FB Twitter

The Chestnuts

The Chestnuts

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The Chestnuts has all you need for a perfect stay. Its old world charm; with beams, inglenook fireplace and stone floors is enhanced with a palette of whites and neutrals for a truly relaxing space. The Cottage is full of luxuries from eco friendly toiletries, to crisp linen sheets, goose down duvets and an espresso coffee machine. Outside the garden has places to dine, sit or lounge and the view over to the village ford is magical.

Fantastic cottage, much recommended!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Chestnuts at the beginning of December and were delighted to arrive and immediately felt comfortable - especially with the carefully selected Christmas decorations! The extra thought and efforts did not go amiss and the cottage was decorated with a modern yet cosy / cottage feel.

Each of the rooms were spacious and comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped with all that we required.

We thank the hosts for their hospitality and look forward to visiting again soon!




7th visit still amazing

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 7th stay at chestnuts and we love it more and more each year!!!

We are a group of ladies ranging from 20's to 50's that live all over the UK that get together yearly in chestnuts for an early Christmas celebration, even cooking full dinner in the well appointed kitchen.

Really recommend the rose and crown opposite, Martin makes you feel so welcome and remembers us year on year, booking is advisable. The locals are really welcoming as well, we feel that we are coming home

Burford Garden Centre is a must, especially in this time of year with their extended Christmas shop and festive goodies as is Burford as a picturesque English town. This is easily reached on a beautiful walk that takes 30 mins max from the cottage

I genuinely cannot recommend chestnuts enough you can guarantee absolute luxury and a amazing location




You should go!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Take cottGe is lovely beyond words. Every mod con has been seen to, the location is confident for relaxation, touring, shopping, dining, you name it. Our weather was perfect for September which helped, and I can't wait to return...thanks for everything
Susan




Wonderful house in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is extremely well equipped and it's great to have such good garden furniture for eating outside. The village itself is extremely attractive. There's nothing negative to say at all. All good.



Top Spot

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return visit and it's as good as ever. Great autumn weather allowed us to breakfast outside. Don't miss out on Hufkins' Lardy Cake from Burford. Rose & Crown's beer on top form. Some lovely walks around the village and in Bibury. Selection of books in the library seems even larger than last visit...weather too nice to justify a proper reading day...shame!



A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at The Chestnuts after a busy two weeks in Spain and Bordeaux visiting restaurants and wineries as part of a group of 11. We were absolutely blown away by the whole experience of this lovely cottage and it's surrounds and wished we could stay for much longer. It is the perfect place to get away and relax, but also close to all sorts of wonderous excursions. We hope we can return and stay longer!



Outstanding holiday home!!!

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the best holiday home I have ever stayed in. The facilities are exactly like a 5 star hotel but with the added luxury of being in a private holiday home. The house was spotlessly clean & decor fresh & attractive. Beds were extremely comfortable. Plenty of hot water for showers/baths. Plenty of space for group of 10. Attention to detail out of this world.



Fantastic cottage in the heart of the Cotswolds!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a great cottage! All has been done tastefully, making you feel at home - can't think of a better place to use as base to explore and enjoy the Cotswolds. The pub across the road, close to places to visits and country walks, perfect any time of the year!



A Cotswold gem

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
5 star luxury. Such a beautiful place. One of the cleanest and best equipped cottages we have stayed in. The beds were comfortable and everything felt luxurious.



Beautiful house

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house. High spec. Very comfortable beds and sofas. All cooking equipment etc provided. Perfect space for our group of 8 adults.
Also thank you to Sandy the manager for helping us after our check out time when we locked our car key in the car.




Comfort,quality and an eye for detail

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in an attractive village The Chestnuts offers luxurious comfort and every provision needed when away from home. Compared with other rental properties the high quality of beds, bedding and toiletries is superb. The well equipped kitchen makes self-catering a joy - if not sampling the wide choice of local eateries like The Feathered Nest just past Burford. A real delight is the small but professional coffee maker.
Visiting in winter the garden was merely admired through the back windows but I bet it's a great suntrap in the summer. And if the weather is wet the huge library of DVDs should keep all families well entertained.




Beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend celebrating two birthdays and a retirement! Perfect space for entertaining and great proximity to a lovely local pub!



Wonderful, relaxing break in a stunning Cotswold village.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to spend a few days!
Beautifully clean and tidy. Very well equipped.
Thoroughly recommend your try it!




A beautiful and tastefully extended old Cotswolds stone cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful and tastefully extended old Cotswolds stone cottage fitted out with all mod cons and every item one could possibly wish for in a self-catering let. Our arrival was met by welcoming fresh flowers and champagne. We found that the pub across the road did excellent meals so our cooking was not much needed. Views from the back are stunning with the river in the background across a meadow and a sight of the village ford. The original spiral stone staircase is not for the infirm but two bedrooms are reached by a modern flight. My only niggle is that the wooden frame of our bed protruded well past the mattress (apparently by design) and in the dark I caught my shin on it.



Chris replied 363 days ago
Thank you so much for your review and I am glad you enjoyed the cottage and Shilton village. Sorry you caught your shin on the bed in the night. I hope we can welcome you back another time. Kindest regards Chris

Accommodation for my wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family used the cottage as a base for my wedding just outside Burford. The booking process was very simple and the owers allow us to have an early check in and late check out.
The location was ideal for this as it is 5mins from Burford and 10mins from the wedding venue, The Stone Barn. The village is very nice and te pub over the road excellent.
The cottage was extremely well equipped with everything you could need.
The rooms were all very comfortable and they also setup a sofa bed for us.
A very good location to relax.
We enjoyed our stay greatly.