experience of this lovely cottage and it's surrounds and wished we could stay for much longer. It is the perfect place to get away and relax, but also close to all sorts of wonderous excursions. We hope we can return and stay longer!

Jill from Moorooduc stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in June 2017


Outstanding holiday home!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best holiday home I have ever stayed in. The facilities are exactly like a 5 star hotel but with the added luxury of being in a private holiday home. The house was spotlessly clean & decor fresh & attractive. Beds were extremely comfortable. Plenty of hot water for showers/baths. Plenty of space for group of 10. Attention to detail out of this world.

Cath from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in April 2017


Fantastic cottage in the heart of the Cotswolds!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great cottage! All has been done tastefully, making you feel at home - can't think of a better place to use as base to explore and enjoy the Cotswolds. The pub across the road, close to places to visits and country walks, perfect any time of the year!

Pedro from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in March 2017


A Cotswold gem

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 star luxury. Such a beautiful place. One of the cleanest and best equipped cottages we have stayed in. The beds were comfortable and everything felt luxurious.

Laura from Leigh On Sea stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in February 2017


Beautiful house

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house. High spec. Very comfortable beds and sofas. All cooking equipment etc provided. Perfect space for our group of 8 adults.
Also thank you to Sandy the manager for helping us after our check out time when we locked our car key in the car.


Michelle from Market Harborough stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in January 2017


Comfort,quality and an eye for detail

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in an attractive village The Chestnuts offers luxurious comfort and every provision needed when away from home. Compared with other rental properties the high quality of beds, bedding and toiletries is superb. The well equipped kitchen makes self-catering a joy - if not sampling the wide choice of local eateries like The Feathered Nest just past Burford. A real delight is the small but professional coffee maker.
Visiting in winter the garden was merely admired through the back windows but I bet it's a great suntrap in the summer. And if the weather is wet the huge library of DVDs should keep all families well entertained.


Sheila from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in January 2017


Beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend celebrating two birthdays and a retirement! Perfect space for entertaining and great proximity to a lovely local pub!

Phoebe from Chester stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in December 2016


Wonderful, relaxing break in a stunning Cotswold village.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to spend a few days!
Beautifully clean and tidy. Very well equipped.
Thoroughly recommend your try it!


Alison from stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in December 2016


A beautiful and tastefully extended old Cotswolds stone cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful and tastefully extended old Cotswolds stone cottage fitted out with all mod cons and every item one could possibly wish for in a self-catering let. Our arrival was met by welcoming fresh flowers and champagne. We found that the pub across the road did excellent meals so our cooking was not much needed. Views from the back are stunning with the river in the background across a meadow and a sight of the village ford. The original spiral stone staircase is not for the infirm but two bedrooms are reached by a modern flight. My only niggle is that the wooden frame of our bed protruded well past the mattress (apparently by design) and in the dark I caught my shin on it.

Keith from stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in November 2016


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed the cottage and Shilton village. Sorry you caught your shin on the bed in the night. I hope we can welcome you back another time. Kindest regards Chris

Accommodation for my wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family used the cottage as a base for my wedding just outside Burford. The booking process was very simple and the owers allow us to have an early check in and late check out.
The location was ideal for this as it is 5mins from Burford and 10mins from the wedding venue, The Stone Barn. The village is very nice and te pub over the road excellent.
The cottage was extremely well equipped with everything you could need.
The rooms were all very comfortable and they also setup a sofa bed for us.
A very good location to relax.
We enjoyed our stay greatly.


Chris from Worcester stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in November 2016