FB Twitter

Burrator

Burrator

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


As the Gitcombe Estate appears through the dense trees that border its long drive, it’s clear you've arrived somewhere very special. The setting, in its own private valley, is both magical and instantly relaxing with beautiful rural views stretching as far as the eye can see. Recently listed in The Times' 50 Best Cottages for Summer feature, the cottages themselves are stylish, luxurious, and, despite their high level of sophistication, wonderfully child-friendly. The location is pretty special too being less than five miles from the bistros and boutiques of the yachting town of Dartmouth and roughly the same to the award-winning and beautiful bay at Blackpool Sands. The eight stylish cottages boast luxurious bathrooms and designer kitchens and share facilities that could rival a five star hotel with an elegant pool house complete with indoor heated pool, Klafs sauna and steam rooms, outdoor sundeck with hot tub, outdoor pool, tennis courts and pre-bookable beauty treatments. Gitcombe is as enchanting for kids as it is for their parents thanks to the carved wooden playground, indoor soft play room and opportunity to play spot the moo cow across the valley whilst splashing about in the outdoor hot tub!

Accommodation Overview:

Burrator, and its neighbours Sheepstor and Maristow, sleeps 6+ infant, with one double bedroom with king size bed, one twin and one children’s bedroom, with L shaped cabin beds. All have 'upside-down' designs to maximise their stunning views. They boast light and airy vaulted ceilings, pale wood floors and underfloor heating. Their open plan living, dining areas have TV, Freeview, DVD/CD and cosy log burner. The others (linked via button on bottom of grey box, right) have French doors to enclosed roof terrace with wooden table and chairs plus charcoal BBQ and stunning views over grounds and surrounding countryside, but Maristow benefits from both a small Juliet style balcony in living area and a furnished patio opening from the ground floor twin bedroom, with open access to the grounds. All have sleek, well equipped kitchen areas with granite work tops, stainless steel American style fridge/freezers, Miele dishwaters, Miele washer-driers, microwave and Fisher Paykel oven and hobs. Contemporary family bathrooms and an ensuite (to the twin room in Maristow) with limestone floors. Help yourself log and kindling wood store.





Short breaks of 3-4 nights are available between Sept-May annual, with shorter stays (min 2nts) and flexible arrival days accommodated Nov-Mid March. See prices tab for more details and use 'Ask the Owner a Question' under 'Owners' tab for special requests.

PLEASE NOTE: Gitcombe provides un-assembled ‘pop up’ style travel cots, so please be aware that you will need to erect the cot before bedtime.

Family Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful holiday cottages with excellent facilities in a stunning location. Friendly owners/staff who were very patient with my questions and breakages!! It was ideal as we had my 2 year old grandson who loved the pools. Would definitely recommend and love to return. Thank you.

Deborah from Cheltenham stayed at Burrator for 9 nights in September 2020


Perfect escape

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant cottage in stunning countryside with great facilities - we all enjoyed the indoor & outdoor pools, the views from the hot tub & the tennis court & play area were excellent. Beautiful beaches not too far & the scenery on the way is picture perfect. Nearby pubs/restaurants & villages well worth visiting - excellent recommendations from our hosts! We’ll be back!

Gabrielle from Thursley stayed at Burrator for 5 nights in August 2020


Recent stay at Gitcombe

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Gitcombe recently. There is so much to do at the house - the wonderful pools, playground and tennis court kept the children entertained. There are great walks to the nearby pubs where we did crabbing. It’s perfectly located for the beach and the surrounding towns. The only reason I didn’t give top marks on all fronts was because the en suite shower was broken and there was no hot water. But luckily we could use my brothers who was staying in the next door cottage - not ideal but not the end of the world. The Gitcombe team went over and above to try and solve the problem and were brilliant. That bathroom probably just needs re-doing! We would definitely stay again. Loved it all.

Guest from Nassington Road, stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in August 2020


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Gitcombe for our family holiday. The facilities are brilliant and the cottages are very family friendly. The location is rural and inland but a short drive to some beautiful beaches.

Laura from Marlow stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in July 2020


A week's stay over Christmas in Burrator, Gitcombe Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding from start to finish. Easy to book, nothing was too much trouble for Emma, who even got in touch before we came to see whether we needed any last minute help or information. We got a lovely welcome from Peter after we arrived, to find the cottage nicely decorated with a Christmas tree.
The cottage was spotless and well appointed. The appliances are all in good order and top end. Although the kitchen and living room are open plan, the appliances are not too loud to disturb you. There was everything we needed, even to cook Christmas lunch. The bedrooms and bathrooms are immaculate.
As it was Christmas we couldn't take advantage of all the facilities as we have done when we've stayed previously in the summer, but we used the lovely swimming pool, and the hot tub/steam room/sauna were up and running.
Gitcombe is well placed in the local area. There's a Sainsburys and M&S in Dartmouth. A lovely beach (Blackpool Sands) a short drive away which has a friendly welcoming cafe, serving vegan options. Dartmouth also has the brilliant Rockfish (even though a seafood restuarant, also has vegan options). And not to forget the Hunters Lodge Inn in Cornworthy, where you can be sure of a warm welcome, good wine and great food.
A perfect stay. We love Gitcombe and can't recommend it enough to anyone wanting to visit the South Hams/Devon. It'll always be the place we think of for summer holidays for our young family.


Guest from Newmarket stayed at Burrator for 8 nights in December 2019


perfect short break

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect short break for 3 generations! Idyllically situated.Lots to do for 3 and 5 year olds and good walks for grandpa.

Pat from Bromsgrove stayed at Burrator for 5 nights in May 2019


Wonderful family break

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a couple of nights in Burrator over the Easter long weekend and we enjoyed a relaxing and fun filled stay. The facilities on the property are exceptional, my children loved running and playing in the beautiful grounds and they especially enjoyed spending time in the indoor swimming pool. Gitcombe is in a gorgeous part of Devon and there is so much to do and see close by. Peter and Wilson were very friendly hosts and Emma was very accommodating and helpful with booking. We will definitely be back!

Sarah from London stayed at Burrator for 2 nights in April 2019


Heaven

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Gorgeous week in devon countryside.
Coytage was perfect for the 4 of us to enjoy Gitcombe. Paraffin heaters were required fir a few nights as bedrooms were very cold but host was on hand to deliver. Cosy if 6 were staying.
Will be going back as delightful house in a beautiful relaxed setting ideal holiday conditions


John from Four Oaks stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in October 2018


Beautiful Burrator!

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many thanks for a marvellous short break at Gitcombe! Burrator is a gorgeous property in a peaceful setting, and was perfectly placed for our planned walks in and around the South Hams District. It was great to come back to an indulgent bit of luxury after a day spent on foot, and relax while eating out on the balcony.

Philip from stayed at Burrator for 2 nights in September 2018


A wonderful location for a family holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just enjoyed a week long, three generation family holiday at Gitcombe. Something for everyone here - comfortable, stylish and well equipped accommodation, Idyllic setting and excellent facilities. The indoor pool complex is of 5 star quality and scruptiously clean; the tennis court, outdoor pool and children’s play area of a similar high standard. The ‘help yourself shed’ full of beach paraphernalia to borrow, from windbreaks to crab lines was a very nice touch.
During our stay the other guests were predominantly families with children aged 11 and under who provided a fund of playmates for our two small grand daughters and pleasant conversation for us adults.
Overall it is difficult to fault our Gitcombe experience. Two minor comments - in Burrator we found the internet slow and had no mobile telephone signal. Also the soundproofing between floors somehow amplified sound - so a quiet conversation in the sitting room sounded much louder in the chikdren’s bedroom below. Luckily we have two sound sleepers so once they were asleep it wasn’t a problem and didn’t spoil our holiday in any way.


Alison from Leeds stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in August 2018


Ideal for families

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good variety of activity on site and in reality little reason to leave if you wanted to chill. Very hilly locally so runs and bike rides are hard core. Owners really care, bottle of wine is a nice touch

Richard from Fairford stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in July 2018


Heaven in Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
simply wonderful - we two grandparents, daughter and son in law, two granddaughters loved it.
highly recommended


Malcolm from Dorking stayed at Burrator for 7 nights in July 2018