FB Twitter

Dove House

Dove House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 76 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Dove House sleeps 13 in a converted barn on a working family farm in the rolling downland of Dorset. With a private indoor pool and a games room, access to a hard tennis court and great walks from the door there is plenty to do on site. Very popular with family and adult groups for get togethers and to celebrate special ocassions.

Exceeded Expectations!

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove House is simply stunning and none of us wanted to leave! Everything is of an excellent standard and spotlessly clean! We have already rebooked and can't wait to return for another relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.



Excellent weekend for a group of friends

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a 3 night break for 11 old school friends. We found Dove House very comfortable with excellent facilities. We particularly appreciated the well supplied kitchen. Booking and communications were straightforward. We had an excellent weekend in beautiful surroundings and have already agreed that we all want to return next year.



Great getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Dove House for a family celebration and were not disappointed. It had everything we wanted, including a wonderful kitchen , huge lounge, all bedroooms with good en-suites, a games room and a heated indoor swimming pool which the family used a lot. We would love to stay there again. Both Pippa and Teresa kept in touch with us and could not have been more helpful.



Perfect Place

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Feb 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit,everything was perfect,being February the pool was used by the children and adults at least twice a day,games room great,having a log fire in the sitting room where you can just relax was magic,hope there will be a third visit,great family time.



Christmas 2023

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely adored Dove house, the family settled in from the moment we arrived .Thank you for all your hard work and effort to make this a truly memorable Christmas .



Excellent in every way.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations had a wonderful time. There was every convenience provided, it was quiet and peacefu and much enjoyed by everyone from age 8o down to 15.



Amazing house

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing fully equipped house for all the family to enjoy !
No issues with supermarket food deliveries either !
Pippa and team are highly accommodating
And readily available should you need them
The pool and games room are fabulous and all the family enjoyed daily dips!
7 en-suite bedrooms makes life so easy!
Pool also equipped with shower and toilet !
Would definitely stay again !
Brave pippa and Hugo




Pippa replied 247 days ago
We are so glad it was all you hoped it would be and that you had a great time. Thank you for your kind words

Birthday celebration

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well, where do I start ? Everything you could wish for - Dove House provides. My Birthday weekend was made perfect as we could all stay in one place with the added bonus of the swimming pool. As soon as we entered we all felt we were at home. We couldn’t fault anything in fact we all wanted to stay longer. Thank you Pippa & team . We hope to come back again soon.



Pippa replied 247 days ago
Apologies for slight delay in thanking you for such a lovely review, everything we want our guests to feel. we very much hope to see you again one day!

September reunion

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For three years a group of friends who trained as teachers fifty five years ago, have met up at Dove House.
The quality of the facilities, the accommodation, and the environment have always been outstanding.
The owner, Pippa, has always welcomed us, and Teresa has been very efficient dealing with our bookings.
I would recommend this venue without reservation.




Great family holiday home in rural Dorset

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Sep 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family group of 11 adults and kids stayed at Dove House in August 2023. The information provided prior to our stay was excellent, and the details once we arrived were also very comprehensive. The rooms were very comfortable and bathrooms very modern (and no problems with water pressure which we've had elsewhere when everyone tries to shower at once!). We all enjoyed the pool which was a real highlight. It is a very secluded location so you do have to be prepared to drive everywhere, and allow time for the odd cow to block the driveway!



Wonderful extended family stay at Dove House

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful and memorable stay at Dove House. The level of customer service provided by Teresa and Pippa was outstanding. We hope to book again.



Wonderful family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 generations shared an amazing week at Dove House. We were extremely lucky with the weather and every day was warm and sunny. The children loved the swimming pool which was a great size and the lounge was large enough for all 11 of us to play games together. The location was great, a very peaceful setting yet only 20 minutes away from many places to visit. We enjoyed the beaches at Worthing and Lulworth monkey world and ate out at dorchester. Wonderful memories we will treasure for a long time.



Pippa replied 340 days ago
We are so pleased you had such a great week at Dove House, it is definitely a house which has left families with wonderful memories, which is exactly what it is all about, thank you for your lovely review.

Beautiful property and setting, and very accommodating

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's a lovely property and location, nothing is too much to sort, we are a group of gundog owners so land was important. Very accommodating with everything.



Holiday to celebrate 60th Birthday

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations of my family have just spent a week at Dove house to celebrate my 60th birthday. Although the weather wasn’t great we had a lovely week.
The property had everything we could possibly need. Everything had been thought of, from the equipment in the kitchen to the outdoor games in the garden.
The swimming pool was a real plus and a wonderful way to spend some very wet afternoons. Thank you




Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your special celebrations and the house lived up to expectations, and thank you for leaving it so beautifully!

Our week in Dove House

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in Dove House for a week over Easter. The house is beautiful and we loved the tranquillity of the setting, the beautiful location, plus the well designed space within the house. The kids absolutely loved the warm swimming pool and we also enjoyed using the tennis court a short walk away.
The owners have thought of everything you need in the house and it was all well organised and spotlessly clean. When we had any queries, they immediately replied and helped us out.
We had an amazing week and will definitely be back again soon!




Great visit as returning client to Dove House

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our sixth visit to Dove House and it didn’t disappoint! Everything just as it claims to be. The owners keep upgrading as necessary to ensure the standard is maintained.




Perfect winter get away

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an absolutely amazing stay at Dove House. Pippa had thought of everything needed for a trouble free stay. The house was immaculate throughout. From the luxury toiletries and fluffy towels to the utensils in the kitchen and new candles and fresh flowers throughout. Good size wine fridge! Couldnt have asked for more in a house. The pool was perfect for a wind down holiday - if I had to think of something the pool water could have been a tad warmer but very very minor. Lots of countryside around for some really good walks - make sure you take a map - we got lost but it was all part of the fun. It was perfect for our birthday treat with friends.



Beyond Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do I start.? Everything about Dove House was perfect - from attentive, easy, helpful communication during the booking process to waving us goodbye as we (reluctantly ) left. The house itself is totally gorgeous, we stayed over New Year and the house was charmingly dressed with tasteful festive touches throughout. Beyond immacutely clean ( and I am really REALLY fussy), incredibly comfotable furnishings, top quality linens - the list goes on and on. The kitchen has ABSOLUTELY everything you could possibly need for your stay and more, the pool is warm and inviting, the log fire roars and there was never any shortage of hot water even with all 12 of us on the go at once!
The intelligent thought and attention that has gone into making Dove House a delight to stay in is truly impressive and the professionalism with which it is run is second to none.
My advice - book it!




Absolutely wonderful!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a long weekend in December in Dove House with our family, 10 of us, including 4 young children. It proved an absolute winner!

Loads of space, plenty of kitchen equipment, furniture, beds etc etc. The owners were friendly, co-operative at all levels and always ready to help with any enquiry. The indoor pool provided entertainment when the weather was not so good, but good weather gave us the opportunity to explore the local countryside with lovely walks. With the larger towns of Dorchester, Weymouth and Poole on our doorstep we had other facilities nearby when we needed them.

We would highly recommend Dove House to anyone. Thank you to the team that made our stay so absolutely wonderful!




An early Christmas weekend with our family

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time staying in this beautiful property and our whole family loved being in this lovely part of the U.K. where there are so many interesting places close by to visit. Our granddaughters all enjoyed the pool (as did we adults) and the kitchen and dining area had everything we could possibly need.

Pippa called in on arrival to make sure all was as it should be, which was very much appreciated and a was pleasure to meet her.

We absolutely loved staying here and hope to be able to visit again before too long.




More like a home than a holiday let

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove House is designed to a very high standard in a fantastic location. It feels more like a home rather than a holiday let, spacious and immaculate. Games room and swimming pool are the icing on the cake.



A great place for a large gathering

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove House is very comfortable and well equipped. The setting is beautiful and quiet. The pool and the large enclosed garden make it a great place to stay with children.



Peaceful and beautiful holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove House is just the most gorgeous spot to get away from the world and enjoy quality time with family and friends. The house is beautifully decorated, very comfortable beds and all ensuite! I almost don’t want to do this review because then others will want to use it too!! Can’t recommend it enough.



Fantastic!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful comfortable holiday home perfect for family and friends to get together. Well equipped spacious and clean. An action packed week enjoying the pool, tennis, table tennis, and beautiful walks. The beautiful weather was a bonus! We had a fabulous week and hope to return.



Amazing house set in beautiful countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous house!

We met with our children and grandchildren to celebrate our Diamond Wedding. Our ages ranged from 10 to 83 and everybody found plenty to entertain themselves. The beautiful swimming pool, games room, table tennis and cupboard full of board games ensured that we all had plenty to do.

The house is set in beautiful countryside, the large lounge with its log fire, the immaculate bedrooms, the large kitchen dining area which is equipped with everything you could possibly need meant that Dove House ranks as the best place we have ever visited.

Thank you Hugo and Pippa and all your ancillary staff for making this such a memorable visit.




Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your very special celebrations, thank you for being such wonderful guests. I hope you will find another excellent reason to visit again before too long!

An amazing family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole experience was perfect there was something for everyone! The pool was perfect and we all used it. The games room was wonderful and we had lots of competitions until very late?? The area was perfect two of our party went cycling, we all did different things and met in the evening where each couple cooked a delicious supper, including two barbecues.
It was a never to forget holiday.
So thank you Pippa and Hugo for providing this perfect accommodation.




Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and made good use of all that the house and area have to offer. Making memories!

Perfect family holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect family holiday. All ages catered for. Would certainly love to stay again in the future.



Great house

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place for our annual family gathering. Everything is thoughtfully provided, safe space for children and great social areas for adults. The swimming pool, games room and play park an added bonus! We would love to return to Dove House.



Dorset Posse Dog Training group

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay high quality accommodation and facilities helpful staff great area for dog training for the group



Perfect weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family group celebrating a milestone birthday, with an age range of 16 months to 80, and every one of us absolutely loved Dove House and Swallows. Communication with Pippa beforehand was flawless and she couldn’t have been more helpful. We booked Rebecca Green catering for a birthday meal at Dove House which was fantastic. Everything about the house was wonderful, the only sad thing was how short our stay was! We are all determined to return. Thank you to Pippa and team for helping us create some lovely memories.



Birthday celebrations at Dove House

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second visit to Dove House in the past three years and we were not disappointed. The experience was as good if not better than my previous visit. The area is a place of outstanding beauty and the weather although cold was excellent throughout. The House has a very homely atmosphere and for a family gathering it was perfect



Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. I know you put alot of time into planning this special celebration and we are just so glad that it was all you hoped it would be. Hopefully you will find a reason to return again before too long!

Fabulous weekend. They really have thought of everything.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the location to the character of the property, everything was just lovely. Attention to detail and quality are obvious throughout, there are some lovely touches like the fresh flowers and essentials box. They really did make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible.
Already booked a return visit.




House of Dreams!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect house for a family/group of friends.
Lots of space and all bedrooms en suite.
Everyone loved the pool. A really special place.




Third time back.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house, very comfortable and spacious. Ideal for a family gathering, kitchen diner very generous and plenty of room for all the family to eat together. Well supplied kitchen facilities. Comfortable living room and generous bedrooms all ensuite. Lovely pool with a constant depth, which is ideal for children.
Hosts were very attentive without being overbearing. Beautiful house in beautiful surroundings, would definitely return.




A

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super venue. I can't find any fault. Wonderful for families or groups of friends. So many activities available.



Wonderful Staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week at Little Dove when restrictions limited us to 6 people. Fabulous location with plenty to do even in lockdown. Super tennis court and swimming pool as well as a perfect games room away from the main house. Excellent walks all around but at the same time close to Dorchester as well as a short drive to the coast. Dove House itself is perfectly organised with everything needed and very comfortable- felt like home from home. Will definitely try to go back and have already suggested staying there with friends and would also love to stay there with a bigger group.



Brilliant Dove House. 100/1000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous house. Extremely clean. Excellently equipped. All fabrics and furnishings top class,so luxurious.
Swimming pool an absolute delight and a real bonus. Perfect.




Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for trusting us in these funny times.

The perfect getaway with no need to leave the site

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love staying at Dove House - with so much space, a big table that comfortably fits everyone around for any mealtime (BBQs, Sunday Roast and Birthday Tea Party), the indoor pool perfect when it's raining or to escape the heat we had during our stay. Every bedroom has it's own en suite and the beds are comfortable with plenty of storage for the toys/clothes we had with us.
Pippa was a great host, particularly with the regular communication in the run up to the holiday with the constantly changing requirements and helped us arrange additional 'soft play' hire so we could stay on site while celebrating my nephew's 5th Birthday party. The kids loved watching the combine harvester at work and seeing the horses grazing on the nearby fields while escaping to use the slide and swing. Even with the change in equipment, we knew exactly what to expect with the updated information pack and links to local suppliers for great value produce. A fantastic and much needed holiday. So sad to have to leave but hope it won't be too long until we return to this beautiful spot in Dorset.




Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
It was wonderful having the house full of activity and fun. So glad you all enjoyed it.

Perfect vidit

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After lockdown what could have been better.my family enjoyed a relaxed and fun time at this wonderful location



Faultless stay

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent from start to finish. The property is well maintained and an indoor pool is perfect. We would definitely come back in future years and no hesitation in recommending to family and friends. The only suggestion would be to upgrade the entertainment (larger TV and better music system)



Ideal place to stay for a large group

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The booking arrangements were straightforward. Good level of information and friendly dealings with the staff.

The house was spotless, very well furnished. Everything in good condition. Loads of space and delightful setting with lots to see as we wandered around - deer, rabbits, grouse and pheasants.

We were a family group of ten. Plenty of room for everyone. Rooms all en-suite, very clean and well provisioned.

Overall an excellent service and excellent venue. We hope to return as a group again, and would thoroughly recommend to anyone else.




A beautiful house for family celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Mar 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family ranging in age from 2 to 70 years had a wonderful weekend break at Dove House to celebrate a special birthday. The house is very spacious and very well equipped and the huge kitchen / dining room never felt crowded with all 11 of us in there. The children (and adults) loved the swimming pool and spent a lot of time enjoying this facility as it was so warm. Also the pool area is very secure so we did not have to worry the little ones could get in unsupervised.



A weekend break at Dover House

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third year we have enjoyed the facilities during our weekend at Dove House. We are a three generation family, with each making full use of the amenities and everyone having a really excellent time.

The fresh flowers in all the rooms, including bedrooms, were much noted and appreciated.

Being 'foodies', a little attention to the effectiveness of the cooking knives, would be much appreciated.

We will certainly book for another year.




A wonderful family Christmas stay

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented Dove House for the Christmas week - 8 adults, 4 young children and 4 generations! The house was perfect for our stay: ideal accommodation, very well equipped, spotlessly clean and beautifully seasonally decorated. Hugo and Pippa were perfect hosts - welcoming on arrival, responsive to our questions and requests but otherwise left us alone. We hope to return!



Beautiful property in a peaceful location near to local attractions

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival we were bowled over by the beautiful Christmas decorations, and very clean and tastefully decorated cottage. Everything we needed was provided from good quality bath products to all the kitchen essentials. Our children had a great time in the private pool, which was heated to the perfect temperature and just the right size and depth for under 10s. We barely left the cottage during our stay, but ventured out to gorgeous Chesil Beach a short 20 minute drive away. Dorchester is on your doorstep, and there are also lovely walks around the farm grounds without getting in the car. Our room was very comfortable and well appointed - felt like I had stepped into a Farrow and Ball inspiration catalogue! Thanks very much to Pippa and her hard working team for a great stay.



Family 40th Birthday Celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Seven adults and five children spent 5 wonderful days at Dove House celebrating my daughter's 40th Birthday! We had the most wonderful time, despite pretty awful weather! Pippa and Hugo were so welcoming, the house was beautifully decorated for Christmas and was beyond our expectations in space and comfort. We played games by a roaring fire. Spent hours in the fabulously warm pool. Went for a very long walk on their extensive grounds. We also had the actual birthday catered by Rebecca Green Catering as suggested on the website - fabulous! We all had a wonderful time and really hope to return to this amazing property soon.



Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased it all worked so well for you, I know there was much planning and secrecy for this special event, we loved having you all and hope very much you will return! Happy New Year.

90/100

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a fantastic week of celebrations at Dove House for a BIG birthday. Although the weather at first was pretty bad the house and pool provided a wonderfully comfortable venue for the whole family( ages ranging from 7months to 70 ).
We were especially impressed by the amazingly equipped kitchen and laundry area as well as the comprehensive provision for the babies....travel cots and splendid high chairs. All the bedrooms were very comfortable( super mattresses!) and felt very private ( all en suite) so no one felt 'on top of each other'.
The pre ordered Tesco delivery arrived spot on time ( they knew exactly where to come, in the dark too!). A delivery from Cook in Dorchester arrived exactly as ordered on time too. We also took advantage of Kate to deliver some home cooked food for us for a gala dinner on Saturday. Although November we enjoyed trips to Poundbury, Lulworth Cove and Chesil beach.
A great house in a great area! We would love to return, maybe in the summer next time!




Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for a lovely review, and we hope we will see some/all of you again with better weather!!!!

A great place

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Probably the best house we have ever rented. Superbly spacious and well equipped for large family groups of all ages



Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
Happy New Year to you all and thankyou for your fantastic review, we loved having you all and apologies for the delay in responding!

One word .....Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rented Dove House for a 60th birthday party in October. Everything was spot on. We’d stayed at Swallows earlier in the year and the owners very kindly let us have a quick look round Dove House then. We had absolutely everything we needed and all our guests couldn’t get over the accommodation. We were able to arrange taxis to take us to Langham Wine Estates for wine testing. Everyone enjoyed the games room and on the Saturday evening Jam Inns came and we had a cocktail making evening. We enjoyed a walk on Sunday before our roast dinner and then games in front of the huge log fire on Sunday evening.
Lovely touch that the owners contacted us after the weekend to make sure all was ok.
Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend and we hope to visit again. Thank you Pippa. From Franca Colley




Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
We were so pleased you had a great stay at Dove House, you certainly planned it with great care. We shall look forward to seeing you again at some stage. Thank you for a really lovely review

Dove House is our favourite place

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Dove House many times, it is always immaculate and Pippa and Teresa are so helpful with any requests we might have in planning our visits. We are great fans of Dorset and it never disappoints.



Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, we love you coming.

Excellent in every way. Thank you for our stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well appointed house, we were a party of 11 adults, every room en-suite and all of a good size, within easy reach of all local amenities and set in lovely countryside.
Having 2 dishwashers, swimming pool and games room was an added bonus. We go away as a group every year and everyone was unanimous that this has been one of the very best. Would seriously think about returning.
Set in a beautiful part of rural Dorset but within easy reach of the coast and other local amenities.




Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
Apologies for delay in thanking you for such a lovely review after your stay with us. I hope we will see some of you again in the future, we loved having you.

Peace perfect peace in a beautiful place

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just come home from our eighth year at Dove House with family and friends and can’t wait for next years visit. It’s such a wonderful place, perfect in every way possible, can’t think of anything that would make it better. The weather was wonderful too, sunny and warm. Thank you Pippa and her great team for everything you do to make sure everything is spotlessly clean and very comfortable.



Comfortable converted barn with excellent modern furnishings and pool

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Dove house is a very comfortable converted pair of barns. The modern kitchen is well equipped and laid out; it is inevitably the centre of activity and is light and comfortably furnished. The sitting room is well furnished and comfortable but a little stuffy as has windows only on one side. The bedrooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms efficient and modern; they work well. The pool is a decent size, heated and in a light and pleasant room. Assuming you are expecting the secluded and remote location, the surroundings are attractive with charming walks. Poundbury is nearby and the coast an easy drive. We had friends for part of our stay and family for the rest, both thoroughly enjoyed their stay.



Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
We so enjoyed meeting you all and are pleased that the house worked so well for your very special occasion. A little confused by the sitting room comments as it is a really big room with two big windows down one side and a small window and French Doors down the other, I am only commenting so people reading the reviews do not get incorrect information!!!! Hopefully the website does show this...Have a great Summer, hope this lovely weather continues.

A dream of a holiday home

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second stay in Dove House and the property is absolutely faultless. We were a large group of friends with young children and the house suited us perfectly. There is an amazing enclosed garden, warm indoor pool, play area with swings and slide and the house is at the end of a drive which means there is no passing traffic so we were totally relaxed with the children. The horses who come to the gate were an added joy for them.

Pippa and Hugo have created a lesson in how to run a holiday home perfectly. We could want for nothing. All of the rooms are lovely and all en suite so no awkward discussion of who had the ‘worst room’. The kitchen is well stocked, it’s so child friendly and the booking process with Pippa and Teresa was seamless. They were so responsive to emails.

One member of our group has already rebooked which speaks volumes about how nice this place is. I was a little sad to write this as more people will discover what a great find this is but the owners deserve every success. We will certainly be back again.




Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad the dates worked for you and you all had such a great time. It was wonderful seeing you all having such fun and enjoying all we have to offer.

Beautiful house

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always enjoy staying at Dove House. The house is always very clean, beds comfortable and everything you need available.



Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your return to Dove House and hope to see you again in the future.

Exceptional property for groups

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a group we have been here twice and have booked to go back next. Very accommodating with any request we had. Beautiful location. Idea for us with dogs. We also took up the opportunity of having a catered meal recommended by the owners of dove house. Exceptional property can't wait for next year



Pippa replied more than 1 year ago
We love having you and thank you for being so respectful with all your wonderful dogs, even though they do not go in the house, they are so immaculate at all times. We so enjoy having you all here enjoying your passion, see you next year!

Heavenly Place!

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our wonderful stay at Dove House was faultless in every way. It is beautifully maintained to the highest standard, very well equipped, light, bright, has a lovely atmosphere and is the ideal place to relax and unwind.

Situated on a working farm at a dead-end past the farm buildings it's safe for families, secluded and unbelievably quiet - no cars, no people - just wildlife and nature! We enjoyed walks directly from the house through farmland taking in the beautiful Dorset scenery and on the nearby beaches too. We didn't use the indoor swimming pool but it looked fabulous!

Dove House offers everything you could possibly wish for for a family holiday and the owners go the extra mile to make sure your stay is the best and most enjoyable if can possibly be.




A family get-together

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our second visit to Dove House very much. Despite the poor weather on the Saturday, rain and strong winds) we found plenty to do and as a result it didn't negatively impact on our fun.

The house is perfect for a large number, covering three generations and the swimming pool is a great hit for the youngsters.

The well equipped kitchen is ideally suited for large scale catering.

We certainly intend to make another visit next year.




Bliss at Dove House

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property, location and facilities. Great for family gatherings. The pool is wonderful and everything has been thought of



60th Burthday

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked both Dove House and the Swallows to celebrate my 60th Birthday...17 of us in total and everyone of us had a great time in this beautiful part of Dorset.
Both properties are far superior to any that we have stayed at in the UK before. Everything was 'top class' and the hosts were most hospitable and even booked us all a delicious apple pie on our arrival!
We took their advice and arranged for one of their recommended in house caterers to cook my birthday meal - Rebecca Green Catering - and to say that it was delicious just does not do it justice...I have not tasted better even in Michelin Star restaurants!
Honestly, we could not have had a better holiday and will most certainly return soon.
NOT going to recommend it to too many people though as dont want to share it!! lol!!...




Bridge week at Dove House

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful few days staying at Dove House during the last week of January. The house is extremely comfortable, beautifully decorated, spacious, very well equipped and in a stunning location. We are a group of twelve people who get together every year to play Bridge, go for long walks, play tennis and generally enjoy spending time together. Dove House worked perfectly for our group offering plenty of space for us all. We are very keen to return next year for our week of Bridge as the house worked so well for three tables of card players and could easily accommodate more. It's also a joy to cook in the large, bright kitchen and we now considering doing a Foodie week with cookery demos and lessons as well.
Thank you to everyone involved in managing this lovely property.




A wonderful place to relax and unwind!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful home, in outstanding setting. With every possible amenity.
Loved it so much have already booked for next year.
First class, thank you.




Weekend at Dove House

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was my first visit to Dove House and what a great time we had. There were 12 of us and there was plenty of space and the whole place was well appointed. Every bedroom was well decorated and extremely comfortable. We enjoyed the indoor pool and the games room. Also we walked for miles in the beautiful surrounding countryside. I sincerely hope to visit Dove House again.



An ideal house for all occasions beautifully presented.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely time with our friends and previously with our entire family on two other occasions. An outstanding venue in all respects, thank you.



A beautiful getaway, in a beautiful house in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'm reluctant to write a review on this amazing property with its beautiful surroundings as I would rather keep this place a secret for as long as possible. However, to not express my gratitude and appreciation to the Dove House team for laying on a fantastic weekend in an amazing cottage would be wrong!!
Dove House is a beautiful self catering cottage tastefully decorated to a high standard with every mod con one could wish for. If there was anything we required during our stay then Pippa was only to happy to oblige.
If your looking for high octane adventure then this is not the location for you. If your looking for a more relaxed peaceful environment then look no further. Dove house is situated on farm land with a 1.2 kilometer drive way leading to the house (I measured it!!)
We stay every year with family, including the little ones from a few months to 85 years of age. Facilities are fantastic, a great swimming pool perfect temperature for the children and outside a climbing frame and slide. There is also a games room with pool and table football with sofas and TV, perfect for the older kids. The rooms are really good sizes with double, twin or single rooms; all with comfy beds, showers, baths and even wet rooms.
The kitchen is well equipped, we cook most years for our Christmas party of 20.
Being in the countryside allows you to venture out for some great walks on the footpaths.
Once the kids are in bed my favorite place is sat in front of the amazing open fire place (logs provided) with my favorite drink;-)
I love this place!!





We LOVE Dove House

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a group of mixed adults and children. We have alternated staying at Dove House and staying in other big houses. Dove House is by far and away our favourite. The house is big, with plenty of living space, really comfortable and the surroundings are peaceful and quiet. The driveway is brilliant for the kids to ride their bikes up and down in complete safety, and the games room offers great respite from the main group. Pippa and Hugo are available if there are any issues but give total privacy to their guests. The area is limitless. We still haven’t explored all the options, and every trip brings something new. Dove House is truly our happy place.



Perfect stay in every respect!

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations of our family spent a weekend at Dove House in November and couldn’t fault anything. Booking was straightforward using the very informative website and any queries were answered promptly by phone or email by Pippa or Teresa, who were both extremely friendly and welcoming. The house itself is beautifully furnished, very comfortable and extremely well equipped - everything has been thought of to make for a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The location of the property is perfect for enjoying walks from the house and for exploring the beautiful Dorset countryside and coastline. We hope to be able to return one day.



Excellent venue for a family getaway.

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A long weekend was enjoyed by 4 generations of our family, the location, rooms and welcome were first rate. With ages ranging from 92 to 10 months there was ample room for all with the pool being a firm favourite. This was our fifth visit and all are looking forward to number six.



Wonderful family haven

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove House was as welcoming and perfect as it always is. What more can I say?

Except to resent the fact that this review has to be made artificially long. I will not agree to give feedback again




Absolutely stunning!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove House is absolutely stunning. No expense has been spared in making this beautiful house as comfortable as possible. The kitchen was amazing and very well equipped and the bedrooms were gorgeous. We would definitely recommend Dove House & Swallows to anyone and the owner was so nice and helpful. Thanks for making our stay wonderful.



Fantastic holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Dove House, and once again we absolutely loved it! The comfiest beds and lovely bedrooms. A fantastic kitchen perfect for long family meals. And the swimming pool was perfect once again. I don’t think we could do better for an extended family break. Thank you!



Dorset Delight

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove House was a superlative place for our family of 12 to enjoy a lovely holiday. Everything we could possibly expect had been provided ... and more! Just excellent in every respect!



Comfortable. Well equipped.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An interesting week with family of all ages. The bedrooms worked well with each ‘wing’ for each of the two families, leaving the downstairs bedroom for us. The kitchen was well equipped and the two dishwashers and large washing machine and drier were much appreciated.



Holiday home with all the trimmings

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dove House proved a comfortable, friendly and well equipped home from home with all we could possibly want for a three-
generation family holiday in beautiful surroundings.

The young grandchildren loved the pool and playground and the freedom of a well enclosed garden. The spacious kitchen diner and terrace were the centre of many happy family meals cooked in a very well equipped kitchen.

So many attractions to enjoy in easy reach of the house gave plenty of scope to explore but the peace and tranquility of the location itself was an ideal setting for rest and relaxation for all of us.

Thank you Pippa and Hugo for providing such happy memories for all the family.




A really lovely house to stay in

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hidden away at the end of a tiny lane in Dorset, this is a really beautiful house, with very tasteful decor combining with a homely atmosphere. It has easy parking for 6 cars (7 at a pinch), a superbly equipped kitchen, really excellent lighting throughout and a good bathroom for each bedroom - as well as an indoor swimming pool and games room. Every bedroom has plenty of storage. Our party of 12 friends (6 couples) returned in 2018 for the 2nd year running and, as last time, tended to keep congregating in the huge kitchen/diner (right next to the front door), and sadly didn't spend much time in the large and gorgeous sitting room. It is a great house to stay in, and every one of us would be happy to go back for a third season.




Reunion

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of twelve of us celebrated 50’years since we met to start our teacher training in 1968.
Dove House was the ideal location with outstanding facilities, with quality accommodation. I have stayed here before and am always impressed with the house as well as the efficient administration.
I would recommend Dove House without reservation.