FB Twitter

Culls Cottage

Culls Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


Culls cottage is a beautifully restored cottage dating from 1670's. A perfect combination of old world charm with all the modern conveniences of today. It has a contemporary, relaxing feel with a palette of white and neutrals. With an inglenook fire, underfloor heating and goose down duvets, it is snuggly in winter and in summer the large garden is a haven to enjoy. The property has off street parking. The Guardian newspaper chose it as one of the five coolest cottages in The Cotswolds.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay in Culls Cottage very much. We loved the cottage, the garden and the location in beautiful Southrop. One minor point of critique; the matrasses in the master bedroom were not very comfortable.



Chris Burton replied 30 days ago
Dear Michael, thank you for your comments and I am so pleased you had a great stay and loved the cottage. I also appreciate your comment on the Master Matress and I will get this looked at ASAP, as we have not had any other comments of this nature and we want all of our guests to get the best restoratative sleep possible, which is why we buy top quality mattresses and indulgent soft toppers. I do hope we can welcome you back to one of our cottages in the future. Take care with kindest regards Chris

Lovely break

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were very impressed with the cottage and all it had to offer. Everything has been thought of. The weather meant we were also able to enjoy the beautiful garden. We will be back!



Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with beautiful garden. Every need catered for inside and out which makes for a truly relaxing stay. Southrop is a very quaint, classic Cotswold village for an afternoon or evening stroll, as well as boasting the excellent Swan gastro pub only 2 minutes walk from the cottage. Loved it!



Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous cottage in a great location for exploring the cotswolds. Gardens were amazing and perfect for outside dining with the family. Would recommend a stay here!



Stylish cottage with beautiful garden

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very stylish and renovated in a sympathetic way. The equipment and facilities provided are excellent. The garden is a dream with a small meadow, roses, a weeping willow etc.

The sofas are a little uncomfortable with two having no back to them. The bathroom has a stylish bath but a little impractical with no overhead shower and the wet room is rather small. However, in all other ways this is one of the best cottages we have stayed in.





Chris replied 94 days ago
I am so pleased you had a lovely time and enjoyed the garden. June is a very special time for the meadow, when the oxeye daisies are at their very best. It’s a small way we can help get even more wildlife into the garden. I am sorry you found the sofas a little uncomfortable without backs and indeed we do have one chaise which only has a half back and another long sofa bench with cushioned backs. Traditional sofas with back and sides would unfortunately dominate the space and so this is why we chose these and popped lots of movable cushions to help prop you up, but I do understand your comment. In regard to the bathrooms, as you know there is an overhead shower downstairs but with regards to the upstairs bath tap - we could not have an overhead one there without risking water going over the floor and we didn’t want to have only a shower, as a bath is more indulgent for some on holiday. The shower space downstairs is limited in size but we are a grade 11 listed historic building from 1670 and so unfortunately are not allowed to move walls and have had to use the spaces we have which can sometimes be a challenge with modern day living expectations. Culls sister cottage - The Chestnuts is a much younger cottage from the 1800s and so does have larger spaces and three bathrooms. I do hope we can welcome you back to one of our cottages in the near future. Take care Chris

Nice cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very clean cottage, very welcoming.
Super nice garden
Very well equiped
Though the entrance for the car is stretched and the cottage height is low, I bumped in doors several times.




Chris replied 103 days ago
Dear Virginia, thank you for your review and I am sorry you had the odd bump into doorways. We do explain to guests before booking the quirks of a heritage cottage. I attach below the wording on our website, plus we have invested in a ‘StepIn’ photographic tour so that guests can walk round the whole house, making sure it’s right for them before booking. I do hope we can welcome you back another time and perhaps to Culls sister cottage The Chestnuts, as it is a younger cottage with generally higher ceilings and doorways throughout. With kindest regards Chris Culls cottage is a traditional stone built cottage the original part of which was built in the 1670's. As a consequence it has all the features that are typical of a cottage, with low, beamed and slopping ceilings (upstairs) as well as some low doorways and some changes of level within the house. We have tried to make this website as informative as possible with views of all the rooms and a layout plan. We welcome all visitors but we know that this cottage may not be accessible for everyone, such as those in a wheel chair. The cottage sits on the roadside in the heart of the rural village of Southrop and secure off street parking is available at the back of the cottage for up to four cars. Additional parking is available on the road outside the cottage. Entry to the off-street parking is limited in width and so larger cars may find it easier to park on the roadside.

Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely well equipped cottage in a beautiful location with a fabulous garden. The village pub The Swan is highly recommended.



The best holiday cottage and amazing garden

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for an amazing stay, the cottage is fantastic with so much character and so stylishly presented. It’s the home we would love to have. We stayed during the village open gardens weekend, which was special treat. We didn’t expect Culls garden to be so large and well tended - loved the fresh herbs and the weather was so great we even got to relax on the loungers. Had a great meal at The Swan, so lovely not to have to drive. Southrop village is so pretty. We will definitely get back as soon as we can. Your our new favourite place to stay.



April Showers

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A marvelous stay in the wonderful Culls Cottage. The showery weather didn't deter us and Culls' drenching shower room is the best shower I've enjoyed in a holiday cottage. My wife preffered the 'luxe bath where she read this month's Vogue. Like the shower the cottage is supremely spec'd. The kitchen seems to have enough crockery and glassware for double the number of guests and a dishwasher to wash it all up too. Thank you for the advice on where to eat. We loved both Kelmscott Plough and the village Swan. A glass of Champagne on the garden terrace in evening sunshine set us up for dinner and gave us a chance to admire the garden's fabulous planting...orange and black tulips high visual impact. We will be copying that look next year.



Stunning Cottage for a romantic getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect spot to explore and go for long walks and long pub lunches - that is, if you can bare to leave this adorably chic country hideaway. Everything you need has been thought of!



We Loved it

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Culls Cottage: so much to say about it. We want to come back. We loved the kitchen - proper sharp knives, a coffee maker, and wine glasses galore. Excellent beds, so comfortable and cosy. Underfloor heating is uber luxe, I'm sold on it but the fire is nice too even if we didn't really need to light it...nice atmosphere. Southrop is a great village, quiet but with the essential Swan pub for drinks and a top meal. The suggested walk to the Victoria in Eastleach was easy, but a good excuse for exercise and the lunch menu there is worth going back for more. Birds in the garden, the "supermoon" and stars at night- you've really laid it all on. Thanks....and yes, we will be back.



Culls is Cool

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For a very very old property it has a really cool, contemporary feel. The spaces are light and bright and the property is equipped to such a high standard, we wanted for nothing. We were impressed by so much in the cottage, but the super comfy beds and underfloor heating made the cottage such a great place. The owners have clearly paid a lot of attention to detail here and we can't wait to come back to enjoy the huge garden in the summer. Supper at the local Swan pub just a short walk from the cottage was superb. A great find and our new holiday favourite: Culls is Cool



Long weekend at the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay in the cottages - warm, cozy and beautiful with some snow in the garden! As always had a fantastic dinner at The Swan and walks in the crispy winter mornings!



Cosy cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, cosy cottage, beautiful garden, very clean, extremely well equipped, fantastic customer service.



Lovely break

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cull's Cottage is situated in Southrop, a quaint Cotswolds village. The cottage itself is very nice, its well-maintained and very comfortable and the kitchen has absolutely every utensil you need. My wife loves cooking, and she was impressed. Moreover, we were lucky with the weather as the sun was out almost every day!



Peaceful Weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Culls cottage many times and It's always a pleasure. The garden is beautiful and the cottage very comfortable. We love the eco friendly focus and the considered way the cottage is furnished and presented. For those who want to stay connected we found the broadband an added bonus, with impressive speeds given the rural setting. There is a fantastic pub within walking distance (the Swan) with a great menu, quality ingredients and cooking to match. Culls also has a lovely wood fire to accentuate the cosy cottage feel when the evening draws in. Great place.



A wonderfully relaxing stay in a fabulous cottage in picturesque countryside - perfect UK getaway!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay at Culls Cottage; thank you to Chris and the team. The cottage is gorgeous and welcoming and we felt at home the moment we walked in. It is in a perfect Cotswolds location with beautiful surrounding villages. We will definitely come again!



Anniversary weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Culls cottage was a wonderful location for a celebration weekend with friends. The cottage is beautiful and kitted out just as if you were at home. We really enjoyed the lovely garden and having the various seating areas outside. Dinner at The Swan in the village was excellent. South top is charming. All in all a perfect combination! Highly recommended.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed just three nights at Culls Cottage. It's a beautiful cottage with a stunning garden. Sadly the weather was cold and inclement so we were not able to enjoy the garden, but it's idyllic, with lovely garden furniture in a few different places to help enjoy the best bits of it. It's been well designed and planted beautifully.

The cottage is also lovely, although I personally found the furniture/furnishings too modern for the era of cottage. For a cottage that purports to be eco I would have thought that old/antique furniture would have fitted the brief and the character of the cottage better. Nice thick traditional curtains, squishy sofas, indulgent beds, feather pillows and muted colours would look amazing in Culls Cottage, but that's my personal opinion.

The toiletries and champagne was a nice touch, as were the flowers in many vases dotted around. To meet the eco credentials though I would have also liked to have seen no light/air coming in (=heat escaping) around the back door (add draught proofing etc) and despite the cottage being listed there could be secondary glazing on many/all of the windows (I know as we have it in our listed cottage). An air source heat pump would also work well with the under floor heating, and give the owners the RHI income.

The bathrooms were very nice as was the kitchen. Sadly we were working so we spent very little time in the cottage itself. However, we did spend a lot of time exploring the area which is stunning. Dinner at The Swan in Southrop was excellent and I can also recommend the Five Alls at Filkins.




Chris Burton - Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Sarah, it is always good to hear from guests. I am sorry the weather wasn't more accommodating for you to be able to get out in the garden much. I hope that the weather didn't spoil your Classic Car event. I do take on board your comments about the furnishings - however we do market Culls Cottage as a contemporary designed space rather than the traditional Cotswold style. I feel that there is a great choice of traditionally styled properties in the Cotswolds so I chose to offer an alternative which is more in keeping with my own style and taste. The website's many photographs show our interior design style. Our furniture is all sourced from sustainable sources and we use natural fabrics wherever possible in keeping with our eco-accreditation and values. While feather pillows are enjoyed by many they do raise issues of allergy reactions and so we have chosen to offer guests hypo-allergenic pillows. Regarding our Eco Accreditation, we are audited each year by Green Tourism and have held a Gold award since we opened. Eco-friendliness is a never ending job and often things are a trade-off between practicality for our guests and the counsel of perfection. I agree a heat source pump would be lovely but sadly funds don't run to that at the moment but we do buy 100% green electricity and have countless other energy and water efficiency savings. Re the heat loss through the windows and doors. We want the cottage to be as light-filled as possible hence we chose white curtains. But the curtains are all thermally lined to minimise heat loss. Cutting drafts out from the cottage could be desirable but we do need the cottage to breath, which is why we have chosen to not hermetically seal it. Our lime plasterwork survives better when we do have some air circulation. Great that you managed to try The Swan and The Five Alls, they are both excellent food pubs. I do hope we can welcome you again, hopefully in the summer months so that you can get the full benefit of the garden and thank you for all your comments. With very kindest regards Chris

Lovely cottage in Cotswolds

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely and luxurious cottage, with beautiful garden, in stunning location. The owners should be proud. Lots for adults and kids to do nearby. Made for a special holiday.



Beautiful village and delightful cottage and garden

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've had a wonderful short break and just sad it couldn't be longer. Beds were comfortable, kitchen really well equipped, bathrooms spotless and the garden is glorious. The communal space is quite small for 5/6 people but the good sized garden is wonderful. Village is beautiful as is the surrounding countryside. Choose a sunny day to walk across the fields to Eastleach for lunch at the Victoria Inn. Chris is so helpful. We do hope to return... for longer next time!



Perfect!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Culls cottage team were very accommodating and helpful.

The cottage is beautiful and comfortable and very well stocked with all the essentials - we would love to return when we're not working to fully appreciate it!




An ideal holiday cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful break at Culls Cottage which was warm and welcoming on our arrival. When we lit the wood burner in the evening this added to the cosy ambience. Everything we could ever need was already provided, so much attention given to detail, fresh flowers everywhere - even in the superb bathroom and the shower room. To open the curtains in the morning and see the lovely extensive garden is a delight - we even caught a glimpse of the first snowdrops pushing through. The Swan is recommended for dining out but we equally enjoyed cooking our own meals in the well equipped kitchen. Southrop is a lovely village and also within reasonable driving distance we were able to enjoy time in Oxford with lovely shops and the Ashmolean Museum, Lechlade on Thames, Witney and the Cotswold Wollen Weavers at nearby Filkins. We know there is so much more to see and do and so a return visit is a must. I highly recommend this first class holiday accommodation.



Faultless Cotswolds stay

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Culls Cottage as a getaway weekend break. Not that a weekend was enough to take in the area and the pubs/restaurants, the easy walks and the lovely villages. Try the stroll to The Swan, five minutes' walk rewarded with great food, wine and beer. Thames footpath at Lechlade was a super walk on crisp sunny day. Burford town has amazing high street of beautiful old buildings and a classic, proper, butcher...Castles.
Cottage had all we needed to cook our dinner. Hooray for proper sharp knives in a self-catering cottage. We will come back likely in warmer months to lounge in inviting garden.




Comfort in every sense

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Dec 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located in a picturesque village, this cottage provided an ideal base for our family's pre-Christmas escape. It is a soothing place, comfortably furnished and fully equipped yet retaining its character. The location was ideal for us, permitting easy day trips to Bath, Oxford, and Stratford in various directions. We also had brief, very nice experiences with nearby Thames Path segments and farm markets, which could fill a stay in their own right. And the lovely garden behind the cottage made us wish to return in a warm season as well.



Booking for a wedding weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked both Culls Cottage and nearby Chestnut Cottage for the weekend of our wedding at Stone Barn. Both cottages were perfect for the occasion - each near a village pub so we could have dinners with our respective families and friends the night before with plenty of parking.

Culls Cottage is both cosy and light and very equipped with everything you might need for any eventuality! The owners had kindly put out some dried lavender from the garden to burn in the woodburner and more than enough logs were supplied to keep the fire burning all evening. The owners were also incredibly accommodating with the additional bedding and have been incredibly helpful in the retrieval of a bluetooth speaker which was accidentally left behind.

The cottage is expensive but the amenities, beautiful location and quality of service all justify the cost. Thanks very much for having us - we will definitely be looking to stay again!