FB Twitter

Easter Delfour Farmhouse

Easter Delfour Farmhouse

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Easter Delfour Farmhouse is a detached Victorian farm cottage overlooking the pastures of Alvie stables. Tremendous views of the Cairngorm Mountains, good access to the Monadhliath hills directly behind. All linen is provided (except towels).

Upstairs there are 2 bedrooms (double & twin) and a bathroom with shower, WC & wash basin. Downstairs the kitchen is fully equipped including a dishwasher & washer; there is a separate dining room & living room with multi-fuel stove. The cottage also has a television, dvd & cd players & WiFi.

Beautiful place

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in Alvie cottages and Dalraddy lodges many times over the years . We love the estate . It is a beautiful part of Scotland. Will be back next year.

Neil from Dunfermline stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 7 nights in July 2022


Summer holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed stays here in the past because this area has good access to Cairngorm, Rothiemurchus and all their associated activities.
On this occasion, the small quarry behind the cottage was active and the rumbling of machinery interfered with the pleasure of sitting outside. No blasting but dust on cars and could be seen on approach some days. We were out most of the time but would check next time if there was likely to be ongoing work.
Some trees which screen the A9 across the fields had fallen in the winter gales so traffic was more visible but this didn't deter the handsome deer herd drifting down every evening. Clean and very comfortable beds. Friendly and helpful staff. Good solid dining table and chairs. Better lighting in kitchen would be useful.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 14 nights in July 2022


Shame about the quarry

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0

We have been to Alvie many times and and have always left refreshed and uplifted. Sadly, this time, we have not. We usually stay in one of the other cottages but the last two times we have stayed in Easter Delfour Farmhouse. In November I would have scored our stay highly but this time, with the nearby quarry in operation, I cannot. The noise, dust and constant stream of lorries were a disappointment. We should have been made aware that the quarry was back in operation before we arrived and greater efforts made to suppress the dust on the roads although there is little could be done about the noise and lorries. Such a shame as we love Alvie and we will definitely be back, but not to Easter Delfour Farmhouse.


Guest from Cheltenham stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 12 nights in June 2022


Einfach Klasse

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ein wundervolles Cottage, kuschelig und mit allem ausgestattet, super tolle Lage, Rehe die morgens bis an die Haustüre kommen, sehr ruhig, ganz viele Schäfchen und Babys rundherum. Service 1A. Der Pelletofen benötigt etwas Aufmerksamkeit. Wir kommen mit Sicherheit wieder.

Monika from Frankenthal / Pfalz stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 7 nights in May 2022


Fantastic farm cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this very comfortable and homely cottage. It is perfectly situated to make the most of the Cairngorm National Park and has lots of great wildlife around. We loved the red squirrel hide and the red deer feed on the estate. It is also very close to the Highland Wildlife Park which is well worth visiting. The cottage itself is well equipped for a perfect stay. We definitely hope to return.

David from Cardiff stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 5 nights in February 2022


Lovely wee cottage, close to Aviemore

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Feb 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay here. Cottage was clean and presentable and in a great location - not far from Aviemore but peaceful and quiet on the Alvie Estate. It's right next door to the stables too, which our children liked. There is a quarry right behind the house which is being actively mined, but the noise wasn't annoying.

Only downsides were the heating system - it's run on pellets and took us a while to get the hang of. We were there in February when it was cold, and we struggled to keep the cottage warm consistently. Also, there wasn't much in the way of basics - no oil, sugar, tea or even washing machine powder, so we had to buy our own.


Kirstie from Edinburgh stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 5 nights in February 2022


A lovely stay at a lovely farmhouse.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at the Easter Delfour house with no car but lots of bags of groceries which we picked up at the Tesco in Aviemore. The cab driver took us directly to the house. From that point we had three wonderful days, days of hiking and R and R. As we had no car, Paul, the manager, was very friendly and helpful regarding the rubbish and recycling. When we had difficulty with how to work the pellet wood stove, Susie, an employee, came right over and sorted it out. In a nutshell, we had a marvelous time there. There is a major quarry operation just behind the house, but we didn't find it bothered us at all.

June from Dunblane stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 3 nights in October 2021


Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived at the cottage everything was spotless and there was plenty of information available as to how things work they have a unique heating system that was very efficient. The views from all the windows were fantastic and you could watch the deer feed every evening. The location is ideal for exploring the Highlands with easy access to the A9. Grocery shopping in Aviemore which is 15mins along the road.
We loved it and will be returning in June to explore more and can't wait to return.


Ann from Manchester stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 4 nights in September 2021


Delightful Delfour Farmhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay in self catering accommodation at least 3 times a year and Alvie Estate and Easter Delfour was up there with one of our best. The cottage was lovely, though a little dark in some rooms. Alvie Estate is a perfect base to explore the awesome Cairngorms National Park and beyond into Aberdeenshire, Argyll, Highland Perthshire and further north in the Highlands. We had some interactions with estate staff with all being very polite, friendly, efficient and professional, one estate colleague even helped with where to walk for my dog on the estate especially into the hill tracks behind the cottages, he even went out of his way and posted maps with highlighted routes through our door which was well beyond the call of duty.

I would highly recommend Alvie Estate and Easter Delfour Farmhouse for a peaceful or an adventurous holiday in the Scottish Highlands.
We're very much looking forward to staying again soon but the cottages on the estate are popular and they book up quickly so I'll need to move fast.

Alvie Estate will now be our first place to look to book if we are wanting to stay in the Cairngorms National Park. A wonderful place

Derek & Isobel from Fife


Derek from Dunfermline stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 14 nights in August 2021


A little disappointing

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been coming to Alvie for years and have always loved the attention to detail and cleanliness of all the cottages we have stayed in. However, this time things were a little disappointing, two of the windows had broken handles so opening/closing was tricky, the main light in the living room and one of the bedside lights in the main bedroom were not working and there were cobwebs in the corners of the bedroom, the inside of a couple of the kitchen cupboards and one of the shelves above the sink were needing a wipe and there were no dishwasher tablets provided (which there always have been in the past?).

Despite these points we did have a lovely stay and the weather and the new barbeque were perfect - just the points above were unexpected based on previous experience which has always been absolutely spot on in every way.


Ann from Doune stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 4 nights in July 2021


Cairngorms - Alvie Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have been to the Easter Delfour Farmhouse on the Alvie estate and our third time to one of the cottages. The cottage is really comfortable and well equipped for all of our needs, the location is so quiet with spectacular views of the mountains. Easy access to the local town of Aviemore and the surrounding countryside by car or bicycle. The cottage has an enclosed garden so if you have your pet dog there is an outside area for them. This is a working estate with sheep, cows, horses and quite a few deer sightings in the morning and evenings. There are plenty of walks in to the hills behind the cottage as well as access to the ZIP park and the other outdoor activities on offer.
We will be back (September).


David from Leicester stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 7 nights in June 2021


Short break Easter Delfour

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the cottage for my husband to attend an event on the estate, couldn’t have been any closer!
Perfect for what we wanted, enclosed garden for our terrier and home for me over the weekend.
Very comfortable little cottage with a pellet burner for heating which was very efficient.
Nice and quiet with good open views of the deer grazing at night.
The only thing I found in need of an update are the sanitary fittings in the bathroom otherwise the cottage was lovely, would definitely go again.
Thank you Alvie estate for a fab weekend!


Guest from Pickering stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 3 nights in June 2021


A very cosy cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very cosy cottage in a great location, close to lots of forest walks , lochs and mountains as well as other activities such as zip wiring, pony riding and quad biking

Guest from Birmingham stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 8 nights in May 2021


Late autumn break in the Highlands

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a traditional cottage that is full of character that doesn't lack any modern facilities. The cottage is situated on the Alvie estate with magnificent views across to the Cairngorm mountains, it is in a quiet location away from any main roads with quick access to the local town of Aviemore and the villages of Kincraig, Newtonmore & Kinggussie.
Fully equipped kitchen and large dining room making family meals in front of the wood burning heater a delight.
Double and twin bed rooms with comfy beds and pristine bed linen.
The cottage has an enclosed garden which allowed our two small dogs some exercise between walks and outings with out the risk of escaping and playing with the farm animals and horses.
Relaxing in the living room with TV channels galore, DVD player & Wi-Fi.
Walks straight from the cottage in all directions and access to the cycle trail without needing to go on a main road, useful for the safety of smaller children.


David from Leicester stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 8 nights in October 2020


Easter Delfour farmhouse - Alvie Estate

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great week at our cottage on Alvie Estate. It was cosy, well equipped and situated right beside the stables. Amazing walks and activities on the doorstep including the zip trek and horse riding. Excellent location only 10 minutes from Aviemore and close to Loch Insch and the Wildlife Park. We have booked to return next year.

Heather from Dollar stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 7 nights in October 2020


Perfect location

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are just back from a short stay at Easter Delfour. The cottage has been very tastefully decorated with so many of the original features remaining. So many properties have had all their character modernised out of them and it was wonderful to stay somewhere which retained so much of the past.
The location is perfect for seeing the Cairngorms, and we very much enjoyed the peaceful location and the access to walks in the local area. We will definitely be back again.


Shauna from Dundee stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 5 nights in October 2020


Great location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage, in a great location looking at the cairngorms and right next to the stables. The deer herds coming into the the fields in the evening was the highlight!

Craig from Higham stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 3 nights in September 2020


Homely cottage in superb location

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very cosy and homely. Everything you could have asked for in a holiday cottage was available.
The view was stunning and the location was superb. We were able to explore many Lochs, forests and trails nearby and one highlight was to visit the reindeer. Perfect place to relax and enjoy nature!
There were many more activities we could have done but we ran out of time.


Emily from London stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 4 nights in September 2020


A hidden gem

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first break post lockdown
Exactly what we needed. The location and activities only 5 minutes away were fantastic. Short drive to Aviemore or Loch Insh watersports. Super comfy beds. We will definitely return in the spring.


Rhona from Edinburgh stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 3 nights in September 2020


Review

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage gorgeous. Lovely location and very tastefully decorated downstairs. Fire fab. Kitchen well stocked.
Very friendly and helpful staff.
What let the cottage down was the bedrooms and bathroom.
Bedrooms full of cobwebs and spiders. Window sills lots of flies.
Bathroom extremely run down. Poor finish for this cottage. Shower awful. Window vents missing and full of cobwebs. Toilet seat wonky. Holes in the walls.
Not what I’d expect from Alvie estate. Always enjoyed our stay with them.
Would of been perfect holiday except for the bathroom and bedrooms.


Guest from Aboyne stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 3 nights in September 2020


Lovely authentic farmhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Easter Delfour Farmhouse, it felt like coming home. The farmhouse is very comfortable with all the luxury my family could wish for: a dishwasher, wifi and Netflix. After a tough day of walking in the Cairngorms it felt great to rest our legs on the sofa with fold-out footstool. One morning we were woken by the chirping of swallows. One swallow flew through the open window into our bedroom. Even though the weather was very hot, the temperature inside the farmhouse was nice and cool. In the evening we used the pellet stove to warm the house, the stove did need some care and attention. We had great outings swimming in Loch an Eilein, climbing Munro's, and climbing the Corbett Geal-chàrn Mòr from which there is a magnificent view over Loch Alvie and the surrounding mountains.

Renske from Delft stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 8 nights in August 2020


Comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage is in an excellent location with easy access to surrounding towns and attractions. The cottage is very cosy and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen. The heating system took a while to get the hang of to make sure that the cottage was kept warm as without it was freezing! Good for a family with smaller children and watch your head if you are tall when upstairs! Highly recommend the zip line experience and horse riding on the estate.

Guest from New Malden stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 4 nights in February 2020


Short stay at Easter Delfour Farmhouse

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an excellent cottage on a beautiful Estate would totally recommend staying here!

Really lovely cottage, very clean and comfy and estate were fantastic coming out to help us with heating and fire on a Saturday twice - excellent service and kept us cosy over a cold weekend.

Hopefully we will be back to stay again.

Thanks x


Margaret from Aberlour stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 3 nights in January 2020


Great house, fantastic location!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just come back from a great week on Alvie Estate. We are a family of 4 and the Farmhouse we stayed in was perfect for us and had everything that we needed. It was warm, cosy and well laid out and everything in the house was in excellent condition! The location is fantastic, not only do you have great views from the house but the surrounding area is stunning and there is so much to do from lots of walking to fun activities. If you are looking for a quiet location with easy access to everything then we would highly recommend this place. We loved it and will be back!

Christina from Teddington stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 6 nights in October 2019


Very nice location

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful weeks holiday in a cracking location, great for outdoor activities and walks with the dogs.

Mark from Stornoway stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 7 nights in October 2019


Autumn stay in the highlands

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay. The heating was on on our arrival which made for a welcoming experience. We could see that some refurbishments had taken place namely in the dinning room. We were pleased that the character of the cottage/farmhouse had been maintained. We are not a fan of the contemporary white and clean lines look.
Over time we did find the double bed on the soft side not good for our backs. That would be my only criticism.
We would come back


Ann from Dereham stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 11 nights in September 2019


Happy, relaxing stay in lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay in an excellently renovated cottage. Slight problem on arrival with heating dealt with immediately by friendly staff.

John from Portree stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 4 nights in September 2019


Great stay in a cosy house

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great house in a beautiful area! De typical English style cottage with all the modern needs. I would highly recommend to stay here!

Rogier from Amsterdam stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 3 nights in September 2019


Short stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a few days at Easter Delfour. The accomodation was as we hoped, once we had mastered keeping the wood pellet burner topped up with pellets. The view is great with small birds, ponies and cows to see nearby. We did not do any of the activities on offer due to the short stay.

Guest from Brill stayed at Easter Delfour Farmhouse for 4 nights in July 2019