FB Twitter

Gitcombe Retreat

Gitcombe Retreat

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


The Retreat is a luxurious coach house, part of eight other stylish and luxurious character cottages within the exclusive Gitcombe Country Cottages Estate near Dartmouth. Recently listed in The Times' 50 Best Cottages for Summer feature, Gitcombe's cottages each boast tasteful Scandinavian Country-chic influenced interiors and luxurious touches granite topped kitchens plus a scenic and tranquil setting nestling in their own private valley in the heart of Devon's sought-after South Hams region.

As well as a stunningly scenic setting, a short drive from Dartmouth and Conde Nast Traveller award-wining Blackpool Sands, the cottages and coach house have access to a private health club with large indoor heated pool, Klafs sauna and steam rooms, plus a kids soft play area and sun deck with outdoor whirlpool offering truly beautiful inspiring views over the rolling hills, woodland and meadows of the valley setting. There's also an outdoor pool (open in summer), all-weather tennis courts and beautifully hand carved wooden play area.
All in all, Gitcombe is just as enchanting for kids as it is for adults - who could fail to have fun playing spot the moo cow across the valley whilst splashing about in the outdoor hot tub!

The Retreat is an architect designed contemporary coach house style with high beamed ceilings, flagstone flooring, luxurious bathrooms and a special wrap-around balcony accessed from the lounge overlooking the valley - ideal for wildlife-spotting over morning coffee or evening drinks. The spacious lounge offers plenty of space with a log burning fire, flat screen smart TV and Sonos sound system. A perfect space for family celebrations and crawlers and toddlers will love the open plan living, dining, where they can roam safely always in site of grown-ups.
The stylish kitchen area comes complete with granite worktop, dishwasher, washer/drier, fridge (with ice box), microwave, ceramic hob and oven, large kitchen island and dining area with seating for up to 10. There are 4 hotel standard bedrooms, three with en-suite shower rooms, one with a family bathroom just opposite and one with direct access to the private hot tub.
A private garden complete with dining area, barbecue, views across the valley plus space for up to 3 cars.

Short breaks of 3-4 nights are available between Sept-May annually, with shorter stays (min 3nts) and flexible arrival days accommodated Nov-Mid March. See prices tab for more details and use 'Ask the Owner a Question' under 'Owners' tab for special requests.

PLEASE NOTE: Gitcombe provides un-assembled ‘pop up’ style travel cots, so please be aware that you will need to erect the cot before bedtime.

A wonderful week at the Gitcombe Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for the right place for my Wife to celebrate a special birthday with our 2 children and their families including 4 grandchildren aged between 5 years and just 2 months. The Gitcombe Retreat was just that for a week! Luxurious accomodation with beautiful scenery located in such a peaceful location between Totnes and Dartmouth. There is also plenty to do around the Retreat with it's own hot tub and BBQ on the patio, the indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and soft play area right next door and the outdoor pool, tennis court and children's play area nearby. We all enjoyed a fun day at Woodlands family theme park only a couple of miles away. The adults had as much fun as the children! And if you purchase discounted tickets online, when you leave the park at the end of the day you can pay the difference of the full daily price to obtain passes into the park for the week. We enjoyed days out at Blackpool Sands which has a shingle beach and Salcombe North and South Sands which are sandy. We also had a evening good meal in lovely surroundings at the nearby Malsters Arms. We had such an enjoyable week that none of us wanted to leave at the end of it! Thank you to Peter, Rodney and Emma for providing such a lovely place and all the facilities for our family to enjoy. We do hope to return.

Anthony from Sunbury On Thames stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 7 nights in July 2019


Gitcombe Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation and facilities, exactly as described on the web site, on site team very supportive and accommodating.

Judith from Chippenham stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 7 nights in June 2019


Beautiful stay with family - 20 of us celebrating an 80th birthday!

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WOW, WOW, and WOW again!!! We loved every minute of our stay at Gitcombe; we were staying in the main house and brand new Gitcombe retreat and couldn't possibly decide which was the better of the two! They were both spectacular in their own way, and having the two properties for our group meant everyone had a little extra space to find somewhere quiet for some downtime, which is always needed when travelling in a big party :)

The owners were around to greet us and on hand for any assistance throughout, but in a lovely discreet manner that didn't invade your holiday or make you feel like you were being watched! They were so helpful though, bringing extra chairs down to the outdoor pool area when they could see we were all sat on the grass (it was the first weekend of the outdoor area being open so I expect they would usually have more loungers and seating around the pool in summer, but we weren't expecting such good weather in May!). We had asked to come in and decorate and Emma kept us updated on the day as to when the House was clean and ready for decorating, and she was also very helpful in ensuring the bed configurations, and suggesting local caterers etc in the run-up to our weekend.

The main house was stunning; the facade of the building made for some great photos of us at our 'Country Manor' and the interior was finished to a high-end luxury level, with modern bathrooms and facilities working harmoniously with the history of the rooms and some more antique furniture! The grand dining room had more than enough space for 16 adults to dine one evening, and the kitchen was unbelievably well stocked with crockery, glasses, cake stands, trays, cooking utensils, mixing bowls, serving dishes, cling film/ foil/ binbags/ cloths and washing up liquid - they've thought of everything! This continued everywhere we looked, with toiletries in all of the bathrooms, towels, bathrobes, slippers, even tennis equipment and body boards/windbreaks for people to borrow - amazing!

Up at the brand new Retreat we were wowed once again; walking in was incredible, with panoramic countryside views of the Valley - stunning! The open plan living space made for a great entertaining area and we used this one evening for playing family games. The Retreat was much more modern in style (100% up my street, but the main house was perfect for my Nan, cousins, and uncle who prefer that style!) with 3 of the 4 bedrooms equipped with an en-suite, and the final had use of the 'family bathroom' to their selves! Only thing we found was the water tank at the new retreat only seemed to have enough water for 4 people to shower before we had to put the immersion on and wait for it to reheat. The showers are amazing rain showers with separate movable head so I'm sure they use A LOT of water(!) but it was a minor inconvenience to be waiting your turn for a shower when we all needed to be ready for a certain time due to plans we had made... I have to say though, the shower was SO worth the wait XD

There seems to be an issue with flies at the Retreat, not sure how they can resolve this though! But they stayed up high in the main living area by the windows, so they didn't bother us...

Communal facilities were incredible, with a great play area for he children, soft play, indoor pool with sauna and steam room, communal jacuzzi, outdoor swimming pool, and tennis courts! We LOVED just strolling from one area to the next to make use of everything. All were very well maintained and we couldn't fault anything.

I don't think we could have found a better place to take the family to celebrate this special birthday! Despite the slightly nerve-wracking drive down country lanes to reach the Estate, it was more than worth it :-) I have to say that generally, after a weekend with 20 people you are usually more than ready to leave, but we were all desperate to stay longer, having enjoyed ourselves so much, and I think this is down to the beauty of the place, and the relaxed and peaceful atmosphere!

Thank you Gitcome for a special place to celebrate! We hope we can return!


Rachel from stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 3 nights in May 2019


Wonderful accommodation in beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A luxurious property offering everything you could expect to make your stay a memorable and pleasurable experience. The location is totally peaceful with wonderful Devon views over farmland, stretching to Dartmoor in the distance. The house is a pleasure too, that exceeded all our expectations, luxuriously fitted throughout with very comfortable beds, well appointed bathrooms, wonderful living room, well appointed kitchen etc etc. We have already booked our return visit.

Phil from Belbins, stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 7 nights in May 2019


Excellent Stay at the Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week at the simply stunning property that is the Retreat! Lovely grounds and so much to do - an amazing break

Guest from London stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 7 nights in April 2019


A stylish, magical place to enjoy a relaxing break, with breathtaking views of the Devon countryside

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gitcombe Retreat is aptly named as a new, beautiful oak framed, property recently built high up amongst the complex of luxurious stone holiday cottages at Gitcombe House in Devon’s South Hams. The countryside views from the property are stunning.
The four bedroom barn has been tastefully furnished throughout with comfortable beds, stylish bath or shower rooms,and meticulous attention to detail to give a peaceful, luxurious place in which to relax. The large open plan Living area is filled with light from the full glazing on two sides leading out on to a wrap around terrace, and the magnificent high vaulted ceiling. It has a fully fitted well equiped Kitchen, and large relaxing Dining area as well as comfortable sofas and a log stove.
It has its own private hot tub, and additional use of the on site indoor swimming pool, tennis courts, large hot tub, and outdoor summer swimming pool area.
Don’t miss the opportunity to visit this magical place. It is a gem. There is much to enjoy in the area, for adults and children.
The local Riverford Organics deliver, as do Waitrose and Sainsbury’s stores.


Jan from Pangbourne stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 5 nights in April 2019


Beautiful house; say no more.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the privilege of staying in the retreat house, which was the newly refurbished. Absolutely amazing decor to each room. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. And peter the owner was very helpful, and even enjoyed dinner with us.

Thankyou :)


Elly from stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 1 nights in March 2019


Luxury accommodation in Idlyic location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gitcombe estate is a beautiful collection of luxury cottages, ranging in sizes to meet all requirements. I stayed in the new cottage which is totally gorgeous. large open living space is upstairs to allow people to see the glorious views over the countryside. There is also a large en-suite bedroom on the upper floor which caters for anyone with disabilities. All equipment in the cottage is of the highest quality and easy to use. Under floor heating throughout keeps the cottage warm. The bedrooms downstairs are large with plenty of space for clothes etc. The new cottage benefits from its own hot tub outside the bedrooms allowing guests easy access to use it. Across the way is the excellent spa facility with large indoor heated pool, outside hot tub and inside there is a sauna and steam room. Also in the building is a soft play room for young children and a table football game for older ones and adults. The estate is ideally located between Totnes and Dartmouth, both having supermarkets and many shops to supply your self catering experience.

Jeremy from stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 3 nights in March 2019


A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Retreat at Gitcombe is a beautifully designed house, with fantastic views across the neighbouring countryside and the lovely sense of a secluded get-away. It's been furnished and decorated to a very high standard too. We also loved all the other facilities, especially the tennis court, basketball and swimming pool. All-in-all a great place to stay. We'll be back!

Matthew from Llandaff stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 3 nights in March 2019


What a beauty!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We feel so lucky to have had the opportunity to stay in this beautiful new retreat - serious luxury where you'll want for nothing! Family friendly, sophisticated and relaxing. The very best of self-catering in South Devon.

Sharon from Hartley stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 1 nights in February 2019


Perfect mini-break

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The new Gitcombe Retreat is the most spectacular addition to this already wonderful place. Luxurious comfort in the heart of the countryside with all you need for a fabulous family time at your fingertips: green fields, far-reaching views, indoor pool, outdoor pool, hot tub with a view (not to mention the private hot tub with multi-coloured lights...), tennis court, basketball net, walks, pub within walking distance, Dartmouth just 15 minutes away, beaches within easy reach...I could go on. The new house is a triumph and the most blissful place to get away from it all. Thank you so much - we'll be back!

Charlotte from stayed at Gitcombe Retreat for 3 nights in December 2018