FB Twitter

The Smiddy

The Smiddy

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


A very nice house.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A nice modern house in the middle of the island of Berneray, a couple of minutes walk from the community hall. (I only gave it 4/5 for location as many other island properties are actually on the coast.)
The house is very well fitted out and had everything I needed in the kitchen. It is slightly inconvenient that the freezer is outside in the shed. The WiFi and TV worked well, but there was no mobile signal in the house - either connect over WiFi or walk to somewhere higher on the island. Washing machine and dishwasher were useful
The welcome pack was very good, including North Uist smoked salmon and home baked oatcakes.
The island is great - walk around it in less than a day, including a 3 mile sandy beach and colourful wild flowers on the machair.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The Smiddy for 7 nights in July 2022


Return visit

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday at The Smiddy 7 years ago and decided to return this year.
We were thrilled to find the property was every bit as good as before.
It has the best position on the island, a beautiful walk through the machair to West Beach and beyond.
The cottage is very well equipped with everything you could need, we especially enjoyed the jacuzzi bath after a days walking.
We were provided with a lovely welcome pack which even included champagne and smoked salmon!
We will definitely be back!


Maryclare from Aboyne stayed at The Smiddy for 7 nights in July 2022


Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage on a beautiful island, only negative was the sofa....needs a new one hence the 4 out of 5. Host amazing, very friendly, welcome pack wonderful, bed comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage to everyone.

Fiona from Ballachulish stayed at The Smiddy for 7 nights in May 2022


Ruth for Gloria replied 66 days ago
Thank you for your review. We welcome your feedback. Re sofa: we are in the process of upgrading the cushion seats for the sofa which we hope will give it a new life (the sofa itself is a fairly recent & expensive purchase). We will be passing our own views & those of our guests on to the manufacturer. Glad you enjoyed Berneray & your stay at The Smiddy.

Berneray, silver sands and turquoise seas

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been guests of Gloria and Ruth at The Smiddy on two occasions and are already booked in for 2023.
With views down to the Machir from the patio and Corncrakes in the garden. It's just paradise.
A comfortable accomodation and an excellent Bistro & shop just down the road, sit back and relax with a bottle of something nice.


Alan from Nottingham stayed at The Smiddy for 14 nights in May 2022


Ruth for Gloria replied 73 days ago
Thank you for the great review! It was lovely to have you stay with us again & we look forward to seeing you in 2023!

Two wonderful weeks on Berneray

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an wonderful visit to an island we have come to love. The Smiddy was perfect and the views were amazing.

Eammon from Callander stayed at The Smiddy for 14 nights in October 2021


A perfect place to relax.

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy cottage with everything you might need. Great location and very helpful owners. Berneray is a super island with a magical beach.

Guest from Perthshire stayed at The Smiddy for 11 nights in September 2021


Excellent stay at The Smiddy

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic location for exploring Berneray and the surrounding islands. Clean, comfortable and relaxing accommodation. Highly recommended

Guest from Dunfermline stayed at The Smiddy for 7 nights in August 2021


Great location on a fantastic island.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Five star property but furnishings now dated. No coffee table..What is the point of having a dishwater when there is only two of everything?Two cups, saucers, plates etc. Also makes it impossible to invite friends for a meal..
Great location and hosts. Would return. An island with fantastic scenery and wildlife

Excellent welcome package and lovely hosts who were very helpful and available


Guest from Ayr stayed at The Smiddy for 7 nights in July 2021


Gloria replied 360 days ago
Thank you for your positive review and valuable feedback. We have now added more specific and clear information about the steps we have taken to help keep our guests & staff safe during the COVID pandemic (e.g. reducing the number of touchable surfaces – crockery, cutlery etc). We are now also explaining to our guests where the coffee table is exactly. We’re glad you enjoyed our service, the welcome pack & the island itself and would welcome you back. Stay safe & well as we navigate our way through these challenging times. All the very best, Gloria

Top quality all round

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation, welcome and location on the edge of the machair make this a very special retreat for a holiday for two. Enjoy!

Sandra from Aberdeen stayed at The Smiddy for 7 nights in July 2021