FB Twitter

The Broch

The Broch

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 67 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


The Broch offers the highest level of luxury on the Isle of Harris, all within a unique stone tower modelled off an iron age fortress. Visitors can enjoy the sporting offerings of Borve Lodge Estate, the wild Harris landscape, or just chill in the rated 5-star luxury

Strange times

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Mar 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Our second stay in three years. Certain areas are now looking a bit tired and could do with updating.



Magical storm proof luxury home

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The broch is simply a joy to stay in. It’s been beautifully crafted with love and an appreciation for craftsmanship.

The weather was a bit wild when we stayed but the thick walls make you feel protected and cocooned. It was magical watching the changing weather from all angles with with well placed picturesque windows.
We had everything we needed to cater for ourselves and close enough for a quick drive to the nearest shop.
The surrounding area is beautiful no matter which you turn.
The attention to detail and quality of linen etc is appreciated.

We did not want to leave and know we will return, it’s a very special place that you cannot help falling in love with.




The Broch House

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at The Broch, House, thanks to Claire Wilson dance school. An amazing place, we hope to come back. Thank you.



Just the perfect place in the perfect location for our wedding on the Isle of Harris

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Broch will always have a special place in our heart and the Borve Estate provided the most amazing Hebridean vibe wedding! The Broch was an outstanding backdrop to our humanist ceremony on the beach and was perfect in every way! Thank you so much to Camille and all of the team for making our time there so special!



Great place to celebrate a significant event

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a wonderful place for a couple to escape from the world and celebrate in style. The location is great for exploring Harris though you could equally while away time as you watched the amazing scenery changes from the comfort of the sofa. The kitchen was superbly equiped and local produce made it worth using. The staff in Borve Lodge Estate were all helpful - especially our Ghillie for the fun day learning to fly fish - it was a shame that the launch was out of service and we couldn't avail of the deer stalking (with camera) on Taransay. If you like luxury, scenery and remoteness this is the place for you!



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in a most beautiful part of the world. It took no time at all to relax and feel at home. A hidden gem.



A fabulous property in the back and beyond away from the stresses of city life

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Broch is a beautiful property situated on a stunning piece of land overlooking the rugged landscape and seascape of Harris. The accommodation is first class and leaves you wanting for nothing. A fabulous place to spend some downtime, golf and explore the wilderness that is Harris.



A lovely home away from home

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Broch is an amazing piece of architecture and interieur design and should be on the “must see” list of any designer. We loved staying here, the views are magnificent and the sunny breezy days much more abundant than expected! Thank you Borve Lodge Estates for making these buildings possible!



Keep it quiet

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We lucked put with the weather which means that Harris, in this context, is the best place to stay bar none. The Broch itself is breathtaking and very comfy if the weather is not quite as good! The almost private beach is easy to access and a great place to wile away a few hours





Breathtaking building in an amazing location.

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Broch is a remarkable building, spectacular in almost every way. Hats off to the architect/designer, builders and craftspeople who did the stonework and fitted out the chunky interiors. Truly inspiring. Well done to all concerned. However, I would love to know why it wasn't oriented with the view through the main windows looking out towards the beach and sea. I guess there must have been a good reason but I feel it was an opportunity lost!

There were some minor issues with the hot water but Camille did her very best to address them. All in all a great stay and would thoroughly recommend.




Luxurious accommodation in an idyllic location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful building which is a fitting match for the stunning location. The inside of the broch is just as nice too, everything has been thought of. From a very friendly and informative welcome we had no need of speaking to the lodge estate again.
We had none of the issues that other reviews have mentioned. The only niggle is the velux blind, this could really do with blocking out the light better. Especially during the summer months as the day is long and the bedroom is quite bright.

Would love to stay again, and will recommend the property and Harris to friends and family.




Our own stylish, three-story mini-castle in the Hebrides

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't say enough about the exquisite, modern, miniature, three-story-castle-for-two that is the Broch. The location and views from all the many many windows are breathtaking. Everything is set up to maximize comfort, ease, tranquility, solitude, relaxation, and restoration. Gorgeous, whimsical fabrics are used to upholster the comfortable furniture. Handmade glass medallions decorate the open-air staircases. All up-to-date appliances and fixtures and seamlessly incorporated into the wood-and-stone architecture of the two bathrooms, kitchen and spacious mudroom/laundry room. There are two wood-burning stoves, one in the kitchen/dining room and one in the living room and a huge soaking tub. One side of the Broch is a field of blazing pink rhododendrons (blooming in May). Through another window is an entrancing fresh-water pond with ancient ruins on the far bank. And you have it all to yourself.




unique property in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 4 nights at The Broch and didn't want to leave. The property itself is amazing with beautiful views from every window, full of unique art work and furniture created by workers on the estate. The location is great, close to the beaches and golf club. Everything was very clean and the bed comfortable. There was a very nice welcome pack of local food and champagne.
We had some technical hitches with the hot water and TV during our stay but the housekeeper went out of her way to sort these out and it didn't detract from our enjoyment of the property. We would happily return there for a longer stay in the future.




Amazing Place

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at The Broch. The accommodation is amazing and views, while not directly of the ocean, were lovely and peaceful. We loved watching the sheep and birds, and the changing and dramatic weather. It is fully equipped with everything we needed for a fantastic self-catering experience. The linens and towels were top rate. Could do with better instruction on the use of the appliances (we are not from the UK or EU), but were able to figure them and cook super meals just as planned. Our only complaint was that the chairs and sofa in the lounge were just too big for our size. We are not of large stature and these were clearly made for those with very long legs, made us have to get creative with pillows to be comfortable when just relaxing. A minor issue truly, the place is fairy-tale in nature and we loved our stay in the island of Harris and in The Broch. Well worth the money as the experience will leave you with wonderful memories.



Simply Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a perfect 4 nights here for my wife's 50th birthday, we enjoyed stunning views, great walks on the lovely beaches, and surprisingly some very mild weather considering we stayed from 31Jan19.

We were also blessed with seeing loads of stags and deer, buzzards and porpoise.

Perfect!




A quirky and stylish stay

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Broch is a unique property constructed to make the most of the fabulous light and views of Harris. The interior decor seeks to bring the outdoors indoors, with fabulous use of natural stone and wood. Each floor brings a fresh panorama with floor to ceiling windows and we loved the view from the bedroom of dawn breaking over the hills. The kitchen is very well equipped and we enjoyed eating in and relaxing in front of the wood-burning stove. We appreciated being greeted with a welcome pack of some lovely local produce and a bottle of bubbles. We only had a short stay on this occasion but would love to come back some day and would highly recommend this property!



A weekend on Harris

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Broch is the perfect base. Everything that you might need is there. The Estate staff are attentive but invisible.



Stunning

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and comfortable, beautiful house, very cozy and peaceful. Spectacular rugged scenery. Thankyou.



Out of this world accommodation in a most wonderful setting

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent four nights in this wonderful accommodation in October 2018.

Having traveled the world and stayed in countless luxury hotels and apartments, The Borve is without doubt among the most special places we have ever stayed. Wonderful attention to detail, extraordinary design and stunning scenery - you cannot ask for more. Everything is just perfect.

We cannot recommend this place more. Thank you very much for everything. We will definitely come back.




amazing

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you have looked at the video of The Broch online, then all I have to say is that the experience of living there is up with the anticipation engendered by the video. The Broch is undeniably the most luxurious and welcoming accommodation we have ever had.



A week in Harris

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A unique property. A great place to stay, very comfortable, well equipped and in a wonderful location.



The Broch exceeds all our expectations

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From first arrival to our last day the Broch could not have been a better place to stay for us! It was perfect in every way. Camille and the team had done a superb job in setting it up ready for our stay. From the kitchen upwards, the the bedroom at the top of the spiral stairs, the rooms are light, bright and extremely well fitted out with all of the equipment and home comforts we could have wished for. The views of the surrounding area were amazing, with access to the loch and the lovely beach just a short walk.
As part of the sporting estate it was an added bonus to sail across to Taransay on the Landing Craft, also the fishing of the lochs was challenge. The local wildlife were breathtaking in their abundance, red deer, snipe, seals, golden eagles and a plethora of local seabirds made our stay very special. The local food was delicious, with a superb restaurant ‘Scarista House’ just minutes down the road. The island is steeped in history and we experienced a small part this trip so we will definitely return. As we can’t recommend this place highly enough, without any doubt we’ll be staying back at the Borve Lodge Estate!




Romantic rural retreat with 180 views

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved pretty much everything about the Broch. We stayed for 3 not so summery days in August 18 and stayed home quite a bit to avoid the wet and windy weather. Views and setting are spectacular and we saw eagles twice from the windows. Very special place and only a few niggly criticisms. Access road is poor and both we and a local Taxi grounded our vehicles on driveway close to house. Bath is luxurious and huge but will leave you without hot water for rest of day. Wi-fi constantly drops out. Overall great stay and we would stay again



Can't wait to Come Back

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first stay in the Broch at Borve Lodge and it is definitely a Wow when you first arrive. Even looking at the website does not prepare you for the interiors of this stunning building. Every bit of furniture and fixture is a work of art. The detail is fantastic. It is very comfortable and cosy, despite being on three floors (can be a bit of a nuisance if you forget something on the top floor as you are going out, which I frequently did, but I'll put up with that for what you gain from the novelty of staying in the Broch). The location is great. You are away from the road on a private track shared with the Rock House and there are stunning views all around but if I was being finicky I would have liked the view to be more towards the sea. Its a minor point but I'm sure there must have been a very good reason for the orientation of the building which I have missed. Harris is a beautiful place and our second holiday here although we were staying on Lewis the first time. Not any more we'll be straight back to Borve Lodge next time!



Top of class

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Broch is extraordinary. As far as places to stay go it is surely top of class - full of character, energy and easy charm.



Stunning property but with a few niggles

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
After eagerly awaiting our stay at The Broch, we were delighted to find the property is absolutely stunning. It was beautifully clean and the attention to detail was amazing. The views were gorgeous, although we were distracted by another property and a caravan on the hillside opposite the picture windows, looking straight into The Broch. Personally we found the bed far too soft and the settee uncomfortable. Also the wash basin in the bathroom was set too far back on the stone surround, making it difficult for us to use.



Beautiful location, amazing place

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the Broch; something different for our 25th wedding anniversary. Everything was perfect and Lindsay couldn't have been more helpful, thanks..Michael



A truely unique experience

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic in everyway. Truely beautifull house, wonderfull location.
A warm welkom with champagne and salmon.
Very helpful staff. House is very comfortable with unique interior design which we loved, and was very well equiped.




Sun, Sea and Stars galore!

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Is there a better self catering location in the whole of Scotland? I doubt it. Fantastic panoramic views of the hills and beaches of the Borve estate and two private lochans nearby. Our stay had it all, rainbows, masses of sunshine, moonlight and a faint hint of the aurora borealis. The Broch is very comfortable with all you could ask for a relaxing break away from it all and Lindsay and the team at Borve looked after us very well. Here's hoping for a return trip soon. And while you're there be sure to eat out at the Harbour Bistro on Scalpay, excellent fish restaurant.



4 night break out of season in early Feb - a delightful time of year to visit with no other tourists

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We cannot speak highly enough about our visit. Everything has been wonderful. The property itself is like an art gallery both from its architectural structure and perfect windows at every angle, to the interior with lovely photos and art dotted around. The spec inside is of such high quality it feels so very decandant and a privilege to be here. It has been so relaxing. We expected mixed weather and in a funny way wanted to have a wet afternoon so we could come back to the warmth and comfort of the Broch to appreciate its beauty and comfort.

We would like to return one day and stay for longer. This is such a wonderfully relaxing place to stay. Thank you. Thank you also to Lindsey for availability and guidance.

In terms of practical feedback : the mattress is actually two mattresses and although we slept reasonably well, we both had a bit of back ache and we felt it had started to weaken into the middle joins. Maybe it is the base ? Also we were perplexed by the roof Velux window blind. The bedroom itself has lovely blackout lined curtains but the Velux sadly not. Being here in February was fine as still so dark at night but we were woken by the light from the Velux and would be put off coming later in the year as this will be so bright. Struggled with the microwave, but maybe ‘wife user error’. There is also no manual for the oven/grill. Whilst lovely to have a dishwasher for two people we had no use for it. Instead a plastic bowl in the sink would be helpful and avoid any breakages. We are so sorry to have broken one glass.




The Broch

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic fantastic. Amazing property, great people, stunning area. Already planning a return next year



Pure luxury

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only dilemma you have when staying here is whether to stay in and appreciate the property, or go out and explore!
We did a mixture.....There are a number of wonderful beaches within a few miles of the property to explore. Harris beaches are simply amazing, blue seas, white beaches and you may have them all to yourself! Its only 20 mins drive from Tarbet ferry
(depending on how many photo stops you make en route)
The Broch is truly the most luxurious property we have ever stayed in, in over 30 years of self catering properties. It is away from the road and although quite close to the Rock House it offers complete privacy.The furnishings and fittings are of a high standard and the views from the windows just lovely. We spent many an hour just sitting, chilling and relaxing! The bathroom is out of this world, with a super bath and amazing rainfall power shower The bedroom has a skylight above the bed with a remote controlled blind over it.
We found it a little too warm, even with thermostats turned down, but maybe this is just us.




A 50th Birthday to remember!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing property and location and we had a truly fabulous experience here. The Broch has everything you could possibly need for a luxurious week away and everything is of excellent quality. The Estate Managers couldn't do enough to help - with recommendations of where to go, where to eat and they also arranged a fishing session. It was a holiday we will never forget and we will be back.



Living the Fantasy

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the kind of holiday I've dreamed of my whole life and never thought I'd actually experience. Exceeded expectations in every way. I've never felt so special.



An outstanding property

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Broch is beautifully decorated with everything you could possibly need for a stay. Well thought out, excellent design, extremely comfortable and everything of the highest quality throughout.



Beautiful place designed with couples in mind

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the breathtaking view to the thoughtfully placed reading lights on the bed every detail was perfect.

The Broch was a wonderful place to enjoy the isolation of Harris while also exploring the activities on the island with beaches nearby and Leverburgh and Tarbert both within driving distance.

The skylight could use a clean to allow better enjoyment of the night sky but still spectacular.

Will definitely be back.




A worthwhile investment and one of a kind - do it!

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Faultless and simply stunning. A different view out each window, three floors of thoughtful design and a truly one-of-kind building. We stayed 3 nights and despite being drawn to Harris, couldn't leave the property for one whole day, it was just perfect to "soak up"! Worth every penny!



Very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I had a great few days staying at The Broch as part of our honeymoon. The accommodation is a a great place to explore the island with it not being too far from both scarista and luskentyre beaches. We enjoyed sampling various cafes and restaurants and the isle of harris distillery tour was a hightlight.
The accommodation was to such a high standard and had everything we needed during our stay including a tea strainer so we could have some loose leaf tea we had purchased on the island. The welcome package was a lovely touch the only thing I would suggest adding to it would be some milk but the local store in leverburgh was not a long drive.
We will be back.




A step into another world

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I loved staying at the Broch : the building is enchanting, the location beautiful and the views glorious. I chose to stay there in order to make a short film and work on some writing. It was perfect for my needs.



The Broch, Borve Lodge, July 2017

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful and extremely well appointed house in a stunning location. A fantastic place to enjoy the splendour and solitude of Harris from a very comfortable vantage point.



great place

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying here. The Broch was great. Beautiful building in beautiful surroundings. Thank you.



Fabulous stay at the Broch - we loved it!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you so much for a wonderful few days at the Broch. We really loved everything about it - the unique building, the style and comfort inside, and the stunning location. My boyfriend also enjoyed very much the fishing with Finlay. He has been telling everyone we meet about this!





Memorable stay at The Broch; exceptional building with a strong sense of place and craftsmanship..

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is quite an experience, whatever the weather. Great for the fit and adventurous. Lovely artwork.



Excellent return visit

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a short but excellent return visit to The Broch. Everything as good as we remembered from our first visit to this stunning part of the world.




Amazing Broch

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning property in a stunning location. If it is pubs,restaurants and nightlife you are after then this is not the place for you. If it is a gorgeous building with beautiful scenery and the most amazing sunsets and night skies then you need to visit. Everything at the Broch is of the highest quality with everything you need for a great stay. With 5 or 6 beaches only minutes away the location could not be better for anyone who likes walking on beautiful golden sands by the most amazing colour of ocean.
The only downside of our stay is that we found it to be a little too warm inside for our liking. I think that they have a problem with their underfloor heating which they are trying to resolve. Those huge glass windows certainly warm up the whole building when the sun shines as it did on every day of our fantastic stay.




Amazing place!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our Stay at The Broch was better than our expectations. The accommodation was just beautiful with great attention to detail and fabulous quality.



The secret to a successful vacation on the Isle of Harris

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A unique self catering property that ticks off all the boxes for what one is looking for. It is ideally suited for a couple and makes for a wonderful home away from home as they have thought of everything when they built and designed The Broch. I am reluctant to say more as we want to ensure that it doesn't get so fully booked that we can't return again. If you do come to stay, you won't be disappointed!



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently had a wonderful stay in The Broch on Harris. The level of comfort and attention to detail provided was faultless. From our arrival to our, sadly all too soon, departure, we enjoyed a few days of absolute heaven on earth. I could not recommend The Broch highly enough as the perfect island retreat.



1st anniversary

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived in the evening to a backlit Broch- looked stunning- first impressions did not disappoint.
A well laid out and stunning building inside and out, waking up to the sun streaming through the full height window on top level was amazing.
Watching the stars at night through the skylight above the most comfortable bed was relaxing.
Perfect stay...
Awesome place.
Anyone coming to Harris- if it's within budget we definitely recommend a stay here.




As Good As It Gets!!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been fortunate enough to stay at many of Scotland's top-rated hotels and self catering over the years but i can safely say that the Broch is by some distance the best we have seen! In terms of location, quality and individuality, it quite literally stands alone!

The Broch itself is visually stunning and especially standing outside at night with the lights on. Inside, you have everything you need in the stunning bespoke kitchen. My wife being Italian fully appreciated the genuine espresso pot-that's a first! Upstairs to the living area and wide open views on all sides. Great TV there and audio options on all floors. A beautifully finished room on all fronts. The bedroom on the top floor is special - peaceful and open with beautiful finishes. The skylight window opens above you with a remote to breath the fresh air into the room during the night! All through the property there are numerous examples of great design but the staircase is just incredible. The bathroom is high-end and very luxurious.

We were within 20 mins max of the great walking routes of Harris and enjoyed many of them. The great beaches of Losgaintir and Scarista are mins away but right in front of you is access to the estate beach which was stunning.

What we loved most about the Broch was the bespoke factor. When the basic elements of stone, wood and metal are combined in this way it beats any of those glitzy hotels. We will definitely be back....where do you go after this place?




10 days just isn't long enough

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We knew when we drove up the track that we were going to have an amazing time, and we weren't disappointed. The Broch has been built to the traditional designs of historic fortresses found on the Western Isles, but laid out internally to an uncompromising modern design. The carefully positioned windows gives amazing views of the landscape beyond, drawing your view to the mountains, loch and sea. The cottage has been fitted out to the highest standard, and the quality of the furnishings is beyond anything else we have experienced in a holiday cottage. Locally bought works of art have been carefully selected and positioned to complete the superior furnishings. The kitchen has all the equipment you could ever want, and all other household appliances are provided. And if that isn't enough, the incredibly helpful managers are never far away to ensure your time in the Broch gives you a perfect stay.



Fantastic stay at The Broch!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Harris. The Broch is so unique with the most stunning views. Karen couldn't have been more helpful, she was lovely! Would definitely like to return.



A truly relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time here. The Broch and Harris itself are amazing places. Is wonderful to be able to sit and look out at the hills from one window and the beach from another. The Broch is extremely comfortable and well equipped and a unique building. Will definitely be back again.



Absolutely Amazing Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most fantastic time at The Broch. It was certainly the highlight of our honeymoon. We had high expectations, following from what our friends had told us about their stay, but they were all exceeded. The local scenery is spectacular as are the views from the house. The house itself is just incredible. Every detail has been carefully thought through. It's beautiful, very comfortable and immaculately clean. We weren't able to get our car onto the ferry from Skye and so were using our bikes, which was a bit difficult, but Karen made exceptional effort to make sure we had everything we needed - going above and beyond by giving us lifts to the shops and back to the ferry. We couldn't recommend this place highlight enough.



Want a retreat ?

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a few days staying at the Broch - complete silence; so if a retreat is needed this is the place.
Everything you may need is here, including books on the area, wildlife, history and culture; very well equipped kitchen comfortable furnishings and bed, beautiful bathroom, wonderful views.
Highly recommended.

Lynn Curtiss





Never disappointing.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Borve provides the perfect retreat with wonderful views and beaches. The Broch has everything you need for a relaxing, 'get away from it all' break. We always receive the warmest of welcomes from the team who go out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible.



Our Secret Escape

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I have been to the Broch three years running. We found it when booking a last minute getaway to escape and wind down during Christmas in 2013. It was a complete lark of a find. We fell in love with the place, the atmosphere and the people of Harris. I grew up in a small town and it always felt like a limiting place. There is something expansive about Harris. Not only a the vista, the colors of the sky, the weather remarkable and unique; the people are warm and genuine who care for tourist and neighbor alike.

We book the Broch each year at possibly the worst time to go because of weather regarding reliability of transport. Three years in a row the ferry hasn't run so we haven't gotten our full time. I guess its a tip to the team at Borve :) Much deserved for designing and running a such special place. But it doesn't bother us largely because of the adventure of getting to the Islands.

This time the heat broke down. Steve came over right away and unfortunately they had to have an engineer come and repair it. It was cold night but not unbearable under super soft cotton comforters and listening to the wild weather whip and blow around the broch. Karen, who is an absolute delight to work with, emailed right away and stopped several times to make sure we were okay. Every time we've been the people of the lodge are friendly, accommodating and helpful.

I'm reluctant to tell others about this because I want it to remain unique special and a treasure. The other half of me wants to see Harris thrive and sometimes that means more people, more stuff, more traffic. Gladly the island seems to have found a good balance between helping the locals and protecting its natural treasures.

I hope to get there again, maybe in the summer, when I am sure the weather will be just as crazy and just and fun! My only recommendation is perhaps a back up heat system beyond the stoves (which a previous tenant had broken - how does one break a stove is beyond me) and perhaps a discount for long time supporters. I'd make this our holiday home away from home each year if I could get a few tuppence off. Heck if they were a public company I'd lobby to join the board and invest. It would be great to work to replicate there success for other small communities around Scotland.




Magical Harris

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to stay for our 25th wedding anniversary and loved every minute if you can dare to steal yourself away from the luxurious Broch to walk on the many beautiful beaches.The Broch is the best accommodation that we have had the pleasure at staying at .You have to experience the magic of the Broch like us you'll be back for more.



Greatly Enjoyable Stay at The Broch

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed an amazing time at The Broch in October 2015. The facility is very unique and the special architecture and location make it highly recommended to stay at. In particular the customer service was outstanding.



Wonderfull stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed the beautiful Broch in its clean and cosy way, as well as the privacy and the nice setting that it is surrounding it. Karen the estate manager was very kind and helpful.



You won't want to leave

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Broch is perfect in every respect. In fact the only thing that puts it in the shade is the beauty of the landscape in which it sits. From the outside it's an imposing and audacious structure. Inside it's the lap of luxury - and yet it manages to feel like home. From the warm welcome from Karen the housekeeper to the nice touches in the welcome package (we won't spoil the surprise), everything about our stay was wonderful. We'll definitely come back and we'll definitely recommend it to others.



Fantastic Luxury Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Amazing week staying at The Broch. Awesome location with great views of the beach. Cosy luxurious inside- if not too hot at times! I'm sure this would be great in the cold winter months.



Amazing

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Such an incredible place to stay. The design was unique, the location was excellent and the property was well-equipped and had everything we needed. It was a really relaxing holiday.



Our stay at the Broch - June 2015

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Broch is a superb and very original place to stay. The house is set high on the hillside above Borve, so great views of the mountains and the beach. It is beautifully and thoughtfully appointed and we wanted for nothing. The Broch is an artwork in itself combining historic context with the most imaginative and modern interior - where possible everything is crafted in wood and stone with great sympathy for the Broch construction. A quite marvellous place to stay.



6th to 13th June

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at the Broch. The high standard has been maintained since our first visit in 2013. Our contact has been with Karen who we find to be extremely professional, efficient and friendly.



Th Broch

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just an awesome place to stay. The attention to detail in the way the building has been designed and the furnished is exceptional and the space is ideal (and very generous) for a couple. It is expensive, but it is worth it as I can't imagine any other accom in the Hebrides can match it for wow factor. Other luxury cottages may have similar standards, but don't have the design and views of the Broch.



Breathtakingly Wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been fortunate enough to stay in some of the nicest 5 Star Hotels around the World, but none can compare to the Broch in relation to location, comfort, style and quirkiness. We didn't have the best of weather for the first two days of our four day stay, but when there's a raging storm outside and you're staying in the Broch, who needs to go out?
From the wonderfully finished and equipped kitchen and dining area on the ground floor, the spiralling stairway, which follows the circular outer wall, leads up into the lounge with a huge windowed wall overlooking the hills. From there a few more steps take you to what we called the mezzanine level where the bathroom is located. There is a free standing bath with shower and a walk in shower area with two further shower heads. Continuing up the stairs brings you to the bedroom with a continuation of the huge window from the floor beneath and a skylight positioned directly over the bed for star watchers (when there's no cloud that is!)
The whole building and interior has been built using natural materials including stone and wood, with heather covering the roof. It is entirely comfortable with high quality finishing touches, including top of the range kitchen appliances and Harris Tweed curtains throughout. For heating there are wood stoves on the ground floor and in the lounge on the first floor. Underfloor heating is also provided on all three floors, independently controlled from each other. Hot water was instant and the water pressure was surprisingly high. Just be careful switching taps off as they turn the opposite way from what we are used to and many a time we ended up with a soaking!
You are completely self sufficient in the Broch - all you need to bring is food and drink (although a lovely range of local produce and a bottle of wine greeted us on our arrival) as the kitchen is well equipped with two ovens, a microwave, a hob and even a dishwasher. As with the washing machine and tumble dryer, all cleaning and washing materials are conveniently provided.
Karen, the housekeeper was a delight to deal with and couldn't have been more helpful, especially in moving our dates when our circumstances changed at the last minute due to the bad weather cancelling our intended ferry sailing.
There are fantastic sandy beaches nearby and a drive (or cycle) around the island is worth doing, although many of the tourist type shops were not yet open for the season when we visited in March.
Overall, we cannot recommend the Broch highly enough and many of our friends have commented on how amazing it looks (when we gave them a guided tour live via FaceTime!) and we shall certainly be returning here in the future. It is quirky, unusual, secluded and utterly luxurious.