FB Twitter

The Chestnuts

The Chestnuts

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 74 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The Chestnuts has all you need for a perfect stay. Its old world charm; with beams, inglenook fireplace and stone floors is enhanced with a palette of whites and neutrals for a truly relaxing space. The Cottage is full of luxuries from eco friendly toiletries, to crisp linen sheets, goose down duvets and an espresso coffee machine. Outside the garden has places to dine, sit or lounge and the view over to the village ford is magical.

Wish we could have stayed for Christmas too

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay with friends was just what we all wanted from a pre Christmas December stay in The Cotswolds. The cottage was so welcoming, warm, well equipped and comfortable. We loved the wood burner in the main lounge, views from the garden lounge and the proximity to The Rose and Crown pub. Great landlord and terrific food. We will return. Thank you Chris and your amazing team.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 5 nights in December 2023


The perfect English country stay, updated

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chestnuts is an ideal Cotswold stay. Many generous rooms to host your family, well-equipped kitchen, all with with a tasteful modern aesthetic. The surroundings cooks not be better. The Rose and Crown, Shilton's village pub is outstanding and across the road, the water meadow and ford lead out from the garden, while Burford is just two miles away. The host and housekeeping crew are friendly and attentive. You will be in good hands when you stay here.

Tom from New York stayed at The Chestnuts for 11 nights in December 2023


Wonderful Family Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Dec 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Chestnuts. The convenience of being just a short country walk to Burford was a highlight, with lots of lovely independent shops in the town. The cottage was very well equipped for all our needs, a real home from home. We all enjoyed the view from the cosy vaulted lounge. Some were lucky enough to see a barn owl. We enjoyed a short stroll to the village pub where the landlord made us feel very welcome.

sally from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in December 2023


Fantastic family break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay of three generations with more than enough comfortable space to relax in. Weather restricted our outdoor activities but there were no complaints about making the most of The Chestnuts. Rose and Crown opposite is very welcoming and the food on offer suited all.

Guest from BIRMINGHAM stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in November 2023


Chris replied 201 days ago
It was wonderful to be able to welcome you back to The Chestnuts again, we hope to see you another time. Take care Chris

Family break

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2023
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 5 nights here with our family 6 adults and one child(7). Plenty of space and kitchen well equipped. Lots of great board games and books. Shilton is a lovely village very quiet and the pub opposite was very welcoming and the food excellent.
The house has 2 staircases, one normal and one in the original building which is stone and spiral which needs care. Also there are steps from the master bedroom onto the landing and then another step into the bathroom, which we were aware of having stayed here before.
A really nice cottage in a great peaceful location but really easy to get to many other villages.


Peter from Horsham stayed at The Chestnuts for 5 nights in October 2023


Chris replied 208 days ago
Dear Peter, Thank you for staying with us again. I am so pleased you enjoyed the games and books. I do hope we can welcome you back another time. Take care Chris

Friends reunited....and where could be better?

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our weekend stay, a group of old-friends, was excellent. Communication with the owner Christine, during the booking was prompt and straightforward. The Touchstay guide which Chris sent us a link to helped us plan the stay; loads of ideas and only the weekend to do them all. We followed the advice and consequently had great experiences: Rose and Crown in Shilton and Bell at Langford are lovely pubs serving fine food.

The Chestnuts itself is hard to fault. Loads of room, great garden for lounging in. Beds first rate comfortable. Showers were properly drenching and hot. Baths big enough to float in...almost!. There's enough of everything in the kitchen; no panicked washing up to have the plates we needed and anyway they all went in the dishwasher when we went out.

We might make this reunion an annual thing and we'd all happily converge here again.


Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in October 2023


Fantastic place would visit again!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage, real home from home with everything you could possibly need. Amazing place to stay, very well kept and cleanly, lovely garden and surrounding and great location. Couldn’t fault it, would visit again with hesitation!

Guest from Stone stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in August 2023


Chris replied 259 days ago
Dear Joe, Thank you so much for your kind comments about The Chestnuts, it means so much to all of the Eco Chic Cottages team. We hope we can welcome you back another time. Take care Chris

Blissful spring break

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chestnuts is outstanding.

We loved it. Weather was on our side so we got full advantage of the garden too

So much character in the cottage and everything we needed from wifi to those chef’s knives. Nice barbecue.

Several great meals out. Shilton’s Rose & Crown so convenient but also loved, as you suggested, the Swan at Swinbrook. Wow!!

Thanks for everything


Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 8 nights in May 2023


A unique base in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chestnuts is a magical place to stay. It's in the heart of a beautiful village. The sun room, gardens, and neighboring water meadow create a balance between indoor and outdoor. The kitchen is well equipped for entertaining. Check in and service couldn't be easier.

Tom from New York stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in July 2023


Chris replied 287 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review Tom, the whole team really appreciates it. We look forward to welcoming you back at Christmas time. Take care Chris

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous house and very comfortable. Really well equipped and great to have 3 sitting areas. Excellent communication with Chris. Garden was very pretty and everything you could need.
Only criticism would be to have shower in second bathroom .
Would definitely go back!


Katie from Clitheroe stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in July 2023


Chris replied 305 days ago
Hi Katie, thank you for your review and we are so pleased you loved The Chestnuts. Unfortunately we couldn’t put a shower and a bath into the second of the three bathrooms because of the limits in space and the bath we have there, because of its shape it is unable to have a shower screen fixed to it. We also know that some guests really relish the time to have an indulgent bath when on holiday, as a rare treat. Hopefully you were able to use one of the other two spa like rain-dance showers in the house. We really hope we have the opportunity to welcoming you back to one of our cottages again. Take care Chris

A first class experience

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole family thought the accommodation was excellent. There was more than sufficient space for everyone not to feel on top of each other and the garden was a delight. The information and range of provision provided couldn't have been more comprehensive. The level of cleanliness was of the highest standard. Overall, the feeling was that this provided a benchmark to compare aspiring high quality accommodation against.

John from York stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in May 2023


Chris replied 358 days ago
Dear John, Thank you so much for your wonderful review of The Chestnuts, I am so glad you all enjoyed it. The Chestnuts cottage and Shilton village are special places in the Cotswolds. From your review in the visitor book at the cottage I can see you visited The Burford Garden centre and discovered the amazing book shop there. For anyone who loves books it is a must visit. I do hope we can welcome you back at another time. In the meantime take care Chris

Loved it, would recommend to others.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a small pretty village. We had plenty of room for six teens and adults, and with 3 reception rooms plenty of space for people to escape others to study or read! The kitchen was very well stocked with kitchenware, and cooking was a pleasure. Sadly the weather wasn't warm enough for us to sit outside but we loved sitting in the day room with its large windows overlooking the meadow next door and the pretty ford. In the evening we used the cosy room with the low beams, beware if you are tall!

One of the best things was all the local information that was made available, we did some lovely walks and happily worked our way through the list of recommended pubs and restaurants. And we went twice to the lovely garden centre cafe.


Bernadette from London stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in April 2023


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Bernadette, I am so pleased you had a great stay and explored our beautiful area. I love the Burford garden centre too, great for food, homewares, an inspirational book shop and masses of top quality plants. I do hope we can welcome you back another time. Take care Chris

Brilliant weekend with friends and wonderful accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was absolutely excellent with all the facilities you need including very comfortable beds.
Shilton is a nice quiet village with a fabulous pub/restaurant across the road where the landlord and locals were very welcoming. Great location where we visited Burford which is a lovely place with lots of independent shops and eateries.
We also went to Woodstock for brunch and Blenheim Palace for the Christmas Market/Palace tour and Xmas Light walk which was amazing.
Would highly recommend this fabulous cottage


Jane from Nottingham stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in November 2022


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the review Jane, the whole team are thrilled you loved the cottage. I do hope we can welcome you back another time. Take care Chris

3 generation family break

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were high expectations for this property yet we were still amazed at how fantastic The Chestnuts was. A memorable break in a lovely setting.

Christopher from Birmingham stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in July 2022


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
It was a real pleasure to welcome your family Chris and I hope we can welcome you back to The Chestnuts and The Cotswolds in the future. Take care Chris

Just an amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is amazing in every way. From the moment we walked in we knew we were going to be happy here. It is so light and airy. Lots of interconnecting spaces that make it great for a holiday with friends or in our case family. The room over looking the garden was really lovely, overlooking the well kept garden and the village. The house is really tasteful decorated and the beds are very comfortable. Shilton village is close to Burford and we had a lovely afternoon there. Plus went to Blenheim palace, Diddly Squat Farm, Adam Hensons Farm Park and the very close by Cotswold Wildlife park. There is so much to do in this area we will have to come back.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in May 2022


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Wow you did so much during your stay and like you say there is so much more to see in our beautiful area of The Cotswolds. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Take care Chris

Superb cottage in stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We so enjoyed our two night stay at Chestnuts. The cottage itself is beautiful, and every possible need is met within, including a wonderfully stocked kitchen, luxurious furnishings and bedding, plus delightful gardens and views. TVs, books and games galore are thoughtfully provided. Outside the property itself is a glorious Cotswold village complete with a natural ford, and top this all off with a lovely cosy pub straight across the street.
Add all the impossibly pretty nearby towns and villages a short drive away and you have the recipe for a perfect getaway. Two days was not enough!


Shaun from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in May 2022


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for those lovely comments about The Chestnuts. The Cotswolds is a glorious area and I hope we can welcome you back so that you can spend more time exploring. Take care Chris

Perfect family weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely, light and bright and yet cosy. Relaxing living spaces, fresh and comfortable beds and all impeccably clean. Everything in place that you could need in the kitchen. Loved the new garden room. With pretty views across the meadow to the ford, the little garden would be a perfect sun trap in warm weather. The cottage is perfectly placed for exploring the Cotswolds. We spent a wonderful family weekend and we’re sad to leave so soon. Hope to come back!

Susan from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in March 2022


Wonderful mid-week break in lovely comfortable and relaxing surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is a very tranquil place to relax and particularly loved the new garden room with comfy chairs, big windows and lots of light, looking out over the garden towards the stream and the ford. Very comfortable bed and great blackout curtains for a good night's sleep and lovely bathroom. We were really able to wind down and relax and enjoy everything the house had to offer, including excellent coffee bean grinder, great wine glasses (priority items!), and everything you need in the kitchen. Plus we were able to some nice exploring around the village of Shilton on foot - loved the church and churchyard up at the top of the valley. This is such a lovely part of the country to visit and there was no risk of not finding something interesting to do or visit locally, with all the information and ideas on hand at The Chestnuts. Will be back.

Karen from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in February 2022


Wintertime haven

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two-generational winter break. What a treat it was for all of us. The cottage is really, really spacious and has so many sitting areas downstairs. Places for everyone to sit together or sit enjoy the view and birdlife or read. Lovely library. Bedrooms are super-comfy. Kitchen seems to have everything including lovely views.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in January 2022


New Year break

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jan 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at The Chestnuts. The huge log burner was a major bonus and spending quality time around the fire with the family was such a lovely way to bring in the new year. Plenty of walks from the doorstep and a pub just across the road. The cottage had everything we needed with lots of places to come together as a family but room to separate when needed - with 2 teenage kids! The garden is a huge bonus overlooking the ford within the pretty village of Shilton - very quiet, peaceful and private. If you are looking for an authentic cottage that has all the modern facilities in a quiet, peaceful, pretty Cotswolds village then this is the property for you. Thank you to Chris for being such a wonderful host.

Emma from stayed at The Chestnuts for 6 nights in December 2021


Festive weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous Cotswolds cottage that suited our needs perfectly. 4 couples getting together for a pre Xmas weekend. The cottage was beautiful, really welcoming and very well equipped. It really is Eco friendly - even providing an electric car charger at the front of the property. Located just outside Burford in a picture perfect village with a great pub right opposite the property. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the kitchen was really well equipped. A few touches around the property made it feel very festive and we much appreciated the crackers and the bottle of fizz that were waiting on arrival! Highly recommend the Chestnuts - would love to come again and stay even longer as it was just so homely, we could have settled in for a while! One tip for future guests, if you are dining out and need a taxi - book one well in advance, they get so booked up especially at the weekend.

Michelle from Bristol stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in December 2021


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Michelle, I am so glad your group had a great time at The Chestnuts, we would love to welcome you back for that longer stay - there is just so much to do and see in our Special area of The Cotswolds. Take care and Happy Christmas - Chris

Beautiful quintessential Costwolds cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a magical time staying in the Chestnuts in the adorable village of Shilton. The property itself is stunning and spacious. We enjoyed the sitting room extension which is lined with windows to enjoy a cup of tea in the morning. The other sitting room had a large fireplace that kept us cosy at night. And I definitely took advantage of the big freestanding bath tub. Underfloor heating was another welcome surprise. The location is also ideal for exploring the Cotswolds while being not a far drive from London. There is a great pub across the street which we enjoyed dinner at one evening with the best bread and butter pudding I've ever tasted! And the adorable village of Burford is only a 2.5 mile walk away. We're so glad we found this cottage and we hope to come again every year!

Elizabethe from London stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in November 2021


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay Elizabethe and I really hope we can welcome you back for Thanksgiving in 2022. Take care Chris

So glad we found you

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing weekend in your beautiful cottage. It really does have everything we could have wished for and so so much more. We can’t wait to come back.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in August 2021


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments Kelly, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Chestnuts take care Chris

The Chestnuts

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chestnuts is in an ideal location for exploring the Cotswolds. It was clean and very well equipped. We enjoyed our stay very much. Shilton is a quiet pretty village and the pub is right opposite. Very convenient!

Diana from stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in August 2021


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Diana, thank you so much for your comments, I do hope we can welcome you back to The Chestnuts and The Cotswolds again soon. Take care Chris

Very satisfied

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house stylishly furnished in a great location. Very well equipped. Great pub opposite. Great place to see the cotswolds from.

Helen from Crowthorne stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in August 2021


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review Helen, I do hope we can welcome you back to The Cotswolds again. Take care Chris

Peaceful, relaxing break

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chestnuts has been perfect for a really peaceful and relaxing break for us all. The house was a super base and being so close to the Rose and Crown pub was really fantastic. We had some really good meals there. Went to Witney and The Burford garden centre but really just spent most of the time chilling out at The Chestnuts. Thank you

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in August 2021


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Ruth, I am so glad you found The Chestnuts the chill out space you needed. The Cotswolds and Shilton village is a lovely relaxing area and we try hard to make The Chestnuts house and garden the most relaxing place possible. I do hope we can welcome you back again for some more rest and relaxation. Take care Chris

Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend.

The cottage has real character and we loved reading the history of the property and how it has developed over the years. The low beams did catch us out more times than we would like but there was plenty of space to choose from. We particularly liked the new sunroom, so comfy and light.

The Rose and Crown opposite served us very well, staying right opposite a decent pub was a real bonus. The fish pie was excellent and I was happily working my way through the pudding menu.

We loved Shilton as a base. It was such a peaceful spot but so close to so many things.


Alison from Douglas, Isle Of Man stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in July 2021


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Alison, thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and particularly the new garden room and I am sorry you had the odd encounter with a beam in the older part of the cottage. I too love the fish pie at The Rose and Crown and their desserts are delicious. I do hope we can welcome you and your family back to stay with us again someday. Take care Chris

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage finished and fitted to a high spec. Enjoyed sitting I the sun in the private garden & patio area. Nice friendly pub over the road.

Kevan from Nuneaton stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in August 2021


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Kevan, thank you for your lovely comments and I am so glad you had a good time. I love the Rose and Crown too, I can never resist the Bread and Butter pudding dessert.

Charming cottage in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal cottage for a family looking for a relaxing stay in the Cotswolds. The location is only a few miles from Burford and there are plenty of things to do in the surrounding area such as the willed life park and crocodile zoo. Clarkson's Farm is only about 25 mins drive also but be ready for the queue!
The cottage itself is lovely. 4 bedrooms that are in two areas completely separate from each other which is ideal. The outdoor area is spacious and gets plenty of sun. The conservatory is probably the best indoor space for summer. The main lounge is cosy but rather gloomy and probably an ideal space in winter. Beware the low beams.
Directly opposite the cottage is a pub that is handy for a drink and a good meal, but which also has restricted opening hours so it didn’t feel loud or intrusive.
Overall really good place.


James from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in August 2021


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Dear James, Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Chestnuts. Yes the main beam in the original part of the cottages winter lounge, is a bit low, at 5.2" I manage to pop under it easily but I know that's not the same for everyone, fortunately all the other ceilings in the downstairs living area are higher. I think the Rose and Crown is still on slightly restricted hours due to staffing issues at the moment, which has hit the hospitality sector widely but hopefully they will soon be back to full hours. I do hope we can welcome you back to the Chestnuts in future. Take care Chris

Absolutely wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Mar 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real treasure of a find. Beautifully decorated and so well equipped. We can’t wait to come back to this cottage and The Cotswolds.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in October 2020


A wonderful retreat for Christmas and New Year in a beautiful serene house in a lovely village.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable, calming house set in the middle of a lovely small village. The house had absolutely everything you would need for a weekend or two weeks away. We stayed over Christmas and New Year and it felt like home from home. Comfortable bedrooms, modern bathrooms, multiple reception rooms downstairs for people to do different activities and a beautiful garden with safe off street parking.

Sarah from Aston stayed at The Chestnuts for 14 nights in December 2020


Weekend Escape

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Six of us recently stayed at The Chestnuts for the weekend. The house is beautiful, the standard of everything is excellent, it surpassed all my expectations. We had a fantastic stay, couldn't fault it. We will highly recommend it to friends and hope to be back soon.

Thank you :-)


Michelle from London stayed at The Chestnuts for 1 nights in September 2020


Great village location, fabulous cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect. Soothing. The Chestnuts has it all a great house equipped to the max. Great location in this picture-book village. So much to do locally. We need to come back to experience it again. Thank you.


Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in July 2020


Amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow what an amazing place and so perfect after lockdown. Peaceful, beautiful and a real antidote to all that’s going on in the world. Thank you.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in July 2020


95

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chesnuts is a lovely cottage in a sleepy village with a great pub directly opposite.
The property is very comfortable and has a very well equipped kitchen which opens onto the garden which catches the sun quite late into the evening - ideal for the BBQ. There are several seating areas inside and out. We slept in the bedroom above the kitchen with a very comfy bed, overlooking the garden and never heard a thing. One of our daughters slept on the roadside and could not believe how quiet it was!
Would just mention that there are several low beams (my husband has no spatial awareness and took a chunk out of his head) and the spiral stone stairs to our bedroom plus a double room would be a struggle for the elderly. There is a good set of stairs to the other two bedrooms.
For us it was perfect and would definitely look to stay again.


Sheila from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in July 2020


Cheltenham week

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed in one of eco chic cottages and both times it has proven to be an excellent choice
This property goes that bit further than most holiday rentals, with all the basics provided. Such as dishwasher tables, and refuse bags and excellent toiletries for us in all baths . Also the pub across they way was most convenient.

The standard for bed linen and bath towels was very good quality and the bath towels were the right size



Signe from Warfiled stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in March 2020


A place which just love to come back to

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a number of visits to The Chestnuts now and it never disappoints. In a really lovely part of The Cotswolds, we always enjoy a trip to Burford, our favourite pubs (love The Five Alls - Filkins and Swan Southrop, as well as the village Rose and Crown) and walks round the village on a crisp winters day are idyllic. The house clearly has so much care and attention paid to it. Love that the kitchen is so well equipped, the beds comfy and the underfloor heating in winter make the bathrooms super luxurious. We know we will be back, your cottage revives our spirits.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 8 nights in January 2020


Outstanding for Families

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in quaint village of Shilton. Beautifully appointed features throughout the home and wood burning fireplace made it quite cozy. Plenty of space and games/DVDs made it a perfect family weekend.

Jeffrey from Chiswick stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in January 2020


Elizabeth Trinder Revisited

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we drove down the street to the Cheśtnuts we knew this was going to be a fantastic visit. We as a family brought our mum back to her ancestral home to enjoy her 80h Birthday.
What Chris has done to the house is amazing,all the improvements have been done sympatheticly to the original house.
Everything in the cottage is quality, even down to the fully stocked kitchen which even had a cake stand for mums cake. We actually couldn't believe how well equipped it was. We as a family all enjoy cooking this was done by ourselves in the cottage and had plenty of equipment to even cater for quests.
The garden is beautiful and has several areas to sit out and enjoy the scenery, had the weather not been so cold we could have even had a barbecue as all the equipment was available for our use.
We had a family gathering at the Rose and Crown to celebrate mums birthday, the food was lovely, even by our standards, my sister even wanted to go back over just to have another pudding.(we do love our food)
I don't believe whatever comments we put on this review would ever do the Chestnuts justice. We shall be visiting again we had an amazing time and hope to do it again as a family.

Thank you Chris for allowing us to share your Home.........


Nancy from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in November 2019


Just an amazing place

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage with absolutely every detail thought about. Thank you Chris for making us so welcome. Loved the cottage, loved the village, loved The Cotswolds.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 1 nights in December 2019


Chestnuts relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place in fabulous location. Excellent facilities and very helpful information provided in the house. We will be back!

Chris from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in November 2019


Beautiful home in a beautiful part of England

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family loved our stay at The Chestnuts. Shilton has become one of our favourite little villages in England and this home was perfect for our weeks stay. It had everything we could need and then some. The beds were very comfy and the bathrooms were clean. The backyard was great and we enjoyed sitting outside and reading. We loved this house and hope to be back next summer.

All the best,

Jill


Jill from Montego Bay stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in August 2019


Fantastic week in The Chestnuts

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the house, perfect for 6-8 people, everything you need is there AND there is a great pub 10 metres away!!

Jeremy from Singapore stayed at The Chestnuts for 6 nights in August 2019


Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chestnuts is a lovely cottage which had everything we needed (and much more!) for our family get together. All equipment needed for our grand children, aged 1,4,5 and 12, was provided. The adults enjoyed the luxurious bathrooms and sumptuous sitting rooms. We enjoyed a BBQ in the secluded garden and were pleasantly surprised to find charcoal ready and waiting. The cottage is in an idyllic, peaceful village and close to nearby attractions. It is not easy to find accommodation all under one roof for six adults and four children and certainly not to such a high standard.

Anne from Gravesend stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in July 2019


Top cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family weekend at The Chestnuts was all we hoped it was going to be, we even had great weather and sat outside on many occasions. The cottage is beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The chef in our party loved the kitchen, with so much China, glassware and cooking implements. Even cookery books. We ate at the Rose and Crown just a few paces from the cottage, as well as The village pub Barnsley and The Bell at Langford - all great meals. Burford is so close to pop into and the Burford Garden centre is a must visit.

We can’t wait to come back.




Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in July 2019


Super stay in Shilton

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky with the weather but even luckier that we found The Chestnuts in Shilton! What a wonderful place to stay - all needs catered for in supreme comfort, with first class finishes. Pretty much perfect, as is Shilton - and Burford too! Great house in a super location.

Elspeth from Cardiff stayed at The Chestnuts for 8 nights in May 2019


Beautiful house, Perfect location

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely delightful house in a gorgeous little village. Extremely well equipped with good quality items. Plenty of everything - glasses, china etc. Coffee machine, dishwasher, barbecue with charcoal & lighters. Bedding & towels very good quality. Everything you could need is provided along with some very thoughtful touches like pods for the coffee machine, fresh flowers, a welcoming bottle of champagne.....

It was a most pleasant stay - just mind your head off the beam in the lounge and your shins off the bed frames!


Ray from Chipping Norton stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in May 2019


Superb Cotswolds holiday home

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All of our group loved The Chestnuts. Amazing bedrooms and spaces. Kitchen lacks for nothing. NOTHING. The stylish garden is a haven for wildlife; I loved the pair of ducks who treat the garden as their own. Gentle walks from the house, Burford a lovely town, history-rich with something for all of us. Relaxing and soothing. Hope we can return for another reunion.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 5 nights in April 2019


Heaven!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely love the chestnuts. This was our second visit and we have already booked our 3rd! The whole family had a fab time. So much to do, it’s in the perfect location. It’s certainly our happy place!

Emma from Purely On Thames stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in February 2019


Highly recommend the Chestnuts.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a last minute booking but from start to finish everything went smoothly. The cottage is nestled in a beautiful little village with a handy, quiet pub across the road. The cottage itself is just stunning. Beautifully decorated and thoughtfully developed it was an absolute treat to stay here. Beautiful flowers and champagne greeted us and a warm, eco friendly, sumptuous cottage instantly became home. Generously filled with so much equipment and utensils in the kitchen, and books, games and information that you cannot fail to have a great time. Fluffy towels and great facilities all in a fantastically developed and modernised old English cottage. Just fabulous.

Gill from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in October 2018


Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love coming back to The Chestnuts - it delivers everything we want of a holiday cottage and so so much more. We even had the weather on our side this stay with some really hot October days. As a consequence we managed the Shilton to Burford walk and some delicious Lardy cake from Huffkins tea rooms as our reward. Thank you Chris and the team for making us so welcome - see you again soon.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in October 2018


Family stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week with both family and friends. The cottage accommodated everyone really well and had everything you would need. Lovely touches with bath products and fluffy bath robes. The playroom had excellent toys and books for our granddaughter who loved them.
The village was very pretty and the pub across the road made us all very welcome and served great food.
As mentioned in a previous review the property does have a low beam in the lounge, which did have an argument with my head!!
To sum up, a lovely cottage in a lovely location.


Peter from Horsham stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in September 2018


Beautiful location and superb property

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location,superb property with well considered internal touches. This cottage is the standard against which all holiday lets should be benchmarked. The cottage was the perfect location to spend a relaxing weekend together as a family before our son and his girlfriend emigrated to Australia.

Lynn from Southampton stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in August 2018


Glorious stay in tranquil Cotswold cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for an amazing stay in a truly wonderful cottage. The Chestnuts is a really wow place, so light and spacious and perfect for our family. We loved all the attention to detail, beds were super comfy and the kitchen was better equipped than our own. It’s clear the garden is as well maintained as the house and Shilton village with its picturesque Ford is idyllic. We would love to come back to this special place.

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 1 nights in August 2018


One of the best

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a house with a high level of design and content. After a large number of rentals under our belt, we can say this is the best appointed house we have ever rented. We stayed 2 weeks and the weekly service was excellent for us. The beds, linen and bathroom are high end. in appointment and function.
I must say we were expecting a bigger back yard however that was the only real issue.
How many places has anybody rented where there are Flowers weekly, so much high end kitchen equipment with quality and volume of content that you will never run out.
Plus multiple TVs and entertainment accessories and all in excellent condition.
Sure its not cheap, however when you get everything you pay for, well its a winner.


Robert from stayed at The Chestnuts for 13 nights in May 2018


Home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Chestnuts is a marvelous holiday cottage.

Set in a beautiful village, it is a restful location for a family break. We loved the village pub, the beautifully set out garden and the space within the tardis-like cottage. Beds were first class; the kitchen wants for nothing. Watching DVDs on the big TV was a relaxing treat.

Would we book again? Yes we will!!!



Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in May 2018


Great place

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderfull time at the Chestnuts. Some parts of the house has low ceilings, so tall people should watch out! Everything is thought through, which is really nice!

Loes from stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in April 2018


AMAZING COTTAGE

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have a truly fantastic weekend at The Chestnuts in March 2018. The location is fabulous and the cottage is simply gorgeous. Attention to detail from the copious amounts of cutlery and crockery and equipment to fresh flowers and magazines - we wanted to stay longer.. Absolutely stunning.

Gail from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in March 2018


Wow the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed at

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This truly is a five star property in an amazing Cotswold village setting. As a group of mixed ages from our young children to my parents it couldn't have suited us all better. Plenty of room for us all, toys for the children, books and magazines for the adults and garden wildlife for my parents. The inglenook fireplace with wood burner is gorgeous but with underfloor heating as well, we enjoyed the luxury of bare feet on flagstone floors- a delicious pleasure. Chris and her team were fantastic to deal with, we will be back. Regards Edward

Guest from stayed at The Chestnuts for 10 nights in January 2018


Fantastic cottage, much recommended!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Chestnuts at the beginning of December and were delighted to arrive and immediately felt comfortable - especially with the carefully selected Christmas decorations! The extra thought and efforts did not go amiss and the cottage was decorated with a modern yet cosy / cottage feel.

Each of the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped with all that we required.

We thank the hosts for their hospitality and look forward to visiting again soon!


Pooja from Barnet stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in December 2017


7th visit still amazing

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 7th stay at chestnuts and we love it more and more each year!!!

We are a group of ladies ranging from 20's to 50's that live all over the UK that get together yearly in chestnuts for an early Christmas celebration, even cooking full dinner in the well appointed kitchen.

Really recommend the rose and crown opposite, Martin makes you feel so welcome and remembers us year on year, booking is advisable. The locals are really welcoming as well, we feel that we are coming home

Burford Garden Centre is a must, especially in this time of year with their extended Christmas shop and festive goodies as is Burford as a picturesque English town. This is easily reached on a beautiful walk that takes 30 mins max from the cottage

I genuinely cannot recommend chestnuts enough you can guarantee absolute luxury and a amazing location


Melanie from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in November 2017


You should go!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Take cottGe is lovely beyond words. Every mod con has been seen to, the location is confident for relaxation, touring, shopping, dining, you name it. Our weather was perfect for September which helped, and I can't wait to return...thanks for everything
Susan


Susan from Potomac stayed at The Chestnuts for 5 nights in September 2017


Wonderful house in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is extremely well equipped and it's great to have such good garden furniture for eating outside. The village itself is extremely attractive. There's nothing negative to say at all. All good.

Peter from London stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in September 2017


Top Spot

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit and it's as good as ever. Great autumn weather allowed us to breakfast outside. Don't miss out on Hufkins' Lardy Cake from Burford. Rose & Crown's beer on top form. Some lovely walks around the village and in Bibury. Selection of books in the library seems even larger than last visit...weather too nice to justify a proper reading day...shame!

Phil from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in September 2017


A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at The Chestnuts after a busy two weeks in Spain and Bordeaux visiting restaurants and wineries as part of a group of 11. We were absolutely blown away by the whole experience of this lovely cottage and it's surrounds and wished we could stay for much longer. It is the perfect place to get away and relax, but also close to all sorts of wonderous excursions. We hope we can return and stay longer!

Jill from Moorooduc stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in June 2017


Outstanding holiday home!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best holiday home I have ever stayed in. The facilities are exactly like a 5 star hotel but with the added luxury of being in a private holiday home. The house was spotlessly clean & decor fresh & attractive. Beds were extremely comfortable. Plenty of hot water for showers/baths. Plenty of space for group of 10. Attention to detail out of this world.

Cath from stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in April 2017


Fantastic cottage in the heart of the Cotswolds!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great cottage! All has been done tastefully, making you feel at home - can't think of a better place to use as base to explore and enjoy the Cotswolds. The pub across the road, close to places to visits and country walks, perfect any time of the year!

Pedro from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in March 2017


A Cotswold gem

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 star luxury. Such a beautiful place. One of the cleanest and best equipped cottages we have stayed in. The beds were comfortable and everything felt luxurious.

Laura from Leigh On Sea stayed at The Chestnuts for 7 nights in February 2017


Beautiful house

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house. High spec. Very comfortable beds and sofas. All cooking equipment etc provided. Perfect space for our group of 8 adults.
Also thank you to Sandy the manager for helping us after our check out time when we locked our car key in the car.


Michelle from Market Harborough stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in January 2017


Comfort,quality and an eye for detail

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in an attractive village The Chestnuts offers luxurious comfort and every provision needed when away from home. Compared with other rental properties the high quality of beds, bedding and toiletries is superb. The well equipped kitchen makes self-catering a joy - if not sampling the wide choice of local eateries like The Feathered Nest just past Burford. A real delight is the small but professional coffee maker.
Visiting in winter the garden was merely admired through the back windows but I bet it's a great suntrap in the summer. And if the weather is wet the huge library of DVDs should keep all families well entertained.


Sheila from stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in January 2017


Beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend celebrating two birthdays and a retirement! Perfect space for entertaining and great proximity to a lovely local pub!

Phoebe from Chester stayed at The Chestnuts for 3 nights in December 2016


Wonderful, relaxing break in a stunning Cotswold village.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to spend a few days!
Beautifully clean and tidy. Very well equipped.
Thoroughly recommend your try it!


Alison from stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in December 2016


A beautiful and tastefully extended old Cotswolds stone cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful and tastefully extended old Cotswolds stone cottage fitted out with all mod cons and every item one could possibly wish for in a self-catering let. Our arrival was met by welcoming fresh flowers and champagne. We found that the pub across the road did excellent meals so our cooking was not much needed. Views from the back are stunning with the river in the background across a meadow and a sight of the village ford. The original spiral stone staircase is not for the infirm but two bedrooms are reached by a modern flight. My only niggle is that the wooden frame of our bed protruded well past the mattress (apparently by design) and in the dark I caught my shin on it.

Keith from stayed at The Chestnuts for 4 nights in November 2016


Chris replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed the cottage and Shilton village. Sorry you caught your shin on the bed in the night. I hope we can welcome you back another time. Kindest regards Chris

Accommodation for my wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family used the cottage as a base for my wedding just outside Burford. The booking process was very simple and the owers allow us to have an early check in and late check out.
The location was ideal for this as it is 5mins from Burford and 10mins from the wedding venue, The Stone Barn. The village is very nice and te pub over the road excellent.
The cottage was extremely well equipped with everything you could need.
The rooms were all very comfortable and they also setup a sofa bed for us.
A very good location to relax.
We enjoyed our stay greatly.


Chris from Worcester stayed at The Chestnuts for 2 nights in November 2016