FB Twitter

Maristow

Maristow

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


As the Gitcombe Estate appears through the dense trees that border its long drive, it’s clear you've arrived somewhere very special. The setting, in its own private valley, is both magical and instantly relaxing with beautiful rural views stretching as far as the eye can see. Recently listed in The Times' 50 Best Cottages for Summer feature, the cottages themselves are stylish, luxurious, and, despite their high level of sophistication, wonderfully child-friendly. The location is pretty special too being less than five miles from the bistros and boutiques of the yachting town of Dartmouth and roughly the same to the award-winning and beautiful bay at Blackpool Sands. The eight stylish cottages boast luxurious bathrooms and designer kitchens and share facilities that could rival a five star hotel with an elegant pool house complete with indoor heated pool, Klafs sauna and steam rooms, outdoor sundeck with hot tub, outdoor pool, tennis courts and pre-bookable beauty treatments. Gitcombe is as enchanting for kids as it is for their parents thanks to the carved wooden playground, indoor soft play room and opportunity to play spot the moo cow across the valley whilst splashing about in the outdoor hot tub!

Accommodation Overview:

Maristow is one of three neighbouring barns, each sleeping 6+ infant, with one double bedroom(built in bed and accessed from one side- not suitable for taller guests), one twin and one children’s bedroom, with L shaped cabin beds. All have 'upside-down' designs to maximise their stunning views. They boast light and airy vaulted ceilings, pale wood floors and underfloor heating. Their open plan living, dining areas have TV, Freeview, DVD/CD and cosy log burner. The others (linked via button on bottom of grey box, right) have French doors to enclosed roof terrace with wooden table and chairs plus charcoal BBQ and stunning views over grounds and surrounding countryside, but Maristow benefits from both a small Juliet style balcony in living area and a furnished patio opening from the ground floor twin bedroom, with open access to the grounds. It also has an exceptionally spacious living area, suited to larger families, plus a small mezzanine 'snug', which makes a great adult or older children’s bolthole. This barn is end of terrace, whilst the other two are third and fourth in the row. All have sleek, well equipped kitchen areas with granite work tops, stainless steel American style fridge/freezers, Miele dishwaters, Miele washer-driers, microwave and Fisher Paykel oven and hobs. Contemporary family bathrooms and an ensuite (to the twin room in Maristow) with limestone floors. Help yourself log and kindling wood store.

Short breaks of 3-4 nights are available between Sept-May annually, with shorter stays (min 2nts) and flexible arrival days accommodated Nov-Mid March. See prices tab for more details and use 'Ask the Owner a Question' under 'Owners' tab for special requests.

PLEASE NOTE: Gitcombe provides un-assembled ‘pop up’ style travel cots, so please be aware that you will need to erect the cot before bedtime.

Perfect family retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Gitcombe is set in a beautiful location and is perfect for families. The wide variety of on site activities is great for kids (though probably ideal for kids of 4/5 upwards). The accommodation is excellent, with great provision of amenities - better than most self catering accommodation we have come across. The cottage was also spotlessly clean. The downstairs accommodation in Maristow is a little cramped, but this is a reasonable compromise for having multiple bedrooms and plenty of space in the main living accommodation and didn't impact on our enjoyment. It is also a great base for exploring the beautiful countryside and coastline around and a very relaxing setting to return back to after a day of exploring.

Martin from Skipton stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in August 2022


Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gitcombe was such a beautiful place and the owner takes real pride in its up keep and welcoming guests! We had such a lovely holiday and as it only has 8 cottages it’s never busy so we were able to enjoy all the facilities to ourselves each day! Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

Laura from Leicester stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in June 2022


Great stay at Gitcombe

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our Easter break at Gitcombe. Cottage worked well. Facilities were great and boys loved the pool and hot tub, in particular. Good access to beaches and we were lucky with the weather.

Guest from MILTON KEYNES stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in April 2022


Fantastic week of beaches, rivers, moors and relaxation

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A slice of heaven hidden in a valley in a stunning part of Devon. We could relax at Gitcombe as well as head out on family adventures (kids age 7 & 9) - kayaking on the River Dart, walking on Dartmoor, playing on the beach, shopping in Dartmouth. So much we didn't have time to do and would love to come back for!

The cottage (Maristow) was ideal, very well equipped kitchen, comfy beds, good showers, quiet, plenty of lounge space, as well as outside patio and lovely views down the valley. Gitcombe facilities were excellent - hot tub, indoor pool, steam room, sauna - as well as a heated outdoor pool the kids loved. The play park and tennis court also kept the kids well occupied. They were happy to stay in all day! Peter and Emma are always on hand to help out if needed - nothing seems too much trouble.

Things to watch for - steep hills everywhere and narrow country lanes (practice reversing!).


Kate from Woking stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in August 2021


The perfect get away

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pete has found the perfect balance between a place for adults to enjoy and relax but also a great place for children to play and enjoy too. The choice of pools, soft play and outdoor play area provided us with ample entertainment for our child a stone throw away from our accommodation. Meanwhile the hot tub and sauna provided some much needed adult relax time during the family holiday. Gitcombe is also so close to lots of family attractions and beautiful beaches; we were spoilt for choice as to what to do each day. I cannot recommend Gitcombe enough. Everything was perfect from start to finish with a meticulous attention to detail. I will certainly be staying again.

Victoria from Guildford stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in July 2021


Amazing

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday. Could not have wished for better. Everything was provided that we needed. Such a shame people booked pools etc and then didnt use them or cancel their slots but really think the booking system is good in these silly times.
Would totally recommend and would love to come again


Jackie from Hatfield Heath stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in June 2021


A lovely safe place for children with plenty to keep them amused and friendly owners Rodney & Peter.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really recommend it but don’t want to as bookings are so busy for the rest of the year !! Lots of returners one family been there 7 years in a row - says it all. Peaceful as not too much accommodation on site of 14 acres and walks from the house ... even runs if you are energetic !! Would go there even without children. Near to Dittisham, Salcombe and Bigbury-On-Sea / Burgh Island ideal for boat trips, steam train rides, tractor to Burgh Island.

Jane from Portsmouth stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in May 2021


Beautiful place!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Will definitely be going back!
Very clean and excellent customer service, couldnt do enough to help.


Guest from stayed at Maristow for 3 nights in May 2021


Fabulous week at Gitcombe

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time with our two daughters at Gitcombe. Great facilities which were on a hour booking system which worked really well. Stunning views and countryside with loads on the doorstep. The cottage was really comfortable and had everything we needed. We would definitely recommend and look forward to returning with family!

Lucy from East Molesey stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in August 2020


Idyllic setting in South Devon

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enormously enjoyed our week at Gitcombe. We were a group of 3 generations, and the views, the pools, the tennis court and the hot tub were loved by all. We took a lovely walk to a nearby pub by the river, and explored the coves of the nearby stunning coastline. Due to C-19 we didn’t want to eat out so cooked all our evening meals in Maristow. The kitchen was excellently equipped for this. Thank you to the delightful owners Rodney and Peter who have created somewhere really special.

Catherine from London stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in July 2020


Perfect winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can only imagine how lovely Gitcombe is in summer, but we booked 3 days at the beginning of January to beat the winter blues and it was the perfect escape. Cosy cottage with wood burning stove, countryside walks right from the estate, and best of all a warm indoor pool and hottub for the kids to let off steam!

Guest from Stoke Bishop stayed at Maristow for 3 nights in January 2020


A wonderfull retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderfull retreat, excellent for families with small kids. Our three girls enjoyed every minute of it.
We had a blast and Peter and Emma are really friendly, hospitable hosts!


Mark from London stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in August 2019


Our stay at Gitcombe

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Gitcombe. The kids loved the indoor and outdoor pool and the tennis court. There were lots of toys for children like surfboards. The fridge with the ice cube machine was a hit. Emma and Peter were most helpful with tips for the area and took care of all our needs. We can very much recommend Gitcombe for a relaxing family holiday.

Andrea from Frankfurt 93 a stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in July 2019


Fantastic stay at Gitcombe

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at Gitcombe house. It is the perfect of both world in terms of location between countryside and seaside. The facilities are just amazing with indoor swimming pool, sauna and soft play area, jaccuzzi outside with stunning views, tennis court and playground. The kids loved it and parents too as you can definitely relax there. It is very welcoming and the scenery grabs you even before arriving just with the narrow country lanes. It is gorgeous and we had a fantastic time with the sun shining for 4 days on top of it!! Beautiful!

Guest from London stayed at Maristow for 4 nights in October 2018


Maristow cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would have liked a chest of drawers in the twin bedroom and a few more harder pillows and another towel rail. We loved staying at Gitcombe and are coming back to the New House next year.

Norma from South Benfleet stayed at Maristow for 7 nights in July 2018