FB Twitter

Burrator

Burrator

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


As the Gitcombe Estate appears through the dense trees that border its long drive, it’s clear you've arrived somewhere very special. The setting, in its own private valley, is both magical and instantly relaxing with beautiful rural views stretching as far as the eye can see. Recently listed in The Times' 50 Best Cottages for Summer feature, the cottages themselves are stylish, luxurious, and, despite their high level of sophistication, wonderfully child-friendly. The location is pretty special too being less than five miles from the bistros and boutiques of the yachting town of Dartmouth and roughly the same to the award-winning and beautiful bay at Blackpool Sands. The eight stylish cottages boast luxurious bathrooms and designer kitchens and share facilities that could rival a five star hotel with an elegant pool house complete with indoor heated pool, Klafs sauna and steam rooms, outdoor sundeck with hot tub, outdoor pool, tennis courts and pre-bookable beauty treatments. Gitcombe is as enchanting for kids as it is for their parents thanks to the carved wooden playground, indoor soft play room and opportunity to play spot the moo cow across the valley whilst splashing about in the outdoor hot tub!

Accommodation Overview:

Burrator, and its neighbours Sheepstor and Maristow, sleeps 6+ infant, with one double bedroom with king size bed, one twin and one children’s bedroom, with L shaped cabin beds. All have 'upside-down' designs to maximise their stunning views. They boast light and airy vaulted ceilings, pale wood floors and underfloor heating. Their open plan living, dining areas have TV, Freeview, DVD/CD and cosy log burner. The others (linked via button on bottom of grey box, right) have French doors to enclosed roof terrace with wooden table and chairs plus charcoal BBQ and stunning views over grounds and surrounding countryside, but Maristow benefits from both a small Juliet style balcony in living area and a furnished patio opening from the ground floor twin bedroom, with open access to the grounds. All have sleek, well equipped kitchen areas with granite work tops, stainless steel American style fridge/freezers, Miele dishwaters, Miele washer-driers, microwave and Fisher Paykel oven and hobs. Contemporary family bathrooms and an ensuite (to the twin room in Maristow) with limestone floors. Help yourself log and kindling wood store.





Short breaks of 3-4 nights are available between Sept-May annual, with shorter stays (min 2nts) and flexible arrival days accommodated Nov-Mid March. See prices tab for more details and use 'Ask the Owner a Question' under 'Owners' tab for special requests.

PLEASE NOTE: Gitcombe provides un-assembled ‘pop up’ style travel cots, so please be aware that you will need to erect the cot before bedtime.

Wow, the perfect holiday destination for families with small children!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an incredible place! My little one didn’t want to come home. We spent a lot of time around the cottage due to the two amazing pools, hot tub, sauna and play areas.
The cottage was immaculate and had everything we needed for a 3 and 1 year old (cot, changing mat, high chair, toddler toilet seat, bed guard and baby bath)
There was even buckets, tennis rackets and crabbing equipment to borrow.
Peter and Emma were so helpful, we will definitely be back!


Rebecca from Ely stayed at Burrator for 14 nights in June 2022


Our Third Visit

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As ever, another fantastic week at Gitcombe. We love the pool and tennis court and it is perfectly located for exploring Devon which has so much to offer visitors.

Georgina from Heriot stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in October 2021


Really nice property

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Sep 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Gitcombe, the facilities were great and always kept clean. We loved using the tennis court, indoor/outdoor pools and hot tub all of which were in great condition though we were disappointed the outdoor pool shut so early into our stay as it had an amazing view.

The location was great only a short drive into Dartmouth plus we also visited Salcombe, Torquay, Paignton and Exeter from here. Though be warned there are a lot of VERY tiny lanes you need to navigate to get in and out of the property so it's not an easy drive.

The team at gitcombe were so lovely and welcoming (especially Wilson their dog) they were happy to help with anything you needed during your stay. The cottage itself was really well stocked with everything you might need plus a communal shed full of toys and crabbing equipment etc. The only slight complaint was the beds were a bit uncomfortable and the lack of a curtain/screen around the shower meant we flooded the bathroom floor each time.

Overall this was a great holiday and we would stay again, we were eyeing up the retreat for next time! We thoroughly recommend taking advantage of the crabbing supplies and going down to dartmouth, great fun for all ages.


Hannah from Billericay stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in September 2021


Gitcombe - June 2021

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to Gitcombe after 7 years. Absolutely beautiful spot in glorious countryside. Cottage very well equipped and comfortable with nice terrace. Grounds kept in immaculate condition. Really love the very warm outdoor pool and hot tub. Indoor pool nice as well. Also they give lots of info on local activities/attractions and restaurants - I appreciated the proactive heads up we received 1 month before to book restaurants well in advance due to Covid (saw people traipsing around trying to find anywhere with a table, whilst we were eating). I recommend this place to anyone.

Eddie from Sale stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in June 2021


Holiday with toddler

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our week staying in Burrator despite very wet May weather! Swimming pool was wonderful and we took our daughter every day, she also loved the new play area. Cottage was comfortable and well equipped, and very useful to have a toy store for buckets and spades etc. Only slight negatives were that the underfloor heating made two of the bedrooms very warm and that sounds from upstairs carry easily. Gitcombe was a good base to explore from, we enjoyed Greenways and Paignton Zoo as well as Sharpham vineyard.

Fiona from Bath stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in May 2021


Spectacular valley and views, pool and hot tubs real winners

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Apr 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good location and great facilities for young families - especially the pool and hut tub area. The lack of real WiFi is a problem because many places in the area require pre-booking.

Jason from London stayed at Burrator for 1 nights in April 2021


Family Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful holiday cottages with excellent facilities in a stunning location. Friendly owners/staff who were very patient with my questions and breakages!! It was ideal as we had my 2 year old grandson who loved the pools. Would definitely recommend and love to return. Thank you.

Deborah from Cheltenham stayed at Burrator for 9 nights in September 2020


Perfect escape

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant cottage in stunning countryside with great facilities - we all enjoyed the indoor & outdoor pools, the views from the hot tub & the tennis court & play area were excellent. Beautiful beaches not too far & the scenery on the way is picture perfect. Nearby pubs/restaurants & villages well worth visiting - excellent recommendations from our hosts! We’ll be back!

Gabrielle from Thursley stayed at Burrator for 5 nights in August 2020


Recent stay at Gitcombe

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Gitcombe recently. There is so much to do at the house - the wonderful pools, playground and tennis court kept the children entertained. There are great walks to the nearby pubs where we did crabbing. It’s perfectly located for the beach and the surrounding towns. The only reason I didn’t give top marks on all fronts was because the en suite shower was broken and there was no hot water. But luckily we could use my brothers who was staying in the next door cottage - not ideal but not the end of the world. The Gitcombe team went over and above to try and solve the problem and were brilliant. That bathroom probably just needs re-doing! We would definitely stay again. Loved it all.

Guest from Nassington Road, stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in August 2020


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Gitcombe for our family holiday. The facilities are brilliant and the cottages are very family friendly. The location is rural and inland but a short drive to some beautiful beaches.

Laura from Marlow stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in July 2020


A week's stay over Christmas in Burrator, Gitcombe Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding from start to finish. Easy to book, nothing was too much trouble for Emma, who even got in touch before we came to see whether we needed any last minute help or information. We got a lovely welcome from Peter after we arrived, to find the cottage nicely decorated with a Christmas tree.
The cottage was spotless and well appointed. The appliances are all in good order and top end. Although the kitchen and living room are open plan, the appliances are not too loud to disturb you. There was everything we needed, even to cook Christmas lunch. The bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate.
As it was Christmas we couldn't take advantage of all the facilities as we have done when we've stayed previously in the summer, but we used the lovely swimming pool, and the hot tub/steam room/sauna were up and running.
Gitcombe is well placed in the local area. There's a Sainsburys and M&S in Dartmouth. A lovely beach (Blackpool Sands) a short drive away which has a friendly welcoming cafe, serving vegan options. Dartmouth also has the brilliant Rockfish (even though a seafood restuarant, also has vegan options). And not to forget the Hunters Lodge Inn in Cornworthy, where you can be sure of a warm welcome, good wine and great food.
A perfect stay. We love Gitcombe and can't recommend it enough to anyone wanting to visit the South Hams/Devon. It'll always be the place we think of for summer holidays for our young family.


Guest from Newmarket stayed at Burrator for 8 nights in December 2019


perfect short break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect short break for 3 generations! Idyllically situated.Lots to do for 3 and 5 year olds and good walks for grandpa.

Pat from Bromsgrove stayed at Burrator for 5 nights in May 2019


Wonderful family break

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a couple of nights in Burrator over the Easter long weekend and we enjoyed a relaxing and fun filled stay. The facilities on the property are exceptional, my children loved running and playing in the beautiful grounds and they especially enjoyed spending time in the indoor swimming pool. Gitcombe is in a gorgeous part of Devon and there is so much to do and see close by. Peter and Wilson were very friendly hosts and Emma was very accommodating and helpful with booking. We will definitely be back!

Sarah from London stayed at Burrator for 2 nights in April 2019


Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Gorgeous week in devon countryside.
Coytage was perfect for the 4 of us to enjoy Gitcombe. Paraffin heaters were required fir a few nights as bedrooms were very cold but host was on hand to deliver. Cosy if 6 were staying.
Will be going back as delightful house in a beautiful relaxed setting ideal holiday conditions


John from Four Oaks stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in October 2018


Beautiful Burrator!

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many thanks for a marvellous short break at Gitcombe! Burrator is a gorgeous property in a peaceful setting, and was perfectly placed for our planned walks in and around the South Hams District. It was great to come back to an indulgent bit of luxury after a day spent on foot, and relax while eating out on the balcony.

Philip from stayed at Burrator for 2 nights in September 2018


A wonderful location for a family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just enjoyed a week long, three generation family holiday at Gitcombe. Something for everyone here - comfortable, stylish and well equipped accommodation, Idyllic setting and excellent facilities. The indoor pool complex is of 5 star quality and scruptiously clean; the tennis court, outdoor pool and children’s play area of a similar high standard. The ‘help yourself shed’ full of beach paraphernalia to borrow, from windbreaks to crab lines was a very nice touch.
During our stay the other guests were predominantly families with children aged 11 and under who provided a fund of playmates for our two small grand daughters and pleasant conversation for us adults.
Overall it is difficult to fault our Gitcombe experience. Two minor comments - in Burrator we found the internet slow and had no mobile telephone signal. Also the soundproofing between floors somehow amplified sound - so a quiet conversation in the sitting room sounded much louder in the chikdren’s bedroom below. Luckily we have two sound sleepers so once they were asleep it wasn’t a problem and didn’t spoil our holiday in any way.


Alison from Leeds stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in August 2018


Ideal for families

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good variety of activity on site and in reality little reason to leave if you wanted to chill. Very hilly locally so runs and bike rides are hard core. Owners really care, bottle of wine is a nice touch

Richard from Fairford stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in July 2018


Heaven in Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
simply wonderful - we two grandparents, daughter and son in law, two granddaughters loved it.
highly recommended


Malcolm from Dorking stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in July 2018