FB Twitter

Granary Cottage

Granary Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Granary Cottage. Your home from home.

Home from home comforts

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful little cottage, very comfy and extremely well equipped. Located on the edge of Bickerton Hill which has wonderful walks and outstanding views of the surrounding countryside ideal for dog walks



Ray & Jackie Pearson replied 11 days ago
Hi Jim and Kathy, Delighted to welcome you back for your fourth visit. Glad the weather was kind. Have a great Christmas season.

A stay of 6 days, and then a return visit of 4 days

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second and third stay at Sandstone Cottages.

Jackie and Ray are wonderful hosts and the ambiance is warm and welcoming from the moment you arrive until your departure date.

We have family close by and these cottages have proved to be a delight not only for us but for our children and grandchildren who pop by for a visit.

We highly recommend Sandstone Cottages, the views, the comfort and the excellent accommodations.




Lovely Cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit with our 2 bassets hounds. The cottage is lovely and very charming. Very clean and very well equipped. There are walks from your door step and the views are breathtaking. We will definitely be returning again.
Thank you for having us love Rachel,Neil, Heaven and Hugo :-)




Wonderful stay in the Cheshire countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a wonderful stay at this cottage for the weekend. The cottage is beautifully finished and immaculately clean. The kitchen is well equipped should you wish to cook. Only wish we could have stayed for a week!



Simply fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This our second stay and once again we absolutely loved it. The most friendly people you could ask for and a well equipped cottage in a great location.



An ablsolute gem of a place! The cottage is what we hoped for and more.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the Sanstone Trail Cottges as a last minute break. We couldn't believe how lucky we were when we arrived. The most beautiful cottage in stunning surroundings. Ray, Jackie and Amie (their gorgeus lab) couldn't have made us feel anymore welcome. Walks on our doorstep were a huge bonus as we brought Jess our beagle along too. Comfy beds, fresh flowers and eggs, dog treats, spotlessly clean, the list is endless. Can't recommend it highly enough. We will be visiting again soon!



Sandstone Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 20 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sandstone cottage is a delightful place to stay. The cottage is spotlessly clean and very comfortable. It's location is beautiful , with direct access to the sandstone ridge which offers stunning views from the top. It's also a good base if you wish to visit historic Chester.
Jackie and Ray are superb hosts and couldn't be more helpful.




A catch up with the Past

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was wonderful to re-visit Brown Knowl. I lived there in the 1940's when 'The Granary' was actually a granary. The village itself has changed very little and a change to the hustle and bustle of modern living. Horses and tractors pass through what is still a lane rather than lorries and cars.
The accommodation was first class. We loved the wood fire which made it so cosy and the beds were so comfortable. Just one minor niggle and that is that we would have liked the 2 piece suite to have had higher backs. We older people need support for our heads! The new pictures that had been put up brought back happy memories.
Ray and Jackie, our hosts, were so helpful and friendly and we loved the little touches such as the fresh eggs.
We are certainly hoping to return in the not too distant future.




Fantastic stay near Sandstone Trail

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed 2 days at this lovely cottage with our dog. Everything you might need is provided. Wonderful walks and pubs in the area. Owners very welcoming and chatty. Perhaps hooks for coats would be good (as it's walking country), but only a little thing with such a great little cottage. Highly recommended.



Delightful short break

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Requirements for a short break in a cottage are spotlessly clean, well equipped, warm, comfortable and a good location. Granary Cottage easily ticked all these boxes and more. It is a delightful place to stay. Had the weather been better we would have enjoyed sitting out in the beautifully kept garden at the front. We would highly recommend this cottage.



Staying at Granary Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really loved the cottage.Hospitality and the warm welcome from Jackie & Ray excellent.ideal location for some great walks. We will be returning for a second visit.



A warm welcome received by all

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was warm and nicely furnished, with a lovely fireplace. The cooking facilities were good and easy to use. Having our own off road parking space for car was very useful, and it was nice to know that we even had access to the garden and a barbecue, which in nice to know if we decide to come back during the summer months.
The extras were a very nice touch (eggs, milk, honey, also kindle wood and logs), and we also found on arrival a bowl of fresh water ready for Carrie (our yorkie-apso), and a few dog biscuits.
The location was excellent, with some excellent walks maintained by the National Trust nearby, with some stunning views.




Wonderful Cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Granary Cottage and it was as good as the last! Jackie and Ray are lovely people and the cottage was spotless. It is in an area we already know-we used to live not too far away- so we use the cottage as a base to visit friends and go into Chester to shop! As we also have a dog, finding a place as beautiful as this is a real bonus. Having a dog can often limit what is available but we are all able to chill out at Granary Cottage in absolute luxury! We had fresh eggs, honey (and doggy biscuits!) to enjoy during our stay and some lovely flowers in the living area and fresh herbs on the window sill in the kitchen. There is everything you could possibly need available in the cottage. Jackie and Ray work so hard to make their visitors comfortable and it was lovely to see them again. Needless to say we have booked for next year!



Sep 17

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place to stay Jackie and Ray are lovely hosts and very helpful. Location is fab as next to sandstone trail so great for walking.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jackie and Ray went above and beyond for my young daughter and I. They are such incredibly beautifully, friendly people. The cottage itself is a sheer delight and the location so tranquil and peaceful. We don't have a dog, (yet) but it's perfect for them with ample breathtaking walks on the doorstep. We look forward to returning one day.



A perfect break

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved our stay at Granary cottage, the location is perfect for great walks or for driving around. A little piece of heaven and we will definitely be returning



A super cottage in a pretty village with great walking close by.

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely few days here in great comfort and with good weather the walking was excellent. Our hosts on site were so very kind and hospitable that we intend to return to walk the sandstone trail next year. We loved the extra touches such as the fresh eggs and the honey while the flowers from the garden made the cottage look charming. Granary cottage has been rebuilt to a high standard and is equipped and furnished with all we needed to make our stay all that we had hoped it would be.



Perfect weekend home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chris and I were just looking for a place to stay after visiting car fest for the day. We ended up booking to stay Friday and Saturday and having one of the best relaxing weekends we have had in a long time. A large part down to the beautiful cottage and very warm welcome from Jackie and Ray.



Sandstone Trail Revisited

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week staying in Granary Cottage.The Owners were very friendly and welcoming and could not have done more to make us feel at home.Thank you very much.



A beautiful cottage in a beautiful place

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend at The Sandstone Trail cottages. We stayed in the Granary cottage, which was beautiful, exceptional high standards in cleanliness, layout and comfort.
The owners Ray and Jackie made us feel very welcome.





Wonderful!

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Sandstone Trail Cottages so much we keep coming back! Granary Cottage is very comfortable, immaculately clean and well equipped, and Jackie and Ray always give us a very warm welcome! The cottage is situated just a few minutes walk from Bickerton Hill, with it's beautiful views and lovely walks, and there are lots of lovely places to eat out nearby. What more could you ask for!



Beautiful Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the beautiful Granary cottage 5 times now, perfect to get away from the hustle and bustle of home.
Cottage is immaculate and been renovated to an extremely high standard, and has the most amazing bed :) sooo comfy.
Jackie and Ray are so welcoming, lovely little touches around the cottage, fresh flowers, fruit, eggs and local honey, to name a few...
Has lovely views, great walks, we would highly recommend.




A Great Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my husband and 2 Basset hounds had an excellent stay. We loved every minute of it. The cottage was outstanding. We will 100% be returning in the future.



fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our three night break at Sandstone Trail Cottages, the cottage was perfect, great location, we will return to this lovely place.



Enjoyable week in Cheshire

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was chosen for the location and was smaller than we would normally book. The garden was not secure for the dog but on a very quiet lane. The owners were very friendly and helpful and provided excellent local knowledge for trips out. Very good standard of furnishing and equipment and very clean.
One of the selling points was a pub serving food within walking distance, unfortunately this closed the day before we arrived. The owner kindly offered his service as a "taxi driver" for us should we want to go out to one of the other near by pubs.




A wonderful woodburner

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second year we have stayed in Granary cottage and the facilities are superb. The weather was a little cool and so the wood burner with a plentiful supply of wood was a real treat. Jackie and Ray were perfect hosts and the accommodation was just what we were looking for. Look forward to a third visit.



Visit to Chester and about

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location for a quiet retreat close to Chester city. Lovely and comfortable cottage, easy check in and check out, wonderful hosts!



A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A first class stay. A little piece of heaven during our move between homes. Jackie and Ray couldn't have been better hosts throughout our stay and nothing was too much trouble for them. We would stay again but we are now living locally so we will recommend Sandstone Trail Cottages when we have an overflow of visiting family and friends.



Everything you could wish for.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cottage and look forward to seeing you all again next year. Thank you both for a lovely welcome.