FB Twitter

Stewards House

Stewards House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Stewards House is a beautifully spacious barn conversion, which is great for a family or group retreat. Our cottages are all well equipped with lovely styled touches throughout, providing you with a home from home. We include 40 inch TV & DVD player, fast free Wi-fi, super comfy sofas and fully equipped kitchen, 3 great bedrooms (2 main rooms with hotel-style beds), three bathrooms and a private courtyard garden. We also have a shared play area for children. Short walk to the local village.

Great rural retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well maintained clean spacious. Our second visit. Handy for Coldingham Eyemouth and Northumberland.
Simon and Emma quickly responded for a frying pan capable of frying six eggs at once to feed hungry teenagers.
The views from the windows at the rear of the end of the Pennines in this very warm spell reminded me of Tuscany. .




Comfortable, spacious, spotless, quiet...

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We never met the owners but had excellent communications from them. We had no complaints whatsoever. Large and well equiped kitchen though we missed a plastic washing-up bowl!). The lounge we also found to be large with comfortable seats. The two main bedrooms were spacious and warm with extremely comfortable and warm beds with good quality bedding. Our 22 year old grandson was relegated to the small bedroom with the bunk beds but was quite happy with it. Our only reservation was about a lack of hanging space in the bedroom above the kitchen, but to counter this there is plent of drawer space.
The cottage is very well insulated and we found that the radiators only needed to be on for a part of the evening ( we were out during the day). We lit the fire one evening, burnt, I think 4 logs, and regretted this as the room became far too hot for the remainder of the night. I dont suppose late October is the best time of year to be staying in a country cottage but we had a thoroughly enjoyable week. Thank you so much.




A relaxing 2 weeks

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently stayed at Steward's House for 2 weeks. The cottage is lovely and spacious and comfortably furnished. As it was autumn/winter we did not use the garden but it would be lovely to sit outside in the warmer months and have a BBQ. We loved having the woodburner on at night when it was a bit chilly. Simon and Emily were most helpful and responsive to any questions we had. i would definitely recommend a stay at Steward's House/



Beautiful location and great hosts!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simon and Emily were the best hosts, nothing was to much of an issue if we had any questions.

Stewart’s House was fully equipt, clean and they were kind enough to leave some of the basics to get us started.

We stayed for 4 nights and we we will different be back, such a quiet area which was stunning but easy reach of shops, the beach and more!

5/5 from us all, thank you.




Emily replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review & we are so pleased you had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you & your family again in the future.

Great place to take a family for a break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
1. Internet worked well, able to stream content on my firestick
2. Beds, large and comfy, the way we like them
3. really good sized living spaces
4. Bedrooms had everything we needed
5. Nice personally touches, with homemade Scottish tablet and shortbread on our arrival
6. Very peaceful
7. Good views of the rolling countryside
8. 3 loo's and showers
9. The place is much bigger than it looks on the photo's (2021 photos)
10. Kitchen well kitted out
11. Very friendly local community and owners

Day trips taken
-Berwick
-Edinburgh
-Alnwick
-Bamburgh
-Paxton house

I felt like I had been on holiday when I came back, energized and happy. Both my kids loved it, enough for my youngest to breakdown in tears when he realised we pulled up to our actual house at the end "I don't like it here, I want the holiday house"

A big thank you to the guys that own the property, it really felt like a home away from home :-)




Wonderful stay in a peaceful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a wonderful week in Emily and Simon's beautifully converted barn. The setting is glorious, with lush fields and hills surrounding the farm. The kids enjoyed visiting the friendly Shetland pony. There was a small issue with the water in the accommodation, and Simon couldn't have been more efficient and helpful sorting it out. The surrounding area is full of interest, and we ended up spending a lot of time at the beautiful beach at Coldingham Bay. I'd thoroughly recommend Steward's House and the other cottages - we'll definitely be back.



Emily replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you and your family had such a great stay. Living on-site helps us be able to deal with issues such as the water for yourselves, which we were happy to get fixed as soon as possible so you could continue to enjoy your holiday. We hope to welcome you back in the future :)

A welcome break

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic break- the house was spacious, comfortable, very relaxing and in a beautiful setting. Emily and Simon could not have been more helpful during our stay. We’ll definitely be returning!



Emily replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you had a lovely stay in our cottage, and look forward to welcoming you again in the future :)

Stewards House, Chirnside

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time visiting this area and will definitely be returning . Stewards House was excellent accommodation and well located for a peaceful holiday. Lovely walks nearby and beautiful beaches . Owners friendly, helpful but not intrusive.



Emily replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased you had a great stay and thank you for the wonderful feedback. We hope to welcome you again someday to our cottages and the Scottish Borders.