FB Twitter

Baker's Cottage

Baker's Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


Baker's Cottage. Your home from home.

Well worth a visit

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautifully equiped, located in a lovely area, with lovely hosts. Could want nothing more.



An excellent week all round

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sandstone Cottages provided everything we needed for a most enjoyable week of walking along the Sandstone Trail. The accommodation provided excellent facilities which were well maintained and serviced by the attendant owners. Jackie and Ray
( TEAM PEARSON! ) could not have done more to make us feel more welcome on our arrival and continued to provide support and care throughout the week. I would thoroughly recommend the Sandstone Cottages to anyone seeking a countryside retreat.




Such a Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely, peaceful and comfortable week at Baker's Cottage. Hosts Jackie and Ray were very welcoming and helpful and made a point of making sure we had everything we needed for our stay. There were lovely touches of eggs from their chickens, honey from their bees, fresh flowers and fruit bowl. Every appliance we needed was supplied in the cottage and was spotlessly clean and high quality. Lovely crisp white cotton sheets, an immaculate and hot power shower, too many extra little things to mention which showed attention to detail and it was obvious our hosts wanted to make our stay enjoyable. We would definitely recommend Bakers Cottage for a holiday in Cheshire, it was close enough to Chester, Liverpool and many other places to visit and some lovely walks with or without a dog. We would definitely stay here again.



Sand trail cottage holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely love it
Beautiful cottage beautiful surroundings
Jackie and Roy had done an excellent job with local information and days out
It was a pleasure to stay there




Sandstone trail cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a lovely place to stay every thing thought of to make a great holiday, and made to feel so welcome.Thank you for a great holiday.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great week in Baker's cottage.
The cottage has everything you could possibly need.
Great location for walks and days out.

Thank you Jackie and Ray we will be back.




A Fine Place to Rest Weary Legs

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a strange phenomena. I find that as I get older I get more and more fussy. My wife of course, she does not get any older. She is still 27 and three quarters, but there a lot of three quarters.She too is growing more particular. So when she "suggested" we stayed at Sandstone Cottages, self catering I did wince a bit. But maybe that was because I looked as if I might disagree with her so she had thrown me over her shoulder again! Did I mention she had a Cambridge Blue at Judo? My wife explained that the cottage looks great on the website, and takes dogs. That meant our Wilma, so named because I am Fred and my wife is Betty (if only that were true...I am Betty!) could come with us as well. I asked my beloved if we could stay in a nice hotel. But she agreed with Rachel, my wife, so we arrived at Sandstone Cottages on 22nd June, to walk the Sandstone Trail.

We were welcomed by Ray. He had rebuilt the two cottages almost entirely by himself. Indeed he was just laying the final brick as we arrived! He led us in to a delightful cottage and showed us the informative and comprehensive folders regarding the cottage, places of interest, maps, walks for walkers, and for walks by car, and most importantly good places to eat.
The cottage is beautifully appointed. Ray and Jackie have thought of everything right down to the smallest detail such as torches in your bedside tables and fresh herbs to use on the window sill. The television is really state of the art. You can watch a programme from the beginning even if it is half way through the actual broadcast. I thought the people next door already watching the same programme must get a little bit fed up each time their neighbour starts it from the beginning again, biut that's modern technology for you! I still prefer the BBC Home Service!

The lay out of the cottage is excellent. The bathroom is a good size with an excellent walk in shower. The bed is very comfortable. I say that, but after two 15 mile walks, most beds are comfortable.But this one really was good.The kitchen is extremely well equipped with everything you could possibly want. You even get eggs from Jackie's happy hens! The lounge is also very comfortable with a nice leather settee and armchair. As for Wilma, there is even a dedicated washing machine for her in one of the out houses. How she knew which buttons to press amazed me.

Ray and Jackie were always on hand to help. They even acted as our chauffeurs, ferrying us daily to the start point of our walk, and picking us up when we had finished. Mind you, they would have been even better hosts if they actually did the walk for us and we could have relaxed in the garden and sunbathed. Still, you can;t have everything as my mother in law says. Do you know my mother in law has been coming round to our house for Christmas Day every year for the past 25 years? Well this year will be different. We might actually let her in!
So to sum up, a fantastic cottage run by two very professional people who take great pride in offering first class accomadation. The area is beautiful too. It is well worth a visit. We recommend the property whole heartedly. You will struggle to find anything better! We also recommend those free range eggs. A more yellow and delicious yoke you will not find anywhere!







Perfect Stay in Cheshire

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Baker's cottage which is very well furnished and finished to a high standard and the location was ideal for walking our Italian Spinone Alice as there are numerous walks direct from the door so no need to use the car. Jackie and Ray are fantastic hosts who made us fell very welcome and nothing was too much trouble in ensuring our stay was perfect. Highly recommend this superb cottage.



I didn't stay at Bakers Cottage, my daughter did. I stayed at Granary and have already responded.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
See Title of Review-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------



Fabulous Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a great week in Baker's cottage. We had a very warm welcome from Jackie & Ray.
The cottage was impeccable with everything you could possibly need, fresh eggs, milk, tea, coffee & flowers.
We have booked a return visit for June.




Great weekend break in cosy cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay and excellent hosts: just what we wanted plus a willing, bi-lingual Labrador to guide us around the charming countryside.



We had a very comfortable stay, mixing both business and pleasure

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jackie and Ray are great hosts and have put in much consideration into making the cottage a very comfortable place to stay. There was a book on walks, information on places to eat and for days out in the locality and wider. Every detail was considered and well thought out. We'll definitely be back and have already recommended a few days away with our friends and family for later in the year.



An amazing stay in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks Jackie and ray for your hospitality. The cottage was so cozy and clean and had everything I needed for my stay! We wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the cottages for those staying in the area or looking for a quiet getaway in a stunning location with lots to do on the doorstep.



Great stay!!

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay,very accommodating, Jackie and Ray have thought of everything inside the cottage, including doggie treats for our pooches. We enjoyed a fabulous new years eve in a great location to go for lovely long walks.
Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay Jackie and Ray!




Jackie at Sandstone Trail Cottages replied 339 days ago
Hello Hollie, Thank you for you review. It was lovely to meet you all and look forward to seeing you again in the spring. Jackie and Ray

Very nice cottage, excellently furbished

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in the Baker Cottage. We got a warm welcome by Ray and Jackie at our arrival.
A fully equiped kitchen an appliances! The double bed is really King size with very nice bed linnen like a luxerious hotel.

An excellent location to enjoy your holiday!

Many thanks!!!!!




Another great holiday in Cheshire

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again Jackie and Ray came up trumps. The cottage was excellent, the welcome and service second to none. We look forward to our next stay.



Bakers cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely 2 week stay in the cottage. Everything we needed and straight out onto the heath and into the woods for walking the dog. Ray and Jackie made us feel very welcome and were always on hand for ideas for things to do in the locality. Handy for Chester and not too far to Wales. Some super pubs in short driving distance. Would highly recommend.



Another wonderful relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 2nd visit to Sandstone Trail Cottages but our first time at Baker's Cottage. It was another wonderful few days in a fabulous, immaculate but homely cottage. We didn't think it could get any better than the last time we stayed but the hosts Ray and Jackie have since added some special touches which make the experience even more enjoyable. The attention to detail is evident in everything they have created here. The addition of the coffee machine was very much appreciated as was the folder containing details of all the lovely local walks which we made full use of. The cottages are simply superb, so comfortable and equipped with everything you could possibly want, and more! Thank you again Ray and Jackie, we will be back again soon, that's a promise.



Lived up to all our expectations

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was excellent in all regards and we were particularly impressed by the extra welcoming touches. The owners were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay most enjoyable.



First class all round

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Bakers Cottage. As always Jackie and Ray were the perfect hosts, the cottage was immaculate and despite the weather we had a thoroughly enjoyable few day's stay. We will be back in the spring next year, hopefully to stay a bit longer.



Perfection

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the booking process to checking out nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, the cottage is beautiful, very well equipped, cosy fire, amazingly comfortable beds, powerful shower and idyllic location you can't help but relax. Would definitely recommend.



Perfect English Village Location

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both Baker's Cottage and Granary Cottage are delightful with period charm, but meticulously renovated. All modern amenities are included with plenty of space for 2 people, perhaps a baby, too. The hosts are friendly and helpful. They are beekeepers, and own chickens, so there are always fresh eggs and honey. It is a short walk to the scenic Sandstone Trail, and Chester is within 30 minutes, a lovely city. Nantwich is also charming, and other historic and scenic places are within a short drive. Beeston Castle is well worth a visit. A grill and outdoor space allow for barbeques, or just sitting in the sun amidst a lovely landscape.



Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chose this cottage as it looked great for a short break for the Wife and I plus our little dog.
The cottage is beautiful and has everything you could need for a break away from the hustle and bustle of normal life.
Very clean and comfortable, with great host.




Peaceful and charming cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at the end of June beginning of July. The weather wasn't so good but that didn't stop us hiking in and around the local area and enjoying our stay at Sandstone Trails Cottages. We had a lovely warm welcome from our hosts and the cottage was warm and inviting when we arrived. The eggs, milk and honey were very welcome, and it was lovely being able to make a cup of tea as we settled in. Ray and Jackie were always there to help when we needed it, but never too intrusive, they create a perfect balance. The cottage kitchen is well furnished with all you need for a self-catering holiday, and the bathroom is very luxurious.

The local walks provide some absolutley stunning views and there is a folder with suggested walks that have been laminated, very nice touch and much easier to deal with than a big map or worrying about the GPS not working on your phone. All in all, we had a fantastic holiday, very relaxing and enjoyable. Looking forward to visiting again.




Sandstonetrail cottages(Bakers)

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot fault the owners, the cottage or the surrounding area, excellent in all respects. Climb to Bickerton Hill for the views.



Fantastic place

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was excellent and our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. Lots of delightful touches - flowers and eggs amongst them.



A lovely relaxing holiday!

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful and very comfortable cottage, in a wonderful location with lots of lovely walks locally! Excellent accommodation, very clean and comfortable, with so much attention to detail, and a very warm and friendly welcome from the owners. There's plenty to see and do in the area, and lots of good pubs to eat out at. We keep going back because we love it so much!



Bakers Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Bakers cottage and again it did not disappoint. We did not think that there were any improvements necessary within the cottages but Jackie and Ray have managed to add some extra home comforts, showing how dedicated they are to providing the best self catering experience. We look forward to a return visit in the future.



Coming Back Home.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I lived in the village in the 1940's and it has hardly changed and remains lovely and rural. Plenty of places to visit such as Chester and Chester Zoo (the best Zoo in Britain). Great farm produce and garden centre with a good restaurant at Holt.Great to see horses rather than cars coming through the village - very peaceful. Welcome gifts of honey and eggs await our arrival. Will return.



Lovely place, lovely people

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jackie and Ray couldn't be more helpful. Both the cottages (yes, we have stayed in both) are immaculately presented, having been refurbished to a very high standard indeed.
Location is wonderful, ideal for visiting Chester and surrounding areas and there are lovely walks from the doorstep.