FB Twitter

Granary Cottage

Granary Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 99 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Granary Cottage. Your home from home.

Sandstone cottage excellence

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning cottage maintained to the highest standard, a very warm friendly welcome awaits.
Lots to do and see surrounded by beautiful countryside and picturesque villages. Highly recommend and will be visiting again




Cherished Holiday on Repeat

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love returning to the Sandstone Trail Cottages year after year. Granary cottage is perfect for a cosy reset. We made use of the log fire this time which was magical. Ray and Jackie are wonderful hosts, making us feel welcome. Great walks and Inch’s cider on tap at the re-opened Sandstone pub at the end of the lane. Highly recommend!



Our Fifth Visit says it All.

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandstone Trail Cottages are a little gem. They are situated in a beautiful forgotten part of England providing a perfect escape. Ray and Jackie are amazing hosts, nothing is too much trouble and always on hand. You will always find the cottages spotless on arrival. The cottage bedrooms are equipped with all the little luxuries you would expect in a top country house hotel. We always sleep so well in super king sized beds. Downstairs have everything you need for a great stay. There are some great pubs around with The Yew Tree at Bunbury and further afield The Boat at Erbistock recommended. The Sandstone Trail is very close and makes perfect walking from the cottages.
Thank you Ray and Jackie for making our stay so perfect and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you both later in the year.




Fab cottage & location

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2024
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time we've stayed in these cottages and tbis is something we never normally do. Ray and Jackie are excellent hosts and do everything they can to make their guests get the most out of their stay. We love the proximity to Sandstone trail with stunning views and the many walks and great pubs in the area.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean, modern, cosy and in a peaceful location. The fruit, eggs, milk and a fresh bowl of water for our dog was a lovely touch. Lots of information in the cottage for walks and things to do locally. We went for a walk to bickenhill which was on the doorstep. There is an enclosed garden which was ideal for our dog to have a wander around. We made use of the local pub which is a short walk away.

Jackie and Ray are so friendly and welcoming, and share lots of information about things to do and visit in the area.

We will definitely return as still lots of places to visit. Thank you Jackie and Ray for a lovely break away.




Ideally located for the Sandstone Trail

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Plenty of doorstep walking and even more within a short drive. When the dog was spooked by the local pheasant shoot our hosts drove us part of the way to the Pheasant Inn, so we could lunch and walk back to the cottage.
The village is very quiet but roads to the local area are very accessible.




Just perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit because we loved it so much the first time !!! Wonderful little cottage with superb local walks.Jackie has thought of everything and is a super host, a fabulous home from home - we will return without a doubt xx



Another stay at Sandstone Cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Sep 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodations are spotlessly clean, the area one of the most beautiful in Cheshire, and Jackie and Ray the most charming of hosts!



Granary Cottage visit

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Sandstone Cottages every time we have come to England and have very much enjoyed their hospitality and attention to detail.

Jackie and Ray are wonderful hosts!




Beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay what a perfect location and the walk up the hill from our cottage to see the sunset was beautiful. Highly recommend and we hope to go back



All the Comforts you need.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th time at Granary Cottage. We love it amazing hosts in Jackie and Ray. We always feel at home and immediately feel relaxed. The cottage has everything you need and more. It also has all the information you require to learn about the area, all the attractions and places to eat. Fantastic walking right from the door, especially the Sandstone Trail. Thank you Jackie and Ray for yet another great week, it’s just a pity about the weather!!!! See you again soon.



Wonderful stay in Granary Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot fault the property, the hosts and the lovely peaceful location. Will definitely look to return one day and would highly recommend to all my family and friends.



Our first holiday with our puppy

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If anyone is looking for a relaxing break away in a beautiful surroundings with a great choice of dog friendly pubs, cafes, walks, days out or even to just chill out with your favourites, then we can highly recommend Sandstone Trail Cottages. We’re nearing the end of our first trip away with Blue & we really have had a great time. We’ve stayed in Granary Cottage, although Bakers Cottage looked just as lovely. The owners, Jackie & Ray are so welcoming & friendly & you can truly feel the love & hard work that they’ve put into creating a picture perfect retreat that just welcomes you as soon as you arrive. Added extras, such as fresh eggs & flowers from their garden, towels & treats for your plus a beautiful cottage garden to relax in, all help to make this place feel extra special.
We were told that guests return often & we can certainly see why & will definitely be returning ourselves.




A lovely stay in Cheshire

Review submitted on Sat, 06 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted to spend a few nights in a nice, quiet, dog-friendly cottage and that is exactly what we got. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom very nicely the kitchen had all the amenities needed, it was just great and we would definitely stay again and enjoy some more of the Sandstone Trail.



Wonderful.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Mar 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot reccomend enough. This is our second stay in 3 months! Great hosts, wonderful location and a perfect cosy (dog friendly) cottage. Plenty of great walks on your doorstep too! Looking forward to our next stay!



Just perfect !!!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay in Granary Cottage,loved every minute and we will return again in the Summer.



A cosy cottage with fantastic walks

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We go back to this cottage time and time again. It’s always a wonderful break, with a log fire, fresh eggs, and endless walks. Jackie is so welcoming and looks after the property impeccably. The electric car charger is also a BIG win, as it adds extra relaxation to our stay.



Perfect cottage for two, a dog and an electric car!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a short break in Granary cottage and can't recommend it enough. It was sparkling clean with quality furnishings and bedding and every last detail had been attended to. The hosts were brilliant too. We'll be back!



Great place in lovely location

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with great walks on the doorstep or close by. Comfortable and clean. Note that check in is not until 5 and check out at 9.30.
Lovely meal at Chez Joules in Chester. Lots of local pubs to choose from.
Thank you




Highly Recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay based upon our first experience and I must say it continues to excel. Outstanding property in an excellent location that unusually also provides visitors with an electric vehicle charging point.
The property itself is immaculate, well equipped and very comfortable and the owner is very attentive to any needs.
We would thoroughly recommend this property for a two person stay and wouldn't hesitate to return for a third stay in the future.




Granary Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage that is exceptionally clean & fully equipped with everything that you need.
Very dog friendly & in a beautiful village with lovely dog walks from the door.
Jackie & Ray do everything that they can to welcome you & to ensure your stay is perfect.




Great Short Break

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean cottage, nice welcome all we needed for a break away.
What was particularly good is the owners don’t watch your every movement.
Fantastic spot for travelling around a lovely historical part of our country.
Thank you
Jackie and Ray




Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was everything we expected. We have stayed at Granary Cottage before and looked forward to coming back. The welcome we received was lovely with our every need catered for.



Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at Granary Cottage, we just love it. It is always spotlessly clean, very comfortable and welcoming. You couldn't ask for more. Jackie and Ray are fantastic hosts. Brown Knoll is a hidden gem, a very friendly village and great walking with The Sandstone Trail footpath running past. The trail is worth walking, as there are some fantastic views. There are also plenty of National Trust and Heritage sites Beeston and Chirk Castles to be recommended. We've already booked up for our next visit.



Great Short Break

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Met on arrival by Jackie who offered us a warm welcome. The cottage was gorgeous. Location stunning!



5th Stay at Sandstone Trail Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that this is our 5th stay says it all. We love the country life of Brown Knowl and its beautiful scenic surroundings. Our ratings show how much we approve of the cottage itself.



COSY, CLEAN COTTAGE WITH EVERYTHING WE COULD NEED.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for our second time at Granary Cottage and found it to be even more delightful than the first. The cottage is well equipped and Jackie and Ray seem to have thought of everything. It is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and has gorgeous views of the surrounding countryside.
Jackie and Ray go out of their way to make guests feel welcome, while at the same time, giving as much space as you need. There is always a friendly greeting (including from Callie, the dog), and time for a chat, with a genuine interest in guests shown.
We both slept like logs and I had the best few nights of sleep that I have done for years (the last time in the cottage, we had our elderly dog with us, so had a 3 AM walk each night!)
There are so many lovely walks to do close by and, at the end of a tiring day, we could come back to this gorgeous cottage, light the log burner and relax for the evening.
The garden is beautifully kept with a separate grassy area and furniture for each cottage.
We didn't want to leave and will definitely return.




Granary Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to Ray and Jackie for our wonderful stay at Granary Cottage. The cottage was warm and cosy, and very well equipped for all our needs, with the little gift of the fresh milk and eggs for our breakfast.

We had plethora of information on walks, attractions, in and around the local area, which was really useful.

We had an amazing stay, looking forward to visiting again soon.




Amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to the sandstone trail cottages with our 2 dogs. The cottage is amazing and has everything you need. The local walks are fantastic and the views from the sandstone trails are amazing. We had some lovely long walks and returned to the lovely wood burner. Thank you for having us again and hope to see you soon x



An enjoyable stay in Cheshire

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay in this property - which was well appointed. Ray and Jackie were most welcoming - the property is a credit to them



Perfect cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Granary Cottage and it didn’t disappoint again. The cottage is immaculate, everything you could possibly need is supplied from pots and pans to cling film and tin foil. The beds are very comfortable with lovely crisp white sheets. Towels are available and are a lovely quality, nice and fluffy. There are a variety of walks straight from the door and so many dog friendly pubs nearby. Your own private garden is a great bonus to sit and have a nice cuppa after a long walk. The dog was welcome to with his own little gift. Jake really appreciated those.
Thank you so much for an excellent holiday Jackie and Ray, we will be back.




Mrs Hallam

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottages in superbly quiet village setting,lots of places to visit within an hour's drive and excellent on site owners.



Excellent property!

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent holiday cottage. The owners had thought of everything. Spotlessly clean. Very comfortable bed. Great information provided on days out and local walks. No complaints from us whatsoever. Would definitely recommend.



Home from Home and More

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Granary Cottage and certainly won't be the last! Another week already booked. Ray and Jackie are the most perfect hosts and nothing is too much bother, fresh eggs, milk and fruit are provided on arrival and fresh vegetables were offered during the stay. They are both happy to chat and make you feel at home. This year we came back with friends who had Bakers Cottage and they were also charmed by the cottages and area.
The quality of accommodation is second to none with all the modern conveniences provided. The bedroom is large and airy with all the luxuries of an Exclusive Country House Hotel feel, including bathrobes and slippers. The gardens are beautifully landscaped and each individual garden are a joy to relax in.
There is so much to do around the cottage, from walking the Sandstone Trail to visiting historic houses and you're only a few miles away from Wales. All the information together with wipeable walking routes are provided.
Sandstone Trail Cottages are gems, set within beautiful, peaceful, unspoilt countryside.
Thank you Ray and Jackie for everything, we'll be back soon.




Great home for a break.

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great break here, the cottage was clean and tidy and had everything we needed, the location is perfect too with some great walks nearby and the hosts were really helpful and friendly. We will be booking again.



Lovely peaceful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners were very helpful and friendly. The cottage was nice and cosy, clean and comfortable and in a very quaint village. It was doggy friendly and our pooches we’re made to feel very welcome. The garden is a lovely little sun trap in the afternoon so we took advantage by having a bottle or two of wine one evening! For dog owners, there are lots of lovely walks right from the doorstep. Beware that they need to be on the lead as there are cattle on the trails but that’s just a small point. It was still lovely amd we felt so chilled out.



An excellent holiday Cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The welcome from Jackie was lovely, made us feel at home straight away. We had our own parking, electric charging and small garden opposite our cottage, perfect.
A extremely well appointed Cottage awaited us, fresh eggs and milk were provided, both very welcome.
Sandstone Trail Cottages are situated in a peaceful and pretty area. Information about the area was provided and maps for walking.




One week stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is spotless and fitted to a very high standard, we were just surprised to find the pretty garden was not attached to the house, so for dog owners there is no holiday lay in, having to put dogs on leads and walk across drive(as adjacent to road), whenever needed. Unfortunately our weather was not good, this meant shoes raincoats too ! I think this would be helpful to make clearer on website, as we wouldn’t have booked if we had realised.



Very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and clean with lovely views. The hosts Jackie and Ray are very welcoming and I have no hesitation in highly recommending Sandstone Trail Cottages.



Cosy cottage of high standard in peaceful scenic location

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a last minute break and we were so glad we booked it.
We were warmly welcomed by the owner who resides on site and were immediately impressed by the high standard of the outdoor facilities. The cottage itself is cosy and extremely well kitted out with everything you need. We were relieved to see the high standard of cleanliness particularly during this current Covid situation.
Although the weather was typically Autumnal we thoroughly enjoyed exploring the peaceful surroundings as well as some places further afield. Being on the sandstone trail was a bonus and the view from Bickerton hill was fabulous.
We would certainly recommend this cottage to anyone who loves peace and quiet and a good bit of walking, just don’t tell everyone as we’d like to go back sometime soon!!




What a little gem! This cottage and it’s owners need to be very proud of all their hard work. Could

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommended It was perfect for me and my husband and our dog Molly. Owners have worked hard to make it very comfortable, cosy and dog friendly. It was very clean and it’s comfort made you feel as was home from home. Even in these times of Covid Jackie and Ray had done all they could to make it safe. A little gem of a cottage.



Excellent little cottage with beautiful walks from the doorstep

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had great relaxing holiday in this perfect little cottage. It was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The dogs are made welcome too, little jar of treats and plenty of doggie towels. The doggie shower is an excellent idea perfect for cleaning muddy paws before taking the dog indoors. The washing machine in the shed for all doggie towels and blankets is a great idea and well appreciated.
The cottage was home from home with some added little extras. Some gorgeous walks straight from the door and the guide book in the cottage was a great help.
There are so many good dog friendly pubs close by and again all documented in the folder in the cottage.
We ate out 6 of our 7 nights and all but one pub was very good with extra precautions with covid 19 that we felt safe. The food was fantastic especially the Huxley Inn.
Thanks to Jackie and Ray perfect hosts even offered to lend a fleece to my husband!
Look forward to our next visit which hopefully will be soon.




Home from Home and more

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Granary Cottage is a gem, nestled away in a sleepy village away from the tourist trail, yet the countryside around is stunning. Ray and Jackie are the perfect hosts, you are made to feel so much at home. We found all the locals very welcoming as well, happy to chat away.
The cottage has everything you need and plus, including comprehensive information on the area on wash down laminated sheets and little extras such as an expresso machine. The cleanliness was outstanding which is so important during these times.
Despite heading off to the Lakes for a week, we were quite happy to stay put in our lovely cozy cottage and explore more of the area.
We're looking forward to returning soon. Thank you Ray and Jackie for making us feel so much at home.





Lovely break.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 8 days in Granary Cottage with our dog. Perfect location, perfect hosts, perfect accommodation.
Would definitely recommend .
Thank you Jackie and Ray.




Another perfect stay at Sandstone Trail Cottages

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay at the cottages but certainly won't be our last. We were made to feel very welcome by both the 2 legged and 4 legged hosts. Thank you to Jackie and Ray for making our stay as perfect as the first two - no mean feat in these trying times.



Relaxing cottage in wonderful surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rarely return to a cottage twice but this and the adjacent Baker's cottage are exceptions. We love the cottages; they are of a very high standard and the hosts,Jackie and Ray, are so helpful if you need advice about where to visit nearby. They have provided not only ideas for walks, places to eat but also day's out in a car. With Bickerton Hill so close, it is great to walk up and take in the views of Wales and even Liverpool on a clear day. It is a place we both will return to again.



Lovely break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very warm welcome when we arrived. The cottage was so clean and homely. The cottage and garden area is very well looked after. Can imagine it being so nice during the winter time too with an open fire.

Looking forward to coming back again soon.




Post Covid Lockdown Break

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back for our third visit with some concerns but the things put into place by Jackie and Ray soon alleviated any issues. We had a very warm welcome and we felt as though we were at home. Accommodation was spotless and beautiful gardens. Our dog Alice was made very welcome and called for their dog to come and play. Location is perfect, walks from the doorstep and Wales is only a 30 minute drive away. We would recommend a stay a Sandstone Trail Cottages.



Lovely cottage for a short break

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The hosts, Ray and Jackie, were lovely and the cottage was anti-bac'd before our arrival. All bed linen, including duvet and pillows, were new. The little touches of fresh flowers, eggs, milk, tea & coffee, doggies treats, etc, were really appreciated. Lovely little cottage with some lovely walks on the doorstep. Only downside for us was that the local pub has shut down so although there are some lovely pubs within a few miles, you needed to drive as the roads have no paths or streetlights.



Perfect location for the Sandstone Trail

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ray and Jackie made us feel very welcomed to their lovely cottage. For walking the Trail, or sightseeing in the area (Beeston Castle, Peckforton etc) it is perfectly located. The Granary had all the amenities we needed, including a dog shower and plenty of towels. The cottage is in a pretty and quiet hamlet, and we highly recommend the place to others.



Jackie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We were so pleased you enjoyed the walks and the cottage. Lovely to meet you both too.

A quiet place

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life this is the ideal or walk the Sandstone Trail this is the ideal place



A perfect short break

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There was only one downside to our stay in Sandstone Trail Cottages and that was self-imposed. We were only able to stay 3 days because of other commitments. We would have loved to have stayed MUCH longer. It was such a pleasure to spend time in this gorgeous little cottage and walk onto the Sandstone Trail from just outside the door. The village is quiet, pretty and rural and the walks were packed with interest and expansive views.
Jackie and Ray were on hand to welcome us when we arrived and were so very helpful throughout our stay. The cottage was beautifully clean, warm and cosy and there were so many thoughtful touches that enhanced our stay. There is lots more to do and see in the area that we didn't have time to explore this time. As with so many other guests, we can't wait to plan a return trip.




Comfortable, cosy, peaceful

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Granary cottage is comfy, cosy and peaceful. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and everything you may need is there. The eggs, milk, fruit and doggy snack were a lovely welcome. Ray and Jackie are friendly and the information folders they provide for walks and food are very helpful. We did some great walks and had brilliant meals at the Egerton Arms.



Fantastic find!

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Found this cottage by searching for a long weekend stay in Chester. What a find! Everything about it was fantastic! We have booked for a return visit for 3 nights over the Christmas period as we loved it so much



A lovely break

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Attention to detail perfect. Never stayed anywhere so clean. The touches of fresh eggs, fresh flowers and fruit marvellous. Jackie and Ray are fabulous hosts. There if you need them but not intrusive. Everything you need for that perfect break



Relaxing break in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quality accommodation in a lovely location for walking. Very dog friendly, the dog hose is such a good idea!
Hosts are friendly and helpful, but not intrusive - the only thing they couldn’t fix was the weather, but that didn’t matter or stop us walking parts of the Sandstone Trail and visiting other local attractions. We hope to return.




Wonderful little cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just enjoyed a wonderful relaxing week in this beautiful cottage. Jackie and Ray were very welcoming and had thought of everything, loved the slippers and dressing gowns.



The Perfect Sandstone Trail Sleepover

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This delightful cottage - one of two provide a perfect place for walking the Sandstone Trail or to explore the quiet lanes of south Cheshire or just to get away and have some quiet time. There is a second cottage next door so you could book the two together if you are more than two. Brown Knowl is a quiet village just two miles off from the Broxton roundabout on the A 41. Our host offered to drop us off at Kelsall where we finished the previous section of the walk. All the facilities are in excellent condition and there is a large Spar shop as well as eating places in Tattenhall. And there is the perk of some eggs for breakfast when they are available.



Perfect for short break to visit Chester

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property, very clean and comfortable. A real home from home. Quiet and pretty garden which gets the sun in the morning and afternoon. Peaceful village location in a rural setting, and just a few miles from Chester Park & Ride.
We had a great time and will stay for longer on our next visit. Highly recommended.




our fourth visit

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What more can we say but we have stayed at the cottages on four separate occasions and intend to go back in the not too distant future.



Amazing “feel like home” cottage and excellent hosts

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s really hard to explain how much we enjoy our stay at the sandstone trail cottages. We have now stayed three years in a row for our visit at Bolesworth Horse show and would never look anywhere else.

The cottages has an amazing feel like home atmosphere with everything you need from kitchen supplies, fire, tv hot shower, comfy bath and good beds. The cottages also is extremely clean and come with anything you would need to keep it that way.

We have always had our dog with us and he now recognises the cottage and loves it (probably knows about the free dog biscuits it comes with). With a fenced privet garden and warm water outside it couldn’t get more dog friendly.

Jackie and Ray and very helpful with everything we ever needed from help to make cakes to driving us to the show.

They now feel more like friends but also respectful for when we have had long days and want to go straight to bed.

Can’t wait to be back next year.

Love Josefin, Jack and Douglas.







Sandstone Trail excellence

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed a week at the Sandstone Trail Granary Cottage and were so pleased we were able to do very good walks from the cottage, without using the car. The cottage is very well-furnished and cosy and the super-king bed was very comfy.
The kitchen is well-equipped and we cooked in on several occasions. The welcome pack was very good with eggs from the owner’s hens.
There are no shops or pubs in the village, so a bit of planning is needed to get any shopping, Malpas and Tattenhall have small food shops (Coop, Spar, Nisa) and are quite close-by. Nantwich has a very large Sainsbury’s.
There are very good pubs within a few miles.




Lovely little cottage with lots to do in the area

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Granary cottage is situated on the sandstone trail with lots of different walks and amazing views across the valley.

Nicely presented with little touches like some free range eggs and it’s own well fenced garden in the sun. Our dog loved the garden and the long walks.

Good big bedroom and en-suite with
toiletries.

We really enjoyed our short break




A little gem

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Immaculate, comfortable, high quality, and superb location. Good pubs and walks abound. Easy access to Chester and other attractions. Owners very friendly and welcoming. Definitely a place to return to.



Short stay in between house move

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect cottage in a beautiful location. Everything you need and lovely attention to detail. Thank you Jackie and Ray.



An excellent stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely hosts, very accommodating. It's a beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. Very well set up for dogs and dog walks are readily available from the door step



Ray & Jackie replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. Glad you were happy with everything. Dogs happy too......Good stuff!

Absolutely spotless, gorgeous cosy cottage ideal for weekend break!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved staying here, wish I could have stay longer. Ray & Jackie and were so wonderful and welcoming, the fire was roaring when I arrived which was just the best feeling after driving four hours in the snow. There was a water bowl filled for my dog and the house was totally spotless and cosy. Ray provided a crate for my dog because I forgot one and was so accommodating allowing a slightly later check out as no one was coming after us. So much information re nearby walks and pubs. Such a gem and already looking for an excuse to go back and stay! Thank you :)



Ray & Jackie replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. It was our pleasure having you stay. 5 star guests. Thanks also for the clean, tidy and considerate way the cottage was left. A credit to you both (and Lola). We'd love to have you back here again. Have a good 2019.

Comfortable stay in well-equipped cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very clean and comfortable (especially comfy bed) with all the amenities we needed and helpful, friendly owners. Our dog was well provided for - the warm outside shower was great - and we enjoyed having walks from the doorstep.



Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can I say other than what a smashing spot. I am not a lover of hotels and always try to stay in self catering accomodationwhen I am on a short break. Arriving at Sandstone trail cottages is wonderful. The cottages are warm,cosy,welcoming and relaxing. Nothing is too much trouble for Jackie and Ray. There are also some lovely little touches like fresh eggs from their hens and when in season a rose from the garden.

The area is great for walking and is near enough to Chester for a nice shopping trip or theatre visit but allows you to get back to nature in 15-20 mins



I highly recommend sandstone trail cottages




Ray & Jackie replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sue, Thanks for leaving us the review. Great to hear you're returning for the third time in March. Happy New Year!

Stunning Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed and once again we had an exceptional time. The cottage is beautiful and the location allowed us to escape from the stresses of our normal day to day life’s and enjoy some excellent walks. Jackie and Ray are stunning hosts and we will be coming back soon.



Ray & Jackie replied more than 1 year ago
Hi both, As always it was a pleasure having you stay with us. Delighted to hear you will return again. Best of luck for 2019.

Home from home comforts

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful little cottage, very comfy and extremely well equipped. Located on the edge of Bickerton Hill which has wonderful walks and outstanding views of the surrounding countryside ideal for dog walks



Ray & Jackie Pearson replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jim and Kathy, Delighted to welcome you back for your fourth visit. Glad the weather was kind. Have a great Christmas season.

A stay of 6 days, and then a return visit of 4 days

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second and third stay at Sandstone Cottages.

Jackie and Ray are wonderful hosts and the ambiance is warm and welcoming from the moment you arrive until your departure date.

We have family close by and these cottages have proved to be a delight not only for us but for our children and grandchildren who pop by for a visit.

We highly recommend Sandstone Cottages, the views, the comfort and the excellent accommodations.




Lovely Cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit with our 2 bassets hounds. The cottage is lovely and very charming. Very clean and very well equipped. There are walks from your door step and the views are breathtaking. We will definitely be returning again.
Thank you for having us love Rachel,Neil, Heaven and Hugo :-)




Wonderful stay in the Cheshire countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a wonderful stay at this cottage for the weekend. The cottage is beautifully finished and immaculately clean. The kitchen is well equipped should you wish to cook. Only wish we could have stayed for a week!



Simply fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This our second stay and once again we absolutely loved it. The most friendly people you could ask for and a well equipped cottage in a great location.



An ablsolute gem of a place! The cottage is what we hoped for and more.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the Sanstone Trail Cottges as a last minute break. We couldn't believe how lucky we were when we arrived. The most beautiful cottage in stunning surroundings. Ray, Jackie and Amie (their gorgeus lab) couldn't have made us feel anymore welcome. Walks on our doorstep were a huge bonus as we brought Jess our beagle along too. Comfy beds, fresh flowers and eggs, dog treats, spotlessly clean, the list is endless. Can't recommend it highly enough. We will be visiting again soon!



Sandstone Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 20 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandstone cottage is a delightful place to stay. The cottage is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It's location is beautiful , with direct access to the sandstone ridge which offers stunning views from the top. It's also a good base if you wish to visit historic Chester.
Jackie and Ray are superb hosts and couldn't be more helpful.




A catch up with the Past

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was wonderful to re-visit Brown Knowl. I lived there in the 1940's when 'The Granary' was actually a granary. The village itself has changed very little and a change to the hustle and bustle of modern living. Horses and tractors pass through what is still a lane rather than lorries and cars.
The accommodation was first class. We loved the wood fire which made it so cosy and the beds were so comfortable. Just one minor niggle and that is that we would have liked the 2 piece suite to have had higher backs. We older people need support for our heads! The new pictures that had been put up brought back happy memories.
Ray and Jackie, our hosts, were so helpful and friendly and we loved the little touches such as the fresh eggs.
We are certainly hoping to return in the not too distant future.




Fantastic stay near Sandstone Trail

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed 2 days at this lovely cottage with our dog. Everything you might need is provided. Wonderful walks and pubs in the area. Owners very welcoming and chatty. Perhaps hooks for coats would be good (as it's walking country), but only a little thing with such a great little cottage. Highly recommended.



Delightful short break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Requirements for a short break in a cottage are spotlessly clean, well equipped, warm, comfortable and a good location. Granary Cottage easily ticked all these boxes and more. It is a delightful place to stay. Had the weather been better we would have enjoyed sitting out in the beautifully kept garden at the front. We would highly recommend this cottage.



Staying at Granary Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really loved the cottage.Hospitality and the warm welcome from Jackie & Ray excellent.ideal location for some great walks. We will be returning for a second visit.



A warm welcome received by all

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was warm and nicely furnished, with a lovely fireplace. The cooking facilities were good and easy to use. Having our own off road parking space for car was very useful, and it was nice to know that we even had access to the garden and a barbecue, which in nice to know if we decide to come back during the summer months.
The extras were a very nice touch (eggs, milk, honey, also kindle wood and logs), and we also found on arrival a bowl of fresh water ready for Carrie (our yorkie-apso), and a few dog biscuits.
The location was excellent, with some excellent walks maintained by the National Trust nearby, with some stunning views.




Wonderful Cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Granary Cottage and it was as good as the last! Jackie and Ray are lovely people and the cottage was spotless. It is in an area we already know-we used to live not too far away- so we use the cottage as a base to visit friends and go into Chester to shop! As we also have a dog, finding a place as beautiful as this is a real bonus. Having a dog can often limit what is available but we are all able to chill out at Granary Cottage in absolute luxury! We had fresh eggs, honey (and doggy biscuits!) to enjoy during our stay and some lovely flowers in the living area and fresh herbs on the window sill in the kitchen. There is everything you could possibly need available in the cottage. Jackie and Ray work so hard to make their visitors comfortable and it was lovely to see them again. Needless to say we have booked for next year!



Sep 17

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place to stay Jackie and Ray are lovely hosts and very helpful. Location is fab as next to sandstone trail so great for walking.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jackie and Ray went above and beyond for my young daughter and I. They are such incredibly beautifully, friendly people. The cottage itself is a sheer delight and the location so tranquil and peaceful. We don't have a dog, (yet) but it's perfect for them with ample breathtaking walks on the doorstep. We look forward to returning one day.



A perfect break

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved our stay at Granary cottage, the location is perfect for great walks or for driving around. A little piece of heaven and we will definitely be returning



A super cottage in a pretty village with great walking close by.

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely few days here in great comfort and with good weather the walking was excellent. Our hosts on site were so very kind and hospitable that we intend to return to walk the sandstone trail next year. We loved the extra touches such as the fresh eggs and the honey while the flowers from the garden made the cottage look charming. Granary cottage has been rebuilt to a high standard and is equipped and furnished with all we needed to make our stay all that we had hoped it would be.



Perfect weekend home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chris and I were just looking for a place to stay after visiting car fest for the day. We ended up booking to stay Friday and Saturday and having one of the best relaxing weekends we have had in a long time. A large part down to the beautiful cottage and very warm welcome from Jackie and Ray.



Sandstone Trail Revisited

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week staying in Granary Cottage.The Owners were very friendly and welcoming and could not have done more to make us feel at home.Thank you very much.



A beautiful cottage in a beautiful place

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend at The Sandstone Trail cottages. We stayed in the Granary cottage, which was beautiful, exceptional high standards in cleanliness, layout and comfort.
The owners Ray and Jackie made us feel very welcome.





Wonderful!

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Sandstone Trail Cottages so much we keep coming back! Granary Cottage is very comfortable, immaculately clean and well equipped, and Jackie and Ray always give us a very warm welcome! The cottage is situated just a few minutes walk from Bickerton Hill, with it's beautiful views and lovely walks, and there are lots of lovely places to eat out nearby. What more could you ask for!



Beautiful Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the beautiful Granary cottage 5 times now, perfect to get away from the hustle and bustle of home.
Cottage is immaculate and been renovated to an extremely high standard, and has the most amazing bed :) sooo comfy.
Jackie and Ray are so welcoming, lovely little touches around the cottage, fresh flowers, fruit, eggs and local honey, to name a few...
Has lovely views, great walks, we would highly recommend.




A Great Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my husband and 2 Basset hounds had an excellent stay. We loved every minute of it. The cottage was outstanding. We will 100% be returning in the future.



fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our three night break at Sandstone Trail Cottages, the cottage was perfect, great location, we will return to this lovely place.



Enjoyable week in Cheshire

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was chosen for the location and was smaller than we would normally book. The garden was not secure for the dog but on a very quiet lane. The owners were very friendly and helpful and provided excellent local knowledge for trips out. Very good standard of furnishing and equipment and very clean.
One of the selling points was a pub serving food within walking distance, unfortunately this closed the day before we arrived. The owner kindly offered his service as a "taxi driver" for us should we want to go out to one of the other near by pubs.




A wonderful woodburner

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second year we have stayed in Granary cottage and the facilities are superb. The weather was a little cool and so the wood burner with a plentiful supply of wood was a real treat. Jackie and Ray were perfect hosts and the accommodation was just what we were looking for. Look forward to a third visit.



Visit to Chester and about

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location for a quiet retreat close to Chester city. Lovely and comfortable cottage, easy check in and check out, wonderful hosts!



A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A first class stay. A little piece of heaven during our move between homes. Jackie and Ray couldn't have been better hosts throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would stay again but we are now living locally so we will recommend Sandstone Trail Cottages when we have an overflow of visiting family and friends.



Everything you could wish for.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cottage and look forward to seeing you all again next year. Thank you both for a lovely welcome.