FB Twitter

Swallows

Swallows

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Delightful single storey cottage with pretty secure garden sleeping up to 4 in 2 en-suite rooms. We welcome one well behaved dog as the walking from the door is wonderful and the cottage is very popular for families or couples to enjoy a real break. It is a perfect base to explore all that this lovely part of Dorset has to offer including fantastic local places to eat.

A lovely week spent in Dorset.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay at Swallows could not have been more enjoyable. The cottage was perfect and location excellent. And Pippa went out of her way to be helpful. One of our nicest ever holidays and we are already planning to return in 2022
Keep up the good work. David and Judy Jones, Cambs.




A wonderful short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Swallows, beautiful. Quiet, private, relaxing and beautifully presented. Could not have asked for a more lovely stay, well, maybe, we should have stayed longer. The mother in law wanted to squat and never leave, it wasn’t possible unfortunately.

The two bedrooms are a good size, beds are comfortable and the decor is gorgeous. The kitchen, dining and living room is so cosy. You have all you need.

The garden is private and you can’t help be mesmerised by the variety of birds feeding. We didn’t want to leave.

Thank you for our wonderful 5 days. We will be definitely booking again.





SWALLOWS

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swallows was very warm and comfortable.
We were very pleased with Swallows and enjoyed our stay. Hopefully we will return again next year.




Excellent short break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great in every way. Very well kitted-out and luxuriously furnished with plenty of space for the two of us. The owner Pippa came to see use when we arrived to welcome us, and was friendly and accommodating. All in all, a super break and worth every penny.



A very good place to send Christma

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well appointed cottage, small bt comfortable and clean. Location good and ecellent countryside..
A friendly welcome including a christmas cake.




Lovely welcoming cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always so enjoy staying at Swallows. Our dog loves the area, and wonderful walks and the cottage is always spotless and so cosy with everything we need. The area is fantastic with lots to do, but we often just chill at the cottage and take a break from our hectic daily routine.



Pippa replied 327 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review.

A Dorset retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0

Swallows is very well equipped,comfortable,and cosy. Situated in lovely countryside with good walks which
Were needed to walk off the delicious cake which was left for us!




Pippa replied 327 days ago
We love guests who enjoy the walking around here. Thank you for your review and hope we will see you again one day.

A holiday in September

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a visit to a new area for us. Ideal for 2 couples one of whom is disabled. Easy access to the coast. Ten minutes to Dorchester (and Poundbury); 20 minutes to Weymouth. Will come again because it was too hot to explore! We could see there were plenty things still to do.



Pippa replied 327 days ago
Apologies for the delay in thanking you for your lovely review. I really hope we will see you again to continue your explorations of our area.

Beautiful location, ideal for a small family

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was set in a beautiful rural location with easy access to local amenities if required. Pippa and her team were really helpful with any queries we had. The bedrooms were an excellent size and furnished well. The living/kitchen/dining space was compact but fine for a small family of 4. Kitchen had all equipment you would need. Would definitely recommend Swallows - ideal location to explore the south west coast .



Lovely Swallows

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Swallows (the only time we’ve ever come back to a holiday destination). This time we had an additional child and the cot and high chair worked well. However it’s really worth bringing your own travel cot mattress as the standard ones are very thin and hard.
We love the peaceful location & the property has everything you need for a comfortable stay.
Swallows is clean, homely and stylish. We have recommended it to many people!




Good break!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great, small but beautifully furnished cottage. Ideal for a get away from it all break. Fabulous location yet only a few miles from good eateries.



Great holiday in Swallows for family of 4

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the swallows cottage during the school half term in May. The cottage provided plenty of space for my Wife and I and our two children. An added bonus was the large enclosed garden which was perfect for relaxing in the sun and watching the bird life. So peaceful too! The kids loved the tennis courts and location wise this cottage was a perfect central base point for the family attractions around Dorset. We would not hesitate in recommending this cottage to family and friends, especially those with young children. Good country walks from your doorstep too. I'm sure we will return one day.



Always good to come back

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always enjoy staying at Swallows. The house is always very clean, beds comfortable and everything you need available.



A excellent two bed roomed cottage for a family holiday near the Jurassic coast.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and location proved to be perfect for a family break with our teenage son. Both bedrooms are en-suite.
Fantastic welcome from the hosts who are full of local knowledge and advise, and always available if needed.
The location gave peace and quite and with a private garden and fine weather we enjoyed the use of the BBQ. There are local walks in the grounds that were recommended in the welcome pack and will give the opportunity to see the local wildlife including deer.
The facilities were excellent and all our needs catered for, the WiFi is limited and not suitable for streaming, but fine for surfing.
It presented no problem and it's good to have a break and some real family time on holiday.
This is a secluded location but is still only a 10 minute drive to Dorchester. it gives a real feeling of getting away from it all without missing anything.

Swallows Cottage is a great base to explore the Jurassic coast, with everything within a short drive. A good selection of guides in welcome pack to give inspiration.

Our stay had great weather, but the cottage is very well setup for other times of years with a real fire and stacks of logs.




Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your lovely review. Sorry regarding the streaming, while the broadband is superfast, we just ask that downloading and streaming is not overly used due to the package available to us through a private provider. It is a huge plus compared to the terrible service BT provided!!! I am glad it was not a problem. We loved having you all here.

Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently stayed here with our son and found the accommodation to be perfect for the three of us. The location is wonderful and peaceful. Very rural but with in easy reach of Dorchester. Beautiful drive way to the cottage, with pheasants. Accommodation was lovely two good size bedrooms both on suite. Nice wood burning fire. All very clean and bright. Big doors opening out to a lovely garden. The very friendly host came to greet us to check everything was okay. We really enjoyed our stay and the welcome biscuits .



Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and made the most of all the area has to offer!

Wonderful family break in a beautiful spot

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect spot for us to explore Dorset and ideal for our toddler. Beautiful walks from the front door, a lovely secluded and quiet spot and a gorgeous playground a few yards from our front door.
The cottage is beautiful decorated, very comfortable and well stocked. It had everything we needed and more so we could put our little one to bed and then have a lovely dinner and a glass of wine in the lounge.
The owners were very welcoming - there is we needed them but otherwise left us to enjoy our holiday.
We’ll definitely be back here next year!




A Dorset Escape

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I and two friends came to stay at Swallows for four nights in February.
The house was welcoming, clean and warm. The first evening, we cooked a four course meal, and found all the necessary requirements. Both bedrooms and bathrooms were very comfortable, again with our requirements fulfilled.
The weather was amazing for all five days, and we had the added bonus of the snowdrops being in full bloom in Compton Valance, the village nearby. We enjoyed a cup of tea and piece of cake in the 'pop [email protected] café there, and found the sense of community there quite uplifting.
We visited Lyme Regis, and Weymouth - Lunch at the Harbour Inn at Lyme Regis and the Crab House Café near Weymouth were very different but both to be recommended..
We left with heavy hearts and vowing to return again next year.




A break with family

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful place! From the moment you turn into the drive you are in a different world! Beautiful scenery, rolling fields, pheasants roaming free, horses grazing freely and then you reach the cottage...private drive (gated) lovely garden to rear, 2 exceptional bedrooms (en-suite) and a warm and cozy lounge/kitchen area.

What made it extra special for us that more of our group had booked Dove House and therefore we spent time in both of these lovely properties.

We are already looking to return next year and have recommended to many friends :)




A special place for special occasions

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have used Swallows on two visits to give us the extra accommodation we wanted when using Dove House and used DH for all eating and entertaining and have nothing but praise and see it as a convenient extension next door.



Truly perfect for us and doggie

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in this delightful cottage. Our spaniel was made so welcome and she enjoyed her holiday as much as we did. Great to find a place that welcomes dogs (and people). A calm relaxing atmosphere enjoyed by all. We will be back!!!



Wonderful stay at Swallows!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd visit to Swallows and everything lived up to the promise of an enjoyable few days.
We invited friends to stay and they were very impressed.
Wonderful location, restful ambience and many places to visit locally.
Highly recommended.
Thank you! We will be back.




Absolutely loved it!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Swallows together with the main property Dove House. Swallows was clean, comfortable and only a short distance from the main house. It was well equipped and we had everything we needed for our stay. Thank you so much.



We had a lovely holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an lovely place for a holiday, secluded but near to lots of beautiful beaches,villages,towns,county walks.
The cottage was perfect, beautifully furnished, well designed and very comfortable. We felt extremely welcome and we were able to walk the dog and ride bikes directly from the cottage without fear of cars whizzing by. The boys enjoyed using the tennis court and the garden was perfect for the dog. It's not often that we return to the same place but we would happily return here for another holiday. Dorset was delightful.