FB Twitter

Meavy Barn

Meavy Barn

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


Meavy Barn is one of eight stylish and luxurious character cottages within the exclusive Gitcombe Country Cottages Estate near Dartmouth. Recently listed in The Times' 50 Best Cottages for Summer feature, Gitcombe's cottages each boast tasteful Scandinavian Country-chic influenced interiors and luxurious touches granite topped kitchens plus a scenic and tranquil setting nestling in their own private valley in the heart of Devon's sought-after South Hams region.

As well as a stunningly scenic setting, a short drive from Dartmouth and Conde Nast Traveller award-wining Blackpool Sands, the cottages with a private health club with large indoor heated pool, Klafs sauna and steam rooms, plus a kids soft play area and a sun deck with outdoor whirlpool offering truly beautiful inspiring views over the rolling hills, woodland and meadows of valley setting . There's also an outdoor pool (open in summer), all-weather tennis courts and beautifully hand carved wooden play area. All in all, Gitcombe is just as enchanting for kids as it is for adults - who could fail to have fun playing spot the moo cow across the valley whilst splashing about in the outdoor hot tub!

Meavy Barn sleeps 4 in 2 bedrooms one double and one small twin, it's a stylish mid terrace barn with reverse level accommodation, light and airy vaulted ceilings and pale wood floors and underfloor heating. Open plan living, dining area, with cosy log burner and Juliet style balcony with stunning views over grounds and surrounding countryside. For quiet nights in there is a TV with freeview box, a DVD player and a CD player. There is also a Sleek, well equipped sleek kitchen area with granite work tops, stainless steel American style fridge/freezer, Miele dishwater, Miele washer-drier, microwave and Fisher Paykel oven and hob. Mezzanine area above, perfect as a grown ups’ or children’s den. Compact, stylish shower room, no bath in this property, but portable baby bath available. Patio accessed from double bedroom, with picnic table and bench and charcoal BBQ. Help yourself log and kindling wood store. Sleeps 4+ infant (2 if 1 x twin bed is unused)

PLEASE NOTE: In Meavy Barn, when a child is sharing a room with an infant, it is necessary to remove the mattress and slats from the second single bed and place the cot within the bed frame, due to space restrictions.

Glorious Devon stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another lovely stay at Gitcombe, our first in Meavy. Cosy, well equipped, wonderful views and the pool was the highlight for us all. We’ll be back

Guest from Monmouth stayed at Meavy Barn for 7 nights in October 2020


home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A real home from home. Very well planned and tastefully furnished accommodation, comfortable and cosy. very well run and in such a beautiful part of the country. We would certainly book again.

Teresa from Dorking stayed at Meavy Barn for 6 nights in September 2020


Wonderful estate & cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Meavy Cottage and the Gitcombe estate were simply wonderful and the pictures are very true to how beautiful and well looked after they both are.
This was a fantastic place to bring a small child; despite the Covid restrictions, we were still able to use lots of the facilities and I expect this is even better in summertime.

The cottage is really well furnished with kitchen items including washing tablets etc. All high end appliances and cookware making it very easy to cook etc. Beds are comfy and it’s very quiet too.

We plan to come back very soon!


Guest from MAIDENHEAD stayed at Meavy Barn for 5 nights in September 2020


Mwavy Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent all round. The host, the location the accommodation,the facilities, the space, the Covid planning and arrangements were all superb. A quiet peaceful yrt active week's break . Thank you.

John from LIVERPOOL stayed at Meavy Barn for 1 nights in September 2020


Glorious Gitcombe

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just returned from a magical holiday at Gitcombe Cottages. It was truly lovely. The setting is breathtaking, the cottage was immaculate and beautiful. The facilities are great, all the little details have been thought of e.g. there’s a toy shed where you can borrow crabbing buckets and tennis rackets etc. The pools and hot tub are great and everything is immaculately clean. My daughters fell in love with Wilson the dog, I fell in love with the location and with the area. There is lots to do in Dartmouth and Salcome is also very pretty and the local beaches are stunning, but returning to Gitcombe in the evenings was a real joy. It’s such a beautiful place that every evening as I drove back in it would take my breath away. We stayed in Meavy one of the smaller cottages, I cannot imagine what a treat it would be to stay at Gitcombe Retreat or Gitcombe House. Peter and Rodney the owners made us feel very welcome. If you’re considering a stay here, don’t hesitate it’s lovely. We cannot wait to return.

Catrin from Elling stayed at Meavy Barn for 7 nights in August 2020


Late summer week in south Devon

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Gitcombe complex suited our family perfectly with the swimming pools, tennis court and surrounding countryside being the the high points. Very peaceful even though all the buildings were occupied, close enough to local towns for supplies or meals out. Meavy barn had everything you could want ,maybe a bit more storage and a bigger television are the only things could improve it .

Richard from stayed at Meavy Barn for 7 nights in August 2020


Nice place for a family holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed our stay. Staff are very helpful. However we do recommend an electric fly killer for the kitchen e.g.

Insect-O-Cutor
INSECT-O-CUTOR ZE121 ELECTRIC GRID FLY KILLER ALUMINIUM 16W


Colin from Thurcaston stayed at Meavy Barn for 7 nights in July 2020


Amazing holiday!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was an amazing holiday, beyond form expected, we loved the place, the cottage was adorable and cozy, all the facilities were better than shown in pictures, we really enjoyed it. Walks around are very beautiful and it is located in an amazing part of England. We will consider it as an every year place to go. :)

Daniela from London stayed at Meavy Barn for 6 nights in December 2019


Amazing facilities

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely stay at Gitcombe. The grounds are immaculate and leisure facilities superb. The appliances in the kitchen were top quality. When paying for this kind of quality we expected some basics like tea and coffee and a little cooking oil to get us going. The floors could have done with a clean in our cottage. The heating / hot water system was very noisy in the middle of the night and woke us up each night as it appeared to click on and off - the system was adjacent to the bedroom. Not a problem if you are not a light sleeper! We would recommend and would return. Above comments are meant in the spirit of constructive criticism!

Sarah from stayed at Meavy Barn for 3 nights in October 2019


Fantastic Location and amazing cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we have been before but not stayed this cottage (Meavey) and wow what a lovely cottage to relax for the weekend. Very quiet and close to the indoor pool and sunken hot tub. Lovely comfort beds and log burning stove to keep you cosy in these cold autumn nights. Could not ask for a nice host of Peter and Emma who are always happy to attend to your needs or advise on a place to visit.

Yasmin from stayed at Meavy Barn for 3 nights in October 2019


Just loved it!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived home from our stay at Gitcombe yesterday, we were sad to leave as we’d had such a lovely time. We stayed in one of the cottages with our toddler who also enjoyed it thoroughly. The grounds, setting, scenery are all so beautiful and we felt so welcomed by the lovely owners and not forgetting Wilson the dog :)

Jodie from stayed at Meavy Barn for 5 nights in September 2019


Enjoyable August Bank Holiday week

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location with fantastic facilities.

Our nine year old made full use of the outdoor pool, indoor pool and Jacuzzi. The grounds are lovely and very well maintained. The tennis court gave an extra dimension to our stay and also proved useful for badminton!

Our barn was of a high standard and of particular note was the American fridge and it was also very handy having a washing machine. The barn was spotless when we arrived and clearly well looked after. The sheltered location made it possible to BBQ while watching the sunset.

We look forward to returning!


Duncan from Harrigate stayed at Meavy Barn for 6 nights in August 2019


Lovely holiday spot

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, well equipped and great facilities for families. We had a lovely holiday there and would go again.

Guest from London stayed at Meavy Barn for 7 nights in April 2019


Amazing facilities, beautifully maintained and very welcoming hosts.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of 4 and had a fantastic weekend. The cottage was beautiful and our children loved the pool and facilities. Many thanks.

Justin from Bradford-on-avon stayed at Meavy Barn for 2 nights in February 2019


We had a really good time at Gitcombe. Ithe views were wonderful .

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was a very welcome relaxing break. The facilities were great for both young and old. Hopefully we will go again.

Kevin from Rotherham stayed at Meavy Barn for 7 nights in October 2018


Beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Gitcombe with my wife and young son for five nights and had an excellent time. It was our first visit to the area and the surrounding countryside is beautiful. Within a half an hour or so drive there are stunning beaches and interesting places to visit; we enjoyed Pomeroy Castle, Dartmouth and Salcombe in particular. Gitcombe itself offers everything needed for a relaxing break. Meavy barn was well equipped and made it easy to make ourselves at home. The living space and kitchen area are very tasteful and cooking was easy (bear in mind you need to take everything, such as cooking oil, tea, coffee). The double bedroom was nice though we did find the mattress in the twin room wasn't the most comfortable. The bathroom was a little tired looking and the fan was noisy, which was a minor irritation, but overall the barn is really nicely set up and peaceful. The pool, sauna, and outdoor hot tub are fantastic and made our stay all the more enjoyable. Peter greeted us and is a really nice guy. We thoroughly enjoyed the visit and hope to return.

Paul from London stayed at Meavy Barn for 5 nights in September 2018


Blissful overall stay at Gitcombe

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gitcombe House Country Cottages is an oasis of calm, with fantastic facilities that are perfect for families. The grounds, tennis courts, swimming pools and hot tub were a massive hit with the kids. The owner Peter, his father Rodney, and the manager Emma were all super helpful and made the experience a pleasure. Based on the mantra that the best feedback is constructive I'll nitpick: for a "luxury" property I would expect that the American style fridge freezers' ice and cold water functions would work properly :-) We have already booked for next year! Bravo!

Mark from Hitchin stayed at Meavy Barn for 14 nights in July 2018


Great family holiday location

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Gitcombe and were blessed by fabulous weather. Our 3 and 6 year olds loved the indoor and outdoor pools, and the array of other activities to do. Meavy cottage was perfect for a family of four and very well equipped. Gitcombe is in a good location for exploring both Dartmoor and the South Hams but some days we felt we didn't need to leave at all!

Rachel from London stayed at Meavy Barn for 7 nights in July 2018