FB Twitter

Treowen

Treowen

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 59 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


C17 Manor house in extensive private garden with breathtaking views, available for self-catering holidays and weddings. 12 bedrooms, 5 reception rooms. Panelled rooms and open fires - step back into the 17th century for an unforgettable experience.

Another wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Nov 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks to John again for a wonderful weekend at Treowen. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Rachael from Minster Lovell stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in November 2017


A unique and fantastic house!

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely brilliant mansion house, perfect for large groups of people. I had my 30th, 40th & recently 50th birthday party here. The house is not in perfect order but it is the most stunning house surrounded by beautiful gardens and landscapes.

Treowen is quirky, full of character and on an immense scale, love the huge oak staircase & second spiral staircase along with priest holes! Huge rooms capable of entertaining on a huge scale!



Ann-Marie from Hassocks stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in November 2017


Wonderful period house, with a lot of love put into it

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was an absolute pleasure to stay at Treowen, a beautiful house with real character. The owners have put a lot of work into making sure that this building is comfortable, that the decor is in keeping with the age of the property and the care and effort that has gone into maintaining the grounds is really obvious. The owners have a real gem on their hands.

Terry from Chepstow stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in October 2017


A wonderful place

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a friend's 30th Birthday and it was just amazing. Everyone had a brilliant time and the surroundings are beautiful, as is the house.

Fiona from Bristol stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in September 2017


A week in Wales - every year!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been staying at Treowen every summer for over 10 years, in a group of 30+ people. Originally with babies and toddlers, now with teenagers. We have all come to love the house as our own, the lawns, croquet, banquets, BBQ night, all the country walks, cycling and even swimming in the lake. And we all love the location, close to the Forest of Dean to the east, Raglan and Wales to the west and Monmouth for supplies and river trips. Every year we discover more to explore. We don't ever want to stop enjoying the magic of Treowen.

Simon from Wadhurst stayed at Treowen for 7 nights in August 2017


A tranquil, spacious and elegant mansion with a comfortable and homely atmosphere

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Aro gTér Buddhist group have been returning to Treowen for week long retreats for several years. It is a wonderful venue with elegant and comfortable rooms, peaceful and beautiful gardens with plenty of space for children to roam freely and endless rolling hills surrounding the house. There are several huge reception rooms with the possibility of log fires so a homely, cosy atmosphere is easily created on chilly evenings. The owners are most helpful and do everything they can to ensure we have all we need for a successful stay. I would recommend Treowen to anyone wanting a peaceful week with family or friends.

Thrinle from Bristol stayed at Treowen for 7 nights in July 2017


Great times in a great venue!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our extended family has gathered every two years for many years but rarely, if ever, at the same venue. I suspect we may have found one we will come back to. With over 40 turning out this time, it was unanimous that we want to return to Treowen in 2019. A truly memorable setting - beautiful grounds and a house which is unique - and all in very good order. It is not often that one will have the chance to venture into a priest hole, play games in the Long Drawing Room, celebrate in such a dining room, play table tennis in the Banqueting Hall......

We are very grateful to John for being such a great host, making sure we had everything we needed, being there in case and, at the same time, giving us the space we needed. Having the company of Woody, the retired collie was a bonus! From the youngest to the oldest, we had a truly great time - thank you to Treowen!


John from Warminster stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in August 2017


Summer at Treowen

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come to Treowen twice a year for the Wye Valley Chamber Music Festival. Treowen has become a home from home for the musicians during their stay and is the most wonderful, atmospheric backdrop for rehearsals, performances and relaxing. The owners are brilliant and always at hand to help. We look forward to returning again soon.

Jenny from stayed at Treowen for 7 nights in July 2017


A great place for a big group

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Treowen is ideal for large groups of people, including children. It has plenty of social spaces so groups can spread out and the grounds offer a great safe play space for younger visitors. The kitchen is well equipped and sociable, the dining room spacious and the Oak Room cosy. The Wheelock family are flexible and helpful and we had a wonderful stay.

Sally from Brighton stayed at Treowen for 7 nights in May 2017


Wedding Day

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful venue for a beautiful wedding. Very accommodating for your own ideas and personal touches for the big day which makes it even more special.

Edgar from Usk stayed at Treowen for 4 nights in May 2017


40th birthday

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just come back from a long weekend at Treowen for my 40th. What a fantastic location for a party! The grounds are immaculate, the house is beautiful with sll sorts of quirky nooks and crannies. Comfortably slept around 32 (I think) with otgers in camper vans and tents. A really stunning location for a get together, highly reccomended

Antonia from London stayed at Treowen for 4 nights in April 2017


Return Visit

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Treowen as we had such a wonderful time last year. And it didn't disappoint! Once again we were welcomed by John, and instantly made to feel at home.
There were 21 of us in total, and everybody had an amazing time: games in the Long Drawing Room; murder mystery in the Dining Room; NERF wars around the house; Zumba in the Banqueting Hall; and barbecues and fun in the garden.
We always come away wishing we could have spent longer there; we'll just have to make to with another return visit next year!


Judy from Leigh On Sea stayed at Treowen for 4 nights in April 2017


Absolutely amazing location for our wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic wedding day at Treowen. We stayed for a few days beforehand with friends and family which everybody loved. Our guests couldn't believe the house, garden and beautiful location. Treowen has such character and we loved the fact we could really make the day our own. John couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating, he really helped us to feel relaxed about our stay and the wedding day. We will have such great memories of log fires, beautiful views, four poster beds, candle lit dinners, sitting in the garden and exploring the house and grounds. We can't recommend Treowen highly enough, if you are considering staying here, try and visit if you can because the photos really can't do it justice.

Lucy from Bradford On Avon stayed at Treowen for 5 nights in April 2017


Ten out of ten on all accounts

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a review that offers a critical perspective then this unfortunately isn't it.

We hosted a large scale event for family and friends in March 2017 and the core of what made the weekend so special was this property. When you factor everything in (location in country, people able to sleep, look and style, etc.) Treowen really is "unrivalled in the Kingdom" in terms of value.

Our highlights:
- Style - They say pictures don't do a property justice but this place simply can't be expressed without a viewing. This is a huge old manor full of character that captivates the imagination - everything from the grand staircase and living room to the authentic detailing and colourful wallpaper left our guests open-mouthed
- Built for purpose - Many old buildings will be limited in their ability to cope with modern day needs for group holidays or events, but Treowen was 'old house with new needs' - toilets, showers, kitchen provisions all built for heavy use.
- The Wheelocks - John & Dick clearly understand the how people want to use their property when renting. They were there for anything we needed, yet at the same time let us completely get on with doing our own thing for the weekend which really made the house feel like 'ours' for the event.

From a family trip with a twist, to a gathering or celebration of any kind with a larger group, it's hard to see how this house and all its provisions are anything short of perfect. We are currently planning which weekend to return next year.

What an absolute gem!
Thank you for having us!!


Sam from St Albans stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in March 2017


A 40th weekend to remember!

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From Friday night chorizo stew and rugby, a joint 40th Party Saturday night with band and hog roast, to a 3 course Sunday lunch in the banqueting hall for 42 - what a weekend!!

Having booked before for our wedding 10 years ago we knew the venue would be perfect for a large gathering of friends and family. The house offers everything you need to bring large groups together but also the space for privacy should you need it. You have the flexibility to bring in your own caterers and provide your own drinks with no corkage charge. A very cost efficient way to hold a party to remember.

Over the weekend we had varying numbers staying each night but we easily and comfortably accommodated 35 across the 12 bedrooms with little ones catered for on the campbeds provided. Not that we saw much of the children who had a huge house to explore and fields to run around.

The kitchen offered everything we needed to cater for large numbers and hiring in additional crockery and glasses for the Saturday night cut down on the clearing up! The highlight of course was the industrial dishwasher - it works on a 7 minute cycle!

Sunday night saw just 3 families remaining to enjoy the remainder of the cheese board and the log fire.

We would highly recommend this to anyone looking to bring a large family or group of friends together - seeing 10 people sat around the kitchen table Sunday morning, some of whom had only met the day before, busily peeling carrots and potatoes will stay will me for years to come!

Thank you John, Dick and Treowen for welcoming us.

Kate and Ali.


Kate from Newport stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in March 2017


Our Wedding Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say , the whole weekend was so wonderful from beginning to end, As soon as we saw Treowen we knew it would work for us. The ambience was perfect for two family's getting to know each other and our friends .
The day of the Wedding was a little rainy but the photos were very good in the house.
Plenty of space and nooks and crannies for people to rest or chat and loved playing Table tennis, and pool.
The fires were all set out with wood and kindling , the bar and kitchen where great places for people to congregate .
No one wanted the weekend to end !


Helen Wiltshire And Kate Phipps from Barry stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in February 2017


A 70th birthday to remember (when my wife lost her heart to Treowen)

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took Treowen for a long weekend and invited family and friends to stay and to visit. 22 stayed and 36 more came daily. 58 people including 10 children and youngsters sat down to eat and drink over two days. The house was filled with life and we had a wonderful time. Filling the house is the best thing you can do. We went in February and there was snow and high winds. The house is heated well but you also need pullovers for cold corners.

We were trying to find an excuse to go again!


Graham from Ross On Wye stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in February 2017


The perfect location for our Christmassy weekend wedding

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a blast at Treowen - it was the perfect venue for our wedding reception. We decked the place out in festive foliage and my wife fulfilled a childhood dream of being able to put up and decorate a 12ft Christmas tree! Everyone was commenting on how unique the place was. The fact that we could get in a day ahead meant we had time to decorate everywhere as we wanted and then have a chilled Friday night with our family and friends ahead of the big day itself. On Sunday too - we had bacon and eggs and everyone sat around catching up. It felt like a proper weekend wedding! Thanks to owners John and Dick for being so helpful and accommodating. We will definitely be coming back to Treowen one day with our mates to celebrate an anniversary!

Steffan from Cardiff stayed at Treowen for 4 nights in December 2016


The musicians always love visiting Treowen

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Same excellent warm welcome as always. Few houses in the area can put up with our complicated festival requirements, and Treowen delivered again.

Jenny from stayed at Treowen for 10 nights in January 2017


Ideal large party venue

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A fabulous venue for a large family party. Warm and cosy yet big enough and robust enough for children and teenagers! Stunning countryside, something for all ages, lovely sense of histiry too!.

Teresa from Malvern stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in January 2017


A big new year!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With 19 Adults and 14 kids, we knew we needed a big house to celebrate New Year together.
Luck was definitely on our side when we found Treowen and we have just returned from the best New Year for years!
The rooms are all enormous so although there were lots of us, we all had plenty of room and space to move around and socialise separately as well as together.
Big roaring fires, a big sociable kitchen table, scullery (temporary bar) and history galore - we're already planning when we can return!
A huge thank you to Dick and John, wonderful hosts who just let us get on with it - but came to the rescue when our disco smoke machine set off the fire alarm on the first night and when we ran out of logs on New Years Day!
We'll definitely be back and thank you for a wonderful stay!


Jen from Bristol stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in December 2016


Wedding at Treowen House 19th October 2016

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many of our wedding guests travelled hundreds/thousands of miles from abroad to be with us on our special day and we wanted to provide them with a once in a lifetime experience and showcase british and welsh culture. We couldn't have made a better choice, Treowen House left our guests gaping!
In addition to the building itself, the attention to detail is incredible, all the clocks work, the 2 pianos are tuned and several of the big fireplaces can be used, with firewood provided. The bathroom/toilets are very clean and modern, hot water is hot the moment one opens the taps. Our caterers were very happy with the kitchen.
During the wedding celebrations, having several rooms available was great, as guests would did not wish to dance or eat could go to quieter rooms to chat or play board games by the fire.
In addition, by getting married on a week day and in low season, we got use of the venue for 4 days at a reasonable price. We would recommend Treowen House without hesitation.


Anne-Catherine from Cardiff stayed at Treowen for 4 nights in October 2016


Brilliant wedding weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Treowen was a wonderful place to celebrate our early autumn wedding - from the moment we first looked around the property John and Dick were so helpful and answered all our questions quickly and without any fuss. Our guests said what a beautiful and special building it was, yet with a real homely feel. The grounds are stunning and well kept, and it was great to have both indoor and outdoor options for the ceremony and party. It's great to be able to have complete flexibility about suppliers and how the day will run, and Treowen offers great value when you consider the accommodation on offer and the fact that there are no silly extras like corkage charges. John even turned up on the day of the ceremony to ensure that all ran smoothly for us. We hope very much to be back at some point to celebrate some other occasion! Thank you very much for helping to make our wedding weekend everything we wanted it to be.

Alison from London stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in September 2016


SImply Brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Treowen was a fantastic place for our wedding; John and Dick Wheelock were amazingly helpful and it was useful to have Dick there for the duration of the day. They were professional and invaluable throughout the process.
Treowen is incredible value for money; it is as magnificent, interesting and well-located as venues three times the price!

Anyone would be lucky to wed at Treowen. Thank you Dick and John!

Emily and Ed


Emily from Bristol stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in September 2016


A weekend we'll all remember!

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent at FANTASTIC weekend at Treowen with friends and family celebrating my 40th birthday. 37 of stayed the full weekend with additional friends coming for the day & evening on Saturday for a party. Children and dogs loved the grounds and exploring the house too. Many of us enjoyed a walk though the woods, which are beautiful. Everyone from youngest (4mths) to oldest (65) had a great time! There's loads to do, we popped into Monmouth a couple of times or if you want a bit of a laze just enjoy the comfort of the house. A truly beautiful place to be.

Joanne from Tewkesbury stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in September 2016


Wheelock siblings annual get together

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The title's a bit of a give away isn't it. No bribery involved in writing this review. We've been coming back to Treowen for a week almost every summer for the last twenty years. This year's star addition was the smallest bathroom in the world on the attic floor and we're looking forward to roller skating in the long attic if it's ready by next summer. The knot garden on the back lawn is shaping up nicely and looks quite spectacular when viewed from the air (by drone) or from the north attic windows. The doves posed on the roof of the porch, the kingfisher flashed across the lake and the red kite paid a brief visit. We went canoeing down the Wye and played that game in which you have to pick up an ever shortening cereal packet with your teeth. Back next year.

Emma from Monmouth stayed at Treowen for 7 nights in August 2016


A wonderful place!

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were more than twenty of us staying at Treowen for a weekend.

We all had a fabulous time, the countryside is amazing, the house is spectacular - just perfect for a large break: roaring fires, sing-a-longs at the piano, drinks in the garden and dinner in a dining room that could seat us all with room to spare!


Sophie from Watford stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in June 2016


Wonderful setting for a wedding

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing place, perfect to accomodate large groups in a grand setting.
Fantastic venue for a wedding - Treowen can easily absorb large numbers without ever feeling crowded.
You'll want to go back every year...


Guest from LYDNEY stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in April 2016


40th birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having visited Treowen for a friend's wedding, and been so overwhelmed by how magnificent it was, I immediately booked it for my 40th birthday celebrations. It was more than I could have wished for. Everyone who came, 13 adults and 12 children, were so impressed with not only the house itself, but the set up of the facilities, the location and the friendliness and accommodating nature of the owners. We had such a fantastic time that I immediately booked again for next year. I would highly recommend Treowen to anyone, and am hopefully going to make our visits a yearly tradition.
Thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful house.


Judy from Leigh On Sea stayed at Treowen for 4 nights in April 2016


Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The second time we have hired Treowen for Birthday celebrations. A lovely time was had by all in this very special house and stunning gardens. John was extremely helpful and we were delighted with how warm and cosy Treowen felt. Many thanks to all.

Jo from Monmouth stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in March 2016


We love this house

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our ninth bi-annual family reunion at this house, Richard and Dick are helpful and friendly and easy to make arrangements with. The house is enormous, we say "built by an architect who had only built castles before" to try to give an idea of the scale of the rooms and the walls etc. It is comfortable and not smart, which helps us all feel at home and not too precious and frightened when the children were younger. The kitchen is huge with a 6-ring powerful gas cooker and plenty of large pans, an enormous kitchen table vast double sink and industrial dishwasher great for doing loads of dishes fast-all set up for catering for large numbers sociably as people drift in to make a cup of tea etc.
There is a wonderful oak-panelled room with glorious log fire for sociable evenings, a vast dining room with two long tables for sociable eating, a games room with ping-pong, a more formal vast Drawing room with Grand piano, ideal for informal concerts, jigsaws in the day time, playing board games etc, a huge staircase, bigger than several small houses, and another spiral staircase for children to chase up and down should it ever rain (well it is Wales) talking of which the location is splendid for mountain biking, walking whether local potters on the very quiet roads, walks for 1-2 hours in local fields and woods, or longer walks in the Black Mountains etc.


Katherine from Spurstow stayed at Treowen for 7 nights in March 2016


Amazing, quirky house

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
30 of us went for a Friday and Saturday night to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We had a fantastic time and appreciated being able to stay in such a historic house, full of character and charm and surrounded by grounds to explore and walks through woods to enjoy.
The table tennis and pool tables were well used. We ate in the dining hall both nights, by candlelight, and had a roaring fire while we played "Werewolves". We squashed into the Priest Hole (not all at once!). We laughed and sang and danced and partied and ate and drank and generally had a thoroughly good time.
Great place to go, wonderful place for a celebration, highly recommended and we'd love to go again!


Cheryl from Cardiff stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in March 2016


A beautiful weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired Treown for the weekend to celebrate my birthday. Friends and family stayed in the beautiful rooms for the weekend and further guests joined us for a big party on the Saturday. The venue was just fantastic. Our guests danced in the banqueting room, ate hog roast in the dining room, enjoyed a wonderful open fire in the oak room and socialised in the bar. The children loved the little nursery room and could pop in and out of the party. The grounds were beautiful to wander around during the day and for an early Easter egg hunt for the little ones. We really could not have asked for more. A truly fantastic weekend in a beautiful setting.

Kirsty from Cheltenham stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in March 2016


Fantastic 50th birthday celebration, spent in majestic accomodation, & in fabulous country location

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Mar 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The dreaded but inevitable 50th birthday turned out to be one of the best times & experiences of my life. Treowen promised a lot for all ages and delivered on that ten fold, the guests were a mix of family & friends with the youngest being just 1 and the eldest 86. We all gathered on a cold, dark and damp Friday eve in late January for a weekend of eating, drinking, exploring, walking, shopping, quizes and general all round entertainment, where all that and more was acheived, and I am pleased to say Treowen was lovely and warm, the rain stayed away and even the sun made an appearance too. The children had a ball playing everywhere with their light sabres, nerf guns and walkie talkies as well as on the complimentary pool and table tennis tables and esp hiding in the priests hole & how refreshing it was to hear their constant laughter and see the line up of muddy wellies instead of seeing their heads burried in an I-pad game. Whether you visit Treowen for a summer wedding (which I've had the pleasure of ) or a longer stay at any time of year you wont be dissapointed. This house is fabulous and large but also cosy with log burning fires and facilities to make your stay a home from home and it gives you lovely memories to treasure for ever - priceless

Sandra from Cardiff stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in January 2016


We had a great time!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time staying at Treowen and are booking again for next year, making it our third visit. It's a great place for all ages with fabulous views and countryside all around. Highly recommended!

Beth from St Albans stayed at Treowen for 4 nights in February 2016


Treowen is a special place for any occasion, a splendid house in a beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Treowen is our favourite place for friends and family to get together and as a result we return on a regular basis. Whether for a relaxing family week, a wedding or big occasion, Treowen is a special place.The setting is spectacular with excellent access for walks and mountain biking or just admiring the splendid views or walking around the garden. The kitchen is well equipped for catering for large groups with a catering size oven and dishwasher and plenty of fridge space.We love to be able to seat 30 people in the dining room. The house offers plenty of space for children and adults to relax in front of a roaring fire or entertain in the great hall. A highlight are our musical evenings in the long drawing room and croquet on the lawn. On our return we cannot wait to see what upkeep and additions the family have made, they manage to consistently maintain and improve the accommodation and grounds without losing the special charm of the place. Its too good to tell others about, we don't want it to become too popular! It is a place to switch off and relax away from the stresses of modern life.
The drying wracks are really useful after a long wet walk or muddy bike ride. The new bar area is a great addition. The parking solution is ideal.The toaster seems to be unreliable now. You need more large chopping boards. The additional shower on the top floor is very welcome.
Just a few suggestions: The house was warm overall but the draughts along the floor in the oak room could be improved by filling the gaps from underneath in the cellar, especially in front of the fire where the newspapers will actually move if put on the floor! The sofas are large and comfy if a little tatty in places. You could do with one small round table in the Oak room in a corner for tray of tea etc. It is also difficult to read in the evening unless you are directly under one of the two lamps, the lighting needs improving - maybe a couple of small lamps on a corner table next to the door and left of the fire place.


Phillipa from Malvern stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in February 2016


My new favourite place.

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for a weekend gathering of friends for my 30th birthday.
Treowen is a dream!!!
Photos on the website definitely don't do it justice; it's truly spectacular!
Had a wonderful stay, and a great party, catered for by Charlotte Roskill (link on Treowen website)... Truly couldn't have been better.
Will be back for my 31st!!


Mary from London stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in February 2016


Christmas at Treowen

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2015 saw our tenth Christmas at Treowen so we were well acquainted with the house and the area. Our first stay was in 1996 when the senior element consisted of 5 people, two couples and one widower. The extended family was 7 children of those 5 people who between them then had only three young children, the eldest of whom was 3 and the youngest 3 months and our total number was 19. Over the years since 1996 boyfriends and girlfriends of the original 7 children turned up and in time became their husbands and wives and partners. Inevitably the number of grandchildren increased and at Christmas 2015 they totalled 15 and the total extended family consisted of 34 people, 3 of whom were unable to be with us. The older grandchildren are now at university and others are approaching that stage of life.

This probably explains why, if it is ever suggestion that we might not return to Treowen every other Christmas, there is near mutiny from a number of young people who have grown up knowing nothing else. That feeling seems to be shared by the older element too.


Richard from OXTED stayed at Treowen for 7 nights in December 2015


A pleasant stay in a wonderful house

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Nov 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the house exceeded our expectations. The kitchen was perfect for our needs with all the utilities for our large group and Christmas dinner. The beds were comfortable, and it was great to make fires in the dinning room and sitting room. All in all we were comfortable and happy.

We have a small suggestion, you might benefit from updating the photos on your website. The house was much more comfortable and better equipped than we expected, we felt the photos didn't do it justice.

Thank you for having us.


Faye from Peterborough stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in November 2015


A marvellous property

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Treowen was a perfect location for our 1920s murder mystery weekend. The property is beautifully furnished in a period style, with antique furniture everywhere, and all the rooms are elegant and spacious. The kitchen is well-equipped and we were impressed by how warm the house was for a chilly weekend in November.


Jenny from Sutton Coldfield stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in November 2015


A Weekend Away with Friends

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I should add the weather was awful, but the house was fantastic. Huge kitchen even made cooking for 24 sociable. A soft chair in the bedrooms would be good. We all enjoyed exploring and have already booked for next year. Thanks very much.

Rachael from Minster Lovell stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in November 2015


Our annual family get together

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used Treowen for a family get together, 35 of us in all spanning 3 generations. the house was cosy, we could all sit down to a meal together. I really enjoyed having the heated trolly to keep all the food warm and the industrial dish washer was a bonus with all those plates to wash. The cooker did take a bit of getting used to but we got there in the end. The beds were comfortable. I had told everyone to bring plenty of warm clothes but they were not needed as the house was so warm and cosy all weekend. The children enjoyed playing in the grounds, spending time in the games room and they had an exciting time looking for and climbing into the priest hole. There was also plenty to do in the surrounding area. All in all a really good location for us to enjoy each others company.


Sally from Stourbridge stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in October 2015


Magical...

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Treowen is a magical place set in a peaceful surroundings. The house is the perfect for large groups and provides a wealth of opportunity for a range of activities from relaxing, to hide and seek, banqueting meals to afternoon tea around the kitchen table.

Elizabeth from Sheffield stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in October 2015


My 60th Birthday Party

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I hired Treowen for my 60th birthday party with 50 guests. We had held my daughters wedding here 7 years ago so were familiar with the house and grounds. However we were still blown away with the wonderful setting of beautiful gardens and countryside. The house itself offers perfect amenities for a party we had a lovely afternoon tea in the upstairs sitting room and a splendid dinner in the big main room downstairs with fabulous catering provided by Cafe Ascari (details provided on the Treowen website) and their brilliant staff. After fireworks outside there was music and dancing into the wee small hours while some made use of the downstairs sitting room and had a blazing log fire. The guests were all very comfortable in their rooms and there was plenty of space for the youngsters to sleep on camp beds that were provided. The large well equipped kitchen had plenty of use in preparing dinner for those arriving the night before the party and breakfast for people on Sunday. Treowen has an inspiring sense of history and offers something for everyone. I feel very privileged to have been able to hold my celebration there.

Anna from Cardiff stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in October 2015


Stag weekend at Treowen

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! What can I say, but what an incredible house. We were a large group of 28 and needed somewhere to accommodate all of us for a long weekend. The photo's of the house do not do it justice, it is huge. The group was a mix of all backgrounds, but without fault every single one could not believe we were staying in such an incredible and historic building. The facilities were excellent (games room, dining room, kitchen, bar area and more lounges, drawing rooms etc than you could need). The house really made the weekend. The location is great and there are loads of activities nearby Monmouth area to keep everyone entertained (Hart clay pigeon shooting and Bigwell fishery were first class). John and Dick Wheelock were a joy to deal with and so accommodating and friendly. If I have the opportunity to return for any reason or need to recommend a unique and special house for anything similar then Treowen House will be top of my list.

All in all, if you are considering Treowen House then just book it. It really is that good.

Thanks to John and Dick,

Mike and the rest of the Purdy stag rabble.



Michael from AYLESBURY stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in September 2015


We love Treowen

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Treowen is a home away from home.
It is not a pristine, museum quality show home which means that all the family can relax and enjoy this magnificent country house.
The kids waged Nerf gun battles on the top floors and the adults chilled out in front of a roaring fire at the opposite corner of the house. With lots to do both inside the house (table tennis, pool table and tons of space) and near by (cycling, walking, Wye Valley, Symonds Yat and the Forest of Dean) three generations were easy to keep amused.
Highly recommended


Guest from Hertford stayed at Treowen for 4 nights in August 2015


Weekend Reunion at Treowen

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of old friends (and some new) catching up in the most sublime of settings. Treowen is truly spectacular, and well equipped for feeding, watering and resting our hungry and thirsty number. Surely the start of a tradition after such a great weekend.



Guest from London stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in July 2015


Summer music-making paradise!

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having always been here in winter it was a joy to experience the place in summer, with the garden in full bloom. And like in winter, it was a wonderful setting for chamber music, the house and surroundings providing comfort and inspiration to all.

Guest from London stayed at Treowen for 7 nights in July 2015


Magical Wedding Venue

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Treowen is a fabulous venue for a Summer Wedding. We loved every minute of our stay. This beautiful old house has a magical atmosphere about it that charmed everyone that came to celebrate with us. The views of the Monmouthshire countryside are spectacular from the garden and we all sat outside late into the evening enjoying both the beautifully planted gardens and the fields beyond.

Both Richard and John Wheelock met us before the Wedding to help us plan the day and were so friendly and helpful.

I have to say that when the time came to leave Treowen we were more than a little sad to go and hope that we will come back one day for a weekend stay.



Guest from Pontypool stayed at Treowen for 4 nights in June 2015


A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Treowen for a 120th birthday weekend (two 60s in the same week) and had an even better time than we had expected. The house was well equipped and clean and utterly unique. It was a house that would have given us a great time whatever the weather. The weather happened to be good enough to play croquet in front of the house (watched by the sheep) and go for walks. But it would have worked equally well if really hot (you could imagine lying in the sun or lazing in the shade) or rainy (there was a TV, a table tennis and pool table). It was perfect. We are going to start saving up to go again right away.

Guest from Oxford stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in June 2015


A house with a heart

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sons wedding and family holiday. One of the best weeks away I've ever had. Thank you house for the fun laughter and homely feeling you provided!

Me-an from Barry stayed at Treowen for 7 nights in June 2015


A wonderful birthday venue!

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house and location were beautiful, and the rooms were amazing. Bedding, facilities etc all very clean. It was a great place for a house party because it was so relaxed and there was space for everyone to be together, and to have time alone. The grounds are lovely, great walking. I couldn't have imagined a better place for my 40th! Thank you!

Guest from Church Stretton stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in April 2015


A wonderful birthday venue!

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house and location were beautiful, and the rooms were amazing. Bedding, facilities etc all very clean. It was a great place for a house party because it was so relaxed and there was space for everyone to be together, and to have time alone. The grounds are lovely, great walking. I couldn't have imagined a better place for my 40th! Thank you!

Guest from Church Stretton stayed at Treowen for 3 nights in April 2015


Family stay

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again another excellent stay, we loved the addition of on-suites very discretly postioned.

The gounds are looking superb, and very safe for the children to play.


Guest from London stayed at Treowen for 4 nights in May 2015


A perfect 40th...

Review submitted on Tue, 12 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks to John and Dick Wheelock for giving us the perfect location for a 40th birthday celebration with old University friends. The house is magnificent, location simply stunning, and facilities and catering provisions ideal. We were a party of 30 with plenty of under-10s, who loved exploring the house, flying kites on the hill side, playing in the gardens, and singing by the fireside. We hope to return, as this was a weekend that is impossible to improve. Thank you immensely!

Guest from Bristol stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in May 2015


A magnificent yet cosy winter retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Treowen has been the home of the Wye Valley Chamber Music festival since 2008 and there is a reason we keep coming back. This amazing building is perfect for a winter retreat, with roaring log fires and plenty of space for everyone (and plenty of bathrooms!) The house can also easily cope with larger events, not just in terms of logistics but also giving them a special atmosphere. The location away from the town is wonderful and the surrounding countryside provides real inspiration for the musicians. From a more practical point of view, there is easy access to Monmouth and the owners couldn't have been more helpful, both in the run up to and during our stay. We look forward to basing our summer events there as well in the future!

Guest from stayed at Treowen for 10 nights in January 2015


Another great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Visited for the seventh? eighth? time in March 2015. Fiftieth birthday for friends and family and Treowen remains an ideal location. Why go anywhere else? House is atmospheric; kids and adults love it; fishing, walking, games, music, laughter, warmth, food - it has the lot. Mr Wheelock is an excellent owner - friendly, reliable and so proud of the house. So he should be. We will be back without doubt.

Guest from Heolherrig stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in March 2015


Country house weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (9 families) have been going to Treowen for a number of years and it is a very special house, it has been improved a lot over the years with better heating and bathroom facilities. It is an historic house with lots of interesting features, lovely log fires and games room, however we find the kitchen is the most used room! Everyone congregates there for food, chats, reading papers.Surrounded by beautiful countryside and near enough to Monmouth for shops and pubs etc.
Thoroughly recommend.


Guest from BRISTOL stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in March 2015


Treowen, a wonderful place

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot recommend Treowen enough, it's a truly amazing place. We have been staying there for 20 years, it never loses its appeal. We recently returned after an 8 year absence, returning friends all said we can't wait anther 8 years and those visiting for the first time were enthralled.

If it's a a break with friends, including or not including kids, go for it, you will not regret it. It's fixtures and fittings are not luxury, they are practical, robust for a country house set in acres of land. Whether it's wind, rain or shine there is always something to do.

Andy


Guest from BANSTEAD stayed at Treowen for 2 nights in February 2015